Login
Reviews For Complicated

Name: cambangst (Signed) · Date: 19 Jul 2018 06:09 PM · [Report This]
Story:Complicated Chapter: Complication #1

Hi, there! I'm here from the Review Tag thread in the forums.

I have the strangest feeling like I've read this story before, perhaps back on HPFF. That said, I couldn't find it in my old reviews, so I'm going to suppress the feeling and treat it like it's brand new.

I'm really curious as to where Abigail's life is heading. I mean, I have some ideas based on the story summary, but it's going to be very interesting to see how we get there. To the question you pose in your author's note, yes, you have done your job quite correctly. On the surface, Abigail is the sort of person that 90% of the female population of Hogwarts (and a sizeable percentage of the male population, those who aren't crushing on her) would find obnoxious. She's snotty, self-absorbed and arrogant. She appears to see life and an unending game of one-upmanship and she refuses to fall behind. Even among her friends, she sees herself as distinctly above them. Queen Bee, indeed.

At the same time, you've done a good job of showing where her less admirable traits come from. I'm sure her parents' divorce was difficult for her. Now they're compounding the problem by placing her in the middle of their own game of one-upmanship. While the benefits of her situation are plain, my guess is that we're going to see a lot of the drawbacks as the story progresses. When people are trying to buy your love, the implicit assumption is that it's always available for sale.

"I’m never one to publicly curse or hex anyone – words can solve most problems, anyways – but there’s just something about Potter that makes me lose all self-control." -- This seems like a bit of foreshadowing.

Let's see, what else? I like that you're relatively fearless in exploring the sorts of things that occupay the minds of teenagers. Abigail's planned night of passion with her boyfriend is the sort of thing that a lot of teen girls would orchestrate, given the means and opportunity. I hope that you're equally fearless in exploring how the evening fails to meet her lofty expectations. It is going to fail to meet her expectations, right? I've never heard of a first-time teenage sexual experience that did meet expectations.

I really like the way you write. Aside from the fact that your writing is flawless, the tone and the word choice feels really appropriate to the narrator's voice. The whole story flows nicely and it's an easy read. There isn't really anything I can suggest in the way of improvement.

Nice job! I hope I get a chance to read more.

-Dan



Name: adorably cute (Signed) · Date: 08 Jul 2018 07:01 PM · [Report This]
Story:Complicated Chapter: Complication #43

I continue to adore interventions with this group and this one was no exception! It was a wild ride, though, and definitely a twist on what I was expecting! But I have to say that I love that James and Abby pulled it off so well that they the intervention was to try and get them together! 

 

I loved that Dom was claiming innocence right off the bat and Freddy's proclamation was too funny! He was so off mark it wasn't even funny and then I LOVED everyone's reactions when James and Abby just start laughing about it! It was so Dom and Lily to just casually mention they already know about the snogging! 

 

Finishing this chapter off with girl talk was the perfect way to go! Besides Abby telling the girls all the deets about James, it was naturally the time for them all to update on relationship statuses. At least Freddy and Caroline are going strong, even if Dom and Alec and Molly and Davies are struggling! Am all kinds of excited to see what happens with everyone's relationships! Another lovely chapter, Taylor; the intervention was everything I'd hoped for and more!



Name: javu (Signed) · Date: 08 Jul 2018 05:48 PM · starstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:Complicated Chapter: Complication #43

Yay! I'm happy the Wotters know now but I thought there would be more drama... guess that will happen when the school finds out ;) Good job!



Name: adorably cute (Signed) · Date: 25 Jun 2018 02:56 PM · [Report This]
Story:Complicated Chapter: Complication #42

Can I just GUSH about this first date? It was so incredible and totally them. I loved all the banter they started out with and how James went even above and beyond taking her out by not just taking her out of Hogwarts, but taking her to London! It's just excessive and over the top enough to be him, but then he makes it more perfect by taking her to an arcade restaurant which is super fun and light and easy (and also wanting to show a menaingful place to his family). I like that it brings out their competitive sides and just makes it a fun and easy first date, which is so different than what her last relationship was!

