Login
Reviews For Painful Bliss

Name: StarFeather (Signed) · Date: 04 Aug 2017 03:36 AM · Chapter: Jealousy

Transferred from hpff back to 16th April 2015:

 

*Attack Post for the Capture the Flag #8

 

Reading this chapter, I shouted in my mind, "God save Astoria!" I hope Draco will figure out how he can stand by her soon.

 

It was so sad for her to beg her sister to give a baby to Draco. Of course Draco won't wish such a thing. Readers know how much she loves him, too.

 

I guess you chose the glass to express her broken feeling. The glass cut her flesh and her mind. The glass is the symbol for self-denial. The therapist must understand the darkness in her mind and give her his helping hand. And Draco must praise her in his honest words.

 

At last you let Draco face his agony. I guess it's really hard to keep writing their heavy angst. Readers will be relived to know Blaize understood his friend's mental pain at the end.

 

Kenny



Name: StarFeather (Signed) · Date: 04 Aug 2017 03:34 AM · Chapter: Guidance

Transferred from hpff back to 16th April 2015:

 

*Attack Post for the Capture the Flag Game round 8

 

You yarned the words adroitly,"Failure had always been the biggest problem with Draco", "If you have a problem you need to figure out a way to fix it." And "Marriage isn't to be taken lightly." implys profound meaning. How many people got divorced easily nowadays. Your words means a lot, marriage is to live with the other who has a different point of view. How much you can accept the one's sense of values is important.

 

Then I understood why Astoria had dark circles underneath her eyes. But even if she was desperate, shooting out of her wand at Isabella, who will have a baby, precious life in her belly,isn't acceptable. I wonder you could have chosen the other option, when you tried writing about Astoria's agony. In my opinion, it's too extreme.

 

The most impressive part, I love that, is the blooming yellow peonies behind his father. I had an impression that the yellow flower was the symbol of something, yes, I'll predict their marriage wili go well, I believe Draco can fix it. The yellow healing flower reminded me of the novel 'Lemon' in my country.

 

;)Kenny



Name: StarFeather (Signed) · Date: 04 Aug 2017 03:32 AM · Chapter: Hope

Transferred from hpff back to 16th April 2015:

 

*attack post for the Capture the Flag #8

 

Hi, I came back to your story. :)

 

When I saw the title 'Hope', it made me relived for I wished Draco would be happy, could get Astoria's love again. So I kept reading with much expectation.

 

I can guess the small engagement ring meant a lot to Draco as well as to the other men. A man fears if his woman would say 'yes'. I could really understand his nervous feeling. Many authors have described that but your way to write the very moment was also awesome.

 

You set the past when they loved each other and the present when Draco suffered mental pain dramatically like cinema, by which I could easily imagine his agony.

 

Then your interpretation keeps the tension between them: trickling sweat, the therapist who didn't give him a single helpful answer and Astoria wore her heavy blue dress robes, large sunglasses and ridiculous brown floppy hat like she tried to shutter her emotion against Draco.

 

I guess his childish immaturity prevented him from going to the therapy session, which made Astoria more irritated. I understand her feeling. The irresolute man sometimes let a woman unhappy. But a man needs her generosity, the way to fix their conflict is just smiling. And I wonder if you have had a smiliar experince to this.

 

And Astoria removed the ring from her finger? You kept us in suspense again. Please let Draco take a breath. Only the good memory you repeated is cruel for him.

 

Wheew..I tried leaving the longer review. It took more than an hour for me to compose the sentences.

 

;) Kenny



Name: StarFeather (Signed) · Date: 04 Aug 2017 03:14 AM · Chapter: Love, Part 2

Transferred from hpff back to 15th April 2015:

 

*Jail Break Post for the Capture the Flag #8

 

Hi,I've read Chapter 1& 2 and I came here. Your story is one of the addictive stories.

 

Despise, upset, misunderstanding, broken heart, you set their marriage as a happy one at the frist stage, then you planted a disaster. Nice plot! I'm very impressed.

 

Draco can't forget the day he fell in love with her. Astoria can't accept him at all for her reasons. So sad.

 

Hunger for love, emptiness and pain; Hatred, disgust and no respect.

