Login

Name: NW2017 (Anonymous) · Date: 12 Sep 2018 11:45 PM · [Report This]
Story:Chai, Dancing, and a Friend in the Wee Hours of the Morning Chapter: Chai, Dancing, and a Surprise

Transferred from offsite at request of the author

Originally left on 10/06/2017

Oh jeez... I'm blubbering 😢

Author's Response: Oh no! (But also yay! All the feels!)



Name: Marshal (Anonymous) · Date: 12 Sep 2018 11:45 PM · [Report This]
Story:Chai, Dancing, and a Friend in the Wee Hours of the Morning Chapter: Chai, Dancing, and a Surprise

Transferred from offsite at request of the author

Originally left on 05/15/2016

Hey dear,

I'm here with a hot seat review. I wanted to say that this was nice. I certainly got teary eyed, so nice job. You put an interesting perspective on a lot of the siblings and Fred's take on them. While it was George, Ron and Ginny that made me closest to tears I loved what you did with Charlie and Bill. That Bill taught Fred some of his tricks and the admiration of Charlie for going away. I now feel like I've left Percy out, it was a good take on him too, I like the last line for him to ask him to think of humor. Over all, very well done! Thank for writing and sharing this story, I'm glad I took the time to read it.

-Marshal

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm sorry for making you teary eyed though! I usually write much happier stuff than this. Thanks for the wonderful Hot Seat review :)



Name: EnigmaticEyes16 (Anonymous) · Date: 12 Sep 2018 11:45 PM · [Report This]
Story:Chai, Dancing, and a Friend in the Wee Hours of the Morning Chapter: Chai, Dancing, and a Surprise

Transferred from offsite at request of the author

Originally left on 05/06/2016

Hi, I'm here for the Slytherin Hot Seat!

800, this story was so precious! And really sad. And I'm surprised I am just reading it now. I adore Fred and the fact that he only wants to see his family happy and to see them remember him alive and happy as well. Of course he doesn't want them to remember his as dead because that makes him sad, and that's just so unlike Fred.

I loved each individual bit for each sibling. I loved that Bill stayed up late and taught his little brother who caught him sneaking out a bunch of new things instead of leaving him to snog a girl. I loved that Fred would listen to Charlie forever about dragons, and that he sent Fred letters every one when he left. And Percy! I loved the bit about Percy making a joke and Fred laughing. I love that Fred was so proud of Percy for coming back and for achieving the greatness he worked for. By the time I got to George I wanted to cry. Poor George has to go on without his twin, his best friend, his other half and that is the saddest bit of all. Ron's bit also made me want to cry. I love that Ron grew up always feeling like the odd one out, the unloved one, but in fact Fred loved him the most and Fred knew he was the bravest and strongest of all of them. And little Ginny! I wouldn't say she defeated the Dark Lord, considering she was unconscious. But she did survive and came back to them and that definitely counts for something. She did grow up to be a strong, and fierce woman and I'm sure Fred knows he had something to do with that.

All in all I thought this was the sweetest and saddest story ever. But still happy. Because in the end his family was happy, even though they'd always miss him, and that made him happy.

Great one-shot, 800!

xxNix

Author's Response: Hey, Nix! Thanks for dropping by!

Thanks so much for the wonderful review! This story was meant to be both sad and happy at the same time, so I'm pleased that you found it to be so.



Name: looneylizzie (Anonymous) · Date: 12 Sep 2018 11:45 PM · [Report This]
Story:Chai, Dancing, and a Friend in the Wee Hours of the Morning Chapter: Chai, Dancing, and a Surprise

Transferred from offsite at request of the author

Originally left on 04/29/2016

Hello!

Here's prize review 2 of 3 for the Name that Fandom Challenge!

Once again, I headed for Like a House on Fire, but then this one caught my attention and I just couldn’t say no. It’s your fault really, there’s too many interesting stories on your AP!! :D

Oh, look, there’s my heart shattered in a million pieces on the floor. It’s not like I needed it or anything.

No, seriously, FEELS. WHY MUST YOU HURT ME THIS WAY?!?!

GAH. Words are failing me now. I don’t know how to express how much I both love and hate this story. I hate it ‘cause… feels, but I love it because it’s just SO PERFECT. You’ve captured Fred’s personality so well, and written this in a way that feels so true to character — I feel like this is *exactly* what he would’ve said to his family if he had the chance before he died.

