Reviews For to the end of time


Name: nott theodore (Signed) · Date: 04 Feb 2020 06:47 PM · For: You Should Know

Ashley!  YOU UPDATED!

 

Okay, so I have a LOT of feelings.  And I wasn't sure, with the way that you opened this chapter, that they were going to be very positive ones, but they actually are and I'm pretty happy with the way things happened here (which I'm very glad about, because it would have been unfair of you to torture us even more after all this time).

 

I just love the way that you characterise Lavender and Parvati so much in this story.  Even though I'm (obviously) shipping them, their friendship is just so strong and both of them are such strong characters too - they've been through so, so much when they're still only relatively young, and I'm thankful that they have each other.  You capture their characters so well in each scene, right down to the tiny details like Parvati playing with her bracelet when she's feeling nervous and awkward, and the two of them are practically living and breathing, you write them so well.

 

So, I was kind of convinced the opening of this chapter was going to be fluffy and happy, with the way that it started with the talk of weddings.  Dean and Seamus are getting married, yay!  But it was decidedly not - things turned so quickly and I honestly wanted to punch Wes through my laptop screen, to be honest.  Who on earth does he think he is???

 

I'm not going to go on a rant about his homophobic response, because that would probably take up the whole review, but I thought you showed Parvati's emotions and reaction to it so well - the way that she felt shocked and hurt and uncomfortable, and didn't know how to deal with it.  It was so realistic and believable, and I wanted to reach out and hug her.  I was really glad that she had Susan there - and in the end, I think Susan's solution was probably even more effective than physically attacking him would have been.  Go, Susan.

 

(I like Susan and Parvati together in this chapter, but now I'm confused because I'm still shipping Lavender and Parvati, and I'm not sure how to feel here.)

 

The conversation between Parvati and Lavender when Parvati tried to tell her about his homophobia was so horrible.  You captured the awkwardness perfectly - I was feeling almost uncomfortable myself reading it.  I was sad when Lavender didn't believe her, but I can understand her not wanting to think that about her fiancé - and it did just make the final scene more emotional and more heartwarming, too.

 

I hate Wes.  There, I said it.  I've never been his biggest fan, but to try and make Lavender choose between him and her best friend, just because the best friend likes to kiss girls?  What a.... I'm so, so glad that Lavender made the right choice, and held onto the friendship with Parvati that's got her through so much.  I'm filled with fluffy friendship feelings at the end of this chapter, so I'm only hoping you don't break my heart with the next one!

 

Sian :)



Name: Crimson Quill (Signed) · Date: 04 Feb 2020 01:45 PM · For: You Should Know

 

Hey!

 

I'm so excited to see this story back. I forgot how much I just adore your version of Parvati! I love how she just how strong that she was in this chapter. She was telling Lavender about Wes comments about Seamus and Dean was really brave and strong because Lavender might have reacted badly to the news and she wouldn't want to alienate her but she went for what was right. she is totally kickarse in this chapter and I'm really just in love with this story.  I've never liked Wes for obvious reasons but I'm pleased to be proved right that he is just the worst. he doesn't know even know that he is doing it which is just awful. 

 

I love the little detail about Parvati and the bracelet. It's a small thing but it is so true to her character and people in real life who have their little quirks. She obviously is touching it as a form of comfort. It's really sweet thing about their friendship. Whatever happens between them it'll always come with that base of friendship. 

 

Lavender is my girl! I'm really protective about her character when I see her appear in fic. I think your version of her is one of my favourites. She is really feisty but she has this vulnerable side to her which makes her so layered especially since she is not the main character. I love that she is so excited about her wedding of her friends. It's always such a good quality in a person when they value their friends! 

 

I want to know what is going to happen in the final chapter. I can't be sure about how it's going to work out which is really quite excited. I really want it to be them together because they have such a good bond but I don't know?? The tease is there but perhaps Susan and Parvati will also have a thing going on. I think the character journey for Parvati has been amazing and that's what has drawn me into this story and root for this character. I really hope it's not another two year between updates!

