Login
Reviews For When Dahlias Bloom

Name: Stella Blue (Signed) · Date: 30 Jan 2018 11:57 PM · [Report This]
Story:When Dahlias Bloom Chapter: FOUR: You Are Not Broken

So, I don't know if Dahlia ever mentioned it in 2.6A, but during the few chapters I read of that, and the beginning of this fic, I had kind of assumed that Dahlia was either ace or demisexual. (Now I see that's in the story tags, but I hadn't paid attention to those at first) So this revelation that she's not attracted to anyone doesn't come out of nowhere, it feels like all these pieces are just sliding into place, it perfectly makes sense with how you've written her character since the beginning. Your characterisation is incredibly consistent.

 

Alice being confused by the internet's suggested search box was amusing :P I love how supportive and encouraging she is throughout everything. She's such a good friend. (Whatever Dahlia says against that later :P )

 

You are not broken. --  Aw. So many feels when Dahlia tells herself this after seeing all the search results.

 

I want the Mayfair Mysteries to be real. I would so read them. But anyway, this interaction between James and Dahlia went a lot better than any of the previous ones, and it's nice to see what he's actually like when he's not sobbing over a bowl of ice cream or drunkenly propositioning Dahlia. I love the mention that of course he's an avid reader because his Aunt Hermione lived next door XD One thing can be said for James Potter though and that is that he seems to have good taste in literature. And her going on about how she was surprised he could read because he's a Gryffindor cracked me up. I think they are on the cusp of actually becoming friends, and I like that.

 

I'm so glad I jumped into reading this story today - I absolutely love it. This is a good reminder for me to finish Dormitory 2.6a, and I'l also be favoriting this! As always you write such vibrant characters and your writing style is just so fun to read. I like that you can combine silly and serious into one fic and have it work out so flawlessly. I'm so absorbed in this story and can't wait to read more when it's posted! Good luck in the FROGS!



Name: Stella Blue (Signed) · Date: 30 Jan 2018 11:04 PM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:When Dahlias Bloom Chapter: THREE: Hell Hath No Fury

Omg their meal sounds heavenly. I feel hungry reading about it and I literally just ate lunch, like ten minutes ago. Anyway, I adore the way these girls interact. Most of all I love that all six of them make time to meet up every week and cook breakfast - that's so lovely. It is often really difficult to maintain friendships after graduating school so I love that they do this. <3

 

I am thoroughly amused by Alice and Dahlia's plan to rule the world and have an all-female state XD If Dahlia ruled the world, it would probably look a lot like the first ten minutes of Wonder Woman. Not that I'd be complaining.

 

I  relate so hard to how they don't feel like proper adults yet and tease Cass over having a house and a job that's Important. The wizarding world expects people to decide their future so early, and it makes a lot of sense to me that only one of the six would have actually figured it out.

 

Re: running into the Potters - this scene was delightfully awkward. Though what Nova is doing cuddling with Albus right after they broke up, I don't know. They need to talk. I also have a feeling that after Dahlia Apparated away, there was much gossip to be had regarding the bits of conversation the other five girls heard between her and James :P

 

Yes! I am 10000% here for this discussion of dismantling patriarchy and how the patriarchy is especially toxic to women of color. I really appreciate seeing issues as real as this one in fanfic. As much as I wish that this issue did not exist and that the world wasn't this way, but it is, and I like that you address it here.

 

Once again you're at it with the food descriptions, the meal Dahlia's mum made sounds AMAZING.

 

From the minute Auntie Supriya walks in I can tell why Dahlia doesn't like her. Criticizing the feast that, as previously noted, sounds amazing? How dare she. AND it only gets worse from there. I am so furious on Dahlia's behalf, that she had to sit through all of this, being told what to do with her clothes and with her body and that she has to get married and have kids, as if that's the only thing that determines her worth, and that she's too old for this and not pale enough for that. Girls hear so much about how they're too this or not enough that. And just the sheer narrow-mindedness of her aunt and how she refuses to accept that what Dahlia wants for herself isn't what Supriya wants for Dahlia, and trying to force her into boxes instead of allowing her to make her own choices about her own life. My heart hurts. Mostly because I know it's so real for a lot of people, and so much of the world has these horrible beauty standards of paler being regarded as prettier, and so many young girls are conditioned from an early age to think that their best quality is their looks and that they are not as important as men. It's just so real. I can't blame Dahlia for being as rude as she was, because imho, what her aunt said is simply inexcusable. I'm so furious.

 

I appreciated Dahlia's siblings sticking up for her, though. Omg, this was such a big chapter emotionally and I know there's going to be some big repercussions regarding how the conversation with her aunt ended. Consider me officially addicted to this story.



