Reviews For Love in Three Acts


Name: Felpata_Lupin (Signed) · Date: 29 Dec 2019 10:03 AM · For: Chapter 1

Rose! :)

I'm here for your wishlist! Happy holidays, dear! <3

Since I'm caught up with Lighting Love (when are you giving me more? I need to know what'll happen to Joao and everyone else!) I thought I'd check out this story that I've had my eyes on for a while anyway...

And I'm so excited about it now!!! That kiss... aww... I'm just so full of warm fuzzies now!!! <3 <3 <3 I wish everything would stay just as happy as it is now, but of course I know it won't... but I'll pretend I don't know what awaits them, alright? ;)

You write brilliant marauders! Their shenanigans are so much fun to read about! I loved the opening line, about not agreeing to James' ideas before breakfast... I bet those would get wild! :P And poor Mr and Mrs Potter... but they are so lovely and they probably find the kids amusing, if a bit frustrating, don't they? :P

It was lovely to see Remus and Sirius noticing each other in slightly different ways... typical Remus, feeling so uncertain and self-conscious... he's adorable! The bit about the water dog was just great, too! (Side note: only those four would start a water fight inside a cemetery... but that's why I love them, I guess...)

I'm sure there's so much more I should comment on, but just... this was so delightful! You write Marauders so well and I really, really loved how you're building Sirius and Remus' relationship here! It's just delightful! <3

I'll hopefully be back soon!

Snowball hug and happy holidays again!

Chiara



Name: Phoenix Potioneer (Signed) · Date: 17 Jul 2019 02:47 AM · For: Chapter 1

Ah, the Brits. Don't interact with James before the "morning tea". The exact same phrase is used in America except, of course, it's about coffee instead of tea.

 

Aw, Marauders bonding time in London! I always love the little insights on what the Marauders were up to when they weren't at Hogwarts or weren't concerned with fighting dark wizards.

 

THE AWKWARD LEG TOUCHING I am here for this. Too adorable little gays with brushing legs. That's an adorably awkward thing to do as a teenager.

 

Aw water duel? Amazing! Were they inspired by muggle water guns, I wonder? That is truly fantastic and is something I never would have thought to do with a wand. Only the Marauders could think of something like that.

 

How old are they in this fic? Because if they're underage then they can't use magic... but I suppose you wouldn't be able to detect that in a wizarding village like Godric's Hollow.

 

AWWW the story of their first kiss is too cute for words. I love the fact that Sirius's bike had a big part of it. I love the way you wrote their romance and the gradual build up to it. Adorable! I love these two so much. You really aced their dynamic. Nice job!



Name: Noelle Zingarella (Signed) · Date: 10 Jul 2019 09:40 PM · For: Chapter 1

Hi Rose! I’m here for our swap.

 

 

I was really intrigued by the title of this story, and the line about not agreeing to anything James said too early in the morning made me laugh. I also liked the glimpse we got of James’s mother. I’d have to think she was a very patient woman. She was probably wise to send the boys off for the day—a house full of rowdy teenagers would try any mother’s patience :).

 

I really like the way you’ve written the marauders relationship. I thought it was very funny that they are sort of stalled trying to figure out what to do, and the details about who takes charge of what (Remus trying to organize the group, the teasing about Sirius getting them all lost, etc). 

 

The thought of Sirius faking an American accent was very funny. And Peter seems sort of sweet and clueless here.

 

Your handling of the flirtation between Sirius and Remus was nicely done. They both seem to be wondering what exactly is going on. And when they finally take the chance and go for the kiss—I really liked that you set the scene with the fireflies and with Remus’s story about his childhood before he was bitten.

 

A very nice first chapter! Thank you very much for the swap!

 

Yours,

Noelle



Name: nott theodore (Anonymous) · Date: 28 Mar 2018 04:19 PM · For: Chapter 4

Transferred from offsite at request of the author

Hi again, Rose!

I'm so much happier now after reading this chapter - there's actually a smile back on my face, which after reading the rest of the story, is quite an achievement! I'm so glad that you wrote this epilogue though, because it's much nicer to remember that the two of them did meet again and reconcile - in some measure at least - and were able to put the past mostly behind them.

It was really good to see Sirius being the one to make the first move towards a reconciliation - I imagine that they'd have both found it awkward to approach each other, even after that first meeting, because of all the things that the new knowledge would have brought back for them, and all of the different things they knew they'd have to talk about at some point. But after everything that passed between them, it was good to see that Sirius was brave enough - and cared enough - to find out about where Remus was living and to approach him.

I think you wrote that conversation between them - particularly the start of it, the awkwardness, and the way neither of them really knew how to approach it - really well. I can definitely picture Remus as the one who held onto the guilt and the feelings of shame and everything else from the past much more than Sirius, because at this point, Sirius almost has a new lease of life - he's free, at least, which is something he hasn't been for years, and some of the most important people in his life now know the truth about them. At the same time, Remus is suffering from believing that Sirius was the traitor during all this time, and that's a situation that I can't imagine being easily overcome.

