Reviews For Not Normal


Name: LadyMarauder (Signed) · Date: 03 Feb 2020 08:38 PM · For: {Chapter the Sixth}

First of all I'm devastated that this is the last chapter posted, I need more of this story!!

 

I love how you start every chapter with 'you know your life ain't normal when...' it really gives an insight into what to expect in the chapter and this one really made me laugh. A midnight mission to the library, why the heck not, eh.

 

Although I'm missing Regulus so much, because he's hilarious and holds a really important secret, but I really liked this chapter being all about Ellie and really getting into her head and not having any other distractions or other characters there to interrupt the action. Her internal thoughts are really interesting and I thought you described exactly how she discovered there was something not right at the Restricted Section. I thought it was funny that she only realised about the fact she was a witch after spending ages trying to get into the tiny gap.

 

A SECRET PASSAGEWAY!! I take it this one wasn't on the Marauders Map. Did it turn up after the castle was rebuilt after the Battle of Hogwarts or is it one of those anomalies of living in a magical castle? It was very well hidden though so maybe no one has found it before, or maybe she was drawn to it because of her gift? Gahh I really want to know what's going on, because you've set it up to be a real mystery as well as a paranormal story. What a cliffhanger too!

 

I honestly have no idea where this is going to go but I can't wait to find out, so please update soon! 

 

Tasha xx



Name: LadyMarauder (Signed) · Date: 03 Feb 2020 08:03 PM · For: {Chapter the Fifth}

This chapter was so fun and revealed a lot about what's going on with all the relationships of the group, which I really appreciated. I love Ellie and Scorpius's friendship, they seem to bounce off each other really well and seem great pals who can pretty much talk about everything including all the awkward stuff. I love that they have kind of developed the attitude that they both have to do Herbology so they've just decided to suck it up and get through it together. I also thought it was great that Neville Longbottom is the coolest teacher at the school and everyone loves him - that was a great touch. Who would have thought that would ever happen back when he was a first year at Hogwarts! But helping destroy Voldemort and being an auror just gives you cool points, I guess.

 

So AL LIKES ELLIE! I thought Scorpius coming out with that casually was great. I can just see Albus going back and ranting about their fight, which wasn't even a fight at all, so he must really like her - ha! Ellie clearly hasn't discovered her own feelings because she doesn't believe Scorpius, doesn't care about Albus's opinion and actually suggested actually marrying Albus justto get Scorpius and Rose to go out with each other!

 

Anyway, I think you write dialogue really well and I love just how sassy Ellie is. I really missed Regulus in this chapter though as he is fast becoming one of my favourite characters at the moment and I'd love him to just be a constant aside to Ellie's life...well after we find out why he's haunting her, of course! 

 

I loved this!

 

Tasha xx



Name: LadyMarauder (Signed) · Date: 03 Feb 2020 07:35 PM · For: {Chapter the Fourth}

Ohh this was a great chapter! I love it that Ellie has got permanent access to the Restricted Section due to accidentally finding a loophole in the permission slip - how handy! It also seems like she didn't care if she was putting her actual life in danger by giving it a go, she just dived head first in - and it worked out perfectly!

 

I really enjoyed reading about your descriptions of the books and how she feels in the library, I could really imagine being there. I adore Regulus, he is actually hilarious and Ellie had to ask him again if he was sure he was actually dead. I thought it was brilliant that he showed up in the section about death, looking like an actual ghost due to her wand light. It was totally ironic and made me laugh.

 

Ellie and Albus's interaction was funny too, he seems so interested in her, especially when he said he knew she was hiding something, so that's going to be fun to watch him try and work it out. Regulus made the perfect commentary to go alongside their conversation because he said pretty much what I was thinking - why the heck would a teenage lad know exactly where to find something random like the Runes books? Also, teenagers argue about the weirdest things. I'm going to love having him do that along with everyone she talks to because it'll be hilarious.

 

I really want to know why Ellie and Albus hate each other and when they're going to get over it and start like liking each other because I'm shipping them. Might be early days but I love a good enemies to lovers story!

 

Great chapter again - this is becoming so addictive!!

 

Tasha xx




Name: LadyMarauder (Signed) · Date: 03 Feb 2020 07:07 PM · For: {Chapter the Third}

This is one of the most unique stories I've come across and I'm getting more and more intrigued with each chapter.

 

I love Ellie! She is such a great character. She has secrets, a bit of sass, but still has a ton of vulnerability in there too, which makes her a really well-rounded character and I can't wait to find out more about her.

 

Of course she has a crush on James! He's the older bloke who lives next door and is a sports star too, what's not to love? I like how she knows that nothing will ever happen with them though - I thought it was funny when she said she'd pretty much pass out with shock if he was ever to ask her out.

