Login
Reviews For Love, Not War

Name: Nix (Signed) · Date: 05 May 2018 04:11 AM · [Report This]
Story:Love, Not War Chapter: Captive

Oh my gosh, they kidnapped her! Oh no! What are they going to do!? I liked how civil Tonks was with Draco, maybe she doesn't think as badly of him as he thinks she does. Although you would think the Burrow would be protected from any attack on the house, not just the death eaters and Voldemort? Or maybe only Order members could attack the house? As Percy was never an actual member? But he is related to the Weasleys by blood... hmm. I don't know.

 

Well, this is getting interesting. I'm curious to see how Lucius is going to help her. Of course, Draco warned Roxi of Lucius because he doesn't know Lucius is the one who wrote the letter to the Weasleys and supplied them with the money to pay Saleena. Hopefully all goes well. Very curious to read on.

 

Great chapter, Deana!

xxNix

 



Name: Nix (Signed) · Date: 03 May 2018 04:22 PM · [Report This]
Story:Love, Not War Chapter: Total Strangers

Hey! I am offically caught up on reviewing all the chapters I previously read! 

 

This chapter was super interesting. I was excited to see Roxi and Draco finally interacting. I'm glad that they're managing to get along. I'm curious to know more about Roxi and what she's been through. It's must be hard for her being away from her dad and with all this stuff going on that she just became a part of.

 

I can kind of see why these two would be drawn to each other. Obviously chemistry probably has a lot to do with it. But they really do have a lot in common, I think. They're both outsiders in this new group they've joined, both not exactly trusted by everyone else in the group. They both seem very loyal and caring when it comes to those they care about, they both have had strong loving relationships with one of their parents. They're both kind of awkward and abrupt in their dealings with people. And of course, they both want to help defeat Voldemort. I'm really curious to see where they both go from here.

 

But first, what's gonna happen with Voldmort at their door! Roxi might just be getting her wish a lot sooner than she expected. And poor Draco? What is he going to do!?

 

Great chapter! I can't wait to read on to find out what happens!

xxNix



Name: Nix (Signed) · Date: 02 May 2018 03:36 AM · [Report This]
Story:Love, Not War Chapter: An Explination

Hey again! I'm super glad Draco and Saleena separated on good terms. Saleena knows now everything that happened to Draco, and who exactly did most of it. I know I said I suspected Percy from the beginning but part of me can't believe he'd be so evil! It's sad Saleena and Draco have to say goodbye now though when she's the only one who truly cares for him, but it seems like he's beginning to find his place at Arthur and Molly's maybe? I would certainly like to see him continue to help the Order. I'm excited to see what's in store for him.

 

xxNix



Name: Nix (Signed) · Date: 02 May 2018 02:37 AM · [Report This]
Story:Love, Not War Chapter: The Spy

Hey Deana! I read this chapter over a week ago and I've been meaning to review it. I was gonna surprise you with a couple reviews on your birthday and then with work, I just didn't have the time/energy to write up a coherent review. But I'm here now, I think I have another two chapters that I've read and need to review and then I can continue to read on finally. 

 

I loved this chapter but it's super super sad. I feel bad for Draco because he really seems to care for the Weasleys now and doesn't want to hurt them but he knows the information he's about to tell them will. I'm really glad Molly sort of figured it out on her own though before Draco said Percy's name. And poor Arthur to realize he's been the one telling Percy everything about the Order and that's why Voldemort's always been a step ahead of them. He really should have been more careful considering what they're doing is supposed to be top secret. But I guess I understand that he just wanted his son back, wanted him to come home, etc.

 

I never trusted Percy for a second and I'm glad it's finally known he's the spy, maybe now the Order can finally be one to surprise Voldemort. 

 

And I'm glad McGonagall finally aired out her own feelings with the Order members, making sure they still trusted her and weren't plotting anything behind her back. If you're going to lead, you need to know you can trust the people behind you to back you up. 

 

Again, I loved this chapter. Onto the next one now!

xxNix



Name: Felpata_Lupin (Signed) · Date: 25 Apr 2018 08:08 AM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:Love, Not War Chapter: A Drop of Veritaserum

Happy birthday, Deana!!! :D

 

Usually I'm so bad at leaving birthday reviews, but since I've been away from this story for so long, I thought I could as well profit... :P (Btw, stop by my review thread sometime? So I remember to come back?)

