Login
Reviews For Slaying Demons

Name: Aphoride (Signed) · Date: 19 Dec 2017 06:24 PM · [Report This]
Story:Slaying Demons Chapter: Chapter 1

Hey there, Abbi! :) So I know this is one of your older pieces and imma admit that Wolfstar isn't exactly my kind of pairing, but unfortunately, I'm starting to run out of things I haven't reviewed on your page (hint hint :P), and I wanted to be able to leave a proper review on Prisoner once this is over :) 

 

So, anyway! This is a super cute one-shot, with Sirius and Remus, and the whole thing revolving around Remus' birthday, the surprise Sirius is going to give him, and the little cameo appearances from James and Peter helping out with all the planning and execution of it - especially James, since he's Sirius best friend. It's such a lovely thing, to see them so untainted by the war that's about to happen, just teenagers being teenagers, and while it creeps in at the end - with the mentions of Sirius' plans of travelling the world flying changing to simply surviving the war and defeating Voldemort - it remains so light-hearted and so sweet. 

 

I loved the way it's sort-of not exactly a present for Remus - that the gift itself is the possibility of the future and a kind of certainty of them and what they're going to be to each other for that future, however long it lasts. It's an incredibly thoughtful gift, and so romantic, haha, and I love how you incorporated the motorbike into it - it's such a trademark Sirius thing, yk? :P 

 

Your characterisation and writing in this are both amazing. I know you probably don't believe me when I say this (though you should!), but it really is. I love how you captured the melancholy side ot Remus, and Sirius' daredevil attitude, as well as James' inherent, absolute loyalty to his friends. They're all so in character and so believable, and your writing conveys all the emotions in this so beautifully. I loved the mention of Remus having a 'Sirius smile' - it's kinda like what I tease my sisters about when they're texting their boyfriends :P 

 

This is a really, really lovely one-shot :) 

 

Aph xx



Name: Stella Blue (Signed) · Date: 03 Sep 2017 10:17 PM · [Report This]
Story:Slaying Demons Chapter: Chapter 1

WOLFSTAR I AM HERE FOR THE WOLFSTAR. And for our swap, of course. Hi!

 

♥♥♥♥♥

I feel like, in general, wolfstar stories tend to be quite angsty, just given the way things have to turn out between them if it's going to go the canon route. Which is why this story is SO wonderful - it's like a fluff fest! Something I really needed for these two, tbh. I love this, it's like a snapshot of how happy and carefree they could be. (This is what they could have had forever if there hadn't been a war. *cries*)

 

Also wonderful is the way you describe the different relationships within the group. Remus and Sirius are both kind of haunted and hurt and they help one another deal with it - as they call it, slaying demons. And in comparison Sirius and James have this sort of mind reading that Remus is slightly jealous of but he trusts his friends enough to know that it's just brotherly and that there's no need to be jealous. I just really liked how you explored the dynamics within the group and the ways in which they are close. And how James is right there alongside his best friends to help with birthday surprises, and Peter is helping out too in his own way by distracting Remus and making it seem like there's nothing else going on (even if Remus can see through that :P )

 

this:

 He was lucky; he had let someone see the real him and they had liked it, stayed and loved him for it. -- Aww. This is beautiful.

 

The end is so sweet too, how Sirius wants to bring Remus flying, and because he knows Remus is afraid of flying he manages to come up with another way, knowing that the smoother ride and relative safety of a motorbike rather than a broomstick will make Remus feel more comfortable. It's wonderfully Sirius - the gesture is simultaneously adventure and caring. :) And for Remus, the safety comes not from the machine itself but from the fact that he's with Sirius. Let's all say it together: AWWWW.

 

These boys are adorable. The end.

 

Great story, thanks for the swap! ♥



Name: Felpata_Lupin (Signed) · Date: 27 Aug 2017 03:39 PM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:Slaying Demons Chapter: Chapter 1

Review Tag!

Aww... just aww... this was the sweetest, loveliest, most adorable thing I've read in... well, I don't know how long but it's quite some time for sure.

I was already in love starting from the first paragraph, Remus feeling so happy and grateful that his birthday was coming and that he had such special friends that had helped him getting there. And that little melanchonic tone in remembering (sort of) a time of innocence and carefreeness, when he was a little child, before being bitten... that bit made me want to snuggle him so hard!

And then you introduce his feelings for Sirius, and once again it's all perfect, so sweet and touching. His smile as he remembers the first time they said each other I love you... can you write another one-shot about that, please?

