Login
Reviews For A Farewell to Arms

Name: TreacleTart (Signed) · Date: 10 Dec 2017 04:12 AM · Chapter: Castles of Sand

Hello again! 

 

Well, I'm not sure what to say. That definitely didn't end as I expected it to. To be comppletely honest, I'm sort of at a loss for words here. 

 

So Draco tries to hold it together for awhile and then kind of loses his mind. I feel like it really dishonors Hermione's memory for him to not take his role seriously. I mean she put her faith in him. To me, that seems like a betrayal of her trust and also the breaking of his promise to her. I can't imagine how furious she'd be if she knew he spent his powers making Hogwarts his private mansion instead of making the world better.

 

I do like that instead of executing him, they took away his ability to do magic. That seems fitting and like the just world you would hope would come after such a tragic war. I could definitely see why it might be an unpopular decision though.

 

I did like the ending with Draco sweeping the alley and looking at Hermione's memorial. I thought that was a sweet touch. 

 

Overall, I really enjoyed this story, particularly the first two chapters. I thought the detail and world building you put into the beginning was really good. My only real critique is that the last couple of chapters felt a bit rushed to me. I wish you'd have explored some of these events in a bit more depth. 

 

Good work! 

 

-Kaitlin



Name: TreacleTart (Signed) · Date: 10 Dec 2017 04:01 AM · Chapter: Crashing To The Ground

Hello again, 

 

Well, that escalated quickly. I'm actually a big fan of Hermione/Draco, but I feel like this was maybe a bit rushed? I don't know that I buy that one favor, a few meetings, and a broom race is enough to undo all of the pain between both of them, particularly because in the world you've created here, they've been fighting each other for a lot longer than in canon. 

 

I do think their relationship is really sweet though. In all of the darkness, it's nice to see some lightness coming through. I'd imagine that after the years of war, they'd each be starved for some sort of positive affection. 

 

I like that it's actually a slytherin who kills Dolohov. I always disliked in canon that most of the Slytherins are made out to be evil. I would've imagined that quite a few of them would've come over to the right side.

 

It's interesting that Hermione would propose that Draco be the Minister and that everyone would just go along with that. Again, I just have to think that after all the years of fighting on the wrong side, it would be hard for most people to trust Draco. I mean I do see the logic. He's the most stable and thus far, most trustworthy of the bad guys, but still, I feel like it needed a bit more. 

 

Ugh. The ending was tough. Just when life is finally starting to get back to normal, Hermione is killed. Draco holding her until she passed was like a total gut punch. I wonder if he'll be able to hold it together now that she's gone. 

 

Off to read the final chapter now! 

 

-Kaitlin



Name: TreacleTart (Signed) · Date: 10 Dec 2017 03:46 AM · Chapter: A New Dawn

Hello again! 

 

Back for some more! I have a feeling I'm going to end up reading all of these chapters tonight. :)

 

Ok. I'm not sure if I missed something, but why did Seamus get executed? I mean I can infer that he attacked someone or did something he wasn't supposed to, but I would've liked a bit of detail on this. 

 

Ah. Draco and Hermione are starting to form a friendship. It was nice of Draco to find out about Hermione's family and for Hermione to bring Draco Goyle's head for a burial. I'd say the two of them really are working together well. Perhaps, it's the fact that they've both been through hell and lost everyone they've ever cared about.

 

So I don't find it hard to believe that Draco and Hermione would be able to put their differences aside for the goal of peace. I think I can even buy that they might do each other a favor or two as a show of good will, but I do have a hard time imagining them going flying together at this point. To me, for a friendship to form, I feel like there has to be trust...and with all of the history between the two of them, I don't know how they'd really have that much trust yet. 

 

All in all, I thought this was a really interesting chapter and I'm glad to see things moving towards peace. 

 

Good work! I'm off to the next chapter now. 

 

-Kaitlin

 



Name: TreacleTart (Signed) · Date: 10 Dec 2017 03:39 AM · Chapter: End Game

Hello again! 

 

After that excellent first chapter, I had to come back for some more and boy am I glad that I did! Wow! Where do I even start?

 

This is certainl a grim future that you've created. An almost extinct wizarding race and the Muggles in search of them to finish them off. It definitely does not look good for the magic world. It's amazing that the war got this far. 

 

I love love love that you have Augusta Longbottom leading the army. She always stood out to me as incredibly strong and I could totally see her taking on this roll. I wouldn't want to mess with her. 

 

I like that both Draco and Hermione have become cpable of putting the conflict aside to negotiate for peace. I know that Draco has been questioning the war for a long time, so it's nice to see him finally standing up for what he believes in his heart. 

 

I'm curious to see if Dolohov is going to cause problems. It seems like he's sort of a lose cannon and that can be a bad thing in this sort of situation. 

