Login
Reviews For Complicated

Name: potionspartner (Signed) · Date: 17 Apr 2018 01:36 AM · [Report This]
Story:Complicated Chapter: Complication #31

So glad I found Complications here since HPFF is closing down. I'm not normally a next generation fan but this one keeps me intrigued.



Author's Response:

I'm so glad you like it!! Thanks for reviewing!



Name: adorably cute (Signed) · Date: 15 Apr 2018 05:21 PM · [Report This]
Story:Complicated Chapter: Complication #31

Confrontation!!  Honestly, I kept waiting for something like this, like I knew Scarlett wouldn't let something happen with Caroline and Fred without saying something but I loved that scene, it went down way better than I could have imagined. And poor Dom! I'm so anxious to see what happens with her now! Excited for next update!



Author's Response:

A confrontation has definitely been overdue - Caroline and Fred were just the final straw that brought it about. That particular scene has been in my brain for a while now, so it's nice to finally have it written out! I feel terrible doing anything bad to Dom - I love her so much - but alas, it had to happen. Thanks for reviewing!!



Name: Crimson Quill (Signed) · Date: 13 Apr 2018 08:29 PM · [Report This]
Story:Complicated Chapter: Complication #1

 

Hello Taylor!

 

So it's time for the POG awards so perfect reason to start exploring more of our Gryffindor's stories. I've always seen this story around on hpff and always meant to check it out because I love the concept of it but I didn't get around to it but now it's here. I really have no excuse.

 

I rather like Abigail (but also don't at the same time? ha ha) because I think you've created such a wonderful base for this character and there is so much space to develop her through out the story. I'm already interested to see where she is going to go. I love how sassy she is and the line 'If I wanted people to see me in sweatpants, I'd join a Quidditch team.' is just the best. I like the little details about them being called 'Ravenclaw Royals'. It's very fun first chapter which just gives us the tone of the story.

 

I think you've done a really good job with creating a spark of interest because I'm going to be reading on with this story (looks like it'll take me a while!). I think you do use a lot of description for your characters appearance wise but it's still pretty believable because after all, Abigail is quite focused on looks so it makes sense that she would be paying attention to how people look in detail. Good job on this first chapter and I hope to be back soon. welcome to hpft. :)

 

- Abbi xo

 



Name: Sleepingbagonthesofa (Signed) · Date: 12 Apr 2018 09:24 AM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:Complicated Chapter: Complication #31

Ahhh! We're getting more into ex-Royal drama!

This has been building for a long thing and again this chapter threw another log on the drama fire! I can't wait to see how this turns out!

S x



Author's Response:

Honestly I've been waiting so long to drag Scarlett and Brooke back into the picture to fuel the fire and I was so excited to do it in this chapter. While they're probably not going to stage another all-out confrontation anytime soon (because this one didn't go too well for them), they're definitely not done causing trouble. ;) Thanks for reviewing!!



Name: GinnyHarry123 (Signed) · Date: 12 Apr 2018 07:27 AM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:Complicated Chapter: Complication #31

So great was to read agaon...superb chapter :)



Author's Response:

Thank you!!



Name: adorably cute (Signed) · Date: 10 Apr 2018 03:21 AM · [Report This]
Story:Complicated Chapter: Complication #30

I can't believe Abby's mother! Actually, I can, but still! That was an awful thing to do. I'm curious to see if she'll take James' advive on how to proceed or figure out her own way but either way can't wait for this whole drama to go down because I'm sure it will be big! James and Abby remain adorable and I love seeing them get closer. Can't wait for more and already looking forward to next chapter because I loved the little sneak preview of Fred and Caroline!



Name: GinnyHarry123 (Signed) · Date: 09 Apr 2018 10:41 AM · [Report This]
Story:Complicated Chapter: Complication #30

Ooo Fred ask Caroline to hogsmade next chapter...cant wait .

So you dont update i  HPFF this story i notice but atleast you write here :)

 

Abbys mum is crazy honestly ...



Author's Response:

Yep, there's some Fraroline in the next chapter! (I just made that ship name up off the top of my head and I'm kind of a fan? haha) I ended up not posting this chapter on HPFF since I'd already caught up on here and figured I might as well just focus on this platform instead. And yes, Abby's mum is a little... unreasonable, haha. She's fuelled by this massive desire to be the most important figure in Abby's life and sometimes it just doesn't work well for her.  Thanks for reviewing!!



Name: Sleepingbagonthesofa (Signed) · Date: 09 Apr 2018 02:39 AM · [Report This]
Story:Complicated Chapter: Complication #30

Ahhh! A new chapter!

Firstly, I love that you're posting on here. I was so worried we had lost the story but it's safe and I can keep obsessing over Dom and watching Abby grow!

