Reviews For Beyond Repair


Name: TidalDragon (Signed) · Date: 12 May 2020 08:24 PM · For: Daddy's Little Flowers

Howdy Renee!

 

I thought I had read this before for some reason, but apparently not. You started it off with a nice bang here and I'm interested to see if things progress from Lily's birth until later in life of if we're getting a fluctuating timeline of one-shots.

 

You definitely nailed (what seem like would be) the feels of an older child meeting their little sibling for the first time. Obviously Petunia is pleased and intrigued, but then she becomes grumpy at the absence of the usual affection. She has to learn to share love and that right quick in this scene and I think you wrote her thought processes and experiences well, even though she's just a child.

 

Thanks for sharing!



Name: Crystal (Anonymous) · Date: 26 Apr 2020 01:38 PM · For: Distant Shores

Ooooh! New chapter!!I know it's supposed to be all dark and scary, and it is.. also i didn't realize how early in Lily and James' lives Voldemort started his snenanigans.. this IS dark and scary, but Ialso kind of feel a glimmer of hope here?  Like maybe Petunia could start to see Magic isn't all it's cracked up to be?  I know the last bit makes it sound like she's not realized at all, but if things start happening and the family becomes aware, maybe she'll soften up a little? *crosses fingers*  I love how even though these two have grown apart so much, they're still caring about each other with asking about the dreams.. and  they're still SO alike in some ways, both of them going ot bed thinking the same thing.  I want SOmuch for Petunia to kind of wake up and realize so they can be proper sisters again!  

 

I'm interested to see what voldemot will do in the coming chapters and how that will change things for the girls.. and also how marriage and children come ino the picture.  I can't wait to read more.. Please let me know when there's an update!  And I know you have a busy life and lots going on so please don't feel pressured but... PLEASE UPDATE SOOON!!! Ineed moreeee!! 



Name: Crystal (Anonymous) · Date: 26 Apr 2020 01:30 PM · For: Blossom and Bloom

I really, really wish that the girls had each other to talk to about all of this! They're going through the same things at the same times, having a sister really does help with these things!  but unfortunately it's practically like neither of them have a sister :( 

 

Poor Petunia.. once again.  Why do all these things keep happening to her?  I really do feel sort of protective of her here. Ijust wish she knew that Lily's date hadn't gone well either.. but then again I  suppose any date  is better than being stood up.. poor thing :( 

 

Only one more chapter!! :( 



Name: Crystal (Anonymous) · Date: 26 Apr 2020 01:21 PM · For: On the Other Side of the World

I remember this chapter from before, but it still stings.. you do SUCH a good job with the emotions!  I can almost feel that Petunia's just been left alone with her anger and jealousy for too long and it's just festered... and this is what we're left with.

 

But again, I can still see her point.. her crush walked up and Lily started talking about strange things.. ANY girl her age would be mortified.  So even though I can see where she's at fault, I can also still see how anyone could feel this way.

 

And Lily's last thoughts say a lot about her.. she's a kind person but even kind people can only take so much. She's been hurt by Petunia so many times but she's always tried to make amends, even when she did nothing wrong. It feels like now, she's just done.  And I can't really blame her, as much as I wish things didn't have to be this way. :( 

 

And I think I'm getting to the parts I haven't read yet... OOH!!



Name: Crystal (Anonymous) · Date: 26 Apr 2020 01:13 PM · For: Strike Two

This chapter makes me realize there are SO many factors that contributed to the falllout between the girls, not just jealousy.  It was already hard enough for Petunia with the grief of 'losing' a sister, then you add to it that Lily's off elsewhere in a magical castle while Petunia's at home dealing with the fights and her dad's temper and the money situation.. I imagine she'd feel even MORE abandoned and feel even MORE like she's got something to blame Lily for, especially with the money thing.  Poor Lily is still trying and you can see she's trying to be considerate, and even thinks about not telling Petunia things in case they make her jealous, but it's not enough.  And really, when Istarted reading this chapter I thought 'maybe it would be best  if Lily just pretended Hogwarts was awful'.. but she wants to be honest and share these things with her sister, and you can't blame her for that, either.

 

I'm really happy that Lily's got friends around to support her with Petunia acting this way.  But I do still feel So sorry for Petunia :( 



Name: Crystal (Anonymous) · Date: 26 Apr 2020 01:04 PM · For: Sandcastle

Man... once again, you've made it so easy to relate to Petunia.  Yeah, that does seem really unfair that she can't even get a magazine but Lily gets all this stuff.. but  Lily is SO sweet to apologize and be just as sad as her... it's nice to see they're still somewhat able to relate at times, despite what happened in the last chapter. 

