Login
Reviews For Absolution

Name: manno-malfoy (Signed) · Date: 16 Sep 2017 03:32 PM · Chapter: Nine

Hey!  I’m back for the BVB! It’s been a while, but I recently found myself yearning for this story, so I've been meaning to start dropping by once again. Fortunately, I’ve found it quite easy to slip back into the story and the characters –all aided by your wonderful writing, of course.

 

First of all, I must comment on the pacing of this chapter. It was so perfect, building up the tension and the anticipation. I loved that Lucy was maneuvering the conversation –which was a dance of its own really what with the two of them tiptoeing around the point. In fact, now that I think about it, they pretty much mirrored each other; everything was so calculated.

 

I also found how you described Lucy’s difficulties with dancing rather perfect, really. And I can tell because I’m a horrid dancer and that’s exactly how the process went for me when I tried to take dancing classes. I really do admire all the little details you apply in order to deliver exactly what your characters are going through.

 

 I can’t help but comment on the difference between classes and the effect it it seems to have on the way women conduct themselves and how it’s perceived. I mean,  Lucy can do this and possibly get away with it (I do hope she gets away with it), but Alice can’t even talk to a man without her brother judging and berating her. I do suppose that is because the lower classes weren’t held to the same moral or societal standards, which allowed them to perhaps have less reservations. Then again, I don’t know what’ll happen in Lucy’s case in particular, so I guess I’ll just wait and see.

 

 

 



Name: Crimson Quill (Signed) · Date: 28 Jun 2017 11:18 AM · Chapter: One

Hey Rebecca,


So this is my first time reading original fiction so obviously I had to pick this one as it's award winning but it was the concept that really caught my eye as I think it's such an interesting subject with lots of scope for stories. I think following your three main characters is really great for storytelling as we get a look into each life as they are all different so it's like telling the story for three angles gives the reader such a chance to build up a whole picture. I obviously don't know if you plan to weave their stories together later into your novel but I love the idea of the threads coming together like that so you've already make me wanting to read one after just one chapter of this! That's such a skill as a writer to draw the audience in!

I think i loved how you introduced each character in this chapter by them experiencing the same event which judging by the date and time is the first signs that it's sinking not that they know it yet! I'm looking forward to seeing if we're going to get a time jump back like this is a flash forward or if the story is starting from the sinking. I liked the description of how the boat is tipping/swaying from side to side. I'm going to be back soon to read some of this because I'm excited by the whole concept of this and look forward to knowing more about the girls. Good job :)


- Abbi xo    



Name: sunshinedaisieswindmills (Signed) · Date: 19 Jun 2017 10:56 PM · Chapter: One

Hello!

 

I’m finally back for more! Okay I have to say, I’m a little disappointed about the lack of Lucy in this chapter, if only because she is somehow already my favorite and I want to read more about her. It was an interesting choice to leave her boarding out—although actually I just checked and found that she got on later than the others! How clever to have them get on at different stops! Now that I’ve got that complaint out of the way…

 

This was another fantastic chapter! The thing that struck me the most is how well you’ve done conveying the grandeur of the Titanic, even to a modern audience. I think the Titanic is so prevalent in our culture it’s been kind of minimized. It’s really hard for people to understand how big it was, and how big of a deal it was. I know I certainly didn’t really understand the magnitude of the Titanic until you pointed it out to me. It’s titanic. That word has become synonymous with the ship, but it was named that for a reason. It was titanic. Like a titan. The way you pointed that out was so subtle and it just absolutely knocked my socks off. Excellent job of making history seem current!

 

The other thing I wanted to mention is the characterization here! You’ve always had a knack for creating really strong characters, who are all different but all likeable and relatable. I’m thinking of Lily’s group of friends in The Shadows Within and A Million Little Things. You’re so good at creating groups of really diverse characters and making them all so strong and important to the plot. In this chapter in particular, I definitely noticed how well you differentiated Alice and Elizabeth. Their personalities are coming out strongly, and the section from their perspective is just so them. Elizabeth is a little vain, so she’s noticing all the luxurious details and famous people; Alice seems much more down do earth, and doesn’t particularly want to be there, so she’s noticing the more negative things. There was a very real tone switch between those two perspectives and I LOVED it. I’m excited to see how Lucy fits into the mix!

