Login

Name: Stella Blue (Signed) · Date: 07 Jul 2018 12:31 AM · [Report This]
Story:All the truth about Jimmy Portman Chapter: The birthday rule

I'm much faster with my review thread this time XD

 

Probably not one of Remus' better birthdays. But that cake sounds like it was pretty good.

 

"You need to talk to an adult, James. This thing is too big for us." -- WHAT I FELT ABOUT THE FIRST THREE HP BOOKS. hahaha I'm glad to see there is a point at which they feel things are too much out of their hands, because they're only 11 and at that age you just can't solve all of the world's problems. Maybe this is just because Jimmy isn't the Boy Who Lived, haha. You ever think that half the reason Harry did all these impulsive and dangerous things was because he was The Boy Who Lived and so it was like, his way of living up to his name? Not that he would ever say so... but like, since the whole wizarding world saw him as such a big deal, I wonder if that made him more likely to try and solve everything versus if he was just some random kid. An interesting thought.

 

The way you've written the relationship between James and Lily is interesting, too. Like I want to believe that they were 100% perfect and had no problems, but I know that's not realistic XD so the fact that they're arguing over  things  and going through a rough patch is believable, but I hope they work it out soon. I'm also really curious how things are between Lily and Petunia, since I don't remember Petunia being mentioned in this fic before (could just be my bad memory though) and I'm interested how things are different considering Lily is alive. Did they ever reconcile?

 

Ugh Remus I can't believe he stayed at the job. He needs some time away from Peter, I think, just so he can sort out his thoughts. Also, there's the whole thing about Peter is his boss and so whatever their relationship has become is totally inappropriate... I appreciate that Peter is trying to make amends for his past mistakes but assisting in a murder is pretty hard to amend. He did make the right decision to not go to the party though.

 

Omg but he needs to tell his secret soon - to Jimmy, and to James and Lily and Sirius and everyone who he's lied to for years and keeps lying to because it's easier at the moment not to. Sigh...

 

Great chapter! Snowball hug ♥



Name: Stella Blue (Signed) · Date: 06 Jul 2018 05:56 AM · [Report This]
Story:All the truth about Jimmy Portman Chapter: Love is never a lie

Chiara! Sooo I only JUST now saw your request in my review thread *hides behind couch* I totally forgot to check it for a while. I'm so sorry for the delay!

 

"You are still a terrible liar." -- I see what you did there ;)

 

Peter trying to compare being a Death Eater to experiencing lycanthropy was so far off the mark, and I can't believe he even tried. Ugh. Not surprised Remus was having none of it. Also yikesss I'd forgotten about Peter's role in Dorcas' death o m g that's not something you can just look past in a relationship. Like, Peter destroyed Remus' happiness back then and he knew exactly what he was doing. In a way, there's something very reminiscent of Snape's love for Lily in the way that Peter sees Remus, a veyr possessive kind of love.

 

Poor Jimmy. I can't blame him for having so much trouble sleeping and arguing with himself all the time, that's got to be such a crazy thing to have to go through as what Dorea has told him has totally turned his world upside down. I'm so glad he at least is able to talk to her and that makes things easier!

 

I am glad Remus is quitting that job. Workplace drama would have been toooo much :P

 

Okay, I'm so conflicted about this ship. The scene in the beginning where they're on the swing and reminiscing about how it used to be, sort  of excusing themselves from the passage of time, was really sweet, and I want it to work out for them - but then the reality hits at the end with the thing about Dorcas and I can't forgive Peter for it, and tbh I'd be really amazed if Remus did. Like that's just about the worst thing Peter could possibly have done to Remus.

 

I also wonder if it means something that in the first scene, the one where their feelings for one another are more evident, is the section where they're deluding themselves into forgetting all these years have happened, it concludes with the reminder that Remus is (in Peter's opinion) a liar (and Peter is an actual liar) - whereas in the final section Peter is finally honest and that's when the past tenderness in their relationship is forgotten and the terrible truths come to light. It certainly doesn't bode well for their future, like it shows their relationship as an "if only..." sort of thing - anyway, it's a really interesting juxtaposition.

 

Great chapter! Snowball hug and I ♥ you



Name: Stella Blue (Signed) · Date: 23 Jun 2018 09:55 PM · [Report This]
Story:All the truth about Jimmy Portman Chapter: Acceptance

My dear lovely Chiara, how did you write so many chapters of this when I wasn't looking? I'm here for Chalices - congrats on your nomination for best multichapter and best dialogue! <3

 

Bahaha, I find it so funny that Ron is telling Jimmy not to be a child. They're eleven. XD

 

Their excuse of why Jimmy was not in class was hilarious. I'm not surprised McGonagall didn't buy it at all. You write her perfectly, btw, her mannerisms and the way she reacts to unruly students, exactly the way she is in the books. I'm impressed.

 

"Mr Potter has also met his own son for, like, a hundred times, and never recognized him. Not exactly the brightest guy, is he?" -- Omg Ron is killing me in this chapter XD I'm laughing so hard. In the library. And then all the stuff about You-Know-Who, and you know who. XD This is why you were nominated for dialogue. You're brilliant.

 

I think Samantha is talking about more than just Jimmy there... Aww. her story is so sad. Like I get that Death Eaters were doing terrible things but Samantha's story shows a different side to that, how Death Eaters were also loving parents and their kids miss them. :(

 

I'm glad Ron and Neville found something they agree on, at least. I also think it says a lot about Ron that Ron will snark at Neville all he wants, but if Fred and George or anyone else try to be rude to Neville, Ron shuts them down. He may sometimes be sulky and annoying but he is so loyal and I love the way you highlighted that.

 

Harry Potter! Thank goodness for the Marauders' Map.

 

Oh wow I'd forgotten - or hadn't realized - that Mary didn't know Peter was gay. Hm. I was worried when she first reacted (she needed a drink???) but Peter was remarkably assertive and actually confronts her about that, which was great to read. I enjoyed when Mary realized how awful she sounded and Peter was like "Yeah, pretty awful"

 

There are so many subplots going on in this story and I just love all of it. Best of luck in the Chalices!!!!!!!!!!!! <3 You're amazing!



Name: justawillowtree (Signed) · Date: 09 Jun 2018 12:21 AM · [Report This]
Story:All the truth about Jimmy Portman Chapter: The birthday rule

Chiara!!! <3

 

So many things happened this chapter! It was so exciting to read, even though once I thought about it, there wasn’t much action/development (which is totally fine!). In fact, I think it’s amazing that you managed to make small character moments develop so meaningfully.

 

Okay okay so I love the way you write Peter/Remus, because you’re not really telling a story of the two of them in love – I find myself questioning how healthy their relationship is often, and I think that’s such an interesting perspective to have. Speaking of which, HAPPY BIRTHDAY, REMUS. And I’m so sorry that he’s always so sad and isolated and lonely, and that Peter’s dishonesty is making it a little harder for him… Of course it’s not all Peter’s fault, but the guy could really start by telling the truth haha.

 

Also aww, Sirius and James, for worrying so much about Remus. I’m so glad that the cake cheered him up a little bit (chocolate is food for the soul, I’ve heard, though I personally don’t like chocolate too much hehe). And Sirius, trying to set up your best friend, who’s depressed and going through a lot, with someone really should not be at the top of your priorities hahaha.

 

DOREA IS ADORABLE. That is all.

 

Watching the kids try to figure out what’s going on is soo much fun, especially since we already know the answer! I’m just all antsy, waiting for them to put the pieces together ahhhh!