I'm glad that they both decided that they would try to be friends again after everything, and that Remus was sensible enough to say that. If they'd have tried to enter into a relationship again now after everything that had passed, without getting to know the other again first, it could have been disastrous, but at least this way they get to retain their friendship with the other - and of course, it kind of paves the way for Remus eventually ending up with Tonks.

This was a great version of Sirius and Remus together and their story, Rose - even if you did decide you wanted to break my heart and stamp all over it at some points :P

Sian :)



Name: nott theodore (Anonymous) · Date: 28 Mar 2018 04:19 PM · For: Chapter 3

Transferred from offsite at request of the author

Hola!

Rose, I think you get far too much enjoyment out of being mean to your readers and making people sad :P I mean, I'm the same so I can't really complain, but still. This was really mean and horrible - I'm just hoping that the epilogue is going to be a bit nicer and more cheery :P

You know how much I love canon and stories that are canon-compliant, so you probably can also imagine how happy I am that this story complies so well with canon. You've managed to weave all of the information we have from canon into the story so well, and it's really believable and authentic that this could have preluded the events that we know took place later on with the Potters especially.

I think you captured Remus so well here. I know that in the books, during the second war, we get to see that Remus is kind of depressed with some of the missions he has to fulfil for the Order - because he's a werewolf, he's given certain tasks to do that take him away from society and thrust him into solitude, and he doesn't do very well with that, even though it makes sense that he would be used to complete those sorts of jobs as he's better placed for it than other people. I do feel really sorry for him, though - it's so unfair that he has to live like this :( Anyway, I think you did a fantastic job of portraying his frustrations with his situation and all the pain that he still feels from things that have happened in the past, especially with Sirius.

You segued really well into the section in the past, when the photo was taken. It was so clever of you to use that one little detail from canon to create the scenes that you did here - so that we got to find out all of the different things that were happening between the members at the time, and see them together before things got even worse. The tensions between Remus and Sirius were so awkward and horrible to read. I can't believe that Remus gave Sirius a second chance and then he kept on cheating on him - how can you betray anyone like that, let alone your best friend? It makes me so angry to think of! And the confrontation outside with James there - I don't like violence but I can completely understand why James hit Sirius, because he crossed a line, no matter what happened between the two of them. But I think that scene also helped to set up really well for the rest of the chapter.

The final scene, when Sirius was the one who came to collect the information from Remus, was so heartbreaking and painful to read. You could see how much each of them was hurting, and the fact that they were still both heartbroken from the end of their relationship, but it just felt so inevitable, and I think that was the most upsetting thing. It was like there was never any way through it all for them. The fact that Sirius believed that Remus was the traitor must have hurt them both so, so much, but at the same time it's so easy to see how Sirius's logic works - the people who have hurt Remus with Sirius are the ones who seem to be targeted, but it's just an awful coincidence. And of course, Sirius saying that if anything happens to James or Peter just foreshadows even more what will eventually happen, and the way that it could have been Remus who was the traitor - everything fits in so well with the scenario and I just want to read on so that I know they both know neither of them was involved really, and everything can be vaguely okay again - for a little bit, at least!

Sian :)



Name: nott theodore (Anonymous) · Date: 28 Mar 2018 04:19 PM · For: Chapter 2

Transferred from offsite at request of the author

Hi again, Rose! ♥ So, I'm a terrible person and these reviews are coming far later than expected, but I promise you that I haven't forgotten them!

I really liked the way that you jumped ahead in time here from the end of the last chapter without it feeling like we had no idea what was going on. I think sometimes it's so easy for a big jump in time to feel a bit jarring, but there were enough little references and details about things that had passed in the time since the end of the first chapter that the transition was really smooth, and so the chapter flowed really well.

The first section was so interesting to read about! I always love reading different people's interpretations of what the Order actually did in their attempts to gather information and fight the war against the Death Eaters, and it was great to see Remus and Sirius in the thick of it here. I can definitely imagine them using their Animagus forms to gain an advantage on the Death Eaters at times, but I can also imagine them getting into some sticky situations like the one here at the start of the chapter. It was great to see some of the Death Eaters that we know from the books still operating here - it kind of gives you an idea of the scale that they were operating on, and the amount of people who maybe went unpunished for their crimes, at least in the first war. I couldn't help but getting a bit worried when they were stuck talking to them, though, and Remus was trying to get them out of it, especially with it being the day before the wedding.

