Reviews For Iris albicans


Name: Noelle Zingarella (Signed) · Date: 10 Feb 2020 04:55 AM · For: Holidays

Hi Robin! I’m back for more of your story :D

 

This is such a cozy, delightful Christmas picture at the beginning of this chapter. If you can’t go home for the Holidays—being at Hogwarts is not a bad second. I particularly like the wreath above the Knocker and the chestnuts in the Ravenclaw Tower. I can picture Flitwick spending some quality time with the students who stay over the break, telling witty stories and roasting the chestnuts.

 

If I haven’t said it yet, I really like what you’ve done with Madam Pince. Whenever we see her in the HP books, she’s portrayed as this old bat of a librarian who is constantly shushing everyone—which makes sense because we only see her from Harry’s POV, and he’s not at all interested in making much use of the library. BUT I think it also makes a lot of sense that a student like Iris, who is interested in the library and in learning, would find that Madam Pince was an excellent resource and helper. She just needs to be respected and she needs to see that her library is respected—and then she’s on your side!

 

Yes Iris—good job figuring out that there WAS one other person who might have broken the Potters’ secret. It wasn’t your Dad—really!

 

I wonder what Remus is going to do now that he knows Sirius has been sniffing around Iris (literally). I guess he won’t be able to do much until after his…treatment.

 

The shopping trip to Hogsmeade was lovely, and something about it struck me. Iris is a very loyal person. Even though Hogsmeade is a delightful place—she thinks that the village she is from is better. And when she catches herself thinking that the fudge at Honeydukes is the best she’s tasted—she feels guilty because it’s almost as though she’s being disloyal to the Abbots who always make her fudge.

 

The roundabout way that Iris justified not having to listen to Snape made me laugh, and Iris’s presents to and from her friends were so sweet. I particularly liked how many homemade things there were—homemade stuff is always the best.

 

It’s so cute that Harry and Iris got each other the same present :D

 

Snape in a purple crown makes my night—as does the arguing about brussels sprouts. I’m afraid I side with Professor Sprout, Iris—they are good for you and delicious! 

 

I’m really curious about what’s going to happen when Iris discovers the true meaning of the Shrieking Shack and that Remus is a werewolf. I hope that Remus starts opening up to her soon. It is good that he at least reassured her that Snape was not her dad.

 

Lovely update—can’t wait for the next chapter!

 

Yours,

 

Noelle



Author's Response:

Thank you for reviewing, Noelle!

 

I really love the idea of Christmas at Hogwarts. Despite it being a large, drafty castle, it just sounds warm and cozy and absolutely perfect. I headcanon Flitwick as doing funny voices whenever he tells the students stories, and I definitely agree with you that he would spend quality time with the students. He doesn't really show up in this because, of course, Iris spends most of her time with Remus.

 

Thank you! I'm a bit more like Iris than Harry when it comes to libraries, and I felt bad that Madam Pince was a bit of an antagonistic, though more a bit annoying, figure in the books. I wanted Iris to have someone who would help her, much like how Dumbledore helps Harry. I have a feeling you might enjoy what I'm doing for your Origin Story challenge, and I'm excited for when it's done and published so you can read it. I've been spending quite a lot of time thinking about Madam Pince while writing this, and I think it's finally going to pay off. I imagine that Hermione has a similar view of Madam Pince, though, of course, she seems to be a bit more fond of McGonagall.

 

Remus is being a bit... dodgy. He, of course, figured out exactly who that dog was, and he is definitely concerned. What does this mean for Sirius' plot? We will see. But I will say that Sirius is a very sneaky little doggie, and he might hide in places that Remus can't exactly get to right now. I am sure that Sirius is a bit confused about it all, and Remus is definitely afraid of Sirius figuring out that he has a daughter.

 

I have always imagined Iris as a loyal person. If you're familiar with sortinghatchats' system of sorting (if you're not, I highly recommend it because they have a really fascinating take on the houses and how people fit into them), she is a Burned Hufflepuff Primary and a Slytherin Secondary. Iris can be boiled down to three main traits: curiosity, stubbornness, and loyalty. I don't think she would enjoy being in Hufflepuff, but there is another house that she fits pretty well, trait-wise: Slytherin. She definitely would not like it in Slytherin, but I have thought about a universe where she would actually fit into Slytherin. It would require her to be a bit different than she is in this universe, and not necessarily in a good way.

 

I wanted to make her similar to both of her parents, and one of the things about Sirius that always stuck out to me was how loyal he was to his friends. Iris is similar to him in that regard, though Remus raising her has definitely had its effect on her. I will save the rest of this discussion for a writer's journal because it will be way too long and rambly.

 

I love writing Christmas at Hogwarts, as you are going to see. It's just something that's stuck with me since the first time I read Sorcerer's Stone, and I just like writing fluffy things. I know that doesn't always come across, but I love fluff. And, alas, I am with Iris on the Brussels Sprouts Debate. I'm not a fan of them (don't worry, I eat my vegetables, just not those ones), and I put that trait into Iris. Snape in a purple paper crown makes me smile because he would just look so sour while wearing it.

 

The puzzle pieces are slowly coming together for Iris, and she may not like what she finds out. She is a rather clever girl, though she is a bit in denial about the whole thing. Remus is not a very open person, and neither is Iris, in some cases, so he's not necessarily going to volunteer this information. I think you might like how she figures it out, though, in true Iris fashion, things may go awry.

 

The next chapter is finished, but I need to finish editing it. I know that there will be a little lull in updating this while I work on my challenge entry, but I think we're nearing the end of this fic. It will probably be about twenty chapters total, and I've learned quite a bit about pacing the school year, seeing as we are halfway through it, and more than halfway through the story.

 

I may be revising earlier chapters to make them a bit better, but I've started doing some heavy outlining for the next fic. I may have rushed this whole thing, so I'm going to take my time and do longer, more detailed chapters in the future.

 

Thanks again for reviewing, and I hope you have a lovely day!

 

-A



Name: VaguelyCreativeName (Signed) · Date: 01 Feb 2020 10:38 PM · For: An Omen

Hello, I’m back for Round Two of the CMDC review event!

 

Oh, I adore Iris and her animal-loving heart! The interaction with Roland was adorable (I’d been hoping we’d get to see a bit more of him!) and I can well imagine that Iris would want some company over Christmas with all the other students going home for the holidays, especially when that company is owl-shaped! (For anyone else, I’d have said ‘even when’, but I think for Iris, animal companionship is at least as desirable as human company!)

 

And then of course, there’s the interaction with Sirius! Of course, Iris doesn’t know and only wants to help the poor doggie because she’s an absolute sweetheart, but clearly Sirius must be onto something now! After all, how many people could possibly go around being called ‘Potter’ and bearing a remarkable resemblance to the Black family? I’m really excited to see where you take this! Is Sirius going to change his plans if he understands he has a daughter? Your story so far hasn’t really interfered that much with the canon events, in that it could very well have been nestled inside the books without anyone being any the wiser, but I really hope you stray from them now, because I don’t think I could bear for Sirius to get to know both his daughter and his godson, only to be forced to go on the run again! (I’d just like for them all to be a happy family, please <3)

 

Love, Julia



Author's Response:

Thank you for reviewing, Julia!

 

Iris likes humans well enough. She just really likes cuddling animals. She is a cuddle bug, one who is slowly making the first real friends she's ever had. Oh, who am I kidding, they all became friends pretty much immediately. She's a bit of an introvert, but she likes hanging out with her friends. Christmas is definitely a time for her to recharge. And, of course, meet a certain doggie.

 

Sirius figured out something in this chapter. Look at the introductions to see him have a little eureka moment. He is a very silly doggie who forgets that dogs can't have chocolate. Evan and Iris, of course, are very responsible, much to Sirius' chagrin. He may not be in human form, but he still has his brain. Now, as to his plan... I guess we're just going to have to find out, won't we?

 

I've been wavering on how close to canon I want to keep it. There are things down the line I want to keep, and this is definitely a story of how Iris is affected by what's going on in the world. There are ripples and changes, but I think you'll be happy with how this one ends. Not necessarily what you expected, but I think you'll like it.

 

It might be a few weeks before the next chapter. It's a longer one, and there are parts I definitely think you're going to like. And Roland will be there because I may have accidentally forgotten to write him in earlier chapters? (I am so sorry, Roland bby)

 

Thanks again for reviewing, and I hope you have a lovely day!

 

-A



Name: VaguelyCreativeName (Signed) · Date: 01 Feb 2020 10:16 PM · For: Baby's First Debate

Hello, I’m back for Round Two of the CMDC review event!

 

I absolutely loved how everyone was just … being a teenager in this one? No mention of any escaped prisoners or illnesses or anything else horrible, but just a bunch of (very academically minded) kids having fun! I especially loved Simon, I had to giggle every time he spoke, he should consider a career in stand-up :P And I love how the relaxed and goofy atmosphere reminds Iris of her hometown, hopefully that took away some of the anxiety that was building back up!

 

I’m also so proud of Iris (and Yukata, to a lesser extent) for how well she managed in the debate! Given how nervous she was when she first found out, she was an absolute star! She even managed to come up with an argument on the spot, when, only a week before, she’d made plans to flee the country – my baby’s all grown up! Both of them did so well, and their arguments were really well constructed, for 11-year olds!

 

And really, how many Weasleys did get entry into Ravenclaw tower? I’m half expecting Ron to be hiding under the invisibility cloak and Ginny to be hanging out with Luna!

Love, Julia



Author's Response:

Thank you for reviewing, Julia!

 

Sometimes these bbies need a chance to just chill and argue about Quidditch. I'd say it was a filler episode, but it provides some insight and such into some of the characters. I just wanted to have it be about the debate, and how, sometimes, there are bigger things on Iris' mind than an escaped murderer who may or may not be her father.

