Login
Reviews For Haunting Shadows

Name: Levana (Signed) · Date: 20 Feb 2018 08:43 PM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:Haunting Shadows Chapter: Whispers

Alright! I’ve finally had a chance (between classes :s) to come read this! I’ve been itching to read your fic since I rejoined because Fred/OFC is my jam. I apologize in advance for the fact that I’m not terribly great at leaving uh meaningful reviews that contain more substance than, “I love it!!!!!”

 

So, I love this already. I’m always here for dark fics because angst and you’ve already hooked me in with just the first chapter. And the opening line! “You couldn’t have done anything, Cath.” It’s such a good hook. Also I loved the Weasley twins in this chapter, they were so in character (and the twins can be surprisingly difficult to write). 

 

Anyway, I'm ready to read the rest of your fic (which will hopefully be soon, I'm a slow reader...)

 

-Maggie



Name: Felpata_Lupin (Signed) · Date: 06 Feb 2018 09:12 PM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:Haunting Shadows Chapter: Break

Hey, Jill! Here for our swap! :)

The more you reveal about the relationship between Rob, Cate and Chris and the more I'm not sure what to think... guess my thoughts will clear up when I'll have the complete picture, right now I'm only sad about the turn Rob and Cate's relationship just took. And honestly a bit angry at Rob for pulling that all out when they were sort of finding an equilibrium. I mean, they obviously need to clear things up between themselves, and he has the right to be angry at Cate if she cheated on him, but that just wasn't the way? After pulling her into the broom closet to kiss her that morning? Honestly? If she played with his emotions, he's doing the same to her now... and I don't like it. But I guess everything is just too complex (which is why they probably can't really work as a couple right now and why I shouldn't ship them... I think a part of me still does...) I loved how you wrote the tension between them, btw, and their reactions and their contradictions. It all feels so real and human, even if it's so terribly frustrating. Will you two just stop playing this hurtful game and figure out what you really want?! Erm, I'll stop now, I think I've rambled too much already...

I still don't get what Chris is and what he wants. Is he even real? He can't be just a figment of Cate's imagination... or can he? And he isn't a ghost, so what is he? Why does he want Cate and Rob to mend fences? Is he there just to help Cate moving on? But wouldn't it be easier for her to move on without him haunting her? I guess I just need to wait for you to explain everything... :P

I'm glad that at least Cate has her new friends (and Fred) to look after her and distract her from everything. And I'm so glad that she felt that she could open up with Fred completely. Now I wonder what she will tell him and how he will take the news... Anyway, he's truly sweet and I love their slowly growing relationship. :)

This was another great chapter, and I can't wait for more, so... HURRY UP!!! (Kidding... or maybe not...)

Snowball hug, my dear! And thank you again for the swap! :)

Chiara



Author's Response:

Hello Chiara! 

You're right; Rob and Cate are really good at playing with each other's feelings while not really knowing what they want.  It's sort of a problem, and they both like to stir things up when they're finally getting some kind of peace.  And I'm glad that you're getting more confused as time goes on; Rob, Cate, and Chris are definitely a messy sort of triangle.  I love when you ramble, don't apologize! They do really need to sit down and figure out what they want.

All of these questions will be revealed in due time, my dear, so I'll have to hold my tongue until then.

Fred and Cate are definitely the best; they really bring out the best in each other.

I am trying to work on 14! It's just another doozy so I need to figure out how to get it right :P 

Always a pleasure to swap with you, love! ♥



Name: Stella Blue (Signed) · Date: 01 Feb 2018 10:28 PM · [Report This]
Story:Haunting Shadows Chapter: Haunted

TAG ♥

 

I had totally forgotten that this story takes place during Goblet of Fire. (It's not like the Triwizard tournament is literally mentioned in the story summary or anything? Oh wait. It is and my memory is equivalent to that of a moth.) Anyway, when Beauxbatons and Durmstrang were mentioned  it was very exciting and I loved the reminder of the setting as it places this story right back in the pages of the book.

 

Cedric! I like that he comes to check on her, it really seems like something he would do. Also, it cracked me up that he implies very non-subtly that Fred likes her. I'm sure he does,  but that's not really what Cate needs right now.

 

  “We can’t let people know how smart we actually are, or they’d start expecting better grades from us.”  -- Bahahaha. The Weasley twins really are the shining stars of this novel. I love them. I love every time Cate interacts with them. I loved seeing her joke around and tease the twins! Can she hang out with them all the time please. Rob who?

 

Speaking of Rob... I'm glad he followed her out. I hate to think of what would have happened if he didn't, because she was kinda losing it out there. Which brings me to the point of WHY did Chris lead her out there? Possible-Cate's-soulmate or not, he is being a... (looking for 12+ words I can actually use in this review)... um. He's a jerk. If he has something to tell her, why doesn't he just tell her instsead of leading her into the lake AND JUMPING INTO IT? AND REMINDING HER OF THE MOST TRAUMATIC EVENT IN HER LIFE? AND CAUSING HER TO JUMP IN AFTER HIM? Why do any of that - couldn't he just talk? Like, she could have died. It's November and that lake has got to be so cold. I do not like Ghost Chris. (That makes two of us, as I'm sure Cate isn't his biggest fan at the moment)

 

I also don't like Rob. GET AWAY FROM CATE. I was fine with the sleepovers because they've found something that works for them to actually sleep through the night and it's healing, but Cate even says, they're both using each other. And then Rob drops an I love you and then kisses her? For pete's sake, that is not what she needs. She needs some hot tea and a blanket and maybe Pepper-up Potion or whatever it is that wizards give to people with colds. She does not need Rob's lips. I get that Rob thought he was about to lose her, but. That doesn't justify how selfish he is being and how he is only looking after what he wants. As if him saving her meant that he deserves a kiss and her love. It doesn't work that way. Thank you Rob for saving her from drowning, now leave her alone. 

 

This chapter is such a perfect comparison of Rob and Fred. They both like Cate, but Fred respects what is best for her, and doesn't put his own wishes ahead of hers. That is why Fred is better and why we all love Fred.

 

This story always gives me so many feelings haha. I loved this chapter! Great work <3



Author's Response:

TO BE HONEST, I kind of forget that it is too and then I need to remember to throw in little reminders.  It's just hard because we're still at the beginning of the year, when the tournament hasn't really happened yet -- so I'm glad you liked the mentions! 

Aww yeah, Cedric's a doll.  Ilove him.

I'm so glad! I sometimes feel like their presence is lacking in this novel, but then I remember there weren't too many pranks that we know about.  And as far as hanging out with them all the time instead of Rob, well... she's working on it ;) 

Well, he could have just talked to her, but Chris likes to be, erm, Dramatic about things.  He's mostly been trying to get her attention and for her to start taking her seriously.  She didn't die, though, because Rob was there to save her ;) 

This line made me laugh out loud the first time I read it -- "Thank you Rob for saving her from drowning, now leave her alone".  XD It's true. Rob is kind of selfish when it comes to Cate, and he doesn't really realize it.  Their relationship is definitely not the most functional.

Fred is pretty great; I do love him.

All the feels! Thanks for the great & surprise review! 



Name: justawillowtree (Signed) · Date: 01 Feb 2018 07:21 AM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:Haunting Shadows Chapter: Break

I AM FINALLY HERE TO REVIEW THIS. I read this like five seconds after you posted it, but then I never got around to reviewing. Better late-ish than never, though, right? (Sorry about the wait.)

 

So when I first started the chapter, I began feeling rather comfortable with the atmosphere between Rob and Cate; obviously I still wish Rob had kept his lips to himself, but the fact that Cate was able to feel normal and feel good about it was encouraging. But then Rob suddenly flipped a switch on the mood, and the things were less calm and happy, which made me less calm and happy haha. I think here's the point where I completely break away from my previous narrative -- this is the one part of this entire story that I agree with Rob over Cate. In fact, I just outright disagree with Cate here, and I fully agree with Rob instead. (Don't get used to it, Rob. All the other things you did -- AHEMKISSINGHER -- were so not right that they were left.)

 

Because here's the thing. It's one thing to have a suspicion about Cate's cheating (like, even though I had a hunch since the beginning, it didn't really affect my view of her) and then it's an entirely different thing to have it confirmed by her. If her feelings were divided between two different boys, she really, really should've sat down and thought long and hard about what she could do. Personally I think she shouldn't have dated/hooked up with either of them. At the very least, if she was going to "be with" Rob, she should've just refused to act on her feelings for Chris. Because cheating is one of those "human" mistakes that bothers me more than anything else.

 

And when Rob straight-out confronted her about it in this chapter, Cate sort of apologized, but then she added excuses onto it. And she hadn't realized that her mistake was large enough for Rob to still be hurt by it, months later, which really strikes me as just being rather insensitive. I just. I love Cate, really, truly I do, and I want her to heal so badly, but I am 200% behind Rob on this one. (That feels so strange, typing that out onto a review, but it's true.) He has every right to still feel angry, and to feel hurt by her actions, and to feel that she hasn't addressed it enough. I just really want her to properly apologize, to properly think about herself and why she did it and how she needed to think and be careful and just. I'm just really sad about this, honestly. Obviously it's not irredeemable, but so far, Cate hasn't done too much to redeem herself on this front.