From there, I really enjoyed reading about the progression of Sirius and Remus's relationship since the last time that we saw them. The two of them are clearly so much more comfortable together than they used to be, and their friends and others in the Order seem to know about the two of them as well, so without making it really explicit there's clear signs of how their relationship has developed. The two of them are still really attracted to the other, but there do seem to be a few cracks appearing, and things haven't necessarily progressed the way that you might think. Sirius and Remus seem to have different attitudes and ideas about their relationship and even with their attraction and the way they feel about each other, it's making me think there could be a lot of problems.

And then the wedding! I loved seeing all the other Marauders and Lily here, as well as some of the members from the Order. It was great to see them together in a capacity that we don't usually see, when they're actually celebrating something happy rather than trying to plan how to defend themselves or what to do next. I really enjoyed the dynamics between different characters and your portrayals of them.

The ending! :( I can't believe that. I'm so confused by it and really hurt and upset for Remus that Sirius would do something like that - I want to read on now to find out what happens next, and what sort of explanation Sirius thinks he can offer!

Sian :)



Name: nott theodore (Anonymous) · Date: 28 Mar 2018 04:19 PM · For: Chapter 1

Transferred from offsite at request of the author

Hello, lovely Rose! ♥ Happy (belated) baby shower!

Honestly, I haven't read very much Remus/Sirius until recently - I read one story and it really captured my interest, so I couldn't resist reading this one when I remembered that you'd written it - particularly with all the Marauders era stories you write so well! I mean, I have a slight suspicion that you're probably going to break my heart with this story, but I fully embrace that right now!

I really love this so far! Even knowing full well that you're going to break my heart at some point today, I can't stop myself reading and enjoying this story. I loved the way that you captured the four boys together at the start of the chapter. Their friendship was written so well - I liked the fact that you showed the way that this started in friendship, because I can't think of it beginning any other way for the two of them - and all of the Marauders together. I really liked the way that you didn't leave out Peter (such a pet peeve when he's completely ignored in Marauders era stories) and that he took part in everything just as much as the other boys did. He really felt like one of the group here, which was great to see!

I loved the way that they got so bored (and Mrs Potter was so frustrated) that the four of them went into Muggle London for a day out. I loved seeing them explore a bit and do some silly tourist things that I don't think I've ever seen in fic before - it's so good to incorporate that aspect of their world, and really believable since we know all of them (perhaps maybe bar Peter?) fought for the rights of Muggle-borns and probably had some sort of interest in Muggle culture too.

I really liked the way that you wrote Sirius and Remus here, and the way that they were still friends - still part of a group of four, and wanting to remain that way - and yet there was an attraction between them that we saw gradually growing through the story and becoming stronger and stronger. It was interesting to see them try and deal with that alongside their friendship - the way that they were kind of teasing each other with it through the second half of this story, and the growing attraction they felt, and then the final kiss at the end that you'd been building up to. It really signalled that things are going to change here for them, and that there's a shift into a different type of relationship, which I'm excited to see but I'm still wary that you're going to break my heart :(

Sian :)



Name: jk (Anonymous) · Date: 28 Mar 2018 04:19 PM · For: Chapter 1

Transferred from offsite at request of the author

Great first act! At ΓÇ£Is that humility, Prongs?ΓÇ¥ I think you mean Padfoot?

Author's Response: thanks so much for a wonderful review!



Name: marauderfan (Anonymous) · Date: 28 Mar 2018 04:19 PM · For: Chapter 4

Transferred from offsite at request of the author

Prize review #6! I'm glad to end on a happier note.

I'm so glad they were able to become friends again - it has this wonderful bittersweet quality how both of them still have feelings for each other and a lot of guilt and just so much baggage from the past, but they can't really face that just yet and so they go back to being friends, and seeing where it goes. I think this story also gives a lot of context to Sirius' moodiness in HIKML - when I read that, I interpreted that as Sirius being jealous that his friend has an actual life now and someone special - but this fills in the gaps and kind of adds to that jealousy in that Sirius kind of wishes it were him instead of Tonks.

Feelings are complicated

This was a great story (as is everything you've written - I would know. I think now I have read everything of yours!) and I'm really glad to have had the chance to read it! Once again congratulations on your superb entry for the Non-Linear Challenge!

Author's Response: well, the last chapter crushed me so I needed this epilogue. and if i needed it, so did other people. they're definitely in an awkward feels place. I'm so glad this set up HIKML and the bitterness and general moodiness from Sirius there.

thank you so much for the reviews and for having such a fun challenge!



Name: marauderfan (Anonymous) · Date: 28 Mar 2018 04:19 PM · For: Chapter 3

Transferred from offsite at request of the author

Back with your last two prize reviews! This chapter was so sad and I'm so angry at Sirius for being a jerk, first cheating and then blaming everything that happened on Remus' jealousy. And Remus' whole life just makes me so sad and how so many horrible things happen to him and he just dwells on it. They've both lost so much, but the way each of them deals with it is so different.

I thought you did really well with making this chapter fit in with why Remus was assumed to be the spy on the Potters - he was alone and off by himself because he didn't want any run ins with Sirius, but that made Sirius think that Remus was the spy who'd been giving information to Voldemort.