 

Now. Albus. Oh dear, she is busted!

 

I absolutely love how she said: The damage was done. Albus Severus Potter knew my secret, but she wasn't talking about the whole seeing dead people thing, but that she had a little crush that probably everyone knew about anyway. It's such a teenage-like reaction isn't it? It's like there is nothing worse than your crush finding out that you like them, or even worse, your enemy who will use it against you. 

 

I freaking LOVE Regulus Black! He has more sass than I would ever have imagined as he's always portrayed as such a dark character, so for him to be this cheeky it's quite refreshing. Also, she's his assignment? That's a new one for her and I'm super here for that! Also, that worry thing - it's so true! I've actually had that conversation with someone, so I feel like other than having Regulus Black turn up in my house, I really get Ellie.

 

It was so sweet about the watches, I loved that part, especially Ellie's thoughts around it.

 

So, I'm looking forward to seeing where this goes and what happens when Regulus shows up next, what Albus is going to do with the crush thing and if any of her friends find out about her big secret! So much to look forward to!

 

Tasha xx



Name: belgian quaffle (Signed) · Date: 01 Feb 2020 08:54 PM · For: {Chapter the Third}

I continue to love Ellie's inner monologue. When she and Al are having their little staring contest, I'm just giggling. You do such a wonderful job of balancing these funny moments within the narrative and keeping the pace moving along. 

 

She and Al have some clear issues to work through, that's for certain! I'm super curious about their relationship! What's made their relationship so contentious? Did something happen between them? Or is it just teenage drama and misunderstandings that need to be resolved? 

 

Back to the beginning of the chapter and the party prep: I want to be a delgator! How do you get this job, just telling everyone what to do and how to do it? I KNOW that I'd be good at that! Nice of everyone to band together to get the dinner party ready. This was another fun insight into their lives- i.e. seeing Lily was Ellie's favorite Potter! I was curious about James for a while until we found out she's got a massive crush on him! 

 

"It took a lot of energy to pretend you didn't have feelings for someone" is a MASSIVE mood. Shoutout to Ellie for dropping major vibes right there!

 

I love the idea of "ghosting mode"! It is, quite frankly, hilarious to me, especially when you consider the ENITRELY literal meaning of the word ghosting in this context and the exact opposite of what the word ghosting means when used outside this fic.  I LOVE your description of Regulus too, particularly the line about how no one would choose to stand that tall. 

 

Regulus is quite the character! He's got lots of sass! Which, well I do enjoy! I'll be excited to see him back at Hogwarts, since it seems that he'll be appearing again for certain! This is definitely just making me MORE excited for them to get back to school! You're really just building up the excitement! I feel like there's just little things now that have gotten me mroe and more excited for the return!

 

OH MY GOD THAT MOMENT WITH ELLIE AND HER DAD! That was so freaking cute! I just had to comment on how sweet it was that he's been sawving those watches for her and Chris that their mom bought when she was pregnant. She told him how special 17 was for them- so bittersweet, so heartbreaking not to have their mom there, so great of their dad to carry on that tradition himself! Another great chapter! Looking forward to reading on!

-Sarah



Name: belgian quaffle (Signed) · Date: 01 Feb 2020 05:45 PM · For: {Chapter the Second}

Hello again, back for more!

 

I love the symmetry of the first lines of the chapters! I always really enjoy when authors put spins like that into their stories and I think with this fic, it's a really great tie into both the title and Ellie's unique life! I've also really enjoyed how (so far) it gives a preview of the chapter before we start to get into all the details of everything!

 

Ellie, Chris, and their dad have such a fun, unique (and slightly heartbreaking) dynamic! I love their banter back and forth over the cake and orange juice container. Classic sibling banter. Classic teenage boy to go straight from the carton. 

 

Umm hello to Al Potter, can we say ENEMIES TO LOVERS??? Am I excited already? Yes absolutely? Are a bajillion crazy things going to go down in the meantime that drive me crazy? Yeah probably. I can feel the tension. There's a moment where he's lie low key soft, he just wants Ellie to watch him play quidditch, WE ALL KNOW HE WANTS HER! Ugh, I'm exicted already! Ellie, COME ON GIRL! 

 

Where is this fear of heights going to come back again later?? I know that it will and Al's going to be there to talk her through it, it'll be some big bonding moment for them, right?

 

Sorry, that got VERY out of hand. I just REALLY like enemies to lovers, in case you couldnt tell haha!