 

Simon is... Well, I invented him solely for this because I doubted that Penelope would be that chill when getting people in order. Simon does not have a quiet voice normally, and he is one of the more creative Ravenclaws, as well as the seventh year prefect alongside Penelope. I imagine he's a bit like Evan is in Notes because they fill pretty much the same position. Iris is a bit more chill in this chapter, partially because it's a bit of a more relaxed atmosphere, and partially because her friends (even Sylvia!) are there to watch her debate. She and Yukata are rivals in an academic sense, but I've always seen them as a bit more like Anne Shirley and Gilbert Blythe. Minus, of course, the slate-cracking.

 

I can safely say that Ron won't be stepping foot into Ravenclaw Tower this school year. Ginny? Eh, maybe. She's only a second year at this point, and she's still recovering from the Chamber. I like to headcanon that she and Luna become friends during their second year, so maybe we'll see her in there. Percy was an addition near the end, and I have a feeling that Penelope may or may not have invited him in. He, of course, could answer the riddles.

 

As can Fred and George, who are the most often visitors to Ravenclaw Tower. This is not necessarily a good thing for the little eagles because, of course, they are pranksters.

 

This debate was one of the hardest things I've ever written. I'm a bit like Iris in that I have stage fright. I would have been petrified during most of this debate. Evan and Roger definitely helped her with forming her arguments, but she and Yukata do interject their own flavor into the debates. This is only the first of quite a few debates, as you'll see soon enough.

 

Thanks again for reviewing, and I hope you have a lovely day!

 

-A



Name: VaguelyCreativeName (Signed) · Date: 01 Feb 2020 09:45 PM · For: Nerves

Hello, I’m back for Round Two of the CMDC review event!

 

Thank you for having Remus and Iris make up! I’m a sucker for harmony and I’d been getting kind of worried! I’m also really glad that Iris doesn’t blame Remus for keeping her father’s identity from her – it would have been an understandable reaction, but I’m glad she can look past that, especially when she’s so emotionally worked up and needs some support right now! Thank God can enjoy her classes with some peace of mind after that! And what did happen to make Snape more bearable? My instinct is to say that anything that makes him happy can’t really be good, but if he leaves Iris alone, I’m all for it!

 

I also love that Yukata is just as nervous as Iris is – she (and therefore, I) had been  building him up into this super-human beacon of mental fortitude, but it’s comforting to see he’s terrified as well – knowing that this experience is stressful for the pair of them should make it easier for both, as well!

 

It’s also really sweet that they’re trying to sneak their friends from other houses into the common room – it did always seem odd to me that Hogwarts seemed so strict on separating its students even outside of class, so good luck to them in pulling it off! I guess if it’s not in the official rules, you can’t really blame them for trying :P

 

Love, Julia



Author's Response:

Thank you for reviewing, Julia!

 

I have no clue what Remus said to Snape to get him to lay off for a little while, but I imagine that he may have used an incident from their time at Hogwarts as a reminder. This is staying a mystery because I don't honestly know what Remus would have said to him to actually get him to do anything. It's not so much that he's happy, but more that he knows that Remus is watching him, so he has to at least be polite (or, really, just straight-up ignore Iris, which isn't nearly as mean as being mean to her). I don't wnat to spoil things, but let's just say that Iris reminds Snape of someone occasionally, and it's not James.

 

Yukata, occasionally, is a beacon of mental fortitude. Are any of those occasions in their first year? Absolutely not. He's a bit of an awkward person, so he may seem aloof. As Liam can testify, he is most definitely not aloof. He just doesn't really know how to act around people, especially people he thinks are cool, calm, and collected (which are three words that can never describe Iris).

 

I always found it a bit weird that no one ever went into other people's common rooms to hang out with their friends. Is it a common thing in this universe? No. Is this only the first time it happens? Yep. I figure it's easier for people to get into Hufflepuff and Ravenclaw, seeing as they don't have passwords, and I am absolutely sure that Yukata, Mr. Follow Most of the Rues, has been in Hufflepuff by this point in his first year. I also imagine that it's a bit less tense between Ravenclaw and the other houses, as they don't really seem to have a huge rivalry with anyone in the books? I always saw it more as being a Gryffindor/Slytherin rivalry, and Ravenclaw and Hufflepuff tried to stay out of it.

 

Thanks again for reviewing, and I hope you have a lovely day!

 

-A



Name: VaguelyCreativeName (Signed) · Date: 01 Feb 2020 09:16 PM · For: Public Speaking

It’s me again, for Round Two of the CMDC review event!

 

Ohh, a debate! This is a welcome distraction! I’ve been sneaking a look at your Bulletin Board, so I gather you’re imagining monthly debates as a monthly tradition in Ravenclaw? That’s a really fun bit of head canon to flesh out how life in the different Hogwarts houses would differ, and I love the logic behind it – choosing a debate as a monthly activity is a very Ravenclaw thing to do, and the reasoning behind learning to construct an argument is certainly sound, and fits perfectly for a house so academically minded!

 

But I completely understand Iris’ trepidation at having to speak in front of a crowd, especially with an opponent as formidable as Yukata. And again, I love the strong system of support Ravenclaw has going on, both with the advice Iris gets from her dormmates and the guidance from the older students. Roger especially seems like such a fun character, I already loved his Quidditch/Squid Wrangling impression during the last chapter, and I love the friendly-banter-dynamic he’s got going on with Evan, and his heart is in the right place – even if he doesn’t do it in the most sensitive way, in the end he does succeed at assuaging some of Iris’ anxieties. It’s also really cool that you chose the quidditch captain to also be Ravenclaw’s top debater – after all, he must be academically inclined if he’s a Ravenclaw, and I can see both sports (?) requiring an element of competitiveness and judging your opponent that makes them compatible with each other, if that makes sense.

 

I’m also strangely fond of how Roger keeps referring to Iris as ‘Baby Potter’, even if it’s a bit patronising :D

Love, Julia



Author's Response:

Thank you for reviewing, Julia!

 

They're a tradition in Ravenclaw, though the first year debates aren't as much of a thing as the older students' debate. This is more to get them used to debating so they can eventually go on to debate in the big kids' debate.

 

Oh, Roger. I love Roger very much, and he is sort of Ravenclaw's answer to Oliver Wood. They're both mad about Quidditch, though Roger is a bit more boisterous in general. He definitely has one of the biggest personalities in Ravenclaw, and this shows in both his debates and on (technically, over??) the Quidditch Pitch. He's definitely very competitive, and he and Evan are mates, so, of course, he's helping Evan with mentoring Iris. He's clever, but not really in the book-smart Hermione way that's seen in the books. He's strategic, which comes in handy in both Quidditch and debate. However, he is not the best debator in Ravenclaw. We've met them, though we won't see them in action until a good bit later.

 

Unfortunately for poor Iris, she's going to be stuck with the nickname Baby Potter for the rest of her life. It's people's way of differentiating between her and Harry, and Iris, for the most part, doesn't mind if it's in a fond way. There is someone else who exclusively uses Baby Potter, and he does mean it in a patronizing way for a while before they become friends. It's this sort of reminder that she's the younger Potter, a bit of the spare, and this kind of guides her once she gets a bit more settled into Hogwarts.

 

And, yes, Roger is one of those friends who always has a good argument for going out. Evan and Audrey love him, but Roger definitely is the extrovert of the three.

 

-A



Name: VaguelyCreativeName (Signed) · Date: 01 Feb 2020 08:31 PM · For: Potter Family Brunch

It’s me again, for Round Two of the CMDC review event!

 

This was such a sweet chapter! Yay for a cousin bonding moment!

 

I feel so sorry for Iris though, she’s so clearly worried about Remus and his health – especially with her mother dying of illness, she’s now terrified the same thing is going to happen to the only parental figure she’s ever really known. And Madam Pomfrey’s comparison of Anne and Remus during the last chapter, saying that both of them were sickly and spending too much time in the hospital wing probably didn’t help at all. I can see how Iris would assume that Remus is suffering from the same thing Anne died of, and, naturally, that thought terrifies her – I wish she would just figure out about Remus’ lycanthropy, that would be a diagnosis that’d cause her a lot less anxiety, and she’s clearly already figured out the full moon patterns, and the fact that he has to stay away from aconite – all that’s left to do is for her to connect the dots, maybe Hermione can help her with that?

 

And Harry isn’t much better off, either – the revelation that he has another cousin, one that was raised by his parents’ kind wizarding friend when he was stuck with his abusive muggle relatives must hit him really hard, and make him feel rejected all over again – especially seeing as Remus hasn’t reached out to Harry at all, or even told him of that connection. His question about Remus not writing to him is very valid, and I wish I had an answer for him.

 

Still, I love how you end the chapter on a more hopeful note, and if all goes well, maybe the Potter cousins can find some comfort in each other!

Love, Julia



Author's Response:

Thank you so much for reviewing, Julia!

 

I really love writing Harry and Iris' relationship because they're a bit similar (those precious awkward bbies) but also a bit different. Harry's not really sure how to deal with having a cousin, so he's been avoiding her a bit because he just doesn't know how to deal with her. They were both raised (if you can call what the Dursleys did raising) in a sort of isolating way. Iris is definitely sheltered, although she knows quite a bit more about the magical world than Harry does, and Remus did try to shelter her from a lot of things, like Sirius Black and finding out about Voldemort.

 

I wish I had a good reason for why Remus, in this one, didn't reach out to Harry. I feel like, in canon, he didn't want Harry to know about his lycanthropy and stuff like that. In this one, I think he was honestly afraid that Harry would find out about his lycanthropy and shun him. This is his main reason for not telling Iris and keeping up the lie of an illness for so long. Anne came up with it probably to only use while Iris was little and didn't understand about werewolves just yet. If she hadn't died, maybe Iris would know by now.

 

Iris has been a bit busy to connect the dots, and she doesn't really want to think about Remus' disease. Now, if there were something that were to cast doubt on Remus being ill? Perhaps that might spur her into action. I didn't want her finding out too quickly, but she's starting to see how quickly the lie falls apart when Remus goes away to his treatments while they're both at Hogwarts. Perhaps she'll find out soon.

 

Thanks again for reviewing, and I hope you have a lovely day!

