Reviews For bake my wish come true


Name: TidalDragon (Signed) · Date: 02 Mar 2020 06:44 AM · For: I'll Be Home for Christmas

Howdy!

 

I'm not sure how I've never read this, but it was another hilarious Jily story, which for some reason you keep setting aroudn the holidays... I think it makes a nice situation to push these two to interact though. The way you did it in this fic is awesome. I can totally imagine Lily begrudingly rolling dough grumping and then coming out with a smile (or as much of one as she manages under the circumstances) for the customers. I can also imagine James being a seasonal hire because he doesn't seem like he'd ever work at a single place very long honestly.

 

The interactions between James and Lily and how they evolve from her initial irritation (despite finding him attractive) to their holiday warfare to the cute couple comment is fun to watch. Somehow you've brought those scenes to more life too. I've read stories where people assume James and Lily are together that came across...flat I guess, but yours had a little shot of life. Maybe it was Lily's actual thoughts being added to it.

 

I also love the rule-breaking with the baking. For me it's a nice equivalent to potions and of course James goes rogue with Lily's work. I could say a thousand things more about the actual holiday specific stuff, but I'll leave it there for now.

 

Thanks for sharing!



Name: nott theodore (Signed) · Date: 01 Mar 2020 09:18 PM · For: I'll Be Home for Christmas

Hi Taylor!  I know I left a review on this back when it was first posted, but since the podfic of it is a FROGS finalist, I'm here to enjoy some more Jily fluff!

 

This story fills me with so many warm, fuzzy feelings - and even though it's now March, I feel that's entirely appropriate.  Listening to this in podfic form gave me a new appreciation for all the little details that you managed to include in this story, especially with the third person narrative from Lily's point of view.  Deana's intonation did a great job of portraying the different emotions and particularly frustrations that Lily encounters in this story.  I really enjoyed the opening when you could sense the irritation with the rude customers and James being way too positive and happy about Christmas just from the tone of voice that Deana used.

 

I loved the inclusion of music and Christmas songs in the podfic of this, too - and it's doubly great since it was an item on your wishlist.  Deana has a lovely singing voice and I really enjoyed the way that even the title of the podfic was made into a Christmas song (or taken from one, rather) and the songs ran throughout.  It was so fun to listen to, but slightly ironic given Lily's hatred of listening to the Christmas songs all the time at work (which, to be fair, is entirely justified for people who work in retail).

 

I can imagine this is quite an intimidating story to podfic, so I thought that Deana did a great job and you could tell how much thought and effort was put into it.  And I'm really glad that I got to listen to it again today because it's just reminded me of how much I love this story and your fluffy Jily AUs!

 

Sian :)



Name: Felpata_Lupin (Signed) · Date: 01 Mar 2020 12:26 PM · For: I'll Be Home for Christmas

Taylor!!!

Ah, I loved this! I always love your Jily stories! And I love Christmas themed stories! And wow, Deana's voice is so good in the podfic, especially all the singing, so good! I'm so in love!!! <3 <3 <3

I absolutely adored the progression here! Of course Lily would be the kind of person who finds the holidays annoying... and, well, I've never had a similar experience of work but it does sound very true that people tend to be even more pretentious in this time of the year, which is sad if you think about it... so I can't blame her too much...

But I love that she finds James so annoying because he's so gorgeus and so happy all the time! :P If that's not the essence of Jily, I don't know what is! But you are the expert here, so... ;)

The bit about her dad made me so sad... the holidays are always the most difficult time for grief, but the fact that he died so close to Christmas makes it even worse. This surely gives a whole different depth to her dislike of the season... poor James, too... I'm quite sure he wasn't expecting that... but I loved how caring he was and how he made sure to remove the song from the playlist, that was so considerate of him! (If I hadn't mentioned it before, I love James Potter!!!)

Oh, my! When the old woman assumed that James and Lily were together, and he just acted like they did! It's such a James Potter thing to do! :P I was surprised that Lily didn't have an angrier reaction to that one, but I guess she was pretty much won over at that point! ;) And her jealousy later, when the other girl was flirting with him!!! So good!!! <3

The kiss scene was absolutely delightful! I can't believe he caught her singing a Christmas carol! And the flour bit... and, well, obviously the kiss itself was just the sweetest thing and I'm so in love! <3 <3 <3

McGonagall and her biscuits!!! I love it so much!!! Poor Lily, how embarrassed must she have felt when McGonagall told them that she saw them kissing in the security registrations... that was gold! And James calling her Minnie? No matter the universe, certain things are such classics and so good all the time!

