Login
Reviews For Complicated

Name: Chemical_Pixie (Signed) · Date: 21 Oct 2018 05:43 PM · [Report This]
Story:Complicated Chapter: Complication #13

Taylor! Here for the HC Maze (Hogwarts Dungeon edition) as well as Team Gold for RvG (because why not) as well as of course I'm reading this fic!

 

Well... Abigail has certainly been through some... interesting situations, to put it lightly. I love seeing her vulnerability (though not her humilitation, that was cruel what Blaise did to her... and the whole 'Slag' thing. People can be the absolute worst). Abigail is lucky to have someone like Dom to help nudge her in the right direction. I like how you have Abigail walk into the Great Hall... and everyone's reactions to her forehead is completely different than what's in her head. That is one of my favorite bits of characterization of Abigail so far in the story. She has these grand ideas of what reality is or what it's going to be... but it's just not. I'm glad that she's starting to see that! And Dom is a great guide!

 

Breakfast, Potions, and the common room hangout are great ways to introduce some of your story threads, especially with this large cast of characters. Sometimes, it's overwhelming to have so many characters at once. But you gradually add more and more people, so by the end of the chapter, it's easy for me to keep track of who is who. Not to mention, I get to see more of Freddy and James, who are two characters I really, really like. Abigail seems to be fitting in well, and I'm looking forward to how these relationships develop! :) 

 

P.S. I remember talking to you about characters and Halloween costumes, so I can't wait to see what everyone decides on! And it's very seasonal to RL right now. Love it!



Name: Crimson Quill (Signed) · Date: 10 Oct 2018 09:36 AM · [Report This]
Story:Complicated Chapter: Complication #48

 

omgggg.

 

Taylor!

 

So this story really is so addictive, I've just binge read through the whole of this in like a day. I seriously feel like I'm 16 again! It's been ages since I've done anything like that! I love how balanced this story has been like you've had such a mixture of emotions, we've seen Abby's angst about her family and Royals then James' 'daddy issues' then we've had highs of the last few chapters, it's great how you can write about real issues like Abby's issues with slut shaming and bullying but also make it is so fluffy and wonderful!!

 

I thought this chapter was a lovely ending (and new beginning!) because I thought it wasn't over the top. You've dropped in little clues about what everyone is up too (eg. we know Al is married.) but not too much detail about stuff but setting up for the sequel. I love the first section about Abby reflecting on their lives together and how each of them has made room for each other like James loving photos and Abby letting him have them but framed. I love the details which photos are on the wall especially the article clipping (which is a great callback to James' wall clipping stuck on his wall by Fred.)

 

I'M SO EXCITED ABOUT JAMES MENTIONING PROPOSING! I just had to get that out there! It's exciting because I love a good wedding plus this couple have been through so much together! This chapter has made me so excited for this sequel. more general comments - the character development has been amazing, the dialogue always on point, the banter so natural. Believable characters that I really rooted for! Congratulations on finishing such a monster project! It was fantastic. 

 

- Abbi xo

 

 

RvG - Team Gold. (but mainly because it's amazing!)

 



Name: Crimson Quill (Signed) · Date: 08 Oct 2018 02:04 PM · [Report This]
Story:Complicated Chapter: Complication #3

 

Hey Taylor,

 

So I feel like this chapter was really good at setting up all the big players in the story and giving them a bit of back story especially Caroline. I think she'll be interesting character because she doesn't like muggles but not for the usual reasons. I look forward to seeing a bit more of her. I think your James is good too because I feel like he is such a genuine person but also full of banter. I think Abby and him are going to have some fantastic chemistry later in the story too. I'm really looking forward to see that dynamic develop. 

 

Abby is kinda heartbreaking to read about, I feel like there is just two sides to her and it's so obvious that one is crying and trying to figure out the world and the other rules the world.  I feel like she puts up so many barrier around herself for protection more than anything else. She is all about appearances, I felt especially bad for her when she said pretending to herself that she did sleep with blaise. I love the way you balance her though between her two 'personalities' as such. I think you've got a great way of making me feel sorry for her but also like 'who does she think she is?'. She is going to such a great character to see develop because at the moment, I'm not sure who she is and I don't think she really knows either. It's going to be so fun to follow this through and get to know Abby.

 

I'm really excited about getting to see more of Abby and James in the future chapters. I liked how you've set up the main issues and it's going to be great to see where you take them!

 

- Abbi xo

 

RvG - Team Gold

 



Name: Chemical_Pixie (Signed) · Date: 06 Oct 2018 01:58 PM · [Report This]
Story:Complicated Chapter: Complication #1

Tayyyyylor! I'm here for RvG, but also it's about darn time I dip into this fic.