 

-A



Name: VaguelyCreativeName (Signed) · Date: 01 Feb 2020 08:13 PM · For: Seeking the Truth

It’s me again, for Round Two of the CMDC review event!

 

So Sirius is Iris’ father? If my maths is correct – and there’s a good chance it isn’t – that means Iris was born after Sirius was arrested! Does he know about her? Because if he does, that would explain why Remus is so insistent not only on keeping Iris safe, but on keeping her away from Sirius, so much so that he’d even be willing to send her to America. Because with everyone thinking of Sirius as a raging mass murderer, they must suspect him not only of going after Harry, but going after Iris, too, and certainly explains why Remus never talked to her about Iris  - because there’s no easy way to tell a child “Hey, your dad is a murderer, and he might be after you. Let’s have some tea, shall we?”. Still, I wish Iris could have found out from a familiar, friendly face rather than finding out from an old library book.

 

It also sheds some light on why Snape hates her so much – she’s not only a Potter, she’s also Sirius’ daughter, and her case isn’t exactly made easier by her looking so much like him. With so strong a family resemblance, I also wonder if Iris’ parentage might be a bit of an open secret, as in, most people (or at least most purebloods) would probably know who her father was. The way Madam Pince can direct her to the right book so easily certainly seems to suggest so.

 

I wish Remus would just tell Iris! Of course it’s hard for him, but at this point it must be fairly obvious to him that Iris already knows, and all she wants from him is a confirmation of the fact, but he keeps refuting her theories… And I still don’t really understand what’s up with Pettigrew, and why his existence is such a big secret – although to be fair, you’ve already cleared up a lot of mystery in this chapter, so it’s wise to keep some revelations for future ones :P

 

I’m also really looking forward to Iris finally getting to know Harry better – thank God for Hermione for forcing them to finally have that dinner! – especially now that Iris knows more about Sirius!

Love, Julia



Author's Response:

I usually respond to these in order of the chapters, but I had to review to this one first.

 

Your math is completely correct. Sirius went to Azkaban in early November of 1981 and Iris was born in late June of 1982. Sirius had no idea about her before he entered Azkaban. You are completely correct about why Remus hasn't told Iris about Sirius. That being said, it's not a public thing who Iris' father is. Anne, her mother, didn't put anyone down on the birth certificate, and it has been rumored by people that Remus is the father. A rumor that is entirely untrue, as we all know.

 

It's not an open secret, but she does look like a certain relative of hers (think older with less messy hair), but it's not like the relationship was all that open. It's... complicated, and I'm going to be doing a series of one-shots about it. Madam Pince is just very observant, and she knows a lot more than people think. Snape didn't put it together until he heard her last name and looked at her. Snape is smart, but not that smart. He definitely knew Anne.

 

Remus is upset because one of his best friends killed the other two and now has escaped from Azkaban. He likes keeping secrets, and Iris likes looking for the truth. This, of course, will cause problems. Or not. We'll see.

 

Thank you for reviewing, Julia!

 

-A



Name: VaguelyCreativeName (Signed) · Date: 01 Feb 2020 07:22 PM · For: Halloween Eve

Hey there, I’m back for Round Two of the CMDC review event!

 

I’m once again here to confess my love for Evan! That boy is just the sweetest, and while I also love Audrey and Penelope for looking out for their firsties, Evan is very wise to know about the healing magic of chocolate frogs and should be protected at all costs!

 

I’m glad Iris got to spend a relatively happy Halloween for once – of course that could only be a day of mourning for Remus, but to think of him locked away in his room, crying, breaks my heart.

 

I really want to know who made the decision not to tell the students about what really happened, and to spread the rumour about floo network maintenance instead – while I get that that’s meant to protect the students, I can’t really say that I agree with that particular rationale, especially as all the older students (and the Gryffindors, of course) seem to be aware of what’s going on, so it seems odd to only keep the news about Sirius from the first years.

 

I get that talking about anything relating to the Potters’ deaths must be incredibly painful for Remus, so it wouldn’t be surprising if Iris didn’t know much about Peter, but the fact that she’s never heard of him at all does seem a bit suspicious – she knows that Remus was friends with Sirius, after all, so it’s very odd that she doesn’t know about Peter. I feel like a showdown between Remus and Iris is becoming inevitable – because obviously, Remus is keeping something from Iris, but I do wonder how much, exactly.

 

Love, Julia



Author's Response:

Thank you for reviewing, Julia!

 

Listen. Evan is an utter delight, and he sees no reason why Iris should not also get a chocolate frog. He is a proud big brother of all of these firsties, and he will spoil them with chocolate frogs. He is very interested in Potions and how they work, so that might be why he's so wise.

 

I am sorry for the feels. I promise their next holiday won't be as filled with feels. There is fluff in here somewhere, I promise. Not in this chapter, but there is fluff in this fic, I promise.

 

The first years are prone to panicking, especially Bedivere, so it might just be that they didn't want the firsties to spend the entire night lying awake in fear. That being said, the older students definitely know what's going on, and they aren't exactly quiet about it.

 

Remus is pretty much just constantly reliving those days after James and Lily died right now, especially since it is Halloween. Anne was a bit ill right around then (partially from grief, partially from someone in particular), Peter was dead (supposedly), and Sirius had been the one to do it. He's really not having a good week right now, and he could use a Chocolate Frog or two. Someone call Evan to get them to him, stat.

 

Oh, there are many things that Remus is keeping secret. He loves Iris, he truly does, but he does all of this to attempt to protect her. How is this going to turn out? What's she going to say when she finds out? Big questions. Surprise answers.

 

Thank you for reviewing, and I hope you have a lovely day!

 

-A



Name: VaguelyCreativeName (Signed) · Date: 01 Feb 2020 06:58 PM · For: A Trip to the Library

Hey there, I’m back for Round Two of the CMDC review event!

 

Uuggh, I hate Snape! I realise I voiced this in my last review already, but why does he have to be such a git? He really shouldn’t be allowed to teach with the way he bullies his students. But it seems Iris has inherited some of that Potter snark, her last remark to Snape was just *chef’s kiss* It also seems like Snape is deliberately trying to manipulate Remus’ and Iris’ relationship, he’s clearly assigned her the wolfsbane potion in particular so that she’s forced to research werewolves… On a lighter note, did I mention how much I love Audrey and Evan? The fact that they’re campaigning for werewolf rights and the distribution of wolfsbane is so heart-warming! I like to imagine that, even if Snape is trying to out Remus’ secret, the people who are going to find out (like Hermione in the books, and maybe probably Iris soon???) aren’t bigoted enough to care, but will help A&E in their campaign instead, causing Snape’s plan to backfire. A girl can dream!

 

I’m also absolutely smitten by the entirety of Ravenclaw House! They’re all so caring towards the first years, and the fact that they’ve started a collection for Buckbeak – not to mention their petition for free wolfsbane – just show how keen they are to stand up for other people and I love all of them!

 

Like Iris, I’m intrigued to find out more about her father… I might have some ideas, but given my history with coming up with theories only for them to turn out to be rubbish the next chapter, I’ll keep them to myself for now!

Love, Julia



Author's Response:

Thank you for reviewing, Julia!

 

Iris is just salty about Snape at this point. You know how Percy reminds her of Remus? Snape reminds her of the opposite of Remus. He also just really sets off her hackles for no reason (well, maybe one reason that is he's mean), and their relationship is just snark. Pure salt and snark. There's a reason why Snape treats her differently than Harry, and it has to do with something that Snape is clever enough to figure out on his own. I don't want to talk spoilers, so I will just say that Snape is meddling in affairs he ought not to be meddling in.

 

Buckbeak is a delight, and we stan Buckbeak in this house. I am using them as a slight mouthpiece for good old Beaky, but time will tell if they're successful.

 

I will leave you with your theories, but I'll give you a hint: there is a big clue to Iris' father's identity in the very first chapter. I hope you remember your fairy tales.

 

-A



Name: VaguelyCreativeName (Signed) · Date: 01 Feb 2020 06:28 PM · For: An Introduction to Formal Education

Hey there, I’m back for Round Two of the CMDC review event!

 

I absolutely love the early morning banter between the girls! That has to be the most Ravenclaw thing ever – I can barely form a coherent thought in the morning but these girls are casually discussing map-making and the logistics of a possible evacuation of Hogwarts, it’s brilliant and so very Ravenclaw! I’m glad Iris has roommates who seem to be just as inquisitive as her! I also love all the little references to Iris’ untameable hair, it’s such a Potter TM  trait, and, in retrospect, could have clued me in about Iris’ identity a bit sooner :P

 

I’m also so fond already of Audrey and Evan! It’s so sweet that they actually drop their charges off and collect them at the different classrooms, and it just shows that they really care about their tiny Ravenclaws which is super endearing! I also love Evan’s remark about Binns, he’s such a pragmatist! I’d never considered it, but I suspect he probably doesn’t request (much of) a salary, so keeping him on staff would certainly be financially profitable for Dumbledore.

 

Ughh, Snape is such an unpleasant git. The moment he finds out about Iris’ last name, he turns nasty when he didn’t have any issue with her and Yukata’s work before – it’s not that I didn’t expect Snape’s grudge against James to also transfer to his niece, but I’m still allowed to be angry about it. He’s so rude, I’m glad Iris stood up to him, even if it cost her a couple of House points!

 

I can’t believe Iris addressed Percy as ‘sir’, bless her! She’s such a sweetheart!

Love, Julia



Author's Response:

Thank you for reviewing, Julia!

 

This is one of the only times that these five will be up this early. I love them all, but morning people (sans Cybele) they are not. I am not a morning person, and let's just say that Iris really isn't either. This is a rarity for her. Usually, it takes the smell of breakfast to lure her out of bed at the cottage, and Mrs. Abbott is very good at bustling Iris to school while Iris is half-awake. I had a lot of fun thinking about how Iris' hair would look like. Bascially, if you take Harry's, dye it honey blonde, and stretch it out, you get something similar to Iris' hair. No matter how much she neatens it up, it ends up looking a bit messy. She tries her hardest, but it looks like she let it dry in a windstorm.

