Login
Reviews For Icarus

Name: dreamgazer220 (Signed) · Date: 05 Feb 2018 04:21 AM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:Icarus Chapter: Inferno

TAG ♥

I was so excited that you came back into review tag.  I missed this story.

Oooh. This is definitely not a filler chapter, Kristin! It's actually really interesting, and nothing quite like I was anticipating.  You did a great job of transitioning between the two worlds and explaining everything.

I'M SO GLAD LANCE EXISTS IN THIS WORLD! I adore him so much, I think he's one of my favorite characters. And his mom is Cho Chang! I loved the detail you gave us about Chinese New Year before indirectly telling us who his parents were; it was a great little reveal. And so interesting that Harry's not Head Auror and the Colin is, and Myrtle is Minister of Magic?! So cool that Lance looks up to her the way that he does.

Oooh Lily. I adore her so much, and she's such a great narrator.  I love her little side comments like 'I would love to be smarter' and all of the ideas that are running around in her brain, and that she was disappointed to not be recognized for a change by the woman in her flat.  I'm also super curious about her and I noticed that you didn't reveal too much about her; I'm wondering if that's on purpose and she'll play a larger role in the story later on? 

I'm sorry if this review doesn't make any coherent sense XD I'm sort of just talking in circles to make sure I point out everything I loved about this chapter.

Honestly, Lance is the MVP here.  I love how he just sort of accepts Lily -- maybe because he still works in the Department of Mysteries? I really want to know where their friendship is going to go and I hope he sticks around.  I'm so glad Lily has someone she can trust in this world, or at least thinks she can trust, because I imagine the adjustment is a little terrifying.  She has a wand though, at least! And magic exists! So all good things.

This really was another fantastic chapter, and I'm so curious to see where you're going to lead us next.  Keep up the great work ♥ ♥



Author's Response:

Hiiiiii

 

I'm glad this didn't feel like a filler chapter, despite the fact that nothing actually *happens*. But there's a lot of world-building that needed to be done and I'm glad you liked it!

 

Yay for Lance! Funny thing is I never intended him to be a main character from the beginning, but then I liked him too much and just kept him around :P And I'm happy to hear that you liked the way his background was revealed. Again, this ties back into the fact that he wasn't intended to be that important originally, which is why I suddenly realized a year into writing the novel that he still didn't have a surname XD I think it finally comes out in chapter 6. :P

 

Myrtle being Minister of Magic was solely because I could get away with it and thought it was funny. :P Ah, the magic of AU.

 

I'm thrilled that you love Lily and her narration! And yeah, not being recognized is a big change for her - some things she's always taken for granted are going to come back to get her, in a way. As for the woman in her flat, there's more about her in the next chapter.

 

Lance is totally the MVP. If I were in his place I'd be weirded out if someone barged into my flat with that kind of information, like I'd think they were a spy or something? So I think him working in the Department of Mysteries definitely helped normalize this sort of thing as parallel universes are something he's been studying and so the idea that it worked isn't totally unrealistic to him. But yes, you're right, they don't have the kind of trust they had in Lily's original universe which will end up being important. But at least he trusts her just enough. So yeah, good things. :)

 

I'm so glad you enjoyed the chapter! Thanks so much for your review <3



Name: forever_dreaming (Signed) · Date: 22 Jan 2018 11:48 PM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:Icarus Chapter: Tempus Fugit

HI KRISTIN. Thanks so much for requesting a review! I've been meaning to come back to finish... and also pushing it off a little because I don't want the story to end, and I didn't realize I only have 5 chapters left (cries). But I'm so glad to come back because the moment I started reading again, it felt like I was coming back home. A sort of warm familiarity. This story just fills my heart ahhh. <3 

 

It's a little fitting then that this is the chapter where Lily finds her way home... and for her too, it's a little bittersweet. I actually felt so emotional reading about Lily's realization that she has a way home. I think that Lily's time in this alternate universe has taught her a lot about appreciating her old life, about finding her way in her universe—but at the same time, she's built a new life in this universe, as she said. And I can't bear the thought of her leaving Celeste and her friends and the Daedalus, especially because it's so clearly one of the only places where Lily can feel free to be herself, to explore and find herself. 

 

I found Lily's goodbye-party-esque scene to be so sweet. I loved the scrapbook she made, I loved the Phantom Coffee Spiller (I'm the Phantom Coffee Spiller in my house haha :D), and I absolutely adored the banter between the crewmates of the Daedalus. Really, I've grown such an attachment to the Daedalus, just as Lily has; they feel like my family too. The goodbye scene with Celeste has my shipper heart flying and breaking at the same time. PLEASE TELL ME THAT LILY FINDS CELESTE IN HER UNIVERSE klklgalksgjk; 

 

Sometimes, I wonder if Lily really should go back. I feel like she's found a life for herself where that is hundred times better than her life in this Universe, and I wonder why she's going back at all. At the same time, I know that her family must be missing and Lily was never meant to stay in this Universe—even though, I do think that she was meant to stay in this Universe. Not sure if you have the forces of Fate playing here, but it doesn't seem too unbelievable in a universe with giant centipedes... (That made me laugh so much haha. This chapter had such great sci-fi elements. You write sci-fi fantasy so well, but you also write such emotional scenes. You're such a triple? quadruple? threat. BASICALLY YOU'RE AMAZING). 

 

Also I'm amused at my past self now for thinking that going back would be such an easy choice. 

 

Okay, I'm going to cut it off here so I can keep reading, but be warned, I'm probably going to be a puddle of sappy emotions by the time I'm done hahaha. Oops. It's your fault, really, for writing this amazing story that makes me cry and laugh and smile all at the same time. <3 



Author's Response:

I totally understand the feeling haha. Don't worry, there's still quite a lot of story left to go, though! ;) Aw, and I'm so touched by the fact that when you started reading again this story felt like coming home. That's so sweet <3

 

This chapter was definitely meant to be bittersweet - she's finally where she wants to be, she's found purpose where she used to be kind of aimless, and she's met friends who have changed her life - all just on the brink of when she's about to go home. I'm honestly so glad to hear that that emotion in the chapter resonated with you.