The way you summed up his relationship with each of his siblings in such tiny paragraphs is absolutely amazing as well. You manage to convey so much emotion in so few words, and it’s simply perfect. The relationship he has with each one of his siblings is so unique and so special, which makes it all the more powerful. And heartbreaking.

Each of the lines just before he says ”Remember me not as dead.” is like a punch in the gut each time. They’re so POWERFUL, and each one brought tears to my eyes.

I think the one to Ron was the one that really got me though. ”Remember that you’re my king.”

*sobs hysterically*

WHY?!?!

Then you go and give us a tiny piece of closure at the end that makes it hurt just a *little* less by saying that eventually they remember Fred the way he wanted them to.

I’m still crying though.

But this story is AMAZING, and I’m so glad that I read it. It’s so unique in style and voice, yet stays true to the Fred we all know an love.

Amazing job my dear! Keep writing!!

Lizzie

P.S. Sorry if this review is a little short. Words really are failing me at the moment (and it’s kinda late).

Author's Response: Haha! Like a House on Fire awaits for you eagerly! ONE DAY.

I think this story is accidentally sadder than I intended it to be. I wrote it as a way to show that there's always good times to be had, even in the midst of your grief.

You've hit the nail on the head with Fred. I wrote this with the way Fred would want to be remembered very much in mind. I'm glad that this comes through.

Thanks for the wonderful review, Lizzie! Don't worry about the length. It means a lot that you took the time to write something at all!



Name: NPE (Anonymous) · Date: 12 Sep 2018 11:45 PM · [Report This]
Story:Chai, Dancing, and a Friend in the Wee Hours of the Morning Chapter: Chai, Dancing, and a Surprise

Transferred from offsite at request of the author

Originally left on 04/20/2016

Hi there,

Thanks for agreeing to the review swap. I intend to post another review alongside this one to make up for being so late with my reply, AND because this is great and I wish to read more.

Also - kudos for the great review you left me, I appreciate the chapter was very long (another reason I really am looking to try and give you two reviews ;) )

So - this goodbye felt authentically poignant and the summarising lines in italic were beautifully adopted and conceived.

I really got a sense of the emotional wrenching at play, and the remember me not as dead was brutally effective. The rhythmic nature of the phrase really affected me.

This story is well written and covers an admirable amount in such a short amount of words. These work on whether they play with the subjective, ie. our emotional palette. This did - so thank you for letting me read it.

Back with more soon :)

Nick

Author's Response: Thanks for the swap, too! I really enjoyed myself.

I'm so pleased that you enjoyed this little story. It's very different to what I usually write, so I was really worried about posting it.

Thanks once again, Nick!



Name: adluvshp (Anonymous) · Date: 12 Sep 2018 11:45 PM · [Report This]
Story:Chai, Dancing, and a Friend in the Wee Hours of the Morning Chapter: Chai, Dancing, and a Surprise

Transferred from offsite at request of the author

Originally left on 04/18/2016

SNAKE REVIEW TAG.

OMG I AM CRYING. I AM CRYING SO MUCH. THE FEELS ASDFGHJKL;

This was so heartbreaking and beautifully written and so, so sad. Fred's goodbye to his family. *sobs*

The way you wrote Fred addressing each of his siblings one by one was just lovely. I really liked the little moments he picked out to highlight from Charlie's letters to Ginny's birth. It was all very sweetly done.

I particularly loved how Fred wanted to be remembered happy and didn't want his family to be sad or cry because of his death. The idea of him ""watching"" from the afterlife was so touching.

Your descriptions were magnificent and really your writing here was just fantastic. I don't know what else to say except that I really really loved reading this one-shot and it struck a chord with me. Amazing work.

Love

Angie

(Lost Muse)

Author's Response: YAY FOR CRYING BUT ALSO NO FOR CRYING. ALL THE FEELS ARE GOOD.

Thanks so much for the lovely review! I really enjoyed choosing different moments that Fred might choose to talk to his siblings about.

Thank you for loving the descriptions! The piece floats in the ether otherwise :P

Hugs! Xx



Name: PaulaTheProkaryote (Anonymous) · Date: 12 Sep 2018 11:45 PM · [Report This]
Story:Chai, Dancing, and a Friend in the Wee Hours of the Morning Chapter: Chai, Dancing, and a Surprise

Transferred from offsite at request of the author

Originally left on 04/03/2016

YOU DID THIS TO ME! I have to take a break now from reading so that I can try (probably fail) to emotionally heal.

BILL: [sobs endlessly.] Really, I think Bill is probably now responsible for at least half of the mayhem the boys got into.