 

Oh goodness, James and Lily’s relationship seems to be a bit tired. They’re both probably just really exhausted and somewhat tetchy from the stress of the war, but seeing them argue with each other like this and just disagreeing with what the other is doing (even if it’s mild) makes me nervous. YOU TWO ARE MY OTP PLEASE DON’T FIGHT. THINK OF DOREA. <3

 

Remus and this birthday rule haha. It’s really making his life difficult, isn’t it? It’s such a cute idea, but the pain that it’s giving Remus is making me sad. SORT YOURSELF OUT, PETER/REMUS.

 

Wonderful chapter! <3

 

~Eva



Name: justawillowtree (Signed) · Date: 30 May 2018 11:42 PM · [Report This]
Story:All the truth about Jimmy Portman Chapter: Love is never a lie

Chiaraaa <3

 

Okay so your descriptions in that first section are so beautiful!! I love descriptions of spring more than anything in the world and you wrote it so perfectly I was legitimately envious of Peter and Remus for being able to go outside in such a beautiful climate. And, oh, my feelings for these two are so complicated! On the one hand, I’m like, “Peter really should go and fix things with Jimmy so that he can redeem himself, before trying to make up with Remus,” and on the other hand, I’m like, “BUT THE HAPPINESS REMUS FELT FOR THAT ONE SECOND IS WORTH IT.”

 

But I really really hope that Remus can find happiness outside of Peter, the poor man. He’s been through so so much and my heart hurts just thinking about it. Also omg this line was emotionally painful on so many levels – “That I'll fall in love with you all over again.” ACK. </3

 

Awww poor Jimmy, arguing with himself!! Can I just adopt him as a younger brother, I just want to sit down with him and give him so many hugs, the poor child. And he’s thinking such deep thoughts for an eleven-year-old, too, that no child should ever have to be thinking. But here we are. And the fact that I know for certain that Peter wasn’t at all involved with the Gringotts robbery makes it all worse, somehow, because poor Jimmy’s suffering so much for nothing. Well, not all for nothing. His father did still kidnap him. :(

 

OI PETER YOU ARE NOT HANDLING THIS VITALLY IMPORTANT CONVERSATION WELL. Comparing being a Death Eater to lycanthropy is…not a good plan, bud. And omg I’d completely forgotten that Peter had sacrificed Dorcas omg omg omg Peter stop defending yourself it is not a good look. I mean, I guess I’m glad that Peter’s being honest, but also he needs to know that what he did is indefensible.

 

Ahhh this romance is so difficult and full of troubles, but that’s part of the charm of it all.

 

Another wonderful chapter, Chiara! <3

 

Love,

Eva



Name: Phoenix Potioneer (Signed) · Date: 22 May 2018 10:13 PM · [Report This]
Story:All the truth about Jimmy Portman Chapter: Love is never a lie

Hey! I'm glad to see you have another chapter up! I read chapter 22 and chapter 23 at the same time, so I'll kinda be reviewing both chapters right now.

 

I'm not surprised that Jimmy is so angsty. If I had it confirmed that I was someone else's kid and my parents had kidnapped me... I don't know what I'd do. Honestly, he's taking it rather calmly. I think shutting himself up in Gryffindor Tower and not going to class is a perfectly normal reaction. Hopefully, however, if Jimmy starts going back to class the sense of normalacy well help him begin to accept it and move on. But I don't think he'll be able to move on until a) Peter knows he knows and talks to him about it and b) the Potters know. But if the Potters know than they'll probably try to kill Peter or something and... ugh... this is complicated.

 

On a lighter note, I find it absolutely hilarious how Jimmy thinks Dorea somehow has an actual, real elephant, and not a stuffed animal. He's just so used to giant spiders and three-headed dogs and such that he's like, "Wow, a nine-year-old has a real pink elephant. Sounds legit." (Is Dorea nine? I don't quite remember her age.)

 

Now onto Peter and Remus... I like everything you did with their relationship. It's moments like this that really makes me realize how different canon Remus is from this Remus. They have their similarities, but canon Remus would have turned in Peter the second he saw them. I'm not sure what Remus's plan is here, and I don't think Remus himself knows. He must be feeling... anguish, to put it mildly.

 

I like how you're trying to make your version of Peter more sympathetic. But I cannot get Peter murdering Dorcas out of my head. He MURDERED his lover's girlfriend. How can he truly love Remus if he is willing to murder someone Remus loves? I get Peter's reasoning behind it, I'm just rather horrified by it. Yes, he didn't particularly want to murder her- he had to give someone up to the Death Eaters. But this is a terrible blow to the other already very morally grey character that is Peter.

 

I do believe Peter truly loves Jimmy/Harry, and I love their relationship. But for me, unfortunately that is really only Peter's redeeming quality. That, and he didn't murder the Potters in this version, but he did murder Dorcas, so... still trying to wrap my mind around that.

 

Good chapter! Can't wait to see where it goes from here. I really hope it all works out somehow.



Name: justawillowtree (Signed) · Date: 17 May 2018 01:07 AM · [Report This]
Story:All the truth about Jimmy Portman Chapter: Acceptance

CHIARA! I’M SO HAPPY YOU UPDATED <3

 

Ron is one of my favorite favorite characters and I’m so glad you focused on him so much this chapter! I love that you showed his flaws while also highlighting his humor and loyalty as a friend. Like, one of my absolute favorite things about Ron is that he’s the most relatable character by far, like, he’s lazy at times and constantly hungry (which describes me perfectly tbh), and I just wanted to show my appreciation that you wrote such a wonderful Ron. <3

 

But poor Jimmy omg! I feel so sorry for him right now. The recent discoveries must feel absolutely horrible and I’m just. My heart goes out to him, the poor boy.

 

I also loved that entire conversation between Neville, Sam, Hermione, and Ron, where you highlighted all the difficulties that the kids have, and that despite Ron’s jealousy, he knows when to stand up for Neville (especially to Fred and George). Speaking of, you characterized Fred and George so well, it was like they leapt out of the books! Especially the fast way they speak for each other and interrupting each other and just saying the same things, it was so so well done.

 

Additionally, that reveal h o l y  c r a p. I was blown out of the water when I saw “Harry Potter” written down; I’ve seen Jimmy’s name for so long in this story that seeing his real name was so strange. But it was such a good reveal, and such a cool way to do it, too! The Marauder’s Map reveals all, after all hehe.

 

Also I just loved everything about that scene when Peter confronted his mom about her mild homophobia. Like, everything he said, I was cheering for, much as I disagreed with him for, you know, kidnapping Harry as a child.

 

THIS WAS SUCH A GOOD CHAPTER, I HOPE YOU UPDATE AGAIN SOON. <3

 

~Eva



Name: facingthenorthwind (Signed) · Date: 03 May 2018 12:02 PM · starstarstarstarhalf-star [Report This]
Story:All the truth about Jimmy Portman Chapter: The Hogwarts Express

chiara. chiara why would he send Harry to Hogwarts. Why wouldn't he send him to an American school. Chiara this is possibly the worst decision Peter has ever made, and he has made A LOT OF VERY BAD DECISIONS. Arguably every decision Peter has made so far has been a bad one. Why can't any of my boys be happy and sensible!!!!

(yes they are my boys now, sorry, i've adopted them)

omgggg chiara i cannot believe you made the crossword answer BASILISK, ugh tiny details of canon in AUs is my JAM. what a delight. although I mean, presumably the basilisk will still happen next year in the Jimmyverse. of COURSE there's an american quidditch team called the Flying Bullies, that's.........that's so on brand. What a beautiful bit of world building. 