Name: Stella Blue (Signed) · Date: 30 Jan 2018 09:28 PM · [Report This]
Story:When Dahlias Bloom Chapter: TWO: Love, Lust and a Louispalooza

I enjoy this chapter already and all I've read is the title. What even. XD

 

Ugh this customer who refuses to listen to Dahlia and only concedes when Teddy says the same thing. I'm so impressed with Dahlia for not screaming/smashing her face against the counter - it must have taken so much willpower. At least Teddy seems to be a great (and very tolerant) boss.

 

Ugh James called her sweetheart yeah I'd be irritated too. What a day. I hope the rest of Dahlia's day is literally just nice people who don't bother her, she deserves it after the past two people.

 

I'm caught up on the fact that they have nebula-flavoured ice cream. It sounds amazing only because it makes me think of space and I bet each scoop looks like those pictures the Hubble space telescope takes, but I can't imagine what it would taste like. Please elaborate. :P

 

The conversation between lovesick James and cynical Dahlia was very entertaining. I particularly loved her line about flies living longer than their relationship XD And it's kind of amazing how she manages to lift his spirits a little despite being so matter-of-fact and borderline rude (thankfully he doesn't seem to mind). But most of all she has some pretty intelligent insight on how relationships and love are supposed to work. I think under all the layers of snark she's actually a bit of a softie, though she'd hate it if anyone said so :P (Also omg how ridiculous is James though? Two months? Just because it's the longest relationship he's ever had, I guess)

 

I love that Dahlia goes to a bookstore to calm down after work, she is a woman after my own heart. And I loved the goofy scene of her and Alice - the extent of how weird they are with one another really illustrates how close they are. And, of course, it was nice to see Dahlia getting some friend time after all the BS she had to deal with during the day.

 

It seemed every book nowadays starred female characters with quirky names who had to save the world but were easily distracted by two boys with equally quirky names who were vying for her eternal love. -- Woah, you're right. Isn't this the plot of the Hunger Games? XD

 

The end with the reappearanc of James was a delightful combination of irritating and perfect. James is irritating, and so entitled, and while his drunk realizations are sad as he's figured out that he was wrong about his relationship, he's a mess. Dahlia doesn't need a reason for not wanting to hook up with him. She just doesn't want to, that should be enough of a reason! I love how well Dahlia stands her ground. Yasss my girl. And, I loved how after James' Dramatic Declaration at the end, she's just like, Nah. I feel like this scene smashed up some tropes and I loved it. A+. Also, I have the headcanon that James II is a writer and so I was really excited to see that he is one in this fic!

 

This was another great chapter! Ahh, I love this fic so far.



Name: Stella Blue (Signed) · Date: 30 Jan 2018 08:33 PM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:When Dahlias Bloom Chapter: ONE: A Seed In the Vegetable Patch

Hi Plums! Sooo, I admit I haven't actually finished Dormitory 2.6A yet *hides* but voting time for the FROGS is approaching its end and I want to read and review everything. So I'm jumping in right here. I have, at least, read enough of Dormitory 2.6A to know who Dahlia and Nova are, so I'm not entirely lost. And actually, despite starting on the sequel after not having read the entirety of the story that came before it, I don't feel lost at all and this story does seem to be able to stand on its own quite well, so regarding your A/N in the beginning - you've got nothing to worry about :)

 

I relate SO MUCH to Dahlia having to deal with irritating customers and wishing she could tell them to drown in their coffee. (I never worked a food service job but I did do customer service/retail, and omg it takes so much patience sometimes and there's days you want to cry.) Seeing Dahlia working a job like this in the first place is pretty funny, because it's such a bad fit for her XD But hey - when you're a young adult and you have to pay bills and stuff, you've got to have a job. I hope she finds something else soon, for the sake of her sanity.

 

Random musing: I really want The K to meet Gilderoy Lockhart and then I want to be a fly on the wall and just see what happens. Assuming of course that one room can actually contain that much ego.

 

So, Al and Nova aren't together anymore. I may be the only reader who is not actually upset at you about this because I haven't read to the point where they actually got together XD But, I do really like that you did this because it seems kind of common in the Potterverse for people to meet their true love when they're a teenager and then stay together with them for the rest of their lives. And... well, this just doesn't happen in real life. I think the way you wrote the end of Novus was very realistic and so I appreciated that. I did like that scene when she came into the cafe though, because Dahlia needed to get rid of The K, and Nova needed someone to talk to, even if she won't say much aside from that she is 'fine'. Their conversation is heartbreaking, though. Poor Nova.