 

And random, I love the detail of Henry’s pocket watch. Is that a real thing? Like can I look up pictures of this pocket watch online? BECAUSE THAT IS SO COOL KFJAIOEWKFS.

 

Anyway, lovely chapter!

 

Cheers!

 

Katie.

 

 



Name: Dojh167 (Signed) · Date: 18 Jun 2017 08:00 PM · Chapter: One

I’ve heard a lot of great things about this story, and I’m really curious about it! Be warned though, I am an absolute wimp about long chapters, so as much as I enjoy this chapter, you shouldn’t hold your breath for me coming back too quickly for the others.


Oh, so you’re starting this story quite close to the sinking!


I actually hadn’t realized this was original fiction - I thought you had inserted some magical characters into the story. While that would have been interesting, I have to give you huge kudos for developing such a strong (and evidently popular) original piece.


I can’t help but read every rattle and shadow as foreboding, though the characters wouldn’t necessarily think that. A ship like that would be bound to make lots of strange noises, impending disaster or not. If I was on the ship I would probably just trust that there were sciencey boaty things I didn’t understand and that others had them under control


The research you’ve done on this already really shows. Even though I don’t know many details about the Titanic, but the fact that you do shows. You’ve also balanced this well by not drowning us in details and exposition, but creating a very real world.


Oh wait, that was hitting the iceberg? Aaagggghhhhh You’re jumping right in there!


From this chapter, I don’t really know much about the characters. They are all kind of in similar situations - traveling with others, going to find out what’s happening. I would have liked to see their personalities more strongly developed so I could distinguish them better, but I am sure you do that soon, and I admire you literally starting with the action.


This is really intriguing and I hope I overcome my long-chapters phobia and give the rest of it a read!


Sam.



Name: Stella Blue (Signed) · Date: 21 May 2017 01:14 AM · Chapter: One

Hi! I'm here because you replied to Brax's tweet about review swaps and it sent to me too, and I'd been meaning to read this story for ages. Since you were technically responding just to Brax and not me, I'm not expecting a swap, so don't feel pressured to :p I just really wanted to read some of this!

 

also I should warn you that Im typing this on my phone, so sorry for any typos!

 

I love this so far. There is so much potential for storylines about the Titanic (hence why the movie was so popular) but it seems that the movie is the main thing that comes to mind when people think of the Titanic. So with that, I'm super stoked to find you're writing original fiction about it. Also, having spent a good chunk of my life working on ships, I am just really excited to  see this story that's set on a ship :P

 

What a great place to start out, too - a little snapshot into the lives of these three women just at the moment when the iceberg hit (though of course they don't know that). I'm really interested to see where this story goes - into their past, or how their paths cross after the event. I doubt they have met beforehand, or at leas Lucy and Elizabeth, judging from how litle/how much they heard the noise they seem to be on different decks which would place them in different classes, as well as just being in different  phases of life. Anyway, Im curious to know more about all of them!

 

also, last but not least, I'm happy to see that the three main characters are women. There aren't enough stories about women on boats (probs due to the superstition, but after a while you get tired of reading about men chasing whales)

 

This is such a wonderful start and I can absolutely understand why it ended up story of the month!

<3

 



Name: AbraxanUnicorn (Signed) · Date: 20 May 2017 09:14 PM · Chapter: Three

Hello lovely! I'm here for our review swap :) I'm thoroughly enjoying this story so far, despite my ominous feelings. It's so clearly written and very readable, and I'm already in sympathy with some of the characters. Given that a significant proportion of the ship's travellers won't make it, I know there's some heartbreak ahead :(

Poor young Lucy, apprehensive about what the future holds in America and the responsibilities weighing on her shoulders. Did you mention how old she was (I might have missed that detail)? I'm guessing maybe early teens? I guess it was the norm for older siblings to chip in and help take care of the younger ones, but it's hard for her to have both her sisters to take care of in one room whilst her parents and brothers are elsewhere. I wonder what happened to the eighth family member and does thins have anything to do with the mother's dazed/confused behaviour? Or is there something else going on? I'm so sorry for all the questions, by the way! I'm just curious to learn why.