Btw, I forgot to mention this earlier, but I love James' passion for bakery. And while I understand how Lily would find unfair his privilege, I think it's absolutely endearing! :)

Yay for Sirius for working at the ice rink and keeping it open for them! I love ice skating and it's such a romantic thing to do on a first date! I love how much Lily's perception of the holidays has actually changed, and how she's feeling like her dad would be happy of seeing her now, it's so sweet! <3

What a lovely piece! So adorable! And Deana's narration was just so good as well!

Brilliant job! Snowball hug!

Chiara



Name: Noelle Zingarella (Signed) · Date: 29 Feb 2020 09:36 PM · For: I'll Be Home for Christmas

Hi Taylor and Deana! I’m here for CMDC Round 3 :D

 

Taylor, your James and Lily are instantly recognizable wherever they are, and this Bakery AU is no exception. I liked the way you showed us Lily’s gradual falling for her coworker, who starts out as obnoxious (although very handsome) and ends up endearing (and still very handsome). I was particularly impressed with the twist you threw in that explained why Lily isn’t a fan of Christmas (because she lost her Christmas-loving father two years previous during Christmas). That was such a surprise and really made me feel badly for Lily and understand why she has a hard time at the holidays. the loss of a loved one at the supposedly “happiest time of the year” is hard to deal with. And I think it showed in that moment how much James had gotten to her that she opened up about that to him instead of just telling him to mind his own business. I also appreciated how James then was careful to keep  her from hearing the Christmas song that was the most triggering to her. McGonagall and the biscuit tin was a fun cameo too.

 

Deana—your singing voice!! I love it and I loved how you really dug into all the singing and made the songs your own. They’re familiar songs, but you put your own spirit in them and they really worked well within the context of the podfic. Your elocution was very nice and it was easy to understand all your words. You also did a great job keeping the story moving. The only thing I would say is that you could probably take a little more time in some places—but recording a story of this length is such a monumental task that I can totally understand not wanting the finished podfic to be any longer than it needs to be. I love your speaking voice too!! This was really a labor of love and I really appreciated all the life you put into your recording of  the story.

 

Nice work!

 

Yours,

Noelle



Name: RonsGirlFriday (Signed) · Date: 28 Feb 2020 07:43 PM · For: I'll Be Home for Christmas

Hi Taylor! Here for CMDC Round 3!


Well, I’m with James, I’m decidedly a Christmas person. One thing I love that I have seen throughout those of your fics that I’ve been able to read so far, is your characterization of him as a guy who embraces corniness -- whether it’s reindeer antlers here (lulz, because Prongs, I geddit…) or his Valentine’s Day boxers in Matchmaking Mission. Like, he would be an insufferably smarmy bro, except that he’s so sincere and seems like a hopeless romantic, and it’s truly endearing.


This is just a genuinely fun story and setting for this pairing; I’ll never not love the trope of the grinch being won over by the infectious Christmas enthusiast (helps a lot when the enthusiast is really hot, as any Hallmark movie will tell you). 


But honestly, I think my very favorite part might have been your use of the classic McGonagall line, “Have a biscuit.” Perfection.


And obviously Lily’s dislike of Christmas makes perfect sense in context. But James is so earnest with her and so considerate -- and really, I feel this date at the end is perfect because it’s probably some Christmasy activity that james absolutely loves, but he’s set it up so that Lily can enjoy it without all the stressful or schmaltzy Christmas trappings -- it’s not a crowded ice rink with holiday cheer being shoved down their throats, it’s empty and just a space for them to hang out and have fun, maybe get a little but of that feeling of what Christmas is really about.


And since this was nominated for Best Podfic, I must comment on Deana’s stellar narration of this! I’ve never listened to a podfic by Deana before, but she is just sparkling and really gets into it and did this story a true service. I especially love her singing (you will never catch me dead or alive singing publicly).

 

Melanie



Name: TreacleTart (Signed) · Date: 27 Feb 2020 07:58 PM · For: I'll Be Home for Christmas

 

Hey Taylor!

I'm here to drop off a review for the CDMC - Round 3 event! Congratulations on your nomination!

You already know how much I absolutely love this story. I'm not a big muggle AU fan, nor a James/Lily fan, but this story is like a big guilty pleasure for me. The chef in me loves the food description and the sweetness of Lily and James is the perfect pick me up when I'm feeling a little down. It's definitely my go to when I need some warm fuzzy feelings.