 

Aw, thank you, I'm so happy you enjoyed her goodbye party! Bahaha, and I love that you loved the Phantom Coffee Spiller XD And it's wonderful to hear that you're so attached to the crew of the Daedalus, especially since they've only featured for four or five chapters. I can't say anything about the future of Lily/Celeste in a review response, but I'm glad that scene gave you so many feels ;)

 

It really is such a hard question, especially after  how much has changed for her since she got on the spaceship. Either way, she'll be missing something huge. Re: the giant centipedes, I was worried they might kind of take people out of the story for a second because they were just TOO ridiculous, so I'm glad that it wasn't the case, haha. And ack that is such a wonderful compliment, thank you so much! It's so flattering to hear that you think so highly of the sci-fi/action and the emotional scenes. You can't see it but I'm totally blushing. :P

 

Thank you so much for this wonderful review! <333333



Name: StarFeather (Signed) · Date: 20 Dec 2017 12:00 PM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:Icarus Chapter: Prologue

“were apparently not creative enough to think of original names for any of their three children.” I think, you used this phrase in the other story I’ve read on the previous community…maybe, if my memory was wrong, sorry. What I wanted to say, your expression is full of humor like Mary Su you wrote (I’ve just transferred the review there as well, so I remembered your rhythmic style,) the main characters looking back their own name, it’s your unique style.  

 

OH, I remembered when I spotted Albus Potter. I think I left the review, sorry again, I couldn’t find the one for transferring (‘cause my old review over 600 or so). So I’ll repeat the same kind of review. I really love this spot, honestly, I laughed again: “the one who was married to Lily. Gross. I try not to think about my name too much. Thanks a lot, Dad.”

 

No, no, Lily, I agree with Albus about naming your future daughter, “I’ve always wanted to name my future daughter Hyacinth – I think it’s a lovely flower and would be a beautiful name. Everyone I’ve ever met disagrees. Even Albus thinks it’s terrible, and he knows all about terrible names.)” Hyacinth? Are you mental (in Uncle Ron’s mode)? I prefer "Rose" or your name "Lily" to "Hyacinth".

 

I feel your humor again here, : It’s the most dysfunctional picture I’ve ever seen, as there are way too many people in my extended family to keep track of, and everyone in this moving photograph is running about and generally failing at being normal. But we’re all smiling.

I wondered what happened to Lily’s family… Rereading this chapter is a good review of your story. I checked Genre and Theme under the banner, okay, it’s not dark nor horror, it says Action and Adventure plus Careers, Friendship. I’m relieved for now.

Then after I read the latter half, I was sure, yeah, I’ve read this chapter. Albus loves collecting plugs like his grandfather, Arthur. Lily’s thought jumped back to her father’s teenager’s history, his grandparents and Voldemort…

 

Wow, when did you finish up to twenty chapters, Kristin? I need to finish reading all chapters ASAP.   

 

 

K



Author's Response:

Hi Kenny!

 

Haha, maybe it's not me you're thinking of, as I'd never written any next gen about the Potters besides this story. I'm sure other authors have also indirectly complained about the next gen kids' names in their fics though :P But, I'm glad you think Lily's internal thoughts are funny!

 

XD Most people seem to disagree with Lily about the name Hyacinth (and I can't blame you for disagreeing with her!). But  as you know, Harry and Ginny both have pretty terrible ideas of what they think are good names, so it runs in the family XD

 

Regarding what happened to Lily's family - nothing recently, she's just reflecting about the war that happened before she was born, and how family members she's never met died in it. I'm sorry if that was confusing! And for the genre - it's pretty solidly science-fiction, although I don't think we have a category for that so it went under action/adventure :P It never gets dark/horror although it does get suspenseful in parts. Or so I'm told.

 

It was very kind of you to stop by and read/review! Thank you so much and I'm glad you enjoyed the chapter.



Name: justawillowtree (Signed) · Date: 19 Dec 2017 11:06 PM · [Report This]
Story:Icarus Chapter: Unforgettable

YES. SHE MET CELESTE. THIS MADE MY DAY. I WAS GETTING SO WORRIED THAT HER BEAUTIFUL RELATIONSHIP WITH CELESTE WOULD BE LOST IN THE VOID FOREVER.

 

And Alex, omg. <3 They showed up. I really wasn't expecting them to, but now I'm just even happier.

 

I liked this ending a lot. I liked how you left enough threads open (such as the relationship between Marta and Lance, and the future of Lily) while helping to close some (allowing This Universe Lily to meet This Universe Alex and This Universe Celeste).

 

This story was a rollercoaster. It was exhilarating, incredibly intelligent, and very thought-provoking. I found myself thinking so much about different situations while reading this, and that's always an amazing thing to be able to do as a reader!

 

Congratulations for writing such an amazing story, Kristin. <3



Author's Response:

I stomped on everyone's heart with that chapter where Lily first comes back, so I really owed it to you here to let them meet again. Also I ship them so much that the idea of them never meeting again was just out of the question. Also the fiction world needs more queer couples getting a happy ending. I'm glad that you were so excited for them to meet again :D

 

Since Lily's experiences in the AU were mostly erased  - and all the character development along with it - it was particularly important to me that she meets some of the crew in this version of the universe. After all, so much of the early part of the story focused on how different people were without the influence of certain people in their lives, and so her getting to meet at least Celeste and Alex and therefore be influenced by them here kinda suggests that she can once again become the same person she was at the end of the voyage.

 

I'm so glad you liked the ending! I know it didn't really wrap up a lot of things (because real life doesn't ever wrap up neatly, there's always threads dangling at any time) so I'm very happy to hear that you liked the balance between open and closed ends here.

 

It's so wonderful to hear that this story made you think, and that you found it exhilarating and intelligent. That's honestly some of the most wonderful feedback any author can possibly here, so forgive me while I just swoon at your compliments and faint like a Victorian lady.

 

Thank you so much for all your reviews on this story, they were really a joy to read! I'm thrilled that you enjoyed reading the fic. Thank you ♥♥♥♥♥♥



Name: justawillowtree (Signed) · Date: 19 Dec 2017 10:58 PM · [Report This]
Story:Icarus Chapter: A New Normal

I was wondering when we would get to meet the infamous Indira Agrawal! Now I'm wondering about her memory loss, and how that relates to Lily's return. Because clearly, the two have something to do with one another, but what specifically?

 

Reading about Indira's decisions in this new world of hers was actually kind of sad. I felt for her when she said that about thirty years had passed since she had entered this world, especially since time travels so much faster in this world that the other one. It was a weird feeling when she said she remarried; I know she has every right to, but the fact that there might be a husband waiting for her in the other world makes me feel sad. (I'm using that word a lot. Lol.)