 

Short time calmness, kissing gently and trap; Scream, escape and refusal.

 

Readers wonder where will their love be settled?

 

Kenny



Name: Vilja (Signed) · Date: 12 Jun 2017 07:29 AM · Chapter: Beginnings

** Transfered from HPFF **

 

Hi, I came to find you from HPFT review tag, but at the end I'm glad I did :)

I liked how your start the story with describing someone's feelings, we know we are after the war, we know he is twenty-two, and just at the right time when we start guessing, you reveal that it's Draco Malfoy.

In general I like stories that cover the tima after the war, we know so little about it, as after book 7 JKR just jumped to CC. So I'm glad you are covering it. Also as a general comment I like that you make romance sound realistic. The way you describe people, the way you put their thoughts, it all makes sense, it's just so normal that one can easily believe it's happening.



Name: sunshinedaisieswindmills (Signed) · Date: 12 Jun 2017 12:18 AM · Chapter: Beginnings

Oh my goodness, that was lovely! I'm not a huge fan of Draco, but I think you did a really great job of making him sympathetic and likable while still being true to his character. It's pretty hard to make me like Draco, so I think you've done a great job! 

I'm already so interested in this relationship and the future of Draco and Astoria. The summary makes it seem like they don't exactly have a happy ending, so I'm really looking forward to reading the rest of this! 

Your writing here is just beautiful. I really liked the way it seemed a bit distant, as it matched the way Draco seemed to be feeling at the time. This chapter seemed to start off a bit hazy, and then come into focus when Draco met Astoria. I also loved that you focused so much on Astoria's flaws. So often you read stories that are like, SHE'S SO BEAUTIFUL OMG I LOVE HER and that's not realistic or interesting. Here you've presented an absolutely normal woman, and Draco is captivated by her almost because of her normality. It's a really interesting beginning to this story. It's sweet to see Draco like that, and I'm a little disappointed that it seems the rest of the story will be so sad. 

Great story!

katie.

Hufflepuff CtF- transferred for final exams!



Name: nott theodore (Signed) · Date: 13 May 2017 05:30 PM · Chapter: Beginnings

Deeds!  

 

Can I just say how difficult it is to choose something to read on your author's page?  You've got so many wonderful stories and I want to read everything, but unfortunately I don't have time to get to everything yet and since this is nominated for the awards, I thought I'd pick this first.

 

I know this is technically the prologue to the novel, but I love this story so much already, and I'm wondering why I've not read it before.  Your style is so easy to read and drew me in completely.  I wanted to know more about your Draco from the first lines of this chapter and now I want to read on and find out more about him and Astoria and their life together.

 

The opening of this was so intriguing!  I really liked the fact that you didn't absolve Draco of what he's done during the war and that he couldn't forget all of those things either, and even though his parents try and get him to start a new life and move on from what's happened, he doesn't find it quite as easy as they seem to.  It fits so well with his character and makes for a really interesting portrayal of him - one that I'm probably more sympathetic with than I might be in other circumstances.

 

There was a really intriguing sense of detachment here too.  Almost like Draco felt like he was on the outside looking into his life - the way that he's got this job that he enjoys but it's not enough, and there's still something missing from his life and he doesn't feel whole.  That slowly started to disappear as he got drawn into the date with Astoria and I loved the way that you managed to capture that sense.

 

I really loved the way that Astoria wasn't this incredible beauty who just blew Draco away from the first time he saw her.  It's so much more realistic to read a romance in which he finds her attractive because she's not entirely perfect.  It was so interesting to see the way that he was drawn to her and was surprised, in a way, to find himself wanting to see her again when he's felt empty and disconnected from people in recent years.  

 

Also it's only a little detail, but I love the way that you've made Blaise his best friend!  Crabbe and Goyle always seem more like henchmen to me rather than actual friends who Draco can talk to, and I'm glad that he's got Blaise in this story and someone he wants to share good news with!

 

Sian :)



Name: quill2parchment (Signed) · Date: 03 Feb 2017 07:46 PM · Chapter: Love, Part 1

I like where this is going! Very intriguing! 



Author's Response:

Glad you think so! Thanks so much for the review. I hope you stick around! 



Submit a Review