It must have been awful for the family to be examined like that in full view of other passengers, with no dignity afforded at all. Typical of the period and the differences between the classes, but that sort of treatment would have done nothing to close the divide. Wth all the diseases and parasites that thrive on people living in such close proximity, I'm not surprised the powers that be would want to limit spread by checking passengers prior to boarding, but in which case ... check them all? :( That was quite a chillingly premonitory "ship saying goodbye" from Lucy.

The dynamic between Henry and Alice is quite an interesting and potentially turbulent one. They clearly don't get on all that well, and Henry's behaviour certainly seems to irritate Alice (I loved the fact that she didn't want to knit any longer, because the hobby wasn't serving the purpose she intended, namely to irritate her brother in some way). Personally, I don't think it's fair that Henry doesn't have to help look after his grandmother as well, but such was life in those days; women had very little control over anything, including their own happiness.

Arthur Thompson, the journalist, comes across as a potentially very interesting character. I'm keen to find out what he was doing in Britain when he mainly wrote articles for a New York city newspaper. There's something a bit creepy about a man who studies people, even if it is for the purpose of writing. I suppose the fact that he's open about it takes the rough edges off. I suspect Henry has already developed a dislike of Arthur - is Alice's "inappropriate" behavour what he wanted to talk to her about?

So, the ship has sailed. This was another fantastic chapter; your characters are really beginning to come to life, and I'm intrigued to find out what other background stories are yet to be revealed. Thank you so much for the swap!

Brax X



Name: AbraxanUnicorn (Signed) · Date: 17 May 2017 04:40 PM · Chapter: Two

Hello, lovely! I'm here to continue from where I left off yesterday :) I love this descriptive chapter, which sets the scene beautifully for the voyage across the Atlantic, although the exit from Southampton docks was not without its drama. Two of the main sets of characters are starting to develop really nicely, and I'm getting a real picture in my head of Alice/Henry and Elizabeth/Thomas. I wonder whether there will be some interaction between the protagonistic parties, or whether the stories will be kept essentially separate? I'm looking forward to finding out.

Poor Alice; I really understand her woes here, even if Henry can't. Having to take care of her grandmother is NOT the same as simply visiting her! Depending on how old Alice is (I can't remember if this has been stated yet or not, apologies if I've missed it somewhere), and how ill her grandmother is, this could prove a very challenging and unpleasant "holiday" for Alice. Henry's pride in being part of the Titanic's maiden voyage is understandable; I bet most passengers on that ship felt the same - many would have been eagerly thinking of how good this would be to boast about when the ship docked in New York. :(

I love the descriptions of the ship through Alice's eyes in Southampton, and the near-miss with the New York - did the passengers know the name of the boat they nearly hit?

My apologies whilst reviewing Ch 1 - I think I got it completely wrong regarding which passengers were 1st class and which were 2nd (I'm so sorry!).

I had a terrible sense of impending doom strike when I read Elizabeth's thoughts of how much she was looking forward to starting her new life as Thomas's wife. My blood ran cold for a moment, and I'm a little fearful that only one of the happy couple will make it :/

Considering that Elizabeth's and Thomas's marriage was "engineered", as was typical of matchmaking in high society back in the early part of the 20th Century, they do seem to get on quite well and seem to share a rapport, even if Elizabeth is slightly more open and generous with her affection than Thomas.

OMG, I am really loving this story so far! You are such a talented writer to bring these scenes to life the way that you do, and your writing has such an easy elegance to it; it makes each chapter such a pleasure to read and review.

I'll be back very soon!

