Login
Reviews For Pure Intentions

Name: justawillowtree (Signed) · Date: 25 May 2018 01:04 AM · [Report This]
Story:Pure Intentions Chapter: Red Balloon

Hi Rose! What a last chapter omg. Of all the things, I didn’t expect that everyone would end up broken up slkdj but now that I’ve thought about it for a little while more I think it’s all for the best. Because Scorpius was using Rose, and (as you pointed out in this chapter) Albus was using Brandon, and neither of the two relationships were super healthy.

 

STILL THOUGH. It came as a shock when Brandon broke up with Albus. :( At least my boy will get some time to find happiness on his own, though. I thought the lines about how one person can’t use the other as their happiness were very wise and really interesting to think about.

 

I’m also so so glad that Albus and Scorpius can be civil to each other! I’m glad that Scorpius is making his own way into the world, without the pressure of his parents hanging over his shoulders, and I’m glad that the two have agreed to be friends. And I love Rose. I love her so much. <3

 

This was such a wild ride of a story and the ending was so completely unexpected but in a good way! <3

 

~Eva



Author's Response:

My outline for this story had a bullet point of "everyone breaks up by the end" so... I'm sorry. I hated breaking up Albus and Brandon! :( :( :( :( I mean, I knew I was going to do it when I got them together and I was glad when the obvious reason fell into my lap but, like, it hurt me to write it. The finding happiness outside of a relationshp was my accidental morality tale of this story. A lot of people have commented on that and it's something I intentionally put it but was also a late add from a planning perspective. 

Yes! I had to end on their friendship. I mean, it felt important to me that they could be friends at the end and not have jealousy or other stuff in the way. 

I'm so glad the ending was unexpected. 

thank you so much for reviewing this!! I am very, very glad you liked this <3



Name: justawillowtree (Signed) · Date: 24 May 2018 02:09 AM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:Pure Intentions Chapter: Red Line

Hi Rose! I actually read this chapter last night, but I didn’t want a repeat of the Embarrassingly Delirious Review situation, so I decided to wait until I was a little more coherent. But I’m pretty sick right now, so this might not be the best idea. I honestly don’t know why I get reviewing urges at the worst possible times, it’s kind of terrible.

 

Anyway, I really enjoyed this chapter! So many things happened omg and I’m trying to predict the ending of this but coming up short because, wow.

 

I loved the furthered development between Albus and Brandon, and learning more about Brandon and his backstory. I also really liked that Brandon didn’t tell Harry the private conversation that went on between Albus and him. Like, I think it’s amazing and wonderful that Harry was concerned, but I’m also glad that Brandon respects his boyfriend’s privacy, and understands that if Harry doesn’t already know, then Albus clearly didn’t want to say anything about it.

 

And then Rose found out! Eep! Thankfully Albus was calm about it, and reassured her on the matter. At first I thought this meant that everything would be okay, but then THINGS FELL APART ACK. Rose and Scorpius broke up (which honestly might be for the better, because judging by the way he was asking her about marriage, he was pretty clearly using her for that), and then Scorpius couldn’t take his family anymore. I really liked that Astoria helped him out. What a wonderful mother. <3

 

WHAT HAPPENS NEXT.

 

~Eva



Author's Response:

You're a star for reviewing while sick. <3

I don't know why but I was really fascinated by the idea of Brandon having to navigate the whole "my boss is asking me for this info that I don't feel I should share" it comes up a few times. alsooooooooooo, writing them in this chapter was very very fun for me. 

I like to think of scorpius bringing up marriage with Rose was his way to cause them to break up without having to break up with Rose. It's a pretty chicek thing to do but he was more or less happy with her even if they didn't fit as well as he could have with al. Astoria really pulled through for him in the end. there's a lot of changes with Astoria and Draco through the series. 

I DON'T KNOW WHAT HAPPENS NEXT EXCEPT THAT I DO AND I'M LAUGHING. :P 

thank you for a wonderful review!



Name: justawillowtree (Signed) · Date: 21 May 2018 06:07 AM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:Pure Intentions Chapter: Red Letter

Rose thinking that Agatha was talking about Scorpius-the-person instead of Scorpius-the-constellation made me laugh. Though I made the same mistake so maybe I shouldn’t be laughing at her, lol whoops. (I actually completely forgot that there was even a constellation called Scorpius. Though maybe I shouldn’t’ve because, I mean. Purebloods and their weird names, amirite?)

 

Hmmm I’m trying to figure out if Scorpius is gay and is actually using Rose purely because she’s a girl, or if he’s bi and is genuinely into Rose, though not as much as Albus. Both aren’t ideal, but I do hope he’s not just using Rose. ALSO I DON’T KNOW WHO I SHIP ANYMORE. I thought I had it figured out last chapter, but I don’t. Now I think I ship Scorpius/Rose more, if only because I want Rose to be happy and I want Scorpius to be happy, and I’d hate for them to be in a relationship where one is constantly lying to the other about their feelings?? But that’s more of wishful thinking and less because I actually think these two fit each other. I think.

 

ROSE, I DON’T KNOW.

 

What I do know, though, is that Albus and Brandon are absolutely adorable together. (When Albus was just sitting there reading Jane Austen, my heart kind of broke for him. Because Jane Austen stories are like my go-to cheer-up books, and so it’s not a good sign that Albus is reading them while sad.) I wasn’t sure who this young Auror was going to be when Harry first mentioned him, but as soon as Brandon was introduced by name, I was like OH because I’m pretty sure I recall you writing a story for the Domesticity Challenge between Brandon and Albus, right??

 

So I was 100% prepared for Albus/Brandon (what is the ship name) cuteness, and you didn’t disappoint at all! Every interaction they had left me smiling, and by the end of the chapter, I was positive that these two made each other happier than Albus/Scorpius ever did. And I think that Albus having to hide all those years that he was with Scorpius did hurt him a lot, so I’m happy that he can have an open relationship with his boyfriend now!

 

And okay, Scorpius, you have no freaking right to be jealous, okay. (I mean, maybe you do, a little, because your parents technically forced you into dating a girl, but still, for you to act cold and righteous is NOT NICE.)

 

Eep that ending!!

 

IT GOT ALL DRAMATIC AT THE END AND I WAS LIKE “OH NO.”

 

(I’ll probably end up reviewing the rest of this story tomorrow haha, I’m too curious to stop. <3)

 

~Eva



Author's Response:

I've outed myself as an astronomy nerrrrrd. I am glad it made you think twice because I worried that the constellation would be the *obvious* reference point. But, not everyone is as into constellations. *cough* I need hobbies *cough* 

I KNOW THE ANSWER ABOUT WHETHER HE'S BI OR PRETENDING. I make it prettttty clear in TR. o.o I'm so glad you don't know who to ship. It's really one of my life goals as an author. I have really complicated feels about ScoRose in this universe but I can't go into them without spoiling my writing plans. 

aaaaaaaaaaaaaah! darn my in-universe spoilery one shots. x_x I am glad Al reading Jane Austen was a signal about his mood in this chapter. I really loved setting up branbus and giving them cute scenes together. Brandon is a much better partner and he/Al are very happy together. I do love writing happy couples. Just, don't ask why I keep pulling happy couples apart in my writing. 

hahhahahhaahahahaha, Scorpius' jealousy is my favorite aprt of this chapter. Well, I mean, I loved writing it. I'M SO GLAD YOU GOT PULLED IN/ADDICTED. yessssssssssssssssssssssssss

thank you for a wonderful review and sorry for my loopy response. 