 

You did a really great job of just making  this a normal family chapter, if that makes sense.  No magic, no Hogwarts (or at least, it's only briefly mentioned), they're just a regular family having  a beach day and they SOOO need that.. but you can still see their sadness at their separation as well, I wish Petunia could just GOO to Hogwarts!! Gah!! Reading this again gives me a whole new perspective on how difficult it must be for muggle-borns and their family to adjust.  I mean, Harry had to adjust and we saw that, but he  didn't have siblings who were jealous, and he pretty much made it on his own once he got to Hogwarts, save for the help of the Weasleys.  But we see here it is SOO hard for these girls and for their parents, who are worried about the money. 

 

There are so many reasons and so many levels to why this is SUCH a good story.. I know I keep saying that, but it is!



Name: Crystal (Anonymous) · Date: 26 Apr 2020 12:54 PM · For: Frost

I think I'm kinda broken right along with Lily.  I feel like I've said this 10 times already, but this is definitely a turning point. I can understand what Petunia's feeling.. and in a way, it's a typical child-age behavior when one is jealous of a sibling, these things happen.. but unfortunately Petunia has taken things all the wrong way and she's just letting a hatred boil inside of her. :( I really feel like something just broke in their relationship so it's fitting that something's actually broken here. 

 

Your description of the snowglobe is, once again, amazing! Iwant a snowglobe like that! It sounds so lovely! And even bitter Petunia can't deny it's beautiful.. gah.  she could have done so many other things.. hide the snowglobe where she couldn't see it, say she didn't want it.. why did she have to break it??? :(  

 

You're so good at writing the beautiful, sweet moments, but also the moments like this.. such a good story and such an amazing writer!



Name: Crystal (Anonymous) · Date: 24 Apr 2020 03:00 PM · For: Owl Post

Aww I LOVE these letters! Lily is so sweet.. she has NO idea who Ralph is but she's like "he DEFINITELY fancies you!" I love that they're keeping in touch, I love that they're being honest and Lily's told her that magic isn't all it's cracked up to be.. I love that they're still SISTERS.  You can see Lily's excitement and Petunia's frustration, although it is slightly less obvious - but that's exactly what happens through letters, you can't communicate all the feelings you want to.  You did a great job of showing that! I love seeing how things unfold in this story again.  I can see the ups and downs in their relationship and it's SOOO realistic! Love, love, love! 



Name: Crystal (Anonymous) · Date: 23 Apr 2020 08:54 PM · For: Station Wagon

Awww man.  I hate this. I mean, I love the story, and the chapter! But I hate this feeling between these two when it doesn't have to be this way.  And Dumbledore's words stung a bit, because we know what's coming for Lily and Petunia's going to spend her whole life envying her for magic that will eventually cause her death.  You do SUCH a great job of making me feel what the characters are feeling here and I LOVE the mood ring, that's a great touch.  They're still SO close to saying what they both think here, particularly Petunia, but instead of choosing honesty she's going to choose anger.  It's SO sad to think how close they were, and how this is a major turning point. :( It is SUCH a good story though!  



Name: Crystal (Anonymous) · Date: 22 Apr 2020 08:40 PM · For: Crossed Fingers

It's so... cute and endearing the way Petunia looks at this as a matter of equality.  I can kind of see where she's coming from, poor thing :( It's so sad that magic just doesn't work that way, and you can really see her heart is in the right place here... I already know what the answer's gonna be and how things are gonna turn out, but this makes me wish, for just a moment, Dumbledore would just say YES and let her try.  But the results would be disastrous, I know.. and she'd wind up feeling more angry and hurt and bitter every time she tried to do something and couldn't. I'm sure she's not the only muggle to have a wizard sibbling who's felt this way. Still breaks my heart for her though. 

 

This is SOO good! 



Name: Crystal (Anonymous) · Date: 21 Apr 2020 03:25 PM · For: Pocket Money

This chapter really made me remember what it was like seeing Diagon Alley in the first movie all over again - you did a great job with the description, as always!  And it added something else to it entirely to be able to see it with new eyes, but also through MUGGLE eyes.  I mean.. Harry kind of had muggle eyes, but you know what I mean. 

 

Poor Petunia.. that feeling of "having lost something" is totally understandable and I feel so sorry for her hear.. you're really good at making me feel sympathy for someone I normally wouldn't! It almost makes me want to forgive her for everything she did in the series.. well.. almost :P 

 

Another awesome chapter! I remember more and more every day why I love this story (and your writing) so much!