 

Oh, wow... that was some emotional stuff... poor Saleena... McGonagall really pushed her quite a bit, didn't she? But I guess in time of war it's necessary...

 

Also, can I say that I felt sort of bad for the poor Gypsy male children? And I'm curious, how do marriages work? Saleena mentions living with her parents for a while in Grimmauld Place, before they divorced and she followed her Dad to France... so do Gypsies find men to reproduce and then leave them when their children are old enough? I sort of thought that they lived in some secluded place away from the rest of the people, too, but maybe I got it all wrong and they just mix with everyone else? I have questions... In any case, this is fascinating and I would really like to know more about how Gypsy society works.

 

Can I just mention how much I love Ron and Hermione being Ron and Hermione? :P That little comment of Ron's about not being scared of girls and then cowering from Hermione's wand a second later... Ah, I love it! Go, Hermione! Show him what women can do! :P And also, I loved the way he smiled at her getting infervorated at the way the Ministry treats all magical creatures (which is absolutely scandalous, btw)

 

I'm worried about Saleena and how her mission will play out. It must be so hard for her, but I understand how it is important for the Order not to let the Clan into Voldemort's hands. Why would they even think of joining him, anyway? Like Harry said, aren't they a matriarchal society? Shouldn't they be repulsed by someone like him?

 

This was a lovely chapter as always, my dear. Much love, and happy birthday again!

 

Chiara



Name: Nix (Signed) · Date: 24 Apr 2018 04:21 AM · [Report This]
Story:Love, Not War Chapter: False Accusations

This chapter was super exciting! Draco’s getting better, and walking! Saleena’s about to leave. Draco and Roxi have had a staring contest, lol. I’m very curious to learn more about her and see her and Draco interact.

 

Man, things certainly escalated quickly. Everyone was clearly quick to attack Saleena, Roxi, and of course Draco, but of course a riff over Draco was to be expected. Poor Neville, clearly drew the short stick, although I have to wonder what happened to Seamus. Is he dead? Did he abandon Neville? Was he taken and kept as prisoner? Fred and George were also very quick to point fingers, bet they are not going to like it when they find out who the spy really is. Poor Molly and Artthur have no idea... 

 

Also, Draco is was super fierce in this chapter, taking control of the meeting like that when everyone was fighting. So proud of him for standing up for himself, and the new girls like that.

 

This was an awesome chapter! I really want to read on but I should really be sleeping since I have to be up for a long day of work in less than six hours, but I will be back!

 

xxNix

 



Name: Nix (Signed) · Date: 23 Apr 2018 08:10 PM · [Report This]
Story:Love, Not War Chapter: A Drop of Veritaserum

Well, I guess we should have seen that coming. McGonagall was going to find out one way or another. She did technically keep her promise, since she didn't know she was asking about Saleena's family when she questioned her about the gypsies. And then the Veritaserum didn't help matters for Saleena. But as much as Saleena doesn't want to return home, she's gonna have to play her part to help the Order defeat Voldemort. Of course, if she does return home then those who've agreed to join Voldemort might tell him about her return, and that could put her in danger. But at least now the Order is one step ahead of Voldemort because they have the Gypsy queen's heir on their side. Super curious to see what happens next!

 

Great chapter!

xxNix



Name: Nix (Signed) · Date: 16 Apr 2018 03:43 PM · [Report This]
Story:Love, Not War Chapter: Trustworthy

Poor Draco, he just needs someone to cut him at break at this point. And his relationship with Saleena is very cute. Of course, he can't tell her who the spy is when he's living under the roof of the parents of the spy... and they don't even know it yet. I'm so worried for when that finally does happen, poor Molly. I just don't get why Percy would do something like that. But this chapter isn't about him, so moving on...

 

The whole thing with Tonks and Remus was pretty crazy. I can't believe Tonks thinks the Minister is trying to replace her, clearly he must trust her if he wants her to mentor this new Auror. I'm really excited to meet her. And she's another metamorphogus!? That's so cool! 

 

Saleena meeting McGonagall was very interesting as well. I wish she would stop hiding her Gypsy past, it's gonna come out eventually. Especially when they now know that Voldemort is bringing in Gypsies for questioning. And then maybe we can learn more about these Gypies. Also wandless magic? What???

