Login
Reviews For Spectrum

Name: Unwritten Curse (Signed) · Date: 17 May 2018 05:36 PM · [Report This]
Story:Spectrum Chapter: Chapter 1

Back for the Gryffie Review Tag and OMG DRAMIONE I LOVE YOU FOR WRITING THIS THANK YOU.

 

Clearly, I'm a huge Dramione fan.

 

Okay, Gina, focus.

 

First, I really liked the echoing refrain of opposites. "Mudblood, Death Eater." "Slytherin, Gryffindor." It was a cool set-up, because that's exactly how the world views them. In black and white. The world sees these labels and imagines that they could never work together BUT THEY CAN BECAUSE DRAMIONE IS LIFE. *ahem*

 

Second, CAN YOU PLEASE WRITE MORE? You write about their relationship so... gosh, I don't even have a word for it. It just feels right. That they both have pasts and they have to overcome them. I liked the notion of forgiveness, and moving forward, and learning to find each other in shades of gray. I would love to see a longer piece from you. No pressure or anything. Just... gah this is good.

 

YAY DRAMIONE!



Name: Pixileanin (Signed) · Date: 10 May 2018 06:37 PM · [Report This]
Story:Spectrum Chapter: Chapter 1

 

Hi there.  Tag!

You have some interesting parallels that Draco draws in this story.  I can tell that he's definitely smitten by this girl, and that they share a very strong bond.  It would make sense that they spent time discussing their past and probably how it shaped them to be the people who they are now.  Sometimes it's hard to distance yourself from the person you used to be, but I feel like the way you wrote these two, they are doing a decent job of it.  

 

I like to think that Draco gets some peace after the war.  He went through an awful lot of horrible things in his young life, and we all know that most of it wasn't his fault.  I'd like to hope that he ends up with someone who is supportive and helps him move through to the next phase in his life, like these two are doing in your story.

 

Pix

 



Name: manno-malfoy (Signed) · Date: 19 Dec 2017 11:52 PM · starstarstarstarhalf-star [Report This]
Story:Spectrum Chapter: Chapter 1

You know what this comes of as? The perfect wedding vows or like wedding speech. It sounds like history but also like promise of all else to come. (Or maybe it's the small part of my heart that still ships Dramione projecting things onto your story.) But in any case, I mean this is a compliment because it's just so romantic. It delves into all the reasons they should be together, interrupted by all the reasons and obstacles that should have gotten in the way of that, showing how their love has surmouted all of it.

 

I always wonder if Hermione would be too idealistic to forgive someone like Draco, or if her logic and sentiments would triumph and as you've made it happen here, make her not judge someone for choices that might have not completely been his own (which still doesn't mean that he doesn't deserve his fair share of the blame). But if they're gonna be doing the most romantic thing in the world as you've describe it in my favourite line in the story -- "They discussed it at length, long into the star studded nights, curled up in bed when their thoughts would turn to literature, arts and philosophy. They didn't have all the answers but it didn't matter..."-- then I suppose I can only approve of Hermione doing the latter. 

 

 

 



Name: StarFeather (Signed) · Date: 19 Dec 2017 10:30 PM · starstarstarstarhalf-star [Report This]
Story:Spectrum Chapter: Chapter 1

Hi, Abbie. This work is so different from the other works you wrote in the past. It's so impressive and comfortable for reading aloud that I remembered a poem W.B.Yeats who wrote a man's heartbreaking experience. It's rhythmic for reading, at the same time you portrayed their world POV, good and evil that I guess the common theme for Draimione writers. They had to go through the war  in such a young age at that time, at the both sides, the Death Eaters and the Order of Phoenix. 

All words are beautifully written in sequence and very picturesque, not only angst or struggles but also their caring each is written in this short one-shot. The first half is written for their hardship in severe mood and the latter half is written in a calm and warm mood. I enjoyed the contrast.

Great work!

 

K



Name: Rumpelstiltskin (Signed) · Date: 04 Dec 2017 09:54 PM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:Spectrum Chapter: Chapter 1

Hello!