Name: justawillowtree (Signed) · Date: 19 May 2018 02:36 PM · [Report This]
Story:Pure Intentions Chapter: Red Hot

Okay so I read this chapter last night but I was so tired from prom that I kept nodding off before realizing I still had to review your chapter (not that your chapter was boring, or anything, just that I’m a sleepy person who sleeps too much lol), and I thought it best to wait till the next morning. Because I reread that other review I left you, when I was most definitely half-asleep, and. Many apologies for that. I feel quite embarrassed about it now haha. Please forgive any weirdness in that review, I literally don’t know what I was thinking while I wrote it.

 

I felt so sorry for Albus throughout this chapter! I just wanted to give him a great big hug and then put him back together with Scorpius so that everyone is happy. You said you wanted to know who I ship, and I generally ship the characters that make each other happy while also being good to one another, and to me, that’s Albus and Scorpius. Like, obviously Scorpius really enjoys Rose’s company and doesn’t mind kissing her left and right, but the fact that he doesn’t miss Rose while she’s gone for a while says a lot to me.

 

(This line was gold, though: “Feeling jarred by both the question and the mutilation of his name… after Hugo called him Scorp. I cracked up so much omg.)

 

Also I was amused during Scorpius’s first meeting with Ron and Hermione. It’s really in-character with how I imagine those two to be, so it was a lot of fun seeing that again. And ughhh Scorpius’s parents. I can’t even begin to express my frustration with them right now. But the dinner with Rose’s parents was so much fun to read! I’m typing this review before breakfast right now, so that list of dishes at the dinner is making me ridiculously hungry haha. I also loved how Hermione poked her head into the room and was so surprised to find them behaving hahaha.

 

And awwww, Albus. *hugs*

 

This was such a good chapter! And again, apologies for the last review. ;~;

 

~Eva



Author's Response:

Your dedication is way beyond my own, lol. I took a night off fanfic for my prom :P I do love weird reviews, Really. I can also appreciate sleeping first. I usually sleep first. 

I like your thought process for who to ship. I've never thought about ships like that and suddenly I'm questioning everything about how I do shipping. o.o #mindblown (yes, i know hashtags don't do anything in review responses but i'm old enough to use them in the wrong places :P) Scorpius not missing Rose is 1000% meant to be my not so subtle clue that they're not meant to be. 

Seriously, my fav thing is to hear that my next gen people are in character. It's always a gamble to not have them be the exact people who they were in DH but not have them so different that people feel like they missed a significant life event. For some reason, I always write about meals and make myself hungry when I write. I'm writing about dim sum in my next chatper of lightning love and just thinking about it makes me want eaaaaaat. Hermione poking her head in is probably more a testiment to her/Ron getting up to *stuff* as teens than it does anything else :P 

haha, I love all you reviews

thank you!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!



Name: Unwritten Curse (Signed) · Date: 19 May 2018 05:20 AM · [Report This]
Story:Pure Intentions Chapter: Red Balloon

So I just read this whole story. I'm sorry for not leaving reviews after every chapter, but I just couldn't stop reading. It's been a while since I've done that. Thanks for writing a fic that so totally wrapped me up.

 

I know I'm going to forget something, but let me try to gush about all the things I loved.

 

First... Scorpius's mom. I knew she loved him. That became obvious when Scorpius was kicked out and she came upstairs to give him money and wish him the best. That scene broke my heart. I can't imagine feeling torn between my husband and my child like that, and having to say goodbye to my only child. I wish she had done more, but at the same time, I think she did all that she could do, what with the beliefs she was probably raised with. It's hard for people to change. I get that.

 

I love Brandon but I hate him, too. Not really hate. But kind of. He's very mature, and that's good. Albus needs someone who is confident in themselves and I love that he felt like he was able to be free with Brandon. The comparison of the two relationships was stark. Albus probably did love Scorpius, but it's clear now that it was not a healthy relationship, and now Albus knows that, even though Brandon did break things off. Gah. I totally agree with Brandon, but I'm sad that he broke things off. Couldn't they have just talked about it? Couldn't Albus have gone out and done things for himself while still dating Brandon? Maybe not. Maybe he needed the wake up call. BUT I'M NOT HAPPY ABOUT IT, ROSE. NOT AT ALL.

 

Judging by the other stories in this series, they do manage to find their way back to each other. I'm excited about that.

 

OH, I almost forgot (see, I told you I'd forget something), I love Albus and Rose's friendship. It was so cute when Rose ushered him up to her room to avoid the awkwardness of a confrontation with Ginny about what had just happened. It makes the fact that they were mad at each other for so long even more heartbreaking. I also love that Rose was so upset when she heard that Scorpius had done something cruel to Albus, even though Al didn't tell the whole story. It was nice to see her believing Albus and taking his side, even though she did like Scorpius. Their break-up was so... I don't even know. So cold. But it made me sad for Scorpius, too, because he was so caught up in what his parents wanted at the time. I'm glad he's free now.

 

Albus as an inventor is lovely. I hope that he succeeds. He seems genuinely happy experimenting with magic and I'm glad that he feels like he has a path now. It's hard to find yourself after graduation and feel like you have purpose again after just being a "student" for so long.

 

I'm sure I forgot to gush about something, but I hope this review conveyed how much I enjoyed this story. I seriously haven't read fic in so long, so getting back into it feels like coming home. Especially this story. I just fell into the story and couldn't stop reading and I miss that feeling. So thank you. Thank you for writing this and for being a generally lovely person. :)



Author's Response:

I just love that you went throught the whole thing. I mean. While I value every review and admire it when people comment on every chapter (it's fun to see someone's journey) getting the final chapter review is the one I care about the most. I'm also just so excited the story stole you away and got you into it. :D :D :D :D 

I can't imagine being in Astoria's place (partly because usually my husband and I agree on big things). I'm glad that her love came through when Scorpius decided to move out. I feel like she's still very tied to the way she was raised and taught to be as a parent. She does break out of the way she was raised later on in the series. At least a bit. 

I wasn't happy writing Brandon and Albus breaking up. I knew that I didn't want Albus to be in a relationship at the end of the story but I didn't want him and Brandon to have a messy/hurtful breakup. That's when I saw the co-dependency forming and knew that'd be a good reason for them to breakup without it being an epic disaster. Brandon and Al do wind up together after a fashion. There are more bumps for them though (especially in the stuff I have planned). 

Writing Al/Rose's friendship was a delight. I love platonic friendship as much as romances. I felt bad keeping such good friends apart. Al was kind of taking a hit in his own happiness for Rose's happiness (obviously with not being an obstacle with her dating Scorpius but also) because he stepped back as her friend during that period even though it wasn't easy for him. I left Albus' story incomplete re: his full history with Scorpius because I want there to be more drama about that in the future, lol. I'm the worst. 