The ways this deviates from PS is so good and interesting -- of course Jimmy wouldn't necessarily be desperate for a friend, because he *has* friends, it's just that they're all in the US. And he's grumpy about moving and he doesn't want to reach out to make friends because that makes it real and permanent and might feel a bit like betraying his US friends. And Hermione still comes in, but it's subtly different. And poor Nev loses his toad in every timeline. 

I also loooove your use of 'eulogise' here -- obviously, it does mean what you are intending, giving high praise, but there's an extra laying of connotation because a eulogy is a speech you give at a funeral (google kind of implies that Italian shares the double meaning, or maybe you use necrologio as a funeral oration? Who Knows. I had to go through Hebrew to differentiate between the two English meanings, so...it's not an exact science) -- so you eulogise someone who is dead. And Hogwarts is dead for Peter -- several of the people he knew at Hogwarts are dead, his friendships from Hogwarts are dead, he can never return because he is a wanted man (how is he dealing with that??? I guess we'll find out). 

Anyway as I have established, I love it and I am excited to continue reading!!



Author's Response:

Ahahah! Hello again, Emma, my dear! :D

Why would he send Harry to Hogwarts? Because Peter is the world's biggest idiot, I thought we had agreed on this point. (Actually, Remus is the world's biggest idiot... or maybe they are just equally idiotic?) Anyway, yes, Peter has a talent for bad decisions... (and I love your yelling... :P)

I have a thing for crosswords, and for magical crosswords' definitions... :P And I'm so glad you like the Flying Bullies, it does sound like the perfect name for an American Quidditch team, doesn't it? :P

I'm glad you liked the mix of canon and AU elements so far. Of course, Jimmy has a very different background from Harry, and he's lacking all the excitement and eagerness to make friends and to learn about the magical world that Harry had instead.

Ahahah! Yes, Neville losing Trevor is a multiversal constant! ;)

Oh, I remember we discuss the eulogise thing on Twitter... English and its mysteries... :P I will confess, I hadn't thought about that at all, but I love your interpretation of it, it's such a fascinating take, I love your reasoning!

Thank you so much for this review, and for reading through the whole story and for all the help and support you've given me! (I promise chapter 25 will come soon-ish... I just need to overcome my block and sit down and force the words out...)

Love you!

Chiara



Name: Crookshanks (Signed) · Date: 29 Apr 2018 01:27 PM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:All the truth about Jimmy Portman Chapter: Of baby dragons and rare pink elephants

Hi! I just wanted to send you a quick review to say I love this story! The scenes with Dorea are so cute, she really is a marauders daughter :)

Most of all I really like this AU Marauders idea. I think your story is really creative and well thought out. Peter is such a complicated character and I am impressed with how multi dimensional he is in your story. He’s not all good or all bad, just like people in real life.

So excited for the next chapter! 

-C



Author's Response:

Hi!

Sorry for taking so long to reply, I have a few reviews behind and time is never enough, unfortunately... but I really, really wanted you to know how much I appreciated your review and how happy it made me to know that you are enjoying the story! *hug*

I'm so glad you enjoy the scenes with Dor and that you like my characterization of Peter. It really means a lot!

I'm working on the next chapter, hopefully it will be posted soon!

Lots of love and thank you so much again!

Chiara



Name: Levana (Signed) · Date: 28 Apr 2018 03:34 PM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:All the truth about Jimmy Portman Chapter: The Sorting

Chiara!! <33 I Am back!

 

Okay, so first things, I love this chapter. I always find sorting ceremonies to be so tedious and annoying to write, and you did such an amazing job with this one. I love how you took aspects of the sorting ceremony from canon and incorporated them here – YET – you still put an original spin on them. LIKE NEVILLE IN SLYTHERIN!

 

WHAAAT??

 

I mean, logically it makes sense. In the books, the sorting hat tried to put Harry into Slytherin – since I guess he had that piece of Moldy’s soul in him. So like, since Neville is the Boy Who Lived, makes sense that the same thing would happen. Now I’m wondering if Neville argued with the hat or not… hmmm.

 

I love the comment, “Do hats chuckle?” That just has me laughing, I love that interjecting thought in there.

 

OH MAN WHAT DID PETER DO???? Did he steal Harry as a baby? That doesn’t make sense though. Also, poor Jimmy. Like finding out during the sorting ceremony that his life is kind of a lie is so terrible. And he just ran out of the Great Hall. I feel so sad for him!!! ☹

 

FRED AND GEORGE. I know they’re not the main focus here, but I mean. This is me, I get excited when they show up. I really liked the ending to this. FRED AND GEORGE BEING BIG BROTHER IS MY JAM. This was so cute, with them trying to comfort Jimmy ^_^

 

Ahh, anyway, so I loved this!!! I will definitely be back in the future! (hopefully it won’t take me too long)

 

*Hugs*

 

~Maggie



Author's Response:

Maggie!!! Hello, my dear! And sorry for the absurdely long wait for this reply...

I'm so glad you enjoyed this chapter! :D To be honest, I love writing sortings. I feel like it can help a lot in defining a character's personality (or at least how they start, because of course the person you are at eleven year old can be very different from the person you are as an adult... but I'm already digressing... why do I always do that?)

Yep, Neville is a Slytherin... Surprise! :P And that's exactly my reasoning for it, that the Hat saw that little bit of Voldemort's soul in him. That, and this Neville is particularly diffident and angry with the world... And yes, I think he did argue, just not as much as Harry did un canon.

Ahahah! I'm so glad you loved that line, I love it too! :D

Yes, poor Jimmy, indeed... as for your questions... you know I can't confirm nor deny, right? More details in the chapters to come, though. (Or in Liar, if you wanted to check that out).

Ahahah! I love that you get so excited about Fred and George, they are quite awesome, let's be honest! ;) And I love them being the big brothers, too! (Fred and George will appear in the story from time to time, even if they are not central characters by any means).

Thank you so much for the lovely review, my dear, and sorry again for taking so long to reply! This review made me so happy and I really hope to see you back again! <3

Hugs,

Chiara

 



Name: victoria_anne (Signed) · Date: 05 Apr 2018 08:33 AM · [Report This]
Story:All the truth about Jimmy Portman Chapter: Auror James Potter

I can't even imagine what a muggle contest entails :P 

I love that, even as an adult, James just can't help feeling like a naughty teenager again! It really shows just how many times he would have been sent to the headmaster's office, haha! His and Snape's Professor/Auror exchange is reminscient of Harry's 'sir' comment and it just made me smile so much. And James apologising to Snape really shows how much he's grown up and how much he's changed from being that boy in school.

It's so entertaining to watch the kids try to work out what's going on, and trying to make sense of everything, when I secretly know the truth, muahaha.

Great work, Chi! <3



Author's Response:

A lot of punches... and blood... :P

Poor James... he was a bit of a naughty boy... and yes, the fact that he feels that way as an adult does say a lot about it...

I need to write more James/Sev moments... those are so... interesting. :P But yes, James is trying to be the mature person here and he's definitely grown up since school days.

My children, trying to figure out stuff... it would be much more advisable if they stopped seeking trouble and trusted adults at times, but that's just not who they are, is it?

