Login
Reviews For After Life

Name: FlyAway (Anonymous) · Date: 27 Jun 2018 10:30 PM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:After Life Chapter: Denial.

I have made an error. I did not realize this story wasn't complete and I almost never start a story that isn't completed. What have I done? 

Please write soon! I am positively giddy with excitement over the ending to this chapter.



Name: RoxiMalfoy (Signed) · Date: 30 May 2018 10:14 PM · [Report This]
Story:After Life Chapter: Uneasy.

Hello again, Meg my love!! Back again with another review for Team Emerald!! (I know, 2 in one day, OMG!!!) =P

 

UGH!!!! What are you doing to me right now, Meg?!? My feels. I can’t handle this suspense!!! I just know you’re about to break my heart, you monster, you!!!

 

I love how everything started out so peaceful in this chapter, but then by the ending it was all so dark and tense. Your writing is just so unique and so effortless. I just love the way you can draw me in with all the little details and keep me on the edge of my seat the whole time. You really have a way of getting into your character's minds too, and you just get Hermione Granger SOOO freaking well here!! I totally get why Hermione is on edge; and she absolutely should be after everything she’s been through. It is totally understandable and absolutely unbelievable that she would have so much fear and anxiety walking through Hogwarts alone after the battle that took place there.

 

I liked that she took the time to write those quick little letters to Harry and Ron, but a part of me also died inside when I realized that this is probably going to be the last thing that she will ever say to them. And she promises in those letters that she will see them both during the first Hogsmeade visit, but we all know that’s a lie, now isn’t it!! *cough*evil*cough* And once they boys receive her letters and find out about what happens to her… It is going to destroy them!!! *cries* Meg, you are so evil!! How can you do this to me!?! I have too many emotions, Meg. Too many emotions… And her cat. OMG, that poor kitty!! To have finally found his master, only to be ripped away from her again all too soon? What kind of monster are you?? XD

 

JK, lol!! =P I know it totally has to happen sooner or later so that Snape and Hermione can meet in the After Life. But sheesh!! Couldn’t Hermione have died when she was like middle-aged or something? She’s still so young. She has so much life left to live, and so many more important things left to do in this world!!! *dramatic sigh* Ugh, and you just had to bring up Dobby (and Remus and Tonks too!) didn’t you? Poor Winky. It was nice to see Hermione visiting the House elves though.

 

And like, I love the added detail that Harry made sure Snape had a memorial service and saw to it that he got the proper honor that he deserved, but OMG Hermione, pay attention!!! EEEKK!!!! That ending tho. Holymoly, Meg, what are you doing to me right now?!? No, better yet, what are you doing to our Hermione?? She is too young to die!!! =(

 

~Deana ♥️



Name: RoxiMalfoy (Signed) · Date: 30 May 2018 10:10 PM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:After Life Chapter: Strange.

Hey Meg!! So I am FINALLY here to review this beautiful story of yours for the Slytherin Review Battle – Go Team Emerald!! Or course, you already know how much I love this fic, but I'mma tell you again anyways, lol!! (Plus I need to refresh my memory of this story for Book Club next month, so here we are!!) =P

 

I absolutely LOVE your Hermione. Honestly. She is flawless!! And I love how you've started this out with her returning to Hogwarts to finish out her schooling after the war – because of course she would have done just that. I also really liked all of the little details you included; such as all of the students who returned after fighting in the battle being able to see the Thestrals now, the detail about how the first years would never have suspected anything has happened there four months prior, and all of the other little gems that you added in about the castle as well.

 

I really liked the moment of reflection Hermione had about Snape in this chapter; how his noticeable absence from Hogwarts affected her, and how she felt sad for him that he had died thinking that everyone believed him to be a monster. I also felt that it was a really nice touch for Harry, Ron, and Hermione to tell the wizarding community what Snape had done to help them win the war and try to help clear his name. I also loved that the other professors kept his seat empty, that was such a nice detail to add in.

