Login
Reviews For Erasure

Name: dreamgazer220 (Signed) · Date: 02 Dec 2017 02:08 AM · Chapter: Chapter 1

Okay, so I love angst, and George, but HOW COULD YOU DO THIS TO ME?!?!


I think it goes without saying that the writing in this is brilliant.  I love that you didn't overwhelm us with information, but instead let the reader discover what was happening along with the man -- who in the end, turned out to be George.


Your characterization of him was brilliant; I loved the toilet seat memory and the fact that he wanted to give it to his sister, even though he had no idea who his sister was or that he even had one. It was both heartbreaking and it gave us that Weasley sense of humor in an otherwise somewhat dark piece, and I really appreciated it.  Along the same lines, I loved the opening line and the Forge reference; you did such a great job of giving hints of memories.


At first, I thought that George was in a hospital because everything was white, but I think it actually worked for the story-- George didn't know where he was either, and he was just describing things as he saw them, and it was both a relief and a little heartbreaking to discover that he was in his own house; there were no paintings or books or anything like that, merely the letter -- which I thought was a brilliant way to clue us/George in on what was going on.


It is so realistic, and also quite devastating to find out that George did this to himself.  I just want to hug him the entire time I'm reading this; your language is so powerful, and the ending really packed a punch.


Excellent job on this piece!



Name: wq123 (Anonymous) · Date: 25 Nov 2017 03:28 AM · Chapter: Chapter 1

es coach black friday nains : petits par beats by dre leur ralph lauren polo taille new balance mais grand par leur courage

 

les humains relojes especiales : ray ban zonnebril riches de converse shoes leurs diversité mais philadelphia 76ers jersey étant la nike.dk seule race qui north face exploite ses woolrich outlet online propres knicks jerseys membres roshe run (lien ralph lauren de michael kors outlet online servitude)

 

les dryades bottega veneta : Peuple de mbt shoes outlet la forêt, ils adidas sneakers ont nfl bears un louboutin outlet lien nike roshe privilégié avec longchamp outlet la air max 90 nature qui peut s'apparenter coach outlet sale à reebok de la magie naturelle

 

Les Vaaras hilfiger outlet : burberry online shop Peuple ray ban sunglasses de nfl saints scientifiques nike store dédiés michaelkors.com au progrès long champ et nike free run à la science les zapatillas nike Vaaras sont mcm handbags entièrement nike air max non vans shoes violents et burberry bags outlet ne partagent the north face outlet leurs connaissances cheap eyeglasses avec cheap michael kors personne. Personne vibram shoes n'en a plus vu pandora jewellery depuis gsw jerseys longtemps...

 

Les pandora rings Bentors ralph lauren shirts : nfl ravens une cheap oakley sunglasses race mi homme-mi gryphon roche run dont adidas superstar personne chrome hearts jewelry ne jordans for sale connait nike free 5.0 l'origine hollister co et qui michael kors handbags vit reclut nike huarache dans les montagnes sans liens avec nike outlet le polo ralph lauren monde extérieur

 

 

 

Quant free running au north face outlet monde www.tommyhilfiger.nl en lui-même skechers womens shoes comme vous pouvez burberry handbags vous en douter, portland trail blazers il est fait de brique et de nike outlet brocs : christian louboutin shoes les nfl chiefs nains hollister bagarreurs nfl packers mais cheap michael kors camarades et soccer outlet online leurs nfl lions maitrise du true religion jeans women minerai nfl bengals et beats by dre des nfl vikings machines nfl panthers cotoient les humains, coach factory outlet online nombreux, cheap jerseys organisés rolex mais michael kors outlet online sale qui se définissent barbour mens jackets eux jimmy choo même nike air en classes nike free shoes sociales. Les michaelkors.com dryades ne se montrent guère plus skechers qu'il ne cheap jerseys le nfl jaguars faut et ray ban sunglasses il bos jersey y'a fort longtemps que polo outlet online personne swarovski n'a plus womens hoodies vu dre beats de bentors ou dsquared2 jeans de Vaaras.

