Login
Reviews For Nights Like These

Name: manno-malfoy (Signed) · Date: 19 Dec 2017 12:20 PM · starstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:Nights Like These Chapter: five

Ah, look at these two not being angsty for once. I'm so proud of Seamus for finally taking the step of getting out of the house. Yes, maybe he got distracted and forgot to look for a job, but he brought back a creature for him and Dean to take care of and bond over. And yeah, they may not be in a relationship, but joint custody of a pet can only mean good things. 

 

I just realised how you've set this up so that there's so many from their circle of friends there. Beside the fact that this means Luna and Neville (whom I love) being present entertains me to no end, I think that it's good for Seamus to be surrounded with his friends. It will probably help draw him out of isolation. 

 

And yes for progress with Luna and Rolf! I mean, they're talking to each other and Luna isn't fussing about how he steals her research? Because if she still has a problem with that, I have a great idea. They should get together and write research together. 

 

I'm sorry that all I can do is gush about how much I love and care about these characters. It's your fault though. You're the one who got me so attached.



Name: manno-malfoy (Signed) · Date: 19 Dec 2017 09:22 AM · starstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:Nights Like These Chapter: four

Hmm... I don't mean to be presumptuous, but I can think of a thing or two these two can do to help with the night. But I also cannot recommend that for two people who live with each other and can't have a proper conversation about their feelings, so I suppose you made the right decision by confining it to distant glances and seemingly innocent touching of body parts. 

 

It's sweet that Dean is paying enough attention to notice Seamus's change of attitude first as he was invigorated by his thrill for the game and later on when that started to dwindle as the night progressed. But at least they're both drinking and less self-conscious around each other. This offers plenty of opportunity for progress that I am eagerly awaiting. 

 

I do like that we're starting to see more of Dean noticing Seamus or looking at him differents given that up until the last chapter, it was mostly one-sided with Seamus brooding and trying to overcome those feelings because he thinks they're unrequited. But here comes the light at the end of the tunnel in the form of a tall, dark, handsome bloke. <3




Name: manno-malfoy (Signed) · Date: 19 Dec 2017 08:35 AM · starstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:Nights Like These Chapter: three

Awh, poor Seamus, my heart is breaking for him. I personally had recently suffered from insomnia for two weeks and it nearly drove me insane. And you describe it all so well, and made me relate to it so much. I'm glad I'm rereading this now because it made much more of an impact on me. I also hate that Seamus is so ashamed of his state and smuggling sleeping potions into the apartment.

 

I did enjoy his conversation with Rolf. Initially, I thought he was just doing Luna a favour and directing him towards her and all. Then Seamus started freaking out a bit about how Dean thought Rolf is attractive, so I started wondering if he's just setting him up with Luna just to get him out of the way. 

 

And I could tell that he's really desperate when he was even concerned about Luna, the poor thing. He's struggling enough trying get over all the damage the war caused him, and now he also has to try to get over Dean. Can you be my proxy and give him a hug? It looks like he needs one from someone like Dean so he doesn't keep feeling like he's failing miserably at dealing with everything. 



Name: manno-malfoy (Signed) · Date: 19 Dec 2017 07:48 AM · starstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:Nights Like These Chapter: two

I'm always here for supportive friends. Even though I know there are ulterior motives and underlying feelings. But I also know that Dean's concern toward Seamus is genuine. I don't remember all the details of the story perfectly, but I don't know I was expecting some action or some more intimacy from these two in their drunken stupor. But then I remembered how much of a slow burn this is, and while it can be torture, the way you write it also makes it fun and hard to resist. 

 

Because of my love for Luna, I loved the scene where she and Rolf Scamander come upon each other. It's so subtle but one can tell that something is there. I also don't remember exactly if you expanded on that in future chapters, so I really hope you do. Even if briefly so I can revel in my love for them and their love for each other. 



Name: manno-malfoy (Signed) · Date: 17 Dec 2017 05:05 PM · starstarstarstarhalf-star [Report This]
Story:Nights Like These Chapter: one

Hi there!

 

So I've read (okay, devoured in the course of one day) this story before. Therefor,  I thought I'd take this opportunity to give it some much-deserved love. 

