Login

Name: justawillowtree (Signed) · Date: 16 Jul 2018 11:33 PM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:The Lark and the Nightingale Chapter: So sorry, Sev

Hi Chiara!! I’m so happy to be continuing this story! <3

 

This chapter made me feel a little sorry for Severus, even if I don’t necessarily like him too much as a character. Because being lonely is really a horrible feeling, and I can understand why he’d miss Chiara so much if she was one of the few people who actually talked to him. I really appreciated the concern he had for Chiara, as well. I just wish that he hadn’t hurt Lily so badly, because that was really the action that brought everything else upon him.

 

I was curious about how much Chiara had really been talking to him, but then when Severus gave an example of one of their more recent conversations, I found it slightly amusing that Chiara seemed rather cold to him. I mean, I do feel bad for Severus, but his questions to her probably were very annoying, especially with Lily not wanting anything to do with Severus anymore.

 

The conversation with Lily made me sad. Though I never think that Lily ever would have loved Severus romantically, I do think that they had a good friendship going on, and that Severus ruining it was really a tragedy. I wish he would be a little less mopey, considering he hurt Lily so badly by calling her “Mudblood” and so he can’t expect her to take him back as a friend without him making serious efforts to redeem himself.

 

But the ending with James asking Lily out was really so sweet!

 

I loved this chapter!! <3

 

~Eva



Name: justawillowtree (Signed) · Date: 20 Jun 2018 09:44 PM · [Report This]
Story:The Lark and the Nightingale Chapter: Someone to blame

I am beginning to resent Lady Capulet very much for making our dear, sweet Remus feel so terrible about himself. He deserves nothing but happiness, but of course Lady Capulet had to go and just ruin his life with this curse, didn’t he? Remus, my darling! It’s not your fault; it’s Lady Capulet’s fault. You had absolutely no idea that anything of the sort could even possibly happen. <3

 

Ahhh every second that Remus cries is another second I feel sorrier for him!! When he punched Sirius in the jaw and asked him “Why did you have to ruin everything?!” I felt so, so sad. Chiara (as in you, not as in your character haha), why must you make our beautiful boy suffer like this and make me saddd. Also the confusion and concern that Remus’s friends felt after he left almost made me smile a bit but then I remembered that Chiara is still missing, and that Remus thinks it’s all his fault. Dumbledore’s announcement was so dark and hopeless, because…what do you do when even Dumbledore is at a loss?

 

You write such excellent angst, Chiara, it’s just so good.

 

I loved reading the three sections from each of the other Marauders’ perspectives. It was a really good glimpse into each of their heads, and I really appreciated reading these sections!

 

I hope Remus finds something. I hope he can stop feeling guilty soon. I also hope that he and Sirius can forgive each other and begin to help each other figure out what’s going on with Chiara. I need everyone to be happy. D;

 

Wonderful chapter, Chiara! <3

 

~Eva



Name: justawillowtree (Signed) · Date: 19 Jun 2018 10:52 PM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:The Lark and the Nightingale Chapter: The Capulets' curse

I KNEW I SHOULDN’T HAVE BEEN SO HAPPY ABOUT THE KISS. (Why would you break my heart like this?? *sobs*)

 

At first I thought Remus was having a nightmare about accidentally cursing Chiara to sleep by kissing her due to him being a werewolf, all because I wanted this to not be true, but it was! Oh, so much sadness. I feel so sorry for these two lovebirds, I just wanted them to be happy!! You did such a good job writing this, though, I was super into the story and super impressed all at once.

 

So this was the curse omg. I totally wasn’t expecting this!! I was actually expecting happiness and rainbows, which, looking back, was quite silly of me. So with Chiara kissing Remus, she fell down in a deep sleep. Was it because of Remus specifically? Or would it just be any guy that she kisses? Or was it because Remus is a werewolf, which would be deemed “unfit” by Lady Capulet’s curse to be together with Chiara? I have so many questions, and I can’t wait to see what you reveal. This is such an interesting spin to put on this Marauders story, I love it.

 

The fact that neither Madam Pomfrey nor Professor Dumbledore could do anything makes me so nervous!! How powerful was Lady Capulet’s curse?? Will Chiara be okay? Please let this darling ray of sunshine be okay, I’m so worried for her. WAIT BUT THEN SHE DISAPPEARS. THIS CURSE IS SO TERRIFYING OMG.

 

*gasp* I’m so glad you revealed the curse this chapter! I was already beginning to feel so much suspense. And I never would’ve expected that Romeo was a werewolf!! CHIARA YOU’RE SO SMART. That’s such a perfect reason why Lady Capulet would hate him, because prejudice against werewolves is unfortunately common omg. And now it makes sense how she would make the curse so as to prevent anyone who was “like Romeo” from ever being a part of the family again. That’s amazing. This is such an amazingly plot twist, I never could have guessed.

 

Oh, Remus. His feelings for Chiara are so sweet. I hope that he can figure this out soon, and that Chiara can wake up quickly! <3

 

Such a wonderful chapter!!

 

~Eva



Name: justawillowtree (Signed) · Date: 18 Jun 2018 09:10 PM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:The Lark and the Nightingale Chapter: Help from Padfoot

Hi hi hi! <3

 

Oof I always forget how hard the Marauders had to work in order to help keep Remus at bay during the full moons. And though being bitten by a werewolf wouldn’t have really affected them in terms of being turned into werewolves, they still could have died. My brave lads. And also, I’m glad you mentioned that little detail of Sirius almost dying otherwise I wouldn’t have thought about it at all.

 

Remus being in denial about his feelings is honestly the most relatable thing ever. Who likes talking about their feelings, anyway? Also – *bonks Remus on the head* SHE IS NOT TOO GOOD FOR YOU. GAIN SOME SELF-CONFIDENCE, BUDDY, YOU ARE AMAZING AND SMART AND TALENTED AND SO DESERVING OF LOVE. I will see these two together even if I have to reach through the screen, into another dimension, and shove them together myself. Though you’ve never disappointed me, which means that they’ll be together soon, right? ;D

 

Yes, I agree with Sirius. “You deserve some happiness, mate” is probably a nicer, calmer version of what I just said haha. Good on you, Sirius.