 

Omg I adore Dahlia's family. So much. Her little brother is the most adorable person to ever exist on this planet, and I just love the way you show the affection in the family even though everyone is arguing and yelling at one another XD She and her sister crack me up as well, how they fight over absolutely nothing. But it's obvious how much they love each other. I am so excited to read more about this family because they just fill my heart with joy.

 

I loved this first chapter! And the ending is perfect, I don't know why you don't like it. Reading on!



Name: justawillowtree (Signed) · Date: 28 Jan 2018 10:59 PM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:When Dahlias Bloom Chapter: FOUR: You Are Not Broken

(Your author's note, omg. I love BTS so much. I've wasted like five million hours of my life just watching the randomest junk about them, I don't even know why I do this to myself.)

 

ACE REPRESENTATION. I JUST. YOU SHOULD JUST KNOW THAT I BASICALLY SCREAMED AT THAT PART, BECAUSE IT WAS JUST PERFECT AND REALISTIC AND I LOVE IT. I'M STILL NOT EVEN THE SLIGHTEST BIT OVER IT AND IT'S BEEN LIKE TEN MINUTES.

 

I just want to end with a few very important questions for you. First of all, how in the world are you this funny? How in the world can anyone be this funny? Dahlia's entire interaction with James Potter at the end there had be practically crying with laughter. I'm just so in love with this story, because both you and Dahlia are the most hilarious people alive.

 

I'm sorry that this review is so short. I hope I've properly expressed my total love and adoration for your writing. And now I must go and read your other stories. <3

 

Good luck with uni! You're so talented, I'm in love. <3



Name: justawillowtree (Signed) · Date: 28 Jan 2018 10:46 PM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:When Dahlias Bloom Chapter: THREE: Hell Hath No Fury

"After all, you’re not pale like Sana – it’s going to be so much harder for you to find a husband."

 

I was so, so furious at her aunt for speaking that line. Everything she said before this was absolutely horrific as well, but I hate this somehow universal beauty standard that "white is better." Like, in practically every nation in the world, there's that standard, and you have darker-skinned girls being treated as though they're worse just because they don't have pale skin.

 

Anyway, I think we can all safely agree that Dahlia's anger towards her aunt is fairly justified in this day and age. I understand why her parents are furious with her (being rude to family is a huge no-no) but I'm trying to figure out why her dad didn't try to stop his sister himself. Like, why was she allowed to continue saying things like that?

 

Anyway, Dahlia is so cool and I love her.

 

(Also, reading the scenes at the beginning made me really, really want to sit down and read Dormitory 2.6A. Which probably means I'll just be obsessively reading that as soon as FROGS are over, haha. Her friendships with the other Hufflepuff girls are just golden and wonderful, and I'm in love with all of them.)

 

((Also, what is up with Nova and Albus? They need to get themselves sorted out immediately, because watching Dahlia, Grade A Cynic, admire their love and feel rather sad about their breakup, makes me really ship them.))

 

(((Also, Khayri. <3)))



Name: Felpata_Lupin (Signed) · Date: 25 Jan 2018 09:54 PM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:When Dahlias Bloom Chapter: ONE: A Seed In the Vegetable Patch

Hi! I'm here checking FROGS nominees! :)

I haven't read Dormitory 2.6a (I'm probably the only one in the whole community... shame on me... guess I'll have to one day...) so I probably couldn't understand some references and lacked some familiarity with the characters, but I really enjoyed reading this anyway. :)

I like Dahlia and her sarcasm, she's definitely a fun character. And I love her family! Especially Khayri, he's so cute! Little brothers are a great invention (or at least I think... unfortunately I'm an only child...) I think it's also nice to see a bit of Indian culture, I always enjoy different cultures in fics. :)

The beginning was fun, too. The K really sounded unsufferable, ahahah! Some people are just so full of themselves... and Dahlia's sharpness was great, and I loved how he didn't even seem to notice. :P

I felt sad for Nora, even if I don't know much about her relationship with Albus. But from the little you said, it seemed that they had a sweet relationship and that they really cared for each other and still do, and that maybe they could have worked it out if they'd tried a bit harder? Or maybe not, who can tell... Still, it's obvious that it was a painful breakup and that the love is still there and that's a bit sad, but also how life works, I suppose.