Can I just make one little request? Maybe publish some of these recipes from the story with it...like as an author's note or something. Those peppermint chocolate cookies sound amazing and so do the cardamom cinnamon rolls.

AND OMG. I TOTALLY FORGOT ABOUT THE REINDEER ANTLERS. That scene kills me every time. Naughty Lily. I kind of wish she'd have told James though. I think seeing his reaction would've been hilarious.

And I love that Lily is the one who makes the first move. I think that's so fitting for her personality.

McGonagall is so perfect too. I love her "have a biscuit" line and her stance on workplace romances. You really captured that stoic, but sometimes humorous personality that she has in the books.

I've also listened to this as a podfic a couple of times and have to say it's one of my absolute favorites. Deana does a truly brilliant job of narrating this. She pauses and adds emphasis to all of the right words and I love that she sings all of the different songs in the story. It really adds an extra bit of festiveness to this. The way she does the dialogue is so good too and it really makes you feel like you're listening to several different people at once. I also think the pacing is really great. While it moves along quickly enough, there are enough breaks here and there to allow the listener to digest what's going on.  Absolutely, one hundred percent deserving of the nomination in the podfic category.

Good work to both you and Deana!

~Kaitlin

 



Name: Ineke (Signed) · Date: 09 Feb 2020 04:41 PM · For: I'll Be Home for Christmas

Hi Taylor!

 

Here I am, veeeeeeeeery late, with my review for you entering my challenge! The complex reviews will happen oh my god. Bear with me. Still catching up! Anyway, review time, so here we go!

 

Which bakery doesn’t get insanely busy around the holiday season? I just don’t get why Lily doesn’t see it because you need all those cookies for santa and whatnot, I mean, it’s obvious innit?

 

Truly fair to hate the holiday for more than the colours clashing with your hair.

 

OH GOD THE FEEL OF PEOPLE BEING ENTITELED AND RUDE AS HELL DURING THOSE SEASONS LIKE I DONT EVEN WORK IN RETAIL BUT IN HEALTHCARE BUT BOY DO I FEEL IT

 

lol the Karen mention, we all know them

 

HAHAH OF COURSE LILY WOULD CONSIDER THE MAN BEING GORGEOUS AF A PROBLEM BC OF THAT

 

Elfs can be damn cute tho

 

Coworkers like Mary are the best tbh

 

But I also love the sheer of people like James

 

HAHA OF COURSE JAMES WINKS

 

I bet Lily that they are indeed dating

 

The same eight songs for a month on end isn’t truly to bad… but then I can listen to one song for months on end so

 

of course he managed to hack the account

 

Oh please, as if Lily wasn’t attracted to him from the getgo

 

James has fucking manners and we applaud him for it

 

oh jesus she goes there already god she has it bad

 

HAHA THE ANTLERS

 

HAHAH OF COURSE JAMES CALLS HER MINNIE

 

Mcgonagall I bloody love you

 

HAVE A BISCUIT HAHAHA OF COURSE YOU THREW THAT IN HAHAHA

 

Also the fact that James immediately wanted to go and change the song. God. I love this so much <3 Thank you so so much for having written this for my challenge <3 I’ll get to your prize reviews as soon as I can - even though it might end up taking a while still!




Author's Response:

hiiiii

 

oh yeah i think lily definitely knows bakeries always get busy during the holidays, she just hates that lol

 

i wrote this before karen even became a meme/insult and like...... damn that aged well :P

 

coworkers you can commiserate with are absolutely the best, but also james being obnoxiously christmassy is just so him lol

 

oh yes remus and sirius are definitely dating

 

also yeah the same 8 songs all month aren't bad but only if the songs are good - personally i'm with lily and christmas music gets on my nerve haha, even if i love the holiday otherwise

 

the antlers are very important lol, as is james referring to mcgonagall as minnie because of course he would

 

that have a biscuit line literally worked TOO well here i couldn't not

 

thanks for reviewing and for hosting this challenge!!