Thank you so much, B! I always love your reviews! :D



Name: MuggleMaybe (Signed) · Date: 01 Apr 2018 03:46 AM · [Report This]
Story:All the truth about Jimmy Portman Chapter: The Sorting

Chiara <333333

 

I am here for your March review. Techinically it is still March for me, but nevertheless I am so sorry for arriving very late for this swap. I didn't forget you, i promise! Just busy with work; you know how it is. I'm so glad I'm gere now to continue with this fascinating story!

 

After the first chaptert of this fic, I was very excited to see how Jimmy's arrival at Hogwarts would go. I've read MANY sorting chapters and to be honest I'm kind of bored with the Sorting at this point - but Im not bored with your Sorting! Not at all! You really took this and made it your own. You made it a moment that counts, that moves the story and the character development forward in a big way. I'm so impressed by that. :D

 

The Sorting Hat knows all! Poor Jimmy learning that Peter is not his biological father in such a sudden way. He must be so shocked! I couldn't believe his daring to go back and put the hat on again, but he really must have been so desperate for more information. I don't know if Peter did the right thing by keeping the truth from him. I think maybe not. 

 

But even more importantly...

 

OH MY GOD NEVILLE IS IN SLYTHERIN??!?!?!?!? How can that be??! My guess, and really the only explanaton I can think of (unless you've simply chosen to characterize Neville in a totally ifferent way from canon, which I doubt), is that the hat saw the glimmer of the horcrux in him and wanted to put him in Slytherin, and unike Harry, he was not forceful enough in his arguments against it to persude the hat to put him somewhere else. But a Slytherin Neville.... I truly have no clue how this will alter things, but it certainly will alter them!

 

Oh, also, your characterizations of Hermione and Ron are spot on. Hermione wishing she had a chance to prove herself right away, versus Ron not wanting to cmpete because he's so afraid of failing. Extremely in character.

 

Aww, the end with Fred and George is so cute! I love them for trying to comfort Jimmy, and offering to get him some chocoate. Chocolate always helps, doesn't it? ;) 

 

Jimmy has had quite a rough start at Hogwarts. I really hope the rest of the night an his first week will be much better. 

 

ALSO WAIT. He looks just like James, right? SNAPE IS TOTALLY GOING TO KNOW HIS REAL IDENTITY. Not good news. Uh oh. I am both eager and nervous to read the next chapter after having that thought... :P 

 

This is SUCH a brilliant AU. As usual, you have the most origianl ideas and I'm surprised by this story at every turn. I love it! And I love you!

 

xoxo Renee

 

 



Author's Response:

Renee!!! :D

Ah, don't worry, dear. Life is hectic, I know... :( But I'm glad you are back here! :)

I love Sortings. :P I think I tend to make the Hat a bit too... omniscient, but I think it's a great way to dig into a character's motivations and personality. I always find it so fascinating, and I'm glad you enjoyed this sorting scene. :)

No, Peter definitely didn't do well to keep the truth from Jimmy, but it is understandable that he didn't. And yes, Jimmy is so confused and desperate at this point, poor child... :(

That's exactly how I saw it, the Hat saw that bit of Voldemort's soul in Neville and Neville wasn't as forceful as Harry in trying to convince the Hat to put him somewhere else. That, and Neville has a lot of resentment in him for the way the wizarding community sees him. And he probably wants to show the world that he's more than just his scar, if this makes sense...

I'm so glad you liked my Ron and Hermione, too, and their thoughts about the sorting. And yay for Fred and George! I do believe they can be caring when needed. And yes, chocolate does help (or so they tell me, I don't eat chocolate...)

But does Jimmy look like James? Anyway, his relationship with Snape will be... interesting. :P

Thank you so much, I'm so glad you are enjoying the idea behind this story!

Love you too!

Chiara



Name: Levana (Signed) · Date: 31 Mar 2018 06:56 PM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:All the truth about Jimmy Portman Chapter: The Hogwarts Express

Chiara <3 Hello. ^_^ I decided on this one because I’ve been seeing this fic mentioned a lot and I thought it was about time that I read it! Also, I always love fics where Neville is the BWL instead of Harry (and Harry gets to have a somewhat normal life, since he suffered so much in the books)

 

Okay, so OH man, I have so many questions already. Like… whom is this Jimmy Portman? Alright, so his name is James Portman… this seems eerily similar to James Potter methinks. *sideeyes* I am sure I will find out soon enough. Also, Peter Portman, this also sounds very similar to Peter Pettigrew,,,,

 

AHhh! Okay, so I love this little opening scene with Jimmy and his dad. It’s so cute; it reminds me a lot of the scene with Harry and Albus which I always liked, plus Jimmy is even concerned about being sorted into Slytherin! So, yeah, I really loved this bit of parallelism – along with all of the family feels. Let me tell you, family feels get me every time. They’re my favorite.

 

IT’S A BASSILISK. Ahem, Sorry (okay not sorry) but – IS THIS FORESHADOWING? PERHAPS? Anywho, I also really loved this whole thing with Jimmy and Ron. ._. I love Ron so much. I’m also beginning to think that Jimmy Portman? :p Kind of because of your summary, and because of what I said earlier, and because he’s sitting with Ron?

 

I love how Jimmy is just so engrossed with that crossword puzzle :D because I relate so strongly to that, haha. Also, Ron thinking about either Molly or Ginny for “something that kills with looks.” And I’m so happy that they’re friends! Or well, I mean I hope they will be since they talked.

 

THE TWINS! :D Sorry, it’s physically impossible for me not to comment on the twins when they appear in a fic. xD I just love them so much, and I loved your little mention on them and Lee because that’s so in character and 100% something that they would do.

 

Also, Neville! <3333 I love how he still lost Trevor, even though he’s the boy who lived in this universe! I’m really curious to see how you have Neville! Since he would have grown up in the Wizarding World (unlike Harry)? I mean, we see that a bit – like it’s kinda clear that Neville already is kind of tired of people recognizing who he is, since he interrupts Hermione.

 

Ahh!! Anyway, Chiara, I absolutely love this so far. It’s such a good plot idea! And now I’m just so curious about what’s going on. Like is Jimmy Harry? I’m really starting to think that, so now I’m wondering why he’s Jimmy and not harry! And (if that’s true) WHY WASN’T HE RAISED BY JAMES AND LILY? I HAVE QUESTIONS!!!!

 

Anyway, I loved this and I’m definitely going to go onto chapter 2 right now… so….

 

~Maggie *hugs*



Author's Response:

Hey, Maggie! Welcome! *hugs*

I'm so happy that you decided to check out this story, it's my current main focus and I love to see what people think of it.

You make interesting points. Like, James Portman does sound similar to James Potter, and same for Peter Portman... but you'll find out soon... ;)

That scene is a bit reminiscent of the Harry/Albus scene, yes. And family feels are the best! I have a love for children and for the family theme.

I also happen to have a love for crossword puzzles... :P Yes, it's a basilisk. Not sure if I'd call it foreshadowing, even if it might be if I ever get around to write book two... Glad you are liking Jimmy and Ron's starting friendship. And well, I had a lot of fun with Ron thinking about Molly or Ginny. They kind of can kill with looks, can't they? :P

Ahahah! The twins won't be exactly central, but they will appear from time to time. I hope you won't find my characterization completely off. You are the master when it comes to them, so I just hope I won't disappoint you...

Neville is still Neville... well, he is different in certain ways... and yes, he is already sick of people recognizing him. I think this Neville is basically the same Neville with the added quality of being angry with the world...

You ask interesting questions... :P The answers will come, no worries! ;)

Thank you so much for the lovely review!