Brax X



Name: AbraxanUnicorn (Signed) · Date: 16 May 2017 03:01 PM · Chapter: One

Hello lovely! I'm stopping by because a/ I've been meaning to read this story for absolutely aaaages now, and b/ it's been nominated for FROGS. I am so pleased that I've finally got around to starting this; I've heard so many amazing things about this story!

I absolutely adore that it's original fiction, and I'm so impressed with your skills at crafting it virtually from scratch. Secondly, I used to be utterly obsessed with anything Titanic-related (not necessarily the 1997 film, but more the actual ship and factual events taking place). My obsession is a bit more controllable these days, but it's still there. Therefore, I'm massvely excited to read this story!

The first chapter, set at the moment when the ship strikes the berg, fills me with sadness for all those that didn't make it safely to dry land. It's such a poignant moment. I love how you've given us a snapshot of three different scenarios aboard the famous ship; Alice, returning to her cabin on C-deck is obviously one who hails from the upper classes of society. I wonder where she's been, so late at night? Lucy, Eva and Josephine are travelling in steerage, I'm guessing, and Elizabeth and Thomas sound very representative of the middle-class component. With so few words in this chapter, you've really beautifully captured the scenes from several different viewpoints. I'm already really worried for Lucy et al in this, as most of steerage, especially the men, didn't make it out alive :(

I'm so sorry it took me so long before I started to read this, more for my own regret really, because this has been AMAZING so far, and although I have quite a few stories on my list for FROGS reading, I'll be sure to return to this one soon. Part of me cannot wait to find out what happens, and the other part of me is dreading it.

Wonderfully written, as all your stories are!

Brax X



Name: manno-malfoy (Signed) · Date: 09 May 2017 07:50 PM · Chapter: Eight

Ah, finally, the chapter I had been waiting for. I managed to to get a glimpse of the author note on this chapter the first time I saw it, which is why I did have my eye out for any signs from the beginning and why I started to have my doubts about Thomas soon enough. 

 

I'm glad we finally got to see so much of Elizabeth and figure out her personality, albeit under testing circumstances, but still... I was very excited to see her develop. I'm glad that she turned out not to be the kind of wife who keeps questioning her instincts or chooses to live in denial and making irrational excuses just to keep things going. Although her initial reaction was indeed not the absolute best, given the circumstances and social views back then, it came off as realistic and believable. And once they were past that and talking about it, to me, that was the epitome of a healthy relationship in the making, complex as it may be because of Thomas's sexuality. I mean, they properly TALKED about this, and this is something a lot of couples fail to do with much simpler issues, so I was, overall proud of the two of them.

The moment when Thomas asked if she will ever accept him hurt me straight in the heart. While I don't think he should be going around fraternising or flirting with anyone other than his wife, it was just so hard to see that we he cared about the most was approval, and that his wife wasn't going to loathe him or be digusted with him just because of his sexuality. Which brings me to my next point which is that, the way I read it, Thomas seemed rather relieved (to me) that Elizabeth had found out. And it works especially in his favour because it's very unlikely that Elizabeth will go oust him (based on things so ar anyway). So he might actually be able to talk to her about things, given that she does eventually come to accept him, of course.

 

Once again, another stunning chapter. And I'd say you've handled such a delicate moment/subject very well! 



Name: manno-malfoy (Signed) · Date: 09 May 2017 02:40 PM · Chapter: Seven

A chapter, all for Alice?! No, wait, a chapter where she's a rebellious star? You have no idea how happy this chapter made me.

 

 I like that at first she did what Henry asked for but did it haphazardly and that was her way of revolting against what I would say is Henry's tyranny. I mean what does he do for her so that she has to follow his every command? What does she owe him for? I may get it when parents behave like that because they believe you owe them your life. But siblings? Especially horrid ones? What do they bring to the table?