Name: MadiMalfoy (Signed) · Date: 15 Oct 2019 05:54 AM · For: I'll Be Home for Christmas

Hey Taylor! I'm here with one of your (extremely belated) prize reviews from my Broadway Musical Song Challenge! :) 

 

Okay so first of all, who gave you the right to write 7k words about baking?! "They're called super-sprinkle cookies for a reason, Karen" is so shady and I. LOVE. IT! The subtle reference to James' nickname of Prongs with the reindeer antlers is a nice touch too, by the way. The dichotomy of Lily absolutely abhorring Christmas and James absolutely loving it? Your faves COULD! (thank you Paula for the original tweet omg) Taylor, is that a reference in there to Orange Cardamom I spy? This is the freaking cutest "enemies to lovers au" ever and it's definitely going on my list to read again over the actual winter holidays because wow. Your note at the end about the instagram girl being a complete self-insert literally made me snort out loud, so thanks for that VERY important information :P I'm sure you've been told this hundreds of times before, but you really are the queen of Jily AUs, and this is definitely one of my favorites! I'm a fan of baking myself, so this felt so fun and pure and had such realistic relationship development between James and Lily. Giving Lily more depth with her hatred of the holidays going beyond the usual Grinchiness to associating it with her father's passing from cancer, and then James immediately recognizing that and vowing to himself (probably) to do what he can to make the time easier for her is just so heartwarming. Honestly, I'd love a sequel of this, Taylor! :)

~Madi



Author's Response:

ok i wrote this long before the karen thing became a common meme and now looking back i'm fucking dying

 

james in reindeer antlers is lowkey a very important thing to me, he ends up in reindeer antlers in an alarmingly high percentage of my modern au's. also yesss i've gotten to the point that i easter egg my own fics, so that was def a little nod there. also yeah i would definitely be the type tryna get a million cute ~aesthetic~ pics for my instagram story, and would be entirely shameless about the whole thing, lol.

 

i'm so happy you liked this fic <3 and lol turns out i *did* actually write a sequel of this, so there's that, haha.



Name: grumpy cat (Signed) · Date: 21 Sep 2019 10:56 AM · For: I'll Be Home for Christmas

back again :P

 

first, a confession (and a digression lol i’m sorry, i know i have a lot of them): i’m a huge…like really huuuge lover of christmas holidays. it’s my favourite holiday, and it’s also completely unrelated to the religious aspect of it. i love the spirit of the season, the coming together with family and friends, the decorations (which me and my dad are always in charge of and it’s one of the things we really really love to do together), the lights, the tree, the gifts, the music….i’m the person who starts listening to christmas songs in the middle of October. i also have a hot co-worker who’s pretty similar in that regard so it’s us against the grinches of my workplace haha. and this long digression is to say that i’m basically james of the story :P and also that this is the perfect intro into my own christmas spirit which is going to rear its head soonish.

 

right now i can’t decide if 9.9/10 or this story is my favourite out of the jilys i’ve read by you, it’s really a tough call so i’ll hold off on that. but! i just loved this story. it’s perfectly fluffy and i read it with a mug of hot tea, wrapped in a blanket because it’s suddenly become cold in croatia so anyhow, the mood and the setting is basically perfect.

 

i appreciated how you incorporated the reindeer antlers, and all the inappropriate thoughts that lily had were 100% warranted, who could blame her, right? mcgonagall and her biscuits and her whole bakery is a thing of creative beauty but omg! her reaction to james and lily snogging in her kitchen was priceless and i had lots of fun imagining mcgonagall’s face as the trawled through the security cameras and coming upon…well…that haha

 

lily not generally being a christmas person and then her dad, who was obviously one of those amazing dads who loves christmas and everything to do with it and who reminded me of my own dad (i have a lot of feels and related-ness to this fic, okay.), passing away during christmas time, is something i can understand as a reason for completely ruining her christmas spirit :I

 

but james! i loved how he was just trying to annoy her at first because it was funny how she got flustered and all that but after she tells him the real reason, he’s dead set on his mission to make lily see the holidays as once again the time of year to be happy, to remember the good times with her dad, without it becoming too much, and just showering her with good stuff, like cookies, and flirting with her and everything…to make her feel a lil’ bit better.

 

i also thought that his characterisation was really well done and you somehow managed to do it without going into too much depth?? idk if that makes sense, but a lot of the story we spend in lily’s head and her perception of james, and how it suddenly changes, without dwelling too much into james and his reasons. but still, we get a really clear view of who he is as a person, and he is such a good guy. i also understand his annoyance at not being able to do what he truly wants, though because i know you’ve written a sequel to this, i can appreciate the fact that he maybe does go through with his dream of owning a bakery. he really showed passion for it and the creativity needed to be able to go at it alone *_*

 

i loved all the banter, the little jabs they took at each other, lily's hilarious bout of jealousy and especially the ending when lily realised that her dad would’ve loved seeing her happy on christmas, enjoying the holiday. it made me feel all fuzzy inside *_*

 

i’m def coming for the sequel soonish :D

 

kris



Author's Response:

yesss, i love christmas too. there's something about it that's always so fun. (hence, ya know, why i keep writing christmas jilys, lmao.)

