Login
Reviews For Nights Like These

Name: lovegood27 (Signed) · Date: 14 Jun 2017 07:32 PM · Chapter: one

*review transfer from ao3 for HPFT Final Exams Flying Lessons :) 

 

Hi, I'm here for Capture The Flag! ;)

Aw no, poor Seamus! He should just go live with Dean, they are best friends after all... ;) I've never really him written like this, so it was an interesting change for me. I suppose it would make sense if the Second Wizarding War had a big impact on everyone, like Seamus here. Loads of people experienced horrible things and lost close friends and relatives now that I think about it, so I guess I shouldn't be surprised that Seamus was having to take (what I gather is useless) sleeping potions for nightmares :(

Agh I feel so bad for Seamus, with him losing his parents. I love how you made Dean such a caring friend, who just wants what's best for him. Why did Seamus just move to Ireland by himself, though? And wouldn't being in the home he had lived in as a child with his parents just enhance his nightmares? I'm just curious as to his reasoning behind it :)

Ooh, does Seamus have a crush on Dean? ;) That must be awkward for him, since their best friends and all that. Anyway, I just wanted to say I loved the style you've written this. You've managed to give me a real sense of both characters, and I really like all the little details you've added in. And the ending was great...I want to read more now! Awesome job! :D

 

 



Name: dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap (Signed) · Date: 17 May 2017 02:36 PM · Chapter: two

It was everything Dean wanted; his friends nearby, with Seamus closest.

 

I love this line. It just made my heart beat nervously in my chest. I love the slow but obvious burn you have going here. I don't even think Dean is fully aware of his feelings just yet. I think he has some sort of idea but his main focus will always be trying to take care of Seamus first and then his feeling second. In a way Seamus is doing the same thing. He's trying to take care of himself and then his feelings for Dean come at a second, which is good in a way because he should focus on himself. 

 

I also appreciate the back story that you've created for Dean as well. I think you give a little more insight to a character I don't think twice about. So it's nice to read about his job and his family and learn more about Dean. 



Name: dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap (Signed) · Date: 17 May 2017 02:28 PM · Chapter: one

I'm guilty of reading a majority of this story while I was doing my FROGS noms but not actually taking the time to review it. Sorry! You completely suckered me in on Dean/Seamus though. Like, that's my new thing. I want to read 1000x stories about them because I'm just SO convinced that they are together. I'm just a HUGE fan of your writing too. Everything reads so effortlessly. My heart is heavy for Seamus. He needs help but he also needs to work through his issues on his own time. A little nudge and a change of pace will be good for him. 



Name: Stella Blue (Signed) · Date: 17 May 2017 04:09 AM · Chapter: eight

What a perfect ending to a perfect story! I love that Seamus doesn't need the dreamless sleep potion anymore just because he can wake up and see Dean's face and that does more for him than any potion.

 

Yay for Luna and Rolf too! Also, I love how close friends Dean and Luna are and that he wanted to make sure she was the first to know he and Seamus were together. Also lol at his quick thinking/lying to her dad :P

 

thank you for writing a multi-chapter deamus that is everything I wanted in my life. I'm so glad that you alerted me to the presence of this story otherwise I'd be missing out! I love your writing and it was good to get back to reading it! 1000/10



Name: Stella Blue (Signed) · Date: 17 May 2017 03:46 AM · Chapter: seven

*flails*

 

That whole scene in the bar when they kept bumping into one another and their legs were touching I was thinking "if they don't kiss by the end of this chapter I am going to be very upset"

 

I'm so glad Dean didn't end up stewing about his feelings and keeping it all inside for years like Seamus did, and things finally moved forward out of their angsty does-he-like-me-too phase. I love that Seamus has that old picture, too. That's super adorable.

 

thank you for letting them finally kiss. And WOW, what a kiss!