The focus has definitely shifted to James and Abby. It's brilliant just seeing the they're developing and working out how they are together. Are we getting close? Yes! FINALLY we're almost there. I love it.

Looking forwards to the next chapter. The valentines one is always a big one but I know you'll smash it!

S xx



Name: adorably cute (Signed) · Date: 04 Apr 2018 12:16 AM · [Report This]
Story:Complicated Chapter: Complication #7

The end of this chapter is one of my favorite parts, especially early on. I love how surprised James is by her reaction and how impressed she is by him. Bringing out little parts of their personalities again



Name: adorably cute (Signed) · Date: 03 Apr 2018 11:55 PM · [Report This]
Story:Complicated Chapter: Complication #6

I love this and last chapter! James is so cavalier about it all and Abigail so understandably panicked but it's so them! Love seeing the bits of their personalities drawn out.



Name: adorably cute (Signed) · Date: 03 Apr 2018 11:12 PM · [Report This]
Story:Complicated Chapter: Complication #5

Ahahah way start off the school year strong! Great chapter!



Name: adorably cute (Signed) · Date: 03 Apr 2018 09:24 PM · [Report This]
Story:Complicated Chapter: Complication #2

Ugh forgot about all this! Rough being pulled between the two parents and I def forgot how hard it is for her now that she's at school with new drama in the later chapters



Name: adorably cute (Signed) · Date: 03 Apr 2018 09:13 PM · [Report This]
Story:Complicated Chapter: Complication #1

I absolutely love this story! You gave me the idea to transfer reviews over from HPFF so I'm starting here. Realized I didn't start this until like chapter 15 or so, so I'm picking up from the beginning this time! Excited about another read through!



Author's Response:

Oh yay! Hope you enjoy reading it a second time!!



Name: adorably cute (Signed) · Date: 03 Apr 2018 09:13 PM · [Report This]
Story:Complicated Chapter: Complication #1

I absolutely love this story! You gave me the idea to transfer reviews over from HPFF so I'm starting here. Realized I didn't start this until like chapter 15 or so, so I'm picking up from the beginning this time! Excited about another read through!



Author's Response:

Oh yay! Hope you enjoy reading it a second time!!



Name: facingthenorthwind (Signed) · Date: 03 Apr 2018 10:15 AM · [Report This]
Story:Complicated Chapter: Complication #1

 

 

On one hand, the way you've described her looks at the beginning here feel a bit like...the stereotypical "describe the outfit the narrator is wearing at the beginning of the story" shtick, but on the other, the line " I don’t believe in dressing casually. If I wanted people to see me in sweatpants, I’d join a Quidditch team." is SO good, and that only makes sense if you know what she's wearing???? Dilemma. Similarly, there are some lovely moments that tell you plenty about Abigail (e.g. " a light spattering of freckles, which could be disastrous on most normal people") in the physical descriptions in this first chapter but has that.....vibe...of....ugh, I can't think of what the vibe is? It's on the tip of my tongue and I just can't get there, it's very frustrating. 

 

I know this is tiny and nitpicky but I'd probably choose either "That'll be £250, please" or "That'll be two hundred and fifty pounds, please"? Mixing and matching them feels....off, but I can't quite describe why, so feel free to disregard that.

 

I love the conversation she has with James, the dialogue is snappy and excellent. 

 

Look, I'm not gonna lie, I definitely dislike Abigail, as you correctly guessed in your endnotes, so mission achieved. I don't think I have heaps more to say about this first chapter, other than I feel like the physical descriptions are....too much? That could very well be because I am allergic to describing things and notoriously never do so, but I'm sure there are people who have made it work without it feeling so...forced? Gosh I'm so sorry, this review sounds super harsh.  I am definitely going to read on, though, because I'm intrigued by the idea of character growth! Abigail becoming a person I potentially do not despise! Full steam ahead!



Author's Response:

Hi!! Thank you, this is seriously so helpful. I agree with your assessment that there's just like way too much concentration on describing physical appearances - when I go in and edit this chapter I want to try to work it all into the story better so that it flows instead of being this giant pause where I take like four paragraphs to describe what people look like.

And with that pounds thing, it's blatantly obvious how long ago I wrote this because it was clearly before I got to college and had AP style drilled into my head for four years straight.

Thanks for reviewing!!



Name: VioletSkies434 (Signed) · Date: 01 Apr 2018 10:46 AM · starstarstarhalf-star [Report This]
Story:Complicated Chapter: Complication #22

omg 

i found you 

i'm going to assume the story is the same so i only read this end chapter so i coul dleave this.

i'm so excited 

update soon!

 

lovely chapter to reread btw 

 

love from me xxx



Author's Response:

yep, the story's basically the same, minus some minor editing! thanks for finding me!!



Submit a Review