 

Anyway, Rose is lovely as well! Stepping in for Ellie for backup. i can tell she's a great friend! Lots of energy that's for sure! Can 100% relate to that so I'm sure she's going to be a fave! I love Ellie's reaction to her in the book store, asking to go to a divination store-they low key remind me of like astrology girls/nonastrology girls today. Rose is the one who's like "mercury's in retrograde" and Ellie's the skeptic, like "uh huh okay". 

 

"IT'S ATMOSPHERIC" omg that's a line! I'm dying at Rose, she's too much! Astrology girl FOR SURE! and Ellie too, omg "we're just browsing" lol these girls are too much! Madame Cassandra is a little spooky to me- I definitely fall more on the Ellie side of things when it comes to this then the Rose side, but I love how you've written the two of them here. Their reactions are priceless and I can imagine for someone like Ellie, with her own supernatural gift, that a prophecy is just like blahh whatever, kind of stff. She's got bigger things to worry about! It'll be interesting to see what happens with this prophecy in the next few chapters! Can't wait to read on!

-Sarah



Name: belgian quaffle (Signed) · Date: 01 Feb 2020 04:41 PM · For: {Chapter the First}

Hi!! Finally popping in to catch this fic! I've been super interested in it for a while, and the review event gives me the PERFECT opportunity to jump in and start reading!

 

Anyway, I LOVE the concept itself. The "I see dead people" sixth sense kind of thing doesn't usually grab me in books or movies, but I'm gripped by the summary of the Four Founders. Is Founders/NextGen the crossover event of the century? I'll read on and find out!

 

What a great first chapter here! Your description is lovely! It's enough to set the scene, to give me a great idea of Ellie's thoughts and feelings, without being overly wordy! But wow, Ellie's got quite the life, seeing all these dead people! Defintiely not what I expected when I read the story summary OR the first line of the chapter. I really enjoy her inner monologue! It's fun and witty and definitely enjoyable to read!

 

i also really enjoyed that we got to see Ellie interact with a dead person here as well, but like how she normally would? if that makes sense? i think that did a really great job at setting the scene and story as well as building her character and showing us readers what she's like as a person before we eventually start to jump into whatever "save the world" stuff is coming up! 

 

anyway, I think you've got a great start here! you've defintiely captured my attention with the summary and this first chapter was a great introduction to Ellie and her family! looking forward to seeing what happens to her once she gets to Hogwarts (and to seeing more dead people)!

-Sarah



Name: dreamshadow (Signed) · Date: 01 Feb 2020 02:05 AM · For: {Chapter the Fourth}

I sort of love the imagery of Ellie sneaking around the Restricted Section of the library.  And it is going to look kind of morbid if anyone realizes that she's looking at books about death; she's pretty lucky that it was so dark that Al couldn't actually see any of the titles. 

 

But oh man, I so loved the confrontation between the two in the stacks. The fighting is just so stupid, and Regulus' commentary makes it even better. I don't know how Ellie was able to keep a straight face because I know that I wouldn't have been able to.  I seriously would want to smack him or something but it was an air of comic relief.

 

And how frustrating -- still no concrete answers as to what Regulus is doing or why he's helping her. And with what, exactly? Is Al going to find out Ellie's true secret of seeing ghosts? I also want to know what makes her so special that she has this rather unique, er... gift.  If we want to call it that :P 

 

I am admittedly in love with the idea of Al being a secret soft nerd.  I really want to know more about him and how he seems to be popping up everywhere Ellie is; does he have the map or something and he's using it to track her? Seems unlikely, but it would almost be hilairous if he was.  I'm starting to think Al has a bit of a crush on her because he seems so detemrined to figure out her secret.  And they supposedly 'hate' each other but we still don't really know why.

 

Another fantastic chapter, I'm so glad I started reading this ♥



Name: dreamshadow (Signed) · Date: 01 Feb 2020 01:40 AM · For: {Chapter the Third}

Wait wait wait. Hold on. Ellie is Regulus' new assignment?? How does that even work?! Isn't she the one that can see ghosts and is the one that guides them to whatever afterlife is waiting for them? 

 

Okay, I love this story and I'm officially hooked.  I'm very curious to see if Al's going to let on that he knows Ellie has a crush on James.  Not that I can really blame her, he is James Potter, after all :P It's just so funny how Ellie's determined to be the alpha around Al, and in every pairing she named, she was always the main one with Al as the villain/nemesis.  I don't know why that struck me as so funny but I quite enjoyed it.  I also found it hilarious how she continued to refer to Al as Potter, even when Lily and James (and supposedly Harry and Ginny) were in the room, too. 