 

She also doesn't seem to realize that she's still doing it. (It's entirely possible that I'm misinterpreting her "I love you"s, though, so please take this next part with a grain of salt.) She told Rob that she did love him, and I think she meant that in a combination of friendship love and romantic love. And then a little while later, she blurts the same thing out to Chris, and I think it's that same mixture of friendship and romance. And she's still saying the same things to different guys (though one is, admittedly, dead), and I really don't think she realizes what she's doing.

 

Okay so after that rather harsh critique of Cate's actions, I feel the need to boost the general positivity levels of this review with some love for your writing. I thought you paced this wonderfully, and showed the exact interactions necessary for us readers to form more concrete opinions of the characters, and how they fit into the overall story. Chris said something super interesting, which I've been trying to figure out (and still can't) -- it's when she asks him why he's only stalking her and not Rob, and he's like "You know why." Is it because he likes her? I don't know, I'm bad at figuring things out, man. BUT ANYWAY her overall interaction with Chris was just so interesting. Even though I don't like Chris either (in my opinion, Cate has horrible taste in boys), it did strengthen the idea of the bond between Cate and Chris, and how his death affected her so badly.

 

ALSO that last bit!! I'm so excited for the next chapter, because Fred will take her into the Room of Requirement, right? And then secrets will be spilled! (Hopefully.) But I thought it was super telling that she was drawing a portrait of Fred. She's just barely drawing again, and one of her subjects turns out to be Fred! Super exciting. :D

 

You already know how much I love this story and how much I love your writing, so I'll end my review here. -sends giant crate of endless gushing- <3

 

~Eva



Author's Response:

Don't apologize for the wait! <3 

Welcome aboard to the understanding why Rob is the way he is train, and I'm so glad you're on it! I truly love how everyone's been so supportive of Cate, but there's definitely things that need to be revealed about that night and why she's the way she is, too.

Yeah, I think there's a part of her that knows that she shouldn't have acted on her feelings for Chris, but Cate also tends to be a little impulsive and make stupid decisions; at least, as something she did before Chris' death-- and you could even see it as she followed his ghost out into the lake on Halloween, too.  She follows her heart more often than her head and it tends to get her into trouble.  

There's definitely shades of grey between Rob and Cate, but you're totally right.  Cate's making excuses, and doesn't realize the impact she's had on him -- I think she even said something about not realizing the depths of his feelings, but that doesn't make it okay.  And while she's had a lot on her mind, it's definitely something that they need to discuss going forward if they want any chance of working things out; even as friends.

She doesn't realize she's doing it, but her feelings for Chris were, erm... a bit stronger.  That's all I'm going to say about that.

You're actually not that bad at spectulating, but I'll leave you to wondering what he meant; but it's important so I'm glad you picked up on it.  But I'm glad the scene strengthened the bond between them so you can understand why she's been in such a dark place. 

Yep, she's drawing Fred ;) And Fred has a plan up his sleeve, anyway.

Thank you so much for another lovely review! ♥



Name: justawillowtree (Signed) · Date: 24 Jan 2018 10:25 PM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:Haunting Shadows Chapter: The Spark

Hmmm. I'm beginning to really appreciate the chapters in which Rob narrates, but not because it makes me like him any more. I feel vaguely more understanding towards his emotions and feelings and such, but nope, my opinion of him is not exactly lifting, especially with this jealousy he has going on. I like these chapters because Rob knows things that Cate doesn't. For instance, I really appreciated the fact that Rob tells us things about Chris and Cate's relationship that we don't know before. (I feel like I'm using him for information, for which I feel slightly apologetic. Sorry, Rob. You're a wonderful character, because there's a wonderful author who's writing you, but I just don't like you, buddy.)

 

Just because I don't like him doesn't mean I want him to suffer forever, though! I'm so glad that he's recovering, in the same way that Cate seems to be recovering. It was really wonderful to see that Rob's beginning to write again, and it was even more interesting when he was thinking about how he was going to retell his experiences over the summer. Because, that's a very gutsy thing to write about, so good for him.

 

I do hope we can get to know Angelina a little better as her own person, because I just want to know who she is, and what she's like, and the things she's fond of doing in her own time. (I'm sorry I'm so obsessed with Angelina, hahaha. I feel like I bring her up in every chapter review I write.) I'm a little worried that she'll become that person that Rob just secretly has feelings for, without ever truly appreciating as a person. You'd better treasure her, Rob. Even if it's just as a friend. I also hope we'll get to see Angelina and Rob have a full, proper discussion, where he gets to be honest with her. I LOVE ANGELINA. (Last sentence about her, I swear.)

 

OKAY SO THE HOGSMEADE SCENE. (I just wanted to say, seeing Tommy flirt was just hilarious, given what we know about him.) But more importantly, Cate's smile omg. When she walked into The Three Broomsticks with Fred, just laughing beautifully, my heart soared. It feels good to see her recovering like this. I'm glad that Fred can make her smile so wonderfully. I'm also glad that she seems to be on good terms with everyone. (And Rob, you need to stamp that jealousy down.)

 

I am, however, very worried. I'm really worried that Cate's making similar mistakes to what she did before with Chris (which Rob seems to know a lot about, actually). That she's calling Fred just a friend while kissing / being in some sort of relationship with Rob, but that she'll start emotionally cheating on Rob. I'm quite positive she did cheat, like kissing and all, on Rob with Chris before, and I just really, really do not want her to make the same mistakes again. So I need her to differentiate between her romantic and platonic feelings, and to make difficult decisions about her relationships and who she wants to be with, before she crosses a line and goes too far.

 

Good luck, lovely Cate. <3

 

And wonderful wonderful wonderful chapter I shall miss reading Cate and Fred and Rob and Tommy and Angelina and Alicia and Katie until the next update! <3

 

~Eva



Author's Response:

I think I've mentioned this in previous responses, but that's kind of the point of these Rob chapters.  Even if your opinion of him doesn't change, at least you can see where he's coming from.  He also does know a lot more about those 48 hours leading up to Chris' birthday than Cate does, and it's easier for him to reveal some things.  Have I mentioned that your commentary on Rob cracks me up? XD

Yeah, I was super happy that Rob started writing again. TBH, I forgot that was a thing, and then it just made so much sense -- especially him writing about his summer with Cate and Chris.  

I definitely plan to include Angelina in further chapters. It's fun exploring her without Oliver and Quidditch; like, what she'd be interested in and who her friends are, and all of that.  I'm so happy you love her, though! 

Tommy flirting was definitely hilarious! And Cate's smiling! Aw, my little Lawrence twins, being happy. ♥  And yes, at the moment, she is on really good terms with everyone.

She does need to make these difficult decisions, she just doesn't think she's quite ready to make them; or to even realize she's in a place where she could make the same mistakes.

Thank you so much for all of your amazing reviews! They definitely make me smile and they've also been super encouraging and inspiring, so thank you thank you ♥ ♥



Name: justawillowtree (Signed) · Date: 24 Jan 2018 10:03 PM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:Haunting Shadows Chapter: Anchor

I HAVE MANY FEELINGS ABOUT THIS CHAPTER AND I SHALL PROCEED TO LIST THEM IN AS COHERENT A WAY AS POSSIBLE. BUT JUST KNOW THAT THE LAST LINE HAS ME FEELING VERY EXCITED AND PROUD OF OUR LOVELY CATE, AND THAT I'M VERY ENERGIZED FROM SEEING ANGELINA, ALICIA, AND KATIE AGAIN AFTER THEIR ABSENCE. <3

 

When the chapter began, I was immediately like: NO, ROB. NO, CATE. Because I still do not see any way that these two involving themselves in another relationship will help anyone. I understand that Cate is just longing for something she's familiar with, especially after all the scares that Chris's ghost is giving her right now, but I'm just really worried. Because it's better for people not to continually returning to an ex just because of loneliness and insecurity. I really, really hope Cate can sort her way through this.

 

But while we're on the topic of relationships, I was deeply unappreciative of Fred's jealousy this chapter. He was acting like because he helped Cate through some of her toughest moments, she was supposed to just not date anyone else. Like, I am not a fan of Rob by any means, but my reasons are far more substantial than Fred's. HOWEVER he did apologize for being an arsehole (which I wholeheartedly agree that he was being for a moment there), and I'm glad that he managed to put his little jealousy aside for a second in order to start treating Cate well again. I'm glad they had their little walk. I'm still itching for a full chapter for the two of them. <3

 

It didn't occur to me that Fred and George were in the same dormitory as Rob and Tommy, so every time Cate cried, those two would be able to hear it. Which must be somewhat awkward for everyone involved. I do feel bad that Fred wants to help her but is unable to, but for him to resent her for that just made me upset. You're better than this Fred, I believe in you. :(

 

OKAY BUT THE LAST PART. I was SO PROUD when Cate told Angelina that she would talk to Madam Pomfrey, and that she wants to start learning how to sleep without becoming too dependent on Rob. GOOD FOR YOU, GIRL. I LOVE YOU CATE. TAKE CARE OF YOURSELF. The fact that she's been eating so little makes me so so so worried for her, though. But step by step, little by little. Sleep first, then food.

 

I'm just going to go and read the next chapter, because this has completely consumed my life and I'm pretty much unable to wait between reading chapters now hahaha.

 

~Eva



Author's Response:

My favorite reviews are the ones that start with shouting! 

