Login

Name: abhorsen (Signed) · Date: 24 Dec 2016 11:23 PM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:The Exchange Student Chapter: Prologue

This was really interesting! I think I'm going to have to read the story it goes along with, because I'm really intrigued. This is a tough ship to write, but - and I know it's still just the prologue, but even so - it felt believable to me. I also loved the way you didn't gloss over Lily's importance to Snape - you just someone else important, too. It was wonderful because I can totally see how Lily wouldn't have been able to give him everything he needed when it came to love. She gave him a lot, but it's very clear from canon that she didn't give him any faith in his worth as a romantic partner, because she never fulfilled that role for him. It always bugged me that there was never any indication that someone else was there for Snape, because I find the idea that the only genuine love he ever knew was unrequited romance where the person cut him off when they were 16. Justifiably, but even so. And, now that I think about it, I can see the appeal of Hermione - she and Lily do have some pretty significant similarities, though not to the extent that I think for a second that you'll be writing a "I want you to be Lily" fic. Yeah, I'm definitely going to have to check this out!

 

(originally posted 7/12/15 on HPFF)



Name: Alexis Black (Signed) · Date: 17 Dec 2016 05:56 PM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:The Exchange Student Chapter: i.
*transferred from HPFF*

After that tease of a prologue, here we are with Severus headed off on the Hogwarts Express. Bad enough Lily didn’t respond to any of his letters, now he has to put up with Avery and Mulciber. The tension is nearly palpable when they start badmouthing Lily. Of course, Severus cleverly points out that Lily is now a Prefect. Ten points to our one-day Potions master.

You did a lovely job handling the confrontation between James and Severus. The trousers trick is perfect - both of the boys are in character and it all makes sense, having read SSS. I love seeing the events from there played out from his point of view!

Poor Severus, though. It’s hard not to feel for him as he stares up at Hogwarts and is overwhelmingly lonely without a friend. But of course, how could he ever imagine the new girl that arrives and turns his life upside down in the most unexpected manner?

And once again you leave us wanting more! Really, how could you? Well, I guess it’s understandable if more would spoil SSS - that won’t do! Having said that, though, I’m not above begging for an update soon on SSS! Please!

:hugs:

~Alexis


Name: Stella Blue (Signed) · Date: 13 Dec 2016 11:08 AM · [Report This]
Story:The Exchange Student Chapter: i.

*Transferred from HPFF*

Wheee, I'm on a roll catching up on this story(ies) lately! I love that you're telling these two stories concurrently.

I love that Snape's method of calming himself down is to mentally recite the twelve uses of dragon's blood XD that's kind of cute, actually.

No. Even though he and Lily were no longer friends, she had better sense than to wind up with that arrogant prat. -- Hahaha... Bummer, dude.

I like the attention you've drawn to how Hogwarts really is Snape's home, since his real home is a place of abuse and neglect - but how much of the feeling of home that Hogwarts gave him was because of Lily. I do almost feel badly for Snape here.

It was foolish for her to throw away years of friendship over a slip of his tongue. He did not mean it, and he just had to get her to see that he was truly sorry. -- this so accurately captures the essence of what Snape is. He'll apologize, beg, do whatever is needed, but ultimately still thinks it's her being foolish and doesn't step back and look at what he's become and why she cut him out of her life.

And then we get the overlap with SSS! I'm really excited for this because I love the way the same story can be different when seen from two different POV's. This was a great place to leave off too, because just as Lily leaves Snape at the lowest point he's been at, Hermione walks in and you can just feel that things are about to change.

Love it! I know this won't be updated for a while but I'll be back when it is! :)

 ♥



Name: Stella Blue (Signed) · Date: 13 Dec 2016 11:06 AM · [Report This]
Story:The Exchange Student Chapter: Prologue

*Transferred from HPFF*

Meggg!!! I was so excited to see that review you left for me this morning that I had to visit your AP and leave a thank you review :P (Sorry about increasing your unanswered review count... i'll try and keep this short so you don't have to work too hard on the response hehe. But omg it might be hard for me to keep this short just because I'm so excited about this new story!!)

I am really glad to see that you're writing from Snape's POV, because honestly I don't see many stories from Snape's POV - and when I do, they're usually about Lily - so this already starts out quite original and I can't wait to see how you balance out his love for Lily and his feelings for Hermione as well. Not to mention that I'm just really eager to have an insight into Snape's mind because he's such an enigmatic character.

Ooh, also SECOND PERSON, I love it so much. I also love when things start at the end and then go back to the beginning. And things that have sad endings. Basically from what I can tell of this story, it's a recipe for all the things I love and is going to be amazing!

I love your descriptive word choice too! Aaah this line -- When she came into your life like a tornado, and left just as quickly; leaving behind the ruins of your abandoned and damaged heart. -- that's so vivid, and tragic in a beautiful way.