I love James! Like truly, deeply love him. I love his way of joking and teasing his friends all the time. I love how much he's cares for them and want to help them be happy. And I love how he has this sort of telepathy with Sirius, that's totally my headcanon  I think it is so sweet that Remus feels this slight jealousy about that, it's so cute.

The switch to Sirius' POV was great. I loved getting to see how deep and strong his feelings for Remus are as well and that Remus could help Sirius dealing with his demons as much as the other way around, if not more. The idea that Sirius opened up to Remus about his family before to anyone else, even James, is something I would never have thought about but that makes so much sense in the contest of this story. These little details are what makes it special (well, that and your beautiful writing).

The Astronomy Tower scene is too cute for words. I love it. Just love it. You get the feeling that even if they both know it won't be easy they are both still willing to try and do their best and be there for each other for the time they'll be granted, even if they don't know how long it will be. I love that they can and want to harbour that hope (at least for now...)

Okay, this came out longer than I expected. I just loved every single bit of this piece. I know I've already told you more than once, but I love how much emotion you can convey with your writing. It's really so wonderful.

Wonderful job as always!

Lots of love and snowball hug!

Chiara



Name: MegGonagall (Signed) · Date: 07 Aug 2017 06:00 AM · starstarstarstarhalf-star [Report This]
Story:Slaying Demons Chapter: Chapter 1

Hello my love! I'm here for our swap. :) 

 

Oh my goodness, this was the sweetest, fluffiest bit of fluff that ever fluffed! I can't resist me some Wolfstar, and just had to stop here and have a read. :) 

 

So often when we read Wolfstar, it's filled with angst, and the war, and sadness, so this was a wonderfully refreshing piece. To see this sweet moment, of Remus' 17th Birthday. Of course there were hints about the war mentioned, and bits about Remus and Sirius not really having the best childhood, but for the most part this was just so warm and fuzzy. I loved it! 

 

I really loved how supportive James was. Not only did he help Sirius plan this Birthday surprise for Remus, but he didn't even bat an eye when asking Sirius if he really did love Remus. Same sex relationships were not nearly as accepted as they are now, so to know that their best friends (even that rat Peter) were so cool about it is so sweet. 

 

You can totally feel the love for one another in this piece. They mean so much to one another, and are completely able to let their guards down when they're together. I loved that line about fighting their demons together. I just wanted to wrap my arms around them both and squeeze them. Ugh but then that line about the war coming, and not being able to promise forever, but would promise each day they had. *sobs* Becasue they're 17, and we know that they really don't have much time left together, before Sirius is imprisoned for 12 years. *wails* 

 

Oh the whole flying on the motorbike thing is the sweetest idea ever! I can just picture them flying over the Forbidden Forest, and the mountains, with Remus holding onto Sirius for dear life, while Sirius throws his head back and lets out a careless laugh. My heart! I love it!! 

 

This was so damn cute! I'm all filled with gooey, fuzzy, fluffy warm feels! Great job, love! And thanks so much for doing the swap!! 

 

Tons of love and hugs, 

Meg 



Name: victoria_anne (Signed) · Date: 05 May 2017 10:53 AM · [Report This]
Story:Slaying Demons Chapter: Chapter 1

You wrote a Sirius and I didn't know?! :O and for Kayla, no less!

Anyway, a little birdy told me you've been leaving a few reviews lately, so I thought I'd come and return the favour :) 

I gotta say Remus' bleak outlook on life breaks my heart, but then it gets all patched up again reading about how much his friends are there for him <3 That's one of the (hundred billion) things I love about the Marauders.

Ha ha, and of course they're up to something!

I reckon I do a lot more than smile when I think of Sirius *subtly wipes drool from chin*

"We both have a lot of demons and when we're together, we slay them for fun." That is such a beautiful line, Abbi. Well done <3

Omg I could just imagine them under the Cloak speaking as loudly as they can, ha ha! Invisible does not mean silent, guys!

Not only was that gesture the sweetest thing ever, but for it to show Remus that Sirius wants him in his future is just so important and so amazing.

Such a gorgeous little piece, Abbi. Kayla is very lucky! Xx 



Name: dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap (Signed) · Date: 04 May 2017 12:53 AM · starstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:Slaying Demons Chapter: Chapter 1
I want us to have adventures on this motorbike. It's a smoother ride and you'll be safe



Forget Remus, I was totally touched by this gesture! I mean for one it fits so well into their world. Even if Remus and Sirius weren't in love but just friends I could see them cruising around in the air going from place to place (before the war gets really dark, maybe before Lily and James wed) as a mini holiday to let loose and enjoy themselves. I find it extremely believable Sirius would want to do something nice like that for Remus because he deserves to feel a sense of normalcy, especially after Hogwarts. I think it's sweet that he tried to show Remus he was thinking about a future with him. Self doubt can really ruin a relationship and Remus has a lot of that but Sirius was able to quell it, at least for now. Uh, they're so cute it hurts! What a sweet little kiss. I like that they don't promise each other forever. Right now is good enough for them. As long as they are together. 