 

Regulus seems like a piece of work, but almost exactly like how I headcanon him as well.  I'm just so curious about this new twist and what it all means for Ellie. Is that what Madame Cassandra was referring to when she said twists and turns? And what about secrets burning the soul? Somehow I have a feeling it means more than her crush on James, but I guess time will tell with that.

 

Another thing I wanted to mention was that I love how easy this is to read.  Everything just flows so nicely, and Ellie's narrative voice is hilarious and relatable, that a 4k chapter hardly seems intimidating at all.

 

Ooh, and the watches are a super cool gift.  I love that Chris got one, too; they are twins after all, and I'm eager to see if it's going to have any significance later on in the story.

 

Another excellent chapter! 



Name: dreamshadow (Signed) · Date: 01 Feb 2020 01:17 AM · For: {Chapter the Second}

Okay, Madame Cassandra definitely gives off a creepy vibe.  I'm 100% with Ellie on this one; I'm glad they left when they did because things were seriously starting to get spooky.  I did quite enjoy her dismissive attitude at first.  For someone who can see ghosts, it's kind of amusing that she's not fond of the mystical arts. I'd almost think it'd be Rose who didn't believe and Ellie who did, but this dynamic is way more fun to play with.  It's also worth noting that when Madame Cassandra wished Ellie a happy birthday, I got chills.

 

Backing up a bit, I'm enjoying the theme of the first lines.  Judging by the summary chapters it's going to continue in later chapters, but it's a nice little voice thing that kind of gives you an idea of where the chapter is headed, and I like that rather than starting with Madame Cassandra, you ended there, allowing us to meet more people in Ellie's circle.  I love the fact that she's neighbors with the Potters because I feel like that brings a very interesting dynamic to her relationship (or lack thereof) with Al.

 

I am very curious as to why they don't get along, though. Is there some big reason we're gonna find out later, or is it just a general clash of personalities? 

 

It also must be terrible to be so afraid of heights that you can't even watch Quidditch games. Though, honestly, I can relate :P As much as I'd want to watch a Quidditch game, I think I'm with Ellie in that the stands are absolutely terrifying.

 

Chris seems like a good brother for the most part; in fact, their friendship group seems very interesting but supportive.  I love the dropped hints about Rose and Scorpius, and I'm secretly crossing my fingers for something to develop between Al and Ellie, especially since Madame Cassandra mentioned to keep her 'not friends' closer. Very, very interesting.   Can't wait to see where it goes! 



Name: dreamshadow (Signed) · Date: 01 Feb 2020 12:46 AM · For: {Chapter the First}

Ooh, a mediator type person in the magical world?? This concept is so unique and refreshing that I'm already eager to see where it goes!

 

I'm immediately drawn in by the first line.  Not just because it's such a bizarre thing, but because it's full of voice and character.  That's what I loved so much about this chapter; how effortlessly everything fell together.  The voice of our narrator, who is still unnamed, how there's just enough description to set the scene but not so much that it's overwhelming; really, the writing in this is just wonderful and I'm kind of sad that it's taken me so long to start reading it.

 

I have a LOT of questions. Why does she see ghosts? I'm assuming it's a she; but can Chris see them, too? It sounds like based off the narration that this is an individual thing, which makes it even more interesting. It really sucks that the mom just kind of bounced, though. But I wonder: did she ACTUALLY bounce or did something prevent her from saying goodbye or whatever? 

 

Also: WHO IS THE GIRL STANDING NEXT TO THE BOY? I have a feeling they're going to be important characters, or at least recurring characters. I mostly just want to know more about them.  AND, I think it's super cool that she doesn't see her ghosts as they are when they first died.  That'd obviously be very creepy.  Super neat that it's the moment they feel most alive and sometimes it's connected in death and sometimes it's not.

 

Basically, I want to know ALL THE THINGS because this was an excellent first chapter, but I guess I'm just going to have to read and find out :P 



Name: clairevergreen (Signed) · Date: 31 Jan 2020 09:38 PM · For: {Chapter the Sixth}

Hello again :)

 

It shows just how much I am into this story when I literally couldn't tear my eyes away from that last section. I felt like I was watching a thriller movie, my heart beating faster as I watched the heroine slowly pry that piece of wood away from the wall. You managed to write that same feeling of me physically watching the scene into the writing and I hung on every word.

 

I love the mystery you've built up in the last few chapters. You write Ellie's everyday life so well that I sometimes forget that she can talk to ghosts and seems to be Regulus Black's personal project. This chapter especially really brought out the action/adventure of the story. I loved Ellie's inner monologue about the workmanship of the shelves. It makes her seem so real and human that she thinks she's spun herself into believing this whole big mystery and then something actually happens. 