James definitely put Sirius in his place - a good friend will do that, I think. But I still was really shocked when James punched him. (He deserved it though.)

this was just the most angsty chapter in the world. i feel like a hippogriff stomped on my heart.

now my heart is flat.

with that, i will sadly click the 'next' button and hopefully you will not unleash anymore hippogriffs of feels in that last chapter. (let's be real it's still going to be all the feels)

excellent work and i'm sorry my capitalization skills have devolved. they were stomped on along with my heart. i still love your writing though ;)

Author's Response: *hides* this chapter does make me feel I should hide

Sirius is not a nice person in this chapter. Not at all. Remus really has a rough go at life here (and after this too). I can't think of consoling words about it.

I like the idea of everyone having a logical reason for their assumptions or actions - so making Remus heartbroken and disconnected from everyone felt like a logical response to his breakup with Sirius and then Sirius would soon turn that into suspicion.

James was my favorite person in this chapter.

*pumps air into heart* you need you rheart again... I have more stories for you to read.

thank you for another excellent review!

-Rose



Name: marauderfan (Anonymous) · Date: 28 Mar 2018 04:19 PM · For: Chapter 2

Transferred from offsite at request of the author

Nooo

I'm so angry at Sirius! Ugh! How is he going to explain that! But also, I do think Remus should hear Sirius out because maybe there IS an explanation - Remus tends to assume the worst about people's opinions of him so maybe there's an explanation but Remus is already sinking into self pity and won't listen. Either way, I know it's gonna end sadly :(

(I'm doing this review kind of in backwards order... which I guess is appropriate given that this is a prize review for a non linear story?) Anyway, I loved Sirius and Remus' trip to Diagon Alley - it's so like Sirius to run all over the place as a dog and snarl at Death Eaters while Remus has to use his words, fast. Haha. Death Eaters are dog people - if only they'd passed that info along to the Order!

Winning line of this chapter: “I can’t go to James and Lily’s wedding wearing these. They’re… they’re sexy pants,” Remus said in a low voice. -- AHAHAHA. I DIED.

okay also the scene where they were cuddling was just way too adorable. I could see Remus as being someone who enjoys his personal space and Sirius being someone who really doesn't like personal space and is way more touchy feely with people. But the last line of that section was so sad - Remus is in love, but he won't say it! AHSDJFASJD and the same problems plagued him like 15 years later with Tonks. But that's another story.

I will be back to finish this story later this weekend but right now I have a date with Game of Thrones binge watching. (I need to catch up on the recent season before all the spoilers find their way to my ears omg) Cheerio!

Author's Response: I'M SO SORRY THAT IT ENDED ON THAT NOTE BUT... I HAD TO END IT IN A BAD SPOT. *hides*

The lighthearted opening was just to make the ending less heavy (or to not make it all so heavy). Of course death eaters are dog people. Um, even evil people like dogs.

So, I might have a weird obsession with Remus and leather pants. I had a pair of leather sexy patns in HIKML and... yeah. o.o

wolfstar cuddling = my favorite. Remus and talking about loving people is just the worst. I wish he'd get better about it, especially with the way it worked out here. HE NEEDED TO LEARN HOW TO SAY IT BUT DIDN'T. gah. I kill myself sometimes.

thanks so much for another wonderful review!

-Rose



Name: marauderfan (Anonymous) · Date: 28 Mar 2018 04:19 PM · For: Chapter 1

Transferred from offsite at request of the author

Here with prize review #3! Yes, I had actually not read this one before. I don't read a lot of wolfstar fics because I really love the wonderful friendship between the four Marauders without anything else in the way, just bromance haha, but every time I read a wolfstar fic I remember how much I love them! Sirius and Remus have really well matched personalities which makes them make a lot of sense together. And because these stories are always fated to end sadly, which is, for some reason, something I love in fic. Anyway, I'm way ahead of myself because this chapter is the friendship chapter and aaah this is so what I love, just a chapter of Marauder goofiness and having a water fight in a graveyard and pretending to be Americans from the Salem Academy of Motors. I just love the whole thing, and I want to be friends with all of them.

You build up the tension in this so well - it's really subtle but building all along, and neither one of them mentions it until the end and BAM it's obvious. I really liked the way you orchestrated the buildup. And that line about celestial bodies with gravitational pull - maybe I just love metaphors with space, but gah that was a phenomenal sentence! Beautiful.

Maybe because you've written two novels about Remus, but I feel like you actually know him personally. How else would you be able to write him SO PERFECTLY, with his tactfulness and really subtle dry humor and low self confidence and all the things that make him Remus? Seriously, you write him so well. OMG AND THEN THIS If dry humor were an art, Remus would be its Da Vinci. -- Ahaha! Love it.