 

ah yes, reindeer antlers are basically a staple in my jily fics at this point. i also cackled when i wrote the line about him having to take them off for... things. :P but haha yes mcgonagall definitely had a field day coming across that in the security footage.

 

james is definitely dead set on a thing when he sets his mind to it, especially when it's for what he feels is a good cause - and getting lily to like christmas is, obviously, a very good cause. and yes, he definitely gets a chance to pursue his dream in the sequel. :P

 

thanks so much for reading, i'm so glad you enjoyed the story and all its fluff-filled glory! <3



Name: juls (Signed) · Date: 28 Apr 2019 12:21 PM · For: I'll Be Home for Christmas

Hey, Taylor! Here for your review as a placer in the Wrong Owl Challenge. I'm so glad that you participated in our challenge, and that I get to look into a few more of your writings!

 

This was definitely a cute story. I loved the slow burn beginning of both Lily's learning to at least like Christmas again and falling into at least a like with James Potter. I like how you kept them pretty much in character, even as you set them as Muggles. Having McGonagall there was the icing on the cake.

 

Paula was certainly lucky to recieve this story from you!

 

 

I'll give an honorable mention to James' friends, for they do have odd names if your not part of the Wizarding world.

 

I loved Lily's struggle in the story going on. At first, learning how to deal with James, having mad baking skills (and allowing herself to take direction from someone she thought of as a noob on the baking scene with the cardamon. Which I had to look up myself to see if he was just pulling her leg. He wasn't it's a member of the Ginger family.)

 

Slowly accepting his music, even as she finally told him why she didn't like the holiday. I feel for her, missing her dad like that. (I go through periods of that missing family members also.)

 

It was truly magical how you wove them together, and made them both seem so real. And - I hope that their future is brighter than the Wizarding couple.

 

<3 juls

(I'd give this one more than a ten - but the machine won't let me!)



Author's Response:

hi juls!

 

i love keeping james and lily to character, just in a totally different setting - it's part of what makes writing AUs so fun, in that you're taking people that everyone knows, even mcgonagall, but sticking them in a totally new environment and having things play out there. (and yes, sirius and remus are *such* strange names outside of the wizarding world, lol.)

 

she definitely grows to like him as the story goes on, and also grows to have a better understanding and appreciation for the holiday (and starting to realise that being happy around christmas is what her dad would have wanted).

 

and yes, part of the reason i love writing muggle AUs is that their ending is definitely *not* the one they meet in the books - they live happily ever after and have even more kiddos post-harry and grow old together and canon can suck it. :P

 

thanks for reviewing - i'm so glad you enjoyed the story!



Name: TreacleTart (Signed) · Date: 29 Jan 2019 06:55 PM · For: I'll Be Home for Christmas

Hey there!

 

I'm here with a review for the Magical Menagerie Review Event as well as the Gryffindor Red vs Gold Review event for January 2019! So Jily AUs are not my usual cup of tea, but I've heard so many good reviews about this story that I figured I should come by and check it out. Maybe you'll change my mind. :)

 

Aww Poor Lily. It's tough to not like the holidays. It seems like if you say that to anyone, they automatically jump all over you about it.

 

I had a good chuckle over the idea of James all decked out in Christmas gear dancing around the bakery, singing to Christmas music.

 

I'm with Lily on this one. I think James would be getting on my nerves too. I mean I love Christmas as much as the next person, but having to deal with someone singing loudly and off pitch would be frustrating.

 

It's interesting that he adds cardamom to the cookies. That wouldn't be my first inclination as cardamom makes me mouth go numb, but whatever works.

 

Yes. Lily just said it. You're automatically a grinch if you aren't uber enthusiastic about the holidays.

 

Ah. So that's why she doesn't love the holidays or that particular Christmas song. That seems pretty reasonable. I think it would probably make the holidays a bit bitter for anyone.

 

It's nice that James changes the song and follows it up over the next few days by chilling out. Maybe not being so intense about Christmas would help Lily to fall for him. If that doesn't do the trick, those chocolate peppermint cookies sound amazing. Do you have an actual recipe for them or is that just something you made up in your head?