 

I absolutely love all the sexual tension, not just in this chapter but throughout the story. And I like how everything these two say always has an underlying meaning or some innuendo. I guess the sweetest moment was when Seamus was thinking that he'd do just about anything that Dean asks of him. And that's just straight up adorable. It's also sweet how much Dean cares about him and wants to help him recover even when Seamus is holding back on how bad things have been. I really do miss this story, and I'll definitely be dropping by as much as I can to reread it and give it some proper love. I do apologise in advance that a large percentage of it might be incoherent gushing and whining about them not being all over each other as they should be.



Name: Dojh167 (Signed) · Date: 02 Dec 2017 05:45 AM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:Nights Like These Chapter: eight

I vaguely remember you asking for advice for this story and how to manage the angst between them with this, and though I don’t remember the details for what you were considering, I do think you handled it perfectly.

 

Hey, Dean. I get that you’re excited, but when you promised your boy you’ll be there when he wakes up, you don’t leave in the morning. Not for a minute.

 

omg, Dean. Seamus has been in love with you since you were fifteen, and you think maybe this means less to him than to you. You. Stupid. Boys.

 

I liked the little background Luna/Rolf. We didn’t really get to see much of them or what their relationship is like, but I enjoyed that subtlety too.

 

Omg these boys are both so obsessed with defining their relationship. Whatever they are, they’re so the same.

 

Aww that last paragraph was so lovely. You used a lot of really beautiful language in the last couple of chapters that was very charged with emotion did a great job capturing the poetry of their feelings, both physically and emotionally.

 

I’m so glad that I got to read this, and it was super fun to do all at once!

 

Excellent work!

 

Sam.



Name: Dojh167 (Signed) · Date: 02 Dec 2017 05:09 AM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:Nights Like These Chapter: seven

Omg Seamus, Dean is working so hard, give him something! You’re wondering why he isn’t just jumping? Cause he doesn’t think you’re interested! Show him!

 

Don’t drown, Seamus.

 

Seamus. Your problem isn’t that you can’t play it cool. Your problem is that you play it too cool so Dean doesn’t know what you want! Come onnnn (btw Julie, you’re obviously being successful with your slow burn tension)

 

Agh that mix of relief and disappointment when Dean moved away

 

Yes! Talk. To. Dean. (also don’t stop pushing)

 

Thank goodness Dean did not go to sleep. Nobody was satisfied with that ending to the evening.

 

ABOUT TIME

 

Baha, excellent tie in to Seamus’ trend toward the explosive

 

Again: ABOUT TIME

 

Um, I’m crying? Okay.

 

That is an A+ list of things Seamus wants to know about Dean.

 

[keyboard smash]

 

lol I’m sorry that this review devolved into very brief live reactions, but, well, that’s what you made me feel. I don’t think I need to say that you did a positively marvelous job with this chapter.

 

Sam.



Name: Dojh167 (Signed) · Date: 02 Dec 2017 04:41 AM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:Nights Like These Chapter: six

Yay we get to talk about Poppy some more. Forget romance, just give me pet fluff.

 

Aww and the parallel of both guys thinking the other is adorable with Poppy. And I am so, so happy that Poppy is helping Seamus so significantly. Aww and Dean’s always wanted a dog, that makes it even better.

 

Ugh do not like that they are blindly restricting Slytherins.

 

Welp that’s one annoying goblin.

 

Hehe I like the contrast of those two reasons Seamus disliked Blaise. And that one thing lasted longer than the other.

 

Wow there’s a huge knee motif in this story XD

 

Come on, Dean, you’re very hit-on-able. And also you don’t always notice when people right in front you like you….

 

I am relieved that you didn’t have Dean and Blaise hook up. I was afraid that it would be setup for Seamus’ jealousy to come up or something, and my multiship heart doesn’t want to have to take sides like that =P

 

Dean: “I’m not seeing anyone.” *goes home to his domestic life with Seamus and their dog, getting them dinner along the way* Everyone: “riiiiight”

 

This is domestic AF and I dig it.

 

ABOUT TIME YOU CAUGHT ON, DEAN.

 

Sam.

 



Name: Dojh167 (Signed) · Date: 02 Dec 2017 04:20 AM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:Nights Like These Chapter: five

Welp that first line was a definitive answer to my questions!