 

I totally "aw"ed at the scene where they picked their prizes. I loved that Abby went cheesy first date momento and James was just like uhhh gimme that. 

 

I really feel for Dom in this chapter! It's so hard to be put between a boy and your career. It's good on her for sticking with her dreams but she's obviously so torn about it! Super curious to see more about them in the next few chapters! Also, super awkward moment for James and Abby ending up in that. 

 

Another lovely chapter, Taylor! Excited for the intervention and what's to come!



Author's Response:

I don't know why on earth I came up with the idea of them going to an arcade, but it happened and I was like 'well, I literally cannot get this idea out of my head so I guess there's gonna be a chapter devoted to it.' It just seemed... so them.

Yeah, Dom's in a bit of a weird place here. And so is Alec, really, because he wouldn't ever tell her to not chase after her dreams but he also really loves her. They're both just kind of dealing with it but also trying to generally avoid the issue, but the comment Abby made at the start of this chapter accidentally renewed the argument all over again. I think one of the hardest things about being in a relationship during the last year of school is knowing that there's a chance you could end up in totally different places, and that's something that's happening here. It sucks, but it's how life works, ya know?

Glad you enjoyed!! The next chapter is giving me a hard time for some reason, but the intervention part is going to be FUN.



Name: sunshine_locks (Signed) · Date: 23 Jun 2018 09:06 PM · [Report This]
Story:Complicated Chapter: Complication #16

"Oh no, nothing like that. At all. We're friends now, but definitely nothing more." FAMOUS LAST WORDS, ABIGAIL. FAMOUS. LAST. WORDS. 

 

i just did a little dance in my seat, like, i'm pretty sure that this is pivotal chapter in the story. the famous last words made a show, and not to mention the Getting Drunk Together And Accidentally Spilling All My Secrets. that definitely probably means something to abigail's and james' relationship, because it's pretty telling that they're both telling each other things they probably never would have to other people. it means they trust each other!!! 

 

lovely chapter as always!! xx



Name: sunshine_locks (Signed) · Date: 23 Jun 2018 08:56 PM · [Report This]
Story:Complicated Chapter: Complication #15

the way the weasley fam deals with problems that span the family is actually really smart! 

 

i'm seriously really glad the whole family was okay with dom/alistair, instead of pulling the whole sexist overprotective cousin/brother bullshit. that shit annoiyes me so goddamn much you don't even know! so yeah, i'm super hyped that the family was (kind of) reasonable about it, and their logic makes sense! 

 

great chapter! xx



Name: sunshine_locks (Signed) · Date: 23 Jun 2018 08:44 PM · [Report This]
Story:Complicated Chapter: Complication #14

okay, so i really love your james. like of course my headcanons about him is that he's a bit similar to james potter i, except a little less,,, asshole-y. its actually one of my pet peeves, when people characterize james potter ii as worse than his grandpa,,, like?? so i approve of the ethics that he applies to pranking, it's a lot more fun when they're harmles and/or when they're directed at people who are bullies. 

 

abigail clearly likes dom, even though i think she's a little bit unsure of her,, and it was very sweet of her to keep dom's secret. 

 

i wonder how the whole weasley fam will deal with the whole dom/alistair ordeal? hopefully in a reasonable way? 

 

great chapter! xx



Name: sunshine_locks (Signed) · Date: 23 Jun 2018 08:38 PM · [Report This]
Story:Complicated Chapter: Complication #13

Abigail and Dominique get along really well, now that her ice queen guard is gone! 

 

it was so nice of dom to introduce abby to her friends, and i'm even more glad that they don't seem to have any problem with being her friends.

 

so, i guess abigail really lost her friends for good? i was kind of hoping that they'd make up with her or something. 

