Login
Reviews For Stand Tall

Name: Danniclaire (Signed) · Date: 27 Jun 2018 10:40 AM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:Stand Tall Chapter: Chapter 13: He Could be That Boy

I love this story, please keep writing. 



Author's Response:

Don't worry, we still have two more tasks honey!



Name: TheGoldenKneazle (Signed) · Date: 08 Jun 2018 10:10 AM · [Report This]
Story:Stand Tall Chapter: Chapter 2: Eyes Meet

Aww nooo. I felt so bad for Alba with the healing setback! and you portray the physical exertion of it all so well. I liked the weird interaction with Chandra, so much mystery. And loving Benjamin as well as the weird jealousy stuff with James - looking forward to seeing where it goes!



Author's Response:

Haha! Glad to see you're as invested in these character relationships as I am.



Name: TheGoldenKneazle (Signed) · Date: 08 Jun 2018 09:59 AM · [Report This]
Story:Stand Tall Chapter: Chapter 1: Hands Touch

Hola! I am here for Nargles reading (we shall see how far I get ahha) and loving the first chappie. Lovely introduction to Alba - her challenges, pride, vulnerabilities. Your portrayal of CP is fab as well. And I like James, can't wait to see where their development goes! Also - 'stand tall' is a lovely meaningful phrase aww.



Author's Response:

Thank you! I was afraid it was getting too repetative later on, but in the beginning it was quite nice. 



Name: justawillowtree (Signed) · Date: 23 May 2018 01:40 AM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:Stand Tall Chapter: Chapter 13: He Could be That Boy

Okay so I promised you I was going to review this once it was up, and it’s been a few days but I’m here now! I just read through the entire chapter again, and ugh it’s so good. I’m so happy that you’ve picked this up again, and I’m actually really amazed at how flawlessly you write in their voices after so many years! <3

 

First and foremost, BEN KISSED ALBA. WHAT. I mean, I ship these two very much, so I’m so so happy, but I can’t believe it actually happened!! This whole time, I thought Alba was too hung up on James to let someone else into her life, but it turns out that wasn’t the case, and I’m very, very happy. I hope Alba will continue to open herself up to other people other than James, like Ben and Maude, because I am very happy right now and so I have high ambitions for her.

 

Though I want to know…who did Chandra cheat on James with?? Not gonna lie, my first thought was Ben, because he sat there feeling miserable a few chapters ago, didn’t he? But I’m going to be an optimist for once and say that he wouldn’t do that, because he’s not the type of person to do that. Still, though. Chandra cheated on James??? Whaaat.

 

Also I loooved learning more about Vesela! I think it’s very impressive that she’s so capable, and that she managed to win this position with her own merit. Even if she is really terrible to Alba. The fact that even she didn’t seem to know why she was chosen as Companion made me super curious about it. I hope it’ll be revealed soon! I’m very eager to figure out this relationship between the two.

 

And then Alba’s part was my favorite scene of the section, when she was telling Ginny Weasley that there wasn’t any particular reason that she left her hair long other than the fact that she liked it. Because, like, while Ginny’s points about forced femininity in the public make sense to a degree, a lot of times, intersectionality isn’t considered too often in mainstream feminism. So I just really liked getting to see Alba’s take on that, and hearing her voice and opinion.

 

Such a good chapter! Thank you for picking this story up again! <3

 

~Eva



Name: BBHP (Signed) · Date: 22 May 2018 03:32 AM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:Stand Tall Chapter: Chapter 13: He Could be That Boy

Just found this story and read it all in one go. I’m loving it so far! 



Author's Response:

Thank you so much! Keep on checking back for more!



Name: dumbledore_wannabe (Signed) · Date: 21 May 2018 04:03 AM · [Report This]
Story:Stand Tall Chapter: Chapter 13: He Could be That Boy

Oh, I'm so happy you and Alba are back!  And glad she may be giving Ben a chance after all. I like him!  Should be interesting to see what happens with this unintended admission...

 



Author's Response:

We're back! and we will be back again soon!



Name: justawillowtree (Signed) · Date: 15 May 2018 10:50 PM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:Stand Tall Chapter: Chapter 12: I Wasn't Born for the Rose and Pearl

I can’t believe I’m at the most recent chapter omg. This story is charming and moving, and all of your original characters have so much spunk, energy, and personality, and not a single character is one-dimensional, and you are such a talented, talented writer, I don’t think it’s possible for me to not love anything you write. <3

 

I loved the preparations for the Yule Ball here! Alba’s disheartened spirit at the beginning was so saddening because of all the implications that come with it. If no one made such a huge deal gawking at her braces, then she wouldn’t feel so self-conscious that the dress revealed everything underneath her knees. And that’s just so terrible, no one should have to be made to feel bad for wearing something that helps them.