 

But then, she decides to smoke to spite Henry. And while it is my duty to disapprove of smoking as a habit, I had my fist triumphantly up in the air when Henry catches her on the deck. I do wonder whether she does things because she wants to or just to challenge social standards. I do feel that it is the latter, and I wish it were the prior, but I fully understand that she's just finding pleasure in these small rebellions as there is little else that she could do.

 

And yes, Henry, the way to make someone stop smoking is by smoking instead of them. Well done, Henry. You seem like you really know how to handle things.

 

I hope it's okay that I berated one of your characters, but I strongly think he deserved it. 



Name: manno-malfoy (Signed) · Date: 09 May 2017 07:26 AM · Chapter: Six

Hello again! Hope you're not tired of me yet.

 

I really loved reading the scene where Elizabeth was getting all dressed up. Your use of details in describing the process was exquisite and I could practically see her in all her glory. It was such a lovely touch. How she blushes when her husband compliments and how adorable they both are goes to show how it's still so early in the relationship for these two, but I can feel chaos coming on. 

 

 After the previous chapter with Lucy and Alice, I was starting to feel that perhaps Elizabeth is the one I know the least about because all we've seen of her so far are these cute moments with her husband, but not much to show what she believes in or what sort of person she is. I do love seeing the ship and it's luxuries and , of course, the first class occupants through her eyes. I've had a few things in mind for what's up with Thomas and why he seems so distracted and even detached at times. But I will not draw any conclusions yet just based on this chapter. But I'm glad that we're beginning to see some sort of premise for Elizabeth and Thomas's story. 

 

Lucy and Joseph are so adorable, and they bring me so much joy. I loved seeing a role for Oscar because what is the point of having younger siblings if they're not going to tease you about every breath you take --let alone talking to a boy. I do wonder if Oscar is going to relay anything about it to their parents.

 

  I enjoyed the twist on the 'I like this song' cliche because she really wasn't trying to insinuate anything, she was just picking a neutral topic so their siblings wouldn't have anything else to nag them about. It was also nice to see Joseph get a little bit flustered in the moment as well. Overall, the scene was written very well and the vibrancy and vivaciousness of the room came through.

 

And I would say that alternating between Elizabeth and Lucy was a good decision. Not because it makes the chapter not feel as heavy/long (because I don't think it would've been so either way), but because it does imply passage of time without making it dreary, especially since you've matched up the time of Lucy's curfew and the time when Elizabeth started to fret about how late Thomas was. It made it feel like we're on the ship with them and looking at different rooms/aspects of it as the day goes on, almost like a movie. Am I making any sense?

 

Anyway, on to the next chapter!




Name: manno-malfoy (Signed) · Date: 08 May 2017 12:45 AM · Chapter: Five

I'm back again for more, but also for the BVB. 

 

As a passionat foodie, I really am enjoying the spotlight you have on food in the story. It's such an important part of any voyage/trip but more so when it's on a cruise/ship because you don't have any other options. It was also great to see the contrast between the way Elizabeth (in the previous chapter) and Lucy approached food. Where Elizabeth has an image to keep up and doesn't want people to judge her for eating too much, Lucy was just indulging and impressed with her meal, simple as it may have been. It was also interesting to see the how there were less social constraints on Lucy, and she could go take a walk with a stranger who is also a boy (the scandal!), as opposed to Alice who basically got chastised by Henry for what I can't consider anything more than breathing next to a man. 

 

 I loved the detail about her picking at her cuticles since I do that too. Mostly during conversations with people I don't know quite well. It felt very relatable. 

 

 I feel like I've said this in every review so far, but I LOVE ALICE. And she's an absolute star in this chapter. It's befuddling but not surprising that even a man like Arthur who apparenty is passionate about social justice and the discrepancies between social classes hadn't thought about the divide between genders. And that is very realistic and goes to show how much people were used to the situation that they failed to see the issue with it unless someone bluntly ponted it out. And even then, they would try to argue and rationalise.

 

Even though it was a very platonic exchange, I was on the edge of my seat, a wide smile on my face as Alice navigated this conversation. And she may have lost the chess game, but she definitely cornered him into conceding to her points. Which I suppose is a difficult thing for a man to do, regardless of his views on women's liberation. 