 

Oh wait no, this chapter is from Seamus’ POV? So maybe less definitive than previously thought. Seamus may be convinced that Dean knows, but until I see it from Dean’s perspectve, I’m not.

 

Wow, Seamus sure has his pining game going strong today, doesn’t he?

 

He was playing it super chill about the whole knee thing the night before though! From Dean’s perspective he was acting totally natural about it. I really like the different layers we see from the switching POVs in this story.

 

Clothes that could be considered professional sound like a big step for Seamus!

 

Awww baby crup! I am really proud of Seamus for going out, for staying strong when confronting traumantic feelings, and for finding someone to love! I’m glad you didn’t push him into getting a job right away. I think that would’ve been too much too soon.

 

Lol because of course people get house accessories for their pets. I wonder if it more common to get things from the house of the owner, or the house they think the pet would be...

 

Yeah, fail at not asking Dean about getting a pet. But. She’s. So. Cute. POPPY?! Cuter now.

 

Awww I’m really glad Dean was okay with keeping her.

 

It also occurs to me that Poppy shares a name with Madame Pomfrey. That may not have been deliberate, but it sure plays into the theme of Seamus needed healing.

 

This was lovely!

 

Sam.



Name: Dojh167 (Signed) · Date: 02 Dec 2017 03:52 AM · starstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:Nights Like These Chapter: four

The sentence “He knew days like these were few and far between” struck me, considering the title of the story.

 

One thing that stands out to me is the contrast of Dean and Seamus with everything else as far as their careers are concerned. Everyone else kinda seems more adulty in a way. Luna is already published and taken seriously, seen as one of the best in her field. Neville and Hannah own their own business. And Seamus doesn’t work and Dean has what kinda feels like an entry level job, and they are living as “roommates.” I think you said this is only 4 years out of hogwarts and I certainly don’t expect anyone to have their lives together at that point, but the contrast between them and the others seems significant.

 

omg Dean and Seamus’ Quidditch drinking game! I love it! Especially how succinctly it communicates their shared jokes and relationship.

 

“Dead didn’t think he’d ever thought about Seamus’ knee so much in a single sitting.” …… I’m listening.

 

I’m feelin’ the slow burn alright.

 

Sam.



Name: Dojh167 (Signed) · Date: 02 Dec 2017 03:26 AM · starstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:Nights Like These Chapter: three


Hmm I’d agree that Seamus’ feelings for Dean are very obvious, but I’m not sure they’re obvious to Dean. If nothing else, we saw Dean’s POV and there was no indication that he knew. Seamus might be right to an extent that Dean doesn’t return the feelings, but that may just be because it had never occurred to him that Seamus could like him.

 

Omg in what universe is moving in with somebody a good way to get over your feelings for them. Check yourself, Seamus.

 

Ahhh it’s Rolf! Interesting. That makes sense, and I’m even more interested in the hostility Luna seems to have for him now.

 

The mention of how Seamus wouldn’t go to his parents’ Gringotts vault without Dean was very powerful and subtle.

 

Okay if Dean keeps bringing up that he’s just friends with Luna, that sounds like he’s trying to hint to Seamus that he’s available for him, no? ALSO. His relationships don’t last more than one or two nights? Every wonder why??

 

I’m liking the balance of light and darkness in this story. When I started reading I was afraid that it would be too dark, but you keep things nice and even that makes it an easy read, despite the heavy material.

 

Sam.



Name: Dojh167 (Signed) · Date: 02 Dec 2017 03:02 AM · starstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:Nights Like These Chapter: two

Oh, Dean’s perspective! I like the parallel, that we’re seeing him wake up here.

 

Okay, I forgive the Leaky Cauldron not being in Inn as it gives us Dean/Seamus more or less sharing living quarters with Neville again. It’s like a (traumatized) family reunion.Omg and Luna lives here too? Hogwarts 2.0

 

“I should just move into your room.” Yes, but not in the way you’re thinking.

 

I find it interesting that Dean’s job is based off of nostalgia in contrast to Seamus trying to avoid the past.