 

I'm really curious to see what happens when Saleena goes under Veritaserum. I wonder what she's going to say, and what she's going to say that she didn't want to say. I'm also excited to meet the new Auror so I will definitely be reading on soon.

 

Great chapter!

xxNix



Name: Nix (Signed) · Date: 15 Apr 2018 02:41 PM · [Report This]
Story:Love, Not War Chapter: Under Arrest

Hey, Roxy! Trying to catch up with Book Club. Anyway, I loved this chapter! I loved how that whole time Ron and Harry were upstairs talking to Draco, Molly and Hermione are just downstairs, rolling their eyes at all the yelling and whatnot, knowing they have to sort out their issues on their own. I like that Hermione is being more mature about the Draco thing than Ron, but understand why she can't see him right now. And yeah, the Minister showed up quick... and, I'm just gonna skip to it, I can't believe Percy is the spy for the Dark Lord!!! What!? Like does he hate his family that much? Does he want to gain power and recognition so much that he'd join the Death Eaters? I can't believe it. And he imperio'd his own father! What a jerk! (Keeping it tame there, wanted to say a lot more terrible words). I seriously hope he gets punished for failing to complete his task.

 

But I am super happy the Minister finally saw reason to admit that Draco did save him that night, and that he wouldn't be here if it weren't for him. It was terribly wrong of him to lie about how he thwarted the Lestranges without any warning whatsoever. Draco risked his and his mother's life for that act and he shouldn't be treated like criminal undeserving of a trial or rights. 

 

Anyway, great chapter! I will try to get another round of answers in for Book Club very soon!

xxNix



Name: Nix (Signed) · Date: 14 Apr 2018 04:53 PM · [Report This]
Story:Love, Not War Chapter: Same Side Now

Omg, when I saw that this chapter was 10k+ words I thought there was no way I was gonna get through this chapter in one sitting... and then I did. Well, almost. I took a little break when I got to break near the end of the chapter, but then I came back to finish it before going to bed last night. But other than that, this chapter had me hooked! I'm glad that Harry and Draco were able to kind of sort out their differences for now. Draco's got a long way to go, and he's been through so much. Ron was really annoying in this chapter, I just felt like he was overly redundant, just repeating the same things over and over to keep the fight going. I also wanted him to have a sort of shock when he finally saw Draco, like Harry did, and maybe then he'd realize this wasn't the same person they knew before, but then he didn't. But other than that, I thought this was a really great chapter. I'm super worried about what the Ministry is going to do. They showed up fast! But I guess I'm gonna have to read on to find out!

xxNix 



Name: Nix (Signed) · Date: 07 Apr 2018 03:13 PM · [Report This]
Story:Love, Not War Chapter: Unexpected Visitors

Hey Deana!

 

Wow, this was a long chapter. I managed to finish reading all of it last night but I needed to sleep in order to function well enough to write a review.

 

Anyway, this was a great chapter! Harry, Ron, and Hermione are back! Yay! Just in time to find out who's currently residing at the Burrow, haha. Honestly, I was a little surprised about Harry's reaction, he was so mature compared to Ron and Hermione. Of course, Ron I get. But I thought Hermione was a little overly petty about it... although the line where she says "Oh he's going to need a healer alright" definitely cracked me up. 

 

I also really liked the scene where Saleena talks to Harry about Sirius. That was really sweet, I'm glad there's someone who knows Sirius for who he really was, and never once believed he would do all the terrible things he was blamed for. I feel like Harry will want to get to know Saleena more because of that connection. And she can tell him more about his godfather since most of the people who knew him well are dead now (I don't know if Remus is still alive in this story or not). 

 

And poor Draco, he's been through so much! Honestly I kind of understand where he's coming from, not wanting to stay at Weasleys. Not just because he's hated them and been cruel to them, clearly he knows that and seems to regret it somewhat, but it's really sad that he thinks he doesn't deserve any of their help. Also, he was so brave to disobey Voldemort and warn the Minister of the attack on his life. Although the fact that the Minister responded by putting him at the top of the Most Wanted list with Voldemort and the worst of the death eaters was pretty cruel. He should have given credit where credit was due and then maybe Draco wouldn't have sufferred all of this torture. 

 

Anyway, I certainly hope Draco begins to take Saleena's advice and tries to better himself and also help the Order in defeating Voldemort. I can't wait to see what happens next! This story is so good, seriously.

