Login

Name: Pixileanin (Signed) · Date: 17 May 2018 06:23 PM · [Report This]
Story:The Possibility of After Chapter: Tree Parents

Hi again!  We’re on chapter three, and it’s just as heavy and real as the last two chapters.  Maybe it’s even more real, because Fabian is making progress, and Amelia is still going through the motions.  Maybe it’s because Fabian has a life, and Amelia is still floundering. I really wish that she had something to occupy her time with other than grieving.  Processing loss is hard enough when you have nothing else to do BUT process the loss. It’s like you can’t even, because it’s so overwhelming. The normalcy keeps people grounded, but I don’t see any normalcy for Amelia.  


I’m hoping that Fabian at least has a job, and he’s simply not communicating with her about things.  He still seems like a good guy here, and I’m hoping for the best.


That last line.  It really put everything into perspective and was a great way to cap off the chapter.  I’m looking forward to how you explore further into the story and these characters!

 

Pix



Name: ShadowRose (Signed) · Date: 17 May 2018 06:19 PM · [Report This]
Story:The Possibility of After Chapter: Tree Parents

Back for review tag!!

 

Okay, I've said this in a number of reviews before, but Gina I swear you have such a way with writing intense emotions and I love it so much. There's so much intensity in Amelia and Fabian's interactions in the aftermath of the argument at the end of the last chapter, and you capture it all so beautifully. I'm also, like, really in love with this line: "Amelia guessed that hangovers were a part of Fabian's routine, now, woven unwillingly into his life, like the loss and the grief and the ache of being left behind..." um, wow.

 

I also just really enjoyed the tree thing? (Also the tree parents thing being a bit of foreshadowing) It was a great way to show Fabian's softer side, because in the midst of all the other heavier emotions and grief from the war, it's something nice and light, even if Fabian does immediately disappear afterwards.

 

Anyways, another really lovely chapter and I can't wait for more!!

 

-Taylor



Name: ShadowRose (Signed) · Date: 11 May 2018 03:35 PM · [Report This]
Story:The Possibility of After Chapter: Tandem Grief

I’m back for Gryffie review tag! I really love how you somehow manage to simultaneously capture the feelings of grief and the slight development of romance at the start of this chapter. Amelia’s grappling with the fact that she has to go to a funeral and the fact that she’s just had a one-night-stand all in one - and your combination of her getting ready for her brother’s funeral as she reflects on moments from the previous night fits that perfectly.

 

At first, it seemed a bit odd that she’d want to move in with Fabian so suddenly, but her explanation for her motivations is honestly beautiful - “because you know what it’s like to think of Edgar and wish you’d died instead.” It’s just so much of the pain of the first wizarding war wrapped up into one quote.

 

And Fabian’s drunken yelling about grief is just... perfect, in a weird sort of way. As in, you capture a very real perspective in a great way. Even though he’s a bit aggressive about it, I totally get where he’s coming from in his anger about the way that grief can sometimes be glamourised and put up for show, when it’s often something more private for certain people. 

 

p.p1 {margin: 0.0px 0.0px 0.0px 0.0px; font: 12.0px 'Helvetica Neue'; color: #454545} p.p2 {margin: 0.0px 0.0px 0.0px 0.0px; font: 12.0px 'Helvetica Neue'; color: #454545; min-height: 14.0px}

Another really lovely and emotionally charged chapter!! <3

 

-Taylor



Name: Pixileanin (Signed) · Date: 10 May 2018 08:22 PM · [Report This]
Story:The Possibility of After Chapter: Tandem Grief

 

You wrote the morning so well.  It was so respectful of Fabian to give her some space.   The chapter title for this was perfect, by the way.

 

The bit about the button was a fantastic way to show how Amelia was feeling without saying that she was feeling anything. This type of characterization always gets to me so much more than the blatant "see what I'm feeling?" thing.  It's subtle, and I'm a big fan of subtlety.

 

Ah, but Michael says the thing that should have been thought about YESTERDAY, oh gosh.  I know it's the premise of the story, but by golly, I feel like I have to slap someone silly about it.  I love that Michael loves his sister and supports her no matter what, and I'm glad he said it, even though it's a bit late.  Good on him.

 

I also appreciate how the two of them are handling their grief differently.  Ameila's so quiet and withdrawn, and Fabian isn't. I hope the support group at least gets to see Amelia.  It would do her a world of good, and even though I don't know what's going to happen next, it'd be nice if Fabian does remember the conversation in the morning and goes with her.  He needs it more than she does, apparently.

 

This leads me to speculate, which I do with stories that I like.  Are the two of them going to still have a connection beyond the grief, or will it end there?  Will Amelia pull herself together before he does, and will she help him get himself together, or will she give him space?  So many possibilities...