 

I also liked the idea that Snape challenged Hermione as a teacher. In fact, I think that might just be my new headcanon now, lol. Honestly, it just makes so much sense!! And, of course, Hermione was made Head Girl. Why wouldn’t she be? She was the perfect candidate, after all. Everything was falling so perfectly into place for Hermione and I just KNOW that something terrible is coming for her, you monster!! You’re going to make me cry, aren’t you. Yes, I know you are. You’re evil, Meg. Absolutely evil, lol!! XD

 

This was a GREAT first chapter, and it most definitely left me wanting MORE. Tbh, I could not stop reading!! I love it so much. This is my new favorite thing. Which I know you already know that by now, but I am here to officially tell you so in review form now, haha!!! Excellent job, as always darling!! ♥️♥️♥️

 

~Deana



Name: Nix (Signed) · Date: 03 May 2018 08:21 PM · [Report This]
Story:After Life Chapter: Denial.

Hello again, Meg! Finally back to read the latest chapter!

 

And what an interesting chapter! These people really do need to learn to knock. I'm not surprised Sirius tried to tell Hermione not to be friends with Severus, but I'm glad she stood her ground and didn't let him try and change her mind. I have to wonder a little if Sirius might fancy Hermione? But I don't know. Part of me believes Sirius belongs with Remus but in this he's still with Tonks. Although, don't think I didn't notice that remark about Sirius and Remus seeing like an old married couple! Speaking of Remus, I'm a little more surprised about him barging into Hermione's home shouting at Sirius. Seems unlike him. But it certainly made for a dramatic entrance and I do think Sirius and Remus are very cute in their banter with each other.

 

Also, I think it's so cute that Hermione respected Snape because he was only teacher to challenge her, and in turn Snape was annoyed by her, but also respected her, because she challenged him to teach her something she didn't know. That's adorable! And I loved in his inner monologue about her as he tried to walk through the village to clear his head of her, and ended up at her gate! 

 

And then she opens the door to see him! They're too cute. Why must they keep fighting it. I can't wait to read the next chapter once it's posted! This was great, Meg!

 

By the way congrats on your 3rd place in the F.R.O.G.S. for this story and congrats on being featured in the May Bulletin!

 

xxNix



Name: beyond the rain (Signed) · Date: 24 Apr 2018 04:44 PM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:After Life Chapter: Denial.

ahhh!!!!! 

 

I love that they're calling their attraction to each other 'interest'! Okay guys, whatever you need to do to make you feel better ;D 
This build up is great, I love the pace of this fic and I love how in denial these two are...I can't wait for it all to come to a head (maybe next chapter wink wink nudge nudge????).

 

I wonder what Severus will use as his excuse to see her??? Ah, I'm just super excited to see where this goes, as you can tell :P

I hope your muse is back for good, I'm really looking forward to where this will go!

 

Bex <3



Name: BBHP (Signed) · Date: 24 Apr 2018 04:00 PM · starstarstarstarhalf-star [Report This]
Story:After Life Chapter: Denial.

It was so great to find you’ve put your story over here. I was panicking at the thought of not being able to read more! But it was an excellent chapter and I’m really excited about where the story is going. 



Author's Response:

I’m so happy to see you here!! Yeah, I’ve been posting here since the archives opened. I’m actually a mod on the forums. :) But all of my stuff is here! No need to panic haha. 

 

I’m super thrilled that you enjoyed the chapter!! More will be coming, for sure! 

 

xoxo Meg 



Name: Nix (Signed) · Date: 22 Apr 2018 10:55 PM · [Report This]
Story:After Life Chapter: Accusatory.

Hello again! 

 

Well, I'm glad Lily approves of Hermione spending time with Severus becuase I think they're cute together, and he clearly Severus has feelings for her. But I was surprised Lily followed by immediately walking over to Severus' and banging on his door, lol. But I wish Severus wouldn't push Lily or Hermione away. Lily's kind of got a point, that Severus has a habit of wallowing in his self-hate and pity and refuses to let anyone else get too close to him, which is really sad. I wish he wouldn't do that and would allow Hermione to be a part of his life. I wonder what else Lily wanted to say before he forced her out of his home. I'm super curious to know how this continues so I'm super excited for these new chapters you're writing. Will be adding this story to my favorites in the meantime.