 

First off, congratulations on finishing this novel. You should be proud of what you've accomplished! I'm excited to have the completed work ahead (though I'll probably be reading at snail pace, but by golly, I'll get through it). 

 

Second, your author's note rings true. Abigail is rather insufferable. But I see some potential redeeming qualities: her loyalty, her wit, her willingness to stick to her beliefs, her composure. However, these qualities are misdirected in a lot of immature things, like (petty) gossip, and in values that are different from my own (her materialism, emphasis on appearance, etc.). Though, I can see a ball of insecurities behind her exterior, so I look forward to everything crumbling around her. (Does that make me mean? Not too sure, lol).

 

Also, her friends. Are kinda the worst. And she is, too. So it works. For now. But ugh. I'm way more interested in getting to know Freddy and James, to be honest, because they stand up to this group of girls. I'm sure they have their quirks and downsides, too. But from what I see, James and Freddy are way more likeable than Abigail.

 

But her name... good choice, Taylor! ;)

 

I'll definitely be reading more. Let her character development begin!



Name: Sleepingbagonthesofa (Signed) · Date: 02 Oct 2018 07:50 AM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:Complicated Chapter: Complication #47

So a whole ten minuets ago I said that I couldn't read Complex unless I finish reviewing Complicated first and HERE I AM!! (As it turns out that was an excelent motivator!)

Right... Trying my best to be calm I am just going to say OH MY GOD absheiagrhsk... THEY WENT BACK TO THE SHREIKING SHACK!!! That whole sceen was so perfect. It's different and brings them right back to the start, it shows how far they've come since Abby was dating Blaize and James was just a bit of a twat. Now they're together and being adorable. 

Abby's line about James's tatoo was GOLD! It reminds me so much of Ginny and Harry and is so satisfying in that way but also because the Abigail from the start fo the story would never have said something like that. She's come into her own and I love it. I love her! 

That brings me onto the next point. The last scene. You saw my reaction when I first read this chapter and all I can say reading it back it is WOW. You've got it nailed, it is the absolute kicker. Scarlet is still the same person she was when we met her, the mean girl who doesn't understand that there is more to life than popularity and now Abby is so much better than that. It was such a mic drop moment, the perfect ending. 

I dont know what to say now... How to round up the last (well, second last) review on a story like this. I think by sayign that Taylor, out of all the fanfiction I have read (and i've read a LOT) I have never found one that captured me like this. It is, by a mile, my favourite. 

And Holy Hippogriff, thank god you came back to finish it!!

Deni xx



Name: Felpata_Lupin (Signed) · Date: 22 Sep 2018 02:35 AM · starstarstarstarhalf-star [Report This]
Story:Complicated Chapter: Complication #1

Hello, Taylor! :)

Here for the Interhouse Camaradie Challenge! :)

I was feeling bad for not having ever stopped by your AP before, and this story has been mentioned so much around the site, so I just had to check it out, right? ;)

Okay, so... my first thought was, indeed, that Abigail is sort of unsufferable... and I'm not 100% sure how much I like her group of friends, either... I just don't really appreciate girls who are all gossip-y and fashion-y and judging on appearences... but I guess that's my personal bias and it's kind of simplicistic judgement from my part? Does this make me a bit snobbish myself? Yeah, probably...

I will admit, though, I kind of change my mind a little bit already when you introduced Abigail's family situation. It must be really horrible to be the object of a competition between your divorced parents who are trying to buy your affection... it's just so sad and it really makes me feel a lot of sympathy for poor Abigail. (Even if I still think she's quite conceited...)

Okay, so... I kind of have a feeling her plans for Blaise aren't going to work out the way she hopes? I say this because 1) she's supposed to end up with James in the long run (right?), 2) this plan seems kind of a stretch, especially since the relationship started when they were so young and 3) I've read your excerpt from chapter 2...

As for James Potter II.... I actually found him a fun boy... :P I love when people make his personality and mannerisms mirroring his grandfather's, and of course you have that here, with the messing with his hair bit and pranking attitude and everything. It's kind of cliched, maybe, but it's totally my headcanon and I always love that interpretation of him. :P (Also I have a big passion for the Marauders (maybe you knew that already) and I always love any parallel with them...)

Okay, this review is a mess, as per usual... but I did enjoy this first chapter, it was a fun introduction to your characters and I'm very curious about how you are going to develop them and make them grow in your story (which is part of the purpose of it, if I understood straight?)