 

I'm so glad to see that you're going to be tackling such important issues that existed at the time through your characters! I feel that it adds a lot to the narrative already. The story is still as engaging as ever, and definitely getting more interesting as we progress. Can't wait to see what else you've got!

 



Name: manno-malfoy (Signed) · Date: 06 May 2017 11:42 PM · Chapter: Four

 Hey there, I'm finally back, but this time for the BVB. I'm so eager to sink back into this stunning story. 

 Right of the bat, I admired how you started this chapter by discussing mannerisms at that time. It was such an amusing opening, and it made your character feel much more real and relatable. I can't even begin to imagine how difficult surviving an 11-course meal every day would be, especially when there were people with nothing better to do than nitpick on things like someone's personal eating habits. How rude.

 

 I've got to admit that reading that bit where Elizabeth and the ladies were gossiping and making plans for when the voyage filled me with this odd, sad feeling because I know they're not gonna get to any of it. Knowing how things would end (or at least the big picture of it) is the woe but also the charm of historical fiction, and part of why I enjoy it so much.

 

 I also really liked the interaction between Elizabeth and her husband. The portrayal of tenderness, nervousness, and uncertainty went really well to give us a glimpse at the sort of relationship these two newly-weds share. And because they're newly-weds, all of this nervousness makes sense. And I'm eager to see how their relationship progresses as the story goes. 

 

 Threatening women with their reputation and its capability to ruin them... Heh, I'm finding it very difficult to find one thing to like about Henry. I just loathe how patronising he is when he's talking to Alice, but I can't help but admire how that brings out a more fierce side to her. It was great to see her stand by her actions and address the hypocrisy of society at the time. I love this girl!

 

 This was, once again, a lovely chapter. You do an amazing job using words to set the mood and the scene just enough to take me there in that fancy, vintage headspace. And I enjoy that immensely! Cannot wait to read more of this soon!

 



Author's Response:

Sink back into the story?  I see what you did there! :) I am so glad that you are back and that you are enjoying it.  Feedback past the first couple chapters is sparse so it means a lot to me.  I had a similar reaction to you when I found out about the 11 courses but, apparently, that was normal.  I am also glad to hear that Henry is annoying you, as weird as that sounds.  Thank you so much! :)



Name: Jen25 (Signed) · Date: 02 May 2017 05:46 PM · Chapter: One

Hello!

I'm here for your review for the Titanic Challenge. Sorry I'm late! I'm loving this story so far! The characterizations mixed with historical fact is really great. The way the relationships are protrayed are awesome, too. Keep it up! :D

-Jen



Author's Response:

Thank you! No worries about being late!  I'm glad that you have started and hope you continue! :) Thanks for the challenge, it really pushed me out of my comfort zone with sharing an original fic.



Name: sunshinedaisieswindmills (Signed) · Date: 09 Apr 2017 01:07 PM · Chapter: One

HELLO THERE!

I’ve been meaning to check out this story for ages, so I’m glad CTF finally gave me the push to do it! Now that I’m here I’m wondering why on earth it took me so long to get here! This story has like, all of my favorite things, history, multiple intertwining stories, realistic stories that have been thoroughly researched, THE STORIES TAKING PLACE IN THE DIFFERENT CLASSES!!!!! It’s like this was designed for me!

 

So this is an excellent beginning. I was not at all expecting you to start right when the ship hit the iceberg, so you’ve already drawn me in and got me hooked in where these characters are going to end up. (I’m hoping none of them end up at the bottom of the sea, but something tells me that might be a pipe dream.) That said, I’m also interested in how these ladies got on to the titanic in the first place. Why was Alice out by herself in the middle of the night? How long has Lucy been taking care of her sisters like she does? Are Elizabeth and Thomas really in love, or was this more of a marriage of convenience? I WANNA KNOW ALL OF THE THINGS. It’s very impressive that you can stir up such interest in your characters in so few words. Because really, we’ve only been given a little blip about each woman, but you chose their introductory scenes so well, I think it gave us a really solid idea of the three characters. You can tell Lucy is kind and motherly (did she lose her mother? Is she the oldest? I WANT TO KNOW MORE ABOUT LUCY), Alice seems to be a bit of an adventurer (if maybe a little nervous), and Elizabeth seems to be a little spoiled without coming across as a total brat. I’m so looking forward to reading the rest of this story! <3