 

Honestly, I'm gonna give Ellie credit for not immediately running away when that bookshelf moved. I think I would've been halfway to my common room the second that I heard even one out of the ordinary noise. I love her so much, you've really made her feel like someone I can connect to.

 

That cliff hanger is insane! You'll have to let me know when you update so I can read more!



Name: clairevergreen (Signed) · Date: 31 Jan 2020 08:46 PM · For: {Chapter the Fifth}

Hello! Back again for the CMDC review event :)

 

I love Scorpius. He's one of those characters that's never the same from fic to fic and your take on him is brilliant. It makes so much sense that he and Ellie would be friends. He's the literal opposite of her in personality but they clearly work extremely well together if their Herbology endeavors are any indication. I love that his personality comes across most in the way that he talks and the way that you described that. It's such an interesting way to introduce a character and it worked extremely well for me.

 

The conversation about Al was spot on. It's the oldest cliche in the book that the guy who picks on the girl is secretly in love with her, but I like how you spin it here. Ellie is clearly against the entire notion of it, but if Scorpius seems that sure of himself, then I don't think I'd discount him completely. And him turning the conversation back to "maybe it's not healthy for you two to only fight with each other?" also did a lot to show how he thinks and how he fits into the friend group.

 

The whole subplot of Scorpius and Rose makes me so happy. I love the two of them together and I can't wait to see more of them play out.

 

Can't wait to read more!



Name: MuggleMaybe (Signed) · Date: 26 Jan 2020 08:59 AM · For: {Chapter the Second}

Back for CMDC round 1

 

Story: I turned around to watch Albus Potter –  and the bane of my existence – barge through our sliding door

 

Me: Oh! She's goona date Al! i love it!

 

Why do characters always confuse hating some one with being similar to them? I think that's what Ellie is doing here. She and Al have similar sarcastic, cheeky vibes and honestly I cannot wait to see them figure this out.

 

As far as the others go - I really like your characterization of Rose in particular. 

 

The fortune telling stor has me very intrigued! And it's actually quite plausible that a store like that could open up at a muggle mall because astrology is so popular at the moment. honestly, you should patent this business idea and start it. 

 

But the prophecy... hmm. Madame Cassandra seems legit in that she knew it was her birthday and she also has the same name as cassandra trelawney. which might just be a coincidence? but "secrets can eay trhough your soul?" 

 

my prediction: I think if she gets too engrossed in the dead she will start to fade out of life, if that makes sense. probably way off target but there you have it =P

 

FInally, and most importantly: if I could wake up with magic tomorrow I, likeC Chris, would find the dish washing inplrovements to be the Very Best Thing about it! :D

 

xoxo Renee



Name: clairevergreen (Signed) · Date: 25 Jan 2020 08:33 PM · For: {Chapter the Fourth}

Are you tired of me yet? :P

 

Ellie tricking her way into having unrestricted access to the Restricted Section is honestly too on-brand for her. I love that she just went "hey let's see if this works" and quite possibly risked her life to prove a hypothesis. And even better that she did it at fourteen years old. What a legend.

 

The way that you described the Restricted Section's death shelves was so good. I never really thought about how magical books like that would give off their own vibes but I can totally see it. 

 

Of course a ghost would show up in the middle of the death section, I mean, come on, Ellie. Regulus Black does not seem like the kind of person to pass up on opportunity like that. I still love your version of him so much but I'm just as frustrated with him as Ellie seems to be. Really, how hard can it be to just say what you want instead of coming up with some cryptic answer that just drives everyone crazy. 

 

But I do have to agree with him, every time that Al and Ellie interact is just too entertaining to ignore. 

 

Al is really starting to grow on me. I know that Ellie hates him and I will stay on her side until proven otherwise, but he seems like he could be a super sweet, dorky guy under all of the cockiness. I mean, he's a Prefect and he knows off the top of his head where the Ancient Runes section is? I mean, come on, sir, you are not fooling anyone with that act. Except for Ellie.

 

As always, I will be returning for more!!



Name: clairevergreen (Signed) · Date: 25 Jan 2020 01:18 PM · For: {Chapter the Third}

I just can't seem to stay away from this story! (Back for the CMDC review event)

 

I'm with Ellie, birthday parties suck. But they do get made ten times better when you get to gaze adoringly at your crush. And honestly, who wouldn't have a crush on James. He's extremely crushworthy in all aspects.

 

I continue to adore Ellie and Al's feud. Their staredown had me full on laughing. I love how present and clear Ellie's voice is throughout the entire narration and it's really highlighted in this scene especially. 

