Login

Name: Nix (Signed) · Date: 01 Sep 2018 08:24 PM · [Report This]
Story:His Murderer, His Lover. Chapter: His Murderer, His Lover.

Hello Bex! Nix here for the Hot Seat! So sorry I'm late! 

 

I love the premise of this story! I've always had a thing for forbidden love (and lust, in this case). And it's such an interesting take on it! We know in the beginning that it's Bellatrix our narrarator is talking about. The evil woman be both love and hate as avid readers of the Harry Potter books. She's intelligent and inspiring in her early days, I presume. She hasn't gone mad yet from her time in Azkaban. And she's loyally devoted to her cause. But could she have had feelings for another? Chances are her marriage was out of duty. We really see nothing of them together after she escapes from Azkaban, and really don't know what's happened to her husband since then. It's highly possible she could have interested in another all along. But I love the fact that I have no idea who this person is until the very end of the story!

 

I really didn't know. I couldn't fathom who would have the same feelings for her. I certainly doubted it was any of the Marauders, though I considered it. But there was no mention of them so that ended it. But to find out it was Gideon! One of Molly's borthers, that was such a shock! But a good one! I can't imagine what Molly would think if she knew. And then to find out Bellatrix casted the killing blow on him! Such a sad ending, especially when he was only thinking of being with her when she killed him. I wonder if she knew. How she felt after the fact. Did she ever care for him? 

 

This was such a great and interesting one-shot! So glad I decided to read it!

xxNix



Name: M C Crocker (Signed) · Date: 07 Aug 2018 10:38 AM · starstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:His Murderer, His Lover. Chapter: His Murderer, His Lover.
The premise and idea caught me right off deary and I loved it. I think the idea of Gideon and Bellatrix is so interesting. The forbidden passion was something you played with so nicely.

You have played up a wonderful and relate able character in Gideon and you didn't tarnish for a second the darkness that is Bellatrix. I particularly love the ending that shows how vile she is how she didn't question and killed him without question her devotion to the cause not wavering like Gideon's did.

Also you did a beautiful job working in the quote it fits so naturally into the story and I very much enjoyed this read.

Author's Response:

Hello! Thank you so much for reviewing! 

I've been interested in this pairing for years. When I first became aware of them, I was looking at their ship from a more romantic perspective. I used to think that they'd meet in their teens and would slowly fall in love in school because Gideon sees someone behind the unstable and terrifying witch - and Bella is surprised that anyone would care for her enough to stick around. Then when I rediscovered this ship....none of that felt right. I'd always wanted to write them, even from a young age, but I think what stopped me was that I knew deep down I didn't believe in that premise. Did I still want them to happen? Absolutely! I just had to go about it a different way, one that was more in character. 

 

I think this relationship really showed their weaknesses as soldiers and that even Bellatrix couldn't be a loyal follower all of the time. Gideon was a constant reminder of how weak she had been, so when the opportunity presented itself - she got rid of him. In her eyes that made her strong again, but of course we know that this affair still happened. Well in the land of AU it did, haha! 

 

I'm really glad you enjoyed reading this and again, thank you so much!



Name: starbuck (Signed) · Date: 02 Aug 2018 03:46 PM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:His Murderer, His Lover. Chapter: His Murderer, His Lover.

i love reading a good rare pair and bellatrix is a character i absolutely hate but at the same time she's so fascinating. especially bellatrix before azkaban made her into a real lunatic :O

 

i can definitely imagine her being someone who easily seduces people, even the ones who are her enemies. in this story, i think that gideon is delusional :P not completely, obviously, since he knows who she is and how she is. but even thinking she'd have any doubts or second thoughts about killing people or torturing them shows just....his delusion i guess :I bellatrix running away is hilarious, but for a man in love (is he though?...or is being with her just something he needs to get through the horrifying war, something his mind translated into a need he confuses with something else entirely, to make himself possibly feel better about what he's doing with her), it's something understandable since love is often blind.