 

La magie nfl texans quant adidas neo à elle n'existe jimmy choo shoes que versace outlet depuis free run très converse outlet peu adidas shoes et est longchamp outlet arrivée brusquement. ralph lauren uk Un nop jerseys jour (complètement shoes on sale random) cheap oakley quatres rayban sunglasses sites d'énergie nba jerseys se présentant comme prada outlet un gigantesque red bottoms cristal au centre nike air d'une charlotte hornets jersey mosaique replica watches de petits cristaux coach outlet fichés dans oakley le nfl cowboys sol.

 

Les gens houston rockets qui louboutin shoes possèdent ces cristaux peuvent invoquer marc jacobs handbags divers longchamp black friday éléments ou sorts.

 

Dès lors que asics les air jordan retro gens asics gel s'en rendirent compte les nike mercurial vapor différentes races true religion jeans outlet s'accaparèrent cheap true religion chacun un spot de puissance. Seuls cheap true religion les adidas shoes outlet Bentor ne nfl rams montrèrent hermes outlet aucun interêt burberry outlet online pour ces nfl 49ers spots...

 

Mais nike max cette lunette oakley pas cher apparition ralph lauren tracksuits de lieux magiques the north face était elle vraiment un oakley outlet online cadeau mcm outlet du destin ou nets jersey plus un puma outlet store signe nfl raiders annonciateur de thomas sabo uk cataclysmes.es giuseppe zanotti nains orlando magic : juicy couture petits north face jackets par leur taille nike tn requin mais cheap oakley sunglasses grand par leur barbour women jackets courage

 

les barbour women jackets humains : louboutins riches de leurs diversité cleveland cavaliers jerseys mais étant la seule omega watches race cheap basketball shoes qui exploite hollister ses propres pandora bracelets membres (lien de servitude)

 

les hollister clothing store dryades dansko shoes : gafas oakley Peuple swarovski crystal de la tory burch sale forêt, nike roshe ils ont michael kors outlet online un lien michael kors privilégié kobe bryant jersey avec fred perry shoes la nature qui peut air max s'apparenter à tommy hilfiger online shop de coach outlet la coach outlet magie naturelle

 

Les Vaaras : Peuple de hilfiger scientifiques dédiés milwaukee bucks au oakley outlet progrès et swarovski à ecco women shoes la science nike outlet store les jerseys from china Vaaras bcbg dresses sont entièrement mizuno running shoes non nfl dolphins violents et air jordans ne longchamp taschen partagent kate spade outlet leurs michael kors purses connaissances coach factory outlet online avec personne. new balance shoes Personne n'en nfl broncos a plus vu depuis longtemps...

 

Les Bentors oakley sunglasses cheap : une nike huaraches race mi hogan shoes outlet homme-mi gryphon nike.com dont huaraches personne nba jerseys ne connait l'origine cheap ray ban et qui givenchy bags outlet vit reclut dans les montagnes ray ban sunglasses sans ferragamo liens nfl azcardinals avec adidas.de le new balance monde extérieur

 

 

 

Quant adidas.se au katespade outlet monde coach factory outlet online en lui-même designer handbags comme michael kors purses vous pouvez baseball bats vous nfl bills en burberry outlet douter, oakley sunglasses il valentino shoes outlet est fait de timberland shoes brique et salvatore ferragamo de plein outlet brocs nike.se : coach bags les nains pandora bagarreurs mais nfl patriots camarades minnesota timberwolves et leurs coach purses maitrise nike outlet du minerai et marc jacobs outlet des michael kors australia machines cotoient les humains, nombreux, organisés juicy couture clothings mais qui fendi outlet online se nfl jerseys définissent eux même replica rolex en designer handbags classes polo ralph lauren outlet sociales. bottega Les dryades kate spade ne fitflop se montrent nike air max 2015 guère hollister online shop deutschland plus softball bats qu'il ne chi hair le timberland outlet faut et cheap nike shoes il lacoste polos y'a nfl eagles fort longtemps michael kors bags que ralph lauren outlet personne prada outlet n'a michael kors handbags plus coach factory outlet online vu de ferragamo shoes bentors occhiali oakley ou burberry sale de polo ralph lauren outlet online Vaaras.