 

great chapter as always! xx



Name: sunshine_locks (Signed) · Date: 23 Jun 2018 08:34 PM · [Report This]
Story:Complicated Chapter: Complication #12

so far, abigail is handling her situation really well, considering the circumstances. like, i would not have such a formidable character in the face of what she was going through. 

 

i wonder who wrote slag on her forehead though? because whoever did that is a bitch. even though abigail immediately dismissed the possibility, i think that it might actually be her friends who did it? or maybe blaise? they're the ones who were hurt the most. 

 

okay, dominique is immediately badass. i love her. i hope to see abigail's and dominique's friendship grow, but i also hope she makes up with her friends. 

 

great chapter!! xx

 

p.s. I’m really glad for the scarlet letter reference because I completely understand what dominique’s talking about omg!!!



Name: sunshine_locks (Signed) · Date: 23 Jun 2018 08:33 PM · [Report This]
Story:Complicated Chapter: Complication #11

JAMES IS ME. WHAT JAMES IS SAYING IS EXACTLY HOW I FEEL. 

 

And, man, Abigail's gonna be up for some really hard chapters. She's lost her boyfriend and all of her friends in one fell swoop. Blaise really could've chosen a better place to confront Abigail about her sleeping with James. 

 

I hope her friends allow her to explain her actions, and then if they decide to not give Abigail a chance, well, at least she tried. 

 

i'm really excited to read the next chapters to see how abigail handles all of this. 

 

and by the way? i really am starting to love james, as i agree with his views on slutshaming (both men and women) and he's such a good brother. 

 

great chapter! xx



Author's Response:

Definitely a rough few chapters ahead, but also some real real good ones (in my opinion, lol). And yes this is when you really get to see the nicer side of James that Abby didn’t really know existed! Thanks for the review!!



Name: Stephenie (Anonymous) · Date: 23 Jun 2018 04:52 PM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:Complicated Chapter: Complication #42

I just binge-read this in just over a day and this is EASILY one of my favorite James/OC fics I've read. I can't wait for the next chapter, Abby is just a fantastic character!



Author's Response:

Ahh I’m glad you liked it so much!! Thanks for reading and reviewing!



Name: sunshine_locks (Signed) · Date: 23 Jun 2018 03:43 AM · [Report This]
Story:Complicated Chapter: Complication #10

ALKSDJFKALSDJFLAJ HOW DID BLAISE FIND OUT????????

 

but also, this is literally the worst way to tell your other that you found out they cheated?? I feel for blaise, because he's the victim here, but idk, i feel like maybe this was something he should've kept private, so they could talk about their relationship in a sustained environment?? 

 

man. i really thought abigail would tell blaise. i feel bad for blaise, because he was the one being cheated on, but the way he handled it irks me a bit. I FEEL BAD FOR THE BOTH OF THEM I DON'T KNOW HOW TO FEEL

 

goodluck to the both of them man

 

lovely chapter!! xx

 



Author's Response:

He has his ways... I'm pretty sure he explains it somewhere in the next chapter. And yes, definitely not the best way to talk about a relationship - unless you're actually *trying* to cause a scene. Which... may or may not be his intentions. There's a whole lot more going on than meets the eye, that's all I can really say. Thanks for the review!



Name: sunshine_locks (Signed) · Date: 23 Jun 2018 03:21 AM · [Report This]
Story:Complicated Chapter: Complication #9

i wonder what james means? i mean i've always had my suspicions about blaise, but coming from james, it only raises my guard even more, lmao

 

did blaise do something wrong of his own? or does he act like an asshole to everyone else, but like a sweetie to abigail? WHO KNOWS. 

 

i'm really glad james and abigail seem to be getting along somewhat, even if it is within the boundaries of a small corner in a library. they're friendship is coming along really nicely, and i appreciate that you didn't push their romance into the forefront too soon. 

 

great chapter! xx



Author's Response:

Hmm, you'll see! James may or may not know something, and Blaise may or may not have a secret of his own. ;) Also I'm loving reading reviews on these earlier chapters because omg it's definitely a long time coming until their romance becomes anything close to the forefront (it's tagged as a slow burn for good reason, lmao).