 

you wrote their affair well - even though it wasn't described in great detail, the whole thing painted really vivid pictures in my mind. it was like watching scenes or flashes from a movie.

 

the ending was both expected and unexpected, but poor gideon! bellatrix murdering him was a great plot device - i hope he comes back to haunt her, at least a little bit :P

 

i enjoyed reading this!!! (and i'm always amazed when people are versatile - you wrote fluffy That's All and also this which is the complete opposite but both of the stories are a wonderful read!)

 

kris



Author's Response:

I agree with you, Bellatrix has always really intrigued me. I don't think we've ever agreed or shared the same views on ANYTHING - but I don't think that means she shouldn't be explored. Some people present pre-azkaban Bella as a woman who was defined by her past or felt she had to be one of Voldemort's followers to impress her parents...which I can see, but that's not something I agree with. I think her parents would have much preferred it if she had married a death eater and taken Narcissa's role. I think that she was taken in by death eater propaganda and took it as a way to prove herself. Even if she'd have been brought up in a loving home - I think she would have been an outsider. An outsider with skills that Voldemort wanted to make use of more than say the ministry or the aurors. Bella is a true slytherin to me in that she became a death eater because it utilised her powers and her beliefs the most, no one else 'deserved' her. As you can see I could talk about Bella all day! 

 

Gideon's definitely not thinking clearly, he's sleeping with the enemy. They have good sexual chemistry - that's it as far as their relationship goes. I think for him being in her company so regularly and not talking of the war, that's what makes him think that they could run away and have a life together. He thinks he's seen this 'other side' to her because they slept together and it didn't end with him being avada'd on the bed. It's his delusion, but he needs it. I think if he had outlived the war he would've moved on and seen that it was just a coping mechanism of sorts. Whereas I think this might've been a challenge for Bellatrix. She's using him because seducing other death eaters is impossible, she's one of the only high ranking female death eaters, she's unhinged - the other men don't sexualise her. Clearly Gideon does. 

 

Bella was always going to kill him from the moment I started writing this. I just wanted to reassure everyone that she doesn't really understand love, nor is she capable of it. She wasn't obsessed with Gideon like she was with Voldemort - and her cause was far more important than his life, or their affair. I don't know if he'd haunt her, I mean she was willing to kill Ginny and Molly - both his sister and his niece. She wasn't thinking of him in the end, but I believe when she had an itch to scratch, or when she got bored of all the fighting - she'd be reminded of how she used to fill that time. 

 

It's really weird - I actually used to love writing angst a lot more than fluff! I don't know if I consider myself a versatile writer, I'd just been thinking about this ship for years but never knew how to write it. One day I was in a bad mood and voila! I wrote it in one sitting! I should really go back and edit it, but if anything it just fills out my authors page - so it's a lovely surprise when anyone reads this, let alone enjoys it! 

 

Thank you! 



Name: Ursula (Anonymous) · Date: 22 Feb 2018 04:15 PM · starstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:His Murderer, His Lover. Chapter: His Murderer, His Lover.
Hi there Bex,

This was a real treat of a short story. I wasn’t sure what to expect going into it and honestly, I’m still not sure coming out of it. I’ll probably work it out as I write this review. I guess I’ll begin by admitting, I feel pretty bad for Gideon Prewett. At some point in the course of his telling the not-so-love-story between he and Bellatrix, I felt a hint a breaking heart- his.

The story began in a straightforward manner. There was nothing but sex between the two. You made that very clear. I didn’t like the tone at first- it’s told me too much rather than show. The more I think about the story, the more I like your approach and here’s why.

It felt like business to me. It was fitting. He knew whatever they have wasn’t real. It’s all just a game, especially to Bellatrix, a means of play time. Despite all this, I felt like there were always hints of sentimentality.