 

Evan is fun. I feel bad for him because he isn't focused on as much as Audrey, but he has his moments. He enjoys Binns' class (somehow), but he realizes that having a ghost teacher may not be the best idea. He gets why Dumbledore does it, but he doesn't exactly like having a ghost who forgets everyone's names.

 

Snape is salty about something, something he figured out. You'll see in a reply to a review later one what, exactly, he figured out. Iris has inherited Remus' snark. She isn't going to let Snape ruin her day, though she may regret losing those House points...

 

I am going to squee about these two for a hot second. Percy reminds Iris of Remus, though a bit more stuffy, so, of course, she'll be a bit more respectful towards him. Not only that, but she sees the seventh years as Grown Ups and Adults Who She Should Listen To Because Remus Raised Her With Manners. Percy may develop a bit of a fond spot for her, and we'll see him again soon.

 

Thanks for reviewing, and I hope you have a lovely day!

 

-A



Name: VaguelyCreativeName (Signed) · Date: 01 Feb 2020 05:59 PM · For: The Sorting Feast

Hey there, I’m back for Round Two of the CMDC review event!

 

Ohh, so I was a bit hasty in my assumption that Iris doesn’t know about Harry – it turns out she does, but she doesn’t seem to be too bothered about never having met him – I guess Iris is just not interested in any sort of family drama, but her nonchalance still strikes me as a bit odd. I think if I had a cousin I’d never met who also happened to be my only living relative, I’d be dying (pardon the poor choice of words) to meet him, and I do hope you are going to explore their relationship a bit!

 

I’m glad everyone got into Ravenclaw! Except poor Sylvia, she doesn’t seem too happy about her sorting, but I’m confident Iris and Astoria are going to keep up the friendship with her! (It turns out I was also wrong about Anne’s Hogwarts House, maybe I should stop guessing about a character’s backstory because my guesses so far haven’t been very successful.) I also loved Iris’ sorting and her conversation with the Hat – there was never a doubt in my mind that Iris would end up anywhere other than Ravenclaw, so I was a bit surprised at how long she spent wearing the hat, but I guess the Sorting Hat quite enjoys having a good discussion with a student, so I imagine he likes to draw out the sorting it’s an interesting chat – after all, the Sorting Hat gets very little use throughout the year, so he probably soaks up as much interaction as he can on the one day a year he gets out, haha!

 

I’m also very pleased with myself because I managed to solve the riddle, which is very rare for me :P

Love, Julia



Author's Response:

Thank you for reviewing, Julia!

 

To Iris, Caer Sidi is her family. She's never really understood having a big blood family, and the closest thing she has to a cousin is Hannah, so she's at least heard a bit about Harry. I am definitely exploring their relationship. It's fun to write, especially as they get older, so I hope you enjoy it.

 

Honestly, Sylvia would have been way better off in Hufflepuff, but her father would never have accepted that. She, Iris, and Astoria are best of friends, don't worry, and they're not going to abandon their friend just because she's in Slytherin. Anne is a bit different from James, though a bit similar, and I hope you'll like her once I get that set of one-shots onto here. They won't be up until Iris albicans is finished, so it might be a month or two.

 

The Hat does like conversations, but I imagine that he had trouble getting Iris to be quiet so he can announce what house she is in. She has many questions, and the Sorting Hat has a strict schedule. I hope that Dumbledore talks to him while he's on that shelf in the headmaster's office. It's probably very lonely up there.

 

Well done, you! I am terrible at riddles, so I apologize if they're a bit difficult. I do poke fun at riddles eventually, and the answers that can be used, but that won't be for a few stories.

 

Thank you for reviewing, and have a lovely day!

 

-A



Name: VaguelyCreativeName (Signed) · Date: 01 Feb 2020 05:31 PM · For: An Interesting Train Ride

Hey there, I’m back for Round Two of the CMDC review event!

 

Again, I love your descriptions of village life! I’ve only ever lived in cities, but your depictions of how close-knit everyone is, and how they look out for each other kind of makes me wish I, like Iris, had grown up in a village, too!

 

I’m so glad we got to see Sylvia again, but I do worry about her! The way she talks about her family makes me think her homelife isn’t the greatest, and she’s so anxious about her sorting – I can’t tell whether she seems more scared about ending up in Slytherin or not ending up in Slytherin, from what we saw of her in Diagon Alley, I don’t think she’d fit in very well, but she’s clearly scared of the repercussions that would come with being sorted anywhere else.

 

I’m also still intrigued about Iris’ parentage and her family history in general – everyone she meets is clearly surprised by her last name, but she doesn’t really seem to notice that. And we know from the last chapter that she knows about James and Lily, but I get the impression that she knows very little about the war in general, and nothing at all about Harry’s existence – I wonder why Remus would keep his existence from Iris? Even when she can’t meet her cousin, why has she been kept ignorant of his existence? I’m excited to see how their first meeting is going to play out!

 

Love, Julia



Author's Response:

Thanks for replying, Julia!

 

Yeah, I grew up in suburbia, so I might have been doing a little wish-fulfillment with Caer Sidi. It's just nice and homey and I would love to live in that cottage or even the village. I wish we could spend more time there, but Iris would get very cross if she didn't get to go to Hogwarts like she dreamed. For so long.

 

I'll give you a hint on Sylvia's homelife: her last name is Selwyn, and that's something I took straight from canon. She's not canon, but the family is. Sylvia is a bit scared of a lot of things, and, to be completely honest, there is a house that would be a much better fit for her, but her father wouldn't understand. I'll mention this in the reply to the next chapter because then you'll see where she and everyone else ends up.

 

I know Potter is a common last name in the UK, but I like to imagine it's not all that common in the magical world. After all, everyone knows the name Harry Potter. I imagine that most of the magical Potters are, by this point, dead. Iris knows vaguely about James and Lily, but more so in that they were close to Remus and died tragically. Anne died when she was only three, so it wasn't like she grew up hearing a lot about her aunt and uncle. She's been a bit sheltered, more so than the average child, and Remus is starting to figure out that it might not have been the best idea to shelter her for so long.

 

I imagine that most of the kids born after the war (so Iris and pretty much everyone a bit younger than her) only heard bits and pieces about it from their families and the like. They wouldn't know a world with Voldemort in it, and it's very interesting to look at it from that perspective. While Harry's life is defined by Voldemort, pretty obviously, Iris' is defined by him in a very different way. I can't say much about this right now because of spoilers, but this is sort of the driving force behind this series.

 

So, yeah, she doesn't get to meet Harry for a little bit (as you've already read). That's my b. Plot stuff needed to happen, and Harry kind of fell by the wayside. Oopsie. He's been a bit busy with Quidditch and stuff. Narratively, the meeting didn't fit in where I originally wanted to put it, so it got shuffled a little further along in the story.

 

Thanks again for reviewing, and I hope you have a lovely day!

 

-A



Name: VaguelyCreativeName (Signed) · Date: 01 Feb 2020 04:28 PM · For: A Shopping Trip

Hey there, I’m back for Round Two of the CMDC review event!

 

Iris keeps getting more and more endearing! “Karl the Knarl” is just so perfect a name, I love her! I also love Iris’ impressions of the different villagers, and I love the humour in her descriptions! Octavian towering over her is such an amusing assessment coming from an 11-year-old child, and I love the duality of Laelia throwing physically throwing people out of her pub but also making the best pasties – all of your descriptions of village life are so fun and I can really picture this charming little wizarding village in the Welsh countryside, and I love Iris’ impressions about busy London compared to her quaint village – the detail about mismatched chairs and how they seem so different in the two pubs was really sweet!

 

The shopping trip itself was also really fun to read about! I love Iris’ concerns about her clothes and skirts lacking pockets, and her meeting Sylvia in the book shop was really sweet, too! I hope we get to see more of her; she seems to be such an independent, adventurous person, but I’m curious to see how that plays out if her family is as traditional and restrictive as her brother’s behaviour seems to indicate.

WAIT, WAIT, WHAT? Iris Potter? Is Iris Harry’s sister? Or perhaps a cousin? I was absolutely not expecting this! So Anne, Iris’ mother, was James’ sister? I am so shocked by this, and I need to know more! And Iris doesn’t know who her father was? That’s another mystery to solve and my mind is already going a million miles a minute trying to figure out why Anne would have kept the father’s identity from her friends and family. I’m assuming that Anne was also in Gryffindor, and that’s how she became friends with Remus and the lot? Christ, the Potter family really didn’t have it easy with their two children dying so soon after each other – and poor Remus, first losing James and Lily, and then Anne so soon after.

 

The rest of the chapter was really sweet, too, with Iris’ adorable new owl friend and the bonding moment between her and Remus, but I’m just still so shocked by the earlier revelations! I’m absolutely hooked, and I have to find out more!!

 

Love, Julia



Author's Response:

Thank you for reviewing, Julia!

 

Karl is very grumpy, and he did not take kindly to being named. The Bowtruckles are a bit more friendly towards Iris, as are the Porlocks, though those are friendly towards her mostly due to the sugar cubes she gives them. She spends a bit more time in the forest, so the people are a bit of an oddity to her still, even though she's lived in the cottage for her entire life. Laelia is a bit terrifying, honestly, though she likes to give the children of the village pasties. I wish that I could just write a day in the life of Caer Sidi, but it would just be descriptions and no plot.

 

I love Sylvia. Honestly, I love both of Iris' best friends (the other one you will meet shortly), and Sylvia is a delight to write. She's a bit skittish, but she has a curious streak in her.

 

Anne was James' twin. Unlike her brother, she was in Ravenclaw, though she dealt with her brother and his friends quite often. She was always closer to Remus and Lily than any of the others, mostly because she was a prefect as well. Anne had her reasons for not telling who Iris' father was, though Remus knows. Remus is, at this point, the only person who actually knows the identity, having been told by Anne.

 

Roland is one of my favorites. I feel bad for not having him in more of the chapters, but, to be fair, he's an owl. A very cute owl, but one who can't really go to class with Iris.