This is such a lovely opening chapter and I'm really eager to read the rest and have my heart broken by you for the 17th time (it's inevitable). *Terminator voice* I'll be back!

Author's Response: I LOVE IT WHEN YOU LET ME BREAK YOUR HEART ♥ it's my favorite.

I'm so happy you liked their rowdy Marauder moments. :D :D I'm still not talking to you about sad endings (summer5eva).

I've never been good at subtle so making this a slow burn was quite a feat for me. I'm so glad you liked their out of nowhere feelings and my analogies. ^_^

I secretly am neighbors with Remus so... we have tea all the time.

I've kind of died with your review because it made me so incredibly happy. *hug*

thank you so much for an incredible review!

-Rose



Name: marauder lady (Anonymous) · Date: 28 Mar 2018 04:19 PM · For: Chapter 4

Transferred from offsite at request of the author

I'm so pleased they're friends again! I'll say again how much I enjoyed this.

Sophie xxx

Author's Response: I'm so happy you liked how this ended! I needed to bring them back to friends after the whammy ending from last chapter.

Thank you for all the reviews on this!!

-Rose



Name: marauder lady (Anonymous) · Date: 28 Mar 2018 04:19 PM · For: Chapter 3

Transferred from offsite at request of the author

I have no words other than heartbreaking and wonderful!!

Author's Response: eee! thank you so much!



Name: marauder lady (Anonymous) · Date: 28 Mar 2018 04:19 PM · For: Chapter 2

Transferred from offsite at request of the author

Almost forgot to review, I was that keen to get to the next chapter! Again wonderful characterization here. Poor Remus! I feel sorry for him but weirdly do for Sirius as well even though he misbehave. All credit to your writing there.

Really enjoying!

Sophie xxx

Author's Response: I'm so happy you enjoyed this chapter as well! This was the fun chapter to write with the romance and trouble stuff going on. Thank you so much for the lovely review!

-Rose



Name: marauder lady (Anonymous) · Date: 28 Mar 2018 04:19 PM · For: Chapter 1

Transferred from offsite at request of the author

Loving it so far. The writing style flowed brilliantly for me, and the characterization was spot on! The way the tension was built up throughout the chapter was well done as well, the confusion coming through clearly without being overdone. On to the next chapter.

Sophie xxx

Author's Response: Sophie!!

I hope you can forgive me for not answering this until now. I completely loved every review you left on this and have been so behind on answering reviews. I've been beyond tickled pink that you enjoyed this and went on to review the rest. *hug*

-Rose



Name: Veritaserum27 (Anonymous) · Date: 28 Mar 2018 04:19 PM · For: Chapter 4

Transferred from offsite at request of the author

Hiya Rose!

Here for the BvB review battle!

I'm so, so glad I came back to this one. And you're right, I needed this chapter for some closure to their relationship. I'm glad that you ended it this way, because it still complies with canon and gives us some insight into how the two worked out their friendship. I can tell that they both still care very much for each other, but as they say, maybe in another lifetime, they could've been together. There were just too many hurt feelings and too many uncertainties brought on by the events of the war that changed both of them. I'd be interested to see your take on how Remus found comfort in Tonks after Sirius's death. Within your 'verse here, that could be a very interesting story line.

The entire epilogue is beautifully written, showing the reader just how much these two really, truly care for each other but at the same time, how they've both been hurt and are too damaged to hold onto what they once had. It makes me feel like their love was from a simpler time, when they were young and reckless and just had each other to hold onto. Now, they've both changed and have healed in separate ways. I love how you showed that without explicitly writing it.

Gah! The feels! Thanks so much!

♥ Beth

Author's Response: Beth!!

I am very happy you came back to this - I had plans to leave the story at the last chapter but even I felt it needed more closure. I am an avid Remus/Tonks shipper so I needed to make their relationship in a good place for that to happen. I feel as if Sirius would jump at Remus' company again but Remus can't let him self be hurt again. :( I do have two novels about Remus and Tonks so there's plenty of material on how their relationship evolved.

I can't tell you how excited I am that you liked this story!! They've gone through so many ups and downs and I agree - their love belonged in their youth.

Thank you so much!!

-rose



Name: Veritaserum27 (Anonymous) · Date: 28 Mar 2018 04:19 PM · For: Chapter 3

Transferred from offsite at request of the author

Hi there Rose! Here for our review swap!

Ugh - this chapter was a doozie. Sirius is a dog. At the end of last chapter, I was thinking that maybe Remus was being oversensitive and misreading the situation with Fabian Prewett - but if he had to give him several other chances, I'm gonna go with the odds that Sirius was cheating.

Before I go on, I want to say that I love all the little details you put in - like mentioned Shell Cottage where Gideon and Fabian were staying - and the description of the picture that Moody showed to Harry in OOP - LOVED it!