 

lol of course Flitwick “hated” Seamus he was always blowing stuff up XD I like that little exchange, and how it adds detail to the canon character dynamics, and particularly what it says about Dean and Seamus, that Dean knows what he is talking about with so little context

 

Luna strikes me as a surprising person to be best friends with Dean, as we don’t see too much of them having a dynamic in canon, but their friendship makes sense and I like it.

 

I like Luna’s quick input about the ginger root, and I wonder what’s up with her and that guy. It seems significant to see her so cold.

 

This was a nice gentle chapter, and I look forward to more! It looks like Dean’s got much less going on emotionally, both connected to trauma and crushes, but I am still curious about him. The way he and Seamus drifted apart before, I wonder what made him finally ready to take on such a large roll in his life again.

 

Sam.



Name: Dojh167 (Signed) · Date: 02 Dec 2017 02:39 AM · starstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:Nights Like These Chapter: one

Hello, Julie! I’ve been wanting to read this story since you wrote it, and hopefully this review event is just the motivation I need! Let’s see if I can read it all this weekend?

 

Eep starting right in with the nightmares. Okay. I think you did a good job with that. It definitely felt like a nightmare with the horror of it, and the dream with the way that it didn’t completely make sense and Seamus was kind of a detached observer. That struck me - that he was just watching, and though the things he saw was horrific, he didn’t really react.

 

Did Seamus not take the sleep potion that night, or had it been unsuccessful in stopping his dreams?

 

The Leaky Cauldron no longer an inn? *sobs* Wow I’m weirdly attached to random things, aren’t I?

 

It seems like Seamus already knows he has a TON of feelings about Dean, which I didn’t know would be established right away. Dean seems kind of clueless about that though.

 

There was an interesting mix to this chapter. It started with the nightmares and ended on a kind of sweet note, but there was a lot unspoken under the surface, both about Seamus’ trauma and his feelings about Dean. I’m looking forward to seeing those things explored more.

 

See you soon!

 

Sam.



Name: lovegood27 (Signed) · Date: 14 Jun 2017 07:32 PM · [Report This]
Story:Nights Like These Chapter: one

*review transfer from ao3 for HPFT Final Exams Flying Lessons :) 

 

Hi, I'm here for Capture The Flag! ;)

Aw no, poor Seamus! He should just go live with Dean, they are best friends after all... ;) I've never really him written like this, so it was an interesting change for me. I suppose it would make sense if the Second Wizarding War had a big impact on everyone, like Seamus here. Loads of people experienced horrible things and lost close friends and relatives now that I think about it, so I guess I shouldn't be surprised that Seamus was having to take (what I gather is useless) sleeping potions for nightmares :(

Agh I feel so bad for Seamus, with him losing his parents. I love how you made Dean such a caring friend, who just wants what's best for him. Why did Seamus just move to Ireland by himself, though? And wouldn't being in the home he had lived in as a child with his parents just enhance his nightmares? I'm just curious as to his reasoning behind it :)

Ooh, does Seamus have a crush on Dean? ;) That must be awkward for him, since their best friends and all that. Anyway, I just wanted to say I loved the style you've written this. You've managed to give me a real sense of both characters, and I really like all the little details you've added in. And the ending was great...I want to read more now! Awesome job! :D

 

 



Name: dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap (Signed) · Date: 17 May 2017 02:36 PM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:Nights Like These Chapter: two

It was everything Dean wanted; his friends nearby, with Seamus closest.

 

I love this line. It just made my heart beat nervously in my chest. I love the slow but obvious burn you have going here. I don't even think Dean is fully aware of his feelings just yet. I think he has some sort of idea but his main focus will always be trying to take care of Seamus first and then his feeling second. In a way Seamus is doing the same thing. He's trying to take care of himself and then his feelings for Dean come at a second, which is good in a way because he should focus on himself. 

 

I also appreciate the back story that you've created for Dean as well. I think you give a little more insight to a character I don't think twice about. So it's nice to read about his job and his family and learn more about Dean. 