 

I do love the apology.  It means he's not fully gone. Yet.

 

Your writing is still stellar here.  Great chapter!

 

Pix

 



Name: Pixileanin (Signed) · Date: 08 May 2018 07:44 PM · [Report This]
Story:The Possibility of After Chapter: The Viewing

 

"You were doing the backstroke at my brother's funeral."

 

Wow.  That's a line I never thought I'd read.    This is a great introduction to a fantastic cast of characters.  I have a feeling you have a load of ideas that you're going to weave into a fascinating tale!  Oh, but this is going way too fast, and the grief has overtaken everything and pulled things out of shape and twisted things.  

 

I think I know where this is heading, and I'm ready to hold on to the bumpy ride along with you.   You write these characters' sense of loss so vividly. I like how Amelia and Fabian are telling each other that they don't get to be the only ones who are hurting, and so they do it together.  Probably not in the best way, but I'm sure it felt right at the time.

 

Your sense of style here is really great.  The words just roll along and keep me engaged in what they're describing. I love how the descriptions propel us from one moment to the next, instead of sometimes, you know when there's too much to look at and it holds you back?  You didn't do that here. It was so smooth. Excellent flow!

 

I'm hoping, here at the end of chapter one, that we get to keep Fabian around for a while.  The way you portrayed him fascinates me, and I want to get to know him better. Amelia seems so lost without her oldest brother around.  I'm definitely intrigued by this first chapter.

 

Pix

 



Name: adorably cute (Signed) · Date: 08 May 2018 02:43 AM · [Report This]
Story:The Possibility of After Chapter: Tree Parents

Here for Gryffie Review Tag and so happy I am! I love this cast of characters! They're such a unique bunch that I feel like we don't get to explore much and I'm really glad you are! You've done such a great job with them. I love how well you've written Amelia and Fabien and I can't wait to see where you go with  them.

 

I think you've done a great job of portraying their grief, especially during the war when life has to go on. But I think you've done a great job contrasting how they're both attempting to move on with their grief. 

 

The last line of this third chapter was really great and really resonated with me and I just wanted to kind of point it out because even though it's kind of morbid, I loved it, because it's perfect! I'm super excited to see where you take this!



Name: justawillowtree (Signed) · Date: 07 May 2018 12:20 AM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:The Possibility of After Chapter: Tree Parents

Is this the newly updated chapter? Congrats! I’m so happy that you’re writing again; I really enjoyed “Constellations” and I’ve loved reading and reviewing this, so here’s to many many more updates in the future! <3

 

I just want to say how much I love the way you talk about grief through Amelia’s perspective, and the way you contrast it with Fabian’s grief. It’s painful seeing these two in this much pain, but that’s just a testament to your writing and how beautiful it is. I really don’t want Fabian to do anything more rash and stupid, because after getting drunk, and then disappearing for four days, I kind of worry about Amelia tbh. But he does help her, too, like with the planting of the tree (which was such a breathtaking scene omg). So I’m still conflicted haha. But I love that you wrote such a complex character, it’s really amazing.

 

I hope that the grief counseling sessions will help both Fabian and Amelia. I also hope that Amelia’s fainting spell wasn’t because of anything other than hunger. Oh goodness I’m so worried for these two, I’m really sad that this is the most recent chapter because I really really want to know what comes next hehe.

 

Thank you for writing something so lovely! <3

 

~Eva



Name: ShadowRose (Signed) · Date: 06 May 2018 10:11 PM · [Report This]
Story:The Possibility of After Chapter: The Viewing

Here for the review tag!! This is a really interesting premise for a story - an unintended pregnancy in the midst of the first wizarding war. I think you do a wonderful job setting the scene here and introducing the characters. The funeral setting creates a lot of raw emotion, and it's so evident in the way that you write it.

 

I particularly like how you've done the dialogue: people stumbling over words, unable to get others out, saying sentences in fragments - there's so much meaning in not only what people say, but also how they say it, and the way that you do the dialogue here really captures that.

 

I know this is an Amelia-based story, but I really love your characterization of Fabian. From introducing him while he's swimming in the pond in the midst of a funeral to the conversation between him and Amelia at the end, you really get a sense of just how much the war is impacting him emotionally.

 

Anyways, this was such a good start to this story and I can't wait to read more of it!

 

-Taylor



Name: justawillowtree (Signed) · Date: 06 May 2018 07:44 PM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:The Possibility of After Chapter: Tandem Grief

Hi, I’m back! (This isn’t a part of the review swap, I just wanted to keep reading so here I am haha.)