 

La los angeles clippers magie quant nike air max à elle n'existe que russell westbrook jersey depuis longchamp très peu nfl redskins et oakley sunglasses est nike mercurial arrivée brusquement. philipp plein clothes Un jour prada sunglasses (complètement skechers random) quatres sites d'énergie se tory burch shoes présentant denver nuggets comme hermes bags un gigantesque cristal fred perry au centre birkenstock taschen deutschland d'une converse mosaique de petits cristaux fichés nike online dans oakley black friday le burberry handbags sol.

 

Les rayban gens qui ed hardy clothing possèdent ces cristaux michael kors bags peuvent nfl browns invoquer ralph lauren divers éléments ou coach outlet sorts.

 

Dès ray ban outlet lors louboutin que instyler ionic styler les iphone 5 cases gens stone island store s'en washington wizards rendirent nfl steelers compte les ray ban sunglasses différentes races s'accaparèrent kevin durant shoeskobe bryant shoes chacun dsquared2 shoes un michael kors spot oakley de puissance. nfl falcons Seuls hollister kids les Bentor mcm bags ne air jordan shoes montrèrent aucun interêt scarpe hogan pour celine handbags ces spots...

 

Mais cette michael kors apparition de air jordan lieux ray ban wayfarer magiques était mont blanc pens elle vraiment un cadeau mcm backpack outlet du destin burberry ou plus un ralph lauren factory store signe north face pas cher annonciateur christian louboutin de new balance cataclysmes.es pandora nains : petits air max shoes par leur nfl jets taille replica watches mais cheap oakley sunglasses grand polo ralph lauren par leur michael kors canada courage

 

les supra shoes humains polo ralph lauren outlet : riches michael kors purses de leurs diversité mais memphis grizzlies étant la seule race watches qui the north face exploite nba jerseys ses ralph lauren online propres uhren membres hugo boss outlet (lien de vans schuhe servitude)

 

les dryades : giuseppe shoes Peuple cheap jerseys de rayban la swarovski australia forêt, ralph lauren outlet ils birkenstock outlet ont barbour outlet un nike air max lien privilégié toronto raptors avec la burberry handbags nature qui peut michael kors v?skor s'apparenter coach factory outlet online à converse chucks de jerseys from china la magie naturelle

 

Les Vaaras cheap glasses : Peuple de beats audio scientifiques ferragamo outlet dédiés iphone 4s cases au soccer shoes progrès chicago bulls et à prada handbags la science les Vaaras sont entièrement non roshes violents versace shoes outlet et ralph lauren ne oakley sunglasses outlet partagent bcbg max azria leurs northface connaissances avec coach outlet personne. Personne replica handbags n'en air max 95 a plus vu cheap oakley depuis hermes birkin longtemps...

 

Les roshe run Bentors : une burberry outlet online race shop coach factory mi homme-mi gryphon burberry dont nike free shoes personne ne adidas connait l'origine ray bans et qui vit polo ralph reclut nike air max dans polo ralph lauren les sac jerseys montagnes oakley prescription sans wholesale handbags liens avec le san antonio spurs monde extérieur

 

 

 

Quant tommy hilfiger au monde en lui-même ray ban black friday comme vous suns jerseys pouvez the north face vous en puma douter, il fidget spinner est mcm bags fait de brique michael kors bags et salomon schuhe de nfl titans brocs : les ray ban sunglasses outlet nains bagarreurs mais camarades fake rolex et michael kors bags leurs maitrise du babyliss minerai et calvin klein des machines thomas sabo cotoient ralph lauren uk les humains, nombreux, coach outlet online organisés mais qui new balance store se définissent clothing websites eux même en air max classes prada sociales. nfl seahawks Les dryades reebok shoes ne utah jazz se montrent burberry outlet online guère michael kors plus qu'il ne levis outlet store le indiana pacers faut replica watches et il ray ban y'a ray ban outlet fort jordan release dates longtemps tommy hilfiger que personne hogan n'a plus vu nike air max 2014 de bentors ou vans outlet de Vaaras.