 

I'm in love with your Regulus. Like, properly in love (especially combined with that face claim). He's a million times different than any other version of him I've ever read and my personal version, but it fits the tone of your story so well. A somber, serious (of course I had to slip a pun in) Regulus would've just pulled me right out of the story and besides, this Regulus is way more interesting.

 

As much as I love the more comedic parts of this story, I also love to get to the quieter, more intimate parts as well. Ellie's relationship with both her parents is emphasized so well in this last little bit. I can feel how much she loves and cares about her dad and when he gave her the watch from her mom, I almost cried. I know they're going to Hogwarts soon, but I hope we still get to see this relationship keep playing out as the story goes on.

 

I can't wait to see where the plot goes from here!



Name: MuggleMaybe (Signed) · Date: 25 Jan 2020 03:20 AM · For: {Chapter the First}

Hello, I'm here reviewing for CMDC round 1. 

 

I absolutely LOVE the premise of this story. "I see dead people" may be a cliche line these days, but to actually write a strong story (and with you as the author, I know this will be strong) about it is sfar rarer. I'm excited!

 

But listen. How do you make writing seem so effortless? The voice in this reads very naturally, and even though first person isn't my favorite, it's really working here. I mean, how else could you understand this story if you weren't in here head? And her sassy wit makes the sad circumstances easier to bear.

 

Speaking of which, I think you've got some interesting character dynamics going on here. I'm curious who the "not ghost"'s little brother is. A potential friend or love interest, perhaps? And the parallel between their situation and Ellie's is well done. Ellie' mom sounds amazing and I bet she has a lot of those same wonderful traits. It's hard to cope ith the grief of that though, even if it was years ago, it never goes away. I hope their dad is able to heal during the rest of the story, too.

 

I am really interested in this! Hopefully I'll be back!

 

xoxo Renee



Name: justawillowtree (Signed) · Date: 25 Jan 2020 02:34 AM · For: {Chapter the Sixth}

Oh my gosh Ellie found a whole secret passageway?? Is it perhaps possible that she’s discovered something about Hogwarts that not even the Marauders were able to include in their infamous Map?? Or is this, like the ghosts, something that only she is able to see? I HAVE SO MANY QUESTIONS.

 

This is such a specific detail, but I love that Ellie loves romance novels hahaha. Literally all I read when I was in senior year of high school was of the romantic genre, and so I really feel a kind of kinship with Ellie here. It’s such a wonderful feeling to burrow deep in your covers while avoiding real life responsibilities by reading romance novels, a feeling that I’m sure Ellie can relate to. :P I also particularly love this because I think it kind of shatters the image that most people have of young women who read romance novels—oftentimes, I find that people think romance readers are silly, unrealistic, etc., but Ellie is so incredibly down-to-earth, brutal, and snarky! Sure, she ships her friends and everything, but that’s to be expected when your friends are Scorpius and Rose. :P

 

I love Ellie’s headcanon about the Fat Lady. I think it provides an excellent sort of backstory for a painting that unfortunately never received a great deal of attention from the novels! (Can I petition you to now write a story about the classically trained Fat Lady? :P)

 

Her midnight library adventures sound absolutely terrifying, and perhaps that is why she is in Gryffindor while I am…not even at Hogwarts. Like, she snuck down to the library so successfully that I can’t help but think that she’s done this a million times before. It’s insanely impressive! And I think it’s quite fitting that a Gryffindor would find a secret passageway-type thing in the Restricted Section of the library, past midnight, no less. :P

 

I have absolutely no idea where this could lead. I keep thinking it’s a party of ghosts? But that’s just a random thought from my head, and doesn’t feel terribly likely.

 

So excited for the next chapter!!

 

Love,

Eva



Name: justawillowtree (Signed) · Date: 25 Jan 2020 12:06 AM · For: {Chapter the Fifth}

I absolutely cherish this story! Whenever I see it in the queue or in the “Recently Updated” section, I always find myself compelled to read the whole thing again. I don’t think I could even count on both hands the number of times I’ve read these chapters through—they genuinely bring me so much joy! I love Ellie’s undisguised loathing for Albus, and her hilarious internal commentary. She is genuinely the funniest narrator: she goes on minor tangents every now and then, makes puns in her head, has violent tendencies, and is a hardcore friend-shipper. Could she be any more perfect??

 

You mentioned in your author’s note that Ellie and Scorpius have a dynamic that you enjoy writing, which completely makes sense to me, haha. I mean, Ellie is like one of those moms who desperately wants to set their child up with someone (that is, if moms were allowed to threaten their children), and Scorpius is just so calm and collected that he takes in all her ranting without batting an eye.