And let's not forget that really interesting spin you put on that scene as Snape dies, when he begs Harry to look at him - I love how you reworked it such that it doesn't contradict canon, but adds more to it. So cool the way you did that.

LOVE IT! I am a little sad that there will be a long time before the next update but I am hardly one to judge people on that - you're still a much faster writer than I am :p I'm looking forward to the next chapter of this (and of SSS)!!

(Sooo... this ended up being a tiny bit longer than I intended, sorry. I just have a lot of feelings.)

Awesome chapter!



Name: Alexis Black (Signed) · Date: 29 Nov 2016 05:24 PM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:The Exchange Student Chapter: Prologue
*Transferred from HPFF*

So Meg, dear, I’ve said it before, but allow me to say it again: I owe you a crap-ton of reviews for the sheer wonderfulness that is your writing. This measly one will simply have to suffice as the beginning, yes?

I probably should have started with reviewing Saving Severus Snape, but I couldn’t resist the story told from his point of view. And wow, barely four paragraphs in and I can’t wipe the silly grin off my face. Swollen lips? Soft, passionate sighs? Salazar’s Knobby Wand! You sure know how to whet the appetite! When does that part come into play with SSS?

*squees and dances around the room*

The way you so deftly weave the scene from DH, remaking one of the parts that I dislike the most into something so promising. Simply incredible! I loved how it was Hermione that Severus was saying those words to - look at me. Even if at that point she hadn’t gone back into the past, he longs for her. Part of me would love to have seen Harry’s reaction to those memories that Severus withheld - just to see him go bug-eyed.

The thought that Severus had instructed Hermione all this time, knowing who she was/will yet be. Oh so good! But at the same time, what a tease!! Not even 700 words? Meg, this was unconscionable, even for a Slytherin! I demand a second chapter!

Oh wait, you already posted the second chapter. :p What can I say? I do love me some Severus/Hermione and you handle them so well I can hardly sit still! Best I just click the button and move onto the next chapter.

:hugs:

~Alexis


Name: Felpata_Lupin (Signed) · Date: 19 Nov 2016 05:58 AM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:The Exchange Student Chapter: Prologue

***Transferred from HPFF***

Hello, my dear!
Here for our swap!

You'd probably need some yelling here! How can you just come, write this way too short but absolutely amazingly perfect prologue and then disappear??? Ahahah, sorry, I like too much to pretend to be angry at you... :P

Anyway, I loved this! It's simply amazing how you managed to take the canon scene and remould it to fit with your story, even if it makes me a tiny bit sad, because I have this irresistible affection for the idea of Snape's endless love for Lily. And right for that reason, I loved how you included his love for her too, how you played with Lily's eyes and Hermione's eyes, that mix of conflicting feelings in Snape's heart as he dies (in a way) under the stares of the two women he loved (does anything that I've said make any sense at all?)

Anyway, I found this so poetic, beautiful and sad. And I can't wait for an update! And may I remind you that I'm still waiting for updates on a thousand other stories of yours???

Lovely work, Meg!
Thank you so much for swapping!!!
An ocean of love,
Chiara



Name: Stella Blue (Signed) · Date: 17 Nov 2016 04:23 PM · [Report This]
Story:The Exchange Student Chapter: Prologue

*Transferred from HPFF*

Meggg!!! I was so excited to see that review you left for me this morning that I had to visit your AP and leave a thank you review :P (Sorry about increasing your unanswered review count... i'll try and keep this short so you don't have to work too hard on the response hehe. But omg it might be hard for me to keep this short just because I'm so excited about this new story!!)

I am really glad to see that you're writing from Snape's POV, because honestly I don't see many stories from Snape's POV - and when I do, they're usually about Lily - so this already starts out quite original and I can't wait to see how you balance out his love for Lily and his feelings for Hermione as well. Not to mention that I'm just really eager to have an insight into Snape's mind because he's such an enigmatic character.

Ooh, also SECOND PERSON, I love it so much. I also love when things start at the end and then go back to the beginning. And things that have sad endings. Basically from what I can tell of this story, it's a recipe for all the things I love and is going to be amazing!

I love your descriptive word choice too! Aaah this line -- When she came into your life like a tornado, and left just as quickly; leaving behind the ruins of your abandoned and damaged heart. -- that's so vivid, and tragic in a beautiful way.

And let's not forget that really interesting spin you put on that scene as Snape dies, when he begs Harry to look at him - I love how you reworked it such that it doesn't contradict canon, but adds more to it. So cool the way you did that.

LOVE IT! I am a little sad that there will be a long time before the next update but I am hardly one to judge people on that - you're still a much faster writer than I am :p I'm looking forward to the next chapter of this (and of SSS)!!

(Sooo... this ended up being a tiny bit longer than I intended, sorry. I just have a lot of feelings.)

Awesome chapter!



Submit a Review