Holy cow! I was not expecting Sirius to accuse Remus of being a Death Eater - how could he think that?! How could he not realize that Remus already feels ostracized from most of the Wizarding world because of his condition. It's clear that Sirius has the ability to move on, but Remus is withdrawing from everyone.

The scene where James decked Sirius was written so well. You even told us that James was the one who hit him and I still didn't see it coming - until crack - fist meets jaw.

My heart just crumpled for Remus - and Sirius. You have this knack of making me feel so bad for all of the characters. Sirius loses everyone that matters to him and Remus feels betrayed by everyone. So heartbreaking.

I want to say that I can't wait to read the next chapter, but I'm really not sure that I want to - your endings are so original, I truly never know which way it's going to go. I guess I'll have to take a gamble.

Thanks for doing a swap!

♥ Beth

Author's Response: Beth!!

I always love doing swaps with you - even when my characters are difficult to deal with like Sirius was here.

I've always thought that Sirius would fall into a cycle of mistrust that spiralled out of control. Fabian was the first and least severe :-/

Whenever I write Marader Era (or any era) I can't help but pull in ties with other HP stuff. You are one of the few (perhaps the only) person to catch the reference to Shell Cottage. The picture felt like a perfect time to show them getting together as we hear in the books that the Order rarely met as a whole.

They did hit rock bottom with the death eater allegation. Sirius, at least in my head, has never been the most stable of persons (this is the same Sirius to loved and left Lily because of his inadequacies/feeling undeserving). Despite this, I could see Sirius being arrogant enough to think Remus' reactions were about him and jealousy.

haha, I loved writing that scene. I mean, the power of James hitting Sirius really moved me as they are bffs but James would consider it the height of dishonor to mistrust a friend after all. I like to think Remus pulled on personal experience when it came to that phrase.

Betrayal wasn't an easy chapter to write. Not for me, not for Remus, not for Sirius. :(

I can promise that the next chapter isn't as bad or as heartbreaking.

Thanks for a wonderful review!!

-Rose



Name: Veritaserum27 (Anonymous) · Date: 28 Mar 2018 04:19 PM · For: Chapter 2

Transferred from offsite at request of the author

Hey there Rose!

I'm here for the BvB review battle. I started this fic sometime in the summer and it seems like a great time to pick it up.

Remus and Sirius - to be honest, I don't actually ship these two (I know it is really popular on the forums, but my head canon is that they were both straight). With that being said, I think you did a great job with both of their characters here and really made me feel for the pair.

Haha - with that outfit for Remus! You can tell how much he loves Sirius, because he was willing to wear it or him when he obviously felt self-conscious in it!

Those two are their own worst enemies! Why can't Remus connect enough with Sirius to stay the night. It's almost like he doesn't feel that he deserves Sirius's love and that makes my heart break! Sirius takes this as Remus not sure he wants to be with him. Ugh! I have a feeling this isn't going to end well - I'm basing this on your chapter titles :)

Oh no! I don't think Sirius would cheat on Remus - even if he did feel a bit put off. Remus - LET HIM EXPLAIN!!!

Great story!

♥ Beth

Author's Response: Beth!!

I'm so excited you came back to this!!! :D

I love that you're always willing to read stories even when they're not about a ship you care for. xoxo And I'm really happy you like how I put the two of them together as a pair.

After I wrote this, I realized that this is the second time in my stories that I've put Remus in leather pants. I think I have a problem. :-x

I couldn't let them be at ease because it wouldn't work with the story or with them eventually not being together. and, it seemed canonical for Remus to struggle with accepting love without pushing it back just a bit.

Sirius struggles from immense insecurity and would want to feel completely loved by someone. Any distance between him and Remus would cause him to want reassurance from somewhere. This is the same issue he had in Don't Mean a Thing.

thank you so much for an incredible review!!

-rose



Name: crestwood (Anonymous) · Date: 28 Mar 2018 04:19 PM · For: Chapter 4

Transferred from offsite at request of the author

I don't think Remus should feel guilty for assuming Sirius' guilt after what Sirius said to him. And with a whole lot less evidence to go off of as well.

Even with all of the happiness I felt when they were together earlier in the story, I'm so relieved that Remus refuses to fall back into Sirius' games. He's definitely grown up in the past 13 years and I'm not sure if Sirius necessarily has.

It's a nice little nod toward Tonks to add in that no one is lining up to date Remus. Unfortunately for Sirius, that soon will not be true.

You set up a good basis for their becoming friends again here and apparently it leads into the two Remus/Tonks stories you've written, which is excellent because I've wanted to find time to read those for a long while now. This was great and emotional and well-written and all of the other praise I could possibly give to this. You made Wolfstar believable within canon, that is no small feat. Thank you for the review swap! I'm always excited to start one with you :D

Author's Response: Hi Joey!!

Remus blames himself for entirely too much in life. It upsets me quite often about him.