Name: sunshine_locks (Signed) · Date: 23 Jun 2018 02:53 AM · [Report This]
Story:Complicated Chapter: Complication #8

yikes yikes yikes abigail that was SUCH a bad idea

 

i think at this point the only way to be free of any guilt is for her to tell her boyfriend what exactly she did. 

 

she's lying more and more these days to her friends and uhhh yikessss i hope she gets her shit together

 

one thing though. i feel like you could've spent a tiny bit longer about her emotions after having sex with blaise? while i definitely understood her, i feel like her emotions went a bit understated? idk if i'm making any sense. 

 

on to the next!! xx



Author's Response:

Truly not her best decision - some majorly flawed logic took place there. She's kind of falling apart with the weight of this whole secret at this point, so it's really only a matter of time until she truly breaks. And yeah, looking back at this chapter, I definitely could elaborate more there! These first 9 and a half chapters were all written like 5 years ago (as compared to all the rest, which are WAY more recent), so I'm actually about to start going through and making edits to these first 10 - so that's definitely something I'll fix in this chapter!! Thanks for the review :)



Name: sunshine_locks (Signed) · Date: 23 Jun 2018 12:07 AM · [Report This]
Story:Complicated Chapter: Complication #7

you know, for a second there, I really thought the girls were onto her, but i reasoned it's too early for the to figure out; besided the later they find out, the more drama to add on, no?

 

I'm curious as to what's going on with dominique? why would she change her demeanor so quickly like that? something's definitely up.

 

ooh, james is smarter than i thought! and he's actually considerate of abigail's feelings, which is nice to see! i didn't really think him to be like that, since the last chapter he was already acting so obnoxious about them sleeping together. 

 

great chapter! xx



Author's Response:

Yeah, the girls aren't quite there yet (but are getting closer). And something is definitely up with Dom - I will say, Scarlett actually wasn't far off. And James is... well, he absolutely loves riling Abigail up (as seen in the previous chapter and a little bit here as well) but he's also a genuinely good person under all of that, and his Gryffindor nobility means that he kind of feels obliged to help Abigail given that, ya know, it took two to tango.



Name: sunshine_locks (Signed) · Date: 22 Jun 2018 11:12 PM · [Report This]
Story:Complicated Chapter: Complication #6

at least abigail feels guilty for cheating on her boyfriend. speaking of, he's been strangely absent these past few chapters. 

 

i'm sensing drama might happen between abigail and the girls, since i think this is the second time she's lied to them? i'm bad at keeping track of these things. 

 

james seems to find the fun in everything it seems! though i'm surprised at the volume abigail was yelling, someone thought it was a ghost? lmfao. 

 

abigail's and james' friendship seems to be coming on nicely, they just passed their first milestone: Seemingly Cold Girl Actually Gives The Boy She Supposedly Hates (None Of Us Readers Believe It) A Genuine Smile. 

 

this chapter was a lovely read! xx



Author's Response:

He’ll be back soon! And that morning-after scene is just proof of how different James and Abigail tend to think - James is much more laidback about most things and Abigail is instantly overthinking them. 

I’ve always envisioned the Shrieking Shack as having really weird acoustics. I mean, people interpreted a wolf howling in there as a ghost for years, so I feel like any loud noise in there probably has a similar effect.

Thanks for reviewing!!



Name: BBHP (Signed) · Date: 22 Jun 2018 04:22 AM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:Complicated Chapter: Complication #42

I loved this chapter and I am sooo excited for the next one!!



Author's Response:

Glad you liked it!! <3



Name: sunshine_locks (Signed) · Date: 22 Jun 2018 03:53 AM · [Report This]
Story:Complicated Chapter: Complication #5

AKSDJFNALSKDJFLAKSDJF ABIGAIL NO!!!!!

 

well. can't say i'm surprised. i just didn't expect abigail to cheat on her boyfriend. 