CHARLIE: [blows nose into blanket.] Well he really is the coolest of them. Honestly this reminds me of the way Harry semi-idolized him in the books. I think it's so sweet that they had the kind of relationship they did. I know Charlie was so busy chasing his dreams, but he didn't forget his kid brother, even when his kid brother forgot to write back.

PERCY: [contemplates why I picked this one knowing how much it would hurt.] I knew this one was going to especially hurt when I saw the name. ""I’m glad that I heard you make a joke before I died."" ARE YOU PROUD OF YOURSELF FOR BREAKING MY HEART? I bet you are.

GEORGE:[wails into the night, mimicking an angry wombat.] I had half a mind to skip right over this and pretend I read this bit. ""we’ll never truly be apart""

RON: [finally almost laughing through the pain] SO THAT'S WHY HE HATES SPIDERS! Poor Ron! ""My left buttock does."" That's the best line of the entire story! That's exactly the kind of thing that Ron would need to hear. ""Remember that you’re my king"" WEASLEY IS OUR KING!

GINNY: [spello-taping my heart back together] I'm so pleased that of all the things he could say, he's proud of her for her fierceness. You know that entire thing must have haunted her for years, but there's the positive spin she'd need.

This story broke my heart and healed it and I'll be okay in a few hours probably, but seriously. This was just too much in such a good way. I'm so happy-sad. I'll try to take his advice and remember the good times.

Author's Response: #sorrynotsorry

Bill: Bill is definitely the original Fred and George, for sure.

Charlie: I feel that Charlie is always the most ignored Weasley brother, and I reckon its because he's just too cool. And that's such an elder sibling-younger sibling relationship, you know?

Percy: This one was the most painful for me to write. I really felt for Percy after Fred's death, because he was the one who was there.

George: There have been others who have skipped this paragraph, so I wouldn't blame you.

Ron: I really enjoyed making that back story! Of course it would involve the crazy twins!

Ginny: She's the baby of the family. Everyone is going to see her that way, so it was nice to write that relationship in a way that shows that they still see her as a mature person.

I'm glad that you are happy-sad! Happy-sad is good! Thanks for the wonderful review, Paula!



Name: victoria_anne (Anonymous) · Date: 12 Sep 2018 11:45 PM · [Report This]
Story:Chai, Dancing, and a Friend in the Wee Hours of the Morning Chapter: Chai, Dancing, and a Surprise

Transferred from offsite at request of the author

Originally left on 03/29/2016

800 words of heaven

Always a good writer. Sometimes makes me cry.

THIS STORY IS NOT OKAY. I have goosebumps. I laughed, I cried, I'm an emotional mess! Okay okay breathe...

Bill - Ah, so that's how the twins learnt their tricks (because I'm sure Fred would have told George straight away!) - what a cool big brother!

Charlie - Okay, this made me laugh, with all of Charlie's dragon stories! Why did he write to just Fred, I wonder? Well, better late than never, right Fred?

Percy - I saw the name and knew this would break my heart, and it did. I love love love what you wrote about Percy being the one to make Molly proud. That's just beautiful, because it's true. He worked so hard at his position in the Ministry, all his studying and jazz, but it was simply him coming home that made everyone so proud. And Fred got to hear his joke. *sniff* I'm not crying YOU'RE CRYING

George - Nope. Skipping this. Just no.

Ron - And now I'm cracking up again! What are you trying to do to me?! ""My left buttock does"" ha ha ha! Aw Weasley is our King! This message is just beautiful. Of course Ron will be brave.

Ginny - So sweet that he remembers when she was born! And the mentioning of defeating Voldy at 11 - such a good detail to include.

I am NOT surprised that you cried! That is probably why this is so good. You've poured so much emotion into this, and in case you haven't noticed, I can feel it. Absolutely AMAZING. I really did enjoy, I swear... once I've forgiven you... It's short, but just beautiful.

♥ ♥ ♥

Author's Response: Awks for making you cry. But for this story I think it's only fair since it made me do the same.

Yay for emotional mess! Death is messy. So is grieving. I have achieved my evil master plan.

Bill - where else would they learn it? He is the eldest, so I bet he knows the most about escaping the Burrow.

Charlie - he's just very enthusiastic about dragons, you know? And he probably only wrote to Fred because he was his fave sibling.

Percy - this part was actually the easiest to write. I knew what I wanted from this section before I started writing. I think this one made me cry the hardest.

George - yup. Agreed. Moving on...