 

xxNix



Name: Nix (Signed) · Date: 22 Apr 2018 09:26 AM · [Report This]
Story:After Life Chapter: Shocking.

Hello again!

 

This was an interesting chapter. Although I thought Severus would tell her more things about the Afterlife. It was kind of weird that even though he didn't intend to bring her to the Forest of Lost Souls, he did. Although, it sounds like quite a scary place. It must be hell to be lost in a forest, never meeting anyone, never knowing what's happened to you, etc. I wonder if hearing Bellatrix's voice was just a coincidence, or was selectively chosen to lure Hermione in knowing it would affect her? And it's super weird, although I guess understandable, that Voldemort isn't in there and his soul literally just deteriorated into nothing that day...

 

But the ending to this chapter was super interesting. Hermione knows where Severus lives know and he knows where she lives, and he didn't say no to coming in, just said maybe another time. I definitely hope they see each other soon. I also wonder what Tonks thought about seeing Hermione with Severus and what she's going to say to everyone else...

 

Great chapter!

xxNix



Name: Nix (Signed) · Date: 21 Apr 2018 10:34 PM · [Report This]
Story:After Life Chapter: Unexpected.

Omg, I totally forgot about Regulus! But I like him, he seems like an interesting character! And we got to see Snape again! And he was a lot more fun in this chapter! It's really interesting how awkward Hermione and Snape are around each other. I do wonder what he was gonna say before Regulus interrupted them. And I'm quite curious to know what he's going to tell her on this walk. And what Regulus' reaction was to returning to an empty table! Sorry for the short review, but this was a great chapter and I really want to read on!

 

xxNix



Name: Nix (Signed) · Date: 21 Apr 2018 09:07 AM · [Report This]
Story:After Life Chapter: Alone.

Dumbledore smiles when she mentions Snape, I wonder what he's thinking... I also have to wonder if anyone did greet Snape when he died? Dumbledore probably. But what about Lily? Has she not spoken to him the entire time he's been there? I know he called her a Mudblood but he did secretly protect her son because he still loved her, and helped her son win the war. I think that deserves some sort of reuniting. It was also really sad that Fred and Sirius unknowingly ended up seeing her die like that, unable to help her but desperately wanting to. I'm glad they knew to be there when she arrived. 

 

Snape's thinking about Hermione, lol! Too bad it's mainly in contempt and disgust but it's a start, I guess. At least he does mourn the fact that she died so young, and by his own spell. 

 

It's interesting that Hermione never thought Snape was truly bad, that he was always on their side. Maybe because she paid more attention instead of blindly hating someone. I wonder if she will run into him again while visiting the shops.

 

Great chapter!

xxNix



Name: Nix (Signed) · Date: 19 Apr 2018 10:20 PM · [Report This]
Story:After Life Chapter: Surprised.

“We’re dead, Hermione. Not savages.” I loved this line, lol. Although, now I'm wondering if the dead can eat and drink like normal people. Maybe not because they physically need it but for comfort...

 

I'm really glad Hermione finally decided not to look in the fountain. It's too soon and she hasn't come to terms with her death yet. Of course, I can understand that she wants to see her parents. She probably hasn't seen them since before the war, since she never returned their memories of her. And of course she wants to know what happened to those boys who killed her and how all her friends are holding up after her death. 

 

Her meeting with Snape was very brief, but not far from my expectations. He looks younger but basically acts the same. I love how he just brushes her off. I think it was interesting how he felt pity for her for having died by his spell (while the pain of the Cruciatus is pretty unbearable, it seems like loss of blood from all the times they used Sectumsepra is the reason she died) but that he refused her gratitude for everything he did to help them win the war.  I'm really curious to see what happens next time she sees him.

 

Great chapter!

xxNix



Name: Nix (Signed) · Date: 19 Apr 2018 09:17 PM · [Report This]
Story:After Life Chapter: Incomplete.

Meg! Oh my gosh, this chapter had me crying a little bit. Literally.