 

I can’t believe he managed to suffer through her entire tirade, knowing all the while that he had already really accomplished the thing that Ellie was chastising him about, just to pull her strings. That is some serious level of dedication right there, hahaha. I am positive that Scorpius and Rose will turn out to be such a cute couple—though perhaps a close second to a very distant Albus and Ellie??

 

Even Scorpius knows what’s up, proclaiming that Albus really just likes Ellie. I do agree with her, though. Albus needs to lighten up a bit if he thinks this is a healthy way of showing affection hahaha. :P

 

I’m so excited to read the next chapter!!

 

Love,

Eva



Name: LadyMarauder (Signed) · Date: 24 Jan 2020 03:52 PM · For: {Chapter the Second}

OK, so I'm back for chapter two, because I couldn't stay away after that awesome opening chapter!

 

Right, I already love the dynamic between Ellie and Albus and that they don't particularly see eye to eye, which is putting it very lightly. I wonder what happened to make Ellie hate him so much. It must make it very awkward with the fact he's her brother's best friend - this is one of my favourite plots to read about and I already can't wait to see their relationship unravel and hopefully improve. I thought the drinking straight out of the drink carton was brilliant - I wonder if it really IS just the male species that are completely gross?

 

I thought it was HILARIOUS that Rose is into Divination when her best friend is what she is... i don't know what to call her, she's not a Seer is she? I can't believe Ellie has never told anyone about her gift. It must be a bit of a burden and by the way, have none of her friends noticed her talking to thin air at any point?! She must be a pro at the whole thing. I imagine Hogwarts is crawling with the souls of people who can’t move on yet.

 

Anyway, so Cassandra can't be a complete fraud, eh? She knew it was Ellie's birthday. Though her predictions were a bit vague and stock cliched statements, which is why I'm guessing is one of the reasons Ellie isn't that impressed with her, y'know other than the fact she sees dead people regularly.

 

SO EXCITED to find out what's going to happen next!!

 

Tasha - for the review event 2020 xx



Name: clairevergreen (Signed) · Date: 24 Jan 2020 01:16 AM · For: {Chapter the Second}

Hi! Me again :)

 

I'm honestly in love with your characters. All of them. Ellie is the perfect recipe of sass and quirkiness. She walks right along the line of zany girl next door (kinda like a magical Jess from New Girl) but it works so incredibly well. You've got her voice nailed down so well that I feel like I want to be best friends with her.

 

Rose compliments her so well. I've always kinda disliked the "Rose is a carbon copy of her mother" characterization that seems to creep into a lot of Next Gen fics and I love your version of her so much. Her being into Divination is an interesting choice--it's not one I've seen before but it works so well with the way (I'm assuming) your story is going. I love that Rose feels like a real person and not just like she's there so Ellie has a friend (if that makes sense?) 

 

I'm so here for the Al/Ellie drama. I know it's tropey and a cliche but I still adore it. I know it's chapter two, but I want them to get together. It doesn't even have to be romantically, I'm just a sucker for a good enemies to friends story. Even though we don't really know why they don't get along, it doesn't come across as unnecessary. Instead of being frustrated about why they don't get along, I just want to figure out why they don't.

 

Basically, I'm in love with your characters and want to be all of their best friends.

 

I will be back soon for more!



Name: clairevergreen (Signed) · Date: 23 Jan 2020 09:22 PM · For: {Chapter the First}

Hello! Here for the CMDC review event :)

 

Normally, I love how stories just throw you into the action without much explanation but I think I love what you did even more. You threw us right into Ellie's mind and personality without much of a chance for us to adjust and I think it's absolutely perfect. Right away, I want nothing more than to keep reading and find out as much about this girl as I could. 

 

Your character introductions are so perfect. Just like I could get a read on the kind of person Ellie is from her first few lines, I love how her reactions to Chris tell us what we need to know about him. I personally find it so hard to really nail first person limited but you've got it down. The little bit about Chris always wanting to talk about the weather whenever they visited their mother was such a fun, interesting quirk that just felt so real. It was strange enough to be a defining character trait but also was just real enough that I could completely see someone doing that.

 

The way that you set up Ellie's ability and let it play out throughout the chapter was perfect. You didn't throw us right into the main conflict without any idea of what she could do or what it looked like. You started with a nice, low stakes encounter that, at least for me, really helped show what exactly it was that she is dealing with on a daily basis. Once again, I love how you give your characters such personality through their actions. Ellie's almost formulaic answers and the reactions where she knew what was coming before the girl even said it went a long way to showing us just how long she'd been dealing with this, even before you actually told us.

 

I'm so hyped to see how the rest of the story plays out. I will certainly be back for more!!



Name: LadyMarauder (Signed) · Date: 23 Jan 2020 08:43 PM · For: {Chapter the First}

Hi - I'm here for the reviewing event!