Goodbye for now!

Lots of love,

Chiara



Name: Stella Blue (Signed) · Date: 12 Sep 2018 10:01 PM · [Report This]
Story:Complicated Chapter: Complication #48

Ahh! It's the end! Congratulations on finishing, btw - I know this is recently finished and it's such a crazy, exciting, bittersweet feeling to finish writing a novel and I'm so proud of you.



This fic has been entertaining from start to finish, and I'm so glad to have read it! It was so rewarding to follow Abby's journey of growth and change from the person she was at the beginning to who she is now at the end - I really like the person she became. She's such a great character. And James was great too - I love the two of them together. And I would be remiss I'd I  didn't mention the supporting characters as well, Dom being my favorite. She became my favorite when she was kind to Abby after everything the Royals had done to Dom, and forgave her and was just generally an amazing friend. And I love her sass.


This was a beautifully fluffy end and sets everything up so well for the sequel, which I cant wait to read! And I love how even despite the fluff, you worked in there the fact that these best friends don't see one another as often as they wish - Caroline's even on a different continent - because that is just such a real thing, as sad as it is, but I can relate. Things may be fluffy and good with a proposal coming in the near future (!) but they and all their friends are still young adults trying to find their place in the world and hold on to these relationships as everyone moves apart and starts their own lives. Damn, if that isn't real. But there's enough fluff in there that I can't feel too bad about anything!


Sorry for the low quality reviews up until this point haha, I only have internet on my phone these days and typing reviews on a phone keyboard is really frustraitbg, but I did really enjoy the story. You have such a fun writing style. And, yeah, this story is so completely deserving of the Addicting Story award. This was so much fun - waiting excitedly for the sequel! Congrats once again on finishing this wondeful story. <3



Name: Stella Blue (Signed) · Date: 12 Sep 2018 09:20 PM · [Report This]
Story:Complicated Chapter: Complication #46

 There is not much of a point to this review other than to highlight the brilliance of this remark:

Wow! This is definitely the first time they’ve kissed! I, for one, am so surprised this is happening!”

 

I, for one, am definitely not dying of laughter.

Just kidding, I am.

 

PS, looks like this is your 300th review on this story! Congrats!



Name: Stella Blue (Signed) · Date: 12 Sep 2018 08:02 PM · [Report This]
Story:Complicated Chapter: Complication #45

Omg, he got truth or dare Jenga XD I'm amazed no one cheated and used magic to keep it all standng haha. Anyway, yay for Abby's birthday!

Ugh that letter from her mum was so disappointing though - I mean not that I expected much more, but she didn't even say congratulations? I suppose it's nice that she didn't cut Abby out of her life over Abby's decision to go to her father's wedding. But, still. That's a low bar. I hope things change and that, idk, her mum becomes a better person somehow. Abby did it, so I can hold out hope for her mum too :P



Name: Stella Blue (Signed) · Date: 12 Sep 2018 07:44 PM · [Report This]
Story:Complicated Chapter: Complication #44

I did suspect Cecile was pregnant. But as for the rest, I totally didn't see that coming. Poor Al and Cecile, that's awful. :( I hope they're gonna be okay.

And Abby is right, James is a super sweet brother to his siblings - they are lucky to have him.

Gah, it's so close to the end now and things are still so complicated! :p



Name: Stella Blue (Signed) · Date: 12 Sep 2018 07:19 PM · [Report This]
Story:Complicated Chapter: Complication #42

I'm back to finish! Ok. Their first date was freaking adorable. *heart eyes emoji*

 

But how awful that they had to witness that argument between Dom and Alec... gah. :( That's not an easy situation they're in.

 

I also have a hunch about what's going on with Al and Cecile, because this is the third time you've mentioned them really slyly - and the fact that Ginny was distracted enough to not care that James was 12 hours late for his curfew, it's something big. I suspect a lot of things will come up at this Intervention ....



Name: Stella Blue (Signed) · Date: 12 Sep 2018 09:56 AM · [Report This]
Story:Complicated Chapter: Complication #40

F I N A L L Y

<3

 

Have to go to work now, but I will be back to finish this story when I get home from work! This has been such a fun read so far.



Name: Stella Blue (Signed) · Date: 12 Sep 2018 09:45 AM · [Report This]
Story:Complicated Chapter: Complication #39

I'm so proud of her for getting the job! And hahah, i loved the scene when she donated all her old clothes, as a sign of becoming a new person, and then went on a massive shopping spree, because some things don't change XD It was kinda perfect.