 

Anyway, super interesting that in the afterlife, everyone is younger. Well, I suppose not everyone, but that people reflect the age of their prime. Young Dumbledore was definitely a surprise. And I'm sure it was super weird for Hermione to see Remus and Sirius as young men not much older than her, considering she only knew them in their later years. But where's Snape? Is he not included in this group? When/How does Hermione meet him? I'm so curious to know.

 

I really did cry a bit while reading this. I don't know why, the part where Hermione recognizes James because he looks almost exactly like Harry, and her thoughts of missing Harry, had me tearing up. It's a little heartwrenching to think who knows how long it will be before Hermione sees Harry and Ron again, when they've always been there for her for the past eight years of her life? 

 

But anyway, this was a great chapter, and I'm super excited to read on and find out about Snape!

xxNix



Name: Nix (Signed) · Date: 19 Apr 2018 08:44 PM · [Report This]
Story:After Life Chapter: Gone.

Back again! Hoping to get a good bit read tonight.

 

This I think was the most interesting chapter thus far. Although I'm super excited for Hermione to be reunited with everyone who died during the war. Your idea of the afterlife is so intriguing. I liked how you brought back the Veil, and even had Hermione try to use it to return to the living. But of course, it doesn't quite work like that. It's really curious that Hermione ended up in what looked like a Hogwarts classroom, although not entirely surprising. But it was weird that she'd been there for a couple weeks before waking, and how long was she really awake for before Lily arrived?

 

And I was super surprised about Lily being the one to greet her! And the whole thing about muggles going somewhere else is quite odd, I wonder where they go and is it as nice as the magical afterlife? But I did like that it was Lily who told her she'd never see her family again, because she is going through the same thing with them both being muggleborns. I thought the part about James being anxious to meet Hermione was super cute. I'm so glad Lily and him are happy to welcome her as part of their family when they'd never met in the Living world. I'm so curious to see what happens next.

 

Great chapter!

xxNix



Name: Nix (Signed) · Date: 19 Apr 2018 04:57 PM · [Report This]
Story:After Life Chapter: Frozen.

I love how Hermione does not back in this scenario. She stands her ground and keeps trying to get the upper hand of the situation, but she should have been paying better attention! Poor Hermione. Who was the blond boy? I was worried it was Draco, but she would obviously recognize him if it was, right? And I don't think she turned Lucius Malfoy's head into a baby's head... *researches* okay, so it was just an unnamed death eater, I think? Also, I guess since that happened in the 5th book... that kid's been holding a grudge for a few years now... why choose to off her now? Curious.

 

But, oh boy, that was not a good way to go. I can't even imagine what she must have been feeling, and to be frozen in place and unable to react while it's happening, that's just terrible. I was kind of hoping Crookshanks would somehow come save the day, but of course she locked him in her room... I really liked the ending where she's thinking about all the people she loves. That was really sweet, especially the bit about Crookshanks finding Luna, I really liked that (I love Luna). 

 

I really hope those boys get what they deserve though, and they deserve the worst.

xxNix



Name: Nix (Signed) · Date: 16 Apr 2018 11:51 PM · [Report This]
Story:After Life Chapter: Uneasy.

Oh, and this was such a nice chapter! No, really, it was. I loved that she found Crookshanks after thinking she had lost him forever. That was such a cute reunion. And I love that Harry made sure to give Snape the best memorial service and I was laughing along with Hermione at the thought of Snape’s reaction to such a thing. Who would be coming up behind her? Has this person been following her the whole night?

 

Guess I’ll just have to read on to find out...

xxNix



Name: Nix (Signed) · Date: 16 Apr 2018 08:00 PM · [Report This]
Story:After Life Chapter: Strange.

Hey Meg! Here to check out this story for the Story OTM nominations!

 

This is a really interesting premise so far. Obviously Hermione's not dead yet but I guess it won't be long before she is. I'm very curious to know how she dies, consdering the war is over and she's just returned to Hogwarts. Is it an accident? Is it on purpose? I really have no idea how it will play out. But it is very curious that Hermione takes this time to think about Snape. It doesn't seem that she ever much liked him, but I can understand that she probably liked being challenged, being pushed to do better, it must get boring when you already know everything a professor is teaching you and always praising you for knowing everything without trying to actually teach you something new. Maybe the reason Snape treated her that way was so she never got lazy or overly confident in herself, because she was always trying to one up herself. 