 

All I want is for Lily to just remember again. I want her to be able to regain all the personal growth she went through, and to make a difference in this world that has progressed less. And I hope she will get to do that.

 

The way you connect everything and remember to tie up all the loose ends is amazing. You never cease to impress me. <3

 

Last chapter, coming up!



Author's Response:

So... yeah, it was kind of hard to shoehorn this in there considering the characters never entirely figure out what happened XD Marta changed history when she went back in time, therefore rewriting the timeline of the alternate universe. This is why Lily can't remember it, and why Agrawal loses her memory - because suddenly these things have never happened. Aren't time paradoxes fun? :S

 

I felt super sad while writing it, too. The idea of not knowing what you've left behind, but knowing you did leave an entire life behind is just such a crazy thought and I imagine it'd be so hard. But ultimately she knows she'd be starting over if she went back, and she doesn't want to do that over again. But yes, it must be really sad for her family back home who go years without knowing what happened to her, although I imagine that the research crew on Balthazar passes on the message from Indira to her family when they return to Earth, so they do get some closure - not that that makes it any less sad. (Incidentally, Indira made the right choice, though - only three years passed in the alternate universe since she vanished, she'd come back having aged so much and finding out that the rest of the world hasn't, and that'd be awful.)

 

Well, Lily did have that dream about being on a spaceship, so maybe she's retained a tiny bit of it subconsciously...

 

Ahh, I don't even know what to say! Thank you so much ♥

 

Thanks for another amazing review ♥



Name: justawillowtree (Signed) · Date: 19 Dec 2017 10:48 PM · [Report This]
Story:Icarus Chapter: Hindsight

Oh, this chapter answered both of my questions in the previous review, haha, about why Lily forgot her second trip, and why she lost four years instead of the actual time she spent in the other universe. You're so smart and think of absolutely everything, I love it.

 

I can't imagine how her family feels right now. Losing someone so close for four years, having no idea whether they're dead or alive for so long, must have been really, really horrible. They must be so, so, so deliriously happy to have her back again. The family reunion was such a happy thing to read about.

 

(The fact that Percy scared all the reporters away by just being himself made me snort. Go Percy.)



Author's Response:

Eep, thank you! I'm glad that this cleared things up and makes sense!

 

Yeah, it must be super difficult for her family. I think they were a huge part of the reason Lily made the decision to go back even after she was so attached to the other world, because she knew what they must be going through (although of course she hadn't known quite the length of time that they'd been dealing with). I'm so glad you liked the family reunion - it was nice writing something so happy especially after the emotional drain  and huge amount of loss in the previous chapter.

 

(Also glad that you enjoyed Percy's heroic moment hehehe)

 

Thank you for another amazing review!



Name: justawillowtree (Signed) · Date: 19 Dec 2017 10:41 PM · [Report This]
Story:Icarus Chapter: Ghosts

NO. NO, HOW COULD YOU DO THIS. THESE LAST FEW CHAPTERS HAVE BEEN SO EMOTIONAL, I WAS NOT PREPARED FOR AN EVEN MORE EMOTIONAL RETURN. I had been hoping for a happy, relieving ending after everything that Lily went through, but no, you toss the saddest idea at us, that Lily forgot everything. She's forgotten Celeste, and meeting her grandparents (*sobs*), and her time on the spaceship with her amazing friends...

 

She's not going to be able to find Celeste now, especially since she can't remember her. I'm also beginning to worry if Lily will be able to remember the development that she went through in all her time on the spaceship. Will she still feel that motivation to become an activist?

 

Also, why did she forget everything, if she didn't forget anything the first time she world-hopped? Is it because the most recent world-hop was so much larger and lengthier? I'm so sad right now. She lost four years (was this due to a slight world-hop malfunction, this really long period?), and she can't remember. And she's also missed out on her friends' lives.

 

I find it funny that Lily-Universe's Marta ends up doing something similar to Other-Universe's Marta; marry a rich, pretty guy and live well forever. Except I'm assuming Lily-Universe Marta doesn't create another Voldemort.



Author's Response:

SORRRRRY.... That's all I have to say about that.

 

As for your questions - I know this chapter does raise SO MANY questions - so I'm glad that the next chapter cleared them up :P

 

I love the comparison to MArta's life in both universes though, haha. True.

 

Thanks so much for your review <3



Name: justawillowtree (Signed) · Date: 19 Dec 2017 10:31 PM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:Icarus Chapter: Meanwhile...

OH MY GOD, I ACTUALLY FLAILED WHEN I REALIZED THAT MARTA TRAVELED BACK IN TIME TO BECOME TOM RIDDLE I'S GIRLFRIEND. THE ONE THAT MEROPE WAS JEALOUS OF BACK IN THE DAY. KRISTIN. YOU ARE SO SMART. THIS IS SO CREATIVE. HOLY CRAP I AM SO EXCITED RIGHT NOW YOU HAVE NO IDEA.

 

I loved hearing things from Marta's perspective. Even though it is unconventional to write a third person chapter in the middle of a first person story, I thought it brought a necessary addition to the story. I still can't get over how cleverly you tied the worlds together.

 

Does this mean that Marta not only time-traveled but world-hopped, as well? Since Voldemort never existed in her world, then this must mean that she traveled to Lily's version of Earth, right?

 

This was so so great. Omg. Still not over it.



Author's Response:

EHEHEHEHE I LOVED THIS REACTION THANK YOU

 

I'm really glad you liked Marta's POV here, as well!

 

She didn't world-hop - Tom Riddle I already existed. But she *may* have changed things and the way history plays out. After alll, she kinda makes waves wherever she goes. Soooo.......

 

Thanks for your review!!



Name: justawillowtree (Signed) · Date: 19 Dec 2017 10:21 PM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:Icarus Chapter: Tempus Fugit

I just had a thought. Have you ever read The Martian, by Andy Weir? (If you haven't, gogogo because as soon as you hit the second or third chapter, it will be one of the most attention-worthy books you'll have read in your life.) Watching your characters explore Balthazar just reminded me of that. It gave me the same nerves and general stresses that I got when reading The Martian.