Author's Response:

Hello Katie!  I'm glad that the first chapter got you interested.  And you have no idea how pleased I am that you are enjoying my attempt at a 3 strand, different versions of the same experience thing.  And something historical.  No wonder I was so intrigued by In Fields of Poppies, it is clearly my cup of tea.  This review has left me smiling so thank you so much for leaving it and I'm sorry it has taken me so long to respond!



Name: manno-malfoy (Signed) · Date: 03 Apr 2017 09:50 PM · Chapter: Three

Hey there again! I'm still here, enjoying this! 

 It was nice to finally get properly introduced to your third leading. I had never known before that they really checked third class passengers for lice. It's such an interesting fact. I'm gonna keep an eye out for more of those as I go on.

 I stand by my opinion that I like Alice. Her discomfort/uncertainty during her interaction with Arthur is a characterestic I can strongly relate to. I do like her voice a lot (supressed as it may be thus far). And I have a feeling I'm going to have many issues with her brother. Although I'm not sure how much one can blame men of that age for the misconceptions they were brought up with. But still, that doesn't change the fact that he could possibly be a nuance for the character I like. 

 Now that I know a little bit more about each of the girls, I can't wait to see what you bring upon them next. 



Author's Response:

I feel like I am repeating myself a lot but thank you for giving this story a chance.  It is the first time I have really shared original fiction so knowing that somebody is a) willing reading and b) enjoying it truly does mean a lot.  I hope you don't mind what I have in store for all of them.  Thankfully, there will be no more lice checks (eww, I know).  :)



Name: manno-malfoy (Signed) · Date: 02 Apr 2017 08:40 PM · Chapter: Two

I can't help but marvel at how well-researched this story seems to be. And with the great writing style, it all feels rather authentic. Which I suppose is one of the most important thing for a story like this one. So I commend you on that.

I enjoyed how you introduced us to your characters in bite-sized bits of information in between dialogue, mentioned at relevant points. So it didn't feel as though I was having it all being thrown at me (I hate it when that happens), but instead as though I was properly getting to know them. 

 At the moment, I'm mostly excited about Alice's part of the story. Her thoughts on how her parents treated her very differently from her brother make me wonder if this will bring on some conflict between the two of them. 

We didn't get as much time with Elisabeth, so I haven't formed any opinions about her and Thomas yet, but I'd love to see how their relationship develops as the story goes on, and I suppose what happens to them that fateful night of the crash. 

 The story overall, so far anyway, is giving me Downton Abbey vibes, which I'm enjoying very much. And I'm looking forward to seeing the plot thicken.



Author's Response:

This hhas left a smile on my face.  I have a soft spot for Alice myself, despite the fact that she can be a bit snarky.  Or maybe I like her *because* she is snarky, if I'm honest.  And ding ding ding on the conflict.  I'm so glad you continued this.  Thanks and hope to see you again!



Name: manno-malfoy (Signed) · Date: 02 Apr 2017 06:47 PM · Chapter: One

Hello there! I have seen your story on the forums today and I decided to swing by because it sounded very intersting. 

And it is! I was actually surprised that you started the story off the night the Titanic hit the iceberg, so I'm quite intrigued to see where you take it next. From what I've seen so far, I really like the way you write. The quick glimpses at who I assume are your leading ladies have successfully left me wanting more.

So I will go ahead and do just that! 