Thank you so much for getting lost in my story -- it's such a humbling thing to hear <3 I'm so glad you're jumping back into the site because you're just an amazing person. 



Name: Unwritten Curse (Signed) · Date: 19 May 2018 03:52 AM · [Report This]
Story:Pure Intentions Chapter: Red Flags

Gah. Rose, I love this.

 

This is literally my headcanon of Scorpius. Totally gay but caught between his own desires and the desires of his family (which are, of course, to produce an heir). He's also a bit of a snot/quite moody. In short, your version is perfect. You write him in such a way that I feel bad for him, but I also kind of want to smack him. It's brilliant.

 

Albus. I just want to give him a hug. He is so stinking sweet and unsure of himself and clinging to Scorpius even though he senses it will end badly. I could feel the desire when he walked into the party and asked Scorpius to sneak away. How freaking adorable when they are dancing in the cellar alone. Harry's comment at the end ("There's not much to see down there") cracked me up. He has no idea, does he? Or maybe he does... It did say his voice was "unusually crisp" so maybe he does know and his feelings are similar to Draco's feelings on the matter. Hmmm. I would expect Harry to be different. We'll see.

 

I'm curious to see what Scorpius does with his parents' wishes. Will he try dating women now? I loved some of the commentary running through that scene. Like how it was scary to date Al because he felt so strongly about him, so maybe it would be less scary to date someone that he wasn't attracted to. That struck me. And I'm really unsure how to feel about his mom. She seems to genuinely love him, but her whole "family comes before your own desires" is... eh... not the best advice. I see where she's coming from, but ultimately, as a parent, I would think supporting your child's happiness comes first. Is he really hurting the family by pursuing love? Like, can't he adopt? I don't know. Her views seem old-fashioned, but she clearly loves her son. So I'm torn.

 

This is beautiful. I love the nuance and the complicated relationship that Al and Scorpius have forged. I love your writing--it is descriptive but not overly so, and the characters already feel so well fleshed out. Dang. I need to read more of your writing.



Author's Response:

Gina!!

I can't tell you how much your review means to me. ^_^ I'm so excited that Scorpius feels right and makes you sympathize for him and want to smack him a bit. He's a bit unsufferable and loveable. 

Albus is a bit adrift. I don't have a great explanation/background about why he's so unsure of himself and willing to accept the relationship he has with Scorpius (gah, I almost typed draco -_-) Harry's tone was more about the cellar being where he and Ron were imprisioned rather than any thoughts/dislike about Al/Scorp's relationship. I did love writing them happy at the party together. :D Kind of a moment of happiness before it all goes downhill. 

I wanted to include the bit about why Scorpius is torn about following his heart because otherwise he's just too cold and cruel. I'm okay with that being how he seems but as I was giving a view of his feelings, I needed him to be more sympathetic. Astoria is definitely not a perfect mom. I feel like she's trying to support him based on what she knows/experienced but not really with objectively good advice. Adoption is definitely an option they don't even bring up (or having a baby momma situation). 

aaaaaaah! thank you so much -- this all feels like so much coming from you <3

 



Name: justawillowtree (Signed) · Date: 18 May 2018 03:22 AM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:Pure Intentions Chapter: Red Rose

Hi Rose! <3

 

Scorpius! Why would you do that? Why would you break poor Albus’s heart?? At the very least, let him know what’s happening before suddenly going behind his back like that and flirting with Rose and asking her out. After all, you have to bear some responsibility. :(

 

Though Albus was suffering quite a lot, I did really like this chapter hahaha. I thought you depicted the fall-out between Albus and Scorpius perfectly – Albus really hadn’t been expecting something like this happening right now, and so the emotions really caught him by surprise. Every time he cried, though, I almost started to cry. I just want my boy to be happy.

 

It was also so so nice seeing Harry being the kind, fatherly parental figure. His advice was really sound, and I hope that one day Albus will be able to make use of that.

 

BUT OKAY. Scorpius/Rose is one of my favorite straight ships. But also Scorpius/Albus is another one of my favorite ships, so I loved that those would be put together.

 

 I’m so sorry, I’m yawning these deathly yawns because of how exhausted I am. I’ve had to go through and check for the weirdest Freudian slips, but I may have missed it. I think Scalora told us about it some time ago. :(

 

Sory for the shortness! Too exhausted ;~;I’m going to go sleep hehe.

 

~Eva



Author's Response:

Scorpius is being very cold hearted towards Al here. I dno't have any excuses other than... he's not at a maturity to know how hurtful he's being/he's looking out for himself here more than Al or Rose. 

So... you'll suffer but you'll like it? :P That's how I usually describe my stories to people. I'm sorry that his crying made you cry. It does get better for him though!!!!! *hug*

I looooooooooooooooooooved writing the Harry/dad scene. I feel like he'd try extra super hard to be a good dad, espeically at times like this. 

The person I wrote this for loved ScoRose and Scorbus. I decided to do both. :D :D :D D: D: D: I do have an extra saucy story about them on AO3 if you're into that kind of thing. ;)

I really love loopy late night reviews! 

thank you so much!!



Name: justawillowtree (Signed) · Date: 17 May 2018 10:57 PM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:Pure Intentions Chapter: Red Flags

Hi Rose! <3

 

I was looking through your chapter titles and I really like the theme of red! I just like matching titles very much haha.

 

Awww, Scorbus! They’re so sweet omg, I love the way they interact with each other, how they’re cocky sometimes but also unsure of themselves at times. It’s so fitting for two teenagers who may or may not love each other, and it’s just really, really cute. Though I do wish that Scorpius would acknowledge their relationship beyond just snogging, because I mean IMAGINE THE POTENTIAL, SCORPIUS.

 

That entire scene at the dinner table with the Malfoys was so sad. I’m always super interested to hear different people’s interpretations of Draco Malfoy, and so it was super interesting to see a cold, strict father. I also liked the warmth and reason that Astoria brought to the family, how she managed to calm Scorpius down while explaining to him how things worked. Though of course, I felt really terribly sad that he was forced into that situation. Technically though, he can still have children if he marries a man, right? Ahh I just wish Draco wasn’t so strict towards Scorpius, he’s ruining his son’s life. :(

 

But that party scene was so cute! I love that Draco didn’t even suspect hahaha. The two sneaking away to steal kisses and hold each other’s hands just made me want to envelop both of them in the biggest hugs of their life.

 

And I’m assuming that the girl that Scorpius chooses will be Rose, right? Oh boy that’s bound to be fun.

 

<3

 

~Eva



Author's Response:

Eva!!

I'm finally caught up on this story to respond to your amazing reviews!!!

The theme of red kind of came to me... as I was going. I thought about going through the rainbow but it was easier to keep with the red theme. 

Writing the start of this with their cute relationshipy stuff going on was very easy. Mostly because I like setting up heartbreak situations and i knew how I'd wreck the heck out of this. :P Scorpius is quite short-sighted with his handling of this relationship (as you see in future chapters). 