Sirius has stunted emotionally. I'm pretty sure he stopped maturing when he went to Azkaban. Remus had some healing (but not enough to be an emotionally healthy person for Tonks).

I had to set this up to be canon compliant (and in line with other stuff I've written). I'm glad you liked that though.

I can't tell you how much I enjoyed your reviews on this and am glad you got through the entire story. Thank you so much!!

-Rose



Name: crestwood (Anonymous) · Date: 28 Mar 2018 04:19 PM · For: Chapter 3

Transferred from offsite at request of the author

This is so sad. Remus being sent up North to spy on Death Eaters in squalor and being suspected as one himself. His life is so tragic. Always. I feel so bad about this.

It's even worse that he gave Sirius more and more chances and he ruined it every. single. time. Now I'm just angry at him. Really, really angry. And what he said!!! I'm glad James punched him in the face. James was filling in for me in that scene.

And Sirius thinks that Remus is a Death Eater. Sirius thinks that Remus has killed people just to win him back. I'm usually a big fan of him, but here I can truthfully say that I hate him. I really, really hate him. In this universe, I can't imagine them ever becoming friends again, I could never forgive Sirius for all of this. Never.

You write these deeply saddening stories. It feels so real. My stomach twists in all sorts of ways when I read this. I don't think I could analyze this like I do most literature even. All of my reviews end up being pure emotion. You are so good. I can't even put into words how good of a writer you are. This is amazing.

Author's Response: Joey!

I think James was acting on behalf of quite a few readers in that scene. It is really tragic that Remus was blamed (even if it's just insinuation) for death eater activity. I always have feels about Remus' life. always.

Part of me is very happy that you were able to hate Sirius in this. It's very egotistic of me but I'm glad I could do that.

I really like getting emotion from my readers. I know it's not easy to get everyone to react ni that way to writing so I am really proud when that does happen. Thank you so much for this review and your reactions.

-Rose



Name: crestwood (Anonymous) · Date: 28 Mar 2018 04:19 PM · For: Chapter 2

Transferred from offsite at request of the author

Sirius was acting incredibly reckless during their mission at the beginning and that's just like him of course. I was a little nervous when they ran into the Death Eaters. Especially the Carrows, who give my spine a tiny little tingle when I think about what they did at Hogwarts. It is interesting that they like dogs though haha.

The pants made me laugh so hard, I can just imagine Remus' face distorting when he realizes what he's supposed to wear.

""We could multi-task"" Sirius is SO cheeky.

I can only hope that Sirius will ignore Marlene's advances. It's pretty disrespectful of her to plan on approaching him like that while he's with Remus, especially when Remus is there too.

The fact that Remus is planning to take their relationship further after the wedding as a surprise means that - undoubtably - something terrible is going to happen before then.

And here it comes, Sirius is going to ruin everything. And...it's even worse than I thought. ""It's much more than the fine champagne"" is not a good sentence for Remus to have overheard at all. This is so terrible. Even worse because I know Remus will blame himself for it. They were so happy and open about it! Everything about this is just upsetting. It's going to change everything.

Really great chapter, by the way.

Author's Response: Hi Joey!!

The one redeeming quality about the Carrows is that they like dogs. Though I'm not sure if they like dogs for good reasons. I mean, they might like fighting dogs or something creepy like that. And, well, I'm a cat person so making the Carrows dog people might be a statement in and of itself. :P Sirius is quite reckless here. I think he sees the war as a game. He hasn't gone through a great deal of personal loss yet (at least nothing has hit him extremely hard) so it's easy to be reckless.

hehe. I've written a few instances where Sirius has Remus wear tight leather pants. Clearly this is a fixation of mine rather than theirs.

Of course Sirius is cheeky. I dunno, he's that guy who thinks he'll live forever.

Marlene, well, she's a bit dense. She either doesn't realize they're not just two flatmates or she's making a move and being quite shameless about it.

...maybe you do know my writing too well o.o

Remus will blame himself. I think he does carry part of the blame for emotionally starving Sirius. I thought it would be upsetting (I was going for it even).

I'm so happy you liked this chapter!!

-Rose



Name: crestwood (Anonymous) · Date: 28 Mar 2018 04:19 PM · For: Chapter 1

Transferred from offsite at request of the author

Hi Rose!

I don't think I've ever read a Wolfstar story, but if anyone should introduce me to the ship, it should be you. (if I'd like to end up crying today)

Your characterization of the Marauders is perfect, in my opinion. Of course Remus is the one to soften Mrs. Potter's resolve. Remus' deadpanning about the 'giant hamster emancipation' was hilarious. I wish we got to see more of this side of him during the series. You've written his younger, happier nature perfectly. I imagine he wasn't always so brooding, before the first war and all that happened during it.

The leg grab (!!) was written really well. Blink and you might miss the tension there. I LOVE that you keep a bit of magic in the story as well. A lot of romances seem to forget that they take place in a magical world altogether, but the wall of water/water dog or werewolf was a excellent touch.