 

So much happened in this chapter, I'm still taking a few moments to digest it all. It was so engaging though, I was locked to my seat. The discovery that Indira Agrawal ended up on Lily's alternate-universe Earth was so shocking to me, I literally hadn't seen that coming at all. Also, Lily's actually been gone for a while in her world. I just sort of assumed that time would stop for a bit until she got back, but it makes sense that it continued while she was gone.

 

By the end of the chapter, I felt so exhilarated from everything that had happened. (Including the kiss that Celeste and Lily shared... I'm honestly so sad that these two won't be together. Unless Lily actively tries to search for and befriend Celeste in the other world.) I'm so excited that Lily's finally going to get back to her Earth (hopefully), and to see what amazing things she will do.



Author's Response:

I haven't! (I saw the movie, but I know how different movies can be compared to books.) Thanks for the recommendation! I will totally check it out. :) Also, the fact that you just compared my fic to "one of the most attention-worthy books you'll have read in your life" is omg I just kind of keeled over so thank you for that flattering comparison!!

 

This was a big chapter, yeah. The longest, and I think the point everything builds up to. I'm so thrilled to hear it was engaging. (Fun fact: I also didn't see Agrawal's relocation on Lily's Earth coming. That was a spur of the moment plot change haha). Anyway, as you know now after reading the whole fic, your musings here on the passing of time are very... timely (*cymbal crash* #puns), regarding what comes next.

 

I'm so glad you enjoyed the chapter and that it was exhilarating. That's so wonderful to hear. Thank you so much for your review! ♥



Name: justawillowtree (Signed) · Date: 19 Dec 2017 10:03 PM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:Icarus Chapter: All Good Things

These captain's logs sound so professional and technical and knowledgeable, and they add the perfect extra touch to a science-fiction fic. I enjoy reading them, and looking at the formatting of it all.

 

One of my favorite things about this alternate universe so far is the sheer number of diverse people Lily has met so far. Back in her old life, I think she only really had Lance who was non-white, and I think that was it. So being able to see her learn from being in a diverse environment is fulfilling and warming. I love her realizations about herself and her privilege. I especially love that one section when she's listing all her hopes for her world, when she becomes an activist.

 

I want Lily to go home so that she can prove herself as a more motivated person, but at the same time, I want her to be with Celeste, who sounds so amazing. I'm so torn. This is such a hard thing to think about.

 

Really great job, Kristin! <3



Author's Response:

Thank you! It's great to hear that you like the captain's logs and that you think they add so much to the story, I'm so happy to hear that!

 

I think you're right about Lily's old life vs this one, and I'm so glad to hear that her learning from this group of diverse people is so fulfilling. I'm thrilled that you liked that section too!

 

Yeah, it is really a difficult choice - the more time she spends there and the closer she gets to everyone, the less she wants to leave because she's found her community. But she now understands that she could make a huge difference back in the world she came from (besides, all her family is there).

 

Thank you so much!! ♥



Name: justawillowtree (Signed) · Date: 19 Dec 2017 09:53 PM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:Icarus Chapter: Show and Tell

Whoa, imagine being able to travel in a spaceship that goes faster than the speed of light. I'd probably spontaneously combust. Quite literally, I mean. The thought of it being done (without magic, of course) sounds simultaneously really awesome and really scary. That was a really neat point to add into the story.

 

Celeste is so funny, and so smart, and honestly sonds like someone that I would love to be best friends with. Hearing her converse with Lily, and directly address the problems of racism that are everywhere, made me respect her a million times more than I already did. I do wish she could go back home with Lily, especially because I can see a bright future for the two of them in which they are best friends (and maybe more heh), but she's accomplished a lot in this world.

 

Lily's character development is stunning. It was really subtle and gradual, between her absolute resentment of being born privileged and famous and her current stance on things. I'm excited to see what amazing things she will accomplish when she puts her mind to it.



Author's Response:

First time in the story I've been super jealous of Lily. Magic is very convenient really, because otherwise any space journey to a different galaxy would take YEARS. :P

 

I'm so glad you like Celeste, and her interactions with Lily! (I would so love to be best friends with her too, haha.)

 

Omg, thank you, that is such a wonderful compliment and I'm so glad you've enjoyed Lily's character development throughout the fic so far. I'm honestly so thrilled that you love the characters in this story.

 

Thanks so much for your review!



Name: justawillowtree (Signed) · Date: 19 Dec 2017 09:42 PM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:Icarus Chapter: 2032: A Parallel Universe Odyssey

"Isn’t it every child’s dream to be an astronaut?"

 

You're right. I definitely wanted to be an astronaut as a kid. It's still a dream, lurking in the far back of my mind. I used to be so obsessed with space and the stars and the universe (probably would still be, if school never happened to come along and crush my dreams), so I totally understand Lily's excitement at what's happening to her right now.

 

I love that Alex's band was called Defenestration! It's actually the word I put on my Princeton application under "Your favorite word." I still can't believe there's actually a word that means to throw someone out a window. English is amazing.

 

This description is so beautiful and totally matches the mystical and magical aura of space: "the pinpricks of distant suns the only embellishment in all the emptiness." It's really, really beautiful. I can tell that you love space a lot! It shows in your writing.

 

Getting to know all the crew members in this chapter was really fun, especially Fatima. Her progress of hopes and dreams into becoming an engineer was really interesting! I can feel Lily becoming more motivated to do something awesome with her life, haha.

 

This chapter was just amazing. I loved it!



Author's Response:

Bahaha, me too, and then I realized that physics is hard. I still love space, even if I could never be an astronaut :P

 

Ha, that's awesome! It's one of my favorite words too :D I know and like who came up with that? Like who decided there needs to be a word that means throwing someone out a window? Whoever they are, they are my hero.

 

Aw, thank you, I'm so glad you like the description and the mood that it creates! That's lovely to hear.

 

I'm also thrilled that you enjoyed meeting the crew members and hearing their stories. Fatima's story and her struggles trying to break out of an established gender role I think is unfortunately quite common for Middle Eastern girls.

 

Thank you, I'm so happy you loved the chapter! Thanks for another wonderful review <3



Name: justawillowtree (Signed) · Date: 19 Dec 2017 03:25 AM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:Icarus Chapter: Takeoff

I love the nod to Zacharias Smith, and how he's still as nosy as he was back at Hogwarts, in Harry's time, haha. Really fun detail that I never would have thought to include in a million years. Your attention to detail is amazing.