 

Ooh. I sense someone is starting to fall for her co-worker. Him putting his arm around her seems to have released some conflicted feelings.

 

Oh gosh. I'll never look at reindeer antlers the same again.

 

I love how you described the Insta-photo taking girl. I had a good long laugh over that. I see that sort of behavior all too often working in the culinary industry. (Ugh. What an awful user name)

 

Aww. That first kiss was so perfect. Food fights definitely can lead to snogging. Ha.

 

Busted. I can't believe McGonagall caught them snogging on the security cam. And I'm so happy that you used the Have a biscuit line in that way.

 

I love their first date. It's perfect.

 

Okay. So I actually really enjoyed this. I thought you wrote such a clever and cute Christmas piece. And it's great seeing their relationship go all the way from dislike to dating. That was nice progression.

 

Good job!

 

~Kaitlin

 



Author's Response:

hi kaitlin! i enjoy gradually introducing you to more and more jily and modern aus, haha.

 

people are so aggressive about not liking christmas, and christmas decorations are alway so so over-the-top. and like, i personally love that stuff, but it's definitely easy to see how all of that can be annoying after a while (especially if you've got your own reasons for disliking the holiday, like lily does). and yeah, i'd definitely also be annoyed with james for the loud off-key singing.

 

hahaha i love that you're reading this as an actual chef. i put cardamom on a lot of things - i love the taste, but it's definitely something that has to be used in moderation. and yes, i've made those chocolate peppermint cookies before! i can't remember where i found the recipe, but i love them.

 

the reindeer antlers line was one of those things that happened in a spur of speed-writing and then after the fact i was just like... 'where the HELL did that come from,' haha. but this progression of their relationship from "enemies" to lovers was fun, and james definitely chills out when he starts to learn more about lily, and then yes, food fight to snogging happens. and i couldn't write a bakery au in which mcgonagall runs the thing without the biscuit line working its way in.

 

i'm so glad you enjoyed this - thanks for the review!! 



Name: adorably cute (Signed) · Date: 01 Jan 2019 12:33 PM · For: I'll Be Home for Christmas

hellooo taylor, finally here to read this super super adorable chrismas fic. honestly i am dispaoointed in myself for not coming to read this sooner because it combines christmas and baking, two of my favorite things

 

i love the premise of this and watching james and lily grow closer throughout the whole thing was so amazing. like all of your jily's it was so well done and the build up was perfect. lily's reasons for being a total grinch are so understandable but james is obviously having none of that with all his holiday cheer (the elf line was amazing, honestly as soon as he started singing i was praying for that to come out at some point). 

 

james' reindeer antlers are amazing and i love that it's now a recurring theme in your stories. i need all of james potter in reindeer antlers and lily rolling her eyes at him. i love his tip about the cardamom-first it was so him to just drop that and break the rules a little and so lily to be hesistant to change it up but basically i just love his passion for baking and that he's so much more excited about it and getting lily to love christmas than like anything else

 

i love that james catches her singing a christmas song, i think that was the perfect lead up to their first kiss! it was easy to tell throughout this that he was breaking her down. their first date was so so cute and i think it was kind of perfect that lily's dads favorite christmas song was playing. total full circle moment for them and very sweet of james to go offer to change it except nope lily doesnt need to anymore because she likes christmas and she likes him and everything is great and wonderful now <33 basically this was cute and wonderful and amazing and i loved everything about it xoxo keep up the amazing work!!

-sarah



Author's Response:

sarahhhhhh. yes, christmas and baking are also two of my favorite things and so when paula tweeted about this and i realised it could work as a christmas fic, i couldn't resist.

 

all of the james potter in reindeer antlers, you say? never fear, because i'm basically incapable of writing any sort of jily AU *without* james potter in reindeer antlers. he's such an overexcited dork about everything, including baking and christmas, and i couldn't resist the elf line making an appearance. he's like, basically buddy the elf in this anyways.

 

the full circle moment felt like the right way to end things - he'd slowly softened all her resistance to the holidays and made her realise that the best way she can honour the memory of her dad is to enjoy the holiday and the people she's spending it with rather than by ignoring its existence entirely.

 

anyways, very very happy you enjoyed this, thanks for reviewing!!! <3



Name: lovegood27 (Signed) · Date: 21 Dec 2018 12:47 PM · For: I'll Be Home for Christmas

OMG I love this so much!!