Chiara



Name: 800 words of heaven (Signed) · Date: 31 Mar 2018 04:25 AM · [Report This]
Story:All the truth about Jimmy Portman Chapter: The Hogwarts Express

*Transferred from HPFF*

 

REVIEW TAG.

 

This story looked a little lonely so I thought I'd check it out. I don't really read much AU, especially those set in the Hogwarts era, but I'm open to new ideas.

 

So this seems pretty awesome so far. Why is Jimmy's dad not actually Jimmy's dad? Why doesn't he want anyone to find out his real identity? What even is his real identity? So many questions, and it's only the first chapter. Exciting stuff!

 

A lovely start and I'll be seeing you at the end of the next chapter in the nearish future :)



Author's Response:

Oh, wow! Thanks!

I'm very happy that you liked this first chapter! :)

Yes, I know... A lot of questions... You'll find out the answers if you keep reading (no spoilers here, I'm sorry...)

Really hope you won't be disappointed with what comes next and that I'll hear from you again soon!

Thanks a lot again for the lovely review!

Hugs,

Chiara.



Name: Secret Starfall (Anonymous) · Date: 22 Feb 2018 11:32 PM · starstarstarstarhalf-star [Report This]
Story:All the truth about Jimmy Portman Chapter: The Sorting

Sortings are so hard to write.

 

Like, insanely hard to write.

 

And you killed this.

 

There are a lot of things that really worked here. While I wasn't totally sure about the use of the semi-omniscient narrator rather than a specific POV at first, this chapter was what sold me on it. I loved getting a little more insight into how all the major characters were feeling, rather than just Jimmy - it helped give this a very different feel than PS, and it also got me immediately more invested in your take on all of the characters. I continue to love how even with Hermione and Ron - who haven't really had anything change for them yet, other than a little bit in the history books - you show something new. (You've struck that balance well for Neville, too, which I love. Also, I was not expecting him to end up in Slytherin! Omg!)

 

I also like the way you're unpacking the backstory here. You're leaving the perfect amount of unanswered questions - I strongly suspected going in that Jimmy was Harry (and obviously that Peter was Peter Pettigrew), but I really like the fact that you confirmed it in the second chapter. There are still so many answered questions, and you simultaneously answer a question and do so in a way that gives the reader So Many More questions.

 

It's a short bit at the end, but I also really like the way you integrated Fred and George into this. It makes sense that they'd try to comfort him, especially since they'd already met him on the train. It's consistent with their character and moves some of the bonds Jimmy is already forming here forward in a way that's incredibly graceful and lovely.

 

Also, your Sorting Hat is amazing and incredibly sassy, and I am here for that.

 

Amazing job!



Author's Response:

Hi again, sweety! :)

Aww, thanks! I actually love writing sortings, I might have a bit too much fun with them... :P

Glad you liked the change of POV in this chapter. I tend to be a bit disordered when it comes to POVs, mostly because I want to show what's going on in everyone's heads at once (I've tried to work on it, it was worse before editing...) I'm happy you enjoyed to see the reactions of the other characters to the sorting, instead of only Jimmy. And yes, Neville in Slytherin... that was a bit of a surprise, wasn't it? :P

Questions! Questions are good! Happy you have questions! :P A few more answers will be given in chapter 4, but yes, your guesses on Jimmy and Peter are accurate (I suppose it's not a spoiler to confirm that, is it?)

I love Fred and George! Like, Siriusly! I'm glad you liked them trying to comfort Jimmy and that you found it in character!

Ahahah! Sassy Sorting Hat is my favourite thing! :D

Thank you for another great review!

Lots of love,

Chiara



Name: Secret Starfall (Anonymous) · Date: 22 Feb 2018 11:18 PM · starstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:All the truth about Jimmy Portman Chapter: The Hogwarts Express

Hey, Chiara! I read a few chapters of this to make the banner, and now that I have a moment, I'm back to review! <3

 

AUs that closely mirror events from the books like this does can be really tough to pull off, because you kind of have to balance originality and keeping everyone fairly in character. You do an absolutely amazing job of that here - Jimmy has a really different way of interacting with people than Harry did in canon, I think in part because while he's sad to have left the United States (why did Peter bring him back?? I HAVE SO MANY QUESTIONS), he clearly grew up loved and cared for. You show that so well, from comments Peter makes (including about the Sorting omg) to helping him find a compartment. It's really well done, and I loved it.

 

And that security showed in his interactions with everyone else. Harry was desperate for a friend when Ron walked in; his presence doesn't really register for Jimmy at first. I think there are a lot of reasons for that - Harry was all about what was ahead of him, while Jimmy is still homesick and looking back. Jimmy's also familiar with the wizarding world, even if a lot of that comes from an American perspective, which I think makes him less hungry to form relationships in it. I love that Ron eventually snapped, and that once he did, they clicked really well.

 

I also liked what you did with Hermione; she was introduced in a pretty unsympathetic way in PS, but you expanded that in a way that didn't change her personality but did put a slightly different spin on how it's presented, if you see what I mean.

 

You did a great job here! <3



Author's Response:

Hi again, Branwen! <3

So happy you decided to stop by and take a peek at this story! :)

Yes, that's one of the hardest things about this story, keeping the balance between canon and new elements... I'm so glad you think I did a good job at it in this first chapter.

Jimmy is quite different from Harry, because like you say he grew up in a completely different environment, loved and aware of magic and all that. And yes, Peter does care a lot about him. (As for why Peter brought him back... I know I shouldn't answer because suspance, but I want to be honest with you... I have no idea... Peter does a lot of stupid things in this story...)

And of course everything you say about Jimmy not really showing interest in Ron at first is spot on. Jimmy doesn't really care about making friends at the moment, he's too busy missing the ones he had back in the United States... but of course those two were destined to be friends, one way or another. ;)

I'm glad you liked my introduction of Hermione, too, and that I made her slightly more likeable in the beginning. :)

Thank you so much for the lovely review! So glad you enjoyed this start! :)



Name: victoria_anne (Signed) · Date: 17 Feb 2018 08:42 AM · [Report This]
Story:All the truth about Jimmy Portman Chapter: Quidditch, curses and family affairs

I love how Snape compared the quartet to the Marauders. To think of that comparison makes me love them even more, especially because of the trouble both the groups got into! I also really appreciated the nightmares Snape has about Lily. They're so sad.

 

I love the little insight into Dumbledore's and Snape's relationship in this chapter, that we don't see into the much later books. I really like how much you manage to include :)

 

The conversation between Jimmy and Peter is so, so sweet! Jimmy still has so many questions (and, really, who wouldn't?) but I'm glad they finally made up in the end.

 

How strange it must be for Peter to meet Neville! So many what-ifs...

 

Great chapter, Chi, as usual!



Author's Response:

I think Snape has a bit of a Marauder-phobia, you know? :P But yes, they do have some traits in common, like being a magnet for trouble, for instance... ;)

And yes, poor Snape isn't over Lily, either... multiversal constants and all that... :/

The relationship between Snape and Dumbledore is one that I think is fascinating, I had to include it (it's the fun part of jumping through POVs...)

Peter loves Jimmy, even if he is too coward to be honest with him... and Jimmy needs Peter, even if he's hiding so much from him... glad you found their conversation sweet, I'm glad they made up too.

Ah, yes, so many what-ifs... it must have been quite strange for Peter to meet Neville...

Thank you for the review, love!