 

La tommy hilfiger outlet stores magie swarovski quant north face backpacks à elle salvatore ferragamo n'existe que montre pas cher depuis birkenstock taschen outlet très peu et est cheap jerseys arrivée true religion outlet brusquement. Un jour (complètement swarovski jewelry random) longchamp quatres sites nfl chargers d'énergie ralph lauren se présentant timberland boots comme louboutin un jerseys from china gigantesque cristal au centre d'une mosaique de nike.de petits cristaux fichés true religion dans ray ban sbocco le mia jersey sol.

 

Les flat iron gens barbour mens jackets qui possèdent abercrombie ces cristaux peuvent invoquer divers éléments ou sorts.

 

Dès lors nfl colts que armani clothing les gens s'en ralph lauren outlet online rendirent compte baseball jerseys les nfl giants différentes timberland homme races burberry uk s'accaparèrent michael kors outlet online sale chacun pistons jersey un spot coach factory online de pandora puissance. Seuls oakley sunglasses outlet les michael kors outlet Bentor ne ua stephen curry montrèrent aucun lunette ray ban pas cher interêt michael kors bags pour ces rolex replica spots...

 

Mais cette longchamp handbags apparition nfl buccaneers de air max 2014 lieux kanye west shoes magiques était ray ban elle jordan shoes vraiment supra footwear un nike air force cadeau du destin oakley ou plus un michael kors outlet online signe nike air force annonciateur de cataclysmes.

dallas mavericks jersey



Name: forever_dreaming (Signed) · Date: 10 Aug 2017 09:15 PM · Chapter: Chapter 1

Oh god. This was... at a different level than any other George-fic I've read before. 

The subtlety in this fic is marvolous--I loved the bits and pieces of each sibling (the toilet seats, the dragonhide jacket) in his house, represented in something commonplace and simple but so so significant. You ddn't try to draw too much attention to it; you let the objects speak for themselves, which is very difficult to do. In fact, the entire fic was very subtly done--with something dramatic like this, it's hard not to go over the top, but you kept the suspense well. 

I think that the most brilliant part was the last line, which is so poetic and tragic and captures his pain perfectly. I felt George's regret and surprise and pain in that one moment, which is amazing. Bravo. 

I'm just wondering if there's any significance about the date May 5th... if anything, I would've expected May 2nd, but perhaps there's a reason for May 5th being the date you chose? 



Name: lovegood27 (Signed) · Date: 19 Jun 2017 08:51 PM · Chapter: Chapter 1

*transferred from HPFF*

Here for BvB tag! :)

Omg, I can't deal with this right now *runs to the bathroom to cry for 5 minutes* This is SO DEPRESSING BUT I STILL LOVE IT, HOW?! And how could you do this to poor George?! ITS SO AWFUL FOR HIM AND AGHH!!!

...I'm done ranting, so. I really liked this; it was absolutely stunning. Your descriptions of George's feelings and confusion at what had happened were brilliantly detailed and gave me a really clear feel of his character. The mentions of bits of his past life (like the toilet seat, lol) were nice touches you added, and provided us with something to link this back to canon with.

I think my favourite part was the letter. All the while I was reading it I was thinking 'Is this Lee Jordan or something...?' and suddenly out came your ending: it was George himself all along. It just hit me hard, and my heart really went out to him as the regret started to settle in and just...ugh, you made me want to cry, damnit! :P

Also, did his family actually die? Or was he solely talking about Fred or what? If they did...how come? It's the one thing I was a little unsure of.

But seriously, this was amazing. It's not hard to see why it's nominated for F.R.O.G.S. The storyline was interesting, characterisation was great...really, it just hit all the right notes. Well done :D



Name: Rhaenyra (Signed) · Date: 20 May 2017 08:31 PM · Chapter: Chapter 1

Hello Brax, I'm here for our review swap.

 

While I loved the idea of an amnesia entry, I couldn't think of something myself.  Mixed with the fact that there was no characters listed, merely an era, I had to choose this one.  Which poor soul would you choose to give amnesia?  How would they get it?  Do they gain any memory back?  All things the main page left me asking.