 

Another good chapter! I'm off to read some more now! 

 

-Kaitlin



Name: TreacleTart (Signed) · Date: 10 Dec 2017 12:06 AM · Chapter: Chapter 1

Hi there! 

 

I've heard so much about how good this story is, so I thought I'd finally drop by and give it a read. I do love a good apocolyptic war didn't end sort of AU.

 

Draco is honestly one of my favorite characters both to write and read. I feel like there is so much going on with him behind the scenes that doesn't get explored in canon that it makes for some great stories. I love the way you've started this so far. I think the idea of Draco having to sweep streets muggle style makes a lot of sense and would fit with the sort of world Kingsley and Arthur might try to create. 

 

I was really saddened by the idea that Kingsley was so inept. He's another of my favorite characters and I always imagined him to be a lot better than the previous ministry lackies. And then the idea of Arthur failing so badly just breaks my heart. The poor Weasley's just cannot catch a break. 

 

Ugh. And the idea of Harry dying is tragic enough on it's own without having to kill Ginny off with him. You really spared no feelings here.

 

I'm really interested to see what ends up happening to Draco here and in which direction this new apocolyptic world goes. I imagine there must still be some resistance and it seems that Draco has less and less incentive not to join it. 

 

Really excellent start so far! I'll be back for more soon!

 

-Kaitlin



Name: AbraxanUnicorn (Signed) · Date: 19 Jan 2017 04:35 PM · Chapter: Castles of Sand

Oh my goodness, WHAT a story!

I stumbled upon this, quite by accident, and I'm so very glad I did. It's just so beautifully written, so well thought out, so full of well-developed characters, so deliciously good, so different, so original, so sad, so so so...argh!! I absolutely adore it.

One day, when I can string a sentence together, I will leave a better review. Until then, I leave you this incoherent declaration of love for your story.

 

Brax X



Author's Response:

I'm pretty chuffed with this review, actually... Delighted you enjoyed it, thank you!



Name: abhorsen (Signed) · Date: 20 Dec 2016 06:34 AM · Chapter: A New Dawn

Did you seriously just casually execute Seamus Finnigan right after giving us hope with a ceasefire? Seriously? That's just evil.

 

On another level, though, once I got over that massive punch to the gut (I adore Seamus), it actually did make sense to me. Seamus always had a temper, and he was very close to a lot of people who either we know died or it seems likely that they died. I can see him breaking under that and in the midst of war.

 

I like that Draco is sad about it, too - and that Hermione has either hardened to the point that she isn't or is just unwilling to show that to the enemy. Draco has always held the cards - as she says, he's been fighting for the right to kill Muggles at will and she's been fighting for the right to not be murdered - and it's a lot easier for him to open up to her in some ways than it would be for her to open up to him. But once he cracks the door open, she's willing to at least peer through it, which is the Hermione through and through.

 

This is so, so good. You got amazing lines, and their character development is just so believable. I can't wait to read on.



Name: abhorsen (Signed) · Date: 20 Dec 2016 06:22 AM · Chapter: End Game

Ughhhhh this is so good, omg.

 

You're taking on such difficult and complex topics - I didn't think that it could get more extreme than the utter destruction of civilization and a descent into complete anarchy, but I stand corrected! Having to unite two groups who absolutely despise each other to avoid destruction is even tougher - and, intentional or not, it's pretty poignant given the state of the world today.

 

I love your depiction of Draco. His noticing Hermione feels natural and not a big deal on the face of it, but you've written it in such a way that there's definite subtext and interest on his part - even though I doubt Draco is aware of that himself! 

 

Ahhh this is so good, omg. Amazing job.



Name: abhorsen (Signed) · Date: 17 Nov 2016 09:44 PM · Chapter: Chapter 1

Hi! I came across this and thought I'd stop by with a review. :)

 

I love war-torn!Draco stories to a ridiculous degree. I think that he's an amazing character and I'm always so fascinated by different authors' takes on him, and this is one of the better ones I've seen so far. The crushing guilt and shame is perfect, and I love the idea of his punishment essentially being stripped of all magic.

 

The way you describe the war is absolutely chilling - and absolutely realistic. I love the clear descent into chaos and madness, and it fits perfectly with the idea of Greyback in charge. Voldemort was evil, but he was authoritarian - you never got the sense in the books that Greyback cared about anything but his own immediate gratification, and you've carried that to its logical conclusion brilliantly.

 

Adding this to my favorites, and I can wait to see more of it! Keep up the good work!



Author's Response:

I'm delighted you liked it so far - this story is admittedly somewhat depressing, but I love exploring the dystopian possibilites of canon. Draco has so many angles as a character to explore that I can't seem to stop writing about him.



Submit a Review