 

getting drunk does no one any good, and if you want to add drama, getting drunk's the perfect way, isn't it? 

 

welp. onto the next chapter, and great chapter as always! xx



Author's Response:

Not her finest moment, haha. Alcohol does tend to lead to bad decisions, and that’s exactly what happened here. Glad you enjoyed!



Name: sunshine_locks (Signed) · Date: 22 Jun 2018 03:40 AM · [Report This]
Story:Complicated Chapter: Complication #4

though abigail is acting like a bitch, i still see the "good" inside of her. in the way she protects her friends. and from james' dumbfounded look, he wasn't expecting her to be so protective of them either!

 

you wrote abigail as really prim an proper character, and it seems to be a part of her, so the way she's acting, in a way she usually wouldn't, multiple times in fact, really shows how much fun she's having with this. i think she really needs to let loose a little? maybe?

 

her comments on dominique seem significant somehow, so i'm kind of expecting a friendship between them? also, the fact that you placed dom in their dorm is pretty convenient. 

 

i'm excited to see what kind of war abigail might wage on james. maybe a prank war to see who can outdo the other?

 

great chapter!! xx



Author's Response:

James has this very negative image of Abigail in his head at this point in the story, so anything that contradicts that immediately throws him off guard. And one of Abigail's biggest strengths at this point in the story is just how loyal she is to her friends. And LOL reading your comment about her letting loose is fantastic when you look at what happens in... literally the following chapter, haha. And omg Dom is such a minor character at this point but she's gonna become so much more important and tbh she's one of my favourite characters to write. Glad you enjoyed this chap!!



Name: sunshine_locks (Signed) · Date: 22 Jun 2018 03:19 AM · [Report This]
Story:Complicated Chapter: Complication #3

okay okay okay i'm starting to see what you mean by insufferable; caroline's severe dislike of muggles, abigails' secret satisfaction at the way scarlett's night went, and also in the way that she treats people and how the group is treated as well. 

 

since we did make big change in setting, the setting really affected the way this whole group acts, b/c in this setting, they really gotta put up their "bitchy" persona. 

 

i think you're really trying to humanize these girls though, caroline's history with her parents, abigail's current problem's with her parents, how brooke cut herself off from her parents, etc. wow, a lot of their problems stem from their parents, are you perhaps trying to make a parallel? i'm also assuming scarlett's parents are the only one's of the four whose relationship worked out? idk. 

 

i'm really excited to see how abigail's and james' relationship wil progress, though it seems like nothing is going on now. 

 

great chapter! xx



Author's Response:

They definitely have a bit of a "mean girl" vibe that's way more obvious at school than anywhere else. Although it won't really last through the whole story - at least, not for all of them. And their relationship will progress...  very slowly, lol. With a few pretty significant bumps along the way, haha. Thanks for reading!



Name: sunshine_locks (Signed) · Date: 22 Jun 2018 02:46 AM · [Report This]
Story:Complicated Chapter: Complication #2

aw, i feel bad for abigail, and she already told her friends, so she'll have to deal with them pestering about it tomorrow!

 

man, her mum and dad are really bad (look at my wonderful arsenal of vocab making its entrance). why are they so distant? and if they want they're daughter's love, why not actually take part in her life? i'm sure that'd mean more than any extravagant gifts they give her. 

 

i also wonder what made her boyfriend not come? it seems a little bit shady, how he suddenly didn't show up, and only thought of sending her a letter after they were to meet up, and not before. 

 

great chapter!! xx



Author's Response:

Yes she will, and you’ll see exactly how she handles that one next chapter, haha. As for her parents, they’re just... well, they’re complicated (because isn’t everything in this story, hence the title lol). Blaise will continue to be a problematic character in the future too, just wait! Thanks for the review!! 



Name: sunshine_locks (Signed) · Date: 22 Jun 2018 02:24 AM · [Report This]
Story:Complicated Chapter: Complication #1

okay, I know you want use to think that Abigail is insufferable, but for the most part i think she's a good person? 