I don't know how much of my Malfoy interpretation is what I thought before writing this versus what I needed them to be for this story. Further in the series you see a better side of them than is presented here/in this story. I like to think that Draco is bi and had feelings for/a relationship with someone at Hogwarts or post Hogwarts but settled into marriage. So when Scorpius says he's gay Draco doesn't really take that seriously. But, I don't really explore that at all. I just make him out to be a jerk and a bad father. 

haha, I do love Draco telling his son to keep Al entertained. :D Especially not knowing all the context for that. 

ahh! thank you so much for a wonderful review!!



Name: RoxiMalfoy (Signed) · Date: 07 Apr 2018 03:04 AM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:Pure Intentions Chapter: Red Rose

Hey Rose!! Here for March’s Hot Seat. (My God, I am SOO BAD at this!! I’m so sorry this is so late!) But of course, you know that I just had to come back for more for this story (Finally!!) I men, gosh it’s been forever…


But my Lord, you are breaking my heart already, lol!! =P

Here I thought that Scorpius would stand up to his parents more. Or maybe he’d “try girls” just to satisfy them enough, then maybe he’d not like it and go right back to Albus. Never did I think that he’d keep up this charade for the ENTIRE school year; and not with just ANY girl, but with Rose Weasley. Al’s cousin?!? Ohh, now that’s deep!!


SOOO MUCH happened in this chapter, OMG!!! Crap just got real for real, lol!! I like, can’t even...


I just feel so bad for Albus. This is a level of betrayal you don’t just get over in a day, and you definitely have captured his feelings very realistically all throughout this chapter. I think my favorite moment of the chapter was when he went home for Easter and Harry tried to get him to talk by having him help out in the garage. Awkward parent Harry was the best, lol! At least his planned worked though, and they had such a touching moment. It really was a beautifully written scene. My heart really broke for Al when he finally confessed to his father that the person he loved didn’t love him back. I’ve been in that situation before, so I know how bad that sucks. =’(


UGH!! And then it just got ten times WORSE when Al returned to school and went up to their dorm. What he had to walk into - how could you!?!? And then, to make matters even worse, Scorpius had the audacity to try and KISS Al after he had just walked in on him doing you-know-what with HIS COUSIN!!! AHHH!!!! Oh my gosh, Rose. I mean, at least now I am beginning to understand WHY your stories have such a reputation for heart-breaking, haha!! And this is only the second chapter!!!! XD


It’s REALLY GOOD though. Like, this is totally the kind of story that I could spend ALL DAY getting lost in!! ♥️♥️ I definitely want to come back and read more ASAP!!! I mean, how can I NOT after that conclusion?!?

 

~Deana



Author's Response:

I'M SO GLAD YOU CAME BACK TO HAVE YOUR HEART BROKEN BY THIS STORY!! :D 

haha, no, Scoprius has to earn standing up to his parents. It's like a badge on the forums (he has to complete x number tasks before he earns that badge). I like it when people can't even with my story :P (but for real)

It's hard not to feel bad for Albus in this story. He has his heart borken and stomped all over and then has to live around the source of his pain. I think Harry would have a good understanding of what it feels like to have unreciprocated love. I feel like as a child he loved the Durselys (especially as a small child/before he got strength from school to stand up to them) but they didnt' love him back. And while that's a parents love, not romantic love, the pain is similar. 

My rep for breaking hearts is well earned :P 

thank you so much for a wonderful review!! 



Name: RoxiMalfoy (Signed) · Date: 17 Sep 2017 10:18 PM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:Pure Intentions Chapter: Red Flags

Hey Rose!!! I FINALLY have some time to sit down and read some of your amazing sroties that I have heard SO MUCH about, haha!! ;)


Okay, so ever since the I first laid hands on The Cursed Child last year, Scorbus has been my new OTP, lol!! I was seriously SO disappointed when those two did not end up together in cannon, OMGosh!!! But this… OMGosh, THIS!!!! Oh Rose, you've made me so happy with this first chapter – although I DO get the feeling that happiness wont last, based on what I've heard about your writings, haha!! =P


Speaking of which; HOW have I NOT ever read any of your wonderful fics before?!?!? THIS IS AMAZING!!!! I am so glad that Meg recommended this story to me now, lol!! (Something we'll both have to thank her later for, haha!) Your writing style is amazing. I love your use of description, and just how smoothly everything flows here! I can't write romance like this to save my life, lol! But you make it all seem SO EASY!!!


I was so captivated by their relationship, from beginning to end. I loved the line about them being just friends on the outside, but lovers in their room. I love how right now their love seems so forbidden. I also quite enjoyed Scorpius' whole coming-out conversation to his parents. And his PARENTS!!! OMGosh, Draco! I love Draco, lol!! Both of their reactions were prefect, and so totally believable, and not too over the top or anything. It was very well done.


I really enjoyed the party scene too; how Albus & Scorpius got to have such a beautiful and quiet moment to themselves. It really was quite clever of Albus to offer to go in his mother's place, lol! And yes, if only Draco knew what he had just suggested by ordering Scorpius to entertain Harry Potters son, lmao!!! That was just too perfect, haha!! =D


This was such an amazing first chapter, Rose, and I really cannot wait to read more!! I am so worried about what might happen once they return to school, with all this pressure Scorpius now feels to find some girl he likes just so he can make his parents happy. That is so sad. Again; I am aware that this happiness cannot last forever, lol!! Will most definitely be back to read more ASAP!!!


 

~Deana



Author's Response:

Deana!! i'm finally here to respond. I'm the worst at responding to reviews. Uh, okay, I don't know why you haven't signed up to be part of the heartbreak train before :P I can't tell you how excited I am that you liked their relationshp and the flow of the chapter. I really liked writing the Mofloys here. They do become more accepting of Scoprius but that takes a while. The party was my favorite part of tis chapter too. Kind of a calm before the storm. :D 

Thank you so much for stopping by!! 

-Rose



Name: manno-malfoy (Signed) · Date: 18 May 2017 07:41 AM · starstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:Pure Intentions Chapter: Red Letter

Heya Rose!

 

So when I was reading True Romance, I did always wonder how Albus and Brandon met, so I was excited to see this chapter touch upon that. Now I know why you promised me better things where coming for Albus in this story, and very good things they are indeed. I really do like Brandon, and that may mostly be because I've read what happens after that, and I know how happy he and Albus end up being. But that didn't take away from my excitement to discover how things started out between them.

 

And the soup joke is funny. Kinda cheesy, but also funny, and totally a thing someone (ahem, I) would say while slightly nervous on a 'date'.

 

I also do really appreciate the honesty between Harry and Albus, and how Albus wanted to inform Harry that he was getting involved on some level with Brandon. But more importantly, I liked how well Harry seemed to understand Albus, and could already tell that there was a spark between him and Brandon. 