 

Ahahaha, I love how meddling friends just plot these things. I always want to smack my friends whenever they pull these sorts of things on me, but also I just find it hilarious to read about, so maybe I shouldn’t smack them haha. Anyway I wholeheartedly agree with Lily and Sirius’s plans, and I’m keeping my fingers crossed that it will work…though I have a bad feeling that something’s going to go awry and then these two lovebirds will be at a worse place than they started. FINGERS CROSSED.

 

Ohh, my darling Chiara, I love how she just followed Lily anyway despite having no idea what was even going on. She’s so faithful to her friend, it’s amazing. Also, this line made me laugh – “Chiara avoided to point out that Lily's behaviour was everything but trustworthy at the moment.” And I love that when the Marauders come around later, their interactions are paralleled! I love how no one trusts their friends lmao. I feel like that’s definitely a sign of an interesting and fun friendship ahaha.

 

THEY ALMOST KISSED. Wait but Remus ruined it. OH WAIT YOU GO CHIARA. QUOTING SHAKESPEARE IS THE WAY TO GO. AHHHH THEY DID IT. MY PREDICTIONS WERE WRONG. (I think reading fanfiction has made me way too pessimistic about the direction fics are going to go in haha.) HALLELUJAH.

 

Wonderful chapter, Chiara! <3

 

~Eva



Name: justawillowtree (Signed) · Date: 18 Jun 2018 08:35 PM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:The Lark and the Nightingale Chapter: Wherefore art thou, Remus?

Hellooo, Chiara! <3

 

I’m so sorry for the continuous wait on these reviews; I promise I’ll start picking up speed soon! (As in now, hopefully.)

 

Honestly, if I were Chiara I would likely fall head-over-heels for Remus as well. Imagine looking into gold-flecked eyes omg. Not to mention his personality is just witty and snappish yet very sweet as well. Though, I’d imagine the werewolf part would be a problem – not that I’d care (and, I’m sure, I don’t think Chiara would care either), but the fact that Remus always shies away from people because of his werewolf problem. Which I see happening here in this story. And it makes me sad because Remus deserves all the love in the world.

 

I gotta love that Lily’s just starting to fancy James now hehe. I’m really glad that James changed for the better canonically. Also, Chiara is jealous of Amelia Bones for patrolling with Remus! Oh, sweet girl, Remus only has eyes for you; he just doesn’t want you to see his werewolf side. That Common Room scene proved it all, when he woke her up after she fell asleep. Their banter! Their jokes! That little exchange where they just recited Shakespeare at each other like the little nerds they are! (I can’t remember if I have already, but I feel like I should confess that I have not yet read Romeo and Juliet, so I’m reading all these lines for the first time haha. They’re so very beautiful, though. And I love that you took your title from these lines about the lark and the nightingale!)

 

REMUS OMG. I can’t believe he said “I love you too” omg, that’s so very honest of him! I hope that we can see Chiara thinking about this moment at some point, I’m so very curious to see what she was thinking when he accidentally said this in response. (Also I keep fangirling over all the Italian but I love it!! “Ti odio” I LOVE IT.)

 

All the boys’ lying about the cause of Remus being in the Hospital Wing lmao. I’m just so curious about how this all ties into the beginning!! I’m so excited to see how it all unveils, how it all plays out. And I love the concept of Romeo and Juliet being tied into Harry Potter, so the set-up of this story is just so marvelously creative. (I’m so sorry, my memory is so bad that I can’t remember if I’ve already said these things or not? Better safe than sorry, right?)

 

I CAN’T WAIT TO READ MORE. <3

 

~Eva



Name: justawillowtree (Signed) · Date: 17 Jun 2018 06:33 PM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:The Lark and the Nightingale Chapter: The Muggle Studies Project

Helloooo, Chiara! <3

 

You mentioned that this was a cliché story, but honestly I’m really, really enjoying myself right now. I have a special fondness for stories that follow common tropes and ideas, and this is just plain adorable anyway.

 

In my last review, I thought that Chiara was the daughter of Romeo and Juliet, but looking back on it…that was a fairly silly guess, I think. Because Romeo and Juliet were from a long time ago, while Chiara is in the time of now (or a few decades ago, at least). I suspect that Chiara’s just descended from the child of Romeo and Juliet (I hope these guesses aren’t too obvious because these days I have been very bad at guessing things hahaha).

 

I LOVE ALL THE ITALIAN. I love the fact that Chiara speaks in outbursts of Italian whenever she’s upset or emotional, and that Remus can understand and speak it as well. (Oh, by the way – how adorable is your Remus? He’s so sweet and charming, and even his mild jealousy is kind of cute. I’m glad that he doesn’t really act on it, though.) And I’m so intrigued by the set-up of the story here, with the Muggle Studies class putting on a production of Romeo and Juliet. Because since Chiara seems to be descended from the original Romeo and Juliet, and since Remus is going to be playing Romeo…will Lady Capulet’s curse come into play? MANY QUESTIONS.

 

The way you wrote the audition scenes was so much fun to read. I thought it was naïve but adorable of Chiara to assume that if she had been paired up with Matt Corner, he would have had considerable more emotion in his acting haha. And, just, all the scenes where Chiara and Remus were acting, I adored reading.

 

This is just such an adorable story, Chiara. <3

 

~Eva



Name: justawillowtree (Signed) · Date: 29 May 2018 03:01 AM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:The Lark and the Nightingale Chapter: Prologue - Chiara Nightingale

CHIARA HI. <3

 

This is one of your older stories, right? I don’t know when you originally wrote this, but omg I love the concept. I love that you took Romeo and Juliet and applied it to the wizarding world, it’s so amazing!! And you know my weird obsession with Italian. You should write more stories where your characters speak in Italian and then you translate hahaha (which was a really, really fun way to read a story omg, I haven’t had that much fun in ages). It was also a really good way to show that your characters were actually speaking Italian hehe.

 

Reading the first part took me much longer than necessary, because I kept trying to go through and figure out how Italian grammar works haha. I wanted to match each word from the translation to its corresponding part in Italian, and that…was very time-consuming. (You should really go and make that blog post, I’d obsess over it. I don’t even know why I like Italian so much, but as soon as I saw that you wrote part of this story in Italian I totally freaked out haha. <3)

 

But omg Romeo and Juliet both died so tragically! (As they did in the play.) But I was so surprised and thankful to see that they had a daughter! (Is it Chiara??? I bet it’s Chiara. And I think it’s so cute that your character has the same name as you; I love your name so it’s very fitting!)