When people who know love, who understand love, pretend like they can set it aside, it’s never quite the same as when people who don’t know or understand love get into an open relationship. People who know love will eventually feel love. They will want it and they will give it. People who don’t know love won’t feel love. They will not give it. Gideon and Bellatrix, they were more than justice or revenge. Yes, it’s quite blurry, the lines, but maybe this is something you didn’t notice yourself, your writing, this story, it’s not as blurred.

I think the most telling of this theory/thought is your title. His Murderer, His Lover. If it were in the point of view of Bellatrix, it may be something like My Toy or Her Toy. It was never equal between them. Bellatrix doesn’t even see her own husband as an equal, in my opinion. There’s only ever been Voldemort for her. And knowing this of Bellatrix adds to the voice you’ve given for Gideon Prewett. A one-sided affair. All the more tragic.

It was a nice read and even more so going back to it as I write this review.
I’m really glad I read this.

”Ursula, your secret cupid.

Author's Response:

Thank you so much for the review! 

You're so right about Bellatrix. She's not capable of love, she can't really comprehend it. I don't know what she'd do if somone told her they loved her - someone who wasn't Voldemort. I feel like she'd want to hear it as a child because it's a form of approval. In the end she didn't need that from anyone except Voldemort.

I feel bad for Gideon, but then he knew what he was getting into. He knew from the start what this 'relationship' would be and to get attached to someone like Bella is a combination of the circumstances going on around them, and his own fault. It was just business, a way to let off steam and defy the war that they were thrown into. For Bellatrix, it's something that allows her to do that without being violent - which is why it works for them so well. 

It's great to know that you enjoyed this, and thank you so much for reviewing! 

 



Name: LadyL8 (Signed) · Date: 05 Dec 2017 01:32 PM · [Report This]
Story:His Murderer, His Lover. Chapter: His Murderer, His Lover.

Hey Bex,

 

I'm here for the Winter Wonderland Event to review for Team Phoenix. It's been very long since I read anything of yours, so I'm excited to check out one of your stories again. This one looked really interesting. I'm a fan of rare pairs, so I'm excited to see what the pairing is. Anyway, I'm just gonna stop talking now and start reading.

 

Okay, so first of all. I loved that I had no clue who the characters were until I was pretty far into in the story. And true, I've never been really good at catching these sort of things, but still, it was really cleverly written. I really enjoyed reading this without knowing who the characters were, because it added some mystery to the piece. I liked that.

 

This is most definitely a rare pairing, but surprisingly enough, I totally bought it. I didn't think I could see Bellatrix with anyone, but this really worked for me because it's so clear that there are no romantic feelings involved. I can't ever see Bellatrix being in love with someone, so for this to work for me, it would have to be a really weird unhealthy, maybe even disturbing, relationship, and that's just what it was. It was never about love. It was just two people who were using each other in the middle of a war. And it was obviously not gonna go anywhere good; I'm pretty sure they both knew that. Still, it was difficult to see Bellatrix kill Gideon in the end. That's pretty cold, but I can't say I'm surprised. That's just who Bellatrix is.

 

So yeah, this was a really good story. I loved that you managed to make a really weird pairing actually seem somewhat believable. That's not an easy feat at all, but you did that. Great job! Thank you so much for sharing!

 

-       Lotte



Author's Response:

Hey Lotte, thanks for taking the time to read and review!

I've always liked doing a grand reveal with characters, this isn't the first time I've done it...and it won't be the last. I'm not particularly good at hiding it usually, but I'm so glad you didn't know who they were until the end. Though the fact that the pairing's so rare probably helped! 

When I was younger I shipped these two together...and now I look back on it - I'm kind of like, this is the most unlikely pair ever. So I have to write them! But I wanted to do it in a way that proved they couldn't be together. To keep Bellatrix in character you have to show that cold, crazy, calculative side of her. She killed her family, and disowned her sister all for an extremely evil and powerful man and for 'the cause'. I wanted to show that Bellatrix needed to have fun, but that she was just as much a dedicated soldier as Gideon was. You don't really see a character as intense and heartless as Bellatrix finding love, and having a total personality change. I wanted to write her in character, and show a sexual relationship - instead of one with feelings. 