 

xxNix



Name: Nix (Signed) · Date: 07 Apr 2018 03:51 AM · [Report This]
Story:Love, Not War Chapter: The Healer

Hello! Back to review more of this story! I know I read some of the previous version, although it's been so long I don't remember much, but this is SO different so far, and I really love it. And this was such a curious chapter! I'm very interested in Seleena and her background as a gypsy, and her relationship with her mother and her people, and her gift. I'm assuming the gift is healing related but I'm curious to know just what her abilities are. And why are gypsies outcasts anyway? It's very interesting. Also curious that she looks so young, when she knows Mrs. Black and Sirius. And hasn't seen her mother in 30 years, and is a Healer and Head of her department. So... how old is she? How old was she when she left her mother and the Gypsies? Anyway, onto the next chapter! I can't wait to read more! 

 

xxNix



Name: Nix (Signed) · Date: 04 Apr 2018 01:38 AM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:Love, Not War Chapter: The Letter

Well, I certainly did not see that coming! Draco staying at the Burrow. Lucius begging Arthur to take in his son. That was definitely a surprise. But of course the Weasleys were going to take the boy in, even if he is a Malfoy. They don't let people die if they can help it, they take care of people with no questions asked. Of course, I understand that in this situation they wanted to ask questions, considering they've never gotten on with the Malfoys, and the Malfoys certainly never gave them a kind word before this moment. Of course, I was a little surprised Molly (especially) didn't want to immediately take the boy in and get him warm and feed him, as has always been her way with Harry and the Weasley boys. She's certainly never been the type of person to let someone go hungry. 

Can't wait to see how Draco's reacts to all of this though once he's conscious and getting better! I certainly love the idea of the Malfoys trying to make him a better person, and teaching him how to live without getting what you want whenever you want it. 

xxNix



Name: Nix (Signed) · Date: 04 Apr 2018 12:19 AM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:Love, Not War Chapter: Prolouge: Blessed With a Son

Hey Deana! You’ll be happy to know your story is getting my first very review on HPFT! 

Anyway, this is such an interesting premise! I feel so bad for Lucius, there’s no way he could have known just how far Voldenort would take the deal they made, and of course he had no choice. How could anyone willingly let their firstborn be killed!? And simply for being born, no less! He didn’t know Voldemort would immediately mark the baby a death eater, giving him no choice in the matter! And of course he’d be worried Draco will hate him when he’s older, when he realizes he has no choice in the matter and there’s no way his parents can protect him once he’s of age. 

I’m really curious to see how this story plays out in the upcoming chapters! Great prologue!

xxNix

 

 



Name: justawillowtree (Signed) · Date: 05 Mar 2018 11:56 PM · [Report This]
Story:Love, Not War Chapter: The Messenger

Deana! <3

 

What a wonderfully exciting chapter omg, I had so much fun reading this. I literally have no idea how you manage to consistently churn out chapters that are over six thousand words long (I mean, this one's over nine thousand, which is crazy impressive), so I just want to say that it's really impressive. I struggle to even reach three thousand words on a chapter, so while I was reading this, I was just thinking, "Deana's amazing," hahaha.

 

Okay, onto the juicy stuff!

 

The little interaction at the beginning between Draco and Roxi was very sweet, but it was also misleading because I thought that this chapter would be calm and gentle. WHICH IT MOST DEFINITELY WAS NOT. (I probably should have taken into account the fact that you said you needed to research medical stuff for the ending...lol.)

 

As soon as Theodore Nott stepped into the room, even though I didn't know who he was at first, I was freaking out. You led up to his reveal very nicely, with Draco looking at the mysterious "Healer" and mentally thinking about how strange and out-of-protocol he was acting. And once we discovered that it is Theodore Nott, it was just delightfully creepy, the way you described him (and it was also rather sad, that Voldemort hooked another young eighteen-year-old into his Death Eater cult).

 

I'm really thankful that Draco managed to wake Roxi up, otherwise I really have no idea what would have happened to him. I felt like I was in pain the whole time Theodore was putting pressure on Draco's wounds, goodness. I felt so bad for Draco the whole time omg. Thank goodness for Roxi's presence in the room, and thank goodness for Saleena's vast knowledge of medical matters.