 

A comparison of Draco and Hermione? Beautiful! I love it!  Perhaps the thing I love the most about this is the parallels you're drawing to the dichotomy of good versus evil. And I love that the differences are what brings them together in similarity. 

 

Comparing their branding in the past that they wouldn't let define them is genius and I've never really considered this concept before. Hermione was branded by Bellatrix a Mudblood, Draco branded by the Dark Lord as a Death Eater, and both of those things are unwanted...both rejected. 

 

It's very sad that, although the end of the war was meant to be the chance to start over, that Draco could not live down becoming a Death Eater and it's also very sad that Hermione didn't thrive as she should have after the war. However, it is so very lucky that chance brought these two broken back together in their time at the bottom. 

 

And I love that Draco is making strides to do things differently this time and Hermione had forgiven him for his past. 

 

Then, swinging right back around to the dichotomy of good versus evil, I really appreciate you addressed the grey areas, the layers that make a person. And I adore this take on Draco and Hermione!

 

-Rumpels



Name: Stella Blue (Signed) · Date: 02 Dec 2017 08:43 PM · [Report This]
Story:Spectrum Chapter: Chapter 1

Saw you'd left a review for me - thank you so much! I'm here to return the favor :) I remember really liking the other stories I'd read by you so I'm looking forward to this.

 

For a first attempt writing dramione this was wonderful - it didn't feel like your first attempt at this ship at all! I really liked the way you drew connections between these two very opposite people. Like the bit about 'Mudblood, Death eater' - this is great because the labels both have these negative connotations to different people, and for Draco and Hermione, these labels that once used to put them on completely opposite sides have ceased to define who they are as they gave one another a second chance after the war, and I think that's really nice.

 

I'm curious what happened to Hermione, with the mention of 'corruption and broken friendship' - that's very sad. But I think it's very realistic that if she were in such a low place after the war, that would leave doors open to strike a friendship with someone else who's struggling to rebuild after the war. Misery loves company, as they say, and as they're both at low points they help each other, and I think that's realistic. I think it's also realistic that Draco has trouble reconciling with who he was in the past, and it's lovely that Hermione's forgiveness helped him learn to forgive himself.

 

In addition to the things they were struggling with I think it also makes sense that they bonded over literature and academic things. This seems like the sort of things that would interest Hermione, obviously, but I can also see Draco being a bit of an academic as well. I imagine he was pushed to succeed by his parents and was probably a good student, though we never really know any of this from the books, I see him this way in my headcanon.

 

One of my favourite lines is the one at the end about how rather than seeing the world in black and white they see a blended grey, because the world really isn't black and white. It is grey, and I love that by being from different ends of a spectrum they begin to see and apreciate the grey as well. What a lovely piece! Great writing.



Name: Dojh167 (Signed) · Date: 02 Dec 2017 09:25 AM · [Report This]
Story:Spectrum Chapter: Chapter 1

Hello!

 

Dramione is of course a very common pairing, but it’s new to you in writing this story, which kind of makes it a special treat to read =)

 

Just from looking at the layout, I like how you formatted this story. The big paragraphs with short emphatic phrases before feels almost poetic in structure.

 

At the same time, that structure left me a little uncertain. The two word lines broke up the flow so much that I expected the new paragraphs to be a change in perspective or setting, and had to get my bearings a bit when a new one started.

 

She second and third big paragraphs cover a ton, seeming to sum up a lot of material, but at the same time keeping it vague. We don’t get the details, but more the emotional significance of them.

 

Your description of the way Hermione says his name is really lovely.

 

I like how Draco and Hermione seem to bond over intellectual and philosophical things. Those are of course things that greatly appeal to Hermione, but I think Draco would enjoy them too, and it’s a good common ground for them.

 

Nice little story!

 

Sam.



Name: dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap (Signed) · Date: 10 Sep 2017 06:47 PM · starstarstarhalf-star [Report This]
Story:Spectrum Chapter: Chapter 1
The hand so dainty, like it was made of fine porcelain, but with a grip so strong that it never let go.

