Login
Reviews For Between You and Me

Name: StarFeather (Signed) · Date: 14 Jun 2017 01:24 PM · Chapter: Between You and Me

Transferred from HPFF

 

12th April 2017:

 

Jailbreak for Abbie at CTF round 1!

 

Hi, Jill. I really enjoy reading yours again. I’m very impressed by your varieties on HP characters.

 

When I came across the banner on which Ginny with Seamus, I could predict what would come and was afraid that I might not be able to write a review for this, ‘coz I’m Hinny shipper. But my worry was nothing when I started reading it. You gave the readers detailed descriptions how Carrows had done brutal things to Gryffindors, especially, the torture scenes (oh no the chains of the first years, so horrific!) made Seamus look more heroic and Ginny had been struggling with her anxiety without Harry, which added the motivation to make them a couple.

 

The preparation was done right and you set romance from the middle to the latter half, you began with Ginny’s conflict not to be attracted or not to reveal her true feeling towards Seamus, which went smoothly and caught our heart. We can understand how her feeling tilted to Seamus and you gave us the right answer to it. So we, even Hinny shippers can accept their ship.

 

You expressed the war time situation around Gryffindor students precisely in your words and gave Ginny passing love, which made this story more beautiful.

 

It seems that you prepared three more, I’m curious to know how you will develop this ship.



Author's Response:

Hey Kenny!

I'm glad you were able to get through it even as a Hinny shipper.

I'm super happy that the buildup was done well and that all the feelings could be understood. And yay! I like being accepted by Hinny shippers :P ♥



Name: FlamingQuilltips (Signed) · Date: 18 May 2017 07:57 AM · Chapter: Between You and Me

Hello Jill, I've been transfering reviews slowly, and you brought back all my Seamus and Ginny love <3

Ginny and Seamus must have been a little tough since we know more about Ginny than Seamus. But that also means there's just so much unexplored territory that you have explored so well that it fits into canon perfectly. The setting you used was perfect, because Seamus' best friend wasn't there and the trip weren't there for Ginny either. It was a perfect timing for any blosomming romance, and what better time than a middle of a war and rebellion to set off sparks?

Your Ginny was very much in character, the way she worried, her indignance at Seamus' injuries, her determination to do something, to rebel, her toughness yet gentle caring. It was all really well done. 

I enjoyed reading this one-shot :) Thank you so much for entering the First Kiss Challenge :)



Author's Response:

Hey Ysh! Thanks for the transfer :D 

I'm really glad you liked it! I actually kind of have a headcanon for Ginny/Seamus, so it's a pairing I really love. This actually inspired a novella-length fic with them as a main pairing, so hopefully that comes around soon!

Thanks! I had so much fun writing this, so thanks for creating such a great challenge :)



Name: Valentina (Anonymous) · Date: 16 Feb 2017 02:25 AM · Chapter: Between You and Me

Hi Jill! It's your secret valentine here with your first present. I'm sorry it's a bit late.

 

As a Valentine's Day expert, I consider myself quite adept and knowing when a couple has that "spark" - and wowwwwie! Ginny and Seamus sure seem to have it!

 

Ginny is characterized really nicely in this story. She's a strong, independent person, but also warm and a bit vulnerable. I like that a lot. And Seamus is passionate and stubborn. He seems to have a sort of tough exterior that some people wouldn't be able to get past in a partner, but Ginny's personality is perfect for that. I like how they complement each other.

 

It's also smart of you to point out the logic of them becoming close. Seamus is without his bff, and Ginny is without the Trio. And, as you insinuate, they would have spent considerable time together when Ginny was dating Dean. So it really makes sense circumstantially as well as personality-wise. Man, I've always felt so bad for all the students at Hogwarts that year, and especially for Ginny.Her whole family was at risk all the time, not to mention Harry. *hugs for Ginny*

 

The tension builds nicely in this story. And by the time we get to the kiss... jjjlkjkjlkljklj YAY! There's just no denying the chemistry between these two!

 

favorite line: "If you say brother, Weasley, I swear to Merlin I’ll use your own Bat Bogey Hex against you,”

hehehehehehe

 

I really enjoyed this! Happy Valentine's Day and much love to you, you wonderful person! *HUGS*

XOXOX Valentina



Author's Response:

Hello Valentine! No need to apologize for the lateness :)

I've always felt like Ginny and Seamus have complemented each other, so I'm glad that that came across in this story, too.  And that you like their characterizations. :D 

All the hugs for Ginny! And I'm so glad that it makes sense. They kind of bonded over being left behind; I doubt Ginny and Neville are the only two that would get close during the year of the Carrows.

Hahaha. I love their first kiss so much. <3 

AND THAT'S ONE OF MY FAVORITE LINES TOO! 

I'm so glad you enjoyed this, Valentine! Thanks for the lovely review!! *hugs*



Name: quill2parchment (Signed) · Date: 08 Feb 2017 12:42 AM · Chapter: Between You and Me

This is the first time I ever read Seamus/Ginny, but I have to say you really gave the pairing justice! It makes sense that the two would grow closers together during that year. 

One of the things that I really enjoyed about reading this was that I felt like I was inside Ginny's mind through the little details. For example, I like that you mention that she's just looking at the pictures versus reading the book because the words don't make sense to her. It's a great of showing how stressed out she must be feeling.

 



Author's Response:

Hello! Thanks for the surprise review(s)! :D 

I'm glad that you enjoyed this though, especially being in Ginny's mind.  Is it too early to welcome you aboard the SMS Senny? I'm kidding, haha, but I'm glad them being together that year makes sense and that I did them justice. I have a few stories with them as the focus, but I just haven't transferred them all to HPFT yet. 