 

Wow this is the most unique first chapter I’ve read in a while and I already can’t wait to devour this story!! Y’know when you read something and wish you’d thought of it so you can have an awesome story? Well that’s how I feel about this one! 

 

OK, gushing aside, I’m really intrigued by this opening. I like that there are ‘ghosts’ that are different to the ones that we can see in Hogwarts and that they look just like the living - I know she can tell the difference, but it must be a little weird. They want to be there and choose not to move on, but I liked how these ghosts need her help to move on. It’s quite a burden for a teenager to deal with.

 

The details were fantastic throughout. I liked how you highlighted the differences in the twins, with Chris feeling like he NEEDS to be at the cemetery and Ellie not feeling close to her mother there. I get it. I liked that you included how she died and a little about her ethnicity, so we know a little about the twins without you going into detail about what they look like. It’s these touches that make this story even more interesting.

 

Also, I’m not really into founders’ era stories to be honest, but I like that this seems mostly set outside their time - not sure whether it’s Harry’s time or Next Gen, but it seems a little more modern, with them dressing in tshirt and jeans. I can’t wait to find out where this is going to go!

 

Great job - Tasha xx



Name: justawillowtree (Signed) · Date: 16 Dec 2019 04:54 AM · For: {Chapter the Fourth}

NOT NORMAL IS BACK. I did a little internal tap-dance when I saw your update! You do such a good job with these multi-chap fics, and I always feel so drawn to the next chapter—which is why it’s so sad whenever there’s not another one waiting, haha. :P

 

Anyway, you’ve been leaving so many wonderful gifts for people that I wanted to just leave you one, as well. <3

 

I love Ellie. Like, I honest-to-goodness adore her, and want to just adopt her as my friend forever (with her permission, of course). I mean, she’s just brilliant. Utterly hilarious, and so, so witty. I loved that entire monologue on how she managed to beat the system, by peeling away the book title on the permission slip, which is just incredible, hahaha. I thought it was a very clever way of getting around the Restricted Section problem, so kudos to you for thinking of it!

 

Also, you write humor so well?? Your stories always lift my spirits up, which is a nice thing to look forward to when reading your chapters. This sentence—"I am doubly proud to say that I achieved such carte blanche status through my only overt rule-breaking act during my Hogwarts career”—was written so well, and it was so clever and funny. And I also loved this one—“then, in a stroke of sheer brilliance, removed the name of the book”—because the italics just made the comedic timing somehow just absolutely perfect.

 

I really wonder what’s going on with Regulus. Is it because he was never able to seek closure about any family members, and then they all died? I NEED TO KNOW.

 

I love him, though. I love how he makes every attempt to give Ellie as much difficulty as possible. I mean, I was trying to imagine throughout this whole chapter what would happen if I was trying to ignore someone who was very intent on not being ignored… It would be so difficult?? Like sometimes it’s just impossible to not instinctively respond when someone says something outrageous. So I really felt for her there, haha.

 

Albus is really, really funny, and I’m honestly already shipping these two really hard. She needs to get better when lying around him hahaha, because he’s too observant for her own good. (I loved that just complete moment of shock when she realized that he, in fact, does read for fun sometimes.)

 

I’m so happy that you’ve updated!! I hope you have a wonderful holiday. <3

 

Eva



Name: The_Crookshanks_Saga (Anonymous) · Date: 03 Oct 2018 12:10 AM · For: {Chapter the Third}

Transferred from offsite at request of the author

Originally left on 06/26/2014

Hi, it's you-know-who with you-know-what! (Voldy with STDs)

Okay, so another brilliant chapter. I liked how you weren't afraid to cast someone who had to repeat a year in a good light. Most people don't do stuff like that, and it's refreshing to be reminded that wizards are human too.

One thing I didn't like- between the train scene and the Great Hall, there was only a 3-line break (Nazi time!). I didn't catch the break to be monumental and wrote it off as am error, and next thing I knew- BAM straight at least 6hour time gap. It just would be nice if one day you took the time to make the gap a bit bigger or put the lines.

And... that's about it! Until next time!

-Meena

Author's Response: OMG LAUGHING SO HARD. I'm going to start using that in my everyday vernacular now. That is just too brilliant.

Wizards are humans too! And I'm sure not all of them do as well as they would've liked in their OWLs. I wanted to write a character who wanted to try harder, and not be bitter about it: thus, Ben. Also, he's just an amazing person anyway.

Goodness. That scene switch will be the death of me. I gave my poor beta so much grief over it! I have another version of it in my drafts which may or may not work better.

Thanks for the lovely review!



Submit a Review