 

Also, I forgot to mention this last chapter, but the representation in this fic has made me so, so happy. Every time there's a woman of color, or LGBT representation, I just feel really appreciative, especially since you don't really see a lot of this kind of representation in science fiction. (In anywhere, really.)

 

We get to see Iris again! Except she seems like an entirely different person. I'm wondering whether she (New Universe Iris) managed to successfully battle her eating disorder, or if it's still plaguing her after all those years. It must be such a weird feeling for Lily, to see someone she knows and loves like this, for the second time.

 

Marta is a feminist hero. I loved the flashback, especially since it dealt directly with a problem that still plagues my school. There are seventeen-year-olds who still slut-shame, and every time I hear something like that, I just feel so disappointed in them. And vaguely astonished that in this day and age, people still hold on to archaic moral viewpoints.

 

I'm so happy that Lily escaped. Marta's predicament is really tragic, but I get why Lily, no matter how much she loves Marta, won't help her out here.

 

Really great job with this chapter! I really loved it.



Author's Response:

You can always depend on Zacharias Smith to be nosy no matter what universe he's in XD And thank you for the compliment on my attention to detail! <3

 

Eee, thank you, I'm so happy that you appreciate the representation so much. And yeah, I totally agree with you that way too much of sci-fi (and like... everything else) is about white straight men. Therefore, it is not merely coincidental that there are no white men of any real significance in this fic, and the women are in the spotlight and there are POC in positions of leadership. ;) One day I hope that representation like this in media becomes so commonplace, and POC/LGBT character-casts become the norm, that the fact that this story is diverse doesn't seem like anything particularly noteworthy. There's a definite element of using this AU aspect  to insert a bit of how I want the world to be ;)

 

While we don't really get into AU Iris' story much here, in my head she did successfully battle her eating disorder. She struggled a lot more with it, but eventually got the help she needed. Part of her extended struggle in this universe is why she became a human doctor instead of an animal doctor (as she was back in the original universe)

 

Ugh, I'm so sorry you have to listen to that type of garbage at school. There are adults who still slut-shame, too. ASdfjldsjflks. Our society has so many issues with its expectations for women. So yeah I'm stoked that you liked the flashback and how  Marta is portrayed there.

 

I'm glad you enjoyed this chapter! Thanks so much for the review <3



Name: justawillowtree (Signed) · Date: 19 Dec 2017 03:13 AM · [Report This]
Story:Icarus Chapter: Daedalus

(I don't know if this was purposeful or enough, but I love that the chapter that's the halfway point in the story is named Daedalus. Especially since the title of the story is Icarus. That's just so fitting. If it was accidental, then you've made a wonderful coincidence, haha. <3)

 

I'm so impressed by how specific your descriptions of the spaceship interiors were. I could picture everything perfectly, despite never having watched or seen anything featuring a spaceship in my life, and everything sounded professional and confident. (Even if you were making some things up, the important part is, you wrote a really, really good spaceship description.) I think this was the chapter where I began to see a possible space nerd in you. :P

 

What Lily's going through is really scary. Especially when the reporters and paparazzi ambushed her at the end there. I suppose I can understand why Marta did it, but the fact that Lily's going to have such a hard time getting home now (not that it was ever easy for her in the first place lol) makes me really worried for her.

 

I hope that the issue gets resolved soon.



Author's Response:

Haha, it was actually cocincidental that this chapter was the halfway point. XD

 

Eee, thank you! I'm so glad you were able to visualize the spaceship so well and I'm thrilled that you liked the descriptions! It is probably half based on spaceships I've seen in TV shows and half based on ocean ships (I used to work on one). Fun fact: I actually drew out a floor plan for the ship to help me write about it. I drew it in MS Paint so it looks very professional indeed. :P

 

Lily clearly hasn't had a difficult enough time already :P Yeah, I don't envy her here, and Marta was pretty manipulative.

 

Thanks for your review!



Name: justawillowtree (Signed) · Date: 18 Dec 2017 05:49 AM · starstarstarstarhalf-star [Report This]
Story:Icarus Chapter: Letting Go

This story has just been an endless sequence of events that have made me panic, hahaha. First, there was Lily's experimentation with the cube, where she stayed for far too long, and then there was the fact that she dropped the cube, and then there was her discovery of her grandparents (I was just scared they were going to hate her the whole time, but they're Jily, so of course they didn't, silly me), and now there's this.

 

Panicking is good for readers, I've heard. It shows that the author wrote a really compelling, interesting story.

 

So Lily's being blackmailed by her best-friend-from-another-universe Marta. In some ways, I'm relieved that Marta was the person who had spied on Lily in the supermarket, because I was expecting so much worse. I feel so sorry for Marta, though. She's not doing the greatest thing in the world, but she's not living a good life.

 

I thought it was funny how Lily Evans believed Lily Potter so easily. Like, I was just thinking, "Of course she would. Lily Evans is kind and intelligent and trusting, and so that's totally how she would act." Her warnings about the spaceship scared me a lot, though.

 

Fingers crossed things go well.



Author's Response:

Aw! I'm glad you think the story is compelling and interesting! And, I'm sorry about the panic :P

 

Yes it could have been bad. Although.... well, you've already read the rest so you know you were right to expect worse XD I'm glad you still feel sorry for Marta despite how kinda unlikeable she is here and how what she's doing doesn't really raise sympathy. But you're right, she's pretty desperate at this point for things to change.

 

The reason Lily I is kind of unfazed by Lily II telling her she's from a parallel universe, at least in my mind, has less to do with Lily I being intelligent/trusting, and more that she's old. And while it's so lovely to think that she had the chance to get old, this is a common thing that also happens when people age. So, of course she's still intelligent, but she's not quite as sharp as she was.

 

Thanks so much for your review!! <3



Name: justawillowtree (Signed) · Date: 18 Dec 2017 05:38 AM · starstarstarstarhalf-star [Report This]
Story:Icarus Chapter: Facing the Facts

I think it's great that you wrote about how serious eating disorders were in this chapter. (And thank you for putting a warning, otherwise it would have come up out of nowhere and I wouldn't have been ready.) So thanks for writing about that, I think it's really important.