 

Who is there??? My guess (or my hope) is James, but idk how he would have gotten there...



Name: Stella Blue (Signed) · Date: 12 Sep 2018 09:32 AM · [Report This]
Story:Complicated Chapter: Complication #38

Omg

 

(I know that's a useless review but give me three to five business days to process what just happened)

 

Oh also I'm so proud of Abby for that honest letter that she sent to her mum. <3 She has changes so much. And, I think writing that letter is the writing equivalent of *not* running away from her problems, so this is a big step!



Name: Stella Blue (Signed) · Date: 11 Sep 2018 11:26 PM · [Report This]
Story:Complicated Chapter: Complication #27

Omg not only is this story enemies to lovers, but now you throw secret dating in here too? I am HERE FOR THIS.



Name: Stella Blue (Signed) · Date: 11 Sep 2018 11:09 PM · [Report This]
Story:Complicated Chapter: Complication #26

Ah, called it on Caroline's story! I was so proud of Abby for being the bigger person and remembering Dom's kindness, and forgiving Caroline. And Fred accepting her into the group like that. My heart is so full of happy friendship feels.

DAMMIT THUNDERSTORM WHY YOU GOTTA RAIN ON THIS PARADE???

Oh thank goodness I thought you were going to end the chapter with the rain interrupting them and then the moment being ruined, but I guess rain's got nothing on sexual tension :P



Name: Stella Blue (Signed) · Date: 11 Sep 2018 10:47 PM · [Report This]
Story:Complicated Chapter: Complication #25

I feel really badly for Simon and Louis. Like... what if they weren't ready to come out to everyone yet? I'm glad it turned out well in the end, and that everyone was supportive, but... gah, what a stressful experience for them. I can't imagine having to come out to my family that way.

 

I am loving this tension building up between Abby and James though, omg I live for this sort of drama in fics. Seriously every chapter that goes by I'm half expecting them to hook up again, haha! And like... probably all the other characters besides Abby and James themselves are expecting it too XD



Name: Stella Blue (Signed) · Date: 11 Sep 2018 10:24 PM · [Report This]
Story:Complicated Chapter: Complication #23

1. I am so proud of Abby for all the growing up she's done, and for this moment of introspection when she gets home.

2. I love James 10x more than I did before because if that useless letter. XD

3. Speaking of Abby being grown up... She's a hell of a lot more grown up than her parents are, haha.

4. Omg the kitten <3

I know this review is about as useful as James' letter about how he ate Lily's Christmas candy but there you have it.



Name: Stella Blue (Signed) · Date: 11 Sep 2018 09:19 PM · [Report This]
Story:Complicated Chapter: Complication #22

Theory: Caroline isn't sitting with the others because she feels bad about being nasty to Abby. If I recall correctly, she stopped hanging around with Scarlett and Brooke just after the truth about Blaise cheating was revealed, and Caroline realized how unfair they'd been to Abby, although it hasn't gotten bad enough for Caroline that she'll actually break from the Royals yet. But I do think that her sharing her secrets with Abby in the beginning meant something to caroline.

 

Hot damn I can't believe James got her a FIREBOLT. that's some serious gift dedication



Name: Stella Blue (Signed) · Date: 11 Sep 2018 08:03 PM · [Report This]
Story:Complicated Chapter: Complication #12

DOMINIQUE IS A FREAKING ANGEL  I LOVE HER SO MUCH. MVP OF THE STORY <3



Name: Stella Blue (Signed) · Date: 11 Sep 2018 07:40 PM · [Report This]
Story:Complicated Chapter: Complication #9

I didn't really have opinions about Blaise before but I do now and I don't like him. Ugh is this the 1950s? Let her do some hard work if she wants to! (Not that there's anything wrong with being a housewife if that's what you want to do, but that's not what she wants, and the fact that she can't be honest with him about that is a red flag...)

 

As much as I dislike Blaise, Abigail is right that he doesn't deserve to be cheated on - no one does. But, it almost feels as is abigail is using her guilt about cheating on him as a reason for staying with him, making excuses for his behaviour that annoys her, to make up for that. Its very subconscious, I think, so maybe she doesnt even realize shes doing that, but it's a little messed up and I hope she sees her relationship through a clearer lens soon.

 

Also how do James and Abigail keep ending up at the same library table? If she really disliked him as much as she pretends to, she'd walk away. So idk why it keeps happening, but I'm glad it does. And that they can just talk about normal school stuff. James last comment was very cryptic... I'm wondering about the story behind that.

 

Another great chapter!