 

Thanks again for reviewing!

 

-A



Name: VaguelyCreativeName (Signed) · Date: 01 Feb 2020 03:45 PM · For: A Visitor Comes to the Cottage

Hey there, I’m here for Round Two of the CMDC review event!

 

I adore Iris so much, she must be the sweetest, most charming 11-year-old I’ve ever seen! She’s so naturally inquisitive and kind-hearted, I had the cheesiest grin on my face the entire time I was reading this! How adorable is it that she tries to befriend bowtruckles and unicorns?!

 

I also love how much she clearly adores Remus, going to pick flowers for him and concerned for his well-being! She’s also very perceptive in noticing Remus’ pained expression when he gets his letter, even while she’s so excited about hers. The line about hoping “that this Professor Dumbledore figure wasn’t being mean to Remus” was simply too sweet, can I hug Iris already?

 

I think I’m just as excited as Iris is about her going to Hogwarts (and “a school where she wouldn’t have to do maths” is a mood, honestly!), and I’m really looking forward to reading what she gets up to at school!

 

I’m also really intrigued to find out more about Iris’ parents and how they’re connected to Remus in making him her godfather – if she only came to live with him when she was six, her parents must have died quite a long time after the war, so their deaths can’t really have been related to that, so I’m eager to find out more about them!

Also, if my understanding is correct, Iris at this point doesn’t know about Remus’ lycanthropy, only that he is sick? I can’t imagine that’ll stay like that for long, not with how perceptive Iris is and when Remus’ treatment is about to change – I don’t think it will take long for her to catch on to her godfather’s condition.

 

Love, Julia



Author's Response:

Thank you for reviewing, Julia!

 

Iris has lived with Remus her entire life. The cottage they live in was her mother's, Anne, before Anne died when she was three. As you've already read, seeing as I'm about to get to another one of your ever-lovely reviews. I saw the notification on my phone and I squeed. Your reviews are wonderful, and thank you so much for reviewing!!

 

Anne died in 1985, and Iris was born in 1982, and Anne's death had nothing to do with the war. She died of an illness. Her father is... well, you'll see (or, rather, you have seen). Anne is actually the one who came up with the lie of Remus' illness to Iris. Remus is, of course, a bit reserved about a child, especially one who lives with him, knowing that he is a werewolf. He does feel bad about lying to her, especially for so long, but he is a bit ashamed about the fact.

 

Iris is clever, but let's just say that Remus is a bit more clever than her right now. Time will tell if she figures it out soon.

 

-A



Name: Noelle Zingarella (Signed) · Date: 31 Jan 2020 08:23 PM · For: An Omen

Hi Robin! I’m here for CMDC Round 2 :D

 

A cozy Christmas at Hogwarts for Iris and Remus seems just the thing. 

 

I’m really enjoying how you, like JKR, tell us what everyone is eating, like the fry up on Christmas morning, and all the wonderful treats in the kitchen with the house elves—it makes the story so homey.

 

But WHAT IS THIS??? Iris just met Padfoot—didn’t she??!! She just met the guy who might be her dad! I wonder if Sirius knows—if he followed Iris on purpose so that he could be with her?? That scene was so exciting and bittersweet; and I especially liked when Sirius was begging for chocolate—but he was in dog form so nobody would give it to him. There are many drawbacks to being stuck in animagus form, I guess.

 

Your Snape at the end was quite on point. I laughed when Iris and her friend were pondering what embarassing color his dressing gown might be, and of course he emerges out of nowhere to get them in trouble. His crack about the Dementors having an early snack was exactly something he would say—and lovely job dropping a hint to Iris that she needs to look into the Selwyn’s past—and Snape’s. I don’t blame her for not wanting him to be her dad.

 

I also liked the similarities you drew between Snape and McGonagall—that neither of them stooped to giving holiday themed lessons. I’ve always thought these two were friends (at least until the Death Eater year at Hogwarts when Minerva didn’t know what was going on) and I love seeing people point out their similarities in fics.

 

Looking forward to the next update!

 

Yours,

 

Noelle




Author's Response:

Thanks for reviewing, Noelle!

 

Iris has very particuluar tastes in food, as will be shown. It's not a major plot thing, but it comes up occasionally. This is definitely not going to be her last stop in the kitchens.

 

Tee hee. A suspicious doggie who tries to eat chocolate. There is a hint as to whether or not Sirius knew who it was that brought him into the castle. Watch his reaction to something that's said while they're in the kitchen. All will be explained in due time. I will say, though, that Iris was born about seven months after Sirius was thrown into Azkaban.

 

Thank you! I was so worried that Snape would sound a little too over the top. He's very good at sneaking around, and Iris is very bad at noticing when people are right behind her. Let's just say that this isn't the last time Snape does his little sneaky-sneak thing. He's always reminded me of McGonagall in teaching style.

 

The next chapter will probably be a week or so because it's still in the process of being completed and then editing will happen.

 

Thank you again!

 

-A



Name: Noelle Zingarella (Signed) · Date: 31 Jan 2020 08:11 PM · For: Baby's First Debate

Hi Robin! I’m here for CMDC Round 2 :D

 

You’ve done such a fine job with this debate! I agree that writing both sides of an argument, from two different characters points of view is daunting—but you’ve really put together a fine example of it here. I loved how you built up the tension at the beginning of the chapter, with everyone gathering for the debate—and I also really liked how many extra, non-Ravenclaw guests wound up in the Tower for this event (and lots of them seem to be Weasleys!). The way that you evoked Iris’s feelings of nervousness—her hyperfocusing on the debating podiums, and the way she almost knocks over the pumpkin juice—really made me connect with her.

 

I think that my favorite part of the debate itself was that both Iris and Yukata sound like this is their first debate. Like, they have a couple of very well-rehearsed points, and they stick to them. Their focus in this moment is not on offering up a bunch of slick sounding rebuttals or retorts, but rather on keeping calm under pressure, and just learning the ropes of the thing. And the way that the audience is respectful of this initiation rite, but being quiet where in a debate between older students they probably would have been more riotous was a nice touch.

 

I would love to see more debating sprinkled through the story and get to witness now Iris grows in this area over time—and also get to witness some of the crazy stuff that happens during the older kids debates.

 

Lovely chapter!!

 

 

Yours,

 

Noelle




Author's Response:

Thank you for reviewing, Noelle!

 

Thank you! I went towards Oxford-style debates (kinda), but the debates when the Ravenclaws are older are more like loosely-guided discussions. The prefects are there to make sure there's no hexes or anything, but the older kids get to have a lot more freedom in structure than the wee firsties. There will be more debates in the future, and you will definitely see Iris growing a bit in debating. The senior debates (aka the ones that are on the bulletin board) are for the fourth years and up, but there are junior debates. They're a bit more like this, but a little less structured.

 

Because of how chaotic the senior debates are, I won't be doing many of them in the earlier years. Iris does take part in debates, don't worry, and she has a lot of informal debates with her friends and such. Those are more where there will be retorts, but, for now, Iris is still getting used to arguing with people. The older students tend to fly by the seat of their pants and sound a lot more like what I've imagined these debates to sound like.

 

Thank you, again, for reviewing!

 

-A



Name: Crimson Quill (Signed) · Date: 27 Jan 2020 03:18 PM · For: A Visitor Comes to the Cottage

Hey!

 

I love the description the cottage. It just sounds so sweet especially the wildflowers.. I have a really great mental picture about her surroundings. I think Iris is just adorable already. I love how curious that she is coming across but she obviously loves animals too. I think you've got this element of her being a little bit of mischief when she want see the unicorns considering she wasn't strict told to say away. I thought you've playing her age really well, she is just getting the hogwarts letter so assuming  she is nearly eleven. I thought she had that innocent of child so she isn't quite putting together Remus' absences.

 

I'm looking forward to seeing her as a bit older because she seems like such a likeable and fun character from this chapter. It'll be interesting to see her as she gets older all though I'm currently unsure of the timeline this story is going to be taking. 

 

I think it's really interesting how you've created the set up where Remus is her 'Uncle' and he takes care of her. I really like that because I feel like Remus would have a lot to give a child. She is obviously very taken care of and Remus is really protective of her which is really sweet but I wonder how that will play out in future chapters. It might be difficult to her change surroundings and be around more people as she is use to her life as it is. 

 

I think the characterization of Remus so far it seems a line with canon. I'm really looking forward to Remus in the care giver role because that's obviously something that we haven't seen before. I think you can do some really great character development for him within the story! Interesting start!

 

Abbi xx

 



Author's Response:

Thank you for reviewing, Abbi!

 

She's not quite eleven in this chapter, as her birthday is in late June. I'm going to have a fic for every year of Hogwarts, so she'll be eleven or so throughout this entire fic. That being said, it will be a few months probably after I finish this fic that the next year will come out. I'm still working on a few chapters in this fic, and then I need to get the first few chapters really good before I post them.

 

I thought for a long time about how Remus would be raising a child, and I'm glad that you like how I've characterized him so far. I have some difficulty with keeping characters in-line with their canon characterization, so I'm glad you thought he seemed okay so far.

 

Thank you again for reviewing!

 

-A



Name: Noelle Zingarella (Signed) · Date: 25 Jan 2020 06:56 PM · For: Nerves

Hi Robin! I’m here for CMDC Round 1 :D

 

You don’t need to apologize for saving the debate for the next chapter—it was sort of exciting to have the tension built up during this one. I really felt for Iris, who is so nervous that she’s sick to her stomach for a week. That’s such an awful feeling. Audrey clucking around her like a mother hen and wondering if she needs to go to the hospital wing was a nice illumination of Audrey’s character.

 

I’m glad that Remus and Iris were able to smooth things over in this chapter, especially since Iris has so many nerves right now. She needs his loving support. Interesting that she was unwilling to leave Hogwarts due to a mass murderer on the loose, but she’s entertaining the idea of leaving so she can get out of debating. I feel her pain though—this is bound to be uncomfortable.