You're right about one thing: Cate's definitely longing for something familiar and normal, and right now, that answer is Rob.  You do have a right to be worried about her, but she will eventually sort out her priorities.  Eventually.  She just... takes a while to get there, babygirl. 

Yessss, this was, admittedly, not Fred's shining moment.  I was more or less trying to show that he (a) is human, and not always the lightest, funniest guy, and also (b) getting fairly invested in Cate and her well-being.  Not to mention that he's got a bit of a hot-head, being a Weasley.  But he did apologize, and went for a walk, and I think she understands that he's trying his best to be there for her through this.

Honestly, it took me a while before it finally clicked that everyone is in the same year.  It definitely makes things awkward, which I think is what played into Fred's reaction.  He is better than this, he just slips up sometimes :( 

Yaaaaas, Cate is learning, slowly! Recovery is a long road, but she's definitely no her way there.

I feel like I should apologize that it consumed your life? But also super flattered and excited, so thank you!!! ♥



Name: justawillowtree (Signed) · Date: 24 Jan 2018 12:59 AM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:Haunting Shadows Chapter: Haunted

WHAT. ROB, WHAT. NO, WHAT. WHAT. WHAT WHAT WHAT WHAT.

 

Okay, first things first lol.

 

Everyone is shipping Fred and Cate. Everyone clearly sees it, except for Cate. But honestly, I'm glad that she's not pushing herself to think of Fred that way, because like she said, the most important thing for her right now is to have a friend like him. I love it when he makes her laugh, and when she's able to release her fears and stress for just a moment to act like herself again. Please give our lovely Cate some rest and dedicate an entire chapter to her and Fred talking, or doing something fun, or something relaxing together. I'd love if she could catch a break from all this, hahaha.

 

But Chris. What is he doing? What is he trying to get her to do? The fact that he's haunting her and not Rob is honestly freaking me out a lot, and I'm beginning to get really worried that he's actually feeling kind of vengeful about that day at the quarry. Like, the fact that his ghost leapt directly into the water, knowing full well what she's going through right now, makes me wonderful if he's actually trying to be malicious.

 

Poor, poor Cate. I'm honestly really worried for her. She just leapt straight into the water without even thinking, and someone please teach her self-care so that she can help herself get better bit by bit without feeling so self-destructive.

 

OKAY NOW WHAT. ROB, WHAT ARE YOU DOING? YOU'RE BOTH EMOTIONALLY UNSTABLE, CATE ESPECIALLY, AND BY TRYING TO PULL A MOVE YOU ARE NOT BEING A VERY NICE PERSON. GET YOUR LIPS OFF HERS IMMEDIATELY. (I'm sorry, I'm very, uh, invested in Cate's wellbeing and her personal recovery, and I just don't see a romantic entanglement with Rob helping her at all. Let them sleep next to each other, but just...platonically.)

 

I love this sooo much, I'm so so invested in what's going on. All the love! I think this is the last chapter for now, but I'd love to come back and review more omg. <3

 

~Eva



Author's Response:

Okay first, your reaction had me giggling at my computer, and it was kiiiind of the reaction I was going for! So thanks!

She definitely needs a friend like Fred; he makes her laugh and mostly treats her like she's normal, and a strong human being [which she is], and that's exactly what she needs.  Cate also needs rest, and about that Fred and Cate chapter... you may have given me an idea or two :P 

Chris isn't exactly vengeful. He's just, erm... I don't really know how to say this without giving spoilers away, but I WILL put your mind at ease that revenge isn't part of his agenda.  He has questionable methods, for sure, but he's got a purpose. 

Bahahaha, I love your commentary on Rob and Cate so much! 

I'm so super happy you love this story so much! Thank you for all of your amazing reviews, encouragement, and enthusiasm! ♥



Name: justawillowtree (Signed) · Date: 23 Jan 2018 01:48 AM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:Haunting Shadows Chapter: Truth

Things are happening! (Not that nothing happened in the previous chapters, but Important Information is being given out this chapter!) I actually read this chapter right before I went to sleep last night, just because I saw at the top that you were giving a full narration of that day's events, and I just couldn't resist. So this chapter has just been sitting in my head all day, and I just have to get my thoughts out. (Even though I really should be studying for my physics midterm, hahaha.)

 

I noticed that even though you wrote out what happened that day, you're still keeping some information from us, to keep us on our toes. We're still not one hundred percent sure on what Cate did the day before Chris's death, though at this point, I'm fairly sure that my suspicions from the first chapter are fairly accurate. I think that Cate definitely cheated in some way, shape, or form on Rob, which is why she felt so guilty on that summer day. Her blatant admiration of her best friend's body definitely didn't help her on that account. (Please don't laugh at me if I'm completely wrong hahaha.)

 

I can see why the two feel guilty now. I still don't think they should be feeling guilty, but since the events are clearer, I know what they were doing. Clearly Rob was trying to draw Cate's attention away from Chris's stunts by kissing her, from jealousy or something like that, to sort of prove a point. And Cate got into it, and completely forgot about the camera, which made Chris even more upset and angry. And so he became more reckless. Being tipsy/drunk probably didn't help either.

 

However. (I still don't like Rob, but) I don't think he should feel guilty. And neither should Cate. If Cate did cheat on him, then that's the only part of this ordeal that she should feel any semblance of guilt for. Everyone's actions from that point forward were their own. Rob shouldn't feel guilty, either, because if he was cheated on, then it's really only natural that he pull something like this the day after. The most they did was make Chris angry -- but neither of them pressured Chris to jump like that, or to drink at all. Everything he did was entirely of his own accord.

 

UNLESS I'M LIKE TWO HUNDRED PERCENT WRONG IN WHICH CASE PLEASE IGNORE ME.

 

I really appreciated Fred trying to help Cate. Really, really do. I'm just beginning to get worried that Cate will start relying too much on him, but I somehow doubt that will happen. These two seem to have a genuinely healthy sort of friendship/relationship thing going on right now.

 

Wonderful chapter, omg. The way the information was revealed was done so perfectly. <3

 

~Eva



Author's Response:

Yes, things are happening! Important things! I was very excited to write this chapter and let people know kind of what happened that day.

Yep, there is still definitely things that need to be revealed, but I figured it was time that people got at least a good chunk of the story; because it doesn't necessarily take away from the present storyline, y'know?  I am absolutely not going to laugh at you, but I can neither confirm nor deny your alligations ;) 

There's definitely a lot of guilt, but it's kind of like 'should they feel guilty?'.  Being drunk never helps when there's jealousy involved, and there's definitely a lot of jealousy in this entire Chris/Cate/Rob dynamic.

Again, not going to ignore you, just neither confirm nor deny ;) 

Fred and Cate are super adorable. You [hopefully] don't have anything to worry about their beautiful friendship.

Thank you so much!! ♥ ♥ ♥



Name: justawillowtree (Signed) · Date: 22 Jan 2018 06:42 AM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:Haunting Shadows Chapter: The Aftermath

(I'm typing this part of the review before I read Chapter 8, because I just remembered something that I forgot to mention in previous reviews. Rob keeps trying to get closer to Cate, which is a sudden change from his attempts to keep her at some distance for the past few months. All his little touches honestly make me so angry -- especially since Cate says that she's too tired to fight him on it, which is honestly more than scary -- because NOW IS NOT THE TIME TO MAKE YOUR MOVES, ROB. WAIT UNTIL YOU'RE BOTH BETTER, INSTEAD OF TAKING ADVANTAGE OF THE STATE OF HER MENTAL HEALTH. LET HER HEAL, FOR GOODNESS' SAKE. Sorry about the all caps, haha. Rob is a character that brings a lot of emotions out of me.)

 

Okay, now having read the chapter, I can say that everything I said above still very much applies. I'm just so frustrated with him, because while I appreciate the fact that he helped her get a full night's sleep, he's still doing the wrong things at the wrong time. It's just not the time. He seems to be trying to prove something to himself, or to her, that the two of them can still work out together, but honestly, he should leave it. The fact that he keeps pushing her about it makes me feel angry. (I don't like Rob very much, haha.)

 

However. The events of this chapter have confirmed (or, at least, I hope so) one of my earlier guesses -- that Cate, at the very least, emotionally cheated on Rob with Chris. Otherwise, why would he think about the "love triangle," or the fact that she was "supposed" to ask his forgiveness, and all that? I don't think any of this justifies his relentless attempts to get her to rethink their relationship, though. Just leave her alone, Rob. At the very least, help her sleep, so that you can also sleep, and just wait until you're both better. :(

 

I really liked that Fred went after her in the beginning of the chapter. Going to the loo, my butt. And McGonagall's reaction to him was great, too, haha, she totally knew what was going on. I'M DYING FOR MORE FRED/CATE INTERACTIONS PLEASE HAVE MORE IN THE FOLLOWING CHAPTER. I'm hoping that we'll get to see Cate's point of view of what happened after Fred chased after her.

 

(Petition for more Angelina and Alicia and Katie, as well! I miss my girls. <3)

 

These Rob chapters do provide a lot of clarity (or, if not clarity, at least more information) about what's going on, so thank you for including these! Your storytelling is wonderful. <3

 

~Eva



Author's Response:

Rob! I love him and hate him all at once. He really does have the worst timing, doesn't he? But it's kind of like you said, he needs her as much as she needs [or thinks she needs] him, and they're just sort of in this messy situation together and he can't help but cling to her. 