Name: Stella Blue (Signed) · Date: 11 Sep 2018 07:22 PM · [Report This]
Story:Complicated Chapter: Complication #8

Omg there are so many flaws in her logic. And she's so tangled up in all these lies. No wonder this story won an award for most addicting :P. Also... I feel like she left her dress at the shrieking shack and someone will eventually find it...

Sorry this is a short review... Phone typing is a lot of effort and also every minute I'm typing is a minute I'm not reading, but I'll be back <3



Name: Stella Blue (Signed) · Date: 11 Sep 2018 06:35 PM · [Report This]
Story:Complicated Chapter: Complication #3

Heyo. So I've been seeing this story mentioned around everywhere, and all I ever hear about it is good things, so I decided to check it out and see what all the fuss is about. And, so far I'm absolutely loving this!


Abigail is such  an interesting character - I don't particularly like her, nor do I even like James that much tbh - it's just that I don't ever find stories with a protagonist like Abigail. She's like Regina George only smart enough to know whether or not butter is a carb. If i met her in real life we would 1100% not be friends.  But for some reason I really enjoy reading about her! Maybe because she's so conceited and dislikeable at the very beginning, I get the sense that she will change a lot over the course of  the novel and I'm excited to see that happen. 

 

I had some things that I wanted to do this afternoon but I'm almost positive I will spend that time reading this fanfiction instead.  Till next time...



Author's Response:

Hiya Kristin!! I'm so happy you came and read this!

 

Gah, it makes me way too happy when early reviews on this story mention how James and Abby aren't particularly likable, because, well, they're not supposed to be. Neither of them are particularly stellar people - Abby because of how much stock she puts in this reputation she's built for herself, and James because he's also got this 'reputation,' and because Abby doesn't like him and that colors how he's portrayed to the reader. But OMG, 'she's like Regina George only smart enough to know whether or not butter is a carb' has to be one of my favorite descriptions of early Abigail... it's SPOT ON.

 

-Taylor



Name: nott theodore (Signed) · Date: 05 Sep 2018 08:23 AM · [Report This]
Story:Complicated Chapter: Complication #48

Hi Taylor!

 

Ah, CONGRATULATIONS!  I know exactly how strange and exciting it is to finish a novel that you've been working on for so long, and I'm really happy for you completing this!  (Also because we get to read it, obviously :P)

 

Jumping forward in time by two years worked so well for the epilogue, especially with the way that it sets everything up for the sequel.  After everything that we've seen James and Abby going through during that year at Hogwarts, it's so satisfying to see them together and happy after two years.  It's just so perfect to see them together here, and hitting all these milestones here, moving in together and (eep!) getting married!

 

It was very subtle, but I think you did a great job of capturing the fact that both Abby and James have grown up a little since the end of the last chapter, which makes a lot of sense as they've both been working for two years now, and they live together - their outlook has started to shift a little and I think you depicted that really well, while both of them were still the characters we know and love.

 

The two of them together are just so cute, as well, and I'm so excited about them moving in together!  I loved the way that you described the way their styles complement each other when they shouldn't, just like the two of them, and the photographs on the wall was a great way to give us a glimpse into their lives together.

 

James being so casual about proposing was adorable!  I'm not surprised that Abby was shocked at how he mentioned it so easily, and it's so very James that he's thought about it and just assumed they were on the same page, even if they haven't talked about it yet.  Including that in the scene still at the flat, building up to that ending, was fantastic.

 

I really loved the way you showed us how most of the other characters from your main cast have moved on and what they're doing at this point.  Al is already married!  (I hope that's to Cecile or you're going to blindside me completely in Complex.)  And I'm sad about Caroline and Fred, but at the same time I really love how realistic it is that not all of the people who were together at the end of school still are?  I only know a handful of people who left school at eighteen and are still with the same person they were in a relationship with then, but I think it can be kind of idealised in fanfiction sometimes, so as mean as it makes me sound, I love reading fics which portray young adult life more accurately.

 

The final scene was perfect, all the talk of babies and weddings and proposals, and you've set me up to be so, so excited for the sequel (like I wasn't going to be already).  I can definitely picture James planning a big, dramatic proposal, and I hope that we get to see it when the sequel starts!

 

I've enjoyed this novel so much, and I'm holding you to the fact that Complex will have a happy ending before you completely tear out my heart!

 

Sian :)



Name: gryffinclaw (Signed) · Date: 04 Sep 2018 07:45 AM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:Complicated Chapter: Complication #48

i loved this story so much! Can't wait for the sequel - this was a lovely way to end it but I'll always want more of these characters



Submit a Review