Author's Response:

Thank you for reviewing!  I'm always excited when somebody stumbles across one of my stories when it is not the result of a swap or challenge.  I hope you enjoy the rest and who you have correctly dubbed the leading ladies. :)



Name: victoria_anne (Signed) · Date: 01 Apr 2017 03:41 PM · Chapter: Two

Ah ha! I was hoping this would happen - that you'd start with a bang (literally) and then take us back to the events leading up. Excellent!

 

It really is quite eerie (and bittersweet?) to read about the circumstances that got Alice and Henry onto the ship, and how excited Henry is, when I know what's going to happen :( I love your historical accuracy too, like Alice not being listened to.

 

The details of the clothing is amazing. You've really put a lot of thought and research into this, and it pays off. I feel completely transported to 1912. Also, as the ship set off, I had the music from the movie in my head and it added to the perfection.

 

Again, I love that we have a different class of characters. It makes for a great reading experience, and I never tire of hearing about the class differences on the ship. Also, I never knew about Titanic nearly hitting another ship, so there you go! I'm learning! :D

 

Great work again, can't wait to see where it goes!



Author's Response:

Thank you for your feedback on the time jump.  I was hoping people wouldn't be upset with being shoved back to the first part of the journey after starting with so much action and drama.  Haha I'm glad you are learning some things.  There really were so many coincidences and bad omens, if you believe in that sort of thing.  Thank you for continuing. :)



Name: victoria_anne (Signed) · Date: 01 Apr 2017 03:23 PM · Chapter: One

Hello!

 

This sounds amazing! How did I not see this before?! I love the Titanic too, and I'm so excited about reading something original. I think I remember you voicing your doubts over sharing, and can I just say I'm so proud and grateful that you did. This seems like a wonderful start to a great story, and as someone who is getting ready to post original works, I know about the nerves!

 

Anywho, onto the review.

 

I love that we'll be following the experiences of three different women in different circumstances. And the fact that you start with the disasters makes me think it will be rather fast paced, and I am so ready :D This chapter has sucked me in already, I have to know what happens next! More about these ladies! Will they all survive?!

 

Wonderful work, my dear!



Author's Response:

Thank you for the encouragement! It is nice that you are interested in the topic, so hopefully the rest of the story will be enjoyable.  Thank you again!



Name: MalfoysAngel (Signed) · Date: 27 Feb 2017 04:35 PM · Chapter: One

Okay so Titanic is my favorite movie and since I was 7, I have wanted to learn as much as I can about it so the fact that you're writing an OF Titanic fic is amazing in itself. 

That being said, I loved this introduction to the characters and the way they reacted the moment the ship hit the iceberg. I would have liked to see a crew member's reaction but that's just me. 

Overall I loved this chapter and I can't wait for the next update. 

 

Peace, Love, and Tacos

 

Tasha



Author's Response:

Hi Tasha!  As I said, I was 7 too when I became fascinated by the Titanic so we are kindred spirits in that sense.  I'm glad you like it so far, even though it's short. :) The next chapter is already in the queue so hopefully it's up soon.



Name: ShazaLupin (Signed) · Date: 27 Feb 2017 03:57 PM · Chapter: One

Hey there!


So I should probably start by saying that I am so excited to read this story, I love the titanic and find what happened so interesting! Your summary also makes me think this is going to be a great story!


Anyway, on with reviewing the actual chapter. I like how you’ve set up this chapter, introducing each character at that fatal moment, not that they know it yet. I think you’ve given us enough description to give us an idea about each characters and a little about them but not to much so it's overwhelming and obvious you're introducing them to us, although I still feel like there’s a lot more to learn.


It’s an interesting opening, and each person’s reaction to what happened, and how much they feel, is slightly different depending on where they are, which I also love. It’s a short opening but it’s an intriguing start, and I can’t wait to read more of it!


- Shaza :)



Author's Response:

Thank you so much.  I'm glad to hear that the beginning pulled you in.  The different ways of feeling the disaster is based in fact, so I wanted to show some of that diversity in here.

 

Chapter 2 is in the queue already and gives you a better glimpse into Alice & Elizabeth.  Hope you continue to read. :)



Submit a Review