You are very good at picking up all the little hints I throw into chapters! 

And yeah, McGonagall totally knew that Fred was going after Cate; she's concerned about her too, but she can't exactly leave class to check on her, y'know? So she lets Fred go, knowing that she'll be in good hands.

Thank you so much! That's kind of why I wanted to include Rob chapters; he's such a complex character, and I thought it'd be good to see things from his POV and bring out things that Cate doesn't necessarily know about, you know? Even if you don't like him still, at least you can see where he's coming from. 

♥ ♥ ♥



Name: justawillowtree (Signed) · Date: 22 Jan 2018 06:00 AM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:Haunting Shadows Chapter: Ghost

This chapter was so freaky. I'm genuinely spooked. When I read the writing that Chris put onto the blackboard, a chill actually went down my spine, and I spent a few seconds just sitting here, feeling freaked out. (If you can't tell, I'm a little bit of a scaredy cat, lol. Literally can't deal with horror films.) So I should definitely compliment you on your ability to just make absolutely terrifying situations crop up. If this happened to me, I would probably need to be constantly escorted around the castle by someone like Angelina.

 

Alright, starting from the beginning! I really liked the way you described the time of year. As someone who is very, very bad at keeping track of the passage of time in stories, I very much appreciated it. Not to mention it was done subtly enough that I didn't feel as though you were waving a sign saying "OCTOBER" in my face.

 

I also really liked that conversation with Lee about what in the world Fred was doing with her. It was super cute, and really normal, and it was relieving seeing more common emotions in Cate. I feel like she hasn't had the chance to express herself using healthier emotions recently, so all your lovely descriptions of her ears burning, and the flush rising in her cheeks, were wonderful to read. I'm craving more Fred/Cate interactions now -- the little taste you gave this chapter was not nearly enough to satisfy, haha. <3

 

Of course, all good things must come to an end (more than average, it seems, for Cate). When she went to the Prefects' bathroom to relax, I foolishly thought that she would actually be able to sit in a warm bath and just take care of herself for a little while, but her trauma's still with her. The tantalizing piece of information you gave just really makes me want to know what happened ahhhhh. So she chose to go to the quarry, where Chris fell? At this point, I'm not quite able to see any way either she or Rob could possibly be taking the blame for this -- unless one of them pushed Chris...? But I doubt it. And she's seeing his ghost more now, which is the scary part of this chapter.

 

(On a slightly lighter note, that adorable little moment between Fred and Cate when he was handing her the Chocolate Frog and the questions made me really happy.)

 

I so wanted Cate to succeed at her non-verbal spell, because I couldn't stand the idea of her suffering anymore than she needs to. Because of how distracted she is, I'm guessing, she was unable to do it. I'm also betting the appearance of Chris's ghost (which is apparently able to interact with the physical world somehow? FREAKY) didn't help her, lol.

 

I don't like Chris. I think I can safely say that now. I agree with Tommy's negative opinion of Chris (as much as I disagree with Tommy as a person), because I have a feeling that the reason why Chris targeted Fred was because of jealousy. Jealousy that Cate was beginning to get closer to him, and that Fred was giving her all this attention.

 

WHAT ACTUALLY HAPPENED, THOUGH. THE SUSPENSE IS KILLING ME.

 

~Eva



Author's Response:

To be honest, I can't watch horror films either. I've always sort of felt like I've needed to work on my creepy skills, so I'm glad it scared you? Seems like a weird thing to stay, but at least it was effective.  And I would definitely have to be escorted around too! 

Bahaha, what in the world Fred is doing with Cate XD That's the ultimate question! They are so great though, they really write themselves. ♥

Yes, it was her decision to go to the quarry, and as for the rest, well... in a chapter or so time, you'll get a slightly better account of what happened that night! One of my favorite parts of reviews of this story though is everyone's theories on what happened.

(THEY ARE THE CUTEST)

Yeah, she's usually a pretty good student, but the distractions and lack of sleep/nutrition make things a little more difficult for her, the poor thing :( 

Ahhh Chris. He is a very... dynamic person. He definitely would have been a Gryffindor ;) 

Thanks for another great review! ♥ ♥ ♥



Name: justawillowtree (Signed) · Date: 22 Jan 2018 05:40 AM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:Haunting Shadows Chapter: Pride

Hm, my emotions are so conflicted right now. I feel somewhat relieved that Tommy and Rob are both treating Cate with more compassion now, but the complete about-face is making me really suspicious. I'm trying to figure out Tommy's thought processes in the previous chapters -- so he thought that by making Cate feel absolutely miserable about her life and her decisions, she would come to the conclusion that what happened over the summer wasn't her fault? (I'm just being bitter about his past behavior haha; I can actually see what he was doing. That line about how "being a Healer won't bring him back" was probably him trying to tell her that, in case she was thinking that, she needed to let Chris's death go, and stop letting it dictate her life.)

 

So I can sort of see what Tommy was doing, even if I completely disagree with his execution of his plan. But Rob? Just a few chapters ago, he was talking about how he was scared to talk to Cate, in case she found out what he did. (Though I'm beginning to suspect that, like Cate, Rob is blaming himself for errors that weren't really his fault, which makes it a little harder to dislike him.) But still. What is he doing with her now? Why is he trying now to get back with her? Did Tommy talk to him again, or something?

 

I hope that Cate doesn't become too reliant on Rob for her recovery. I keep saying this, haha, but I'm really worried about this. When Tommy said that they "need" each other, I was immediately wary.

 

You know who I did appreciate wholeheartedly this chapter? Fred. His questions, and his own answers to them, were really funny and charming. And I'm glad that he could be there for basic support; even though he wasn't really able to talk to her about her problems, sometimes I think that Cate just needs to feel normal for a little while, and he gives her that. I'm just really happy that Fred is putting in all this effort for her. And also giving her Chocolate Frogs omg. So cute.

 

Speaking of Chocolate Frogs, what kind of ex-boyfriend (a.k.a. Rob) doesn't know that his ex-girlfriend liked chocolate? Makes me seriously question the strength of their relationship.

 

(I missed the girls this chapter, especially Angelina. That's okay, I'm sure they'll show up in future chapters! I just love reading about Angelina a lot; she's one of my favorite minor HP characters, haha.)

 

I'm sorry for taking so long on these reviews, so to make up for it: HERE'S AN EXTRA DOSE OF LOVE FOR YOU AND YOUR BEAUTIFUL STORY. <3

 

~Eva



Author's Response:

I'm so so glad that even if you don't agree with their motives, you can understand where Tommy (and Rob) are coming from; that's super important to me, especially since they are the less likable characters in thes tory. And you're right; that was exactly what he was trying to tell her with his line about her becoming a Healer.

I sort of a have headcanon where either Tommy talked to him again, or Rob just sort of decided to cave into common sense?  Honestly I love how conflicted you (and others) are over Rob, welcome to my world of writing him :P 

Yessss, Fred was super adorable this chapter! You're right, Cate definitely needs to feel normal; she doesn't always need someone treating her like she's fragile but rather just a friend trying to get to know her better.

I feel like ex-boyfriend is a very strong word for Rob anyway, tbh.

(Angelina is pretty great, I'm glad you like her too!) 

Dude don't even, you've had a lot of reviews to do! I really really love getting your reviews, for what it's worth. They always manage to make me smile ♥ ♥ ♥



Name: Stella Blue (Signed) · Date: 19 Jan 2018 02:47 AM · [Report This]
Story:Haunting Shadows Chapter: Truth

Omg I just typed this up and then my browser froze and crashed D-: I still have never learned to type reviews into Word first, apparently. So then. Take 2....

 

In terms of how effective it was to reveal the truth here - very. After 8 chapters of vague references to it, it was nice to get some clarity and a full explanation of what happened that day, and those allusions to it in the earlier chapters really build up to this moment to the point where this chapter feels as big and as heavy as it is.

 

The way you revealed the story of Chris' death was very well done. I actually think the non-linear, broken up format of it was the best possible way you could have done it. The fact that part of it is revealed and then we return to the present  and then back into the past makes perfect sense because it kind of accents that this is how Cate's mind has been going for the past few months - sometimes focusing on her task at hand but often drifting into fragments of that memory. The bit of the current-day in the middle made the whole memory feel very present. And the fact that it's in broken pieces as it returns is also quite fitting because Cate feels so broken at the moment. So yeah, stylistically this was a very good choice.

 

Characterisation in regards to reactions: I can see why Rob might be harboring some guilt over his actions here (for being slow to pick up on the fact that something was wrong), but Cate? She has no logical reason to feel guilty. Of course, I know too well that grief is not logical and that you feel guilt when it makes no sense to, so I understand her. It's purely survivor's guilt. And - maybe - the fact that there may have been some romantic entanglements going on around this time that Cate hadn't really dealt with (maybe i'm misreading but based on her earlier soulmate comment about Chris, it seems like there were some *feelings* that had been brushed under the rug. But - literally, she couldn't have done anything to save Chris. How could she have known he'd climb up there and jump from that height? She couldn't. And she did everything she could when she realized something was amiss.