Ron - go figure Fred brings up his left buttock at a time like this. Only Fred.

Ginny - yay for defeating Voldy at eleven! And Harry thought he was the only one!

I'VE NEVER CRIED WRITING A STORY BEFORE. Thank you so much for this wonderful review! *tissues* *hugs*



Name: TheEmotionalTeaspoon (Anonymous) · Date: 12 Sep 2018 11:45 PM · [Report This]
Story:Chai, Dancing, and a Friend in the Wee Hours of the Morning Chapter: Chai, Dancing, and a Surprise

Transferred from offsite at request of the author

Originally left on 03/28/2016

WHY WOULD YOU DO THIS TO ME? Uh, I mean... is someone chopping onions in here?

This was beautiful. I really loved the way you structured it and all the little stories you painted so vibrantly in so few words. I think the part Fred wrote to Ginny was one of my favorites, although the little anecdote you used in Bill's was wonderful too.

Great work, good luck in the challenge, I think everyone will love this. (Maybe warn them to grab a box of tissues first though.)

Kate

Author's Response: Aww! Thank you! All the onions are being chopped in the vicinity! Muhahaha!

I'm glad you liked it. It's quite different to how I usually write, so it was fun - AND VERY SAD. I loved that anecdote about Bill, too!

Thanks for the lovely review :)



Name: TidalDragon (Anonymous) · Date: 12 Sep 2018 11:45 PM · [Report This]
Story:Chai, Dancing, and a Friend in the Wee Hours of the Morning Chapter: Chai, Dancing, and a Surprise

Transferred from offsite at request of the author

Originally left on 03/28/2016

Howdy! Now that your pair is complete, I'm trying to get the jump on reading so I can give y'all as quick a turnaround time as possible - so here I am!

What I enjoyed most about this piece was undoubtedly its authenticity. It didn't try too hard to achieve soaring prose or force too much humor into a situation (and for Fred, a state really) that is anything but. At the same time it managed to capture things that I think Fred would've truly appreciated about his siblings.

Throughout the story I will admit to wondering how you would resolve the repetition of the phrase ""Remember me not as dead."" Because you worked it so hard I thought the resolution would be crucial to the final interpretation of the story and that certainly proved true with the yearning feeling of the closing lines yielding to a realization of Fred's wish for his family in the contrasting lines ""They remember you as you were: alive, loved, happy. They remember Fred not as dead."" From a stylistic perspective I also liked the shift in perspective between the last two lines from the second person to the third. My impression was that the choice was made to demonstrate that the realization of Fred's wish also gave him the closure to ""look away"" and not feel as if he's constantly wishing his family well because he finally sees that they are. If that's what you were going for I thought it was subtle and clever and awesome. If not - well, I've been known to overthink things before :p

Thanks for participating!

Author's Response: Wow! That was super fast!

You are absolutely right. I didn't want to achieve any heights of beautiful prose with this piece. It's just Fred saying goodbye and telling his siblings to remember him as he was. I wanted it to be very real in that way.

Haha, I really laboured on that point, I know! It's a bit selfish what Fred wants, but it comes from a good place, so I milked that line for all it's worth - probably more than it's worth but OH WELL. I don't think you over-analysed at all. You've understood what I wanted to achieve - which I hope means that I actually achieved it!

Thanks for the wonderful review, and good luck with the judging! There's some great writers participating, and I don't envy your task of picking winners :P



Name: Nix (Signed) · Date: 26 May 2018 09:55 AM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:Chai, Dancing, and a Friend in the Wee Hours of the Morning Chapter: Chai, Dancing, and a Surprise

Hey Ess! Nix here for Team Silver!

 

Gosh, I still love these stories so much. I hope to go back and read them all again at some point. Neville and Hannah are just so sweet. I love that Hannah invited Neville to spend Diwali with her family. Of course he'd get along with everyone, he's just too nice not to. I really don't think Neville could ever be the type of person to let the fame go to his head. 

 

And I love all the Indian descriptions. I don't know much about the culture, but I do love reading about it and I think it's super interesting that you made that part of Hannah's character. 

 

And they're so cute. I love the scenes where they keep trying to tell each other that they love each other. And then refrain from saying it each time. Of course, I would have love a more indepth description of the day Neville finally spit it out while she was mid omelette flip. So glad he didn't catch her too off guard that she just completely dropped the omelette, but she clearly knows what she's doing in the kitchen.