 

All of the explosions he ever caused would never match the way his heart threatened to beat out of his chest, and any jinx that had ever been shot at him was nothing compared to the way his legs felt like they were about to give out from under him. -- this line is absolutely my favorite. Omg, and the fact that he uses all his Potions explosions as a comparison XD

 

I know there's not much substance to this review other than that I am sosososo happy Dean and Seamus are finally together, but I don't have a lot more to say other than some more flailing. I can't believe there's only one more chapter but I'm off to read that right now!



Name: manno-malfoy (Signed) · Date: 16 May 2017 12:47 PM · Chapter: seven

Hello there! So this popped up on my Twitter feed yesterday (I don't particularily remember why), and since I'd never read a Deamus fic before, I was intrigued. I had plans to slowly savour this over the week, but yeah, that didn't happen. I gobbled it up over the course of perhaps three hours during study breaks. I did want to review each chapter separately (and I will do that shortly as I will go back and point out all the things I loved in each one). And I know there's another chapter, but this one just made me feel so many things so I decided to pour them out right away. 

 

This story has forever changed the way I think about knees. You mention the word knees in here and I'm immediately full of butterflies on the boys' behalf. They're just so adorable and confused. And I admire that and understand why Dean is cautious in the beginning. I mean, first, he's too concerned about his friend's well-being, he doesn't even realise that he reciprocates the feelings. And then when he does figure it out, he's so tentatively suggestive. It just drove me crazy, even though I completely understood Dean's thought process. 

 

AND THEN IT'S ALL OUT IN THE OPEN and I have to compel myself to not do a little dance or squeal while I'm reading this off my phone in the library. I'm so immensely proud of Dean for not dwelling on this for too long, and just plunging into the moment, logic aside (these Gryffindors can be so irrationaly impulsive sometimes). 

 

So yeah, I just wanted to let you know all these things (if they made any sense at all) and tell you how much I enjoyed immersing myself in this story today. It was so compelling and if I didn't have to study, I wouldn't have been able to put my phone down. Can't wait to see what happens the next chapter. 

 

PS. I wonder if you've written a fic about Rolf/Luna from this story because I would be all over that. 



Name: victoria_anne (Signed) · Date: 15 May 2017 11:25 AM · Chapter: eight

Is this really the end :(

I love how Dean wonders how many of the lines on Seamus' face he'd caused. I also love that he wanted to tell Luna straight away. What wonderful friends they are. Also yay for Luna and Rolf.

Julie, this story is just so perfect. Perfect Seamus and Dean, just as you wrote. I love how you write the two of them but this story is definitely my favourite one. I've enjoyed this more than I can say in a review. Also I'm so proud of you for finishing it in such a short space of time! 

Really wonderful work Jules, you're amazing <3



Name: victoria_anne (Signed) · Date: 14 May 2017 09:55 AM · Chapter: seven

Oh the tension. Oh it's too much. I'm sitting in front of my screen yelling, JUST KISS!

Luna and Rolf are going on a hike THIS IS NOT A DRILL! I think I've said it before but.. you know, if you write a little something Luna/Rolf based, I'd like... really love it. Just saying.

OMGOMGOMGOMGOMG! YAY! It happened! I'm grinning like such an idiot right now, that is the most satisfying and beautiful kiss ever. I love how Seamus showed Dean the photo to show how long he'd had feelings. I am SO happy right now and SO loving this story <3



Name: victoria_anne (Signed) · Date: 14 May 2017 09:45 AM · Chapter: six

Omg it makes my heart so happy to see such a change in Seamus. It's amazing the healing that pets can do, and they have no idea. They just be themselves.

Dean - the number one Luna/Rolf shipper.

So since I read a bit of this chapter a while back, you already know how much I like Nagnok, and his relationship with Deany ;) He knew Nagnok was driving like an idiot on purpose. - Still my favourite line.

I'm starting to think Dean just finds everyone good looking hehe. Blaise it just so up himself!