 

 ALSO ALBUS PUNCHED SCORPIUS IN THE FACE. Honestly, he had it coming. And while I may not approve of violence, having seen Albus so heartbroken in the past couple of chapters, I was glad to see that he had moved on from sadness to anger. This, of course, doesn't mean the best of things to Albus's budding relationship with Brandon because it means that there are still residual feelings for Scorpius circulating around, potent enough to illicit such a violent response. BUT I AM ALL FOR IT. Scorpius totally deserved it. 

 

Can't wait to see what this leads to next!

 

 

 

 



Author's Response:

I lvoe it when people go from TR to PI and see the origin of so many relationships/characters. They do start on such a nice note in this story. I am glad reading their beginning was fun ^_^ 

Cheesey jokes are my jam. So relieved I'm not alone on that because... I was really invested in tht joke. :D 

Harry is more astute when I write him (than he was in the books because o.o to quote tumblr "harry was as observant as a brick wall"). I like to think Harry had reasons to think Al and bran would like each other and would want to at least put them in proximity to give that a chance. 

OKAY BUT I LOVED TEH PUNCHING AND HOW AMPED YOU ARE ABOUT IT. I have a pattern of including this exact type of violence in my stories. The "you insulted my love interest" punch. I should think of new moves for my characters to make, lol. 

thank you so much for the wonderful reviews!!



Name: manno-malfoy (Signed) · Date: 16 May 2017 02:52 PM · starstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:Pure Intentions Chapter: Red Hot

 

Awh, poor Albus. He's so sad that other people are noticing it and even reaching correct conclusions about the reason behind it. Give him hugs on my behalf, please.

I took a little bit of pleasure in watching Scorpius being uncomfortable under the gaze of the Weasleys and the Potters, and at his discomfort at Hugo's "mutilation of his name" as you've so deftly put it. But that soon dissipated as soon as Draco began to talk about how there are better families than Weasleys and better girls than Rose. I mean, excuse me! First you don't let him date who he wants because God forbid the glorious Malfoy name dies out, and this in turn rips Albus's heart into shreds, and then Scorpius chooses a girl he's vaguely interested in, but that's still not enough? Is anything ever going to be? Will Scorpius at any point realise that there is almost no way to live up to his father's expectations for him and just stop trying to please him despite himself?

I'm glad that Rose questions how Scorpius isn't all over her or doesn't seem to miss the physical intimacy. It's very realistic considering that Rose isn't completely daft, even though I suppose her judgment might be a little bit clouded by Scorpius's sudden interest in her. I've got to say, it was very cute that Hermione found Rose and Scorpius reading. These are my favourite kind of intimate moments, and I think reading dates are the best!

I'd like to take a moment to admire Hugo in this chapter. He wants to follow Rose and Scorpius around the house, he's using a pet name with Scorpius, he wants to go to Amesterdam and try 'pastries'. I have one just like Hugo at home, so this amused me so much.

 

I look forward to gobbling the rest of this story (and then the Lily/Lysander one) while I prep for exams.



Author's Response:

I promise to send Al all the hugs for putting him through tis chapter. Though, my next story featured him (that I'm planning, not the next one in the series after this) will be 10x worse than this. o.o 

Writing Scprpius in the uncomfortable family gathering was great. I loved making him squirm :P I kind of feel like the Malfoys, at least at this point, are the family that's never satisified and always wants Scorpius to reach for more. That changes but at a cost. 

Rose isn't completely in the dark but she's also not given a reason to question anything about Scorpius. he's kind of her first real heartbreak and the real heartbreak isn't something she realizes until later on. 

omg, I loved writing Hugo in this chapter. I kind of wrote him like my brother but a little more obnoxious. 

ahh! thank you so much for reading (and reviewing)

-rose



Name: Stella Blue (Signed) · Date: 16 May 2017 04:10 AM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:Pure Intentions Chapter: Red Balloon

The last chapter :O

That would be the worst, if children threw tantrums outside your door at work all day long. What a stressful job!

There is something wrong with my eyes today, definitely read that part 'George was juggling for two young children' as 'George was juggling two young children'... lol. Maybe that's why kids throw tantrums at the shop.

I loved the scene with the Potter family dinner. And the way you write Ginny. She's awesome. The family dynamic is so great though, and of course James having to say 'eww' about hand holding, haha

I really didn't want Albus and Brandon to break up, but then once Brandon said his piece it totally made sense. I think it was best for them, and Brandon is totally right - relationships don't last in the long term like that. So it was the right decision. And yay! Albus found time to do things he enjoyed, got to do some soul searching and now he's happy! :D

also, might I add, best ending ever. I really love open-ended endings (i'm really eloquent tonight, aren't I) and this was exactly that. It's happy, but it's not happily-ever-after. More than that, it's real; they still have a long way to go. Awesome job on this fic Rose, I loved it!!



Author's Response:

last reponse :o 

I think, if prodded, George would juggle children. 

I'm always shocked when I write adults doing/saying things that are socially normal. Like, why don't I have the same social abilities my characters have?? (mostly I'm reflecting at how bad I am at dinner smalltalk and stuff)

I felt bad breaking them up. It was a difficult choice but... I felt it was important. 

Open-ended endings are fun to do but it's one reason I had to run off and write True Romance :P Which,  I know you hated, lol. 

Thank you so much for everything you've ever reviewed, especially this <3



Name: Stella Blue (Signed) · Date: 16 May 2017 04:09 AM · [Report This]
Story:Pure Intentions Chapter: Red Line

*Transferred from HPFF*

 

Gaaa! My feelingsss. I'm trying to sail like 3 ships at once here and it's not working.

Dude. Brandon is awesome. Also there are so few bi characters in fanfiction (that I've seen) so that's a nice touch. He sounds like a cool guy. I love how open and honest he and Albus are with each other, its a nice change from how Al was with Scorpius!

Rose took that news from Albus better than I expected. I'm glad she didn't get too upset. And I liked their friendly teasing - the friendship between the two cousins is really great.

Poor Cindy! Ugh, I could have told her not to go near Dawlish. That slimeball.

Albus should work at the joke shop! That'd be cool.

Man, I can understand Rose so much here. Everyone gets married so early in the wizarding world it seems, and I totally understand Rose's need for freedom, and not being able to stay settled yet haha. I wasn't too sad she broke it off- she needs to be free and see the world, and Scorpius needs to follow his heart, not instructions.

wow, brave of Scorpius! Way to go! So sad about his parents though. Astoria is supportive but doesn't speak up for herself or her son, which is really sad to see. I hope Draco sees sense eventually, when/if he sees that his son is happy.

GAH IDON'T KNOWW how I want the relationships to pan out! I love Al and Brandon together. But I also really think that after that last scene, Scorpius, who is free to make his own choices, should finally be able to be withAl like he wanted. hjfjhdhjhfjskkhe

sorry for the delirious late niht review. I want to keep reading because this story is addicting. But i'm sleepy. So, until next time..



Author's Response:

You should shp all the ships. Don't worry, they'll all stay afloat. 

 

hahahaha. we both know that's not going to happen. 

 

I think Rose took the news so well because she didn't get the full picture/think there was more to it than Al told her. 