 

Miriam Zhou is a lovely name by the way! I thought her ideas on how to get Lily back home sounded extremely dangerous, though. If the scientists have discovered a possible portal on an entirely different planet, then so many things could go wrong. Though I suppose at this point, Lily just wants to go back home, where there's a Marta and there's an Iris. The girl needs her friends. <3

 

Every time we see Marta here, I just feel so, so sad, at how Lily's (rather badly thought out) wish to come to a universe like this resulted in Marta's life being exceedingly unhappy. Also, I don't quite believe that Marta is straight. I don't think Lily is thinking reasonably when she says that. Oh, Marta. <3



Author's Response:

Thank you, I'm glad you appreciated that.  As out-there as this story gets, there were a lot of important, real issues I wanted to touch on.

 

Aw, thank you! And yes, the way home does have a lot of potential for things to go wrong. But  if it's that or never going home, which would you choose? What a difficult decision D:

 

Poor Marta :(

 

Thanks for your review!



Name: justawillowtree (Signed) · Date: 18 Dec 2017 05:30 AM · [Report This]
Story:Icarus Chapter: Lily, Meet Lily

(I'm so thankful you didn't make Snape and Lily a thing. They're my NoTP. I practically shuddered when I read your author's note, that Snape and Lily was a possibility. I can't even use their ship name, haha. Jily is the superior ship, hehe.)

 

This chapter hurt me a lot. I felt so sad the entire time Lily magically bumped into Lily and James. (Though, I do wonder, why wouldn't they continue naming their first child, Harry? Even though it wouldn't be the same Harry, they don't know that.) I was sad because I kept thinking about how in the original series, James and Lily died when they were barely in their twenties. That's so young. I'm reaching that age in two years, which is the scariest thing.

 

And now we get to see them white-haired and old, with grandchildren that they can play with. And we get to see Sirius as an old man, as well. He never died in the battle at the Department of Mysteries. There were just so many feelings, seeing some of my favorite characters alive and well, and that actually did make me wish slightly that Voldemort never existed.

 

But then we wouldn't have all this glorious Jily angst, haha.

 

Really great chapter!



Author's Response:

(Hahaha! I wanted to, just because. Even though I also hate the ship, haha. But then I realised it would have been just as implausible in this universe as in the other one, so instead we get glorious marauder banter. Jily is by far the superior ship. These days I can't even fathom how I thought I was going to write something else for them, haha.)

 

Maybe in the intervening years they met someone else named Harry and they didn't like him so they went with a different name for their son? Idk. No reason in particular. Also yeah. They were what, 21? SO young.

 

Happy scenes of what could have been are the hardest part of what-ifs, because they never got the chance to happen. *cries* I'm glad you liked seeing that scene, even if it also gave you sad feels.

 

Thanks for the review!



Name: justawillowtree (Signed) · Date: 18 Dec 2017 05:12 AM · starstarstarstarhalf-star [Report This]
Story:Icarus Chapter: Tabula Rasa

Lily is so good at lying. What a useful skill to have. Being a good liar can really get you places in life, if we're being honest here. Whenever I try to lie, I have to take like ten seconds in order to even think of something vaguely plausible, and by that point, people know I'm lying. So I'm so envious of Lily.

 

'The Space Bar' is still one of the best puns I've ever seen. (At the very least, it's genuinely funny. I even cracked a smile at it, which rarely happens for puns.) If you came up with it, you're a genius.

 

Meeting Marta in this state was a bit of a shock. I felt so bad for her, that without the positive influences of Lily and Iris in her life, that she didn't seem to be happy. I'm still really curious about what Voldemort affected. In some ways, it makes sense that Harry Potter wouldn't be known at all in the Wizarding World. I also liked that bit about Myrtle last chapter (only realized it now, though, lol, because I'm dumb), how she wouldn't have died if the basilisk never was released. And Colin Creevey wouldn't have died either, because there never would have been a battle.

 

Now I'm wondering, was there no one else who decided to step up and murder Muggles? The prejudice definitely existed in everyone who was a Pureblood. I'm just rambling now, haha, but your story is serious food for thought.



Author's Response:

Her friendship with Marta has been very helpful in that regard. (I'm also terrible at lying, so I feel ya :P )

 

Haha, thanks! :D

 

Yeah, Marta is very influenced by her enviroment, and things just didn't work out for her as well here. I'm glad you liked Myrtle as the Minister of Magic. And omg I was so happy to bring Colin Creevey back to life even if only in an AU

 

I'm so glad you're asking these kinds of questions! I honestly love hearing that this story makes people think.

 

Thanks for your review!



Name: justawillowtree (Signed) · Date: 18 Dec 2017 04:59 AM · starstarstarstarhalf-star [Report This]
Story:Icarus Chapter: Inferno

Lance's mother is Cho Chang! That's great, because I love Cho, and I was always upset at the treatment she received from both J.K. Rowling and other HP readers. So I'm glad to meet her son here.

 

It's interesting to see that everything in Lance's life has remained the same, that he was still born on the same day, and that his mother is the same person, and that he lives in the same place, even in an entirely different universe. It makes me wonder what exactly Voldemort had an effect on that led to Harry Potter suddenly not existing as the Head Auror, with the entire Potter family losing their claim to fame. (Was Harry even born, then? Or was he just raised without being famous?)

 

So many questions! I hope these all get answered in the future, hehe.

 

One thing I wanted to note that I found surprising was that in Lily's world, there were no spaceships. I'd just assumed that Lily's world was our world, and because Muggles have invented spaceships already, then I'd thought that Lily's world would have Muggle spaceships as well. But I suppose her world is also an AU of sorts? Adg;hag this is so interesting!



Author's Response:

I know! I think Cho is a great character, and Harry unfairly judges her in the books for grieving all the time. But like, who wouldn't be, if they'd just lost someone close to them, as she did? I think she had a horrible year and Harry was a bad boyfriend, but that one year doesn't define her personality, and I would have loved to see her at other points during the series like before Cedric's death or after she'd been able to process it a little.

 

I'm glad this is raising all sorts of questions for you :D

 

In my head at least, Lily's world is our world. Muggles (or I guess I can just say... real world humans) have rockets and unmanned space probes, but I guess in this context spaceships are like, a vessel that humans travel in to outer space, which we're not quite at that point yet.

 

Thanks for your review!!



Name: justawillowtree (Signed) · Date: 18 Dec 2017 04:49 AM · starstarstarstarhalf-star [Report This]
Story:Icarus Chapter: Playing with Fire

Lily is so gutsy? I actually can't comprehend it. She just fearlessly reaches into the screen and finds herself on the other side, in an entirely different universe, in an entirely different reality, and she still stays there for a few minutes before returning. Meanwhile I, someone who's only reading about her situation, was panicking and silently shouting at her to just hurry up and go back to her own reality already.