 

I have to be honest, makeovers are my guilty pleasure. I just really like the fun and excitement of makeup and dresses and prettiness, because how often do people get to wear such fancy things, anyway? So I’m so glad that Alba got to experience all that too, because for me prom is coming up and I’m about to go through the same whirlwind of clothes and makeup hahaha.

 

And I am so so happy that Chandra helped Alba out omg. Chandra’s definitely a girl who’d be good at makeup, and I’m just absolutely delighted that she used her skills to help another. Her idea of Disillusioning the braces was so smart, and the fact that she can change shoe-sizes so easily is just amazing imo. People who are fashionably sensible make me envious because they’re so talented haha.

 

The entire Yule Ball made me happy. I’m so glad that you included such a fun chapter amidst the stress of the tournament, because it’s amazing and I love it.

 

Alba…really likes Ben, doesn’t she? Which I can understand. He’s really lovely, Alba. <3

 

Ahhh I can’t believe this is it for now! I’ll be waiting in excitement for your next update, and as soon as it’s up, I’ll definitely come and leave you a review. <3

 

~Eva



Name: justawillowtree (Signed) · Date: 15 May 2018 03:47 AM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:Stand Tall Chapter: Chapter 11: He Loves Her So

YES, ALBA. YOU ARE AMAZING AND I LOVE YOU AND I AM SO PROUD OF YOU.

 

But I’m so disappointed that Dimitri got last place! His explanation for why was rather saddening, and I’m just left trying to figure out still why he has Vesela as his Companion if he can’t stand her. I wonder if we’re going to see a development in their relationship, or if it will remain stagnant this whole time, because I do want him to do well. And I feel like for him to do well, he needs to have Vesela cooperating with him.

 

Also I’m trying to figure out what Chandra did. Was it what she said to Alba? Or was it something significantly worse? WAIT. Was she actually the one who put Alba’s name into the Goblet of Fire, then? If she was, why would she have yelled at Alba like that?

 

Okay. I have a theory. I think that Chandra put Alba’s name into the Goblet of Fire for the same reason that Alba suspected James of doing at first; Chandra didn’t want to participate because she was terrified, so she used Alba’s name because she was positive that the Goblet wouldn’t pick a girl with cerebral palsy as the champion. But then, when it turned out that Alba’s name was picked, she needed to throw people off her trail, so she yelled at Alba and pretended it was her fault for “making James put her name in.” But seriously, if all this is true, then Chandra is really honestly terrible. And I honestly don’t know if I’ve ever met a teenage girl who’s this terrible.

 

I’d like to know more of Dimitri and Vesela! Their enmity sounds so fascinating, I just want to learn more about them.

 

At first I didn’t really appreciate Ben asking himself to the ball for Alba, but then he did offer her a choice, so. Still. Ben, stop being so pushy, and stop guilting her into being your date. It’s not terribly nice.

 

Oh my god and every scene with Nurse Wainscott makes me want to cry. She’s just so kind and so loving that I want to hug her all the time, and I just. So much love to her. <3

 

~Eva



Name: justawillowtree (Signed) · Date: 14 May 2018 05:51 AM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:Stand Tall Chapter: Chapter 10: There's a Girl I Know

Getting to see such a wonderfully characterized Ginny was such a delight in this chapter! My favorite line from the wand-weighing scene (written absolutely beautifully, by the way) is: “Alba smiled, and accepted her wand back gratefully while resisting the urge to stroke it like some pet that behaved well.” I LOVE THIS GIRL SO MUCH.

 

Also I love the scoreboard between Alba and her cerebral palsy, and that her score keeps ticking higher. You go, girl.

 

AND OKAY THAT TRIWIZARD TOURNAMENT WAS THE MOST EXCITING THING EVER. And it was such a clever use of the three chess pieces!! Without a doubt, I’m sure Alba won this first task, because her attention to detail is just amazing, and I am so, so proud of her. James’s strategy worked really well here, and I am proud of him, too. At first when Zhang was describing the task to them, I was feeling the same way as the competitors, like, “…So this is a memory game, essentially?” But then you made it even more exciting, with the various obstacles and difficulties that they had to get through.

 

After this task, they likely won’t underestimate Alba again. Which will likely be both a blessing and a curse.

 

GOOD JOB, ALBA. I HOPE WITH ALL MY HEART YOU WIN THIS THING.