 

Again, it means so much to me that you took the time to review, I'm so glad you enjoyed this! 

 

Bex



Name: Rumpelstiltskin (Signed) · Date: 03 Dec 2017 02:36 PM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:His Murderer, His Lover. Chapter: His Murderer, His Lover.

Hey!

 

This was a really dark, interesting little piece. I really enjoyed the Gideon Prewett x Bellatrix Lestrange obscure pairing. The idea that they could use each other in this way, where the lines of right and wrong had been obscured by the war so much, and in a way that was purely animalistic and raw makes complete sense. Enemies brought together for one purpose--to feel good in a time when nothing could possibly feel good. I love the fact that, while two completely different people, were brought together thusly, but not wholly. And even though she was the one to murder him in the war (something that he probably thought to be a possibility long before starting their affair), his final thoughts were with her, in those times alone. I especially love his romanticized dreaming of running from the war, perhaps with Bellatrix, who he knows, at the very back of his mind, probably wasn't following the same thoughts as himself, though he does have a point, killing the enemy is still taking a life. 

 

Anyway, I really liked this, it was short and dark and sad and all around perfect, really.

 

-Rumpels



Author's Response:

Hey Rumpels, thanks for reading!! I've always wanted to try and write a pairing that wouldn't work. One that isn't based on connection or romance, but just convenience and sexual compatability. Bellatrix and Gideon are, in my head, such a rare and unlikely duo. When I was younger, I shipped these two so hard and was so disappointed that there were only three or four fics out there about them. I was only about fourteen/fifteen then and was obsessed with the idea of forbidden love. Now, I think if these two had to be married and live together....one would probably kill the other. I think that's inevitable in every way you write them. It always stuck in my head that Bellatrix would kill Gideon if they had any kind of relationship. That's where the idea stemmed from. 

I'm glad you liked this, and thank you so much for the review! 

 



Name: Stella Blue (Signed) · Date: 02 Dec 2017 05:51 PM · starstarstarstarhalf-star [Report This]
Story:His Murderer, His Lover. Chapter: His Murderer, His Lover.

Hi Bex! I'm here for the winter wonderland!

 

I loved this. I loved the fact that I had no idea who the characters were in the beginning and I had to figure it out. (Well, I figured out Bellatrix pretty quickly, and over the course of the story I thought the narrator miiight be someone in the Order but would never have guessed until you mentioned Gideon Prewett's name at the end.) And most of all, I love that you made such a rare, bizarre ship seem plausible in a way.

 

I agree that Bellatrix wouldn't be in it for love. She wants excitement. She wants to break rules just because she can. So the fact that she would be having an affair with an Auror who's a member of the Order is in a way believable - it would be too far fetched if she'd been with a half-blood, but since Gideon Prewett is a pureblood there is some degree of plausibility here, and put together with the way you've described their relationship, I can see it. Of course, it makes sense that it's quite a destructive, unhealthy relationship. It really couldnt be anything else. And then when she kills him at the end, it's not really a surprise. But I don't think Gideon was surprised either that it ended that way - earlier in the story he even says it would all end in death. He  was right.

 

I'm so glad I chose this to read, it was wonderfully written and original! You did an amazing job with this story and with this ship.



Author's Response:

Hi Stella, tysm for reviewing! 

I've never seen Bellatrix capable of love, though maybe if I had the capabilities to write a full bella/gideon novel I'd try, she's more obsessive or short term. But even Bellatrix Lestrange has standards, another soldier dedicated to their cause, a pureblood, and someone she thinks she's better than (which i believe, is most people). Though it isn't canon, I've always seen Bella as his murderer - it just makes a lot more sense, and gives Molly that extra bit of motivation in deathly hallows. 

Thank you again!!