 

She's so brave. Even though she doesn't have a job and all that, I think her traits are super admirable. I honestly would have just leapt straight back into the world I knew instead of remaining in such a strange place for so long. (It wasn't even that long. She stayed for a conversation. It just felt like forever to me.)

 

I find it really unfortunate that she didn't get more information out of Lance. If she had, then maybe she wouldn't have gone back into the parallel universe (and from the looks of it, lost the cube as well). I hope she can figure everything out, wherever she is now. I just wish that she thought things through a little more before impulsively stepping back into the alternate reality presented by the cube, because now I'm going to be fretting about her all the time.

 

Great chapter!



Author's Response:

She is, after all, her father's daughter. Harry stuck his face in a Pensieve with no idea what it even was, so. I guess things like this run in the family XD

 

Lance doesn't realize that the questions aren't hypothetical. After all, most of his work is probably classified and he can't elaborate too much, and so he thinks Lily's questions are just a sort of passing curiosity.

 

Yes, things would definitely have been easier for her if she'd thought through this a little more before using the cube. But if she made good decisions then we'd have no story :P

 

Thanks so much for your review! <3



Name: justawillowtree (Signed) · Date: 18 Dec 2017 04:37 AM · starstarstarstarhalf-star [Report This]
Story:Icarus Chapter: Cultivated Arts

As a kid, I've always dreamed of participating in food fights, because they always seem to be the stuff of fantasy and imaginations. Alas, my dream never came true, and so I live my fantasies through reading glorious fics like these, in which food fights are a very real thing. (All this is to say I appreciated the friendly and amusing food fight between the Potter children, haha.)

 

I really like that James is a writer! It's a really different career choice than normal. Usually people have him doing something exhilarating for a profession, so this is the first time I've seen someone depict him as a writer. I like it a lot. Also, I love how Lily got her work done because she was "inspired by [her] brother's patheticness." That's me, to be honest. The only thing that really motivates me to do work is if someone who sets possibly the lowest bar in the world does better than me at something.

 

Marta's kleptomania is actually really amazing? Like, how did she manage to steal from the Department of Mysteries, from the Ministry of Magic? She could probably make a decent living off thievery. But this cube seems to be less than innocuous, so her kleptomania probably ruined everyone's lives.

 

I noticed that Lily likes Marta. That so sweet. I hope things work out for them in the future, but given the recent development with the cube, I have a feeling that's not happening anytime soon in the story. (To Lily: why would you push a button on an object you know nothing about? What would compel you to do that? Why are you like this?)

 

Things are happening! I'm so excited.



Author's Response:

Technically it's not an all-out fight, just more of a bit of mischief and a sneaky spell resulting in Albus' dinner exploding. But yes, food flew. :P Nothing out of the ordinary in this family I'm sure XD

 

Thank you, I'm glad you like that! I think 99% of the fics I've seen where James II appears, he's a professional Quidditch player, and I wanted as far away from that as possible.

 

" The only thing that really motivates me to do work is if someone who sets possibly the lowest bar in the world does better than me at something." -- This made me laugh out loud.

 

Marta is very crafty. She's actually quite intelligent, but when she's bored, she puts it to bad uses sometimes :P So like, she's stealing just because she can. If she were a worse person, maybe she'd make a living off of it XD

 

I'm laughing once again at your questions to Lily. These are questions I asked to Harry in the books. Such as: Why would you stick your head in a Pensieve? You don't even know what it is! And of course, Lily inherited these golden qualities from her father XD

 

Thanks so much for the review! <3



Name: justawillowtree (Signed) · Date: 18 Dec 2017 04:24 AM · starstarstarstarhalf-star [Report This]
Story:Icarus Chapter: Old and New

Oh, dear. Mysterious silver cubes appearing out of nowhere that emit odd noises are never a good sign. (Yeah, I don't know what I'm talking about, I've literally never read anything science fiction before in my life. Excited to delve deep into my first science fiction read, though!) Is this the time-traveling, time-resetting device that causes Lily to completely mess up everything?

 

I really liked meeting all of the characters for real in this chapter, and to hear their voices and their speaking styles. Marta is probably one of my favorites; when she jokingly said "Forsooth," I laughed. She's just really funny. Her...flirtation (?) with Neighbor Lance made me slightly uncomfortable on behalf of Lance, mostly because of how embarrassed he was, haha. And the fact that Iris is so proper, and the total opposite of Marta, creates an interesting friendship dynamic.

 

I hope to see some science fiction elements soon in this story! Very excited for that.



Author's Response:

When I first read this review I was reallly interested in what you'd think of the story having not read any sci-fi before. Because as you have seen, this story gets deep into every kind of sci fi there is. And I'm glad that you were excited to dive into it!

Thank you, I'm thrilled that you like the characters and the dynamic of their friendship! Marta was a lot of fun to write here :P Poor Lance. Marta comes on strong and is a little too much for him sometimes :P

Thanks for the review!



Name: Dojh167 (Signed) · Date: 10 Dec 2017 09:54 PM · [Report This]
Story:Icarus Chapter: Unforgettable

Omg even in the last chapter you’re still coming on strong with the creativity  I love all of the details about Lily’s new apartment, Candace’s love life, and the birds! XD

 

OMG ALEX

 

Hehe, I like the smoking gillyweed reference - everything’s coming back around, from both timelines.

 

GIRL WITH DREADLOCKS ALERT

 

lol so gillyweed does in fact have a special kind of high XD

 

I love the line “what I do know is that it’ll be difficult keeping the smile off my face until then.” Not only is it incredibly cute, but it is a great way of bringing together the threads of uncertainty and optimism.

 

Yay, we made it to the end! I am super proud of myself for reading this all the way through (I can be such a flakey reviewer) and of you for finishing it!

 

I did kind of expect Lily to get her memory back by the end. But you said that you’d always wanted to write a story where the MC forgets everything, and you sure did that!

 

In a way, the way things ended with Lily’s memories worked really well. On one hand, I’m still really sad about her losing what was a very formative time for her. But also, When she was in the alternate universe, all she had wanted to do was return to her old life, so in a way she got what she wanted. And even more significantly, she wanted to be able to be with Celeste, but knew that memories of the Celeste she had known would get in the way. This way are free to develop their relationship naturally without memories of alternative selves, and that’s really lovely. I’m jealous I don’t get to read more of that courtship!