 

Great story, Ess!

xxNix



Author's Response:

Hannah and Neville are always there for you! I wrote them partly to be the perfect pick-me-up if you're having an average-terrible sort of day, and just want some food and fluff in your life. Yeah, it was pretty reasonable Neville would get along with everyone. He's such a lovely and polite guy, you know? But he's still a little nervous because, after all, he's still Neville Longbottom.

 

I've written just one facet of Indian culture. It's so incredibly diverse, changing from region to region, religion to religion, language to language, and quite frankle, city to city. I could never hope to capture all that it is through one character.

 

Maybe another short Chai installment, haha! There really wasn't enough room here - this story wasn't supposed to be about Christmas or that moment. And it was Neville who was flipping the omelette, so he did even better not to lose the omelette!

 

Thanks for the lovely review, Nix :)

 

xx 800



Name: abhorsen (Signed) · Date: 29 Dec 2017 05:18 PM · starstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:Chai, Dancing, and a Friend in the Wee Hours of the Morning Chapter: Chai, Dancing, and a Surprise

Hey! Since I'm reading over all the entries for the prefects' challenge, I wanted to stop and review this.


Because, omg. OMFG. This was absolutely adorable.


As someone who likes to cook, I loved that aspect of the story - I'm not sure whether it's an ongoing feature of the Chai series or specific to this story (this is my first one, I think!), but either way, I loved it and you made my mouth water. The way you interspersed it with Hannah and Neville trying desperately to get the words out was so perfect, too - it's so hard to put yourself out there like that, even with someone you're dating and who you're pretty sure likes you. Their dynamic was really the best thing about this piece, too - the needling at each other over their houses was particularly amazing. "Gryffindork" + "imagine me naked" is one of the best ways to tease a person that I've ever read in a fic. :P



Amazing job - I absolutely adored this!



Author's Response:

Thanks for dropping by and reviewing! I imagine you're super busy, so it means a lot.

 

Thank you! I'm glad you enjoyed it! Adorable is what I aim for in this series!

 

Cooking is a central feature of the Chai series. I am rather enamored with the idea of cooking as a form of cultural expression - in theory, if not in personal practice :P - so I take every opportunity to showcase that through Hannah. One of the aims of the series is definitely to make people hungry! I love writing these two fumble and flounder through the everyday of a romantic relationship. It's a lot of fun. I'm pleased you enjoyed the dialogue, too!

 

Thanks for the wonderful review :)



Name: BellaLestrange87 (Signed) · Date: 28 Dec 2017 11:57 AM · starstarstarstarhalf-star [Report This]
Story:Chai, Dancing, and a Friend in the Wee Hours of the Morning Chapter: Chai, Dancing, and a Surprise

 

Hi there!

 

This was so cute and so happy and I have an enormous smile on my face right now as I read this.

 

I love the dynamic between Hannah and Neville. Their relationship is so cute and their banter is amazingly written (teach me your skills pls ;)). The dancing was perfect as well and I love the mirrored hesitation and nervousness at saying “I love you”; I think the paragraphs where they said it to each other's back right after the other were perfect.

 

I love how they cook together – it just makes me so happy. Also, Neville immediately picking up a gujia and burning his tongue on it made me laugh. It seems like a very Neville thing to do.

 

I really like how they awkwardly told each other their “I love yous” while cooking omelettes in the morning. I also really like your matter-of-fact description of how Hannah calmly waited until the omelette was back in the pan before reciprocating the statement; it contrasts nicely with how Hannah must have been feeling during that moment.

 

I really enjoyed this and I'll be back to read some more of your writing later!


~Olivia



Author's Response:

Yayayay! That's exactly what I wanted! Smiles and happiness to spring forth!

 

I'm glad the banter is good! I've written their relationship chronologically - until this story, so I was a little worried about getting the dialogue correct. The hesitation and nervousness was to demonstrate that these two are basically perfect for each other, and I hope they live happily ever after.

 

Neville burning his tongue is just one of my favourite things I've ever written. You're right - it is something very Neville!

 

The awkwardness is also part of their relationship. Considering the way Neville proposed, their respective "I love you"s were basically setting the precedent!

 

Thanks for the lovely review, Olivia :)



Name: manno-malfoy (Signed) · Date: 18 Dec 2017 04:34 AM · starstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:Chai, Dancing, and a Friend in the Wee Hours of the Morning Chapter: Chai, Dancing, and a Surprise

Hi there! I'm here for the winter wonderland event.