Name: Crystal (Anonymous) · Date: 19 Apr 2020 11:36 PM · For: A Highly Unusual Day

'The storm was beginning' is SUCH a good ending for this chapter because that's EXACTLY what's happening! Gah! I can see here already how Petunia is distancing herself from Lily because of her jealousy/fear of losing her and I wish I could just shake her and make her stopppp itttt. 

 

I loved seeing how she got excited for her for a few minutes, but then the jealousy came back. I think she got pretty close to honest when she said 'why can't you just have us as family?'.. that's really the heart of the issue.. and of course Lily being a little over-sensitive didn't help, but it just makes me SO sad because I know what's coming.. and in a way it makes me wish Petunia had been a witch, too.  

 

Your description here was great, as always, especially with the flowers!  



Name: Crystal (Anonymous) · Date: 19 Apr 2020 11:28 PM · For: The Picnic

*sighs* Ohh, Petunia.  Here goes the jealousy, already. And poor Sev and his arm! It's nice to see Petunia has a little bit of decency to feel at least a pang of pity for him, but unfortunately her jealousy helped her get over it pretty quickly. 

 

I've learned that anger is a secondary emotion, and I just wish Petunia could realize that, too.. it would save her and Lily a lot of grief! It's really interesting to see Lily and Sev's friendship starting, though!  

 

Another awesome chapter and on to the next! 



Name: Crystal (Anonymous) · Date: 16 Apr 2020 09:26 PM · For: Light As a Feather

Ooooh I remember this, and I've got chills now just like I did the first time I read it!  This was SUCH a good way to show a display of power that sort of flowed naturally from what was happening in the story.  I remember playing this game as a kid and I'd have LOST it just like Petunia and the girls did if something like that had happened!  

 

I think what happened here is just.. what happens.. when you have a younger sibling, but it obviously hurts that little sibling's feelings and you did a great job showing that here!  Makes me feel sorry for my little sister!  Can't wait to read more!



Name: Crystal (Anonymous) · Date: 15 Apr 2020 09:51 AM · For: Sailing

I LOVE this chapter. Well, I love all the chapters.. but I love this one! I love how we start off in the girls' bedroom talking about their trip the next day, but we end up in the ocean on a ship in the middle of a storm, and I'm not sure how or where that happened?!?! In just a few words you transported me back and forth between reality and the dream and it was done flawlessly! I love these sweet little moments between the girls and wish they could last forever!! Can't wait to re-read what's next!



Name: Crystal (Anonymous) · Date: 13 Apr 2020 11:18 PM · For: Don't Let Go

All the feels!  Gosh I love when Tuney and Lily are getting along! It's SO sweet!  

 

I love seeing here again how much Lily looks up to Tuney at first.  I feel like Tuney rejecting her here is more of a typical 'big sister' thing and not a bitter jealousy thing, but that still hurts Lily and that's understandable. It's all part of their complex relationship that adds up to the way we see it in the series.  

 

Also that first line "Tuney was magical" is GOLD.  Gah!  I love this story! See you in the next chapter! <3 



Name: Crystal (Anonymous) · Date: 12 Apr 2020 10:35 PM · For: Daddy's Little Flowers

So after way too long I came here to read your new chapters, and realized I couldn't remember where I'd left off and I just decided to start over!! Som surprise!!!

Even from this first chapter I remember how good this story is and how well you hint at the jealousy, even from the beginning!! Soo well written! I can't wait to remember even more reasons why I love it!! 



Name: nott theodore (Signed) · Date: 02 Feb 2020 10:00 AM · For: Sandcastle

Hi Renee!  It's been way too long since I got the chance to read this story.

 

I don't know how you manage to capture this relationship so well, but in every single chapter that I read, I feel like I'm on a really bumpy journey with Petunia and Lily, seeing the peaks and troughs in their relationship as they're growing up together.  It's so sad because of the start that they had, when the two were so close - but I'm getting much more sympathetic towards Petunia from reading this.

 

I loved the way that you set this chapter at a seemingly happy time - the family on holiday, playing on the beach and building sandcastles.  It sounds so idyllic, but in reality it's the setting for something that's tinged with sadness, at least for Petunia.  I feel like when I'm reading this I get a much deeper understanding of how she feels and the way that she acts towards Lily and Harry later in life.  Even though Lily doesn't mean to be that way, from the moment that Petunia finds out her sister is a witch and she isn't, she's gradually left out of more and more things.

 

Even little things like the fact they can't afford to buy Petunia things that she wants because they're saving the money for Lily's school things make sense for Petunia becoming more jealous and upset about the situation - it's so unfair to her, as she sees it.