I love seeing that you're torn about who to ship by the end here. I was torn for a while when I wrote this story. Which could be why i'm so all over the place :P

 



Name: Stella Blue (Signed) · Date: 16 May 2017 04:07 AM · [Report This]
Story:Pure Intentions Chapter: Red Letter

*Transferred from HPFF*

 

The beginning scene of the chapter sounds so lovely. I love falling asleep under the stars. Except for when you wake up and find dew all over your sleeping bag.

Nobody expects Agatha to be descended from gypsies in the Spanish Inquisition.

Nope, Rose is the seer here! Spot on, but she doesn't know it.

Um, I love that Albus reads Jane Austen. :D But real talk, I can identify with Albus SO MUCH right now. Well, he has a much messier love life, but the part aboug figuring out what to do with your life and procrastinating by reading Austen (or in my case, fanfiction :p ) What a mess, figuring out jobs. You have time Albus, you're only 17, you don't have to figure it out right away!

Savage!!! I like him already. And something tells me this job shadowing thing reallyhas nothing to do with the job. ;) Also, grilled cheese with tomato soup is one of the most heavenly combinations known to humankind - Brandon clearly knows what's up.

Aw! I love Harry in this. What a cool dad :)

Yay! Aw it's lovely to see Albus so happy and not feeling like he has to hide who he is.

OMG WHAT SCORPIUS. He is sooo jealous. Guess who's not over Al? Wow. Well that sets a nice mood for the family gathering... things just got intense. need to read more.

great chapter!



Author's Response:

Every time I've slept outside I've woke up covered in dew. Maybe it's because I've only slept outside in the pnw where dew happens every day. 

I think everyone needs time to figure out what they're doing in life. Me, you, Albus, everyone. I also think hiding in book (or fanfiction) is a perfectly great way to do that. :D

hahaha, you can see right through my thinly veiled excuse to get people together. 

Well, I needed a spark to end the chapter on. like "oh, that just caught on fire... TUNE IN FOR THE NEXT CHAPTER!" 

 

anyway. I got excited there. 

thank you for the lovely review

-rose



Name: Stella Blue (Signed) · Date: 16 May 2017 04:06 AM · [Report This]
Story:Pure Intentions Chapter: Red Hot

*Transferred from HPFF*

 

Hello :) I really liked this chapter! Hugo might br my favorite part of the chapter, haha. SO obnoxious like any little brother :D I really liked the way you wrote the whole Weasley family, they were really well in character. Though Ron and Hermione have grown up since they were teenagers, Ron still distrusts any Malfoy and is bad at hiding it, and Hermione is a little more open-minded but still distrustful, but trying to be polite haha.

I loved the comparisons between the Malfoys and the Weasleys, in the way their families interact (poor Scorpius, after seeing a happy family like that and then returning to his cold family who didn't bother to collect him from the train station) and in their houses. The line Scorpius said about wallking 10 minutes to find the loo made me laugh! I'm glad he finally said something that wasnt just formal and proper, and showed that he actually has a personality more interesting than cardboard. And it even amused Ron!

Rose seems to be quite invested in the relationship, and Scorpius clearly isn't. When is he going to figure that out? LISTEN TO YOUR HEART SCORPIUS. Gah if not then Rose is going to get really hurt. Because people in this story haven't been hurt enough. Albus... poor guy. I love that Rose is so concerned, but she's completely oblivious... gah. I feel badly for Albus, he's got some tough times ahead, if he's expected to hang around with Rose and Scorpius and the family.

Rose's desire to run off fighting dark wizards for a year made me laugh! I'm sure her parents would be thrilled :p

awesome chapter!



Author's Response:

fun fact, I clicked "submit review" instead of "respond" and was superrr confused about why I couldn't see your review. 

1. I miss you. 2. I love every review you leave me. This one specially because it made me feel like I could do sibling relationships and is a reason why I included so much Lily/James/Al banter in TR. 

I do feel like the Malfoys and Weasleys are just a completely different culture. I'd haaate to be raised by such cold parents. Scoprius is opening up a little ^_^ I think part of it was knowing what type of joke would land well with his audience (I mean, he wouldn't have made that joke to his parents or people like his parents). 

I love your relationshp angst here. I'm kind of having a Darth Sideous moment "I can feel the conflict within you. gooooood" Maybe I'm a sith lord, not an author. :-o

Thank you for leaving and transferring this wonderful review!! 

-Rose



Name: Stella Blue (Signed) · Date: 16 May 2017 04:04 AM · [Report This]
Story:Pure Intentions Chapter: Red Rose

*Transferred from HPFF*

 

Review swap! I read chapter 1 ages ago with a brief detour to your Myrtle fic, so yay I am excited to come back.

gah, I love that you chose Heath Ledger as Scorpius in your banner. Scorpius seems a lot more attractive now. Uh.. I digress.

Like a squid to water.. best simile ever. Squids don't generally get that much recognition in literature, so it's nice to see them getting some limelight here. Rose the squid. It'd be cool if that was her patronus too. Oops, I'm getting off track again, I really shouldn't review things late at night when my brain is all hfmwbksjd.

Oh, Scorpius... not the best way to go about things. Asking out Albus' cousin, did he really think Albus would just be chill with that? Her, of all possible girls... And what happens when Rose finds out about about Scorpius and Albus, as she is sure to do? Blahh. Good one Scorp, didn't think that through, did ya?

DAWLISH? Related to the Dawlish I enjoy punching?

Awww, I really liked the scene when Al tells Harry - I think Harry was written very well with the perfect amount of awkwardness relating to emotions and advice, and agh it was just really sweet. Despite Al's heartbreak, I love that he was able to tell his father and that Harry and Ginny are supportive of their son. :) All the feelings in here, it's so well written and powerful!

Oh no... not a good way to find Scorpius and Rose - hello awkward. I don't think that will help the situation. Rose has no idea what she's caught up in the middle of here - to her it was just an uncomfortable moment, but she has no idea how much she's unintentionally hurting her cousin. :(

well ,awesome chapter! Aah this story is so good!



Author's Response:

I always feel like Heath Ledger is a good choice for anyone I want to have the hotz for (which, my font is small and I wrote hutz at first and now I can't stop laughing). So, there are things I love and your hate for Dawlish is in the top 20. I'm going to pretend that I kept this review unresponded to for a year because I wanted to see it every time I looked at my guilt list of what to respond to but... *hides* I do love rereading this because it feels like a hug. 

:D :D :D



Name: Stella Blue (Signed) · Date: 16 May 2017 04:02 AM · [Report This]
Story:Pure Intentions Chapter: Red Flags

*Transferred from HPFF*

 

I don't tend to gravitate to stories with love triangles but this one caught my eye!

I love the idea of Scorpius and Al! I mean, as much as I'm partial to Rose/Scorpius, I like this too. Considering the summary of this story I only think it's going to make me more confused haha.

You've done really well writing this relationship that neither of them quite knows how to define, especially given Scorpius' family and the tradition he has to adhere to as a pureblood from an important family. I especially like the lime about how outside they were friends, but inside the dormitory they were lovers, it wasa great description of them. Scorpius' emotions and confusion are very evident throughout the chapter.