I AM GUSHING! This was so cute!


Name: nott theodore (Signed) · Date: 29 Apr 2017 10:07 AM · [Report This]
Story:Slaying Demons Chapter: Chapter 1

Hi Abbi!

 

CTF has been kind of crazy but I have a long weekend and some time to make use of, so I can't not stop by and leave a review on this lovely story, can I?  And I'm sorry if I'm just repeating things that I already said to you the first time that I read it, but this deserves some love and it's all true, anyway :P

 

This story put such a smile on my face!  You know by now that I'm permanently writing angst, but reading something this sweet and lovely makes me very happy (you see, I'm not completely heartless!).  If you hadn't told me before, I honestly would never have believed that you hadn't written Wolfstar or written one-shots before this one.  You do such a good job!  Maybe this can persuade you to write some more of them? 

 

Anyway, I loved the way that you opened with Remus on his birthday and the way that we got to see his feelings for Sirius so clearly in that section.  The way that he daydreams about Sirius and has his 'Sirius smile' made me grin so widely that I probably look like I need help.  You just captured how in love he was with Sirius brilliantly, and it was lovely to see that he was so happy, and that they were so happy together.

 

I'm really glad that the dormitory was a safe space for Remus and Sirius, too.  The others have already been so accepting of Remus with his lycanthropy and gone and above and beyond to prove that they're there for him, so I can't imagine them having a problem with Remus and Sirius being together, even if society wasn't exactly tolerant at this point in time.  But I also liked the way that you showed them as a wider group of friends, as well as a couple, because their relationship is obviously not affecting their friendship with James and Peter, and I really loved that we got a glimpse of the friendship which is so strong between them.

 

The switch in POV to Sirius worked really well, too - it was great that we got to find out more about Sirius's feelings for Remus so that we could see they feel exactly the same way about each other.  The heart-to-heart with James was really cute, too - I'm glad that they could talk about things like how Sirius feels about Remus, and the quote about slaying demons together was just so perfect!

 

I thought you did a great job not revealing the birthday surprise in that scene, too, because I was dying to know but had to read on to the end to find out!

 

But it was certainly worth it when I got to find out what the birthday surprise was!  I love little details that tie into canon, and so using the motorbike here as something that connected Sirius and Remus and made their future together more possible, as it became something that they could both share.  It's such a lovely idea and it makes me smile to think that Sirius worked so hard on this in secret so that Remus could have the perfect birthday, and it's like he knew that Remus was worrying about their future together and wanted to do what he could to reassure him about it.  

 

Anyway, I've rambled for long enough, but I loved reading this story and you definitely need to write more one-shots, because you did a fantastic job with this one!

 

Sian :)



Name: poppunkpadfoot (Signed) · Date: 22 Apr 2017 07:07 AM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:Slaying Demons Chapter: Chapter 1

Abbi! Oh my gosh! I'm floored! We really only just got talking and here you are writing a story for me for my birthday?! You are a wonderful, wonderful person. Seriously. I can't thank you enough.

I loved this story so much. I read and write so much Wolfstar angst and it was honestly a treat to read something so full of love and happiness and fluffy goodness! And birthday themed too!

I think you did a great job keeping it realistic by mentioning the war and everything, but using that to uplift their relationship and the specialness of their moments together and of Sirius's grand birthday gesture. And this one line, the one the story's named after - "We both have a lot of demons and when we're together, we slay them for fun" - SO perfect. I honestly had to pause for a minute and go "omg" and just bask in how awesome it was. And Remus's "Sirius smile" omg.

Also, I was really happy that James and Peter were supportive and their dorm room was a safe place for them. There are fics that make James homophobic (not in a violent way but in a skeptical/rude sort of way) and it drives me nuts! I was so happy to see supportive James! And Peter helping James and Sirius with their birthday surprise hijinks by asking Remus for tutoring cracked me up.

I loved loved loved this and I really can't thank you enough for writing it for me! It means so much to me, you and the other Gryffies made my birthday so extra special and one of the best ones I've had in a long time!

You rock, Abbi! <3

-Kayla



Submit a Review