Name: victoria_anne (Signed) · Date: 17 Feb 2018 08:27 AM · [Report This]
Story:All the truth about Jimmy Portman Chapter: The golden quartet

I love this chapter so much. Both in the book and your version! I love the anticipation of reading Jimmy and wondering what you have planned for the canon events!

 

I love how the troll marks the beginning of the boys' friendship with Hermione, an reading it in this chapter was so lovely. I love how all throughout the chapter Jimmy sees Hermione as a bit of nuisance and that all changes by the end, and he has the decency to feel grateful :P

 

The part about the birthdays was hilarious, espeically since Ron had no idea and Neville's like, "Don't you know who I am?!" I loved it :D 

And Neville hiding from poor little Samantha, haha!

 

<3



Author's Response:

B!!!

I've been so bad replying to reviews recently... sorry for the wait...

So glad you like my rewriting of canon events! I know I've told 1000 times, but the hardest part of this story is keeping the balance between old and new... (okay, that's a lie, this story is just plain hard to write... and I'm doing a pretty poor job at keeping up with it... Jimmy, my child, I haven't forgotten you, I swear...)

Hermione can be a bit of a nuisance, though, doesn't she? :P But yay for the troll bringing them together here, too! :P

And yay for Neville being the bragging Chosen One for once. :P And poor Sam... :P

Love thee!



Name: Stella Blue (Signed) · Date: 15 Feb 2018 07:21 PM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:All the truth about Jimmy Portman Chapter: Of baby dragons and rare pink elephants

Ok! I'm back to finish! (I would have read this chapter last night but it was late and I was sleepy :P )

 

This was such a big chapter! So much important stuff happened! And wow Remus will have to hide that secret for a long time. And yes, I know he's well-practiced at keeping secrets, but that's a BIG secret to have to keep quiet, and from his best friends as well! And it's not just the secret itself, it's how he has to act around Peter, because just knowing about it would make him act differently (as we've already seen, and Sirius knew something odd was going on).

 

I loved the story behind Dorea buying the elephant, haha. Kid logic is so funny sometimes. :P But - she found out! How good is she at keeping secrets? I know she had to tell Jimmy because she promised, but with how Remus and Peter will have to act like Remus doesn't know, and what Dorea now knows, I suspect the secret may get out before the summer, and Jimmy will be the last to find out - or he would be, if Dorea hadn't already told him.

 

I'm still so happy about Samantha and Hermione's friendship and I wish JKR had included something like that in the books, tbh. Harry and Ron are great and all but there's something so wonderful about female friendships and I love that you're setting these two up to be such good friends. I friend-ship it. XD

 

"Well, it's not something we can handle on our own," Jimmy said. "We've got into enough trouble already, -- JIMMY HAS LEARNED STUFF. LOOK AT HIM BEING RESPONSIBLE. HALLELUJA

 

Keeping a dragon in the forest. Where there are trees everywhere. A dragon that breathes fire. Hagrid has not thought this through at all. At least he's not planning to keep it in his wooden hut? And at least he has five people to convince him it's a bad idea instead of just three XD

 

Once again I like the way you're tying it into the novel through your own means, and how in this timeline they found out about the connection between Hagrid and Fluffy way later, but they still found out. Like some things are destined to happen and it just came about in different ways, at least that's the vibe I get from this story, which is neat because I think that's even in the story summary, the importance of destiny, and I love how it really ties in here, as it has for the whole novel so far.

 

Aww, that letter! The postscript cracks me up. She's adjusting well to having a brother XD

 

Wonderful chapter! I'm excited to be all caught up and am eagerly awaiting an update! ♥



Author's Response:

I'm so happy that you've finally caught up with me!!! (And I need to write... I'm so bad...)

Oh, it will be quite hard for Remus to keep the secret, considering the guilt he will prove for it and, like you said, how knowing will inevitably make him act differently around him, for many different reasons... I have a feeling that he will start to avoid James and Sirius again, actually... (yes, that's sort of a spoiler, but I don't think you'll mind too much...)

Ahahah! Dorea is the best! And yes, kid logic is so funny! :P As for Peter's secret coming out before he can talk to Jimmy... well, I can't tell you too much, can I? I can tell you that Dorea is quite resourceful, though (but I think you knew that already).

I do agree that the books (and poor Hermione) lacked a bit of female friendship... and yes, I do love the relationship between Hermione and Samantha! My little girls! :D

And yay for Jimmy becoming reasonable! :D I think after the Hat's misadventure he'll try to be a bit more prudent, at least... :P

Ahahah! No, I don't think Hagrid thought it through at all... but I suppose his judgement can lack a bit when it comes to dragons... :P

I'm so glad you like the canon events in here, I'm always a bit worried about keeping the right balance, but it seems that it works... and yes, some things have to happen, in a way or another. ;)

I think Dorea is all about having a brother! :P I'm so glad you liked the PS, I had so much fun writing it.

I'll try to have an update soon... this weekend I'll write, promise! (I hope?)

Thank you so much for your support and your always wonderful reviews! You are honestly the best!

Big snowball hug,

Chiara



Name: Stella Blue (Signed) · Date: 15 Feb 2018 07:35 AM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:All the truth about Jimmy Portman Chapter: Dealing with the past

MUAHAHAH THIS IS THE CHAPTER I HAD BEEN WAITING FOR. SOMEONE HAS FIGURED OUT WHO PETER IS AND IT'S REMUS WHO FIGURED OUT FIRST. (Of course it is.) OMG OMGMDSSAFMSDF

 

After the letter he wrote to Jimmy, I was maybe thinking that Peter would finally tell Jimmy before anyone found out first. I don't know why I thought that, because I know your Peter and he would never do such a thing XD Of course he got found out. And of course it was REMUS. What I did not expect was how excellent their reunion was going to be. But I'll get to that later because I'm getting ahead of myself...

 

I loved Peter and Remus' conversation while Peter was trying to write the letter to Jimmy. This part: "Sometimes sorry isn't enough." -- is so perfect, because on the surface they're talking about Jimmy, but it's clear that that's not all Peter means by that statement. He's sorry for the past eleven years. And Remus' response as well, it's a lot deeper than it appears. I just love that about the whole conversation, because Remus is just advising Peter on his letter to his son, but there's so much more happening there that they're communicating to one another even though Remus doesn't know who Peter is (yet)! It's just so good.

 

As soon as Remus found the chess set, everything clicked - I'm not surprised that he pieced everything together so quickly after that. And then the ensuing argument/accussal/make out session was such a treat, I didn't expect all of that in one chapter and it was glorious. And I think the fact that so much happened there really underlies how complicated the relationship is between the two of them. There's so much hurt from the betrayal, but under that is a lot of love and wonderful memories, and their relationship was always kind of rocky to begin with, and all of that is shown in several different stages this reunion takes. Since Remus is generally such a logical person and doesn't lose his cool, it's obvious how beside himself he is here in the way his emotions control him.

 

And the end of the chapter is so dramatic! Omg. I can't wait to see how this changes everything and what happens when everyone else finds out. Awesome chapter <3



Author's Response:

KRISTIN!!! *hug* *hug* *hug*

Ahahah! Yeah, that had to happen, sooner or later... and of course it was Remus, how could it not be? ;)

I think Peter was truly convinced that he needed to tell Jimmy at that point, even if that would not be easy... But anyway, Remus found out first... :P

Yes, there is a lot under the surface in that conversation, and I'm so glad you could see it and that you liked it.