 

~Eva



Name: justawillowtree (Signed) · Date: 14 May 2018 04:49 AM · [Report This]
Story:Stand Tall Chapter: Chapter 9: She Wins Him

AHHH THE TRIWIZARD TOURNAMENT IS STARTING THIS IS SO EXCITING. I can’t wait to read on to the next chapter!!

 

I just really like Ben. I don’t know why. There’s something about his presence that’s incredibly comforting, and I know that Alba treasures her friendship with James more, but every time I see James I just get stressed out hahaha. His questioning about her feelings towards men worried me a little. Like. Okay. He just broke up with Chandra, and he’s trying to figure out if Alba likes another boy? Smells a little fishy to me.

 

That exchange with the judges of the competition was really good. I was stressed out at first that they would force her to stop treatment for the entire time, but at least she can continue taking the potions up until the week of the task. Zhang and Hambledon are really kind-sounding, and I’m very thankful for them. I’m not understanding why Madame Maxime wouldn’t agree. From the books, she’s always seemed to be fairly understanding and wise, so what prompted her nay vote?

 

Also haha Vesela is highly entertaining. I’m so curious about her relationship with Dimitri, like, why are they working together if they dislike each other? Is it because she’s the most qualified, and so they have to set aside personal differences? But also she needs to cut out that nonsense about Alba because it’s getting tiresome. I’m also really curious about the French competitors, but I’m sure we’ll find out more about them in the future.

 

I’M VERY EXCITED ABOUT THIS. You’re amazing at worldbuilding, so I’m so excited to see what type of Triwizard Tournament you’ve set up here! Three chess pieces? Is it going to be like the first Harry Potter book, where they have to face-off with live-sized chess pieces?

 

I’m going straight to the next chapter after this lol, I need to know what happens afterwards. <3

 

~Eva



Name: justawillowtree (Signed) · Date: 14 May 2018 04:30 AM · [Report This]
Story:Stand Tall Chapter: Chapter 8: She's who's Winsome

I can’t tell if James is just pretending not to be the person who put Alba’s name in, or if he’s genuinely indignant on her behalf. THIS IS VERY FRUSTRATING. (In the best way possible, hehe.) I’m pretty sure James didn’t put her name in? And based on Ben’s behavior, I don’t think my guesses last chapter were right, either.

 

Did Chandra do it? Since she’s the only other major character we know. Or Maude? It doesn’t really make too much sense for either of them to do it. Chandra isn’t unkind, necessarily; I doubt she’d risk Alba’s life for the sake of avoiding the Goblet herself. And in any case, she wouldn’t’ve attacked Alba like that afterwards if she’d put Alba’s name in. And Maude doesn’t have any motivation for this. Unless there’s some secret reason for all of this that no one knows about eep!

 

Also, aww, James and Chandra broke up? I hope James feels better soon, though breakups are always hard. :(

 

Have I mentioned before how much I love Nurse Wainscott? [Probably too many times lmao.] The potions worry me a little. It makes sense that they don’t want her to take them – though I don’t really see how the one that numbs the pain gives her any advantages. I can understand the Strengthening Solution being against the rules, though.

 

Hmm was that the only thing wrong with Ben in the previous chapter? I hope so. If that boy pulls out any surprises I’m going to be very upset with him.

 

Hahaha I loved getting to meet the Bulgarian competitor and his Companion! Not gonna lie, I found Vesela to be highly entertaining; her personality was rough and refreshing and I really liked that. Of course, I hate that she felt the need to insult Alba, though. That was pretty awful of her.

 

Ahh this chapter was very well done! <3

 

~Eva



Name: justawillowtree (Signed) · Date: 13 May 2018 04:02 AM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:Stand Tall Chapter: Chapter 7: Blithe Smile, Lithe Limb

Okay I don’t even know how you manage to have such amazing worldbuilding in a world that’s already been built, but you do. I love the development into a House we don’t see much of in the books. Like, I loved that Alba was sourly criticizing the stairs, and the Eagle Knocker, and I also loved that there are these things called House Meetings that no one else knows about.

 

I really appreciated this chapter because it was a really detailed look at Alba’s condition. For everyone who didn’t know much about cerebral palsy going into the story, this chapter definitely would’ve been a good point of explanation. And I really like that you took the time to fully explain everything – because everyone should know at least the basics of cerebral palsy, not everyone does, and it’s not really their fault generally, so this is just a really, really good chapter for that.

 

Now onto the story because WHAT. So if James didn’t do it, then who did? (If James really didn’t put her name into the Goblet of Fire, I’m going to feel terrible because I really uh attacked him quite viciously in my previous reviews.) Ben was looking quite terrible in the Common Room there…was it him? But he’s not even of age, unless he is, and he was just lying to Alba about it? But that doesn’t make sense. Or does it??