MY HEART. MY HEART IS SO FULL RIGHT NOW! He's finally realized his feelings for realsies! <3



Name: victoria_anne (Signed) · Date: 10 May 2017 01:45 PM · Chapter: five

I know I've said it before but I just really love Luna and Rolf, okay? You should write a little something featuring just the two of them. I would love it. Just casually, you know. *slides plate of cookies over*

I also love how attentive Dean and Seamus are about it haha. They're like two little Cupids.

Omg I love the idea of Hogwarts House coloured collars, that is amazing. I wonder if they do them in real life. My cat needs a Hufflepuff one, like, yesterday. Or maybe a Ravenclaw one, the blue could really bring out his eyes. Anyway.

Poppy is such a cute name, and I love that Seamus chose it because she was eating one of Neville's. Also, I remember in our earlier conversations that Dean and Seamus had a dog, but you never mentioned it was actually a Crup. So that's awesome!

D'awww! I really hope having Poppy helps Seamus, and I love how understanding and accepting Dean is!



Name: victoria_anne (Signed) · Date: 09 May 2017 04:35 AM · Chapter: four

I so hope Rolf becomes a part of the gang. I'm sure he will, but it's still so cute to see him on the outside for the time being, and knowing where (and who with!) he'll end up with later.

Aw there's a little smiling waving wizard photo of Seamus' parents in his vault :(

It's so bittersweet to think of all the Hogwarts kiddies going back, and Seamus, Neville and Dean are hanging around Diagon Alley, not going back. Of course Neville is still the cutest thing ever. 

Aw Dean IS helping! <3 The commitment to one another is just the sweetest thing, and I love how aware Dean is of Seamus too. But the ease between the two friends is my favourite thing to read, even when they're just drinking and listening to Quidditch.



Name: victoria_anne (Signed) · Date: 09 May 2017 04:12 AM · Chapter: three

I'm so proud of all the writing you managed last night, so I'm here to live up to the bribe I promised :P

THEY FELL ASLEEP TOGETHER I AM *SQUEE* THIS IS NOT A DRILL!

I'm starting to see what you mean about Dean being a pretty oblivious kind of guy :P

What a coincidence, that's exactly how I take my tea too.

Oh, Seamus. As if moving in with Dean was ever going to help you get over your feelings.

It IS Rolf! Omg I love him! I'm so excited to watch those two fall in love as well *heart eyes*

Poor Seamus <3 My heart just shatters to the floor when you write about his parents. It's just horrible.

Brilliant chapter, as always!



Name: victoria_anne (Signed) · Date: 07 May 2017 09:32 AM · Chapter: two

Wait Seamus' parents are actually dead? Wah poor baby. Also god bless Neville for being the cinammon roll he is.

Ouch, Dean putting off seeing Seamus when he was down is so sad :( but I'm glad he's around and making amends now.

Holy moley what an inheritance. Unrelated buuut does Seamus have a brother?

I love how you gave Gringotts a sense of meaning for Dean.

Omg omg OMG that's Rolf isn't it?! HECK YES! Also, I love the idea of Dean, Seamus, Luna and Neville catching up for the occasional drink <3



Name: victoria_anne (Signed) · Date: 07 May 2017 09:18 AM · Chapter: one

GOODMORNING (or whenever you read this) GORGEOUS LADY!

I'm finally here and SO excited to properly get into this story. I remember reading this when you shared it a while back but it was nice to read again and get excited ALL OVER AGAIN YAY!

Such a perfect prologue, and I can't wait for the shenanigans of Dean and Seamus being roommates, and I can only hope Seamus starts to feel better once they are (but I have a feeling Dean can all too easily make Seamus feel better ;)) Anyway, love this, love you, and onto the next chapter!



Name: Stella Blue (Signed) · Date: 06 May 2017 12:41 AM · Chapter: six

Who has two thumbs and is reading deamus fanfic on their phone? This girl! (I'm also using those two thumbs to type this review so sorry about any weird misspellings/autocorrect.)