 

I like how we are introduced to this version of George slowly.  It is clear that it is him from the opening sentence, but we learn along with him what he knows and what he does not know.  Exposition can be rough to get right (too much info? not enough? is this confusing to the reader?) but you strike a good balance here.  Even though we know it is George, we have a lot to piece together.  It keeps a good air of mystery throughout the piece.  That is such a hard genre to nail and an angsty piece focusing on George not mourning Fred was a bold decision.  Even so, I think it worked out well for you.

 

I love how you manage to sneak in little tidbits of his past.  Associating his unknown sister with a toilet seat was a nice throwback to his very first scene in PS, but his more logical explanation to himself made it work.  The "Forge" thing tugged on my heartstrings, while the fact that George doesn't hyphen well with anything despite being a one syllable name rang as so true.  There really are no George-whatevers running around.  Him attempting to put together the pieces with the reader was nice, if bittersweet since we know just why all of these things are so rough on him.

 

The fact that his muscle memory and language memories are so tied to the wizarding world is really cool.  It is also a nice, realistic touch.

 

One thing I may have done was make it clearer from the very beginning that he was in a house rather than a hospital.  That may just be me, but I felt like he was having a bit of a mental break and going into amnesia to repress memories so he was in St. Mungo's.  Maybe a sentence or two would make it clearer that he was in his own home earlier.  (Although that may just be me with an over-active imagination, so ignore it if you wish!)

 

I loved the twist at the end!  I had assumed that it was one of his relatives trying to ease his pain, as he did for a bit.  To have it be HIMSELF who put himself in this self-described hell?  That was brilliant.  It was a really, really strong ending.

 

I do wonder if he ever gets any memories back or how he goes through life after this.  Poor George. :( And poor rest of the Weasley family, with both twins leaving their lives on back-to-back days.

 

Thanks for the swap! <3



Name: TreacleTart (Signed) · Date: 12 May 2017 05:25 AM · Chapter: Chapter 1

Hey Brax, 

 

I'm just dropping by to leave your stories a bit of love! I think I originally read this story in the queue and I remember it just shattering my heart, so I thought it was a good place for me to start.

 

Let me start by saying...

 

HOW DARE YOU?! HOW COULD YOU DO THIS TO ME?! WHY WOULD YOU JUST GO AND SHATTER EVERYONE'S HEART WITHOUT WARNING?! GAH. 

 

Now that that's out of the way, on to the review. 

 

I always imagined that George would really struggle with the death of Fred. I've seen a lot of different stories that explore his post-war experience, but I feel like this one really stands out as unique among them. Your idea of George being so miserable that he wipes his own memory is both tragic and interesting. 

 

You did an excellent job of describing George's initial confusion when he woke up unsure of who he was. It's heartbreaking watching him discover the little clues to his previous life. Ugh. When he found the dragonhide jackets, gah. Those aren't tears. I just have something in my eyes. 

 

Seriously, excellent work. Very compelling writing. 

 

~Kaitlin

 

 



Name: Felpata_Lupin (Signed) · Date: 07 May 2017 04:55 PM · Chapter: Chapter 1

Hi, Brax!

Sian suggested me to give this a read, and so here I am!

Oh, George... I can't believe he erased his own memories... but I understand why he did, the longing for Fred must have been unbearable... :(

I can't even imagine the sensation of waking up one day and not knowing anything about your past, who you are, even the slightest memory... it's so scary and you described that feeling so powerfully!

As frustrating as the vague memories that did came up to him must have felt, some of them did amuse me. Like when he thought he should've sent the toilet to his sister. But I do feel so sad thinking about how lonely and confused and scared he must've felt...

Sorry if I'm cutting this a bit short and if this review isn't very poignant... but know that I really loved this!

Much love,

Chiara



Name: abhorsen (Signed) · Date: 05 May 2017 08:09 AM · Chapter: Chapter 1

Oh my god, Brax. This was heart-breaking.


I really, really loved what you did here. George wanting to escape from his past is something that doesn't really strain credulity too much, considering the circumstances - but you really do set it up perfectly. There are so many little references and hints that make him recognizable (I especially liked Forge, as well as the Hogwarts toilet seat) and add to my sympathy for him, because there's just so much that he almost, kind of remembers but is just out of reach, and that's such an incredibly painful thing. The ending fits that dynamic so, so perfectly on so, so many levels.