 

After having read the chapter I’m so conflicted about Fabian. At the beginning I was like “I AM SO GLAD I WAS WRONG AND THAT THESE TWO ARE GOING TO STAY TOGETHER” but then by the end I was like “Um?? Fabian??? Please stop being so rude, you’re making me nervous.”

 

I should probably talk about the chapter in chronological order otherwise I’m going to confuse myself.

 

Amelia and Fabian really seem to understand each other. Everything they do at the beginning (the discussion of her patronus, him singing to himself, the knowledge about Edgar’s favorite tea, the understanding of grief, the fiddling with her button) just always meshes well together, and I think that it’s really important for the two of them at this moment. I felt really relieved that our beautiful Amelia had someone she could share her grief with, or at least where her grief would feel less like a burden, and so I really, really cheered for her when she was defending her choice against Michael.

 

(Though I do understand where Michael is coming from. As an older sibling myself, I probably wouldn’t want my younger sisters making seemingly rash decisions while grieving. His “use protection” statement was really funny to me hahaha.)

 

Then the silence between Amelia and Fabian made me a little nervous at first, but when I thought about it, it made sense that they wouldn’t want to talk much. Though I do also wonder, like Amelia, why Fabian isn’t singing anymore. That makes me properly nervous. I hope he’s okay. I hope she’s okay. And then when she’s waiting for him to come home, and he comes home drunk and angry, I was just really, really worried. And I’m glad that he apologized, because apologies are few and far between sometimes, but still.

 

What a good chapter though!!

 

(ONCE AGAIN I WOULD LIKE TO COMPLIMENT YOUR WRITING. IT IS BEAUTIFUL. I LOVE IT VERY MUCH.)

 

~Eva



Name: Crimson Quill (Signed) · Date: 06 May 2018 01:20 PM · [Report This]
Story:The Possibility of After Chapter: The Viewing

 

Hi Gina,

 

I saw that you had updated this story via the forums so I thought I would come and check it out. I'm doing some reading/reviewing for PoGs and I've never had the pleasure of reading anything of yours up until now.

 

I'm so impressed by your writing, you only have three chapters but after reading the first chapter I decided that I must read the others straight away. it's been a while since I've done that. I thought you painted such vivid images with your words, it really draw me into the story. The way you use your imagery in the beginning the story has such a powerful effect on me as a reader because I really felt that raw pain that Amelia is feeling. 

 

One of things which this story does so well is exploring the emotions of grief. You don't shy around from fleshing out those truly emotional reactions from all of the characters but especially Amelia. These feelings aren't pretty and you don't write them like they're beautiful but they are horrible and ugly but you capture how realistic and gritty they are which makes this so addictive. I think the moment in this chapter when she says "You don't get a break. From feeling like it should've been you." is particularly stands out and highlights what I'm talking about in this section. 

 

I'm really interested to see where this going because I have an idea via your blurb/bio which got me clicking on the story straight away but I know you'll do this idea justice as a emotional and compelling must-read story. you have yourself a new fan and I hope you continue with this story :)

 

- Abbi xo 

 



Name: justawillowtree (Signed) · Date: 06 May 2018 01:03 PM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:The Possibility of After Chapter: The Viewing

Hi! Here for the swap <3

 

Ohmygod I have so many thoughts on this but first I wanted to say that you should go to the forums and request an Amelia Bones/Fabian Prewett tag! That way your story could be tagged adequately. I always, always love rarepairs, so I was excited at the prospect of an “Unlisted Pairing” but it’d also be good to have a more detailed tag for these two.

 

Okay okay okay but I love your descriptive style so much. The opening section, before we get into the dialogue (though your dialogue is on an entirely different level as well) is so beautiful. You capture the depth of Amelia’s emotions while explaining the current situation, all without overwhelming the reader with exposition. (And I think you gave an excellent voice to Amelia, who’s a character that none of us really know much about. After reading this first chapter alone, I care so much about her already.)

 

And I love the two brothers! Their characterizations are absolutely perfect – they’re funny and quirky and have a great relationship (though obviously they’re tense at times) and I love the way you write them. I’ve so often seen them written as twins that it was a surprise (but a nice one!) to see them established as Gideon being older than Fabian. AND I LOVE FABIAN/AMELIA. Even though they’re both likely clinging to each other through their grief, I think they have a really interesting dynamic. I have a feeling they’re not going to last, and I’m sure that they’ll have a one-night stand and then part each other (though I do hope I’m wrong), but I do like the idea of the two together.

 

I’m also assuming that Amelia gets pregnant after this chapter?

 

But I also just wanted to mention really quickly that I love the way you have these two talk about grief. It’s very real, and it brings the war to the forefront, and I just really, really like it.

 

This story is really good, so I’m definitely going to be checking out the other chapters as soon as possible!

 

~Eva



Submit a Review