Thanks again for stopping by! ♥



Name: Felpata_Lupin (Signed) · Date: 27 Dec 2016 05:23 PM · Chapter: Between You and Me

Jill!!! Happy holidays, dear!!! :D

I thought I'd stop by and leave a review as a little present for you (I was hoping in a new chapter of HS, to be honest... guess I'll settle for some Senny love, instead... :P)

I know I say this all the time, but... I loved the story! I'm still pretty new to the ship (which clearly means that I need to read more of your work...) but from the way you write it I can totally believe it. She is her strong, fierce self and he is the boy who gave her support in her hardest times without questioning her value. It's just perfect. They are just perfect. I so love it.

The Carrows' tyranny must've been so terrible. You gave us just a little snippet of what it must've been like, but it's enough to make me shiver. At the same time I found Ginny's concern while waiting for Seamus and Micheal sort of endearing. It's clear that there are more deep feelings behind it. :)

I loved Ginny's anger when she sees him, and Seamus smirking in response. I could picture their exchange so perfectly. And I so love how well Seamus can read through her.

“You’re not in love with Harry, Gin, [...] You’re in love with the idea of him – and loving the idea of someone and the actual person are two completely different things."

This makes so much sense and I love it!

Ah, the kiss(es)! You wrote the passion between them so beautifully! Your writing is just fantastic... well, as usual... :P

“You better – or I’ll find a way to bring you back and kill you myself.”

Ahahah! This is so much Ginny Weasley! Love it! (Sorry if I'm repetitive...)

Aww... the ending is so sweet... well, bittersweet, actually, but I love that she's allowing herself some simple happiness, just for that night.

This was another lovely piece of writing of yours! Really, you are so talented, Jill!

Happy holidays once again, hope you're having a lovely time!

Love and cuddles,

Chiara



Author's Response:

Chiara! I'm surprised you haven't read this story before :) But I'm glad that it tied you over while I was working on the new chapter of HS.

Yesss, welcome to the USS Senny! Is it too soon to bring you on board? :P I'm glad that you can believe his pairing, though.  It just feels so natural to me that they would lean on each other during this dark, horrible time with the Carrows ruling Hogwarts.  He's kind of her light.

There are definitely some deeper feelings there, even if she's in denial about it :P 

D'aww thanks, now you're just making me blush! 

HAHAHA, I loved that line! 

THANK YOU! You are too kind! 

Happy holidays, dear!! 

&hearts;&hearts; Jill



Name: Rhaenyra (Signed) · Date: 19 Dec 2016 07:32 PM · Chapter: Between You and Me

I'm here to bring holiday cheer!

 

I don't know if I have ever read a Seamus/Ginny story before, but I saw that it was your OTP so I figured why not. The way you described the growing and changing relationship between the two of them made it seem very logical. With the Department of Mysteries crew down to Neville and Luna at Hogwarts and Dean on the run, there were bound to be some new friendships, bonds, and crushes developing or deepening over that year. Seamus and Ginny turning into more seems like a reasonable possibility during that time. (I'm also still not entirely sold on how everything played out in canon, so that helps.)

 

Ginny's conflict and the idea that she was in love with the idea of Harry but no longer had the same feelings for him seemed quite possible. The interactions between the two in this were natural and their uncertainty over how they were reading each other - at least on Ginny's end - were good to see in a relatively new friendship.

 

I definitely can see how this has potential for sequels.

 

- R



Author's Response:

What a lovely surprise this review was! 

I'm kind of the captain of the Seamus/Ginny ship, so I'm not surprised you haven't read them before :P I like how rare they are, though, and that you thought the change in their relationship was very logical and plausible. I like to push the bounds of canon when I can as long as it makes sense.  And like you, I'm also not entirely sold on how everything played out in canon :P 

Considering Ginny's had a crush on Harry most of her life, I think this was a good solution to that "triangle".  I'm glad that they felt natural to you as well.

Thanks so much for the review! I'm hoping to transfer the sequels over shortly, but it's more that they take place in the same universe.  If I ever get back to it, I have a novella that features them as the main ship too.

-Jill



Name: StarFeather (Signed) · Date: 17 Dec 2016 01:19 PM · Chapter: Between You and Me

Hi! I came from the HPFT wishlist thread.As I was interested in your NaNo project, I got curious to read your other works. It's very chivalrous and dramatic that Seamus tried rescuing the first year student with Michael Corner. 

 Sleeping in a hammock is a typical example that Gryffindors and the other rebels against the Death Eaters faced the difficulties at the dark times.

 Though it was a kind of heartbreaking for me as a Hinny shipper to read Ginny's feeling for Harry who broke up with her, I like your phrase, Seamus Finnegan's "you're in love with the idea of him".

 I was also curious to know how you would describe Seamus, how attractive he would  be for Ginny in such a dark time. Your description of him is awesome. I could imagine how his Irish accent sounded like.

 



Author's Response:

Hi Kenny! Thanks for stopping by :D 

Sleeping in the hammocks is definitely something Gryffindors would do, and I know it's in the movies; can't remember if it's in the books, but it's just one of those things that felt right as I was writing it.  And Ginny being in love with the idea of Harry rather than Harry, the person is kind of my headcanon for them. I'm glad you liked that justification.

I'm so glad you liked the description! And writing accents is hard, so I'm glad that you were able to hear what it sounded like. 

Thank you for the review!
Jill



Submit a Review