 

There's a hope in me that Theodore Nott will be forced to confront his beliefs and see the errors in his ways, but unfortunately, a change in belief like that is incredibly hard to come by.

 

Before I end this review, I just wanted to compliment you on the research that you did! I think it's admirable that you chose to research the ending, and I could definitely tell that you put work into that! (Though since I'm not knowledgeable about medical matters, I can't say for sure if everything was accurate, but at the very least, it was very evident that you researched the procedure, which I think is really great of you.)

 

Wonderful chapter, Deana! <3

 

~Eva



Name: victoria_anne (Signed) · Date: 04 Mar 2018 03:35 AM · [Report This]
Story:Love, Not War Chapter: The Messenger

Thirsty firsty! Hello, my love!

 

Hospitals scare me enough without having to read about poor Draco's experience! Ahh, how terrifying! He must feel so helpless lying there at the mercy of Nott, completely defenceless! 

 

Argh, Theo! I'm glad he's not a real Healer, haha. I'd hate to have him looking after me! I can't believe this is an induction mission - he's a brand-spanking new Death Eater. Yell out, Draco! Get Roxi's attention! This is too intense for me! I do like the idea of Theo wanting to join when Draco did. I imagine at Hogwarts that Draco must have seemed like such an inspiration to Theo and some of the other Slytherins at the time.

 

Oh no! Not a silencing charm! Maybe Draco can throw a pillow at her instead. OMG reading Saleena yelling at Theo is SO SATISFYING. I love it! Ooh and he could cover his mark. Sneaky, sneaky. Not too sneaky for Saleena though. It's terrifying that even though Theo was caught, he was clever at what he did. I'm on the edge of my seat because I have a feeling he might escape by the end of this chapter, which is terrifying. I can't see how he could get free though so I'll just sit here in suspense until I reach the end!!!

 

Welp, there he goes. HE DISAPPARATED AS STAFF. *sigh* Oh well, I knew it was going to happen haha. He's too sneaky and clever to let himself be caught for long. And honestly, I'm just glad they managed to save Draco! I'm still in suspense though. Theo could probably come back at any time! 

 

Excellent and stunning chapter, Deana! As always, I can't wait for more!!!



Name: Acid Pop (Anonymous) · Date: 26 Feb 2018 12:05 AM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:Love, Not War Chapter: Unexpected Visitors

DAMN this was an emotional chapter! Okay first things first, I was really excited to see Harry, Hermione, and Ron stopping by the Weasleys—I think that that’s something I always wished JKR would’ve included in the books, since I feel like all three would have attempted at some point to make some contact with people are like parents to them (or, in Ron’s case, actually parents haha). I really thought that each character’s reaction to Draco’s presence was rather natural. I did find it a little odd that Harry seemed to accept it so quick, given his vendetta against Draco in the 6th book—but I think the rationalization that he trusted Arthur’s judgement also makes sense, since I know that Harry respects Arthur greatly. 

 

As much as I liked seeing the Golden Trio, my favorite part of the chapter was Draco and Saleena’s conversation. Saleena is a really good friend to Draco—I like that she didn’t sugarcoat anything, but was still clearly sympathetic to Draco. What I love most is your characterization of Draco. I liked that he didn’t support Voldemort, but at the same time, retained that sense of entitled pride that made him reluctant to support the Order too. lots of “Draco joins the Order” fics make his rudeness and arrogance a facade for kinder and more humble behavior, but I’m glad that you didn’t do that and maintained the integrity of his character—because really, Draco did grow up entitled, you know? 

 

I’m looking forward to seeing more of Draco. I think it was a good decision to have this as the first scene where we actually see Draco awake; I have so much sympathy for him at the moment, having seen all the things that led to this moment, and especially having seen Narcissa/Lucius’s love for him.

 

Wonderful chapter! 



Name: Acid Pop (Anonymous) · Date: 24 Feb 2018 03:36 PM · starstarstarstarhalf-star [Report This]
Story:Love, Not War Chapter: The Healer

Hello my dear! Before I start with my review, I just have to mention how gorgeous your chapter images are, like... how are you so talented?! I spent a good five minutes just staring at the beautiful image before starting to read the chapter haha :D 

 

This chapter was super exciting to read! I already like Saleena; she’s an incredibly compelling and likable character. She seems tough and independent; I love how firm she is in her beliefs, in her opppsition to Voldemort despite her clan’s alignment. To me, that’s very brave and makes her all the more admirable. I also think that this’ll make her a really good influence on Draco, persuading him to take the step necessary to leave behind everything he’s ever known to do what’s right and just.