 

Very curious to read on, so expect more reviews from me! 

xxNix



Name: TreacleTart (Signed) · Date: 24 Feb 2018 10:59 AM · starstarstarstarhalf-star [Report This]
Story:After Life Chapter: Gone.

Hey Meg!

 

im here to drop off a review for you! TBH, I really debated long and hard before coming back to this story. After you broke my heart with the Crookshanks part, I didn’t know if I could handle it.

 

This is an interesting idea for the afterlife. I wonder what the reasoning is that Muggles can’t join them. That seems wildly unfair to muggleborns. Poor Hermione won’t ever see her family again.

 

I’m glad Lily was there to meet her. Like she said, if anyone understands, it’s her. She’d never be able to see her family again either. And of course, I’d expect her and James to take Hermione in. That seems fitting after everything she did to protect Harry.

 

The only burning question I have is, what happens to magical creatures when they die? Please, at least tell me that she’ll be reunited with Crookshanks someday.

 

Good writing as always my dear! 

 

-Kaitlin



Name: Felpata_Lupin (Signed) · Date: 08 Feb 2018 02:28 PM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:After Life Chapter: Incomplete.

Hey, Meg! I'm back again for our swap! :)

Ah, this was so bittersweet... I loved all the reunions and how everyone was so welcoming and happy to see Hermione again, even if they were all sorry for the cruel way she'd died... I especially loved James, his gratitude, the way they linked immediately. It was really sweet, even if a bit sad.

And seeing Sirius and Remus finally free from all their suffering, from all traces of Azkaban and lycanthropy... they deserve that happiness. It's just so sad that they couldn't have it in life.

It is so strange to imagine a village, with shops and everything, in heaven, but it's interesting, too. I love Hermione's stupor at everything going on around her, it's very understandable. I also love the idea that everyone would have their dream home waiting for them, and of course Hermione's would be filled with books. :P I love it!

And I guess it must have been so shocking to see Dumbledore so young... I bet she will take a while to get used to it... :P

Poor Hermione, there is so much she needs to take in, of course she would feel incomplete right now, having to leave behind all her life and many dear people that she won't ever see again. It is really sad. :(

This is another great chapter! I'll try to come back soon!

Lots of love, darling!

Chiara



Name: Felpata_Lupin (Signed) · Date: 06 Feb 2018 04:41 PM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:After Life Chapter: Gone.

Meg! Here for our swap, my love! :)

Poor Hermione... this is so cruel... the idea that she will never see her parents again... it's so heartbreaking... :(

I loved that Lily was there, though. And I think it's nice that she could explain it to her. I do think that she needed someone who could relate in that moment. Also, Lily seems so sweet... she would have been such a wonderful mother if she got the chance... why do you have to make me sad, Meg? This is not nice, not even a little bit!

I love the idea that Hermione's... would you call it limbo? looked like a Hogwarts' classroom, it's really so fitting. I also really adored your description of heaven, it was just beautiful and, while I can't say that I have an idea of heaven, it does feel like how I would imagine it. And I really can't wait for Hermione to meet everyone and see how their reunion will go. It'll be nice to see the Marauders again, I love the idea of them being happy together again. Btw, I loved Lily's reaction at being called Mrs Potter. :P

And of course I'm curious to see how meeting Snape will go and what will happen between them... there is so much I'm curious about, so I guess I will have to keep reading? Not now, though. It's almost midnight and I should really head to bed...

I really loved this chapter. Your descriptions were just lovely and I could feel all Hermione's emotions so strongly, the grief, the fear, the stupor, everything. You are such a great writer (I know I tell you all the time, it's just the truth)

Thank you so much again for swapping!

Snowball hug,

Chiara



Name: Stella Blue (Signed) · Date: 05 Feb 2018 02:16 PM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:After Life Chapter: Incomplete.