 

As for Rob, it may have taken him longer to realize that there was something wrong, but he isn't to blame either. Once he noticed that Cate's panic was real, he snapped out of his mood pretty fast and did what he could do. So yeah, this scene had a lot of hints of trouble in paradise from Rob's pov that was never talked about, and for the most part just played out like any scene of teenagers who have maybe B- communication skills but are otherwise enjoying a sunny day and are each wrapped up in their own things in their own heads, and then an accident happened. Their actions throughout the whole scene are very realistic.

 

Cate's thought process in particular is interesting, like she has a strong awareness of the situation not being right and she has this heightened anxiety that Chris has hurt himself, but she keeps thinking he's playing a trick on them. To me it really feels like she doesn't actually think it's just a trick, but she's trying to make herself believe it. Like she suspects the worst but is trying to convince herself that it's fine, Chris is joking... at least until she sees proof when he turns up dead.

 

Random musings: I think there is still more to the story than we saw here because Cate mentions she can't tell Fred everything, yet the story we got here doesn't contain anything that would be so horrible to tell Fred. I'm convinced there was some emotional undercurrent that was important that shse didn't mention. Idk. I will have to read on to find out :P

 

This was a very well written chapter and I appreciated getting more of the backstory here. Great job!



Author's Response:

Eeee, Kristin! This review! ♥

Okay, this makes me super happy. I figured it was getting time to reveal a lot of the truth, and figured that the story could progress while even the readers knew what happened - something I didn't really learn my first time writing this story 10 years ago.  SO, I'm glad it felt as heavy and emotional as it was supposed to; I was super nervous about writing this chapter because I didn't know if I would be able to do it justice.

Thank you! I was sort of imagining she would be triggered/remembering by the scene from Transfiguration, and thought it was time to bring you guys back to the quarry with her.  I'm glad it made sense, especially since the non-linear portion of it was different than the rest of the way the story is.

I'm glad you can understand her; that's kind of where a lot of her guilt is coming from - survivor's guilt. And you're right about some of the romantic entanglement that sort of latched onto her and is making her feel even worse.  I think she also feels a little guilty that she didn't try to use magic to save/revive him - and despite the fact that it's against the law, I feel like she would've tried to justify it by a life or death situation, y'know? 

I'm so so happy their reactions come off as realisitic, especially with everything going on.  And you're right, they really don't have the best communication skills XD

And that's exactly what's going through her head.

As for random musings, I'm going to keep my mouth shut on those! :D You'll just have to keep reading to find out.

Thank you so much for this well-thought out review! I super appreciate it, especially for a chapter this big. Thank youuuu ♥



Name: justawillowtree (Signed) · Date: 16 Jan 2018 10:03 PM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:Haunting Shadows Chapter: Cracks

Okay, before I finish up this review, I just want to let you know that I would love to review the rest of the chapters, so please feel free to come back and request them! I'm so, so invested in this story, and I think you deserve all the reviews for writing such a wonderful piece. <3

 

Now Cate is seeing Chris, and he seems to be a real ghost since he speaks to her, as well, and he also has the general appearance of a ghost. I'm worried, though, because no one at Hogwarts seems to be concerned that there's a newer, younger-looking ghost around, which makes me positive that she's seeing things. Perhaps it's her guilt manifesting itself into hallucinatory daydreams, but even then, it wouldn't make too much sense since Chris's ghost is telling her not to apologize, even though she keeps hoping for someone to apologize to. I hope she's alright. I hope she figures this out and gets help.

 

Speaking of getting help, though, one of my favorite things about this chapter was her interactions with Fred Weasley, and her friends, and her brother. I liked how loose and relaxed Fred's conversation made her feel, though I noticed she immediately felt guilty once Tommy pointed out that she was smiling. I want her to realize that the loss of someone doesn't mean she has to spend her entire life mourning them and feeling sorry that she didn't do more.

 

But then we move onto the conversation with her friends, and that part just warmed my heart. I loved the line -- "If I was willing to let Fred break through that barrier with him barely knowing me, then how could I not let these girls, my friends, have that same privilege?" -- because I agree with it wholeheartedly. I'm so glad that she finally told her friends what happened to her over the summer, and that they offered their support and aid to her, making her feel better. I just wish that Cate would understand that leaning on other people for comfort doesn't make someone a weak person. I bet it's that Gryffindor nonsense speaking.

 

And finally, I was so happy that her brother finally stepped up as a proper twin and gave her the support she wants. I'll never understand why he keeps antagonizing her, especially if he understands "the full story," as he claims. Because according to Rob, "the full story" includes unsavory thoughts/actions that Rob did, which makes me feel as though Tommy should really stop blaming Cate for it all. So anyway. Good on Tommy, for acting as a brother should for the first time in this story.

 

I wanted to talk about my feelings on Rob. In the first three chapters, I thought Rob was being cold and mean towards Cate because he was feeling bitter about the way she broke things off, and how she cut herself out of his life. But in Rob's chapter, where we get inside his head, his motivations are entirely different, and entirely more selfish in my opinion -- he still wants Cate to like him, so instead of supporting her and helping her, he's trying to put a bit of distance between them so that she'll never find out what he did. And I'm so, so sorry to Rob that he's suffered through such a huge trauma, but Cate plainly told him that she was actually hearing voices, and so he just needs to step it up and help her.

 

On the other hand, I also don't want Cate to become too reliant on Rob. In this chapter, she thought about how much she needed him, and she kept using "need," and that word makes me very, very nervous. I'm worried about how she seems to think that he is her only solution, that without him, she'll never get better, which is very concerning.

 

Your characters are just so good and they make me feel so many things, and I just think so much about them?? Which I think is so great, and so much fun, and I just love typing out these reviews, as long-winded as they are, hahaha.

 

Thank you for introducing this story of yours to me! I'm so, so happy that I've read these first five chapters. They're just so good omg.

 

~Eva



Author's Response:

I'm so excited you love this story so much! And your reviews have been so great, pointing out things I've even forgotten already to remember to include in these later chapters.  So, really, thank YOU, for leaving these awesome reviews. I will definitely come back around to request the next batch once a slot opens up! 

Ah, the beginning of ghost-Chris.  You're right; Cate's definitely searching for someone to apologize to, and it just somehow hasn't happened yet.

Fred is the best. He really is the heart and the light of this story, and I just. I love writing him so much. <3

And yeah, she just needed to tell them on her terms, y'know? She was going to; it's just a matter of being ready, and of course they were there for her.  The girls are really great, and I need to remember to include them more in the story.  Cate is very much a Gryffindor ;) She'll learn. She just needs some time.

Yesss, Tommy was great at this chapter! <3

Rob definitely needsd to step it up. As far as unsavory actions...... more is going to be revealed on this front later on, but you're absolutely right: Tommy needs to stop blaming it ALL on Cate. That entire night is a shade of grey, and that's sort of the point ;) 

Thank you so much! I'm so glad you're attached to my characters and that you love leaving reviews. I've certainly loved getting them, and they have been so inspiring! <3 Thank you so much for all of this, Eva, I definitely appreciate it!!! 



Name: justawillowtree (Signed) · Date: 16 Jan 2018 02:21 PM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:Haunting Shadows Chapter: The Guilty

You know, I just realized that Cate and Rob are OCs. You just wrote them so flawlessly into the universe that it just didn't even occur to me to question their existence; I just accepted them as characters without hesitation, and that was that. Which really goes to show how real they feel as characters, and their interactions with the canon characters around them just feel so natural that it's like your OCs were always there in the books.

 

So this chapter is really, really interesting! Because finally, we get to see what's going on inside Rob's head, and he's basically suffering almost as much as Cate. (He's not hearing voices or seeing things, though, so I think he's a bit lucker.) I have so, so many questions now. Before, I thought that Rob held a grudge against Cate, but he doesn't really; he just doesn't want her to know the truth, but if he wants forgiveness, shouldn't he try talking to her? At least, help her out if she asks for it, like she did last chapter? I feel as though these two will self-destruct, if they don't ask for help.

 

Mostly, I'm more curious than ever to see what actually happened that day that Chris died. I think Cate thinks its her fault because she froze and didn't use her magic, and Rob clearly thinks its his fault for...unspecified reasons currently. Did he actually wish for Chris to get hurt? What was his relationship with Chris? Was Chris really his cousin? He was jealous of Chris, wasn't he?

 

I get the feeling it's really neither of these poor teenagers' faults, that they're blowing their own involvement out of proportion due to survivor's guilt. This ceaseless guilt that they're feeling, I'm having difficulty believing that they were actively involved in Chris's death, aside from being bystanders. (Though being a frozen bystander...I can see how they would feel guilty from that. But there's a difference between being scared and unable to help, and just refusing to help.)

 

This story seems to be following canon, with a few deviations. Like Fred doesn't seem to be chasing after Angelina in this. So I hope that Angelina will be able to help Rob the way Fred will be able to help Cate. (That scene with Angelina was really well written, and I felt relieved when Rob smiled. There's only so much sadness a teenager should be able to take. So I think Angelina will be good for him.)

 

REALLY GOOD CHAPTER AHHHH.

 

~Eva



Author's Response:

Honestly, this was such a huge compliment and put a big smile on my face when I read that.  I'm so glad they both fit in so well; I try hard to make my characters real people, especially the OCs.  