 

I DON’T KNOW.

 

Either way, I do approve of her choice of James as Companion. Like even if he did betray her and put her name in the Goblet (and tbh it makes perfect sense that Alba doesn’t believe him when he tries to defend himself against the accusation), he’s still one of the most talented people in the grade. (Okay but if James did just put a blank slip of paper, like he said, he still tricked Chandra into putting her own name, didn’t he?? Which is also pretty terrible. So I’m not quite ready to forgive him just yet, even if he’s innocent of what Alba’s accusing him for.) Though obviously Ben’s going to be quite upset.

 

If Ben somehow found a way through the age loophole and put her name in, did he do it in the hopes that she would pick him as Companion?

 

This story is so thrilling omg I love it so much. <3

 

~Eva



Name: justawillowtree (Signed) · Date: 12 May 2018 05:27 AM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:Stand Tall Chapter: Chapter 6: Wishing Only Wounds the Heart

Can I just say, I love McGonagall? I love canon McGonagall, and I love the way you wrote her here. Her characterization is so accurate, to the point where I think you did McGonagall better than Jo did hahaha.

 

I hate that the students think that she’ll be the laughingstock of the school. I mean, the Goblet literally just proved to them all that she was one of the worthiest champions from the Hogwarts options. Even James had no faith in her, but the Goblet clearly does.

 

Ugh. I’m not really at the point of disliking Chandra herself just yet, but I honestly hate what she said to Alba. James is his own person with his own choices, and he was the one who chose the traitorous, cowardly route, not Alba. For Chandra to try to shift the blame onto Alba’s shoulders is such a horrible thing to do, especially since she knows that Alba didn’t want to be a part of the tournament in the first place.

 

I also wanted to say that this line – “The forgotten nooks and crannies with their oddly shaped corners and sagging wallpaper were just as peaceful as an ocean breeze, or a spring meadow.” – melted my heart. It’s so beautiful. I love reading your stories for these beautiful lines you put in.

 

Having Professor McGonagall’s quiet, solid support must be an amazing feeling. I’m so proud of Alba right now. I hope she’ll choose Nurse Wainscott as her Guide, though I have a feeling she’ll go with Professor Pimbly instead. And I wonder who she’ll pick for her Companion? I really, really hope it’s either Ben or Maude, but I have a feeling it might end up being James or Chandra. (Probably not Chandra. They parted on bad terms. I just think Chandra might be a good Companion haha.)

 

Beautiful chapter! <3

 

~Eva



Name: justawillowtree (Signed) · Date: 12 May 2018 04:51 AM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:Stand Tall Chapter: Chapter 5: Don’t Wish, Don’t Start

I AM SO FURIOUS AT JAMES RIGHT NOW, IT IS TAKING EVERY OUNCE OF MY ENERGY NOT TO SWEAR IN THIS REVIEW. What is wrong with him? Oh my god, okay. I’m just going to go and list everything he did wrong as a form of catharsis because I am so, so stressed for Alba’s sake right now, and I kinda hate James at the moment lmao. (1) James broke his promise to Chandra. (2) Which resulted in her entering a competition she really didn’t want to because he refused to uphold his end of the deal. (3) Okay all this technically still falls under the first point, but I hate that he knows Chandra has OCD and gets freaked out by water, mud, etc. and he still did this to her. (4) He put Alba’s name in. (5) Probably because he just assumed that because of her disability, he was safe from consequences, and no one would ever catch him. (6) HE PUT ALBA’S NAME IN, WHEN SHE WAS SO WORRIED ABOUT HIM JOINING THE COMPETITION.

 

At this point, the only point of redemption I can see for James is if he wasn’t actually the person who put Alba’s name in, and she’s just pointing the blame the wrong way. But honestly, I’m pretty confident that Alba’s right. Ugh this is so terrible of James. He knew that she hated the concept of the competition, and that though the castle was pretty and magical and all nicely decorated, she still hated the idea that a student could die. And he still risked her life to save his own? What in the world, James??

 

I feel so terrible that I just spent two paragraphs ranting about James, so I’m just going to talk about something slightly happier really quickly. Ben Honeypucker and Maude. These two are the angels in Alba’s life, in my opinion, and I would give anything to be able to meet people like them in real life. (Also, I wholeheartedly support Alba’s growing attraction to Ben. It’s better than her attraction to James, who has a girlfriend. Not to mention, Ben just really seems like a quality person.) And Maude is just so sweet and caring and understanding, and I love her so much.

 

Anyway I do really ship Alba and Ben (and I’m completely sorry if this totally wasn’t your intention, as I have a feeling Alba/James is endgame), but I think you write their interactions just beautifully.