 

I’m very curious about her Gift! You alluded to it many times with a good amount of subtlety and mystery that I’m intrigued but not frustrated by the ambiguity surrounding it at the moment. Also, I liked meeting Kireonna! I liked that, like all the parents in this fic so far, regardless of what alignment she may have with Voldemort, her primary concern was for Saleena’s safety. I do think Saleena was rather cold towards her mother, and I’m wondering if maybe that’ll change later on in the fic?

 

Well done, as always!



Name: Acid Pop (Anonymous) · Date: 24 Feb 2018 03:18 AM · starstarstarstarhalf-star [Report This]
Story:Love, Not War Chapter: The Letter

Hello my dear! Back to leave some more reviews. 

 

I really appreciate this chapter and the focus on Molly and Arthur; they’re so often cast aside as minor characters with no real significance to the plot, but I think that in this chapter, you highlighted how important they are as parental figures and as unfailingly kind people—which is why I admire them so much and why they’re so freaking underrated! 

 

One thing that I really liked about this chapter was the discussion that Molly and Arthur had about taking in Draco—their debate felt so realistically done, and their justifications were completely logical and very in-character. I like that what convinced them to help them in the end was their kindess—even though they dislike Lucius and Narcissa, they recognized that Draco hadn’t been given any choices, that he was just a child. To me that just seems really fitting for the people who took in Harry, no questions asked—seeing only a boy in need of help and some love. 

 

As another note, the letter from Lucius genuinely made me tear up, and actually, made me see some similarities between him and Arthur! Although they come from extremely different backgrounds, Lucius and Arthur both care so much about their children—would do anything for them, in fact. This makes me sympathize with Lucius (never thought I’d write that haha). Really, it takes talent to convince me to be sympathetic of a character I’ve generally strongly disliked. 

 

Super well done, looking forward to reading the next chapter! 



Name: Acid Pop (Anonymous) · Date: 23 Feb 2018 12:42 AM · starstarstarstarhalf-star [Report This]
Story:Love, Not War Chapter: Prolouge: Blessed With a Son

Hi Deana! I'm your Secret Cupid, here to shower you with all the love you deserve on this wonderful story <3 I was really excited to start reading, and this first chapter certainly did not disappoint. One thing that strikes me most about this first chapter was the development of the thematic idea of choice. None of the Malfoys have any choices in their lives; this is, obviously, abundantly clear with Draco, but also with Lucius and Narcissa, who have been trapped in this situation that they're realizing doesn't really benefit them in any way. This thematic idea is obviously so true and a really wonderful presentation of the realities of the Malfoys' role in the Death Eaters, but also helped me sympathize with Lucius and Narcissa more (even though I've always disliked them in the past). 

 

I really appreciated your nuanced characterization of Lucius and Narcissa, Lucius especially; I liked that although he'd made the choice to join the Death Eaters, he acknowledged that this wasn't something that he wanted to put his child through--that he genuinely cared for Draco's well-being. I really loved Lucius's insecurities too about fatherhood; that humanized him in my eyes, made his fallibility really clear, and made me sympathize with him because he obviously repented for this decision he had made. I've always disliked Lucius as a character, and already, in this first chapter, I see a different side to him: the side of the protective father who wants nothing more than to ensure his son's happiness. 

 

I think your characterization of Voldemort was quite accurate. The scene where he branded Draco with the Dark Mark was almost like the scene in Sleeping Beauty where Maleficent casts the curse on Aurora (if I'm remembering my fairytales right, lol). A bit of a strange comparison, but it made me giggle a little :D 

 

Anyway, sorry for the sort of brief review--I'm very excited to read the next chapter! <3



Name: Stella Blue (Signed) · Date: 01 Feb 2018 05:35 AM · [Report This]
Story:Love, Not War Chapter: The Spy

Hey! With the FROGS deadline fast approaching I wanted to make sure I had a chance to reach the point in the story when Roxi was actually introduced, so I didn't review for the interim chapters. But, here we are and so is Roxi and she's just as awesome as I hoped she'd be.