 

I was over the moon to hear that you're writing again and then flat out ecstatic when you published another Chai story about Neville and Hannah. I'm sure I've sung all sorts of praises regarding these two, but you never fail to elicit all sorts of emotions from me with your writing. There's something about the way that you manage to involve and depict so much of Hannah's culture and background into the story without making it overbearing. In fact, it's always interesting and enlightening. 

 

And I don't think I will ever get bored of reading about you making these two cook together. I don't know why, but I find it so sexy. It's like some kind of dance between the two of them, but even a little bit better than dancing before food is involved. I especially liked this one because a. I love palak paneer; it's one of my favourite Indian dishes and b. Where I come from we have a dessert just like the guija that they were making. We only make it during the month of Ramadan. It's exactly the same. We fill it with nuts and shredded coconuts or cream, fry it, then dip it in syrup. And now you've made me crave it and its season is 7 months away. But I'll forgive you because you've written this beautiful story and made my little shipper, food-loving heart flutter.



Author's Response:

Hello, again!

 

It feels good to be writing again, I must admit. I never "stopped" writing, but I totally did. When real life got super hectic, alas, I deprioritised writing, and I didn't realise how much I missed it until I finished this story.

 

I'm glad that I'm not info-dumping about Hannah's culture. It was especially difficult here, since I did want to explain quite a bit about Diwali.

 

Haha! That's good, because I guess I'm not bored of writing them cook together! I love writing them like this, because they find the joy and beauty in each other through the everyday. Palak paneer is great, everyone should rightfully love it :P Ramadan is still a few months away! Maybe you can reread the story just before Ramadan, to get you really hyped for gujia! Must admit, the extra dipping in syrup sounds delightful - and delightfully decadent.

 

Thanks so much for the wonderful review, Manno :)



Name: Crimson Quill (Signed) · Date: 12 Dec 2017 03:56 PM · [Report This]
Story:Chai, Dancing, and a Friend in the Wee Hours of the Morning Chapter: Chai, Dancing, and a Surprise

Hey!

 

So I recently reviewed that carrots story so I was so excited to see that this story was the follow on because I haven't yet read the others (I will, I will!) but I'm loving that I can review this one now without missing too much out.

 

I love that this story picks up with them dating for 8 months but still in this 'unsure' fresh stage of their relationship. I'm glad meeting Hannah's family went well for Neville. They are unbelievable cute, I love the dialogue between them because it always come off so naturally and believable you know? you have a very good flow which I think comes from knowing these characters as well as you do. It's obviously that you care very much about their story and shows in your writing.

 

I do really enjoy your writing because I feel like I learn more about cooking as I read. it's nice to feel more educate after I've finished one of these pieces! All the little details about cooking really add to realism in their relationship and interactions with each other. I adore the little details that the characters notice about each other like Neville says 'her dimples' because when you love someone everything about them seems a bit magical. I like their teasing with 'gryffindork' and that again silly little things that make up a friendship and then relationship. they know how to be comfortable with each other so important. Your writing captures the essence of this perfectly.

 

How could he have possibly stopped himself from falling head over heels in love with Hannah Abbott? If he lived a thousand years, he didn't think he'd find the answer. < this is the cutest line! my favourite, it just captures that crazy unexplained thing called love.

 

the ending with the nearly 'i love you' was basically the pure thing that I've ever read. I adore it, it was perfect for this pair of cuties. I just love how cute, innocent they are. they both have such beautiful intentions towards each other. I like the image of Neville blurted it out over Christmas. This piece was just gorgeous. <3

 

- Abbi xo 

 

 

 



Author's Response:

Haha, there's no pressure to read all the stories - yet *glares menacingly* :P Thanks for dropping in!

 

It was a very different experience writing these two feeling a little unsure about each other. On the other hand, I really got to write them all flirty and loving, since they're still in the first blush of their relationship. I'm pleased that you found the story flowed well - I struggled in parts in this piece, which is a little strange :P

 

Haha, if you ask anyone who knows me in RL, they'd be amazed that I can convincingly write a cooking scene! I don't particularly enjoy cooking, but I do seem to love writing it! For me, it's the little things about a person that make them wonderful, and I really wanted to show that for Neville and Hannah - the devil (or the love, as it were) was in the details.

 

That line may have been too much cheese, but neither I nor Neville care. I'm very pleased that you enjoyed it so much! It is one of my favourite declarations of love I've written, I think.

 

That ending took a while to appear from the aether, so I'm exceptionally happy that you liked it so much!

 

Thanks so much for the wonderful review, as always, Abbi!