 

I also really really loved the changes to the rules you made for the Triwizard Tournament! It makes so much more sense now, and covers a lot of the plotholes left in the Goblet of Fire. It also puts the students’ safety at a higher priority, which I really don’t understand why the school wasn’t doing earlier haha. But anyway, the new rules were fabulous, and I really enjoyed learning about how the Triwizard Tournament changed over the years.

 

Beautiful, amazing, stunning chapter. I wonder how Alba’s going to take this new information about the Triwizard Tournament? I’ll definitely be rooting for her. <3

 

~Eva



Name: justawillowtree (Signed) · Date: 11 May 2018 01:58 AM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:Stand Tall Chapter: Chapter 4: Sudden Heat

OHH CHANDRA HAS OCD. No wonder why James wasn’t angrier with her that day by the carriages. No wonder why Chandra apologized so quickly. And that entire conversation by the Great Hall makes so much more sense too – wow. I feel terrible for being so harsh with her in the beginning.

 

In other news, I’m glad that Alba’s leg is recovering, and that the weather outside is lovely and beautiful. Her conversation with Nurse Wainscott actually made me realize that kids breaking their wands was probably more common than the original series made it out to be. I wonder how they deal with it lmao. Someone should probably open a wand-fixing business, they’d probably earn a great deal of revenue. ALSO I totally agree with Nurse Wainscott that Alba should try a fancy design or something with her hair for the Yule Ball. [Can you tell I have no knowledge about these sorts of things haha]

 

(Your descriptions for the preparations for the Yule Ball are beautiful <3)

 

Also I really loved that seafood soup bit hahaha. As an avid lover of seafood-related things, especially in soups, I must say I’m very disappointed in both Alba and Chandra. I mean, how dare Alba say that the Potter boys have terrible taste? She’s the one with terrible taste. CRAB IS DELICIOUS, OKAY.

 

I wonder if we’ll get to meet the Durmstrang kids! Like meet-meet. Will Alba get to talk to them? I want to know what the girl and the boy are disagreeing on lol.

 

I love Nurse Wainscott. <3

 

Oooh what’s James taking her to??

 

Loved this chapter, as always. Sorry for the shorter review, I’m feeling a little tired right now ;___;

 

~Eva



Name: justawillowtree (Signed) · Date: 10 May 2018 07:06 PM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:Stand Tall Chapter: Chapter 3: Sudden Silence

Oh my goodness Alba is a beautiful soul with a beautiful mind. She wants to be a Healer? I’ll be rooting for her. <3

 

(Going back to the beginning of the chapter really quick. [I should really just review in order tbh.] I like Maude very much. Though I wonder what it is about the other girls in her year that makes Alba dislike them so much? How many people does Alba dislike haha. Also I love that Alba conquered the stairs, and that she keeps score in her head.)

 

I wonder, is Alba going to enter her name into the Goblet of Fire??? This chapter seemed to hint at that a little bit, and if she does, I’m so excited! But then again, Professor Pimbly did say that students taking a lot of NEWTs really shouldn’t enter the competition, so I don’t know what Alba’s going to end up doing. Maybe she’ll put her name in for the heck of it, and then the Goblet will choose her? She doesn’t seem terribly confident about that right now, though.

 

JAMES, BACK OFF. BEN HONEYPUCKER IS TEN TIMES MORE ADORABLE THAN YOU. DEAL WITH IT. (Though I did appreciate his clarification on why he had been so worried about Alba, and that he likely would’ve done the same thing for Albus.) STILL. JAMES. IF YOU WANT TO DATE ALBA SO BADLY THEN BREAK UP WITH CHANDRA. (Except don’t like, hurt Chandra excessively because it seems to me that James has already said/done a few things that made Chandra lose a bit of confidence. Though maybe I’m reading too much into it.)

 

Normally I’m suspicious of boys who ask girls out too many times, but as long as Alba doesn’t mind, then I don’t mind. And Ben seems to be a quality boy at the end of the day, so I like him. Though I hope he takes into consideration what Alba says, that it’s not that she’s afraid, and that she’s not the person for a guy like him.

 

THIS GIRL SET A DEVIL’S SNARE ON FIRE I’M CRYING. I love her spunk. The entire time she was grouching about Herbology, I was smiling so hard. Even though Herbology makes her miserable (sorry Alba) I just loved reading her thoughts on it because she’s just so funny alksjd.

 

Also I love Nurse Wainscott. It almost escaped me that she was an OC, but she is, isn’t she? And she’s amazing. You wrote her beautifully.