Name: Crimson Quill (Signed) · Date: 02 Dec 2017 02:11 PM · [Report This]
Story:His Murderer, His Lover. Chapter: His Murderer, His Lover.

Hello!

Wow, I really enjoyed this! I thought it was really intense, you really captured this pull that they have towards each other. I love a rare pair so I'm not fussy about canon with this at all!

I was reading this and all the way through I was trying piece together the little bits of information you were feeding the reader throughout this to guess who the two people were. I loved doing this because I felt really engaged in this piece because of that. I was able to guess Bellatrix but not Gideon! I think it's a really interesting pairing which I could totally see myself shipping too! 

you've done a really good job at showing the main character's inner conflict in some ways he's so confused but it's crystal clear in other ways. Sometimes things just don't make sense but they do. it's a hard thing to try and show but I thought you've done amazing job with this aspect of it. it's almost like this twisted messed up romeo/juliet thing going on, it's complicated and interesting. the whole piece is super intense and I thought it was simply brilliant!

- Abbi xo      



Author's Response:

Hey Abbi! 

Ah, another rare pair lover! This is a ship I've always wanted to explore but it's so rarely written (for good reason probably!) 

I imagined that Bellatrix would be quite easy to pick up on, but I purposefully avoided saying who Gideon was. Well I didn't name either just so people wouldnt get caught up in the characters - I wanted them to focus on the words more. But I'm glad that you'd ship it too! 

 

 



Name: BellaLestrange87 (Signed) · Date: 31 Aug 2017 10:29 PM · starstarstarstarhalf-star [Report This]
Story:His Murderer, His Lover. Chapter: His Murderer, His Lover.

Hi Bex! This looked super interesting so I had to stop by.

Oh my goodness. I love this.

The very concept of this is amazing. I love how despite the fact that they're on opposite sides of the war they're still attracted to each other - even though she's married. I especially love how you mentioned that they probably would have been together if it wasn't for the war (or at least that's how I interpreted that line).

I think it's a really good idea to not explicitly say who the two were until the very end. It adds an air of mystery. I knew the woman was Bellatrix because of the mention of her habit of playing with her food before eating it. But I had no idea that the man was Gideon Prewett. Just imagine what Molly would think of that! I have to admit that your last line confused me a bit - I thought Antonin Dolohov killed the Prewett brothers? Although my memory of the minor details books isn't all that strong, so feel free to completely ignore this if I'm wrong (or if I completely misunderstood the sentence, which is very likely considering it's 11:30 at night right now).

Your prose in this was amazing. The descriptions of their relationship - if you could call it that - was just wonderful. Everything flowed perfectly and I just... love (I can't really make words right now).

I can't wait to read more of your work (*waggles eyebrows*)

~Olivia



Author's Response:

Hey Olivia 

thanks for reviewing! This was a concept I've actually had since I was fourteen...but it was unchartered territory in that I didn't really understand romance or how to write it. I didn't want to say who they were just because people would've focused on that more than the plot, and I just wanted people to enjoy the words haha. Well canon says that Antonin Dolohov killed them, but it's tagged as AU for this reason! I very rarely stick to canon - I much prefer to write 'what ifs' or 'why nots' haha! 

 

 



Name: Lostmyheart (Signed) · Date: 15 Jul 2017 07:33 PM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:His Murderer, His Lover. Chapter: His Murderer, His Lover.

Hi there!

This is the first time I'm reading a fanfic this year and boy did I pick the most perfect one to start with! Your writing is absolutely amazing and so rich in an odd, delicious way. I could devour this entire one shot if I could.

Beautiful and tragic love story, just the way I like them. And you made my heart ache </3 that ending!

I will  definitely read more of your stories!

Love,

Avi



Author's Response:

hey avi! 

i'm so honoured that this was the first fanfic you'd read this year, and that you enjoyed it!! 
Tragic romance is all i know, and all I'll probably write!



Submit a Review