 

AND CHIARA IS SO SWEET AND ADORABLE AND I’M JUST VERY EXCITED TO SEE HOW HER PATH AT HOGWARTS WILL GO AHH. I’ll try to come back and review the rest of the chapters when I can!! <3

 

~Eva



Name: Phoenix Potioneer (Signed) · Date: 29 May 2018 02:26 AM · [Report This]
Story:The Lark and the Nightingale Chapter: Prologue - Chiara Nightingale

Ooooh, a Harry Potter crossover with Romeo and Juliet! This should be interesting. It's been five years since I read Romeo and Juliet, so let's hope I remember it well enough.

 

I love how you kept everything in Italian! Even though I can't read it and had to rely on the phrases in the parantheses, it was a nice touch. Obviously, if Juliet and Romeo live in Italy, they wouldn't be speaking English.

 

Wait... Romeo is a werewolf? That is so cool!

 

Wow, this is quite a twist from canon. For some reason I can't remember who Tybalt is, but I know that didn't happen.

 

Tybalt flinging killing curses? Wizarding duels in Shakespeare? This is so cool and a great crossover idea! I mean, it's awful for Juliet, since she was killed by the kililng curse, but... I just have to say, it's cool.

 

WOW Lady Capulet just killed Romeo. That is intense. I mean, sure, the Montagues and Capulets had an ancient feud, but it never really extended to kiling one another.

 

HMMM a character in this is named Chiara... totally unrelated to the fact that your name is Chiara, right? ;)

 

WAIT is Chiara descended from Romeo and Juliet? Is that what the thing about Romeo and Juliet's child, Lucy, was insinuating? If so, that is so cool.

 

Aw Chiara is best friends with Lily Evans! That's awesome!

 

I liked this chapter a lot! It was a great intoduction to both the magical-versions of Romeo and Juliet and Chiara.



Name: Vilja (Signed) · Date: 27 Jun 2017 08:09 PM · [Report This]
Story:The Lark and the Nightingale Chapter: The Muggle Studies Project

Hi Chiara :) Ever since I left a requested review on the first chapter of this, I felt guilty for not being more positive. So I thought I’d check out the next chapter now, I hope you don’t mind


As always I like that you have Italian text (and thank for the translations in parenthesis, without that the story would be hard to follow). Oh, and Remus seems to speak Italian, that’s a pleasant surprise, and I can totally imagine that he speaks several languages. (Actually this is one of the things I miss from the original Harry Potter books, why students at Hogwarts do not learn foreign languages? Like they expect everybody from other countries to speek English – e.g. in the triwizard tournament, or at the Quidditch world cup…)


“He liked to be the first to sit in a classroom” I can totally imagine this about Remus.


"She couldn't be serious..." Chiara complained   […] “"Of course she couldn't, I'm Sirius!" Sirius exclaimed” lol :)


I see that the Romeo and Juliet theme comes up here as well, and I’m glad it does (now that you explained to me the idea behind it, that’s one of the bits I most like in this story).


Also in this chapter I didn’t have this “these already had been said elsewhere” feeling like in the first chapter. You did have recurring themes, like Chiara being pissed of by James and Sirius, but this time I felt that the new and original things were dominating, so well-done for that!


 


I will probably keep reading :)



Author's Response:

Hi, Vilja!

It was a pleasant surprise to see you back here, thank you for stopping by again.

I'm glad you like the Italian. :) It is mentioned later, but Remus' mother is Italian, too (when I wrote this the story of Lyall and Hope hadn't been published yet, and even after that I've kept my headcanons for Remus' parents, even if they are technically non-canon anymore, but I love them too much, and I've never really cared about Pottermore anyway... but I'm digressing...) Honestly, that doesn't surprise me. English is the international language, after all, and I guess it would be in the wizarding world as well. English people don't really need to learn other languages, do they?

I can totally see that about Remus, too! :D

And I just can't resist Sirius/serious puns... :P

The Romeo and Juliet theme will come up again, but you'll have to read on to find out how the prologue actually links to the rest of the plot. ;)

I'm glad you liked this chapter better and that it felt more original. Thank you again for this sweet review.



Name: Vilja (Signed) · Date: 12 Jun 2017 07:26 AM · [Report This]
Story:The Lark and the Nightingale Chapter: Prologue - Chiara Nightingale

** Transfered from HPFF **

 

So you have a Chiara in there :) I'm wondering if it's you in the story, or just a coincidence in the choice of names

 

It's been a while since I read Romeo and Juliet so my memories are quite blurry, but the scene you describe somehow does not fit with my interpretation. I mean, it's a great idea the these characters are magical, I think noone else has though of that before, and why not, it's just that I'm not sure I'm comfortable with them dying in a different way that I originally read. But the idea that Romeo is a warewolf is really original, I liked it.

 

I'm sorry I can't be more enthusiastic about it (you know I'm not a romance reader) - I know it's 'just' first chapter and more is to come, but for the second part it seemed to me that pretty much all the girls talked about has already been said elsewhere. The Lily hating James, the Snape willing to talk to Lily, etc. It's nice to stick to canon, but I missed the added value. (Again sorry, I know that's not quite helpful...)

 

I'm tempted to think that the Verona scene will be connected to everything else later on, this would be great! A few hints are the Italian family (Chiara and her parents) in England.

 

My first idea while reading the Romeo and Juliet part was that it would be a "history repeating itself" kind of thing, and that in the second half we would see the same or a parallel story some hundreds years later, and there the werewolf (Romeo) would be Lupin and Chiara would be Juliet. Obviously I was wrong. I'm just telling you this, as my expectation being violated might be a reason while I did not like this story as much as it would deserve it.

 

Anyway (and to end with something positive :)) the story flaws well, I could easily follow it, and the girls chatting on the train (and having trouble getting out of bed) all sounded very realistic.



Author's Response:

Hi, Vilja.

I'm sorry this wasn't exactly in your chords, but you warned me, so...

I couldn't resist to name her Chiara, it was my way to pretend to be a part of the Marauders' world, plus I like the name :P But she's actually very different from me.