Yesss, a Rob chapter! I mean, logically, it would make sense for Rob to talk to her in order to seek her forgiveness.  And you're right, he's going through so much too, which is why I thought it was important to see things from his POV, too; Cate's not the only one suffering.   And you're right about one thing: they definitely have the potential to self-destruct if they don't seek the help and the self-care they so desperately need.

Chris WAS Rob's cousin; as far as everything else, I will say you'll get a larger picture of the night at the quarry in a future chapter. But it's from Cate's POV, so you'll also have to take that into consideration. As far as being jealous of Chris... I will also say that jealousy plays a large role in the Chris/Rob dynamic, and I'm going to leave it at that. 

Aw, yeah, Angelina is precious. I love her. I figured Rob needed someone the same way Fred did, and it seemed perfect to give him Angelina; their personalities just naturally mesh together really well and their chemistry pretty much writes itself. 

THANK YOU SO MUCH! <3 



Name: justawillowtree (Signed) · Date: 16 Jan 2018 01:50 PM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:Haunting Shadows Chapter: Allies

This was a great chapter. I'm so in love with this story, and I wish I can read and review faster. <3

 

More than anything, I want Cate to get some help, whether it be from her friends, or from her family, or from a professional (like Madam Pomfrey). I think it's absolutely a mark of a horrible person (I'm talking about Tommy) when your own twin sister is clearly suffering, and you just keep laying on guilt instead of aid. I'm just really annoyed with Tommy and his unhelpfulness, because a family member is supposed to take care of you.

 

Like, with Rob I can understand his unwillingness to help; he obviously went through a difficult time during the summer as well, and Cate didn't help him then, so it makes sense he wouldn't want to help her now. It's a little bit petty, but I definitely understand it. But Tommy? What excuse does he have? SHE'S HIS SISTER. (I'm sorry, I get really caught up in this family business, haha.)

 

Anyway, I hope that at some point, Cate will be able to talk about her trauma with Alicia and Angelina, or Lee, or Fred -- or even better, all of them. I especially hope that she opens up to Alicia and Angelina at some point, because the girls are all friends, and I think it would be good for her to be able to have close friends who can help her. I think it's really kind of Lee and Fred to check up on her like that, since they see her struggling. Fingers crossed that Alicia and Angelina will do the same at some point!

 

So I really liked the three different sections of this chapter: her dueling scene with Lee, her plea for help from Rob, and her study session. I thought they all showed important aspects of her relationships with different people, and how she reacts to each of them. She clearly really wants to be able to speak to Rob, and I just. really want her to get the help she needs.

 

The lines that you end your chapters on are always so, so great. It's always a great way to wrap up the events of the chapter on a stressful note, haha. I love this story so much, I can't wait to see where it progresses!

 

~Eva



Author's Response:

Honestly, you're reading and reviewing at a great pace, don't even worry about it! <3 

Cate definitely needs some help.  I feel like I can understand your annoyedness at Tommy, he's just.... he's got his head a certain way, and I can't really justify it in an explanation; it's kind of the way he is, but also, its' not. Ugh, that's a horrible explanation. 

I'm glad you can understand where Rob is coming from! Even if it's petty and they're dealing with bigger issues.  (Don't apologize, I love how caught up you get!) 

Alicia and Angelina are pretty great. They're trying to keep their distance at the moment, but they won't always feel that way. <3 

Yeah, she's trying really hard with Rob and is kind of focused on him at the moment. 

I'm so glad you enjoy my last lines! Sometimes I try to leave it on a cliffhanger and it usually just doesn't quite.... work out that well.

Thank you for another great review! 



Name: Renacera (Signed) · Date: 16 Jan 2018 12:10 AM · [Report This]
Story:Haunting Shadows Chapter: Shadows

Hello dear!

I'm here to review for you for the 'Puff review swaps! I'm so glad to come back to keep reading this. I'm sorry for how long it's been since reviews! But I really enjoy this story, so I promise I'm still interested.

So, anyhow, thoughts!

I really love Cate's characterization still. She's clearly traumatized, and we're starting to see and understand why. I'm so sorry for her having witnessed Chris's death. I can't even imagine what a mental state that would put you in afterwards. I think you show her trauma very realistically, which is great, if very sad. I also wonder how reliable of a narrator she is, which makes this story all the more interesting.

I can't wait to see how she'll integrate Fred and George into her recovery and what the big conflict will be within Hogwarts and her current experiences. So...I literally could have said, "I can't wait to see what happens next." XD  At the moment, the conflict is mostly internal (with some external through Tommy and Rob), so I can't wait to read on.

So far, this is great! Wonderful writing--very clean and captivating. I'll read on ASAP!

Best,
Emily



Author's Response:

Hello, Emily! I was wondering if you were going to come back to this story for the January swaps, and I'm glad to see you have! 

I'm so so glad her trauma is coming off realistically; it's something that is super important to me for this story. I want her to have time to grieve and wallow and feel guilty, and show that grief doesn't just magically get better over night.  I'm also glad you're wondering if she's a reliable narrator ;) 

Bahaha, I'm glad that you can't wait to see what happens next! There's not much big conflict within Hogwarts, since this was the time of the TriWizard Tournament; but that in itself creates an interesting backdrop for her recovery, as well as Fred and George. <3 

Thanks so much for this great review! 



Name: justawillowtree (Signed) · Date: 15 Jan 2018 06:28 PM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:Haunting Shadows Chapter: Shadows

Okay, so more things were revealed in this chapter! Which is so exciting, I'm just physically restraining myself not to go onto the next chapter and possibly spoil things before I finish this review. Your writing is just so good; it sounds so natural and flows so smoothly that it really makes reading your story such a pleasure.

 

I thought you showed the relationship between Cate and her brother Tommy really well in the first section. They're obviously really tense around each other, and that made me tense while reading it, because I always feel so, so sad whenever siblings can't trust each other enough to be open and honest about their feelings, especially twins. But it makes sense that these two aren't entirely open with each other, considering what happened. (You wrote the strain in their relationship in such a believable way, though, wow.)

 

The first section also revealed a lot about Tommy's character. He's a huge stickler for rules, which is different from Cate. I'm hesitant to pass judgment on Tommy, since he seems to have a real, genuine reason to want everyone to just follow the rules to the letter. He mentioned Chris before, and how Chris got Cate into trouble. And I suppose the Weasley twins deserve basically as many detentions as they can get, considering all the antics they got up to during their time at Hogwarts, haha.

 

Though his continued jabs at Cate made me feel sorry for her. That line where he outright said, “And you know that you becoming a Healer won’t change what happened over the summer, right?” just sounded callous and insensitive to me, so I felt for her. But also, her continued avoidance of discussing things through makes me stressed out, because miscommunication is a scary business.

 

I wonder what "the full story" is, that Tommy keeps referring to. What does he know that Cate doesn't?

 

And, the dream sequence, wow. At first I thought it was a normal flashback, because things seemed normal, and so when her hands started bleeding, I panicked a little. I thought that was how she actually remembered it happening, haha. Anyway, the dream revealed a lot. She and Rob seemed closer than I'd originally thought they were (she still seems to like him, actually), and Chris sounded...somewhat careless. Was his grumpy mood due to jealousy?

 

So Cate couldn't save him, after he drowned (?), because she'd panicked about using underage magic. And she was actually really, really young at the time, too.

 

Her brief hallucination of Chris's ghost freaked me out, haha. She keeps hearing things (and now seeing things, like what the Weasleys told her last chapter), and I hope she'll be able to get some help before things get too out of hand for her.

 

Really, really phenomenal chapter, omg. I'm enjoying reading this so much!

 

~Eva



Author's Response:

More things! I'm trying to reveal things slowly, to add to the suspense.  And honestly, thank you so much, that really means a lot to me! <3

Thanks! Yeah, Tommy and Cate don't have the best relationship; I thought it was important to show that even twins don't have to get along or even like each other at times, just like real siblings. And they both have their reasons for the way they act, even if they're not *entirely* justifiable. 

Haha yeah, this was also trying to show some of the things that the twins get up to behind-the-scenes; like, their planning of pranks rather than just the pranks themselves, if that makes sense.  And I think I answered this already, but you're right: Tommy does have a reason to act the way he does. Or, at least, he thinks he does.

Miscommunication is a huuuuuge deal with Tommy and Cate, and I'll leave it at that.

Thanks! Yeah, I wanted it to seem like a normal flashback; and then freak you out a bit, so I'm glad it worked! Careless is a great word to describe Chris. And geez, it's really hard to give you a thorough response without spoiling things....

Thank you so much for these amazing rewviews! I'm so glad you're enjoying them! <3 



Name: justawillowtree (Signed) · Date: 15 Jan 2018 05:27 PM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:Haunting Shadows Chapter: Whispers

Hi Jill! So this story has been on my to-read list basically ever since I first joined HPFT, so I'm so thrilled that you posted in my thread! (I even had a dream about it last night, I was so excited. Granted, I'm sure the dream was completely inaccurate, but nonetheless, I was very excited to start reading this.)

 

I love how within the first main paragraph, the title of the of the story already comes up as a main theme. You use "quiet, haunting whisper" and "sea of shadows" to describe the voice in her head and the darkness of her room, and I just think that's a great way to start the chapter, by leaping directly into the crux of the issue.