 

Dean watching Seamus laugh and play with Poppy is the cutest thing. and he can't even focus on work because he's thinking about Seamus! ah! I'm glad Poppy seems to be working as a therapy dog for him too :)

 

Poor Slytherins being labelled as high risk just for being in that house during Voldemorts regime. That's not really enough of a reason to think someone is high risk - it's not their fault they were in that house. :( BUT i love that Harry is a high risk client, haha! I bet Hermione was too, because of that incident, and I bet she hated it :p

 

I love how Dean thinks 'the only person in his life besides Seamus' like Seamus is a given, ... this thought alone should be a wake up call. Omg and then the end of the chapter! DEAN HAS FIGURED OUT HIS FEELINGS YSSS i thought it was going to take way longer and this is very exciting. they're totally on the same page, they just dont realize it yet! thank goodness for blaise and his perceptiveness, otherwise dean might have taken like a year to figure it out

 

this was beautiful

 

 



Name: Stella Blue (Signed) · Date: 05 May 2017 08:21 PM · Chapter: five

Luna and Neville both laughed at something Rolf said -- I bet he told them what Teresa is. But anyway, I'm glad Rolf and Luna seem to have gotten past their disagreement and seem to be on friendly terms now.

 

Seamus stared at the help wanted sign in the window of the Magical Menagerie. The corner of the sign was slightly chewed -- I can't believe Teresa has been chewing on the sign!

 

I forgive you everything about the Teresa mystery because Seamus just bought a puppy and my life is complete.

 

I love the little details in this, like the fact that Neville planted flowers outside the Leaky Cauldron. That's perfect. And the name of the dog coming from how she ate the flowers! Haha.

 

SEAMUS AND DEAN AND THE PUPPY *heart melts* this is the most adorable scene in the world. It is perfection. Omg, I can't handle it. Just the mental image of them both kneeling there and playing with the dog while Seamus slowly falls more in love with Dean. I know there's so much not being said here, by both of them, but the cuteness of the moment makes up for it. I want this fic to be made into a movie just so I can watch this scene and then roll on the floor processing all my feels about it.

 

I know this review wasn't very profound but I've got to go as my internet time is up! But I will be back to love the rest of this story later. Thank you for sending me the link! Ahh, this is amazing and I adore it so much. ♥♥♥ Til next time!



Name: Stella Blue (Signed) · Date: 05 May 2017 07:58 PM · Chapter: four

Agh, you've mentioned Teresa again and I'm still wondering what she is! You should have labelled this story as Mystery genre :P

 

Okay but onto more important matters. There was so much Deamus amazingness in this chapter, from the angsty, tension filled section where Seamus is awaking from his nightmare, to the fun, friendly, easy conversation as they listen to Quidditch together and the number of times Dean thinks about Seamus' knee and the way Dean is sort of totally falling asleep on Seamus. It's becoming a habit with these two haha! Ah, but anyway I love the range of emotions in this chapter and how Dean knows exactly how to get through to Seamus. Seamus does have a pretty thick wall up now, especially because of his feelings for Dean, but at least humour works if nothing else does, to get him out of a bad mental place.I really enjoyed the scene of them listening to the match together. And while I really want Seamus to confide in Dean, like Dean offered to listen, I think it'll be a while because there's a lot of things Seamus is hiding.

 

This story is amazing



Name: Stella Blue (Signed) · Date: 05 May 2017 07:39 PM · Chapter: three

He fell asleep in Dean's arms. Be still my heart.

 

Neville would comment that he was still in the clothes from the previous night, and he was sure his morning choice of beverage would find its way back to Dean. -- What, and then they'd argue about it like a married couple? ...Yeah, probably. :P

 

Moving in with Dean was supposed to help him get over his feelings for Dean -- LOLOL DID HE REALLY THINK THIS WOULD WORK?? Haha. (Nope, I've been there and it does not.) *shakes head at Seamus* Horrible logic to his decision, but it works out well for me because now I get this story filled with angst and unrequited-but-actually-requited feelings and I am trash for that.