And yes, of course everything was clear after Remus found the chess set... I had a bit too much fun writing their confrontation, honestly... and yes, their relationship is just so complex and there are so many unresolved issues and so many left over feelings between them... and yes, poor Remus is just so confused and out of control right now...

Well, I had to close it on a bit of a cliffhanger, did I not? (Yes, I'm an evil writer... :P)

Thank you so much for a wonderful review! <3



Name: Stella Blue (Signed) · Date: 15 Feb 2018 01:36 AM · [Report This]
Story:All the truth about Jimmy Portman Chapter: Consequences

What a wonderful month it is! Aka: Chiara Appreciation Month! <3 Congratulations!

 

Ha, I'm not surprised Dumbledore showed up, and his reaction was just what I would have expected of him. I can't believe everyone waited there as long as they did! Even if Jimmy had just jumped into the Floo. He literally told them nothing of his plans, so they had no idea how long he was planning to spend there. If I were them I'd be pretty annoyed at Jimmy for putting them in that position, which is why I found Neville's responses later on to be quite amusing :P

 

After all that, Jimmy didn't even get to see his father! (Well, technically he did... but he didn't see Peter :P) I love how welcoming the Potters were (after they realized he wasn't a stranger breaking into the house, at least), and especially how willing to help Dorea is. Though maybe it's still up in the air on whether Dorea is actually trying to help Jimmy for Jimmy's sake or because Dorea gets something out of it, because she does seem very willing to help. Is she manipulative, or overly helpful just because she's so nice? Or just nosy? Hmmm. I haven't made up my mind about her yet. She does seem to be good at keeping Jimmy's secret, though, and the only one who's willing to listen to him, which is definitely something. I feel bad for Jimmy that no one seemed to take him seriously when he came home, and no one took him to see Peter at all despite that being the entire reason he went home. He certainly wasn't in the right, just Flooing home after sneaking into a staff office, but he wouldn't have gone to all that trouble without a reason.

 

That is a lot of points to lose but I'm sure they'll be okay, people will get over it eventuallly... I like how you've kept some of the events in the books while making them entirely different - after all, these four did lose fifty points each in the book but for an entirely different reason, so I like how you're differentiating this universe from the original while keeping some tie-ins.

 

Omg I love Neville at the end of the chapter "of course you don't deserve us" hahaha. I like that their group's friendship stands up through this much of a trial. <3

 

Great chapter! You are amazing as ever <3



Author's Response:

Kristin!!! Aww, thank you, love! :)

Ahahah! Glad Dumbledore's reaction seemed believable... and yes, the kids were just a bit lost with Jimmy disappearing on them that way with no explaination... and they definitely will be annoyed at him. :P

Yes, Jimmy didn't even get to see Peter... *rolls eyes* Ah, Dorea... I think she's just pretty excited at the idea of having a brother and being involved in something mysterious... so, to answer your question if she is manipulative, extremely nice or just nosy... a mix of the three? :P And yes, poor Jimmy, not taken seriously by anyone...

I like to keep some links with canon events. Glad you enjoyed it. ;) And yes, people will get over it eventually.

Neville is still a Slytherin, right? :P But, yes, their friendship stands up despite everything! :D

Thank you so much, my dear!



Author's Response:

Kristin!!! Aww, thank you, love! :)

Ahahah! Glad Dumbledore's reaction seemed believable... and yes, the kids were just a bit lost with Jimmy disappearing on them that way with no explaination... and they definitely will be annoyed at him. :P

Yes, Jimmy didn't even get to see Peter... *rolls eyes* Ah, Dorea... I think she's just pretty excited at the idea of having a brother and being involved in something mysterious... so, to answer your question if she is manipulative, extremely nice or just nosy... a mix of the three? :P And yes, poor Jimmy, not taken seriously by anyone...

I like to keep some links with canon events. Glad you enjoyed it. ;) And yes, people will get over it eventually.

Neville is still a Slytherin, right? :P But, yes, their friendship stands up despite everything! :D

Thank you so much, my dear!



Name: dreamgazer220 (Signed) · Date: 06 Feb 2018 06:53 PM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:All the truth about Jimmy Portman Chapter: The Sorting

HELLO CHIARA! Here for our swap, and of course I'm coming back to another chapter of Jimmy ♥

I thought you did a really great job with the Sorting.  They're definitely such annoying chapters to write, but you managed to do it in a way that revealed a lot of information, give us some clues, and maintain Jimmy's child-like ness which is really hard to do.

I loved the opening bit, where we got to see how everyone felt about their sorting, and everything was so in character; especially Hermione and Neville! And I giggled at the line about if Jimmy had only been a 'Brooks' or a 'Clarke'. Definitely something an 11 year old would think.  

AND NEVILLE GETTING SORTED INTO SLYTHERIN?! WHAT ARE YOU DOING CHIARA?! 

Tsk tsk, Sorting hat, revealing bits of information! I can totally understand why poor Jimmy would be so confused and upset.  I hope the others won't make fun of him too much for that.  And I'm glad that the twins found him to comfort him; and they're certainly right about chocolate! 

This was another great chapter! Keep up the good work ♥



Author's Response:

JILL!!! Thank you so much for the swap, I'm so happy to see you back here! :)

I'm glad you enjoyed the sorting! :) Actually, I love writing sorting scenes, I always have fun imagining how characters would react to it and the conversations with the Hat are always so interesting... :P

I'm glad you liked the children's thoughts before their sorting and found them in character. :) And yes, poor Jimmy, the wait must have killed him... :P

Erm... yes, that was a bit unexpected, I guess... I thought that with all his rage towards the world and that little bit of Voldemort's soul in him, it would make sense for him to end up in Slytherin, even if he isn't very happy with it. Slytherin doesn't mean evil, though. It will turn out fine. ;)

Yes, poor Jimmy, that was quite a lot to take in... the twins were really sweet in that scene. And yes, chocolate can be the solution to a lot of problems... :P

I'm so glad you enjoyed the chapter! Thank you so much again for the swap and the lovely review!

Chiara



Name: Stella Blue (Signed) · Date: 04 Feb 2018 08:58 PM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:All the truth about Jimmy Portman Chapter: Mischief Half Managed

Tag!!! (And snowball hug!)

 

I love their message system on the diary. At that age I got caught passing notes to just one person at a time. The fact that they're doing 5-person note passing - and for the most part getting away with it - is quite impressive.

 

Samantha's bossiness and propensity to interfere in everyone else's business never ceases to amuse me. And it's even effective! She's such an interesting character in that she's quite polarizing but also rather diplomatic - I dont think the four would have ever figured anything out and would still not be talking to one another if not for her. She has no time for their drama and BS, and I like that.

 

Oooh, this is interesting, Jimmy getting hold of the Marauders' Map two years before Harry did in the original timeline. I wonder what that will change. Possibly that he'll get into trouble more as he finds all the secret passages XD I also realised at this point that Jimmy is at less of an advantage than Harry because Jimmy doesn't have an Invisibility Cloak.

 

There are a lot of people that know about Jimmy's rather ill-thought-out plan and no one has tried to dissuade him from it except Ron, haha. Hermione seems to not take issue with the plan itself, only the potential for expulsion. And Jimmy, he's just a bit of a loose cannon! Especially his in-the-moment decision to Floo home and ask Peter himself. (Which, honestly, is what he should have done in the first place, and I'm sure he could have done without sneaking into an office to do so. There are far better ways to go about this. But, consistently in this story, Jimmy has often had his judgement a bit clouded by his emotions and impulses, so it's quite believable of him)

 

I also want to note that I appreciate how the Sorting Hat was no help at all and that it sassed Jimmy. :P I love that it basically just told him "Dude this is so not my job." XD After all that work they put into this bad plan, it turned out to be a bad plan :P

 

Jimmy(Harry) does seem to have an issue with enunciating properly in floo travel. This is Diagon/Knocturn Alley all over again haha!