Name: dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap (Signed) · Date: 17 May 2017 02:28 PM · starstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:Nights Like These Chapter: one

I'm guilty of reading a majority of this story while I was doing my FROGS noms but not actually taking the time to review it. Sorry! You completely suckered me in on Dean/Seamus though. Like, that's my new thing. I want to read 1000x stories about them because I'm just SO convinced that they are together. I'm just a HUGE fan of your writing too. Everything reads so effortlessly. My heart is heavy for Seamus. He needs help but he also needs to work through his issues on his own time. A little nudge and a change of pace will be good for him. 



Name: Stella Blue (Signed) · Date: 17 May 2017 04:09 AM · [Report This]
Story:Nights Like These Chapter: eight

What a perfect ending to a perfect story! I love that Seamus doesn't need the dreamless sleep potion anymore just because he can wake up and see Dean's face and that does more for him than any potion.

 

Yay for Luna and Rolf too! Also, I love how close friends Dean and Luna are and that he wanted to make sure she was the first to know he and Seamus were together. Also lol at his quick thinking/lying to her dad :P

 

thank you for writing a multi-chapter deamus that is everything I wanted in my life. I'm so glad that you alerted me to the presence of this story otherwise I'd be missing out! I love your writing and it was good to get back to reading it! 1000/10



Name: Stella Blue (Signed) · Date: 17 May 2017 03:46 AM · [Report This]
Story:Nights Like These Chapter: seven

*flails*

 

That whole scene in the bar when they kept bumping into one another and their legs were touching I was thinking "if they don't kiss by the end of this chapter I am going to be very upset"

 

I'm so glad Dean didn't end up stewing about his feelings and keeping it all inside for years like Seamus did, and things finally moved forward out of their angsty does-he-like-me-too phase. I love that Seamus has that old picture, too. That's super adorable.

 

thank you for letting them finally kiss. And WOW, what a kiss!

 

All of the explosions he ever caused would never match the way his heart threatened to beat out of his chest, and any jinx that had ever been shot at him was nothing compared to the way his legs felt like they were about to give out from under him. -- this line is absolutely my favorite. Omg, and the fact that he uses all his Potions explosions as a comparison XD

 

I know there's not much substance to this review other than that I am sosososo happy Dean and Seamus are finally together, but I don't have a lot more to say other than some more flailing. I can't believe there's only one more chapter but I'm off to read that right now!



Name: manno-malfoy (Signed) · Date: 16 May 2017 12:47 PM · starstarstarstarhalf-star [Report This]
Story:Nights Like These Chapter: seven

Hello there! So this popped up on my Twitter feed yesterday (I don't particularily remember why), and since I'd never read a Deamus fic before, I was intrigued. I had plans to slowly savour this over the week, but yeah, that didn't happen. I gobbled it up over the course of perhaps three hours during study breaks. I did want to review each chapter separately (and I will do that shortly as I will go back and point out all the things I loved in each one). And I know there's another chapter, but this one just made me feel so many things so I decided to pour them out right away. 

 

This story has forever changed the way I think about knees. You mention the word knees in here and I'm immediately full of butterflies on the boys' behalf. They're just so adorable and confused. And I admire that and understand why Dean is cautious in the beginning. I mean, first, he's too concerned about his friend's well-being, he doesn't even realise that he reciprocates the feelings. And then when he does figure it out, he's so tentatively suggestive. It just drove me crazy, even though I completely understood Dean's thought process. 

 

AND THEN IT'S ALL OUT IN THE OPEN and I have to compel myself to not do a little dance or squeal while I'm reading this off my phone in the library. I'm so immensely proud of Dean for not dwelling on this for too long, and just plunging into the moment, logic aside (these Gryffindors can be so irrationaly impulsive sometimes). 

 

So yeah, I just wanted to let you know all these things (if they made any sense at all) and tell you how much I enjoyed immersing myself in this story today. It was so compelling and if I didn't have to study, I wouldn't have been able to put my phone down. Can't wait to see what happens the next chapter. 

 

PS. I wonder if you've written a fic about Rolf/Luna from this story because I would be all over that. 



Name: victoria_anne (Signed) · Date: 15 May 2017 11:25 AM · [Report This]
Story:Nights Like These Chapter: eight

Is this really the end :(

I love how Dean wonders how many of the lines on Seamus' face he'd caused. I also love that he wanted to tell Luna straight away. What wonderful friends they are. Also yay for Luna and Rolf.