 

Of course the furry blob had a name, and it's named Teresa XD But... what kind of animal is it?? I'm still dying to know!

 

he knew Dean thought Rolf was good looking -- Aha. So Seamus was watching Dean watch Rolf. And Rolf was watching Luna, I'm fairly sure. What a tangled web of watching :P

 

Omg, about Seamus's parents dying right after everything was supposed to be all over. That's so awful. No wonder Seamus is having such a horrible time moving forward. Poor Seamus :(

 

The fact that he keeps hiding the dreamless sleep potions worries me. The secrecy about how he's still using the potions is the worst part, because the fact that he's trying to hide it can potentially be dangerous and is a warning sign for potion abuse. I hope someone notices before Seamus gets in too deep :-/

 

I really enjoyed Dean's badgering Luna about Rolf and making her flustered. It's funny because I can tell at this point Luna doesn't really *like* Rolf, but I know they eventually get together so it's just amusing to watch. And poor Seamus just stewing in the corner when it's clear Dean is more interested in teasing Luna than he is interested in Rolf. Well, it's clear to me. Seamus will probably take a while to figure it out :P

 

Another great chapter!



Name: Stella Blue (Signed) · Date: 05 May 2017 07:18 PM · Chapter: two

Okay so this is the best story ever and I was totally craving a multi-chapter deamus story so this is everything I wanted in my life. There are a lot of one-shots about these two, but not enough long stories. Thank you for taking steps to fix this problem! :D

 

Yay for things getting better for Seamus! I think maybe just Dean's presence is helping a lot more than the potions, but maybe I'm getting ahead of myself. Also, I love that they and Luna are BFF's. This totally fits my headcanon that Luna and Dean, despite how very different they are, became really close while imprisoned together in DH, and so I just love the idea of them meeting up and just chatting about the good old times. And I love that they do this at the Leaky Cauldron because I have a soft spot for Neville and Hannah so basically all my favourite people are in this story.

 

Theory: Tall handsome stranger carrying a marmot into the pub is actually Rolf Scamander. Based solely on the fact that he has some weird animals and that Luna has some unknown history with him (that I'm dying to know about, btw.) I guess I'll have to read on to find out. Don't worry, I was going to read on anyway because this story is the best thing about today.

 

Seamus chuckled softly, the alcohol making his cheeks pink. --  is 'the alcohol' another way of saying Dean? Because... I don't think it's just standard alcohol making Seamus blush amirite

 

It was everything Dean wanted; his friends nearby, with Seamus closest. -- this is the most perfect sentence

 

 



Name: Stella Blue (Signed) · Date: 05 May 2017 06:52 PM · Chapter: one

eeee

 

I love it

 

hang on, I'll leave you a better review on the next chapter but right now I need to keep reading!



Name: TreacleTart (Signed) · Date: 07 Apr 2017 01:38 AM · Chapter: two

Hello again! 

 

Thought I'd just go ahead and drop by to see how my two babies were doing in the next chapter! I'm glad to see that Seamus is slowly starting to get better. I think Dean's influence will really help him to continue to improve. 

 

I love that all of them are living above the Leaky Cauldron. It's so nice to think that Dean, Seamus, Luna, Neville, and Hannah all stayed good enough friends to live in the same building. It really makes my heart happy. 

 

I'm guessing that the strange guy in the bar was Rolf? I'm excited to see how he and Luna end up together since she seemed pretty icy towards him which is really uncharcteristic of her. I guess being woken up by screeching animals early every morning might tend to make someone sort of grumpy.

 

The end of this chapter is so sweet. I love that Dean gives Seamus a hug. I think he needs some physical closeness right now. My poor baby. 

 

Good work! I'll be back once you get the next chapter up! 

 

~Kaitlin



Name: TreacleTart (Signed) · Date: 06 Apr 2017 11:59 PM · Chapter: one

Hey Julie! 

 

Dropping by to leave you a review for our review swap! 