 

Again, excellent job with this story! I’m super glad I got to read it!

 

Sam.



Author's Response:

Saaaam thank you so much for reading all the way through, I can't even begin to tell you how much it means to have that kind of feedback of someone who read the whole thing. <3

 

I'm so glad you liked the silly details about Lily's new life. I don't even know how Candace or all her weird pets ended up existing but she was hilarious to write. :P

 

It's great to hear that you liked the way the end worked out. As you said, there aren't any memories of alternative selves complicating the relationship, and I thought that would be important. But one thing I tried to slip in there was the idea that maybe it's not entirely lost forever. With the dream she had about a spaceship, and hearing Celeste's voice, and thinking Celeste looks familiar, I was hoping to suggest that Lily retained at least a little of what she gained, but it's all subconscious, sort of. So all that growth that happened on the voyage that she subsequently lost, it's still there inside, like she still has that potential. (Idk. I might not have conveyed that really well because I wrote this chapter so fast :P)

 

Anyway. Thank you so so so much for all your reviews and love. I've enjoyed reading your comments so much. And I'll have to find that book you mentioned :P



Name: Dojh167 (Signed) · Date: 10 Dec 2017 09:25 PM · [Report This]
Story:Icarus Chapter: A New Normal

lol yes, it doesn’t look good to have a four and a half year gap in your CV. Then again, Lily has the unique ability to say that time hasn’t passed in her experience of time XD

 

Once again we’re seeing Marta in kind of an unfavorable light. I don’t blame Lily for being upset that Marta doesn’t want to see her though. But  I’m also glad that Lily acknowledges the fact that she is behaving in a similar way to Marta.

 

Oh no, I’m really sorry to hear that Marta’s not doing well =(

 

Oh good, the new silly name was for an owl - I wasn’t ready for another Weasley baby! I really like the name platypus for an owl though XD

 

I’m curious to find out about Agrawal’s memory issues! It seemed like she remembered things based on the note she sent to the cave, so I’m curious to find out more.

 

Lily’s contemplation of whether or not it would be better or worse for Agrawal to get her memory back seems very applicable to Lily herself. While I think it could make Lily sad to remember the relationships that she can’t get back, but she’s also missing the happiness associated with those memories. And what I think is even more significant is the character growth that she had during that time, which is an awful thing to lose, in my opinion

 

It seems a little unlike the ministry to destroy the cube. I mean they’ve kept a lot of other irresponsible things XD I’m surprised that with Lily’s return they wouldn’t be more driven to explore the mysteries of it. What’s also interesting to me is that the alternate universe is working on developing similar technology (plus what’s on Balthazar) and are unlikely to make the same decision to destroy it.

 

Okay. But. In the history of forever, have humans ever waited to mess with a single thing until they understood all the repercussions? I think not.

 

I find it interesting that Lily said she thought of Agrawal as a third grandmother, when she only really ever knew one. It shows just how much she values Lily even when she hasn’t (or thinks she hasn’t) met her.

 

Awww I think that ending was really sweet. I really hope the two of them stay in each other’s lives.

 

Sam.



Author's Response:

Lily doesn't really know what's up with Marta, and she is so used to their friendship being a particular way that she can't help but assume something's changed for the worst. In fairness to Marta, we haven't seen her side of things yet, and Lily's POV is pretty biased right here.

 

XD nope just an owl. Haha I'm glad you liked the name though.

 

Yeah, so Agrawal did remember things for the thirty years after she appeared in that universe (including when she sent the note), but with AU Marta meddling with history and ultimately changing it and erasing the present (which is why Lily can't remember), that's when Agrawal lost her memory of it as well. I probably didn't explain that very well....

 

Perhaps they're learning some valuable lessons in the Ministry after so many things went wrong with the cube. I'm sure some people at the Ministry certainly advocated for exploring the mysteries of the cube, but now that they know how dangerous it really is and how far things can go wrong, they decided against it (maybe not unanimously). And, well, the alternate universe *was* working on developing technology but Marta sort of changed history sooo

 

What you say is completely true about humans messing with things before we know the repercussions hahahaa

 

Lily has grown up with stories about Lily I (maybe legends is a better name, since it's not like Harry knew her either) and based on how much Harry thought about his parents despite never meeting them, I imagine that Lily has grown up quite influenced by Lily I even though she's never known her.

 

I'm so glad you liked the ending!

 

Thanks so much for another wonderful review! <3



Name: Dojh167 (Signed) · Date: 10 Dec 2017 08:40 PM · [Report This]
Story:Icarus Chapter: Hindsight

Now that’s a chapter summary I can get behind! Though, knowing this story, it’s probably not what it seems ;)

 

It is kind of a comfort to the reader that Lily is missing a toe, because it answers some questions about the timeline, but I’m sure that’s no comfort to her!

 

Hehe, I love how you say all the apparation cracks make it sound like popcorn XD

 

I think you did a really nice job with the little bits of banter between the Weasleys. Even though we’ve seen very little of them in this story, it made them feel very familiar, and it gave me some of Lily’s sense of happiness while being a bit overwhelmed.

 

OMG PERCY WEASLEY I LOVE YOU.

 

Seriously, that was a more perfect day saving than I hoped for XD

 

This chapter was kind of a bittersweet mix - it was nice seeing all of the Weasleys again and everyone’s happiness to have Lily back, but there are some sad parts to that with all of the changes Lily has missed (especially with Molly and Arthur), and the ongoing feeling from the last chapter of being out of place and not having answers.

 

I really hope Lily gets her memories back.

 

Sam.



Author's Response:

Never did I think there would be a situation in which the number of toes someone has would answer vital plot points, but there we have it. :P

 

Ahh, yay, thank you , I'm so glad to hear the Weasley banter was well done and that they felt familiar despite having appeared in like, one chapter of the entire fic.

 

Percy's day-saving was definitely my favorite bit of the chapter to write. What a hero. XD

 

I probably sound mean for saying this (but you're an author so you probably understand the satisfaction that comes with playing with your readers emotions :P ), but I'm glad the chapter gave you so many bittersweet feels.

 

Thanks so much for your review! <3



Submit a Review