Hi Meg! It had been a little while since I left you a review so I'm back to read more of this!

 

The idea of everyone in the afterlife appearing the age of when they were in their 'prime' is so interesting - how is one's prime determined? It's just such an interesting idea to think about, and how for everyone she sees, it appears to be their youth/young adulthood? Does the afterlife make a distinction between physical prime and mental prime? (because you get smarter - usually - as you get older)? Or is it when they were the happiest in their life? Am I thinking too much about this? (Yes.) I'm sorry about this philosophical tangent, but I like that your story made me wonder about it!

 

Hermione's home in the afterlife is basically a library with comfy chairs. It is literal heaven. XD Your descriptions are wonderful, btw. I can envision the whole place so clearly.

 

I love how you describe the way anxiety feels different now that she's not alive, and the fact that she doesn't sweat or have a heartbeat, she just feels different. I'd never really considered that and I love how you've thought of everything.

 

Omg Remus being so happy about being freed from his lycanthropy and Sirius being free of all the horrible things that happened to him in his life is breaking my heart it's so bittersweet.

 

It must be so weird for Hermione to have to call Dumbledore 'Albus'. But it makes sense and I love the point he makes about how everyone is equal in death. I like that. I'm so curious to see more of your version of the afterlife as it's so well thought out and just so interesting.

 

That, even though she was surrounded by people who loved and cared for her, a large piece of her would always have felt incomplete. -- :'( This is still so sad and I'm so upset that wizards have their own afterlife. It makes me so sad on behalf of all the people whose families are mixed. I'm really hoping Hermione's activist side kicks in and she's able to do something about it XD

 

Great chapter!! ♥



Name: Felpata_Lupin (Signed) · Date: 28 Jan 2018 02:05 AM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:After Life Chapter: Frozen.

Oh, Merlin! This was so awful! Not that I didn't expect it, since I knew this was bound to happen according to the story summary, still...

Hermione, why didn't you just Stun the boy when you had the occasion? I'm not sure if that would have helped, actually, since she hadn't noticed the second boy hiding there, but still... she should have acted instead of keep talking... okay, sorry, I'm rambling uselessly, just for a change...

Of course there would be children of Death Eaters seeking revenge, I'm not at all surprised. What they did to her was terrible, but it doesn't really surprise me either. I sort of hoped for the all time, even if I knew that it wouldn't happen, that someone would actually step into them... I still hope they will be identified and punished for it.

Her last thoughts about all the people she was leaving behind and how they would react and her hopes for them... so sad... and I'm actually thinking about how heartbroken they all will be... how shocking it will be for anyone who'll find her body the next day... so sad... :(

I guess I'll leave you now, but I'll try to remember to come back to the story sometime.

Love you,

Chiara



Name: Felpata_Lupin (Signed) · Date: 28 Jan 2018 01:38 AM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:After Life Chapter: Uneasy.

Oh, no! Something bad is going to happen, isn't it? Why a cliffhanger? Don't you know I hate cliffhangers?

Once again you wrote Hermione's tension and anxiety so well, her weariness as she crossed Hogwarts' corridors alone was so believable and so well done. I could really feel the tension and I could totally figure her stopping dead in her steps at every rumour or light trick. I guess it's natural, after a year on the run.

And you saddened me with reminders of Remus and Tonks, and then Dobby... you are cruel, you know that? (I love you anyway) But then you made me smile with Crookshanks. That was so sweet, seeing them reunited! Loved that passage!

Guess I'll have to read on and see what's going on, right?

Great job for now (as always),

Chiara



Name: Felpata_Lupin (Signed) · Date: 28 Jan 2018 01:13 AM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:After Life Chapter: Strange.

Hello, my dear Meg! I'm here to check out FROGS nominees! :)

It must really be strange... going back to Hogwarts, after everything that has happened, crossing those corridors that have once been home but that now represent fear, death, mourning... you wrote it all so well, Hermione's thoughts were so poignant, everyone's reactions at things like the Thestrals so believable.