I really liked the way you opened this. I have such a short attention span these days I've had trouble reading just about anything but this hooked me in right away. The imagery 
Nearly broken, she still shined. 

UH. Pulling at the heart strings. I think what's great about this section--besides that line--is that war really doesn't discriminate and I think people tend to forget that. Draco took this side and I'm sure at first he thought, as did all the Death Eaters, that they would come out on top and that would be it because they don't have an understanding of failure. They, heck, he, was used to being on top too but once you reach the top the only place you can go is down. I guess you could argue and say Harry's side thought they could win too. That they would prevail but at the end of the day they all lost because people was lost on both sides and freedom was lost on another. 
She loved that about him, they guided each other on the tricky road to being the best people they could be. 

Isn't that what love is about? Isn't that what life is about? 
I think this is a good story. Though vague, you kind of captured the essence of their relationship and how/why and in what kind of world the two of them could get together. I really could feel Draco's sense of doubt, emotion and sorrowful attitude in this. Though I could never logically see Draco and Hermione together I think if it happened and if given the chance the two of them could really guide each other. Hermione isn't perfect either and as Draco grew into a better person I'd like to think he taught her something too. 
Wonderful story! Ooo and I really liked this line "but they thought of themselves as a perfectly blended shade of grey" worked so well with the line before it "wrapped up together in each other's arms" just painted such a vivid black and white sort of photograph in my head of this intimate setting. 


Name: Alexis Black (Signed) · Date: 10 Sep 2017 04:58 PM · [Report This]
Story:Spectrum Chapter: Chapter 1
A tale as old as … well, maybe Hogwarts. Shakespeare might have had Romeo and Juliet, but he has nothing on the pairing of Draco and Hermione when written well (and this was!)

This was simply lovely! I love how you started with them holding hands, and noting how the past had branded them both. Truly it had - he bore the Dark Mark and (at least in the movies) she had Bellatrx to thank for the marking on her arm. Honestly I think this is one point in which the films might have surpassed the books. Be that as it may, it’s courtesy of the movie that the image that came to mind when I read “Mudblood, Deatheater” was Hermione and Draco both bearing those scars.

I am curious about what happened to Hermione, though. While the new world had it in for Draco based on his past, you state Hermione had it all before reality crushed her. Plus what’s this about corruption and broken friendships? So intriguing!

Gryffindor and Slytherin “ I like to think this is what might have been had Lily and Severus not ended up at odds. And that good and evil were abstract concepts “ it’s remarkable and sweet and just underscores the changes they’ve obviously gone through.

While you keep this short and sweet and perfect, I would have loved to have read Hermione’s perspective. Otherwise, this certain hits the Draco/Hermione fix I was needing!

~Alexis


Name: Felpata_Lupin (Signed) · Date: 07 Sep 2017 07:02 AM · starstarstarstarhalf-star [Report This]
Story:Spectrum Chapter: Chapter 1

Hey, Abbi! I'm here for our swap! :)

You need to keep writing, honey, or I'll run out of things to read by you... :P

This was so lovely, as usual! I love how emotional your writing always is and this is not exception. I've never been much of a Dramione shipper but I do love them here!

"a death eater, or maybe just a boy who made too many mistakes" I love this. It's something that always struck me so hard, about both wizarding wars, how young most of the people who fought in them were... little more than children, asked to face things so much bigger than them, to make decisions that full adults wouldn't be able to make... and Draco is definitely an example of it. It's so sad.

And on the other side there is Hermione, with her morality and her strenght and her wiseness. Hermione who isn't scared to give him and herself a second chance, who can recognize his efforts to change, to become better. Hermione who's been betrayed by a world that promised new hope but didn't keep it.

It makes so much sense for them to find support in each other and you can't help but love them together. I also loved that they would talk philosophy and arts,  because it's something I can totally imagine if they were a couple.

I also loved the structure, the paragraphs separated by the opposing words, it's so clever.

I have to go now... but I really loved this. Thank you for the swap and for another awesome story. You are so talented, Abbi!

So much love and snowball hug,

Chiara



Submit a Review