You did well with Draco and Astoria, too. I like that Astoria is compassionate and understanding, and I can even understand Draco a little - his family was shamed by the whole Lucius is a notorious Death Eater thing, so I can see how he kind of wants to return his family name to its former glory by his son being 'respectable' - only he's of course putting his own needs before his son's. :( Open your eyes Draco!

I like that Harry was invited to the party - and of course that the brought Albus ;) This is a great first chapter!! Thanks for the swap!



Author's Response:

Happy anniversary of transferring this review. *confetti*

If there's one thing I love, it's reading your reviews. They make me laugh, smile, and feel like I can do writing. This review is no different. 

Love

Rose



Name: dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap (Signed) · Date: 12 May 2017 11:30 PM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:Pure Intentions Chapter: Red Balloon

Two miserable people will just be miserable together. One happy and one miserable person will be happy for a bit but will become miserable. Two happy people might just be lucky enough to be happy together.”

 

Wow. This is going to sound so crazy but I had a mini revelation. I am essentially Albus. A relationship has always been key to my happiness. After two and a half years together my boyfriend broke up with me and i was devestated. And I had already spent five years with another guy before that, again, broke-up, was devestated. I have never been alone and now I am and I'm enjoying myself. Do I miss the intimacy? Uh, yeah but it doesn't even cross my mind half the time because I go to work and I can work for as many or as little hours as I want and I don't have to worry about someone waiting on me or I can go to the gym whenever I want and eat whatever I want. I lost 8 lbs. I am energized. I have found my funny again. I didn't realize until I read this chapter that I am actually happy. 

 

i say all that to say I understand where Savage was coming from. Him breaking up with Al really shows what kind of person he is too. He was a good boyfriend for him to have but Albus really did need to go out on his own and see what else life had to offer. 

 

I'm thrilled that he and Scorpius are going to work on being friends again. Friends and not lovers. They aren't anywhere ready for that. Scorpius needs to be able to experience himself in his new authentic lifestyle. Albus has had the chance to grow and experience new things. Scorpius needs that too but he also needs a friend by his side because he has other personal things to work through. 

 

This was really a marvelous story. Very thought provoking. I enjoyed it tremendously. 



Author's Response:

I'm so touched that this really hit you and spoke to your relationship status right now. I didn't realize that this was the story I wanted to tell unti I was starting chapter 3. Then it all fell into place. I'm so so so glad that you're happy and that this chapter helped you see that. <3

I will say that the breakup was hard on Brandon. It's not the end of his relationship with Albus though... 

Scoprius does have a lot of growth to go thorugh, as does Albus. There's a lot that goes on between them in the next story though. 

Ah! I can't tell you how glad I am you liked this and how much your reviews made me grin wtih joy (and cackle with evil glee). Thank you so much

-Rose



Name: dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap (Signed) · Date: 12 May 2017 11:12 PM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:Pure Intentions Chapter: Red Line

“In your bedroom?” Rose asked, raising an eyebrow. “That’s not usually where people go to talk.”



I have to give Rose props. She truly is comfortable with herself and her sexual needs. 

“I never fought for my dreams,” she said in a shaky voice. “I’m proud of you for following yours.” Kissing his forehead, Astoria stepped away from Scorpius and left him to finish packing.


Uh! My heart! It breaks! I forget I'm supposed to review when I read your stories. I just want to read what happens next. Why are you torturing me, little comment box? 

I thought it was a bit of a cop out to have Rose end their relationship. It obviously wasn't going to go anywhere but I was disappointed that he didn't even discuss his true feelings with her. I suppose Scorpius wasn't sure what he was going to do next until he saw his parents. 
I think you gave us a bit of a foreshadow though and Albus and his relationship is going to come to an end soon too. Probably a murky one because you enjoy breaking his heart (and mine). 
I was pleasantly surprised when Scorpius revealed his true self without hesitation to his parents. Draco is an arrogant ass as always but Astoria has a glimmer of soul so I felt sorry for her. I'm just happy that Scorpius will be free to be himself. 

Author's Response:

I really love writing sexually liberated people. I feel like there's not enough of the "comfortably sexual without social reprimand" in fic. 

I'm (kind of ) sorry for making this heartbreaking and difficult to review as you go. *hug* I am pretty sure there's a support group for this problem. 

I don't have a good defense for Scorpius letting Rose end things. They do discuss his real feelings in True Romance and it creates some ripples. I... did throw up a clumbsy foreshadow in this chapter but I needed to signal what was to come. I DO ENJOY BREAKING HEARTS!!! 

In a few stories, Draco begins to redeem himself as a parent. Astoria is amazing through this though. 

Thank you for a wonderful review!!



Name: dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap (Signed) · Date: 12 May 2017 10:57 PM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:Pure Intentions Chapter: Red Letter

“He’s just a late bloomer,” Agatha decided. “Like your cousin, Albus.”



Yeah, he's just like Albus....he's gay!

How can they be so blind? Are they really that self involved?

she didn’t think Albus was a late bloomer.


Come on Rose, you're halfway there, connect the dots. The stars are aligned. 

“So do good looks and a penchant for tattoos,” Brandon said grinning. “But who am I to brag?” 


I love Savage already. 

Albus could feel his head tingle pleasantly


I'm tingling pleasantly. 

Thanks for the joke translation--that is funny! Al, forget Scorpius, he's old news, Brandon is spicy. I like reading about a happy Al! An Al in a relationship that gets to be out and is comfortable with himself and completely carefree. Scorpius just ruins his happiness. He's like a little dark cloud. I'm not a fan of violence but I'm super thrilled he clocked him like that. Scorpius deserves it after everything he has put him through. 
And please tell me Rose finally figures it out by the next chapter because honey, you can't be that blind. Come on now!

Author's Response:

So, my explanation for Rose is that up to this point, life hasn't given her a reason to be super suspicious of people's actions or intentions. She's really the one who believes in the Pure Intentions of others. *cough*

Savage is... my favorite OC I've ever made. Like. 4 real. He's featured quite a bit in True Romance (my follow up to this). 

hahaha, Brandon is spicy (I laughed out loud when I first read that). I love Al/Brandon in such a real way. I've even named their ship Branbus. I realized after writing this chapter that I use a punch to the face quite a bit in my stories (maybe like 3 times across all my stories but always in the same situation). 



Name: dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap (Signed) · Date: 12 May 2017 10:39 PM · starstarstarhalf-star [Report This]
Story:Pure Intentions Chapter: Red Hot

He would not confess his love for Scorpius – leaving Hogwarts meant he could leave his feelings behind as well.



If only it was that easy. 

He was surprised at how easy his relationship with Rose had progressed. Maybe a life with her would go as effortlessly as it had so far.


But there's no real passion between the two of you! UH! Scorpius, stop it. A relationship isn't supposed to be easy. No matter how agreeable the person is. You're just going through the motions. Do you really love her, I mean come on!?