This "Romeo and Juliet" is obviously not the original story. More it's explained in later chapters, but the idea behind this is that this was the true story that Shakespeare then retold and changed. I'm glad you liked the idea of them being magical, though.

The first part will obviously connect to what comes next, just not yet. And your idea of a story repetition with Remus and Chiara in the roles of Romeo and Juliet is not so distant from what the story line is. Obviously, this is only an introductory chapter, so I just wanted to introduce Chiara and her friends in a daily situation.

I'm glad you liked the style, if not necessary the content, and that you found the scene realistic. Thank you for reading and reviewing.

Love,

Chiara



Name: victoria_anne (Signed) · Date: 15 May 2017 11:01 AM · [Report This]
Story:The Lark and the Nightingale Chapter: Epilogue - The opening night

Transferred :)

OmgomgomgomgJamesandLilyomgomg

Okay, just had to get that out because they are so cute!

HI CHIARA MY ANGEL!

It's... it's finished? :'(

Ahhh! You already know how much I enjoyed this story but let me gush over it just once more! (And you have a sequel or prequel in mind?! GIMME!)

What a rollercoaster. You've made me laugh, made me cry. This journey has been simply amazing. But you know what the best part was? 

Our friendship.

Where would we be without this story? Thank you for writing it, not only because it's one of my favourites, but because I don't think we'd be as close as we are without it (I mean, we probably would have found a way, but you know.) Your characterisation of the Marauders is something I have enjoyed immensely, and you inspire me to write the characters too (but no one could EVER beat your Peter!)

Argh I just don't know what else to say! I'm speechless!

Thank you once more for writing this gorgeous story, my Shakespeare buddy, thou art incredibly talented-eth.

Love you!

♥ B

P.S. Jimmy and Liar, here I come!    



Author's Response:

B!!! *hug* *wub*

I couldn't wait to answer this awesome review (tecnically, I already did on Skype... but I just need to say thank you again! *wub*)

Ahahah! Jily 4ever! They are so lovely (and I'd planned that kiss since, like, the very beginning and I'm so glad you enjoyed it!)

Yes, I'm afraid it's finished... As for the prequel and the sequel, I do have something written down, but I don't know if any of them is good or interesting enough... maybe we can discuss this some time... *whistling*

Aww... you don't know how much it means to me... Thank you so so so much for taking this journey with me! :D

And thank you for being such a lovely friend! I'm so happy I requested that review from you and I'm so happy that it brought us so close! *wub*

And thank you so much for all your praises about the Marauders! Ahahah, you know I love my little Petey... :P

Thanks to you for following this story to the very end! I'm so glad you enjoyed it!

Snowball hug rolling your way, my Shakespeare buddy!

Your little Chi!

PS I'm sure Jimmy will be thrilled to see you back! So will Remus and Peter... *couch* ;)



Name: FlamingQuilltips (Signed) · Date: 15 May 2017 08:23 AM · [Report This]
Story:The Lark and the Nightingale Chapter: The Lark and the Nightingale

Ahh.. Peter standing up for himself, that was wonderful. It really brings focus to the fact that the other Marauders really don't consider him as someone with talent, or who could do anything right. Poor Peter, but the others needed to hear that. 

 

Ohhh Lark at day and Nightingale at night, so THAT's what the title is all about! Ooh Yes, James, come out with the solution

 

(In case you didn't realize I've been typing out this review while reading the story)

 

*bring on the cheerleaders*

 

Feathery little problem? HAHAHAHAHAA!!!

 

OOOH I LOVE THAT PART - She would let her be herself exactly when he wasn't. YOU'RE A GENIUS CHIARA OMG YOUR BRAIN!

 

Yes yes, bring on the solution. Don't cry Chiara, James will come up with something? Won't he my dearest beta?

 

XOXO

Ysh



Author's Response:

Ah, yes... Poor Peter...

It isn't that they think he doesn't have talent... they are just too distracted to give him the credit and thought he deserves. Which is the reason his reaction confounded them more than worrying them... and I can tell you, this won't lead anywhere good... :(

Lark at day, Nightingale at night. That's pretty much the meaning of the title, yes! That, and the fact that I've always loved that exchange about the lark and the nightingale in Romeo and Juliet. James just had a good idea. It still is a long way before they figure it out...

Yep, feathery little problem! I'm happy that made you laugh! :D

Aww... thank you... glad the idea worked for you.

Maybe he will? Or maybe someone else?

Thank you so much again, little Betee!!! These reviews really helped me getting through this week and I can't tell you how much I love you enough! You are awesome and beautiful and I feel so lucky to know you!

Can't wait for more feedback from you! Many hugs and much, much love!

Chiara



Name: FlamingQuilltips (Signed) · Date: 15 May 2017 08:22 AM · [Report This]
Story:The Lark and the Nightingale Chapter: Show must go on

Sirius as a seer! LOL That image cracked me up! I love being inside Sirius' head - especially the way you write him!

 

Awww. Remus FINALLY confided in the Marauders. Took him long enough to come to his senses, did it. AHH All the four Marauders putting hteir heads together - that's got to bring out a solution!

 

Also, I noticed the little description about Peter - the quiet, observant one you always portray him as... and bringing our attention to the fact how integral he was to the group of Marauders. I love how you have made him so different from the dim-witted person people portray. 

 

Poor Remus, having to perform with Lily instead of Chiara. I loved seeing Remus get all emotional here. It's wonderful to see this side of him. And James, skipping out on the rehearsal to go to Remus almost gave me goosebumps. He's such a wonderful friend!

 

Oh no... what's going to happen tomorrow after sunset. I have to read!



Author's Response:

Ahahah! Yes, that's a fun image! I guess he would read all the girls' hands and predict how each one would desperately fall in love with him. ;)

When many people work on a problem, there's a higher possibility to find a solution, right? Yes, it was about time for Remus to confide in his friends!

Peter is very important in this story. I think this is the story where I finally got to know and appreciate him. I'm glad you're liking him for the moment.

I love emotional Remus as well... I think I've overdone it in a few passages (in later chapters too, I mean...) but I do love this side of him as well!

Ah, James is the greatest friend, isn't he? He would never abandon his friends. And I so love that about him!