 

I laughed when Dorea acts all superior and obnoxious, and Jimmy wonders if he actually wants to know if he's related to her XD

 

Eeep what an ending! Things are getting very exciting! (I feel like I say this every chapter XD)

 

I'm so excited to find out what happens when Jimmy asks all these questions ... and to find out what happened tp all of Jimmy's friends whom he just left in the Headmaster's office while he floo'd away. And Jimmy still has the map. (He should have at least left it with them!) Awesome chapter, I loved it!



Author's Response:

Kristin! You know I love your reviews, right? Right!

I guess it's easier when no one can read the notes... :P But yes, quite impressive. :) They are smart kids, all considered. :P

I'm glad you love Samantha, I do too. Yes, she has no time for their drama. As always, I love your characters' analysis, it's perfect. :D

The Map is only a temporary landing... but I'm happy you liked it. And yes, Jimmy doesn't have the Cloak, which is pretty unconvenient... I'm sure he will get into a lot of trouble, with or without the extra help of those magical items... :P

Ahahah! Yes, Ron is being the voice of reason and no one is listening... now that you mention it, it's quite amusing! :P Jimmy has often had his judgement a bit clouded by his emotions and impulses. Yes, that's how he is. Typical Gryffindor, acting without reflecting, right?

The Sorting Hat's sass is always so fun to write. :P Yes, it was a really bad plan. :P

Ahahah! He does have an issue with that! At least this time he didn't end up in some vicious shop...

Dorea is the best! I can't wait to really explore their relationship as siblings! :P

Ahahah! You do say that at every chapter! And it makes me so proud! :P (This reminds me that I need to get to keep writing and get to the end...)

Can't wait to know your opinions on the following chapters. Hope to see you back soon, my love! :)

Thank you so, so much for the lovely review!

Snowball hug,

Chiara



Name: Stella Blue (Signed) · Date: 03 Feb 2018 09:29 PM · [Report This]
Story:All the truth about Jimmy Portman Chapter: A plan

Chiara! ♥ I'm celebrating the fact that I'm leaving my 700th review on HPFT by dropping by to visit Jimmy again!

 

A Bludger to the head kind of is a Quidditch rite of passage at Hogwarts, now that you mention it. Think of all the concussions. Do wizards even have any concept of danger? THEY DON'T EVEN WEAR HELMETS

 

McGonagall and her deadpan sass in this chapter cracked me up. Her comment about trying to poison Jimmy XD I love these moments when we get to see this side of McGonagall.

 

Lol, yes Jimmy that letter sounds like a fantastic idea. :P I'm sure Peter will love it.

 

Samantha! I'm glad she's becoming more of a central character in this story because I like her. And I absoltely love her friendship with Hermione. However I may feel about Hermione telling all of Jimmy's secrets to Sam, it's so sweet that Sam helps, not because she has to, but because she wants to help Hermione. I love that she corners Jimmy about his bad mood and he's too stunned to say much because he barely knows her  XD

 

So they're going to sneak into the Headmaster's office and steal the Sorting Hat (temporarily) so Jimmy can have a chat with it. I'm sure it will go flawlessly.........

 

But I still agree with Ron that it would have been easiest for Jimmy to just ask Peter :P Get him to come to Hogwarts and talk to him. The worst that can turn out from that is Peter doesn't tell him, leaving Jimmy no worse off than he is now. But his current plan, they might get lost and come across Fluffy in the trapdoor room and get killed. Or worse, they could be expelled. But no they decide to go with this plan because Gryffindors. :P (At least they hve a couple of Slytherins in their team who are the cunning thinkers :P )

One thing is for sure and that is that interesting things are coming up. I'm so curious to see how this group of five arguing first-years plans on getting into Dumbledore's office quietly and undetected :P

 

Great chapter!! ♥



Author's Response:

Kristin! Oh, wow! You are such an incredible reviewer... I can't believe that you've left so many reviews already, you put us all to shame! Also, I'm so honoured that you thought of me for your 700th! I love you so much!

Ahahah! No, they don't! Wizards are just crazy! :P And yeah, it is a rite of passage! :P

McGonagall is the bestest! Siriusly! I love her! I loved writing that little biscuits scene and her comment about poisoning Jimmy was just too much fun! :P

Ahahah! Peter would be delighted to receive that letter! :P

Samantha is great! A bit crazy and overbearing, but great! :D I'm glad you like her and her friendship with Hermione! Ahahah! Poor Jimmy really doesn't know how to act around her... :P

Oh, that will go absolutely smoothly. Why would you even doubt it? And yes, sometimes Ron is the voice of reason, but for some reason people tend not to listen to him... Ahahah! They might get killed. Or worse, expelled. You want to kill me, Kristin. This is the most hilarious review I've ever received. :D

And yes, Gryffindors would never take the easy way, it would take off the fun, wouldn't it? A couple of Slytherins in the team will definitely help. ;)

How a group of five arguing first-years will get into Dumbledore's office quietly and undetected? With immense difficulty, of course (this is a quote from Fantastic Beasts, if it wasn't clear... :P)

Thank you so much for this great surprise review and for making me smile so widely! :D

Love you,

Chiara



Name: victoria_anne (Signed) · Date: 23 Jan 2018 09:57 AM · [Report This]
Story:All the truth about Jimmy Portman Chapter: A new neighbour

Hey Chi!

 

I love how even after all this time, Peter is still riddled with guilt over what he did. It keeps him human. And the part about James and Sirius still causing him trouble, even though they have no idea, is so funny and so believable :P

 

:O There's a job as a dragon-sitter?! Oh my goodness that is SO the job for me!

 

Ooh an available house in Godric's Hollow. What are the chances? It's definitely a sign! Aw, and a Potter child with James' eyes. It's perfect!

 

HAHAHA James watching Lily do the dishes is So typical, I love it!

 

What I love about this story is that we get to see Lily and James' point of view throughout Voldemort's second rise to power. I think you write their reactions really well, like how intuned they are with the information, and the terror that comes with it because they've already lived through it and don't want it to happen again. It's so interesting to get this fresh take! Ooh and the house Peter is looking at used to be Dumbledore's! Interesting!

 

Snowball hug <3



Author's Response:

Hi, B! *wub*

Yes, poor Peter has a lot of guilt issues (and with good reason, too...) James and Sirius have that ability, don't they? :P

Ahahah! I guess it is, but I'm not sure how many customers you would have... :P

It probably is a sign. Or just a very (un)fortunate coincidence... either way, drama is bound to happen... :P Ahahah! I think that Harry having a sister who is his opposite (looking just like Lily but with James' eyes) is the most cliched of cliches... but who cares, it's something that amuses me... :P

And yes, that's just so James Potter, don't you think? :P

I think many people of their generation would feel that way about Voldemort's second raise to power. We don't get to see that much in the books because we are only shown Harry's POV, but I'm sure many would have those reactions, especially people who'd been in the first Order. It is interesting to explore James and Lily's POV in this story and I'm glad you like it. Also, yes, Dumbledore's house... :P

Snowball hug to you, my little B!



Submit a Review