 

Okay this entire exchange between Chandra and James confused me so much. What’s going on? Why is Chandra so insistent that James join? It sounds a little like she has a personal stake in the matter. And what happened to her sisters that it’s affecting her personal decision about joining so much? I NEED TO KNOW.

 

I have a bad feeling that Alba’s right and that James is going to get seriously hurt.

 

Another wonderful chapter!! <3

 

~Eva



Name: justawillowtree (Signed) · Date: 10 May 2018 06:45 PM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:Stand Tall Chapter: Chapter 2: Eyes Meet

*gasp* I should’ve known she’d be in Ravenclaw! She’s so smart! (Unless you mentioned this in the previous chapter, and I just wasn’t paying close enough attention haha.) I thought she was in Gryffindor with James this whole time, but Ravenclaw suits her better.

 

Your description of how Alba felt when she walked through the giant oak doors made me more envious than ever of all Hogwarts students, because um excuse me where is my letter. Anyway, haha your descriptions are so beautiful and adds the perfect extra flavor and pacing to this story, and I love them.

 

I’m feeling conflicted about James right now. On the one hand, he clearly really cares about Alba, which is why he told her Head of House about her injury. And with the pain medication that Alba’s been taking, who knows what would’ve happened if she just healed it quickly on her own and left it alone for too long? On the other hand, she obviously really didn’t want to leave the dinner early, and being made to do it hurt her pride. I think striking a balance between what Alba wants and what people who care for her want is obviously the most important thing, but it’s difficult.

 

(Very off-topic but I love that Alba refers to the little first years as “little things” lmao. But so true. Eleven-year-olds are tiny oh my goodness.)

 

I really liked the way you wrote the scene in the Hospital Wing. This line – “Examine the skin. Examine the muscle. Examine the wound. Forget the girl.” – is so memorable and powerful. And the analysis of how much her pain levels changed after just this one wound really shows how tedious a process this can be.

 

Ohh. I think I understand Chandra a little more now. Okay but now I’m even more conflicted about James, because if he likes Alba so much (also from the way he appeared to be jealous at the end of the chapter) then why is he dating Chandra? Why is he making Chandra look so sad? Also Alba, please don’t dislike Chandra so much for being James’s “lovely lady,” it’s not really something you should dislike someone for.

 

BENJAMIN HONEYPUCKER IS NOT ONLY AN ADORABLE NAME BUT IS ALSO AN ADORABLE HUMAN BEING AND I LIKE HIM VERY MUCH.

 

Also I would like for James to stop being jealous kthx. You have a girlfriend, mate.

 

SUCH A GOOD CHAPTER I’M CRYING THIS STORY IS SO GOOD HOW ARE YOU SO CONSISTENTLY AMAZING.

 

~Eva



Name: justawillowtree (Signed) · Date: 10 May 2018 06:21 PM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:Stand Tall Chapter: Chapter 1: Hands Touch

Hi hi hi! I’m here to review this absolutely stunning Story of the Month winner (congratulations, by the way! I can’t imagine a story more deserving than this one).

 

It’s only the first chapter and I’m already in love. In love with Alba, in love with James, in love with your writing, in love with it all. This story is going to be a huge punch in the gut, I can feel it, especially because it definitely makes you consider the social standards we have in our world and how damaging they can be. Like just the opening, when Alba was eleven, made me question myself. Because would I have been like James? Or would I have been like Harry and Ginny?

 

Which is why this sort of representation is so, so important. I think the world is making some progress in terms of racial representation and LGBTQA+ representation (obviously it’s not at all perfect, and in some instances are moving backwards, but there’s a collective awareness about it), but there’s still not enough representation for people with disabilities. The fact that this is perhaps the first story I’ve seen centered around a girl with cerebral palsy, in both published works and fanfiction, says a lot, and I really love that you chose to write about Alba.

 

(Also, she’s so funny?? I can’t get enough of her omg.)

 

Anyway I’m wondering a lot about Chandra right now. Why is James dating her, if she’s so blatantly awful? When she was rude to Alba, I was honestly so surprised that James didn’t say anything about it, because Chandra just insulted one of his best friends. I wonder if this has been an ongoing conflict, or if this is the first time James has seen it. And I have a feeling that this is going to be cause more problems down the road. Still, it makes me wonder why James, who clearly adores Alba, is letting Chandra be so rude. Maybe she’s rude to everybody, and he just finds it charming?

 

I laughed a lot when Alba just cleaned herself off with her wand though lmao. Smart girl.

 

ONTO THE NEXT CHAPTER.

 

(Beautiful story, by the way. ‘Stand tall’ already has so much meaning as a phrase, and I love that you have it as your story title. <3)

 

~Eva



Author's Response:

I knew it had some heavy themes, but I didn't mean to make you question yourself in the introduction! 