 

I enjoyed the irony that Tonks didn't like her at first, because in a lot of ways they're so similar ability- and personality-wise, from what I can tell so far. They both even have pink hair! :P

 

But, most of this chapter is not about her so instead I will focus on the spy -- and Death Eater -- PERCY. I couldn't believe it! how did it happen? He was always a bit pompous but was never truly cruel - Arthur is right, they raised Percy well, and I just can't figure out how it all went so wrong. What does he possibly see on Voldemort's side that's so appealing to him? Is it the ideology, or just being on the winning side? Aksdjflkasjdlf my heart is kind of broken - and that's nothing to what Molly and Arthur must be going through. I can't even imagine, having to process that depth of betrayal.

 

The scene when Draco tells Molly and Arthur was very well written though. It was so touching how before he said anything he just thanked them for everything they've done and for taking care of him, and apologizing in advance because he really doesn't want to hurt them. And then he can't even bring himself to say it at first. It was all very well done and so believable.

 

it'll be sad to say goodbye to Saleena, as well. I hope she's successful.

 

Great chapter!



Name: Stella Blue (Signed) · Date: 01 Feb 2018 12:21 AM · [Report This]
Story:Love, Not War Chapter: The Healer

The scene between Saleena and her mother is so sad! I wonder what made Saleena leave in the first place and what put her on such bad terms with her mother. When her mother hugged her and Saleena pushed her away, I really felt so bad for Kireona. There is clearly some very intense family history here. Saleena's short temper notwithstanding, it would really suck to have someone come and tell you what to do with your life and try to guilt you into it.

 

There is a lot to be curious about regarding Seleena's history and how she's so well connected with all these high society purebloods like the Blacks and the Malfoys and still seems so adamantly against Voldemort and I'm excited to learn more about her! I'm also really curious about the Gypsy (Romani?) group that Saleena comes from, and this is a really interesting plot as well regarding Voldemort's aims with them - it's quite similar to what happened to the werewolves. Denied freedoms by the Ministry, and Voldemort offers them a way to live in the open again if they join him. There is a lot to be said for coming back to talk to people, if nothing else.

 

Lol, how old does Molly think Healers have to be? If Saleena left her group when she was even just a kid, that was over thirty years ago so she'd be at the very least thirty-five or forty now and that's not too young to be a Healer, I would think?

 

Yikes, it sounds like Draco really has been through a lot, with everything Saleena was able to determine, so it's wonderful that he will have a Healer attending to him who has known him for his whole life. That will probably make things a lot easier, or at least a bit of familiarity for him when he wakes up in the Weasleys' house.

 

This was another wonderful chapter and I'm so interested in finding out more!



Name: Stella Blue (Signed) · Date: 31 Jan 2018 11:48 PM · [Report This]
Story:Love, Not War Chapter: The Letter

The idea of the Burrow being quiet with all the kids moved out is so bizarre, mainly because I just can't imagine it quiet! XD I suppose it quieted down a lot when Fred and George moved out, though, as they must have been the source of 90% of the noise.

 

Omg Narcissa :( That's so sad. Though I find it entirely believable that she would give up her own life for Draco's.  Idk if this is intentional, but I like the parallels this chapter creates between Harry and Draco. I assume the Harry and Draco of your story are just as much enemies as the canon version of them, which makes this parallel all the more interesting, about how both of them now have lost their mother who died to protect them, and they were both hidden away in the last place that anyone would ever find them for safety.

 

I think it says a lot for Lucius as well that he's willing to ask the Weasleys for help. Lucius is a very proud man, and this is him at his most desperate. I'm sure he wouldn't even dream of asking the Weasleys for anything if he weren't so desperate, but here he's begging.

 

Arthur is such a great person. The fact that he seriously considers this request, even though Lucius Malfoy is probably one of his least favorite people in the world for good reason, and the way Lucius has humiliated or insulted the Weasleys in the past - says a lot about Arthur and how good and compassionate of a person he is, to consider what it takes for Lucius to be writing this in the first place, and to put himself in Lucius' shoes.

 

Molly's reaction is very understandable at first - the indignation and her dislike of Lucius first, but upon seeing Draco and also stepping into Lucius' shoes and thinking about what she would do if it were her son in that position, I wasn't surprised that she ultimately conceded to taking him in. The Weasleys really are the best people. They took Harry in when they didn't even have enough money for their own children, after all. Molly and Arthur Weasley are heroes and let no one forget that.