 

First off, you know I love Dean/Seamus, so I'm so happy that you've decided to write them. They're such a great pairing and you highlight that right away in this piece by showing how they balance each other out. I think Dean is really good for Seamus.

 

The opening to this was super intense. I was terrified that poor Dean and his parents really were being hurt. I thought you were going to smash all of my Dean/Seamus dreams in the first couple of paragraphs. I was like "JULIE, HOW COULD YOU DO THIS TO ME?!!"

 

In a way, I'm glad that it all ended up being a dream. Obviously, I want Dean to survive and to be very happy with Seamus, but part of me is really sad that Seamus is this messed up all these years later. I know that war does really mess with people, but it's sad to think that Seamus would be blocking himself off from those that he loves. That's really the worst thing you can do with depression and PTSD too. 

 

I have to go read the next chapter right now and find out what's going on! 

 

~Kaitlin



Name: dreamgazer220 (Signed) · Date: 29 Mar 2017 03:19 PM · Chapter: one

D'aw I saw your shout-out and you're adorable! Trust me, it's been an honor and a pleasure to help you with this story and I'm so excited to see that you're writing and posting it already! 

Do I need to tell you again how excited I am for this? Yes, I think I do. I'M SO EXCITED FOR THIS STORY. It has everything I love: Deamus, Seamus with PTSD and nightmares, roommates, and wonderful Julie writing.  Is chapter 1 too early to recommend a story???

I love your writing here and how you write both Seamus and Dean. Seamus is clearly suffering here, and I think it's clear how Dean is picking up on it. It must be so lonely for Seamus to be living alone in his childhood house with nothing but nightmares and ghosts.  And even though Dean wasn't at Hogwarts with the Carrows, it didn't matter - the dreams felt real enough to be terrifying for him.

I just want to snuggle him. Is that okay? 

And I know this is your summary, but I love this: If being away from Dean was making his dreams this bad and his feelings so strong, maybe living with Dean would make them both go away. They could go back to before, when things were easy and Seamus wasn't one spark away from an explosion. I just feel like it perfectly tells us where Seamus is without being like, "He's a mess and he needs his best friend". 

Okay so this review might be almost as long as your chapter, but I don't care because I'm just going to sprinkle a little more love onto this story.  And I'm always here if you want to chat more or bounce ideas or whatever.

Love you! <3 



Name: MuggleMaybe (Signed) · Date: 26 Mar 2017 11:12 PM · Chapter: one

JULIE!

 

I saw you posted in the new stories thread and I literally held my breath while I clicked, hoping it was this story AND IT IS!!!

 

I already love it. I mean, you know that. I loved it before I even read it. But now I for sure love it and how the hell is this ship not canon? Like, SERIOUSLY?!?!?

 

I liked that the dream felt real enough to be scary, but surreal enough to be clearly a dream. And the dreamless sleep potion comes in very smoothly now. 

 

I get a sense of Seamus' being hopeess and Dean being impatient but trying not to be impatient and I really just want to hug both of them. Oooh, and I love love love that last line of narration. Beautful!

 

Only CC is that I found this line a little confusing for a second: he had no way of telling what time he managed to sleep until with the curtains closed

 

Please keep writing more, I already love it!

xoxo Renee



Author's Response:

RENEE! 

I am not gonna lie, I totally meant to tell you that this was posted and totally spaced. BUT YES IT IS! 

LIKE SERIOUSLY J.K., HOW IS IT NOT CANON!? ahem. I know. I love them so much. I hope this story will make you love them all the more! 

I'm really happy the dream worked for you in the way that I intended. That surrealness was something that I wanted, since Dean wasn't at the school with the Carrows so it was clearer that it was Seamus' brain inventing it. We did talk about that sleep potion bottle, didn't we! :D 

Thanks for pointing that out, I can definitely see how that's confusing. I'll give it a look and see if I can figure out something that's a little clearer! 

Thank you so much for being such an amazing and supportive friend, my dear, and thanks for the review!! 

Julie



Submit a Review