 

I love the loose threads you left at the ending, too. Is his family really gone, or did he lie to himself to make it easier? (Theoretically, anyway.) Did something additional add to everything, or is this just the very predictable hell that followed the events of DH? Where does he go from here? This was so good and strikes the perfect balance between establishing what happened and uncertainty from the start to the finish. Amazing, amazing job, Brax. I loved it.



Author's Response:

 

Hi Abhorsen, and thank you so much for your lovely review! I’ll try and answer the questions you’ve left for me :)

Is it really mean of me to be pleased that this story broke your heart? For some reason, when Winding Arrow announced her amnesia challenge, the first person who sprang to mind as a potential candiate for this story was George. I felt he was one person who would have carried so much hurt with him post-war, that to forget what had happened may have almost been a blessing for him. Unfortunately for George, I decided to expand and darken that!!

I had toyed with the idea of making it harder to guess who was suffering with amnesia to add to the mystery, but decided that that would make the story unnecessarily complicated; George’s confusion was complex enough! I’m really happy you liked the inclusion of items and thoughts derived from canon; I felt that I wanted to link the piece with what had already been written, so I’m glad it came across in the way I intended it to. The “Forge” part had stuck in my mind from reading JK Rowling’s original books and I simply HAD to fit the toilet seat in there somewhere!

 

 

 

George’s family aren’t really gone. He lied to himself in an attempt to prevent seeking out his past. I guess, in my mind, George had got quite heavily drunk the night he decided to eliminate his memories, and consequently, he didn’t pull off his plan in a totally sensible manner. I’ve deliberately left the ending open in places, just in case I decide to go back and add to this story in the future.

Thanks once again,

 

 

 

Brax X



Name: Aphoride (Signed) · Date: 04 May 2017 08:33 AM · Chapter: Chapter 1

Hey there, Brax - stopping by for BvB Tag! :) So I had to stop here after Sian recommended it - I always believe Sian's recs, haha, so it seemed like a good plan :) 

This was so, so good (Sian was right, as always :P). Like, heart-breaking, but so good. I love how you dealt with a George unable to cope with everything that happened - losing his twin, so many friends, Harry (once), and essentially (in an emotional way) actually himself too. It's so horrible and so difficult, and you captured the whole idea of him wanting to get away from it all - and doing something about it, too, something horribly permanent - and the after-effects of that so, so well. Even though George doesn't remember anything, I love the way you use the things in his house - the green leather jacket, the toilet seat, etc. - to bring out his emotions and the senses of loss and grieving which he still has, despite it all :/ 

I think one of the things I love about this, is it could so easily be canon, yk? And it describes so very accurately the kind of pain he would feel and the potential of magic to allow people to do what they want - forget everything, leave the past somewhere else. 

Your writing in this is so good - it's so emotive and you don't over-do everything. Everything is just so clean and so clear, and it allows George's character and the unfolding mystery of who he is and who did this to him, and the random, strange emotions he keeps feeling, to lead this and it works so, so well. 

This was so heartbreaking, but so lovely :( 

Aph xx



Author's Response:

Hey Aph!

Thank you so much for choosing this story to review for BvB, and for leaving such great comments :) You write the loveliest reviews! I'm so glad that you enjoyed this story. It was written for, and inspired by, Winding Arrow's Amnesia challenge, and it seemed fitting that if anyone would want to wipe their own memories, it would be George. I loved injecting the little canon facts into this story, so I'm really glad you liked those bits too! And wow - I'm really flattered that you think it could fit in with canon. <3

Thanks again,

Brax X



Name: WindingArrow (Signed) · Date: 02 May 2017 02:30 AM · Chapter: Chapter 1

Holy crap, Brax. You know, when I first put up this challenge, I was almost expecting some comedy gold, but so far they're all very hard and serious entries and this one was, so far, the most heart wrenching. And the ending- I sort of saw it coming, but it still hits me right in the feels! I'm sure if George put pictures of himself up around town asking 'Do you know me?' someone he knows would be bound to find him, right? RIGHT?! I know it's a one-shot, but I feel like it could be a great start to a full on story as well.