Sorry if the review was a bit quick but it's quite late and I really should leave now. This was a nice read anyway and I really enjoyed it. :)

Goodbye for now,

Chiara



Name: justawillowtree (Signed) · Date: 19 Jan 2018 09:15 PM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:When Dahlias Bloom Chapter: TWO: Love, Lust and a Louispalooza

I just wanted to declare that I love Dahlia with all my heart. I don't know how she fit into the previous story (if she did at all), but everything that you've done with her so far has just carved this little niche in my heart just for her. I love her cynicism, and how she's actually ridiculously wise about so many different topics that she's so cynical about. When she was talking to James about love, and berating him for his lack of understanding about it, I was reminded of her in the last chapter, when she was comparing Nova/Albus to her mum and dad.

 

But also, she's ridiculous and hilarious and rude and wonderful, and I honestly just want to be best friends with her. Her friendships are golden, by the way -- last chapter with Nova, and this chapter with Alice Longbottom (reading her name made my heart break a little for Neville and the parents he lost so cruelly) -- and they really show that Dahlia is forcibly loyal to the people she loves.

 

And her love for books?? I mean, could you have created a greater character, I don't think so. I love her appreciation of books so, so much, and I also really loved that bit when she was just absolutely adoring the magic in her body. (And here is where I just want to mention -- your writing is just absolutely beautiful, I'm in love. I'm rambling so much in this review, but it's just because I'm fangirling so hard over your writing style and how you write humor alongside more serious subjects so well.)

 

James was really interesting in this chapter. He seemed to be a little annoying (if I were in Dahlia's place, I probably would've been just as irritated with him tbh), but I'm excited to see what he's like when he's in a better place.

 

I loved this omg. <3

 

~Eva



Name: justawillowtree (Signed) · Date: 19 Jan 2018 08:47 PM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:When Dahlias Bloom Chapter: ONE: A Seed In the Vegetable Patch

THIS IS SO FUNNY AND CUTE. DAHLIA IS SO RIDICULOUS YET RELATABLE. I ALREADY LOVE THIS STORY TO BITS AND PIECES. Omg, I love this so much, I don't even know how to express it without flailing all over the place.

 

So I've never read the story that When Dahlias Bloom is based on, and so far, this seems to be making sense. I'm sure I'm missing a few jokes here and there (maybe in the whole Nova and Albus section), but nothing that makes me get really confused. So you made this a perfect standalone so far!

 

I love Dahlia so much. She's just so, so funny, and I love her when she's swearing, and I love her when she's trying not to. She's obviously a great friend (look at the way she chased The K guy away), and she's also obviously a great sister. Her interactions with her family members were just too freaking cute askldgjls. It's also so great to see such a loving family relationship in a story like this (and I love Khayri, such a sweetheart omg).

 

I can think of like five different FROGS I could nominate this for from the first chapter alone. Congrats on making the finals, by the way! <3

 

~Eva



Name: paula who is too lazy to go sign in and also poor nova baby (Anonymous) · Date: 05 Jan 2018 10:55 PM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:When Dahlias Bloom Chapter: ONE: A Seed In the Vegetable Patch

I knew I was going to love this story when I first saw you writing it because Dahlia was a gem and also because everything you write is brilliant. I just intended to procrastinate it long enough to binge read it. That didn’t happen.


So I completely support Dahlia if she decides to pour piping hot coffee on the K. He’s easily one of the most unlikable characters in the history of writing. Anyone that refers to themselves in third person AND by a nickname I’m 99% sure they gave themselves (bc no one else would ever come up with something so lame) deserves it. His coffee order wasn’t as complicated as I had feared so maybe there’s hope for him yet.


NOVA! NOVA! NOVA!


"Nice to meet you, Your Majesty," This is the dialogue that I live for.


Look it’s already well established that she’s an amazing friend, but dang she’s an amazing friend.


I too am proud of the ugly owl’s name.




Name: Ineke (Signed) · Date: 31 Aug 2017 08:08 PM · [Report This]
Story:When Dahlias Bloom Chapter: TWO: Love, Lust and a Louispalooza

Okay here I am with a review for chapter 2 and the rest will follow (also for dorm 2.6a im horrible) and I will promise you that this is not coherent.

 

So the first few sentences had me going: oh boy what's wrong what's happening AM I PREPARED FOR THIS and then i burst out laughing about the customers line. Seriously. I should have seen that coming. But I didn't and it's just brilliant and ah!

That customer is horrible, oh my god.

I have never felt more connected to Dahlia in my life when the customer agrees with Teddy despite Dahlia having said. STORY OF MY LIFE. Oh my god. Its just like work.

 


Back then, he'd sauntered through the corridors of the school as if he had been the king of it (which he had been) with a messy man bun he had believed to be attractive (which it had been) and rumours that he held the record for snogging the most girls at a single party (which he did hold). All one had to do to sum up James Potter was to picture Gryffindor's poster child and sauciest wet dream.