 

And so interesting that Remus is giving Harry private lessons on the Patronus charm. Harry’s going to need them though if the Dementors are floating around. I can’t wait for Iris to learn the charm—I wonder what her Patronus is going to be.

 

I had a warm fuzzy feeling when Iris and Yukata finally broke the tension between them. It’s awesome that the whole time Iris has been thinking that Yukata is cool as a cucumber and not nervous about the debate at all, he has been totally nervous and thinking that she seems calm and collected about it. And when they both admit that they don’t really care at all about Quidditch and that they will both try to do their best in the debate—it takes the emotional stake out of it and they can just be friends. And their nerves mostly melt away! I really like how you resolved that.

 

I also am amused that everyone keeps poking fun at the Gryffindor’s intelligence; and that the Ravenclaws are sneaking members of other houses into their common room for the debate.  The acting ‘as if’ is a good strategy here.

 

I’m really looking forward to the next chapter!

 

Nice work!

 

Yours,

 

Noelle




Author's Response:

Thank you for reviewing, Noelle!!

 

Honestly, Audrey is just a mother hen to the firsties. She loves them, and she wants them to do well. Does this mean that she tried to feel Iris' forehead, and Iris tried to dodge? Yep (Audrey won that round). Iris, like me, does not like speaking in public. She's much better at one-to-one communication.

 

Iris does not have her priorities in order. I kid, but she doesn't really think of Sirius Black as anything more than a shadowy figure who's mentioned in the newspapers. He doesn't seem like a real threat to her, while the debate is looming. I tried to tie in canon in here, with Harry's Patronus lessons. Iris does learn it, eventually, and her form will be revealed. It is not this fic because, while Iris is clever, Remus is not the one to teach it to her.

 

Iris and Yukata are two sides of the same coin. As they get older, they get more similar in some ways and more different in others. Yukata seems very calm and collected, but he is an eleven year old, after all. He just has a better poker face than Iris, though Liam was sitting there like 'mate, what are you doing?'. Yukata and Iris are both a bit oblivious, and social cues are definitely not their strong suit.

 

Snape was being a bit of a jerk with that, and Iris' fear of going to Gryffindor isn't because she thinks they're dumb. She's not brave, and she knows it, so being in a house full of brave people is her idea of torture. Let's just say that Iris and Yukata aren't the only ones who had the idea to sneak people into the common room.

 

The debate will be soon, but I'm still working on fleshing it out a bit. Writing a debate is a lot more difficult than I thought, and I doubt that there will be any debates that aren't required for the plot. They're chaos and difficult to properly articulate with written word.

 

Thank you for reading!

 

-A



Name: Noelle Zingarella (Signed) · Date: 25 Jan 2020 06:43 PM · For: Public Speaking

Hi Robin! I’m here for CMDC Round 1 :D

 

Public speaking? Why did it have to be public speaking? I know that learning by doing is a great way to learn, but I really feel for Iris here in this chapter. It seems like a lot to just throw the first years to the eagles and make them debate right away IN FRONT OF THE WHOLE HOUSE! And it seems like they’ve chosen a topic that Iris isn’t even really passionate about (if first years should play on the Quidditch teams or not) and put her up against Yukata, who seems to be a natural at debating.

 

I’m super happy with this chapter though—I love that you’ve taken this moment to show us so much about Iris and the inner workings of the Ravenclaw house. Iris, who is able to keep her cool under Snape’s scrutiny (by the way, I’m glad that he’s calmed down some and is now just treating her like the other students, even though that is still pretty poorly) is freaking out here and worried that she’s going to have to be sent over to Gryffindor if she fails. It’s pretty hilarious that this is her fear—to be sent to Gryffindor XD

 

But Evan and Roger aren’t going to send her in unprepared. I love how they help her practice, get her comfortable with the space, give her tips; and then try to put everything in perspective—everyone loses a debate at some point, and it’s not a big deal, the point is to learn HOW to debate and how to use logic. It’s so Ravenclaw and I love it!

 

I also liked how you showed us how very young Iris is in the moment when she couldn’t see over the debate podium. And I really think there need to be snacks at this debate.

 

Also, the Knocker as an agent of chaos made me laugh. I can’t wait to see this debate!

 

Nice work!

 

Yours,

 

Noelle




Author's Response:

Thank you for reviewing, Noelle!!

 

Because Iris is afraid of it, and she needs to overcome this fear. Also because I wanted to write a debate, but I didn't realize how difficult it would be. The reason why Audrey and Evan picked this topic is because it's a rather standard topic for the Ravenclaws, and one that is heavily debated within the house itself. It's not that they want Iris to fail. It's a tradition at this point for the first years to debate it, and it's something that that would personally affect their lives.

 

I really like writing the inner workings of Ravenclaw. I try not to let it overtake the rest of the story, though sometimes that's difficult. They are a bit more tight-knit than Gryffindor seems in canon, and the debates are one way for them to bond as a house.

 

Snape's gotten to the point where he just ignores her. After the comment that she could be his daughter, Snape has just noped out of dealing with this child. I forgot to mention this in your review, but let's just say that Remus used his Hard Stare on Snape to get him to be slightly nice towards Iris. He may have mentioned certain events during their school years. I have thoughts about how things could have been different in the relationship between Iris and Snape (DM me if you're curious). He hates Harry because Harry reminds him of James (and, by extension, Lily), but he has mixed feelings towards Iris due to her parents. He's not always sure what to think of this snarky little girl with gray eyes.

 

Evan and Roger have the best bromance. I see Roger as that cool older brother figure in a lot of kid's stuff. He's a ladies' man (off-screen, of course, because he is in Big Brother Mood around the firsties), but he takes time to really mentor the younger students. He was originally just a cameo, but I like how he turned out. I was originally going to have Evan do all of this, but I liked how it turned out with Roger better.

 

Iris is a smol bby. The Potter height genes skipped both Anne and Iris. There should be snacks, and everyone other than Penelope wishes for it to be that way. However, Penelope won that debate the very first night, so they do not get snacks in the Official Ravenclaw Common Room Snack Basket this year. Fret not: the debate is held at the beginning of every school year, and, sometimes, they get snacks.

 

I love Knocker, I really do. I hate writing riddles (as you might have guessed), but I love writing snarky answers to Knocker. As for how chaotic Knocker is, let me give you a hint: Knocker is the one who lets Peeves in. Without Peeves having to answer a riddle.

 

-A



Name: Noelle Zingarella (Signed) · Date: 25 Jan 2020 06:25 PM · For: Potter Family Brunch

Hi Robin! I’m here for CMDC Round 1 :D

 

I’m really amused that Iris keeps mentally referring to Ron as mini-Percy. It’s a lovely tidbit that makes a physical connection between Ron and Percy; and I’m sure that Ron would be horrified to know that he’s being thought of that way. Ron is so desperate to be his own person, and Percy is probably the one of his siblings that annoys him the most. I wonder if Iris will ever get to appreciate the irony.

 

I thought you handled this official meeting between Iris and Harry and the other two very well. Since Iris has been raised as an only child, and Harry was raised (and abused) by the Durselys, it makes a lot of sense that the two of them would be a little awkward and cautious about each other. Harry seems to be a little self-centered at the beginning of this meeting, very concerned about who Remus is to him and why Remus hasn’t really talked to him. And Iris is quick to defend and explain. Nice hinting about Remus’s condition too with the bit about how he can’t grow aconite in his garden. But even with all of Iris’s curiosity and all the information she has (that he always goes away at the full moon and comes back more tired than he was before) she hasn’t yet put together that her godfather is a werewolf. With a father as a mass murderer and a godfather as a werewolf, I wonder how Iris is going to take it when she does find out.

 

The scene when Iris and Harry go for a walk by the lake was lovely. I was also disappointed that the giant squid was no where to be seen. But Iris and Harry are able to voice the way they feel to each other (that they both feel like they don’t know how to have or be a good cousin) and I think that they are really going to be able to build on that honesty. And, if nothing else, they can bond over the fact that Snape is nasty to both of them.

 

Nice work!

 

Yours,

 

Noelle




Author's Response:

Thank you for reviewing, Noelle!!

 

I don't want to spoil whether or not Ron finds out that Iris referred to him this way. I always thought that Ron and Percy looked similar, even more than some of the other Weasleys, and Iris sees him as a mini-Percy, though definitely his own person. She knows of Fred and George, and she knows of, but hasn't met, Ginny, so the only Weasley she's really dealt with is Percy. This is not the last time these two will speak, however.

 

These two awkward babies. I love them, I really do, but they are so awkward, I get second-hand embarrassment with them in this chapter.

 

Iris could, if she thought about it, put the pieces together about Remus' condition, but she honestly hasn't thought about it because she honestly thinks that he's sick like her mother was. She barely remembers her mother, and Anne was sick for most of the time that Iris remembers her. She fears that Remus will die, and she honestly wouldn't know what she would do without him. To her, she's preparing herself for eventually losing him. The idea that he's not sick never crosses her mind because she doesn't think that he could be a werewolf.

 

Now, has Snape been meddling where Snape ought not to be meddling? Yes, of course. That's Snape. And, yes, he is trying to get certain children to figure out certain things. If Iris weren't so concerned about her father, she would probably figure it out. Don't worry. There is one more big secret for Iris to figure out.

 

There will be giant squid. Iris will not end her first year at Hogwarts without seeing the giant squid, I promise you. They have a lot more in common than they think, and I like writing their relationship.

 

-A



Name: Noelle Zingarella (Signed) · Date: 25 Jan 2020 06:09 PM · For: Seeking the Truth

Hi Robin! I’m here for CMDC Round 1 :D

 

I agree with Iris, being Headmaster is a hard, stressful job. It’s very preceptive of her to notice Dumbledore looking old and tired. I also love that Remus never yells, even when he’s upset—I totally agree with this character trait. But even an upset Remus wouldn’t be able to unnerve Dumbledore—he’s been stared at by scarier people than Remus.