“Is there anything I could bring?” he asked, remembering his parents posing this question when invited to casual dinner parties.


I just want to hug him. I mean he's like a machine. Scorpius is the tin man. 

“Muggles do make rather good pastries,” Ron reasoned before he caught the look from Hermione. “Though, it could be a dodgy place,” he added hastily.


Ron. Ron. Ron. Ron. Ron. 

Good heavens. 

Scorpius really does come off like quite the bore when he's around other people, doesn't he? He's so inside of his head and uncomfortable with himself I feel so sad for him. If only he could accept himself he might be able to breathe and live a bit freely. 

Author's Response:

I love your reviews <3 Like, really. They always make me grin and go all giddy. 

Albus definitely doesn't leave his feelings behind. It's more of  symbolic change. 

Scorpius is slowly getting to a point where he realizes he doesn't have the right kind of relationship with Rose. It's a long process for him to figure it out -- I mean, his parents have a formal relationship so it was never part of his marriage schema to need the passional and fire. He definitely gets to the passion and fire in other relationships.

I love Ron. Writing him as a side character is one of my favorite things about next gen. 

Scorpius is really behind a mask all of the time. He's hardly felt like he was able to take it off. He comes out of his shell eventuall though. :D

Thank you so much!!

-Rose



Name: manno-malfoy (Signed) · Date: 08 May 2017 12:57 AM · [Report This]
Story:Pure Intentions Chapter: Red Rose

Oh look, more bad decisions from Scorpius. Why am I not surprised? I've got to give it to him though, he puts on a good show. I suppose it comes with coming from a family like the one you've demonstrated in the previous chapter. I wish he showed more signs of struggle or that this was agonizing him or ANYTHING other than still messing around with Albus making up his mind about Rose. It's just so selfish, and it frustrates me because I usually love Scorpius.



Also, can someone please teach Scorpius to TALK TO HIS BEST MATE? I mean, he's going to find out you've asked Rose out anyway, why aren't you talking to him? He's surely in a difficult situation but because he is handling everything about it so badly, I can't seem to sympathize with him at all.

 

And then he has the gall to try and snog Albus after Albus had walked on him and Rose together. I really did admire how Albus, despite his fondness for Scorpius and how badly he wanted to be with him, did the right thing and knew his worth, and above all that, he thought of Rose's position in all of this too. <3

I also loved how overprotective of Scorpius Albus got once he noticed the slightest thing between Rose and Scorpius, how bitter he got. He's just adorable, I love him already. Which I think is the reverse of how I felt towards these two in True Romance (and I'm still not sure if the two stories are connected so I need to stop bringing it up till then).

The scene between Albus and Harry was very sweet as well. I have a thing for well-written, healthy parent-child relationships, and this was exactly that. It was interesting too to see how different Albus and Scorpius's upbringing is and how that surely impacted how they deal with their feelings and even their sexuality.

Sorry if this came off as more of a rampant rant than a review but you're making me drown in all the feels.




Author's Response:

I feel like Scorpius keeps his feelings and intentions pretty close to the chest and it would be hard to show his thoughts/motivations and keep the Malfoy austerity feeling. Scorpius does show more of his motivations a bit later in the story. 

Scorpius is struggling with the words and feelings! Arguably both he and Albus struggle with talking through their feelings for each other until almost the end of True Romance. #sorry

I loved writing the Harry/Albus scene. I have a lot of messed up family situations in my stories so it was refreshing to write one that was healthy and loving. 

I love making people rant. I might like it a little too much. 

Thank you so much for the lovely review!

-Rose



Name: manno-malfoy (Signed) · Date: 08 May 2017 12:08 AM · starstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:Pure Intentions Chapter: Red Flags

Hey there! So I managed to read True Romance (in order, thankfully) during the CTF, and I loved it and was heartbroken when it ended. I'm guessing this is sort of a prequel? It all seems to add up to me. Anyway, I was so excited to see another multi-chartered fic about Scorpius/Albus on your AP.

I fully understand that Scorpius doesn't have a choice, alright? He comes from a controlling family, they're all posh and distant and maintain this haughty air of civility, but I can't help but be angry at him. I mean, he keeps being nonchalant about it from the start, sure, but that's no excuse for how he messed with Albus's feelings. And his worst moment is definitely around the end when Albus is over at the Manor, and he kisses him while he KNOWS, HE KNOWS things are going to be different after the break.

It was just hard watching Albus for the rest of the chapter and knowing what might be coming for him, especially when it's so easy to see how much he's into Scorpius, what with the cute moment with the boot, and hugging him during the party.

It's such a sad start and I'm worried. My heart goes out to Albus already. But it's so incredibly good. I've really missed your characters and your writing!



Author's Response:

Manno!

Ooh, I don't know if many people have read this second. From your perspective it'll be a prequel but I did write this first and True Romance was the sequel. 

I mean, Scorpius doesn't see himself as having a choice at this point. You know from True Romance that Scorpius goes through a lot of change. He really isn't careful with Albus (or Rose's) heart. 

I really set Albus up for a lot of heartbreak in this. *hides* 

eee, I'm excited to see what you think about this and all the shenanigans that takes place

-Rose



Name: dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap (Signed) · Date: 30 Apr 2017 10:27 PM · starstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:Pure Intentions Chapter: Red Rose

“Do you know if Rose is single?” It was supposed to be a casual question, something not to be read into

 

 

Okay so here’s the thing. There’s a part of me that wants to smack Scorpius for listening to his parents but then there’s a part of me that feels like Scorpius should see what else is out there. Hear me out, I believe he loves Albus. I believe they would be great together if given the chance to actually be together. Scorpius just seems so unsure that he should explore other options. Rose might not be the love of his life but she could help him answer some personal questions about himself I’m sure he has.

 

 

Harry wished he could confer with Hermione before continuing the conversation but Al’s emotions couldn’t wait on his aunt’s advice

 

Oh Harry! I adore you, you beautiful man.

 

I knew his parents weren’t going to reject him. I love Dad Harry but besides my heart soaring over him my heart fell for Albus. It’s not a good feeling when the person you love loves someone else or doesn’t love you anymore. I’ve been in both situations and it’s really gut wrenching to see them fooling around with someone else. I’m surprised Scorpius could be so cold to his friend. He could have chosen any girl but he had to choose his cousin. I mean really come on that is just a sign of ulterior motives. He really thought he could have Albus on the side as his lover and Rose as his wife. Scorpius and Rose might get along well but he doesn’t love her. He’s not in love with her and he probably won’t fall in love with her. Not with the way he was describing her. He wants real love damnit. He needs it.



Author's Response:

I agree with you about it being good for Scorpius to try things out. I do think he has genuine feelings and attraction to Rose even if things go like they go. 

Writing Dad!Harry made me so warm and fuzzy inside. Cursed Child harry killed me because he was such a blah father. 

Scorpius is a bit cold and hard to sympathize with in this part of the story. He's being very callous towards Al but I feel part of that is self presevation. Albus doesn't spend the entire story down in the dumps though -- I promise!

Thank you for a wonderful review!

-Rose



Submit a Review