That my friend, is pretty much the point. =D

Thank you so much for deciding to tackle all of this, I know that it's quite a bit. 



Name: Rumpelstiltskin (Signed) · Date: 09 May 2018 05:08 PM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:Stand Tall Chapter: Chapter 12: I Wasn't Born for the Rose and Pearl

Hey! (Just your friendly neighborhood Rumpel popping in to say hello!)


There is SO MUCH about this, I don't even really know where to begin. First of all, writing a character with a disability like Cerebral Palsy must have been a tremendous challenge for you but you did a truly amazing job with it (so be extremely proud of your work, as it is wonderfully unique, surprisingly charming, and fabulously heartwarming (with those dreadful moments of heartbreak that make the positive shine so much more brightly).

 

Alba is...everything. Her humor, her sass, her heart and spirit are just so wonderfully perfect and it makes it all more heartwrenching that someone as beautiful a person as she is has to suffer from a disability. She's quirky and fun and I simply cannot get enough of her -- she's an absolute delight. It's amazing to watch Alba tackle the challenges she faces (including the stairs) while she's attempting to live her teenage life. Her triumphs and setbacks were heart-wrenchingly realistic and I couldn't help but be swept up and taken along for the ride. 

 

The character interactions are TO DIE FOR. Whether it was between the friends and the...not-so-friends... every interaction left me waiting with baited breath to see what was going to happen next (because if James didn't put her name in, then who did, haha!). Which brings us directly to, the Triwizard Tournament. My head nearly spun completely off trying to figure out how she and James were going to deal with it, especially when I was almost certain that she wasn't going to be able to continue her regimen for the duration of the Tournament.

 

And, thus, I am anxiously awaiting what comes next for Alba. Anxiously excited and anxiously terrified. You've done an absolutely marvelous job with this and you should be extremely proud of your work. 

 

I really hope that yelling at your characters will make them compliant so that you'll be able to update soon! 

 

-Rumpels 



Author's Response:

Thank you so much! It certainly was a tackle writting this, but with all the lovely reviews, recognition, and astounding interest in CP and Alba and everything, it's definitely been more rewarding that I could've hoped. 

I am so glad to hear that Alba and everyone jump out and off the screen for you as much as they do for me. Because, they are like uncompliant teenagers sometimes. 

Haha! Some people call me dramatic, but then my lines get quoted in reviews! hahaha!

Thank you very much. Hopefully the next 2/3rds of Stand Tall will come in a more predictable fashion. 


Name: dumbledore_wannabe (Signed) · Date: 08 Apr 2018 04:10 PM · [Report This]
Story:Stand Tall Chapter: Chapter 12: I Wasn't Born for the Rose and Pearl

I'm so happy to be able to follow Stand Tall on this site!  Thanks so much for letting me know where to find you.  :)    And, now I know why Alba is waiting in the wings - you have been crazy busy!  I'm glad that you are planning to come back to this story, and I will wait patiently for your next update.  In the meantime, I may have to re-re-re-read the first twelve chapters!  Thank you for creating Alba and her world.



Author's Response:

I’m glad you found it! 



Name: victoria_anne (Signed) · Date: 05 Apr 2018 11:44 PM · [Report This]
Story:Stand Tall Chapter: Chapter 1: Hands Touch

I saw on the forums that you'd finished transferring what you had of this story so I thought I'd come check it out!

This is a really interesting concept for a story and I'm so intrigued. (And the STAIRS! Poor Alba! You'd think magic would be able to help somehow - maybe she can zoom up bannisters like Mary Poppins?) I can already see she's a strong character, and I'm excited to begin this journey with her.

I love this: His perfect hand was warm in hers, unlike the cool metal bar of the crutch. The support of another human being can't compare to the support of a crutch. The whole interaction with James is very sweet! I like how we see the Potters straight away.

Also this must be the first story I've ever read where James isn't on a Quidditch team :P I love the easy banter between Alba and James. Their dialogue comes naturally and believably. I'm really excited to see what happens with the Triwizard Tournament too. This is fantastic, I'm really enjoying this story!!!



Author's Response:

I’m glad you like it! I really wanted to characters to be down to earth and relatable. 



Name: Stella Blue (Signed) · Date: 30 Mar 2018 08:11 PM · [Report This]
Story:Stand Tall Chapter: Chapter 3: Sudden Silence

*Transferred*

 

For our review swap!

I am so glad this reminded me to come back to this story as I really loved reading the first two chapters.