 

The suspense in this chapter was brilliantly done. You withheld most pieces of information and gave just enough to make me incredibly curious as to what happened on that night to make her so sleepless. Also, I'm curious about her relationship with this mysterious Chris, and how it tied into her relationship with Rob, and her twin. I have my theories, of course! Likely entirely wrong, but here goes. (I bet I'm going to come back later, read this first review, and laugh my butt off at how wrong I was.)

 

So after reading the whole chapter, I think it might have gone something like this: Cate begins dating Rob as a way to distract herself from her feelings for this Chris guy, and she tells Rob this at the beginning of their relationship. This is why she doesn't feel guilty for ending the relationship in the way she does, because she was honest about her feelings. But over the summer, Chris led Cate and Rob down to do something completely reckless with underage magic, and that results in Chris's death. And it's traumatizing, of course, and so now she's just completely unable to sleep, and feeling a lot of guilt over it.

 

(I just realized how vaguely I wrote my ideas, haha.)

 

My feelings on Rob are mixed right now. (Not your writing, the character. Your characterization is excellent.) I have a feeling that Cate did genuinely do something wrong throughout the relationship; maybe she cheated on him, or just was a pretty awful girlfriend in general. However, I think for him to be so bitter, and to hold a grudge like this, and to be so passive-aggressively angry about their relationship is just...petty. Especially considering he of all people understands the exhausting insomnia she's going through.

 

I thought Cate's interaction with the Alicia and Angelina, as well as the Weasley twins, was really interesting. It showed her in a social situation, and to me, she seems to be holding up fairly well. She seems to be someone I would really enjoy talking to; clearly the Weasleys like teasing her, and she responds to their teasing with what seems like genuine lightheartedness. (I think the Weasleys will be good for her. They'll make her smile, at the very least.)

 

Also, she has so many nicknames. I just thought that was cute. Cath, Cate, Cat, etc. Different people call her different names, which is similar to how friends interact in real life. (Is "Cath" what Chris called her?)

 

I'm so, so curious to find out what's going on. And I really enjoyed reading this chapter! I thought it was the perfect way to start off a story like this one.

 

~Eva



Author's Response:

Eva! So I know I mentioned this in our PM, but your reviews, omg. ♥  They really made my day, and I'm so flattered that HS has been on your to-read list! I would be curious to hear about your dream, if you ever wanted to tell me.

Thank you! I would love to say that I chose that language on purpose, but, well... I just didn't. :P I'm glad it ended up working out well, though, and you're right; it really does go straight-forward into the heart of the story.

I'm so excited to hear everyone's theories! You are..... a pretty good observer? It's not really a spoiler, but Rob and Cate were sort of dating/messing around o ver that course of the summer.  And Cate definitely has so much guilt over that summer, precious babygirl. 

Your feelings on Rob are spot-on; I'm so glad the characterization is good because even *I* get mixed up writing him sometimes! Sometimes I can't remember if he's supposed to be a good guy or not, and then my plans just go... awry. :P 

The Weasleys will definitely be good for Cate! And she does hold herself pretty well in social situations; she doesn't like people to see her cracks. And it is genuine lightheartedness that she has for them, because they're just great. <3 

I'm glad you thought that was similar to real life! I always wonder if there are too many nicknames or if people get confused... but most people call her Cate. (And... perhaps :P)

I'm so glad you enjoyed this chapter, thank you so much for the wonderful review! <3 



Name: clairevergreen (Signed) · Date: 14 Jan 2018 06:51 PM · [Report This]
Story:Haunting Shadows Chapter: Anchor

Heeeeyyyyy!!! Here with review 1 of 2 for our swap!

 

Okay, you know how I feel about this story, I've mentioned it repeatedly. But I love how real everything feels: the emotions, the characters, the dialogue. I get sucked into everything and find myself absolutely dying to know more about Cate and Rob and what happened over the summer between the three of them to cause the both of them to feel like it's their faults.

 

I'm so so happy that Cate has seemed to realize that her friends are there to help her. She needs someone to help her figure out everything that she's feeling and she certainly has enough people in her corner willing and able to be there for her.

 

And speaking of people being there for her...how long are you going to torture me with this slow burn???? I really don't care if Rob and Cate are destined to be endgame or not, Cate and Fred better happen soon or you will have a riot on your hands. I'm not kidding, I am so behind this ship, it's not even funny. Yes, Rob is the only one who truly knows what she's going through, but Fred is the kind of person she needs right this moment and it's killing me that they're not together already.

 

This next chapter better have the cutest Cate/Fred scene ever or I'll...something, you hear me? 

 

;)

 

Claire



Author's Response:

HELLO!

I do know how you feel about this story, but I sitll like hearing it ;)  One of my biggest concerns has always been to make sure everything feels real, so I'm glad that's coming across well.  And, er, you're right about Cate and Rob: it is both of their faults.  A lot of things happened and more will be revealed in due time. <3 

Yes, it has taken her a WHILE, but babygirl is finally realizing that these people are here for her and want to make sure her life gets better.

This entire paragraph had me giggling, not going to lie.  I'm so, so happy you're this frustrated and so behind this ship, though; that's kind of where I want you to be, and you're gonna love chapters, um, 13-16? Something to that effect. But yeah, you're gonna like 'em.

As far as the next chapter, well... maybe I should hide from you :P 

Thanks for the lovely review!! 



Name: Aphoride (Signed) · Date: 11 Jan 2018 07:19 PM · [Report This]
Story:Haunting Shadows Chapter: Allies

Hey Jill! Dropping by for our review swap - later than planned, I know, I'm sorry! The internet in my apartment's been rubbish the last couple of days and I don't know why. 

 

Anyway, I'm here now and I'm so excited to come back to this. Honestly, Cate is such a fascinating character: the way she's so fragile and so stubbornly determined that things can be the same and that they will be the same, that she should be able to do the spell when she can't, how she insists that she's 'fine' even though she's exhausted. She's so wonderfully contradictory, too, which I always love in characters - it makes them that much more real, you know? And her interactions with everyone around her - how she doesn't notice Lee's concerned about her, is thrown by the thought that people are, how she wants Rob's attention and him back even though he's obviously not interested - they're all so honest and so true to real life. We've all been Cate at one point or another. 

 

Also, you write the mystery of this so, so well. It's so good at dragging me into it - I feel like I don't know anything, even as I read another chapter. I just end up with more questions :P Why was what happened with Chris her fault? Why does Rob dislike her so much - what happened with their break-up for it to be so bad afterwards? How did Chris die? What's going to happen to Cate? Is she actually ever going to open up to anyone anytime soon? You've really mastered that whole genre - which is especially amazing, because mystery is hard to do well. 

 

As always, your writing is so lovely. Your style is so natural and flows so perfectly, and you have such a strong, honest kind of voice which I love. 

 

I think, though, my favourite line has to be 'maybe you just have to open yourself up to the magic' - haha! Ahhh I love the idea that that's how magic works :P :P 

 

This is such a good chapter - we're definitely going to have to swap again soon at some point, because imma have to come back to this! :P 

 

Aph xx



Author's Response:

Hey Laura! No worries, I'm just happy you made it here, even with the crappy internet. 

Yes, Cate is definitely a walking contradiction, which is what I love about her.  And I definitely try to make her/all of my characters as real as possible, so I'm glad that's coming across as well.  We've all been Cate at one point or another is one of the best things anyone's ever said about one of my characters, so thank you for that.

I mean, more will be answered as you keep reading, and you'll still get more questions! And thank you so much, I never really know how well I write mystery, if I tell enough or if people are getting frustrated without knowing anything, so I'm glad that for now, it seems to be working on.

Aww yeah, I loved writing that line; it just seemed like a very Lee Jordan thing to say :P 

We can definitely swap again! Thank you so much for this great review <3 <3 



Name: Felpata_Lupin (Signed) · Date: 24 Dec 2017 02:31 PM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:Haunting Shadows Chapter: The Spark

Hello, my dear Jill!

So, this is a multitasking review: to wish you a Merry Christmas, to celebrate you being Hufflepuff of the month but mostly because I wanted to see what you had in store for me, especially since I knew it was a Rob chapter (I missed this story) :P

Seeing Rob writing again made me happy. I actually smiled at his thought that maybe Cate could illustrate his book and that he would actually sell it, isn't it what we all dream about? :P And it makes total sense that he wants to write about their summer, it really helps to write about hurtful events of our lives, it's a way to cope and I'm glad Rob is trying to do that.

By the way... I Siriusly hate Chris. Okay, no, I don't hate him, but the more you reveal about him and what happened, the more I find him annoying... I must admit, seeing him through Rob's eyes might give a distorted image, still that little snippet of conversation you showed us here... that was cruel! I mean, it's out of contest, they were fighting, and when people fight they say nasty things... and there's probably some truth to his words, too... but still... (I might also be biased because I still ship Rob and Cate...)

Erm, anyway... I love that Angelina checked on him. She's so sweet, I really like that girl! And. oh Merlin! Can you imagine the tantrum Wood would have put up if he'd been there during the Tournament and they suspended Quidditch?! Someone needs to write that! Ahahah!

So, someone is jealous... There was just an unsettling feeling in my stomach that this happiness had absolutely nothing to do with me. This is perfection. And Fred is a little bit of a jerk, but I'm glad Cate has someone who can truly make her happy, and we all know that Rob can't be that someone (even if I and he would really love otherwise).