 

So I kind of stumbled onto this story while browsing HPFT, and I was mainly drawn in by the pairing (Jily is like, my all-time favourite ship and I’m basically trash for any thing marauder related), but God, this is just so amazing. 

 

The overall story, the romance (obviously...), the Christmas baking aesthetic, the FLUFF OMG THE FLUFF, just wow. Everything just ties in together so well, and even though there’s not any magical aspects you still manage to represent the characters realistically. I mean, I found James and Lily to both be super convincing, as I could totally imagine Lily being somewhat opposed to the idea of Christmas and James taking it upon himself to change that for her and cheer her up (also the backstory made me want to cry).

 

Not just the main characters, though, but also supporting ones. McGonagall was amazing- I particularly liked the ‘have a biscuit’ scene as her reaction shows a part of what her character is like and because we’re already familiar with her ‘biscuit tactic’. I think you also used the character of Sirius really well. Like, he wasn’t there much but I still got a good sense of his personality (no shagging on the ice lmao) even though he wasn’t even in any direct speech, and it helps relate the story to the HP series more. Plus, the wolfstar hints ;))

 

Anyway, I’m sorry this basically turned into a ramble (oops...), I just wanted to say how much I enjoyed this, it was such a great read though :D



Author's Response:

hi! i'm so happy you stumbled upon this fic :P

 

i have a lot of fun with muggle AUs, and this one was no exception - making it a christmas and baking themed extravaganza was an adventure (and a perfect way to hype myself up for the holidays, haha), and adopting their characters to this storyline just fit so well.

 

writing about a bakery that mcgonagall owns and *not* working in the iconinc 'have a biscuit' line felt almost criminal, and plugging sirius in, even if just for a short period of time, felt necessary. i adore sirius, so he needed to have at least one good joke here. and yessss, there are always wolfstar hints in my jily fics, lol.

 

i'm so glad you enjoyed this, thank you for reading/reviewing!!



Name: nott theodore (Signed) · Date: 20 Dec 2018 09:21 AM · For: I'll Be Home for Christmas

Hello!  Here for December's RvG Review Battle, and of course some Jily Christmas fluff!

 

I think you know by now that I'm basically in love with your Jily AUs, and this one is no different - setting it in a bakery at Christmas is just perfect, and making me feel even more Christmassy and fluffy than before (also hungry.  I need to go and get food now, too).  One of my favourite things about these is the way that you manage to keep including little details like James's reindeer antlers in the stories, tying each of the AUs together and tying them into the canon version of the couple, too.  Seeing those details pop up each time always makes me smile.

 

This was so sweet and fluffy to read round Christmas - although of course, with a helping of angst, as well.  It was really sad to read about why Lily didn't like Christmas.  I thought that you teased that out really well through the story, rather than just telling us everything from the beginning - the fact that it came out in an explanation to James (albeit an angry one) meant that they became closer, and he was much more aware of the aspects that were difficult for her, too.

 

I really loved the way that you wrote their relationship growing from the start of this story - with Lily getting annoyed that she wasn't working with her normal shift partner, and even more annoyed that James had a positive attitude towards Christmas, him admitting that he was trying to wind her up with being excessively cheery, and then the understanding, which led to more attraction between them.  

 

I think I had two favourite scenes in this story (which were hard to choose because it's all so great).  The first is when the customers are coming in - first with the older couple assuming that James and Lily are together, and then the girls coming in taking photos and flirting with James, which made Lily more jealous than she realised she would be.  The second is when McGonagall confronts them about seeing them kissing on the security footage - it's so incredibly awkward, but I can imagine McGonagall in the books realising that James and Lily are together and being secretly happy about it.  The inclusion of the "Have a biscuit" line was the best!

 

Of course, the ending was brilliant, too - the date was so thoughtful and sweet, and I loved the fact that being with James made it easier for Lily to listen to her dad's favourite song and face the Christmas season.  Please don't stop writing these two together!

 

Sian :)



Author's Response:

hi sian!!

 

you can 100% give credit to paula for the bakery idea, i just rolled with her concept haha. also yes, this fic made me very hungry the entire time. also i have such an obsession with james potter in reindeer antlers that i absolutely can't resist including it whenever possible.

 

the angst in this surprised me as i was writing honestly, because it got a bit more intense as i started writing than i initially planned, but it also kind of helped to flesh out lily's resistance to enjoying the holidays - but that moment was definitely one of the ones that brought them closer, and made james start taking her more seriously in certain ways and made lily respect him a bit more for being adult enough  to admit that he's messed up.