 

So i absolutely loved that part and I could not stop sniggering at that. Perfect description of our man James and now he's basically like a drowned cat.

 

...I CANT BELIEVE I DESCRIBED HIM LIKE THIS FROM JUST SITTING THERE AND THEN YOU WENT ON A RANT ABOUT HOW HE WAS JUST SITTING TEARFULLY ETCETERA? MY GOD.

 

James is being horrible and rude ... aaaand Dahlia went on to describe my feelings perfectly. ARE YOU READING MY MIND GIRL?

 

...must you make me cry with his speech about how he's gonna eat it alone? Because you are sure managing to do so. It might be the lack of sleep, but the tears are streaming down my face. Streaming.

 

God bless Dahlia for her honesty. I would think James is mad too for doing just that. I mean, who proposes after two and a half months? It just... so fast!

 

I just love how James explains why it is all that and I really admire Dahlia for listening and even sort of seeing it. She really does give some sound advice, but the reasons why James was in a relationship with the girl anyway is really well based too.

 

Aaaand excellent advice yet again and I looooved the alice mention (i miss these girls when imma see them again?).

 

...I swear to god and here we have Alice that even is going on.

 

I love the name of Alice's cat but the mention of Harry and killing curses hurts me, Plums. It hurts me! Or is she mad at him too just because of Al? Wouldn't put it past her.

 

That's unfortunate - I cannot. Oh my lord. Dahlia is amazing.

 

Drunk James is hilarious.

 

'That's kinda mean you know' my heart.

 

OH MY GOD THAT LAST SENTENCE IT HAS ME CRACKING UP OH MY GOD. This is brilliant. This is absolutley brilliant.

 

Again, a wonderful chapter (and can I please see the rest of it because I'm very impatient and pretty please with cherrys on top?). I just... I can't even see faults in here because I was either crying or laughing my head off. There was no inbetween.



Name: WindingArrow (Signed) · Date: 30 Aug 2017 10:27 PM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:When Dahlias Bloom Chapter: TWO: Love, Lust and a Louispalooza
Plums!

This has to be the most awesome character intro chapter EVER. And just the dynamics between the two- his day dream head, her down to earth advice. I love how they interact and I can't wait to read more! This review is coming several hours after I read it because when I was done, I had to go to dinner, so I don't quite remember everything (I'm a little tired, I should have been in bed a while ago...) But I spent a lot of dinner raving about this fic to my friend. XD

I cannot wait to read more! I can't believe he suggested hooking up like that! "We don't even have to talk" Omg... And Alice showed up! "I would rather lick a cactus." ^_^

I did not count the swears, but they numbered in the great many, I'm sure!!

So much love to this story. Makes me want to start posting Off Track (like I said I would ages ago...)

-Liz


Name: WindingArrow (Signed) · Date: 29 Aug 2017 08:11 PM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:When Dahlias Bloom Chapter: ONE: A Seed In the Vegetable Patch

PLUMS! It was to my great amazement to find out that you have started POSTING THIS GLORIOUSNESS! I had to come right away and OMG YOu BROKE NOVUS! FIX IT! FIX IT! FIX IT NOOOWWWWW!!!!

 

That seriously pulled at my heart! Like... I really hope something happens to fix it. I know it's like... Reality that first loves don't really work out and that scheduling conflicts can be a huge thing, but... C'mon! I'm secretly hoping that there will be a spin off for each girl and as each one finds their own way and their own love, Nova and Albus will slowly inch their way back to one another when they are older, wiser and their lives are more easily balanced. *shamelessly pushing projects into your lap for the next 5 years*

 

Dahlia is my FAVORITE! I'm so excited that she's got her own story! BRIMMING WITH ANTICIPATION! Here's hoping she eventually runs into The K outside of the Lounge and promptly hexes him a few hundred times. *cheers*

 

The difference between her in real life and her at home is amazing to me- that she has that sort of self control not to curse! And Khayri is flipping adorable! I want to snuggle him! His relationship with Dahlia is so freaking CUTE! Dahlia's relationships with her family in general is interesting to behold and I feel like I'm really going to like he mum!

 

I have to go hunt down the next chapter because it's not up here yet so I will see you later! *trying to cram in both before I have to go to dinner*

 

-Liz



Name: Anonymous (Anonymous) · Date: 23 Aug 2017 04:29 PM · starstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:When Dahlias Bloom Chapter: ONE: A Seed In the Vegetable Patch

Well that was definitely an interesting read! I'm really curious to see where this goes! Also Novus :((((( But on the other hand, desi!representation :))))



Submit a Review