 

Nice Paddington reference :)

 

And we finally get a little more information about Iris’s mother. She was sickly, but kind, and Pomfery wanted her to be a Healer and work with her after graduation—which didn’t happen. It looks like Iris is a pretty healthy girl so far though.

 

Is Madam Pince trying to hint at who Iris’s father is? This is the second time she’s tried to direct the girl to a book about Pureblood linage. The first time I thought it might just have been her being batty, but now I’m wondering if she knows what Iris is looking for and is trying to help.

 

Oh man—how freaky to finally realize that you look like someone and that someone is Walburga Black of all people! (cue dramatic music) Iris knows, doesn’t she?? Is Remus going to tell her the truth now?

 

Man, Iris and Remus really need to have an out and out heart to heart. I know it’s his bad time of the month, but it was pretty clear that Iris knew all about Sirius and she seriously (d’oh!) needs to talk to someone about it. I’m sad that she’s alone now for the full moon.

 

But Crookshanks seems to have made a friend of her, and I’m glad at the end of the chapter that Hermione has invited Iris to eat with the golden trio. I hope that they will be able to cheer her up some, especially after Snape was such a jerk in the class. Good job having him pick on the hair cut that Iris had given her friend—it seems like the sort of thing he would do.

 

 

 

Nice work!

 

Yours,

 

Noelle




Author's Response:

Thanks for reviewing, Noelle!!

 

Iris is not the biggest fan of Dumbledore. She certainly doesn't see him as the wise, all-knowing figure that Harry does. She sees him as she does in this: an old, tired man who is trying his best. She respects him, of course, but she does not see him as a faultless person like Harry does. It's the difference in how they were raised, I think. Harry tends to think incredibly highly of people until they do something to change that. Iris is a bit more reserved about her praise and trust. She already has her Dumbledore-like figure: Remus.

 

Remus and Iris have a soft spot for Paddington, though you will see Iris' opinion of orange marmalade soon enough. I like the book as well, which is why I included this, and I imagine Remus (other than being like he is in the movies) as sounding a bit like the Paddington from the movies. He's very soft-spoken, and I imagine that he tries to maintain that image. That being said, I would probably be afraid of his Hard Stare.

 

You will get to hear more about Anne in a story of her own. Well, a story of her and Iris' father. I mentioned it in my writer's journal, but it won't be published until I've done a few challenge entries. I can't talk about it much here because spoilers, but it will be within the next few months. She's a very interesting character, and there is a reason behind her illness. I'm glad you're picking up on that; remember that in a few books, along with something else you're going to find out soon.

 

Madam Pince knows exactly who Iris' father is, but she doesn't like giving out information. She prefers for people to find it for themselves, but she gives Iris hints and breadcrumbs. She's a bit batty, but she knows what she's talking about in this case. I almost thought of having Iris find out she looks similar to someone else in that family, but I want to save that reveal for a later time. Let's just say that Walburga looks like another relative who Iris will be dealing with sometime.

 

Iris and Crookshanks have an interesting relationship, one that I like writing. This is the second bit of it, but Crookshanks may have another reason for seeking out Iris, specifically, during the kipper theft.

 

Snape is nothing if not observant, and, honestly, I'm a bit influenced by how you write Snape when I write him in all of this. He's a rather clever one, isn't he?

 

-A



Name: Noelle Zingarella (Signed) · Date: 25 Jan 2020 05:52 PM · For: Halloween Eve

Hi Robin! I’m here for CMDC Round 1 :D

 

The mental image of the Hufflepuffs and Ravenclaws peppering Remus—and probably all the other teachers—with questions makes me giggle. I wish that we saw more of these classes in the books because I bet that this house pairing would make for a totally different classroom dynamic than the one created by the Gryffindors and Slytherins.

 

Your ideas are really wonderful and I love it when you take this world and make it your own. If I had any tiny bit of con crit for you, I would love it if you slowed down the narrative some and really showed us some of these ideas in action as you go forward—like the classroom dynamics, or the way that the library looks/feels/acts etc. I’m really enjoying this story and Iris’s point of view—I just want to encourage you to delve even more deeply into it!

 

I love it that Iris has already lost Ravenclaw so many points because of her constant questions. I wonder if Snape takes points away from the Ravenclaws for questions because he doesn’t like to be interrupted by them. But, even though I love Snape, I’ll be the first to admit that he has no business teaching young children!

 

I can’t imagine how hard it would be to write with a quill left-handed! It’s bad enough with pencils, and it’s so Remus that he would find a way to help Iris be her best by allowing her to write with pencils instead of struggle with a quill.

 

I’m pretty mad at Penelope right now! Iris is behaving just fine in potions—okay maybe she’s quick with the come-back—but she’s just fine! 

 

The scene where the girls are cutting each other’s hair is exactly the sort of relationship-building and world-building scenes that I want more of! It’s really cute to see them bonding over something that the sort of shouldn’t be doing :)

 

The Halloween bait and switch was nicely done. You build up this lovely day with themed Charms class and lots of candy—and then drop that little bomb about how Halloween for Iris and Remus growing up was always a bad day—and we the readers know why but she doesn’t. Nicely played.

 

Uh oh! Amid all the chaos created by Sirius Black’s break in, Iris is starting to get information that Remus has been hiding from her. The truth will out.

 

Nice work!

 

Yours,

 

Noelle




Author's Response:

Thank you for reviewing, Noelle!!

 

I had a lot of trouble figuring out how Hufflepuff and Ravenclaw classes would be together. We only get to see Gryffindor with other classes, so I wanted it to be a slightly different flavor. Defense Against the Dark Arts is a very slow-moving class because the Ravenclaws (Iris especially) ask Remus a lot of questions, and he answers all of them. He really is supposed to be a close-to-perfect teacher, one who cares about his students learning.

 

This is one of the chapters I rushed, and I'm working on slowing down the narrative. I have a hard time not getting bogged down in the classroom dynamics and the library, so I went a little too much in the other direction. I'm not happy with how rushed some of the chapters feel, and I'm fleshing out the next few chapters because I want them to feel less rushed. In the next few books in the series, there's a lot more of them in class, but I wanted to focus more on the mystery in this one.

 

I have written with a quill a couple times, and, honestly, it sucks when you're left-handed. It's not any easier with a caligraphy pen for me, and, I feel bad for Iris, but I wanted her to have that little growing pain. Remus tends to use pencils at home (though I imagine he's a fan of fancy pens when he can get them), so she's not used to quills.

 

Penelope is trying her best. She's a bit too strict with the firsties, but she does have their best interests at heart. Flitwick's a bit indulgent with the Ravenclaws, so Penelope is the (sort-of) stricter parental figure to the house.

 

I'm really glad that I didn't keep with the original plan for how Ophelia would get her characteristic short hair. Originally, it was going to be the casualty of a Potions accident, but I thought they deserved a bonding scene. I have a bad habit of getting bogged down with relationship-building and world-building that I tend to not include them, but there are more in the later chapters. This fic is definitely a learning experience for me in what I should do more or less of, and there are more scenes like this later in the series, and even later in this fic. I love the relationships between the dormmates, and they really do bond tightly. I think you'll like how the next book will start because they get some time to just bond and be friends.

 

I feel bad for Iris, but there had to be feels. Halloween is definitely an emotional day in the cottage, but one that Iris doesn't entirely understand. She never knew James and Lily (as they died about nine or so months before she was born), and she really only knows basic knowledge about them. Remus never really talks a lot about them because it hurts him, so they don't mean a lot to Iris other than being long-dead family members. Of course, she'll have new memories of Halloween soon, and they'll be happier.

 

I love that you used 'The truth will out'. As you'll see (because I'm about to reply to your other reviews), the truth is sort of a theme in this series. Iris is a fan of it, but Remus... Remus has his reasons for why he hasn't told her about several things. The truth will out, and there may be a bit of trouble when it does.

 

Thanks for reading!

 

-A



Name: Noelle Zingarella (Signed) · Date: 25 Jan 2020 05:13 PM · For: A Trip to the Library

Hi Robin! I’m here for CMDC Round 1 :D

 

Iris’s first meeting with Harry is awkward to say the least. I feel bad for her that she has to try to explain her family situation and how Harry does and doesn’t have an uncle—because she doesn’t know who her father is. That’s a lot for an eleven year old. Maybe its for the best that Harry blows off their dinner; Iris has more time to think about what she’s going to say (or just avoid saying it for a bit longer).

 

Um, avoiding Percy like he’s a pile of walking brussels sprouts is one of the most hilarious similes I’ve read lately XD

 

But not as hilarious as Iris’s comeback to Snape in potions! Snape might be up on her in terms of making her feel uncomfortable, but when she asks him if he’s worried that he might be her father—priceless!! Go, Iris, go!

 

I do wonder if he’s making her write about the Wolfsbane potion because he’s trying to hint to her that Remus is a werewolf, like he does in the DADA class later.

 

But I really want to know what Remus said to Snape to get him to back off of Iris!

 

This hinting that Snape is the right age to be Iris’s father is so tantalizing. But I do hope for her sake that he isn’t.

 

And here we are—at the hallowed Hogwarts library at last! I hope that Iris is able to read all of those books before she leaves Hogwarts. But I can’t help but feel that this visit to the library is somewhat overcast by her mission to find out who her father is. Like she can’t just go and enjoy communing with the books and the knowledge—she’s got a mystery to solve.

 

Madam Pince is an enigmatic figure. Although she keeps Iris away from what she wants (do first years get access to anything?) she doesn’t yell at them the way she does to other students. I’m really interested to see what you do with her character.

 

Does the rule book really stipulate that students are to be in bed after lights out when there is a murderer on the loose XD?

 

That doesn’t seem to bother Iris, but no late night library tonight. Was there really a situation in the prefect’s bath, or was Percy just looking for a snog?

 

Nice work!

 

Yours,

 

Noelle




Author's Response:

Thank you for reviewing, Noelle!!