Name: FlamingQuilltips (Signed) · Date: 15 May 2017 08:20 AM · [Report This]
Story:The Lark and the Nightingale Chapter: Feathers and moonlight

OMG CHIARA I think this has to be your best chapter yet!

 

NO KIDDING, but I LOVE THE DESCRIPTIONS IN THIS CHAPTER! The way you began with describing the horizon from the bird's perspective, and the transformation - AMAZING. 

 

OOOH I love that you have related her to the moon, and that her transformations as well as Remus' are related to the moon as well. 

 

I have a question though, why didn't Chiara approach anyone in her human form? Why didn't she reach out to anyone for the past one month?

 

I can't wait to read further!!!

 

Love you loads!

~Ysh



Author's Response:

Aww... thanks...

I'm so glad you liked the ddescriptios here, and the moon parallels and everything. There isn't much happening here, so I wanted to give this chapter a more poetic tone. I didn't really like it, so it's such a relief to know that people love it!!!

That's a good question, and I don't really have an answer except that it serves to the plot. There are two or three things in this story that don't make much sense, and this is definitely one... Anyway, I don't know... Embarassment? Confusion? Some twisted sense of pride and adolescent rebelliousness? I swear, I have no idea what she was thinking...



Name: FlamingQuilltips (Signed) · Date: 15 May 2017 08:19 AM · [Report This]
Story:The Lark and the Nightingale Chapter: Huge furry problems

Hello again :D

 

So, I love how you played around with 'Furry Little Problem' and made it 'Huge Furry Problem' to set the scene. Really clever!

 

Ahh.. the qintessential Remus - always overthinking, and not willing to talk things out, and keeping his emotions close to his chest. But we still love him, don't we :D

 

The part where Sirius is perceptive is my favorite in this chapter. Most people write Sirius off as the insensitive brooding one, or in happier Jily fics the dumb best friend. But here, Sirius is observant, reflects about his best friend and makes acute observations - and those are all qualities we see in adult Sirius as well. 

 

And James being the blindly loyal one, almost to the point of not listening to reason points very much to Harry himself. So many times Remus has mentioned how very like James Harry was, and here I could understand why. I love the way you've written this :)

 

Also, I love how the names shifted from Remus, James, Sirius and Peter to Moony, Prongs, Padfoot and Wromtail once they had transformed. I felt it was a really nice touch (I might also adopt it in my fic :D )

 

The descriptions of their Animagus forms, and how Remus attacked them was so well done. Of course they would know healing spells, that's the only explaination as to how they managed to keep this a secret all along.

 

I think this is the most wonderful chapter I've read till now. I know I say that about every chapter, but I swear each one keeps getting better!

 

Loads of love

~Ysh



Author's Response:

Glad you liked the title choice! The Marauders might tend to minimize Remus' problem, but his condition is much harder and he his much more dangerous than any of them would like to admit.

Ahahah! Yes, that would be him! Of course we don't love him any less! We love him more, if anything! :P

Ah, yes, Sirius. Like everyone else, I think there are many different aspects of his character. He can be insensitive and he can be silly. But when it really matters he can also be very mature and attentive and caring. This applies to James as well, even if they have different approaches to things.

And talking about James... He's like that, isn't he? Would throw himself into flames for a friend. Aww... I love that you could see the resemblance with Harry here! I do think they were much alike!

Ah, the name shifting is something I involuntarily inherited from other people's writing, I believe. I do like it, though...

Ah, that makes me so happy too! Action scenes are always so difficult to write, so it's a relief to know that you liked the description!

And, yes... they needed to know some healing spells... ;)



Name: FlamingQuilltips (Signed) · Date: 15 May 2017 08:18 AM · [Report This]
Story:The Lark and the Nightingale Chapter: So sorry, Sev

Hello my dearest!

 

I had the day off and I decided I'm going to continue this story where I left off. technically I had read this and a few more chapters during travel but couldn't leave a review. Anyway here I am. 

 

Snape's PoV... I can see why he got angry when Avery thought James saved his life. He must have been forbidden by Dumbledore to tell the truth, musn't he? Is that why he hated Dumbledore so much? I cant imagine someone hating Dumbledore... and funny to see his thoughts now, knowing how they end up later on. 

 

Ohh.. you almost make me feel sorry for poor Snape - having lost Lily, and now Chiara as well. I'd like to say serves him right, but not really... Snape's tone - sardonic, pitiful, dark with a hint of pride - all seemed so well done! And of course, the jealousy. 

 

 

Oh Chiara, what are you doing to me with that Always . I could just melt in a muddle right now.

 

And agreeing to go out with James after that is a perfect contrast - and a painful reminder as to what one unthinking word can do to a relationship.

 

Wonderful chapter Chiara! Over to the next one now :D

 

Love you loads my beta/betee/dearest friend and confidant!

~Ysh




Author's Response:

Hi, little Betee!!! *hug* *wub*

I'm finally here to answer your awesome reviews (checking out one thing from my long HPFF to-do list... :P And by the way, I love you!!!)

Snape is an interesting character to write. He's not a bad person, but he's just so full of resentment and anger... Yes, we know how much he hates feeling in debit with James...

As for Dumbledore, I think most of the future Death Eaters saw him as a crazy old man with dangerous Muggle-loving ideas. Or something of the sort. And I think at this point of his life, Severus shared that opinion. And yes, I suppose being forbidden to tell anyone about Remus might've a part in his opinion on Dumbledore as well.

Poor Sev... he did ask for it (at least for what concerns Lily) but that doesn't mean that he deserved all that hardship. I'm not his biggest fan, but I still feel sorry for him...

Erm... sorry about it... I just needed to put the word there...

Both Lily and Snape were struggling with the same feeling of loneliness, but she decided to move on, unlike him, and give James an occasion. That's what I was trying to show there.

Thank you so much again, honey! Off to answer the next review now!!! :D



Name: FlamingQuilltips (Signed) · Date: 15 May 2017 08:17 AM · [Report This]
Story:The Lark and the Nightingale Chapter: Someone to blame

This chapter was filled with more description, and I really enjoyed it. I mean, I enjoyed your description at the beginning, despite that it was sad from Remus' PoV - but I think you have described his mood accurately. The way he wallows in guilt, and how every thing around him just blurs as he only blames himself...and of course, directing all that anger towards Sirius for putting him in that RoR in the first place - it felt really natural and in character for the Remus we all know. 