I still feel terrible for Alba every time I remember that she has to go up and down all these absurdly tall tower stairs to get to and from the Ravenclaw common room/dormitories. Come on Hogwarts, it's the twenty first century and I think they should work on accessibility. Like what if there were a student who didn't have the use of their legs at all? As is, there's only one way to get into those tall towers and that's stairs. Gah! /rant.

A single thread in a tapestry cannot know it’s worth, -- ooh, I love that!

I can also instantly relate to Alba as 'the cat lady'. We gotta stand together, us cat ladies. Ben does seem really sweet though! I hope she gives him a chance.

Ah, I love that Alba wants to be a healer. Given her background and her personality it's a perfect fit - then she can help others stand tall. :)

I like Maude, even though Alba seems convinced they're not friends past academic acquaintances, Maude does seem to genuinely like her and it's nice to see Alba having friends.

just a note, you say Alba is studying for Astrology, but I believe the one you're talking about here is Astronomy. (which is the study of the stars and planets, versus Astrology which is like how sun signs affect people's personality)

I liked that we got a bit more info about Chandra at the end of this chapter (even though Alba was eavesdropping... tsk tsk! :P ) and their discussion about the Triwizard cup. Also.. ahh! the Triwizard tournament is returning! Well that should be interesting.

Can't wait to find out what James is up to, because he's obviously up to something haha. Awesome chapter and thanks for the swap!



Name: Stella Blue (Signed) · Date: 30 Mar 2018 08:05 PM · [Report This]
Story:Stand Tall Chapter: Chapter 2: Eyes Meet

*Transferred*

 

Hello :) I read the first chapter of this a few weeks ago, so now I'm back for another chapter!

This was just as good as your first chapter! I felt so badly for Alba in the beginning - of course James is just trying to do what's right, and Alba does need help for her leg, but poor thing to have to regress so far with her treatment. :( Her analysis of feeling like a number/a list of injuries instead of a person was really moving, too.

I loved the feast though, particularly the fact that Hagrid is still there, along with Grawp! Haahaha I can't even imagine Grawp 20 years later, like does he actually talk to people now, or just grunt and say 'Hermy'? haha /tangent

I'm also impressed with your writing of Chandra so far. I was really hoping she wouldn't be so one-dimensional as she appeared in the first chapter, so it was really nice to see that she does indeed have redeeming qualities - she might speak before she thinks sometimes (like in the first chapter) but she does care. A much more complex character that way ;)

The scene with Ben and Alba: adorable. Loved it so much. And ooh, James is jealous ;) Sidenote, what is he doing at the top of Ravenclaw tower with desserts? he went all the way up there just to see Alba? aw, that's cute.

Great chapter!



Name: Stella Blue (Signed) · Date: 30 Mar 2018 08:03 PM · [Report This]
Story:Stand Tall Chapter: Chapter 1: Hands Touch

Hey, welcome to HPFT! It's great to see you and this story showing up here! (I was marauderfan on the old site). I'm transferring a few reviews over to this story's new home ;)

 

Sorry about the delay! Omg your review for me was amazing, thank you. I hope mine will be that good (but, really, I just ramble a lot in my reviews, so sorry in advance)

Oh wow I love this already, from the very beginning description of Alba's disability. (Ps - there are so many staircases at Hogwarts, how on earth is that disability-accessible? I hope for her sake that she is either a Puff or a Slytherin because seriously the amount of stairs to the towers would be so cruel.)

Aw, and that's so true about kids versus adults. Kids are just curious and ask uncomfortable questions because they're curious, they don't know they're rude. Adults try to pretend they don't see. Alba's perspective is so refreshing here - I haven't seen another character like her in fanfiction like ever. And I think you treat the condition with a lot of care and respect - I feel like you either did your research very well or have some knowledge of it.

Bahahaa I love the idea of James showing of his prefect/head boy badge like Percy haha. Not the mischief maker but the arrogant goody two shoes, I kind of love your interpretation of James :D

Oh wait. Alba is the woman behind the curtain pulling all the strings, haha - James is a mischief maker and still made Head Boy. Alba must have had a hard time of it!

Eeep she is in Ravenclaw. Poor thing. Isn't that the tallest tower? O_o You'd think Hogwarts would have installed elevators. What would be really cool is elevators like the one in the book Charlie and the Chocolate Factory, you know the elevator that can go up and down and sideways. It'd fit right in at Hogwarts.

Ooh, Alba is so sassy to Chandra :p When you were describing Chandra before, she sounded fine, but when we actually meet her there in the carriage she didn't impress me. I hope the comment Chandra made about her being disgusting was about the mud and not some insult about her disability - that'd be the lowest of the low and I would hate her. I am already not a big fan of her. Alba is way cooler.

Awesome start to this story and I will definitely be reading more!!



Submit a Review