 

I will admit, though, that the fluidity of what he does and doesn't remember was a real confusing ride. He doesn't know why he doesn't like green (especially with silver) which implies he doesn't remember Hogwarts, but he knows what dragons are and he swears to Merlin. I was actually surprised to find that there were some things of the magical world that stuck in his normal habits and other things were completely erased. It also amuses me that he assumes his wardrobe is magical and mocking him.

 

George going on without Fred was always a heartbreaking subject for me and this just pulls so hard at my heart, Brax. I'm ready to cry. Thank you SO MUCH for entering my challenge and for giving me this most amazing story to read.

 

-Liz



Author's Response:

Liz, thank YOU for hosting this challenge and inspiring me to write this story!

I agree - the fluidity of this story is rather suspect, tbh; I have no plausible explanation, except that I needed George to have something to remember, because it would have been a real struggle to come up with a story otherwise! Potions have unpredictable effects, though, so perhaps this one didn't target George's memories in a uniform manner? Maybe..!

I'm sorry-not-sorry that it almost made you cry. Does that make me a terrible person?

Thank you so much once again for the challenge, and this lovely review made my day!

Brax X



Name: nott theodore (Signed) · Date: 01 May 2017 04:16 PM · Chapter: Chapter 1

Brax!

 

Okay, so I think that we need to have a serious talk.  I've been meaning to read some of your stories for a while now (but you know, things like CTF kind of get in the way of those intentions), and I'm so glad that I finally had a chance to.  But we need to address the fact that you've been so disparaging of your own writing recently, and there is absolutely no justification for it.  Repeat after me: I am a great writer.  Okay?

 

Honestly, this was amazing!

 

There were actually points reading this when I was nearly in tears, because this was such an emotional story to read, and it broke my heart to see that George was so desperate to get away from the pain and grief that must have defined his life for the last year that he was willing to do this - erase all of his memories and try and start a new life without the remembrance of Fred - and I just wanted to reach out to him and give him the biggest hug.

 

Your description in this was just incredible, too - I would like to quote my favourite parts back at you, but I think that it would probably be most of the story, so I'm not going to do that.  But really, your writing was so powerful and evoked such vivid images in my mind, and it was beautiful to read.  I think I loved the description of George's hair as "Golden red-orange, like the hue of sunsets and marmalade", because it's a lovely, original way to describe his hair colour.

 

I loved the sense of mystery and tension through this story, too, as George felt this sense of resentment towards his "abductor", thinking of this person who had taken away all of his memories and left him with very little.  I was torn from the start in believing his version of events, of having been kidnapped and had his memories taken from him, and then wondering if he'd had a role in it happening.  You drew that aspect of the story out really well, so we weren't sure until the end that it had actually been George who had chosen to erase his memories, which made it even more heartbreaking at the end.

 

This was just so intelligently written, as well - I know that George has chosen to erase his memories, but there are still some that are lurking in the back of his mind and that he might still uncover at some point.  I loved the way that certain words, like swamp and extendable, triggered a hint of a memory because of their connection to products and achievements he'd had with Fred.  Even down to wanting to send his sister a toilet seat, taken from that throwaway line in the first book.  It was just so clever to pack all those little details and hints in there, and made this story stand out even more.

 

I honestly don't think I can praise this enough, Brax, but I'm going to insist on this - please, please don't be so disparaging about your writing, because it's really wonderful, and this was a fantastic and moving one-shot that you should be very proud of.

 

Sian :)



Author's Response:

Sian, you are the best! Thank you so much for reviewing this story. I'm completely blown away by the lovely, thoughtful things that you've said here <3 Many apologies for the delay in responding. I have no valid excuse apart from someone constantly distracting me on twitter ;)

I found "Erasure" quite a difficult and emotional story to write, because I have such a soft spot for Fred and George, and to put George in this predicament seemed such a cruel thing to do. However, I confess; I really enjoyed injecting random, superficial bits of George's past into this story and thus taking my own trip down HP memory lane.

Thanks once again for how amazingly supportive you've been (with this story and in general).

Brax X

 

 



Submit a Review