 

Darn, Remus and Sirius aren't talking to each other... The narrative here was quite good! As much as your dialogues show a lot of what is going on, your narratives does too. I liked most when you described James and Peter at this point. How James enjoys that Lily is depending on him... and Peter's PoV was refreshing here! It really laid the foundation for his later betrayal - his slow building resentment against his friends. 

 

Looking forward to see what more the diary is going to reveal. Where has Chiara gone? And here I was after the first two chapters thinking it's going to be a fluffy romantic story between those two.. but this is just so much better!

 

XOXO

Ysh



Author's Response:

I'm glad you liked how I wrote Remus here (even if you felt bad for him... the poor boy...) And that you find his blaming himself and then directing his anger towards Sirius in character.

Yes, Remus and Sirius aren't talking to each other. They'll solve things soon, though, don't worry.

I'm glad you liked the different perspectives in that part! I must say, I'm particularly proud of Peter here. I'm glad you liked what I did with him.

No. No fluffy romance, I'm sorry... You'll find out more about Chiara and the curse later on. Can't wait to hear your opinion on later chapters! Really hope I'll see you back here soon!!! :D

Thank you so much again for review-bombarding me! You are the absolute best!!!

Love you to bits!

Your beta/betee,

Chiara



Name: FlamingQuilltips (Signed) · Date: 15 May 2017 08:16 AM · [Report This]
Story:The Lark and the Nightingale Chapter: The Capulets' curse

Oh no! Why did she faint? What's wrong with her? And why did she disappear like that? Remus must have felt so responsible. Already he has really low self-esteem, and when Mr. Nightingale attacked him with his words, I think it's perfectly fitting that you said he was feeling guilty. But I wouldn't blame him, I mean nobody seemed to know what happened to his daughter did they?

 

AHH Romeo and Juliet were witch and wizard? NICE! I LOVE this twist! And you did everything brilliantly here - explaining why Remus understood Italian (I was wondering that myself) and bringing in the Church and inquisition into play! There's just so much plot and plot twist in here, the story is moving in a whole new exciting direction. 

 

And Anna, she didn't want Remus and Chiara getting together for the sake of her daughter, but I could tell that she really liked Remus, and she finally made him realize he was indeed in love with her. Another wonderful chapter from you, my favorite till now :D 

 

XOXO

Ysh



Author's Response:

Hi again, little Betee! :)

Yes, I know... Poor Remus... He's feeling so responsible, which is totally understandable.

Of course, it isn't his fault. How could he know? Glad I caught you by surprise, though! ;)

I'm also glad the conversation with Anna worked well and helped filling in the gaps a bit. I was actually a bit scared that it would sound a bit heavy to read. But I needed to give information. Glad you liked the "historical details".

Once again, I've told this in a lot of other responses, but Anna is an intelligent woman. She isn't happy about their relationship, because she knows it was the cause of the curse. But she isn't prejudiced against Remus because of his lycanthropy and she does genuinely like him.

Glad you enjoyed the chapter! It's one of my favourites as well!

Thanks for another great review!



Name: FlamingQuilltips (Signed) · Date: 15 May 2017 08:16 AM · [Report This]
Story:The Lark and the Nightingale Chapter: Help from Padfoot

Yes, the other Marauders try to knock some sense into Remus. Well, I wouldn't call it sense exactly, because Remus does have a few very valid points in the sense his concerns are quite genuine. Maybe he feels that she might hate him if she knew the truth about him? Also, That little part where Peter interjects with something totally unhelpful actually made me feel he was being bitter subconsciously that Sirius got all the girls. 

 

Oooh Sirius approaching Lily for a bit of matchmaking! This sounds totally promising! Again, the dialogue flow is amazing... I can picture the entire scene with just the dialogues, loving it!

 

Yes, they're finally talking... they're definitely talking... AND THEY KISS! 

 

Poor Chiara, she thinks this is just about the friendship between the two, but Remus is troubled about something bigger. Will he finally tell her the truth? How will she react?

 

Also, all the Shakespeare lines just make this so much more deliciously romantic!

 

XOXO

Ysh



Author's Response:

Yes, they are trying! But Remus is so stubborn when it comes to his furry little problem. And dating. I think he is more concerned about her safety, but the fear of her hating him is definitely a part of it, too!

Peter is going to be central as the plot unravels. Don't underestimate the little rat. And yes, there was definitely a point of envy in that comment...

Sirius and Lily working together... I find it a funny concept, don't you? Glad you enjoyed the dialogue there! ;)

They are talking. And they kissed. You already know what happens next, so I'm not commenting further (I wouldn't have in any case, because I wouldn't have wanted to spoiler anything...)

But, yeah, what troubles him is much bigger than the fear of ruining their friendship...

Glad you liked the Shakespeare lines! Actually, I felt they heavied the narration a bit... But I'm glad you felt they helped making the scene more romantic! :)



Name: FlamingQuilltips (Signed) · Date: 15 May 2017 08:14 AM · [Report This]
Story:The Lark and the Nightingale Chapter: Wherefore art thou, Remus?

Ah time moved a little fast, and thank god she isn't pining for Matt Corner and has realized her feelings for Remus. But now, poor thing, she's so confused about the hot and cold act. And nice to see Lily and Chiara discuss Remus and James, and then act all guilty when the other girls ask them what was up. I liked that!

 

he was a Marauder with a conscience and a brain - LOL! Nice one. Trust Lily to come up with that. And wait, does that mean in the 6th year she doesn't know about the werewolf thing?

 

AHHH He said 'I love you too'. Aw... that whole scene was just so sweet!!! Quoting lines from the most romantic book ever, and her italian phrase that set him off! Too bad he went all cold and distant on her seconds later... It's so obvious that he's struggling with the same emotions he claims to struggle with Tonks later on.

 

And the marauders trying to make elaborate lies to heed her inquisitive questions away - classic marauders! You are really good at dialogues, they flow so nicely, and keep up the banter between the Marauders just like I imagined them. 

 

Loving this story more and more.

 

XOXO

Ysh



Author's Response:

As much as I love Remus, he is a bit annoying with his "I shouldn't date anyone" fixation... Yes, poor Chiara, she is so confused...

I'm glad you liked her and Lily's conversation. Very girlish, isn't it?