 

The Potters are very awkward children, and they just get more awkward together. I think that Harry has quite a bit on his mind right now, what with Sirius Black out of Azkaban and everything, and dinner with Iris just simply falls to the wayside. Iris is, secretly, glad that they aren't having dinner quite yet. She doesn't konw how to talk to him, and she avoids situations that terrify her. She wants a cousin, but she doesn't know how to deal with Harry.

 

I feel really bad for Percy occasionally in this story. I love him, but people don't necessarily get him. He shows up a bit more, so don't worry.

 

Iris inherited Remus' snark, and, occasionally, she shows it. I had a lot of fun writing this scene. It is, in fact, the first part of this chapter that I wrote. She and Snape may not like each other, but they snark at each other. I feel like Snape's face right after that line is like when you bop a cat on the nose. That's what I imagined, though Snape would never let that look be more than a flash across his face.

 

I don't know what Snape would do if he had a child, especially one raised by Remus. That being said, Iris and Snape do share some similarities.

 

Madam Pince is to Iris what Dumbledore is to Harry, though she's not using Iris as a sacrificial lamb. She's more of a stealth mentor to Iris, and she gives Iris what she needs, not necessarily what she's looking for. Madam Pince knows Iris' mother, and she, like Snape, figured out who Iris' father is. There is a reason why she knows without question who Iris' father is, and that will be covered in a different story.

 

Iris will try to read every book in the library before she leaves Hogwarts. Of course, there may be sections that she can't get into just yet. Give her time. She'll get to read for fun soon enough. Just one little mystery for her to solve first.

 

...I realize the implications of that now, and, sure, let's go with Percy wanting a snog. I haven't decided whether or not he and Penelope are still together at this point, but they are good friends. I was thinking of a way for Penelope to have to leave because, originally, Iris and Astoria were going to manage to get into the library, but I thought having Iris' babysitter escort them back would be a better way for it to go.

 

Thank you for reading!

 

-A



Name: Noelle Zingarella (Signed) · Date: 25 Jan 2020 04:51 PM · For: An Introduction to Formal Education

Hi Robin! I’m here for CMDC Round 1 :D

 

First of all, I think your chapter title are just fine—I think you do a fine job picking titles!

 

It’s really exciting to see Hogwarts from the perspective of a different house that Gryffindor. I like the way the blue curtains around Iris’s bed immediately let the reader know that we’re in a familiar place—but it’s different. I’m also excited that Astoria Greengrass is in Ravenclaw; in many fics she’s sorted into Slytherin, but I like the idea that she is in a different house. It puts more focus on how different than Draco, her future husband, she is.

 

It’s so nice that the prefects help the first year Ravenclaws find their way around the school so they don’t get lost right off the bat. The joke about losing people to the library was pretty amusing—I wonder how often that happens.

 

Poor Iris, though! She’s so excited for her first class at Hogwarts, and it’s Potions—with Snape. And she’s a Potter. It seems like Snape is actually giving her a compliment at first, but when he finds out she’s the Potter girl, it’s all nastiness. Your Snape is a cold terror for sure, and is certainly not worried about his student’s feelings. But Iris manages to keep her cool and argue back with him—although she stays in line enough to avoid detention.

 

If Snape knows that Iris was born out of wedlock, I wonder if he knows who her mysterious father is…

 

I’m glad that Charms, Transfiguration, and flying classes went better. It’s interesting that Iris prefers travel by Floo to flying.

 

I giggle every time Iris frets over whether something some teacher—or Head Student—says is going to be on a test or a quiz. The seminar for the first year Ravenclaws is cute; but I wonder if Percy’s doing it so he can hang out with Penelope, or if he just didn’t think he could get the Gryffindors to sit still for one.

 

Nice work!

 

Yours,

 

Noelle




Author's Response:

Thank you for reviewing, Noelle!!

 

I like thinking about Hogwarts from a not-Harry perspective. So the one thing I've always known while writing this is that Astoria wouldn't be in Slytherin. I didn't want her to just be in Slytherin because her sister is because Astoria just wouldn't do that, or, at least, the Astoria I write. She's very independent, but she has a healthy respect for the rules (unlike Iris). She and Draco won't really be interacting on-screen in this (because they know each other from pureblood circles, they have probably said hi in the hallways or whatever) until much later, but I think you'll enjoy their conversations.

 

I'm glad you enjoyed the Snape and Iris interaction. Snape is very observant, and he knew Iris' mother at school. I really enjoy the arguing between Snape and Iris, and there is definitely more in store for that. I'm trying to hit a nice balance between book!Snape and movie!Snape, but my Snape leans a bit more towards the colder movie portrayal. I imagine that he's a bit different with the Ravenclaws and Hufflepuffs than he is with the Gryffindors and Slytherins. Snape knows quite a bit, though he has had to figure out something for himself. Now, being Snape, he figured it out within a few minutes meeting her, but let's just say that Snape is not entirely unobservant.

 

I didn't want Iris to be too similar to Harry in the flying aspect, and she's just not as enthralled with flying as Harry. Part of it is a small fear of heights, and the other part is that she just finds instantaneous travel a bit more efficient. She gets used to flying, but, as an eleven year old, she doesn't entirely care about it. There is another method of transportation she loves, but she doesn't find out about it until a few years from now.

 

The seminar was meant to have all of the first years, but I was a bit unclear in that. When I edit this chapter, that is definitely going to be clarified. I imagine that Percy decided to do it because he's Head Boy and he wants to mentor everyone. That's a big part of Percy's character for me. He wants to help others, but he doesn't always know how to do it well.

 

Thank you for reviewing!

 

-A



Name: justawillowtree (Signed) · Date: 23 Jan 2020 09:23 PM · For: Nerves

OH this made me so happy!!

 

Despite the debate having stressed Iris out to no end the entire week, I was really glad that it pushed her to the point where she just let all her complaints out to Remus in one long breath! She really covered both her major grievances in one sentence there, haha, didn’t she? I really envied Remus there, because if I had to watch over a child who was as sweet and genuine and Iris, I think I would be the absolute happiest person in the entire world. I’m really glad that he was more honest with her, as well, and that he assured her he would never be angry! I actually rather think this conversation points to Iris’s inherent talent regarding debating—she’s so curious and wants full answers to all her questions, and won’t take a half-answer for anything, and also, as soon as Remus has apologized for not taking her feelings into consideration sooner, she immediately rebuts and says his actions were “entirely sensible” hahaha.

 

I love how you still manage to make this story tied very closely to canon by introducing Harry to the scene! It’s just a really good way for me to get a handle on how Iris’s story parallels Harry’s.

 

BUT the part of the chapter that made me the absolute happiest was when both Iris and Yukata discovered they were not alone in being agonizingly nervous! I believe this chapter really speaks to the concept of “fake it till you make it,” or that other people are never necessarily as cool as they might seem, haha. Good on Yukata for opening the conversation and asking her how she felt about the debate, otherwise these two numbskulls never would’ve settled this point. (They are too cute. I just can’t handle these children omg.)

 

You know, I suspect that a Ravenclaw might be the best at finding loopholes in rules, as demonstrated by the group of Ravenclaw first-years sneaking their non-Ravenclaw friends into the debates. I admire their ambition and persistence, and I hope that they succeed in their endeavors! (As in, I really hope that Audrey and Evan don’t notice Sylvia and Liam hanging around, because those two are wonderful as well!)

 

I’m really really excited for the debate chapter!! Will be keeping my toes crossed that it comes soon!

 

Love,

Eva



Author's Response:

Thank you for reviewing, Eva!!

 

Iris does not handle stress well, as you might imagine. It just kind of burbled over, but, not to worry, Remus knows how to handle stressed-out Iris. And he's also done a bit of (accidental) mentoring of Iris in debating. She's not exactly a natural at debating, but, not to worry, she will try her best in the debate. She and Remus have several, well, not debates, but discussions that are close to it over the years, especially once Iris starts getting more into debates in Ravenclaw. I like writing their relationship because it's caring and just, ugh, they're so sweet??

 

I completely forgot to mention the fic about Iris' mother in the review you mentioned it, so here it is. It'll be coming out sometime after I do a bunch of challenge entries, but I already have the first one-shot/chapter complete. It's going to be thirteen sections long, and they'll all be pretty self-contained snippets of their lives. Keep an eye out for it within the next couple months. There is a small snippet of it on my journal, if you'd like to see what you're in for.

 

Yukata sees Iris as one of his friends, along with Liam, who is his bestie and whose relationship with Yukata I love. Iris doesn't quite realize this yet because Yukata doesn't really communicate all that well about feelings and such. I love the boy, but he does not know how to talk about feelings. He just kind of assumes that Iris knows that they're friends. They have a relationship that's really fun to write because Yukata's very sardonic and dry (reminding me a bit of Snape's humor) and Iris is one of the people who can match his wit (once they're a little older and she realizes that, yes, he likes when people make snarky retorts to his snarkiness). I can't write much more about this because spoilers, even though I could go on for hours about them, but let's just say that these two have a fun relationship that I enjoy writing. Yukata and Liam are also a package deal, and Iris has a fun relationship with him.

 

Oh, Yukata is definitely faking it until he makes it at this point. Of course, he thinks that Iris, who is clever like him, is all cool and collected because she seems like that. Of course, we know that Iris is internally panicking, thinking that Yukata is all chill. He is chill on the outside, but screaming on the inside. They're very similar in some aspects, while very different in others. I love their relationship because this is, honestly, the basis of it. They both think that the other one has everything locked, while both are internally screaming. Now, as they get older, parts of this change (as in, occasionally, one of them actually has everything together), but it's basically these two having some slight misunderstandings, but they actually get each other.

 

You will see them really find loopholes over the course of the series, especially when it has to do with Knocker. I will tell you one thing: these two aren't the only ones who had that idea in the next chapter.

 

The next chapter is, probably, about halfway written, so it should be sooner rather than later. I'd like to wrap this story up soon so that I can start writing more of the next one. For her second year, I'm definitely going to write more than two chapters before I start posting it, but there'll be a nice little break filled with challenge entries between the two.

 

Thank you, again, for reviewing. Your reviews make my day.

 

-A



Submit a Review