You don't banish Peter to 'background Marauder' and you give you a ton of time to just enjoy the four friends hanging out before diving into the romance. I like that you let it move at it's own pace.

The fact that you describe Remus and Sirius as two celestial bodies on a collision course makes me incredibly happy but sounds to me as if you're going to break one of their hearts by the end, if not both. This bike ride is definitely leading somewhere I just know it and then - like I thought they're flirting. BUT wait, Sirius you're coming on rather strong talking about 'hormones' and 'chemistry' and OH MY WORD a kiss so soon!! *and my heart explodes*

Also, ""passionate pressure.""

Author's Response: Joey!!!

I am quite happy that you have this as your first WolfStar - it was my first time writing a wolfstar (but I tend not to dwell too long on one ship).

eek! I'm so thrilled you like how I've characterized the Marauders - everyone has such strong opinions about them. Remus always has quite a dry sense of humor (in my head at least). I like to think that he would have been quite a bit more outgoing with other circumstances in his life.

hehe, yes, leg grabs. :D I didn't want to push them into tension too soon (and I wanted to feel like either one of tghem could be misreading signals). I do struggle to include magic into my romances so this was a very intentional effort to keep it HP-related. I'm so happy you noticed.

Oh I can't stand it when Peter is banished to the background. This part of the story is really just about friendship with an ending that opens the door up to romance. I wanted to have about 3/4 friendship stuff throughout.

hehe - I am glad I was able to make your heart explode a little with their passionate pressure. um um um, Sirius has been building up to this for a while, honestly. I'm not sure if you've read enough of my stuff to know that I will break one of their hearts before the end. ;)

thank you for the wonderful review!

-Rose



Name: magnifique11 (Anonymous) · Date: 28 Mar 2018 04:19 PM · For: Chapter 4

Transferred from offsite at request of the author

-sobs quietly- oh my goddd. I'm seriously in love with your version of wolfstar and this was so good. It was really heart-wrenching, but it was so good. I'm really glad that you wrote the epilogue, I thought it tied in well and brought their relationship back up to speed but now I'm just thinking about what could have been if Sirius hadn't died..

Don't get me wrong - I love, love, LOVE Remus x Tonks, but your story has just given me so many Remus x Sirius feels. I hope you did/do well in the challenge you wrote this for because it was really, really well written.

And now I just feel like I really need to go read everything else you've written because I am sure I'll love it!

Author's Response: HAI!

Oh my, you really know how to make a person's day!! When I started this, I knew it would be gut-wrenching towards the middle. I only decided on the epilogue after feeling so down after act 3. I'm really glad that tied it all together!!

Heck, I wrote two novels about Remus and Tonks :P but, I do think they can exist in the same universe. I did well in one of the challenges but I hadn't finished the whole story for the song one. Oh well, I really enjoyed writing this either way!

You're entirely too sweet!! Thank you very much for the lovely review!

-Rose



Name: patronus_charm (Anonymous) · Date: 28 Mar 2018 04:19 PM · For: Chapter 4

Transferred from offsite at request of the author

House Cup 2014 Review!

Ah, this chapter needs to be turned into a Canon missing moment because it was perfect and I think the idea of Sirius going to see Remus before properly going on the run is one of the best ever and it just needs to happen for real now.

I felt so proud of Remus though and the way he didnΓÇÖt give into Sirius, and didnΓÇÖt forgive him for the hell he went through and threw in some snarky comments while he was at it too. I fully agree with that as Sirius needs to be treated like that and shown what happened, because while he might have gotten his punishment in Azkaban he needed it from Remus too.

I thought the comment about being HarryΓÇÖs godfather required responsibility was really touching and just showed how much Remus loved him and cared for him. Harry really does seem to be the child of all of the Marauders from that perspective and it was so nice to see you included that.

The sense of hope at the end with the possibility of Remus and Sirius maybe, just maybe, being friends again was another thing I enjoyed, and I really want some follow up thing now just so I can see what could happen to them next. Other than that, this was a really cool story, Rose, and IΓÇÖm glad I came back to finish it off!

-Kiana

Author's Response: JUST PRETEND IT HAPPENED FOR REAL! That's what I did. :D

Remus has definitely hardened his heart against Sirius (though, not so much that they're not able to be friends). Poor Sirius though, he could have used some love during OotP.

I like to think that if James had lived, Harry would have been exposed to three other father-figures besides his own. Or at least close uncles who were highly involved in his life.

After destroying people's hopes and dreams in the last chapter, I had to give a little ray of hope and happiness for Sirius and Remus. In my head, the two Remus/Tonks stories are what happened yet (I can almost pretend there's a WolfStar subtext there too). I'm so happy you came back to this!! Thank you so much!

-Rose



Submit a Review