 

The building of Hogwarts in the sand was adorable, but I thought the ending, with it being washed away, said something about their relationship and the state that it's in - beyond repair, maybe.  I'm not sure they're quite at that point yet, but it's heartbreaking to see the friendship between the sisters crumbling, especially because we know it's pretty much inevitable.

 

Sian :)



Name: LadyMarauder (Signed) · Date: 02 Feb 2020 09:50 AM · For: The Picnic

Ohh we finally get to see Severus and Lily's friendship with someone other than Petunia. It was really great to see the dynamic between Lily and Snape and Petunia's inner thoughts as an older child, which I really loved. She seems quite bitter about both Lily having these abilities and that she has another friend, even though she tries to persuade herself that she doesn't even like Lily. Though I loved getting her opinion about it all and how she at first though magic was cool, but then when she realised she wouldn't be able to go, she suddenly decided she hated it.

 

Snape was an interesting one. I thought he was quite possessive over her already and Petunia go it right when she thought he was a bit creepy. Looking at Lily in that kind of greedy way he's known for in the books. It seems like his home life is so bad he's just desperate for attention from anyone. He loves being the one to tell her all about magic, almost like Petunia loved being the one to teach Lily how to ride a bike. 

 

I love that even at such a young age, Lily thought about Severus not eating that she brought them both a picnic. His home life sounds horrendous especially when he got those wand burns - I mean who does that to a child?!

 

Though I thought it was very interesting he learned an Unforgivable Curse and thought it was cool. Does that mean he's seen it being performed because if he has, no wonder he's so invested in the Dark Arts as he grows up at Hogwarts. That's completely disgusting if he has seen it being performed. I liked that Lily wasn't impressed with it though, it definitely shows their contrasting characters.

 

I really love this story and think you've created a fantastic world through the eyes of children.

 

Tasha xx 

 



Name: LadyMarauder (Signed) · Date: 02 Feb 2020 09:24 AM · For: Light As a Feather

Oh my word, this was a great chapter!!!

 

The first dialogue between Lily and Petunia says a lot about how the characters are growing and developing as they get a little older, with Petunia snapping at Lily in case she shows her up in front of her friends. This really mirrors how Petunia is in her adult life with making sure she puts on a front for their neighbours in Privet Drive, 

 

I like that you are choosing to write about moments that are so important to children - learning to ride a blke and now hosting a sleepover, which is so exciting for young girls.

 

After Petunia's friends decided Lily was too little to play with them, she was so cruel to Lily - kids can be little rogues, especially to their siblings, though I didn't like that Lily got the blame for it, bless her. It felt just so unfair, which I guess is just like a child would feel, so I think you pulled this off really well.

 

I really felt for Lily when she was in bed and could hear Petunia and all her friends having so much fun and felt left out. I loved that she stood up to the bullies for Petunia, even though it would have been the last thing her big sister wanted her to do in front of her friends. Again a very Gryffindor trait and I think you've written Lily so well throughout this chapter.

 

I loved again that you've incorporated Lily's magic here, though this time she's performing it on Petunia! It's clear that Lily feels more angry at her sister than the bullies, which is why, despite Lily feeling scared at the game Petunia kept rising! I remember playing that game as a kid, so it felt very real!

 

It's now clear that Petunia knows Lily has some kind of magical talent at the end. I'm looking forward to seeing where this goes as Petunia is already snapping at her and calling her names. 

 

Tasha xx 



Name: LadyMarauder (Signed) · Date: 02 Feb 2020 07:57 AM · For: Don't Let Go

Ohh this was a fantastic chapter, really moving their relationship on now they can interact with each other. Poor Lily feeling sad that Petunia didn't want to play with her even though she was so excited to be able to play with her big sister every day in the summer holidays. She seemed so sad about it and it's such a childlike reaction from both of them , so I really enjoyed how you wrote that section of the story.

 

I loved that Lily was trying to impress Petunia by learning to ride her bike, so she would think Petunia might be so happy that she would want to play with her. Lily's determination to learn how to do it, despite falling and really hurting herself was such a Gryffindor trait - like she was destined to be a Lion ever since she was a child - I loved that!

 

I'm glad that Petunia wasn't making fun of Lily in a nasty way, but she seemed to really love it that Lily was learning to ride a bike and she seemed really happy that Lily asked for her help. However, she did admit to watching Lily fall over and over again, so maybe there was a little bit of Petunia that was a little happy that Lily wasn't perfect at something that Petunia could already do. I'm not sure!

 

Anyway, I thought it was fantastic that you incorporated Lily's magical abilities in this chapter, way before she knew about magic and Hogwarts and had met Severus Snape. Although Lily really wanted to fly, as soon as the bike did what she wanted it too, she seemed terrified, especially when she couldn't get it to stop. I really loved that!