Julie, this story is just so perfect. Perfect Seamus and Dean, just as you wrote. I love how you write the two of them but this story is definitely my favourite one. I've enjoyed this more than I can say in a review. Also I'm so proud of you for finishing it in such a short space of time! 

Really wonderful work Jules, you're amazing <3



Name: victoria_anne (Signed) · Date: 14 May 2017 09:55 AM · [Report This]
Story:Nights Like These Chapter: seven

Oh the tension. Oh it's too much. I'm sitting in front of my screen yelling, JUST KISS!

Luna and Rolf are going on a hike THIS IS NOT A DRILL! I think I've said it before but.. you know, if you write a little something Luna/Rolf based, I'd like... really love it. Just saying.

OMGOMGOMGOMGOMG! YAY! It happened! I'm grinning like such an idiot right now, that is the most satisfying and beautiful kiss ever. I love how Seamus showed Dean the photo to show how long he'd had feelings. I am SO happy right now and SO loving this story <3



Name: victoria_anne (Signed) · Date: 14 May 2017 09:45 AM · [Report This]
Story:Nights Like These Chapter: six

Omg it makes my heart so happy to see such a change in Seamus. It's amazing the healing that pets can do, and they have no idea. They just be themselves.

Dean - the number one Luna/Rolf shipper.

So since I read a bit of this chapter a while back, you already know how much I like Nagnok, and his relationship with Deany ;) He knew Nagnok was driving like an idiot on purpose. - Still my favourite line.

I'm starting to think Dean just finds everyone good looking hehe. Blaise it just so up himself!

MY HEART. MY HEART IS SO FULL RIGHT NOW! He's finally realized his feelings for realsies! <3



Name: victoria_anne (Signed) · Date: 10 May 2017 01:45 PM · [Report This]
Story:Nights Like These Chapter: five

I know I've said it before but I just really love Luna and Rolf, okay? You should write a little something featuring just the two of them. I would love it. Just casually, you know. *slides plate of cookies over*

I also love how attentive Dean and Seamus are about it haha. They're like two little Cupids.

Omg I love the idea of Hogwarts House coloured collars, that is amazing. I wonder if they do them in real life. My cat needs a Hufflepuff one, like, yesterday. Or maybe a Ravenclaw one, the blue could really bring out his eyes. Anyway.

Poppy is such a cute name, and I love that Seamus chose it because she was eating one of Neville's. Also, I remember in our earlier conversations that Dean and Seamus had a dog, but you never mentioned it was actually a Crup. So that's awesome!

D'awww! I really hope having Poppy helps Seamus, and I love how understanding and accepting Dean is!



Name: victoria_anne (Signed) · Date: 09 May 2017 04:35 AM · [Report This]
Story:Nights Like These Chapter: four

I so hope Rolf becomes a part of the gang. I'm sure he will, but it's still so cute to see him on the outside for the time being, and knowing where (and who with!) he'll end up with later.

Aw there's a little smiling waving wizard photo of Seamus' parents in his vault :(

It's so bittersweet to think of all the Hogwarts kiddies going back, and Seamus, Neville and Dean are hanging around Diagon Alley, not going back. Of course Neville is still the cutest thing ever. 

Aw Dean IS helping! <3 The commitment to one another is just the sweetest thing, and I love how aware Dean is of Seamus too. But the ease between the two friends is my favourite thing to read, even when they're just drinking and listening to Quidditch.



Name: victoria_anne (Signed) · Date: 09 May 2017 04:12 AM · [Report This]
Story:Nights Like These Chapter: three

I'm so proud of all the writing you managed last night, so I'm here to live up to the bribe I promised :P

THEY FELL ASLEEP TOGETHER I AM *SQUEE* THIS IS NOT A DRILL!

I'm starting to see what you mean about Dean being a pretty oblivious kind of guy :P

What a coincidence, that's exactly how I take my tea too.

Oh, Seamus. As if moving in with Dean was ever going to help you get over your feelings.

It IS Rolf! Omg I love him! I'm so excited to watch those two fall in love as well *heart eyes*

Poor Seamus <3 My heart just shatters to the floor when you write about his parents. It's just horrible.

Brilliant chapter, as always!



Submit a Review