 

gah, that scene with the customers was SO fun - i died writing the girl flirting, as well as the one who was taking instagram pictures the entire time. lily's internal monologue at that point was funny too because she starts to realise that she's even more into him than she thought. and haha, there was NO WAY i was writing a fic in which mcgonagall owns a bakery and the iconic 'have a biscuit' line DIDN'T make an appearance.

 

thanks for this lovely review, sian! and lol, i'll probably never stop with the cheesy jily AUs.



Name: LadyMarauder (Signed) · Date: 13 Dec 2018 12:33 PM · For: I'll Be Home for Christmas

Ohhh Taylor this was so freaking adorable! 

 

Jily fluff, cake, ice skating, hot boys in reindeer antlers - I'm here for it all. I LOVED your James and Lily. James being the easy-going, annoying, loud little nugget we love and Lily being a bit of a rule follower. Although it was a one-shot set over a month, it actually felt like a real slow burn which was great! I liked how he chipped away at the until she started to thaw. And I cracked up when he admitted he was going out of his way to be annoying.

 

Also, it got a bit saucy for a moment there. James Potter effect, eh?

 

It was really sad about her father though. I actually wasn't expecting it, and it gave me a little lump in my throat. By the ice skating scene when the song came on again, I was gone. There's something about the holidays that make the emotions a little closer to the surface. I also loved McGonagall's cameo, especially the cringe moment when she caught them on camera! I always get a kick out of other characters popping up in AUs!

 

Also, now I just want all the biscuits, cakes and James Potter with flour in his hair, is that too much to ask? 

 

Tasha xx

For RvG December - Team Red & Christmas wishlist giving!



Author's Response:

Hi Tasha! I'm so glad you liked this! Lily and James are definitely true to their canon characterizations, and I had fun trying to make their enemies-to-lovers type vibe fit into the span of a month. And honestly, James going out of his way to be annoying seems like something he'd definitely do, until - like he did in this fic - he realizes that it's gone a bit too far.

 

"James Potter effect" wow I love that description of it so much. I truthfully have no idea what possessed me to write that line, but it's my favourite to see reactions to.

 

So uhhhhh, I was not expecting that part about her father to be as emotional as it was, and it very much threw me off guard that there was this random splash of angst that decided to plant itself right in the middle of any otherwise fluffy story, but I think you're right that holidays tend to bring emotions right to the surface.

 

And omg I couldn't possibly write about a bakery that McGonagall owns without working the biscuit line in there somewhere - it's too good an opportunity to pass up.

 

I also want all the biscuits and James Potter - I'm sitting in a coffee shop right now so the biscuit part wouldn't be too hard to manage, but if you manage to locate a James with flour in his hair, let me know, yeah? :P

 

Thanks for the review!! <3



Name: PaulaTheProkaryote (Signed) · Date: 12 Dec 2018 11:21 PM · For: I'll Be Home for Christmas

I cannot form coherent sentences because I'm too happy. I might actually legit die of happiness. 

THE AESTHETIC. THE FLUFF. THE JILYNESS OF IT ALL. 

Omg the elf quote. I'm in love.

This makes me want to turn my oven on too. When I'm baking all weekend I'm 100% blaming the sheer ~aesthetic~ of this story. 

I know that I can blame the hormones but I'll have you know I sobbed over her father. Runny eyes, tears, the works. 

If a handsome boy was force feeding me cookies I'd probably fall in love too tbh. 

Also I don't know for sure that he'd have to take the antlers off for certain acts. He could probably just tilt them a bit. 

lol i hard relate to the girl on the floor trying to take artsy photos. 

THERE'S THE SPECIAL CODE WORD. Such a good instagram name. I'm so happy. 

Thank you for this beautiful story. I can die happy. <3 

(lol also sorry, I first reviewed this on my staff account) 



Author's Response:

Haha I'm so glad you liked it!! And yes the aesthetic of this story is probably why I made 50+ cookies tonight tbh. Also not gonna lie, I wrote the section about her father and almost cried myself and had a moment of 'what the hell Taylor' because THIS IS FLUFF, NOT ANGST, WHAT ARE YOU DOING.

 

OMG crying at "he could probably just tilt them a bit." Incredible. And yes the girl on the floor taking artsy photos is such a relatable character. The code word just fit in so well with this scene so it worked out perfectly. Anyways, thanks for the tweet that inspired this hot mess, haha. <3



Submit a Review