 

I mean, she a good friend to her other friends, and is actually rather protective of them, which I'm really loving? And while she does take her wealth for granted, she doesn't seem to be too arrogant, and isn't insufferable in that "oh, my friends are beneath me, and they're pretty much my minions" way? 

 

Idk, while i definitely see what you're trying to get at, her humanity (in the way she's so clearly affected by her parents' divorce, but loves them anyways) kind of evens her out. 

 

Am i really far off or not? 

 

Anyways, this a really great first chapter! i've been eying the fic for a while, but alas life impedes. 



Author's Response:

You're right in that she is a good person in some ways - one of the main themes of the story is her character development, so you've gotta start with *something*, haha. I'm so happy you're reading this story, and I can't wait to see how you like it!



Name: adorably cute (Signed) · Date: 19 Jun 2018 01:09 AM · [Report This]
Story:Complicated Chapter: Complication #41

Can I just say that I LOVE Ginny Potter? She's hilarious! I love how nosy she is in her sons' love lives but also so supportive of them both. It's actually honestly such a perfect depiction of her! Anyway, SO excited that James and Abby have gotten things together. I loved their little morning after and them sharing those little pieces of information, growing closer. I loved how nervous James was kissing her good-bye; just another little thing about him being nervous to do this relationship, but then at the end, he's confident about the first date! I'm so excited to see that!

 

I loved their friend's conversation about Abby's new standards. It was totally funny to see them talking about it and I could totally picture James just smirking on the side. Their little walk at the end, where they set ground rules and plan an Intervention (can't wait for another Intervention btw) was awesome. I love their teasing relationship and I loved Abby's little inner thoughts about their relationship like when James didn't hold the door for her (We'lll have to work on that one.) Another wonderful chapter; excited for the next one!



Author's Response:

I fully expected Ginny as a mum so be incredibly nosy and super perceptive in her assessments of people? And I think she's seen what Abby's done to James, and she cares way more about that than anything else. Now that they've gotten themselves together, they're so cute to write! The first date is going to be fun, although there's a twist to it because I can't do anything normally, haha.

And yes, you better believe James was just sitting there being like 'oh yeah, her standards are definitely higher because her standards are ME' and just being this cocky little prat about it. And an intervention is coming soon as well! Thanks for reading and reviewing!!



Name: BBHP (Signed) · Date: 19 Jun 2018 12:22 AM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:Complicated Chapter: Complication #41

Hooray! I loved the gooey cuteness of this chapter! I also read the one shot from James’s point of view and I loved it. 



Author's Response:

It was a fun one to write! They deserved some gooey cuteness, lol. I'm glad you enjoyed it, and the James one-shot as well! <3



Name: Sleepingbagonthesofa (Signed) · Date: 13 Jun 2018 07:45 AM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:Complicated Chapter: Complication #40

WELL FINALLY! AAAaahhdvdjfksuvdvdg!

Forty chapters in and it was so. Worth. The. Wait. 

Firstly, of course it was James at the wedding. It is just a very Gryffindor thing to do but showing up and then not having the bravery to say it is also very very James.

The parallels between this and 'Abigail' from the start of the novel are so strong. Shes grown up a lot since the first few chapters. I've said it before, her character's development is one of the best I've seen in fanfic. It's seriously well done!

Then the speach... I can't actually articulate my thoughts on this just Ahhh! It's fluffy as hell and I love it. We've definitely been waiting for James to say it back and now they can go off and be cute together... Well, until school.

This turned out to be more fangirling and not much actual review but oh well! I can't wait for the next chapter! Great work Taylor!

Deni xx



Author's Response:

When I first started writing this fic I was so hesitant to tag it as "slow burn" because was it really?? Forty chapters later, I think the answer is a definite yes, LOL. I loved writing James in this chapter, because it was all my favorite things about his character thrown into one. There's definitely some cuteness ahead! (And drama, because I can't write chapters without at least some drama, haha.) Thanks for the review, Deni!! <3



Submit a Review