 

I really loved reading this chapter and I think you get the dialogue between the two sisters so well, as writing from a child's point of view is really difficult to get right. You did such a great job!

 

Tasha xx



Name: LadyMarauder (Signed) · Date: 02 Feb 2020 07:22 AM · For: Daddy's Little Flowers

I really loved this opening chapter and how you started it right after Lily was born to show Petunia's relationship and thoughts about her from day one. We saw that they were childhood best friends in the Harry Potter series - before Lily met Severus and went off to Hogwarts - so this was very interesting. It shows that even from the start, Petunia felt a little jealous of Lily. It could have been put down to a child feeling a bit left out when there's a new baby in the family, but it's clear from what we know of later, that these feelings go much deeper than that. Like she always knew there was something about Lil, so I think you brought that out really well in this chapter.

 

I loved the imagery that the baby felt heavy in Petunia's arms, which seems like it could mean more than just the baby was heavy in her little arms. It's like it's a bit of a hint that things are not going to go well in their relationship later on. It was clear that Petunia felt both shock and jealousy when her father called Lily his little flower when that was always her nickname from him to her and she didn't like sharing that term of endearment, which is understandable.

 

I really felt for Petunia when she realised her mother was saying she loved Lily, as it must be hard for a young child to find out they have to share their parents love and attention,especally when her heart stilled with dread. However, it was a nice touch that Petunia realised her mother still loved her too.

 

This was a really interesting story and I really liked seeing into Petunia's thoughts even as a child. I'm really intrigued about what age you've written Petunia too. Even though this was a really short chapter, I thought it said so much in terms of their story going forward!

 

Off to read the next now!

 

Tasha xx



Name: potionspartner (Signed) · Date: 02 Feb 2020 02:15 AM · For: Owl Post

Hi Renee, I'm here for the CMDC, round #2

Letters are always an interesting chapter. They can be so passionate like Lily who is so worried about her sister. So Lily thinks the rest of Slytherin look like creeps. Well, Severus certainly doesn’t look very angelic himself.


I love Petunia’s first letter-very direct and to the point, but it looks like she gets over it and it trying to be the nice sister, even asking about Hogwarts. The owls coming to Evans’ home were hilarious. I love her mom’s excuse about therapy owls-not sure if it is believable but still funny. I can see the look of horror on Petunia’s face as the bird comes in and her mom trying to ramble of an excuse.


I wonder how other Muggleborns get their letters home. Lily isn’t the first Muggleborn. One would think they would have already figured this out. 


Cute letters. I’m glad to see she and Petunia are still friends and that Petunia is trying. 

 

 


Name: potionspartner (Signed) · Date: 02 Feb 2020 01:08 AM · For: Station Wagon

Hi Renee, I’m here for the CMDC, round #2


Petunia is very correct that it is a great injustice that Lily is magical and she isn’t. I guess she’s finding out the hard way that life isn’t fair and you just do the best that you can. My heart really goes out to Petunia. She tried so hard to be grown up and write a letter to Dumbleore about the injustice. While his response is as polite as it good be, I am sure it was a huge blow to her ego. Those of us who know the future can certainly find irony in his letter since magic is what leads Lily to an early death.

 

Both Severus and her mother make good arguments. Lily will change in many ways but in other ways she won’t--all part of growing up (with a magical twist of course.) You did a nice job showing Lily’s confusion about her sister and her own her adventure. One can feel the excitement but fear that she is experienced and Petunia’s anger. . . Justified or not. The scene in the car was definitely the beginning of a rift between the two sisters.



Name: potionspartner (Signed) · Date: 02 Feb 2020 12:54 AM · For: Pocket Money

Hi Renee, 

I'm here for the CMDC, round #2.

I love seeing Diagon Alley from a Muggle perspective and poor Mr. Evans is so confused. Can the rest of the family see the Leaky Cauldron before Lily points it out or is there some magic that allows them to see it because she is with them?


Tom, the barman, was a bit of a jerk. “Strictly necessary”--ridiculous. She is her sister, but just one more thing to make Petunia feel not wanted.  Great description of their first experience with Diagon Alley. I love the teenagers’ antics and the pig-nose (despite the fact it was rather rude.) Great reference throwing in Frank and Augusta Longbottom. 


Go, dad! Your first time in a magical community and talk to goblin and exchange your money like you do it every day. 


Poor Tuney. She must feel so  confused right now. She is amazed by this place and wants to be happy for her sister but is so jealous too. Then wanting a wand. We all know that it is illogical and one still feels so heartbroken for her, even if she did make a fool of herself.  Definitely another seed of resentment planted.



 

 

 


Submit a Review