I think I might be forgetting something essential I should comment on, but I can't really think about anything and I have tons of Christmas stuff to do still... so I'll just leave you for now.

Wonderful job, as always!

Merry Christmas,

Chiara



Author's Response:

Hello Chiara, I hope you had a lovely holiday! 

These little snippets have a reason; Chris isn't exactly a great person, despite what Cate seems to think. Rob might have a slightly distorted image, but more is going to be revealed later on to hopefully give you a better view of the whole picture from both of their accounts.

Angelina is so fun to write; and Wood would've had a fit! :P 

No, unfortunately not right now, Rob can't be that person for Cate; and Cate can't really be that person for Rob, either.  They've got a lot of growth to do still.

No worries, my dear! I'm glad you enjoyed the chapter, and thanks for the review! <3 



Name: Stella Blue (Signed) · Date: 21 Dec 2017 06:15 AM · [Report This]
Story:Haunting Shadows Chapter: The Aftermath

Ooh a Rob chapter! This was a kind of cool way to mix things up and I appreciate seeing things from his angle, since I really don't like him and I always find it helps to see things from the POV of charcters you don't like. Rob had a few moments where he really did seem like a human being here that I could feel sorry for, because he really did go through some horrible things too, but then he decided to try and bring up old wounds and throws some bitterness in her face and tactless responses to her and some really pointless jealousy about Fred. Hey Rob I'll let you in on a secret, it's because Fred is a better friend than you. Fred is the best. Did I mention I don't like Rob. :P

 

On the other hand, I think it was nice that Cate had that moment with him (and actually got to sleep! For a whole night! This is a big step for both of them) where she felt safe enough to let down her walls for a while, she needed that so much. And while she and Rob have a complicated history together, they also have some shared grief and he understands what she's going through.

 

So yeah I liked that they had this moment but I also hope Cate doesn't grow too reliant on Rob again because I've seen how they go in circles and things go well for a while and then they fight a lot,  and Cate really just doesn't need that kind of emotional pendulum all the time. Rob is no good for her.

 

Let's also talk about how amazingly you write McGonagall! Even the appearance of letters on the blackboard from a ghost doesn't faze her at all and a minute later, the class resumes. Back to business. And alongside her no-nonsense ways, you can really see the genuine concern she has for Cate - so much so that even though she clearly knows Fred is leaving just to talk to Cate, McGonagall lets Fred leave class too, because Cate could use a friend at the moment. McGonagall is amazing and I love her. I also love Fred. He is the best, I don't know if I said that enough times yet. :P

 

This was a great chapter! <3

 

 



Author's Response:

I love Rob chapters for this exact reason -- even if you don't like him, you can understand where he's coming from a little bit better, especially since he's not one to be totally honest in regards to Cate.  Is it really pointless jealousy about Fred, though? :P I'm not sure if you've mentioned it before ;) 

SLEEP! What a great thing.  And yeah, that's exactly it; despite whatever they're each going through on their own, they completely understand what the other one is going through and can try to be there for each other while nursing old wounds.  It's complicated and messy, but it works. Sort of.

Thank you! That's exactly how I was hoping McGonagall would come across; like, she doesn't want to create a big deal about what happened, but she also is concerned about her students -- so she'll let Fred leave class, and she'll let Cate get some air, but for everyone else, it's business as usual.  And yeah, Fred is pretty great; and I think you'll love him even more in the next chapter.

Thanks for a(nother) great review! <3



Name: Stella Blue (Signed) · Date: 21 Dec 2017 05:15 AM · [Report This]
Story:Haunting Shadows Chapter: Ghost

More reviews for Jill Appreciation Month!

 

I really like Lee and I'm so on board with this Cate and Lee friendship.

 

Eeek who is whispering to her in the corridor? Has the Basilisk learnt to speak English? Or Cate is a Parseltongue? OR: My Chris-is-a-Thestral theory is out the window and now I believe Chris is a Basilisk. Obviously. He's hiding inside the pipes!

 

I had too much caffeine this afternoon?

 

Chris is like the opposite of a vampire because he doesn't appear except in mirrors. :P But WOW, this scene was creepy, with Cate in the bath and hearing voices and seeing the ghost again in the mirror. I love the way you maintain this very unsettling tone throughout the scene, it's great.

 

Also Chris has the absolute worst timing. In the middle of her demonstration for class? I mean, I guess if he was trying to get her attention, he got it. But it's not like she's been ignoring him - she hasn't been able to forget him at all. This was a crazy, unexpected and very exciting end to the chapter. But one thing that's good about his awful timing is that everyone else seeing the words on the board and Fred actually being knocked out by him confirms that it's not just in Cate/Cath's mind (does she ever get confused by all the different nicknames everyone has for her??) and that he - whatever he is at this point - is real. In a weird way that's got to be kind of nice, at least now she knows she's not just going crazy.

 

Great chapter!!



Author's Response:

Kristinnnn, you spoil me this month! I love your reviews.

There is literally no such thing as too much caffeine, but your theories in your reviews always crack me up.

Thanks! I'm trying to work on keeping the creepiness in the story, and it's pretty new for me to write as part of a genre, so I'm glad it seems to be working out.

The worst timing or the best? ;) He certainly got her attention, and exactly -- everyone knows what's going on. (She doesn't, because there's only two people with nicknames for her - Chris and Fred, and I'mma gonna leave that at that for now.)

Thanks for the lovely review! 



Name: victoria_anne (Signed) · Date: 17 Dec 2017 08:19 AM · [Report This]
Story:Haunting Shadows Chapter: The Spark

Happy dance HAPPY DANCE because Jill updated AND IT'S A ROB CHAPTER!!!

 

I love the beginning of this SO MUCH because I connect to Rob as a writer. Writing down notes and bits of dialogue, completely losing yourself in your work... but this: If, you know, I ever finished it first. *wink nudge inside joke*

 

Aw, Angelina. What an absolute sweetheart. To both Rob and Cate. I really like the scene with her and Rob, even if it's punctuated by Rob's dark memories and thoughts. 

 

I love the casual conversation about the Triwizard Tournament, and how entertaining and exciting it must have been for the students not competing. I love seeing alternate viewpoints like that. I am squealing like the pathetic fangirl I am over Cate and Fred laughing together. Oh my Thor. So much love. I am totally totally shipping them (um... sorry Rob...)

 

Wait. BUT WAIT. A kiss! Okay that threw me a little bit. I have conflicted feelings. Cate, I'm forcing you to like Fred. He's good for you. I promise.

 

Pleeease don't leave it another 4 months before I get an update! I need more!!! <3



Author's Response:

I'm so glad you caught that little joke that was wedged in ;) And yeah, I think we can all relate to Rob; it was actually kind of happening while I was writing this chapter, so it seemed fitting.

Angelina is the best; I need to remember to use her more :P 

I'm glad you're starting to ship Fred and Cate! They really are adorable together.

You're not the only one with conflicted feelings, and I'mma gonna leave it at that.

I WILL TRY! No promises, though. :P Thanks for the lovely review, B! 



Name: Stella Blue (Signed) · Date: 02 Dec 2017 05:54 AM · [Report This]
Story:Haunting Shadows Chapter: Pride

Hi Jill! Here to build a snow fort for the winter wonderland! (OC POV)

 

I remembered how dark and shiny the wood was. -- Maybe a weird thing for me to point out, but I love this line because it's so true that you remember the really minute details at times like this, and this just rings really true with my own experiences.

 

Ok, I get that Cate is grieving and her emotions are understandably over the place, and I get that she can't emotionally invest in a relationship at that time, but telling her very recently ex-boyfriend who just confessed his love for her that her friend was her soulmate... I don't think that was a good move. Especially as Rob literally just asked if they had a thing and Cate is like "no. But he's my soulmate". Not really convincing, Cate...

 

I feel like Rob and Cate keep going in circles of misunderstanding one another and they're just this wall of Angst between them all the time. Fred is a breath of fresh air and Cate should spend all her time with him instead. She's happy with him, whereas Rob just reminds her of things going wrong and she's just in such an unpleasant headspace when she's thinking about him. It's kinda nice that they're trying to get on better terms again with tutoring or whatever, but I suspect it's just going to swing back around again because that's what their relationship does. You don't have time in life for people who bring you down. Goodbye Rob. Hello Fred!

 

Fred is absolutely wonderful though and his theories about Ron cracked me up. Yeah, I agree, Ron totally had a crush on Victor Krum. :P

 

Great chapter!



Author's Response:

Eep, Kristin! I sort of forgot you've been reading this story :P

I'm glad and also sad that it rang true with your own experiences; you do tend to remember these small little details in times like this.

I sort of feel like giggling at this next paragraph, because this is the beginning of  Cate's "Well well she's made some poor decisions and she's not the best at handling them" arch.  Rob's been pissed off for a few chapters, and you're finally going to start to figure out why.

Yesss, there's definitely a wall of Angst and misunderstanding around Rob and Cate. So much has happened between them, and it's really fun to see your reactions to how it all plays out. If only it were as easy as 'goodbye, Rob and hello, Fred!' but I def get what you're saying, and it's something that Cate's going to continue to struggle with.

Yesss he totally did!

Thanks for the great review! <3



Submit a Review