Name: nott theodore (Signed) · Date: 10 Dec 2017 02:12 PM · [Report This]
Story:Chai, Dancing, and a Friend in the Wee Hours of the Morning Chapter: Chai, Dancing, and a Surprise

A NEW CHAI STORY!!!!

 

Ah, this made my little heart so happy.  Honestly, I think you could keep writing these stories about Neville and Hannah forever and you would just keep making people's days.  Just in case you need any more convincing :P

 

This was so perfect - I love the way that Neville and Hannah are together, and the fact that they just seem so sweet and perfect together.  It's so wonderful to read the way that their relationship is blossoming, and how natural they are.  They play off each other so well, and I love their flirty banter and the way that they tease each other; it's just a joy to read the two of them falling more in love with each other right there, as they talk and cook together, and try and work out how to tell each other that they love each other.

 

I don't think that 8 months is too early for either of them to say "I love you", but I think that the doubt is natural and the two of them are still feeling their way into the relationship and meeting all these landmarks together, and it's so sweet and adorable to read.  Kind of frustrating when the two of them mouth the words to each other's back, but I was so happy to read that ending and know that at Christmas they told each other properly <3

 

I also really loved the way that you flipped the narrative halfway through this story, just at that moment that we think Hannah's about to tell Neville she loves him, and his disappointment that she doesn't is so tangible and real - Hannah definitely doesn't need to worry about saying it at this point, even if she does.

 

I love the way that you've included Diwali in this piece - Hannah's enthusiasm and excitement for it is so believable, and I really enjoyed the fact that Neville spent it with her and her family, when it's so important to them.  It means so much that he's making so much of an effort to learn about the culture that means so much to her (and is slowly picking up on the food and cooking, too) and that they're sharing their special holidays.

 

The little detail about the magical tealights made me so happy - I love the idea of there being a magical version of the Diwali tealights and someone who's set up a business that caters for it in the wizarding world.  You manage to evoke Hannah's culture so strongly and vividly, and it's just such a pleasure to read a story which is so rich and beautiful.

 

(Also, I'm hungry.  Again.  It shouldn't be a surprise now because it usually happens after reading your Chai stories, but thank you very much for that :P)

 

Keep writing Neville and Hannah and Chai forever, please - and thank you for sharing another story about them with us!

 

Sian :)



Author's Response:

Yay! I am also very excited to have written a new Chai story. They bring me great joy. So I guess I don't need that much convincing to keep writing them, apparently :P

 

I tried really hard to show a sense of nervousness, despite how comfortable they are. Their romantic relationship is still relatively new, but on the other hand, they've been friends for quite some time, now - and that discounts the fact that they sort of knew each other when they were kids and teenagers. I've kept the flirting rather minimal in the other stories, so I really wanted it to be overt, here. They're enjoying learning each other!

 

Eight months isn't too early, in my opinion, as well. But DRAMA! :P

 

I played around a lot with how I wanted to end this story. When I planned it out, I hadn't  quite figured out the end, hoping that something would pop up naturally. After a few iterations, this is what I came up with! I'm glad you liked it. I'm trying to get better at building suspense and tension, even in fluffy, romantic stories, so this was a fun technique to try out.

 

I had the experience of teaching Diwali to my housemates this year, and whilst I didn't celebrate it with them, as such, just describing our traditions for the festival made me realise that a) not many people know all that much about non-Christian festivals if they don't celebrate them, in a way that's very different to people knowing what Christmas and Easter are about, regardless of personal celebration; and b) I really love Diwali! I wanted to share that joy with my readers, especially the exceptionally wonderful HPFT community, who have given me so much, in as natural a way as possible. Ultimately, this piece is a romance, but it stands out to me in this series because it's also celebrating a love for Diwali and the holiday season in general. I hope it wasn't too expository, which is always the danger when you're trying to set up something with which you know many people aren't familiar. It's another writing skill of mine that I'm trying to work on, since writing fanfic means that a lot of the exposition is already done for you. Like, I don't have to describe what a Gryffindor is to a reader - if you're reading HP fanfic, there's a good chance you already know what that all entails.

 

As long as I keep on making people hungry with these stories, I feel like it's a mission accomplished!