Her thoughts about Snape were interesting. I have to confess, I'm not the biggest fan of Snamione/Snape in general (I think I've told you this already?) and it felt a bit strange (okay, this was unintentional...) to me that she would think about his absence so much. Sure, he did turn out to work for the bright side all along in the end; sure. he was probably the Professor who would push her the most to her limits; but he was also the one who didn't lose an occasion to make nasty comments mistreat his students. Or at least that's how I see it... but I'm going to follow you here and not complain too much, because I know you have a great story wrapped up for me :P

(Side note: while I'm not Snape's biggest fan, I do agree that it's sad how the people who should have been his allies (friends is maybe a bit too much?) believed him a traitor and a monster for so long. He is such a lonely and tragic character and I do feel bad for him for it...)

Moving to the next chapter now. :)

Lots of love,

Chiara



Name: Aphoride (Signed) · Date: 10 Jan 2018 02:04 PM · [Report This]
Story:After Life Chapter: Strange.

Hey there, Meg! Dropping by for our review swap (a bit later than intended - sorry! The internet in this flat isn't great, tbh :/)! 

 

So I've seen this around a couple of times, I think, and I'm always intrigued by afterlife fics, so I just had to stop by! 

 

And, honestly, this was so interesting a start! I love that you've started it with this semi-prologue-esque chapter, with Hermione going back to Hogwarts without Harry and Ron, with all of the changes that brings: dealing with the aftermath of the war in all the little ways you wouldn't necessarily think about, like the fallen rubble and blocked corridors, the suddenly visible Thestrals, the loss of faces she was so used to seeing up there. You made me realise that Hermione and the Trio in whole would never have seen a head table without Snape, and only one or two without Dumbledore... and that must be so, so strange - it must almost make the absence more obvious, you know, when you only have so few people missing.

 

I love the way you deal with Hermione dealing with the war - it's only been months since it ended, so it stands to reason that it's gonna still be effecting people in ways they don't know about, or they're still discovering. All the little details, like Ginny nearly crying, all the other students staring or whispering to each other, Luna being so strong and so calm, so much the voice of sympathy and advice - which is a lovely but so in character turn from her being the whimsical, odd voice. It added so much weight to this, yk, which I loved. 

 

As always, your writing in this was lovely. You have such a great style and such a natural, easy way of writing - it reads like you just sat down and wrote it in one go without stopping, and it's so so good :) 

 

I gotta say, I'm so so curious about what happens to Hermione now - we already know she dies so how? I'm assuming it's gonna happen in a chapter or two because she can't hang around on earth forever if the story is about her in the afterlife :P You're so good at the beginnings of stories, I swear - every first chapter I've read of yours is unbelievably gripping :P 

 

This was a great start and I'm definitely gonna try and be back! :) 

 

Aph xx



Name: TidalDragon (Signed) · Date: 01 Jan 2018 12:38 AM · starstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:After Life Chapter: Strange.

Howdy Meg! It has been too long!

 

As you know, Snamione is not my favorite, but I know this is a big new project for you and I'm always intrigued to see where you take things so when my quest into the recents began, I stopped here. I like right off the bat that you're doing a different take than time travel this go 'round! Romance from beyond, along with the return of some other beloved characters, will surely be intriguing.

 

In light of the summary, I also like how you build this up. It opens a lot of angles for meaning of Hermione's death being unexpected both in the establishment of the relative mundane and the allusions to Hermione possibly suffering from PTSD. The statements about her safety, accompanied by these things and the summary also seem more ominous.

 

On a less plot-centric level, I also thought you portrayed the return to Hogwarts in a good light from Hermione's perspective. She's weary and nervous, but even in that there's an anticipation and sense of security - including in her studies - and yet it's unavoidable that so much has changed. I think the intellectual hook is a good one to set for the Snamione endgame, though I do wonder if the connection just from a language perspective of loving and thriving off of Snape's challenge in particular is a bit far for now, even knowing what they know. Shrug.

 

All in all an enjoyable read and a very well-written beginning for what this story promises to be!

 

Thanks for sharing this with us, Meg!



Submit a Review