 

So, Draco is staying with the Weasleys. I honestly can't wait to see how this goes when he wakes up...

Great chapter!



Name: Felpata_Lupin (Signed) · Date: 31 Jan 2018 11:48 PM · starstarstarstarhalf-star [Report This]
Story:Love, Not War Chapter: Trustworthy

Hi, Deana!

I'm back here! I hoped to come back sooner but it didn't work out, I'm sorry... :(

There was a lot going on in this chapter... well, more than going on, a lot of talking, but you know what I mean... (maybe? It's past midnight and I should be sleeping and I can't really understand myself, so maybe not...)

Poor Draco, he's been through so much, he's been put through so much stress... I hope he'll manage to get at least a bit of rest now... I'm worried about the confrontation between him and the Weasleys. It will be so hard for him to explain and for them to listen... I wonder how that will go...

Remus and Tonks!!! :D It was so nice to see them, alive, together and mostly happy! They are so cute! I loved their dynamics, Tonks' annoyance and the way Remus tried to make her see reason. That's exactly how I imagine they would work, if they got more time...

Btw, I think I figured out (maybe?) the timeline... this is basically DH time, the difference is that Scrimgeour didn't die, so Voldemort couldn't get over the Ministry completely and so Hogwarts is not in the end of the Death Eaters either... is it more or less like this? And if so, is Dora pregnant right now? (I know, it's a totally random question, but you know I have a love for the Lupins...)

And we get the first glimpse of Roxi! Or at least we are first told that she exists! Sure, Tonks isn't entusiastic of her, but she isn't exactly objective on the matter either... I'm really curious to meet her now.

And then there are the Gypsies... guess you'll tell us more about them later? It's something that makes me really curious and fascinated. Also, I'm wondering what Saleena will do at this point. Will she decide to come back to her people? Will she actually join the Order? And how will McGonagall's questioning work out? It sounds tricky... I mean, if they are going to use Veritaserum... also, I'd like to add, I love the idea that Saleena was so close to Sirius, and that she knew Remus, too. It looked like a sweet reunion. And btw, does she know that Remus is a werewolf? Bet she does.

Okay, I really should sleep now. Maybe I'll be back soon (and if I don't, visit my review thread again. I guess I will be opening it again soon anyway)

Lots of love, dear!

Snowball hug,

Chiara



Name: Stella Blue (Signed) · Date: 31 Jan 2018 11:34 PM · [Report This]
Story:Love, Not War Chapter: Prolouge: Blessed With a Son

Hey hey hey! I'm here for the FROGS! Congrats on being nominated! ♥

 

What a start.. Voldy never did understand love, but he does seem to understand the lengths people will go to for it, and how to manipulate them for that. I can't believe he was going to kill Draco just to punish the Malfoys for deciding to have a baby during the war. Like... dude. Chill. Clearly, (and, unsurprisingly) he's one of those type of leaders who rules through inspiring fear in his followers rather than love. But, I wonder if he realizes that if Lucius can figure out a way out of it, a loophole in the unbreakable vow, then he will take it because he will have no loyalty to Voldemort anymore after this. But I suppose I'm getting ahead of myself.

 

Voldemort there for the birth, like basically worlds worst midwife. I shouldn't be laughing? But I am. XD

 

That's such a horrible situation Lucius finds himself in - the choice between watching his newborn son die or forcing him to follow a path he no longer believes in. As horrible as it is what they've signed Draco up for by agreeing to Voldemorts' terms, I can't possibly see them choosing the other option instead. You write his turmoil over the situation really well. The fact that his greatest fear is that his son will grow up to hate him when he learns what his father has done, that's just so heartbreaking.

 

That Dark Mark though, wow. That's so extreme. But Voldemort is nothing if not extreme.

 

Poor Narcissa. Her emotions are kind of swinging from one extreme to the other in regards to whether Lucius made the right choice, but then again she did just give birth so I can't judge her. She just gave Draco life, and I think she's quite swept up in that, the fact that his life was not taken away minutes afterwards, so it makes sense that it'd take longer for the gravity of Lucius' request to sink in and realize what it means for Draco. But then when she does and they're both worrying for his future I felt so sorry for them.

 

Great start to this fic! I'm really curious to see what this version of the wizarding world looks like and how that decision has impacted the Malfoys.



Submit a Review