Ahahah! Yeah, typical Lily! Maybe she doesn't know... maybe she does... the fact that she doesn't understand Remus' reluctance might just be that she doesn't see it as an obstacle, right?

Glad you liked that bit! It's one of my favourites too! Aren't they adorable? And yes, poor Remus is really struggling with his feelings...

Ahahah! The dragon flu bit! Classical Marauders! So glad you enjoyed that part!!! :D



Name: Stella Blue (Signed) · Date: 15 May 2017 04:53 AM · [Report This]
Story:The Lark and the Nightingale Chapter: Epilogue - The opening night

Aw, I really like that it ended up being Lily and James, as Juliet and Romeo. (It also makes a lot of sense considering Chiara missed a few months of rehearsal haha)

Chiara and Remus were adorable during this chapter. ♥ Still quoting lines from the play to one another as well hehe. (Also lines from The Empire Strikes Back, though unintentionally I'm sure :P)

I love that you included Lily and James' first kiss in the story as well. That was such an adorable moment! And also hilarious because the curtain came up on them. But I've always liked the idea that after so long of her rejecting him, when they finally got together it ended up being a pretty well-known thing. And the people in the audience were hilarious, like Alice and Frank who'd put a bet on them, and other people who were just like "no way!"

A wonderful ending to a wonderful story! It was really nice to have two chapters of fluff to end it on such a happy note, and I had a smile on my face during the whole chapter. (I should take notes - I have still never figured out how to write a happy ending :P ) Thank you for writing this lovely story and I'm so glad that I've had a chance to read it. You are very talented!

All my love and hugs
♥ ♥ ♥
Kristin



Author's Response:

Jily 4ever!!! :D And yes, poor Chiara wouldn't withstand the stress...

Yes, of course they'd still quote the lines... Erm... are you referring to the "I love you"/"I know" bit? That was completely unintentional... :P

I had that picture of their first kiss and the curtain coming up on them clear in my mind since the very beginning. I loved that image too much!!! And, yes! Glad you loved the audience's different reactions!

Aww... thank you so much... I'm so incredibly glad that you enjoyed this! Thank you, thank you, thank you for sticking with me till the end and for all the awesome Hot Seat reviews!

So much love and snowball hug!!!

Chiara



Name: Stella Blue (Signed) · Date: 15 May 2017 04:51 AM · [Report This]
Story:The Lark and the Nightingale Chapter: Welcome back, Chiara

Awww! I guess my worrying at the end of last chapter was without reason, because it was just the curse breaking. Thank goodness! I loved this chapter, it was pretty much mostly fluff, which I needed after all the sad and angst going on with Remus in previous chapters and such a long separation.

I really loved how this chapter started off, with Chiara opening her eyes and what she experiences as she adjusts to her surroundings and realises what has happened. I loved all the reunions! And the welcome back party they had for her, with the banner and everything! And of course that she kept sneaking off to kiss Remus. :P The curse has no power anymore and they're definitely fully appreciating that! Besides, they do have a lot of time to make up for!

Ooh, he took her to the Shrieking Shack. I can see how he'd want to share something that personal with her because as much as he hates the place, it is a part of him as he's spent a good deal of time there every month. As for what happened next... I'm resisting the urge to make jokes about why it's called the Shrieking Shack. :P (My mind lives in the gutter and I'm sorry. :P) I love that Remus's reason for hesitation was the fear that she would turn into a phoenix. Haha. Their banter about it was super cute though :)

I'm so glad these two have a chance to be a happy couple with no curse in the way! And I can't believe there's only one more chapter. I've really loved this fic so far. :)



Author's Response:

Ahahah! I'm actually happy that I had you still a bit worried... But yes, that was only the curse breaking, and everything was fine in the end (well, apart from what's wrong... but it doesn't matter right now...)

Yay for fluff!!! I love fluff, don't you? Especially after so much angst...

Ahahah! Chiara took a bit to realize what had happened. And, well, the Marauders would do that, wouldn't they? I'm sure they loved to party! And of course Remus and Chiara wouldn't waste other time... ;)

Yes, I thought that he would want to share something so personal with her. Ahahah! Kristin, you naughty girl... :P Remus will never change...

Yes, only one last chapter. It's really just an epilogue, actually. But I hope you'll enjoy it! :D

Thank you so much! I'm so, so happy that you enjoyed the story! It's still my most loved work, and I'm so glad you followed it to the end!



Name: Stella Blue (Signed) · Date: 15 May 2017 04:47 AM · [Report This]
Story:The Lark and the Nightingale Chapter: A full moon without full moon

The beginning of this chapter had the best Sirius/serious joke I've ever seen, mainly because you managed to keep it going for so long and incorporate people who weren't even there such as Merlin. :P

Awww. I just love the image of Remus being so happy after a solid session of prank planning with his three best friends and the knowledge (or at least the hope) that the next full moon won't really be a full moon and that Chiara might come back. ♥

That prank sounds... pretty! haha Honestly I bet it looked so cool! But uh oh, when Professor McGonagall swears then you know you're in trouble. But I love that she was still impressed with their spellwork, even if she wasn't supposed to think so :) So typical McGonagall - well done writing her :)

so as to allow the students to assist to the extraordinary event -- this isn't CC, more of a note about English, I hope that's okay. In English, 'assist' means 'to help/aid/take care of'. I'm pretty sure I understand where this confusion comes from though, because in Spanish at least (and I would imagine it's similar in Italian), the verbs asistir and atender are both false cognates, and the meaning of one is the cognate of the other (if that makes sense). Meaning that asistir is to attend/go to, whereas atender means to assist/help.

For example: 'I attended a concert last Thursday'. Or: 'Can you assist me in lifting this heavy thing?'

I hope that made sense :P

OMG THAT ENDING!!! AJSDLKAFJWLKJERFLKWNELAKFRNJ!?!?!?!?! How could you??? haha. Agh! The suspense! I can't believe you did that. Going to the next chapter RIGHT NOW. :P



Author's Response:

Ahahah! I loved writing that bit so much!!! Yep, Merlin! :P

Remus needed the distraction. He needs to forget problems and just be happy from time to time, and this was a great time for it!

McGonagall loves those four... Even if they drive her crazy... And they did outdo themselves here... She would be impressed!