 

Thanks so much for this wonderful review, Sian. I got a little detailed in my reply - sorrynotsorry :P



Name: Stella Blue (Signed) · Date: 10 Dec 2017 01:30 AM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:Chai, Dancing, and a Friend in the Wee Hours of the Morning Chapter: Chai, Dancing, and a Surprise

OMG OMG I AM SO EXCITED FOR ANOTHER CHAI STORY YOU HAVE NO IDEA
well maybe you have an idea considering i just swarmed in here with capslock but I AM EXCITED

I absolutely adored this, and it's as magnificent as the rest of the series. This is everything I want from a fluff story. At the risk of sounding like a broken record, your writing of Neville and Hannah is my favourite I've seen anywhere, and the rich detail you put into each of these stories just makes it feel so alive. And, of course, after reading this I am once again very hungry. That gujia they were making sounded delicious. I love that Neville is catching on by this point and has learnt enough from Hannah that he knows what else to get out when he sees that fry pan, haha.

I also love that you chose to set this during Diwali, and Hannah's enthusiasm for this time of year is just infectious! I loved the scene with her dancing in the kitchen and Neville literally just falling in love with her right there. Like you can actually see the hearts in his eyes. I can't say I blame him. I love these two almost as much as they love each other.

Their flirty banter is as fun to read as always. Omg, is it possible for anything to be cuter than this? And then they whisper I love you to each other's backs. Aaaah!

Gryffindork. Ahahaha.

So yeah, I loved this, and I wish I had some of the food they made because it sounds amazing, and this story is amazing, and you are amazing. Thank you for writing another one of these, it totally made my day!



Author's Response:

Hahaha! I cannot believe how excited people are for this series! I am blushing right now.

 

I was worried that this one was a bit too fluffy. I love fluff, myself - the fluffier, the better. But there's usually something a little more serious in each story. In this one, I just wanted to celebrate the holiday spirit! I'm glad you enjoyed it :D And I am always exceptionally pleased with myself for making people hungry! My cooking skills are average, but I'm glad I make up for it in my writing :P

 

Gosh, I really loved writing that dancing scene. I've always written Hannah as being quite serious, with Neville being more of the sillier foil. But Diwali is the perfect excuse to dance around in your fancy lehenga to a bangin' Bollywood song, sometime past midnight. How could Neville resist, really? Heart eyes everywhere!

 

It took me a while to figure out how to get them to say "I love you" to each other without actually saying it. But I love writing these two dorks being dorks. I've been saving that Gryffindork for a while, now. I am excited to use it in other stories, too!

 

Thanks so much for this super wonderful review! Replying to it has brightened up my day significantly :)



Name: MuggleMaybe (Signed) · Date: 10 Dec 2017 01:17 AM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:Chai, Dancing, and a Friend in the Wee Hours of the Morning Chapter: Chai, Dancing, and a Surprise

AH, you have utterly made my night with this story! <3

 

Of course it is every bit as adorable as all the others. You could cut the sexual tension with a knife here though.... I was rather in favor of neville's proposition before they started cooking lol.

 

The descriptions of Diwali are really charismatic and beautiful. Also, I'm Jewish, and Hanukkah is also called the Festival of Lights, so that made me smile. :)

 

but mostly. omg, they are so cute. No one writes this ship better than you do, either. No one. Hannah's total swooning over him, the way she dances around. I think I have a crush on her myself! And their mutual love coupled with their mutual nerves is, as ever, a wining combination. Although I must admit, I do not think 8 months is early to say I love you? Especially not if you've nown each other since you were eleven. But i digress. 

 

They're adorable, regardless. You always pick just the right details.I love how in the first ones, neville is arather clueless about cooking, but now he knows how to help. it's so cute how he's learned that from hannah. I also enjoyed that hannah was still ale to be flirty and coy, lie with the burnt tongue. ust perfect.

 

Thank you for the gift of another chai story. HANNAH AND NEVILLE AND CHAI FOREVER <3333

 

xoxo Renee



Author's Response:

Thank you so much! I haven't written in a while, especially Hannah and Neville, so I'm pretty nervous about this one.

 

Haha, I'm trying to be a bit braver in my writing. I usually shy away from sexual tension, but I gave it a go here. I'm glad you enjoyed it!

 

It's amazing, isn't it? Two festivals from different religions celebrating light? I think several festivals around this time of year are like that.

 

Oh, gosh! That's high praise, indeed! There should just be more Neville and Hannah out there! And honestly, I think I have a crush on Hannah, too :P Eight months probably isn't too early, especially for these two - but nerves. And drama, of course!

 

Neville is a smart cookie - he was bound to pick up something eventually :P But it's been fun writing his cooking evolution.

 

Thanks so much for this wonderful review, Renee. Replying to it has made me smile all over again.



Submit a Review