That makes perfect sense... Actually, in Italian, "assistere" means both things, I believe... we also have "attendere", but it's rarely used in that acceptation and commonly used for "to wait"... Erm, languages can be confusing... But thank you for pointing that out. :)

Ahahah... well, it's not really that much of suspence, is it? :P

See you on the next chapter, then!



Name: Stella Blue (Signed) · Date: 15 May 2017 04:44 AM · [Report This]
Story:The Lark and the Nightingale Chapter: Peter's epiphany

*Transferred from HPFF*

 

I love the way you did those side by side conversations between Lily and Alice, and James and Sirius. I thought that was a really clever way to do it and it was easy to follow, despite that it hopped around a lot. I kind of imagined it like a split-screen scene in a film! Aw, poor James. He was just nervous! :S

Peter sleep-talking in class was the best thing. XD Poor guy though, he must be having a nightmare if he's talking about cats! Maybe that's a subconscious reason for why he's afraid of McGonagall - because she's a cat Animagus? Even if that's unrelated, yeah I bet that'd be a scary sight to wake up from sleeping in Transfiguration and finding McGonagall being very displeased hovering over you. Eek.

Remus tried to talk to Corner... I'm not surprised that didn't work. However I am surprised that he told Corner about the Furry Little Problem (or FLP, as I think I will from now on refer to it). I mean it makes sense that other students might have figured out Remus' secret if they really thought about it, but whoa. I hope Corner can keep his mouth shut.

Ooh, I love that Peter figured out the solution. An eclipse! I HOPE THIS WORKS OMG.

Also, not to be annoying but you know I'm a scientist and interested in astronomy so of course I was going to think about this in a scientific way :P You describe the solution here as a solar eclipse, though as you point out in your A/N, a solar eclipse occurs during a new moon and the sun is what gets covered up. But I wonder if maybe you meant lunar eclipse instead? In a total lunar eclipse, the earth is completely in front of the moon and blocks it all from view - the moon is eclipsed, so you could have a 'full moon without the full moon'. Anyway, that's my thoughts on it which you are free to disregard :P I'm also cool with accepting poetic license and looking past scientific inaccuracies XD

(Sidenote, the linear alignment of the sun, moon, and earth during eclipses is called syzygy which is one of my favourite words of all time. :P)

Sooo anyway, my long tangent and pedantic scientific rambling aside - this is a wonderful chapter and AHHH I can't wait to see if the solution works! I hope it does! This is such a wonderful story and things are really picking up now that we're almost at the end!

All the hugs!
♥ ♥



Author's Response:

Ahahah! I did imagine it as a movie scene! I was a bit scared that it would result confusing, so I'm relieved that you found it easy to follow! :D Ahahah! Nervous James is the cutest!!!

I had so much fun writing Peter sleep-talking! Yes, he was definitely having a nightmare in that moment... Mmmh... I never thought about that... But I do love your idea!!! McGonagall would be very scary in any case, though...

Well, Remus wasn't really thinking in that moment. He just let it slip in his frustration. Corner will keep the secret, don't worry. He's an intelligent boy (he's a Ravenclaw, after all) and I did tell you he isn't that bad (wonder why no one trusts me on that...)

Yes, the eclipse thing... well, I loved the idea of a solar eclipse because of the darkness it creates, you know. And then I went to check, and I realized that what I was doing was impossible. And I felt so stupid because it's obvious that if the moon covers the sun, the illuminated side can't be visible from the Earth... but I still thought a solar eclipse worked better for me, and I wanted it to be a rare phenomenon, and a lunar eclipse with the full moon (which is a lunar eclipse, dot) wasn't that rare. So I decided to stick with my astronomical mistake... :P Sorry if I hurt your scientist sensibility. (I hurt my own scientist sensibility, if that makes you feel better...)



Name: Stella Blue (Signed) · Date: 15 May 2017 04:40 AM · [Report This]
Story:The Lark and the Nightingale Chapter: The Mark

Wow, this chapter. Things just got a whole lot darker (as they would, considering the time period :( I never thought I'd simultaneously hate someone so much and feel bad for them, as I do here with Peter. He had one lapse of judgement - and it wasn't even that, it was just a moment of confusion where he's trying to figure out where he belongs (and who hasn't done that, really?) and abandons his friends, but then finds himself stuck and things are far more permanent than he bargained for. He's already gotten quite good at lying to his friends. And it doesn't surprise me that Remus is the one to sort of see through the lies, as he's probably quite accustomed to feeding people lies about his mum being ill, or whatever other things he invented to put people off the track of finding out his Furry Little Problem.

Your portrayal of Voldemort is great here - sufficiently creepy and knows when he's being lied to. The last section here when he finds out about his future as a double agent - it reminds me a lot of Snape. Different circumstances of course in how they ended up there, but similar in that they're both infiltrating the other's organization and so effective at being on both sides that it took a while for anyone to notice.

One thing that really stood out to me about this chapter was Peter's lament that he's involved in all this and he's just a kid. It's so true! And so horrible to think that a lot of the Death Eaters at this time (Nott of course, and Regulus around this time as well probably) were only sixteen or seventeen and facing a future of a lot of violence and fighting and not being able to get out of it. Kids having to fight in a war, while Voldemort just used them like marionettes. So awful. (but your writing of that is fantastic, and through Peter's fear it's so evident how messed up the whole situation is.) Really great work on this chapter!



Author's Response:

I must admit, this is one of my favourite chapters, even if it breaks my heart all the time!ù

Things have definitely turned much darker... but as you say, it's time of war...

Poor Peter... his life is so skrewed up at the moment... and even if he asked for it, I still feel so bad for him...

Of course Remus would notice something is strange. He's the most perceptive and he does have a lot of experience with lies...

I'm so glad you felt I pictured Voldemort well! And this is interesting, I never really thought about a parallel between Peter and Snape. But of course it makes sense.

It's something that has always stricken me, how young they all were... When James and Lily died and Sirius was sent to Azkaban, they were only twenty-one!!! I still played with dolls at that age! (ok, no, I didn't play with dolls, because I never liked playing with dolls that much... but you know what I mean...) And all the Death Eaters, of course... Regulus couldn't have been older than nineteen... How sad is it all?

Thank you so much for another awesome review! I so adore your feedback!!!



Submit a Review