 

Abbi xx

 



Name: justawillowtree (Signed) · Date: 18 Jul 2019 09:31 PM · For: A Moment of Confidence

[Oops I accidentally posted this review for the last chapter, so I had to delete and repost. :P]

 

I HOPE I’M NOT REPEATING ANYTHING THAT I SAID IN MY REVIEW OF THE LAST CHAPTER BUT HERE I GO. This chapter gave me so so many feelings omg. It actually reminded me a lot of Love, Simon (the movie) in one respect: he kept the fact that he was gay secret, and as a result secretly said things with a slight ulterior motive that ended up hurting his friends. Obviously it’s not the same situation, but I got that feeling here—Parvati has loved Lavender for so long, and all her little hints here and there about how that guy wasn’t right for Lavender, and then right when Lavender has a chance to marry the person she loves, Parvati deals with everything the wrong way by confessing at that moment.

 

UGH BUT I FEEL SO BAD FOR PARVATI. Like, it’s obviously hard making these confessions, so I feel like I’ve been hard on her by constantly telling her to do it hahaha. I really want Parvati to be happy more than anything, but I just think she chose the wrong time. Like, saying that her friend couldn’t marry this man because Parvati loved her, despite not having said anything for many many years? I DON’T KNOW CLAIRE THIS HAS GIVEN ME MANY EMOTIONS THAT I CANNOT PROCESS.

 

Lavender’s reaction was very much not good, though I can understand why she’d be unhappy that Parvati messed up her moment. AHHH CLAIRE I’M STILL SAD. (Also I read the next chapter since I can’t review that one—I understand that Padma is a very good and protective sister, but also I don’t think she fully understands the situation haha.)

 

AHH. THE RECONCILIATION WAS EVERYTHING THOUGH. It was so so touching, and I’m really glad that Lavender realized that what she said was hurtful and could probably be misconstrued to be more disgusted than shocked, and ahhh the friendship between these two is everything. Sorry that none of this was coherent omg, I’m still processing.

 

Claire if you update I will give you a million reviews. :P

 

I love this story so much!

 

Love,

Eva



Name: justawillowtree (Signed) · Date: 18 Jul 2019 08:47 PM · For: First Dates

YOU KNOW IT JUST OCCURRED TO ME LAST CHAPTER THAT LAVENDER MIGHT NOT KNOW ABOUT PARVATI LIKING GIRLS, AND THEN IT WAS CONFIRMED THIS CHAPTER. (Also, I think I lied about not having first-impression reactions; it turns out that I have overestimated my memory and forgotten more details than I thought I would haha.) But anyway! Did Parvati specifically ask Seamus not to talk to Lavender about the date? (Are Seamus and Lavender even that close anymore?)

 

There are so many complicated parts to this story, like I feel like there has to be something that Parvati is keeping from this valuable friendship if Lavender doesn’t even know such an important part of Parvati’s identity, right? But also I can understand where Parvati is coming from, where, even though her love for Lavender hasn’t left in like ten years, she still wants it go away, and acknowledging that she likes girls to Lavender might cement her feelings further. But at the same time, wouldn’t it also potentially open up the possibility for her dating other girls? For her best friend to help her find other dates and such??

 

Ugh I ship Parvati/Lavender so much but if Lavender is straight, then there’s nothing to do about it, right?? I DON’T KNOW CLAIRE. Also, what’s Padma not telling Parvati? Does she also have someone that she likes? What secret is she keeping?? I feel like Parvati’s accidentally distancing herself from everyone around her and I DON’T WANT HER TO.

 

This is so difficult. :(

 

Love,

Eva



Name: justawillowtree (Signed) · Date: 18 Jul 2019 08:16 PM · For: Move In

Oh I wonder what Lavender was ranting about?? I don’t know why I’m even asking haha, it probably wasn’t anything particularly juicy or gossipy, and probably falls more in line with “living with her parents was difficult” or something like that, but I’m still curious. I want hear everything that these two young women have to say. :P

 

AH PARVATI. I can tell she loves Lavender so much, which is very painful because Lavender is quite unaware of this fact, and the fact that Parvati has kept it from her for the past like twelve years is probably not good, and makes it harder to confess as the years go on. I think Padma comes from a place of care and understanding, but also, Parvati does know Lavender better, and is probably also well-suited for taking care of Lavender, so I don’t think Padma needs to worry on that front! Also, hasn’t Parvati already lived with Lavender for many years while successfully keeping her feelings hidden? I think it should be okay, right?

 

What am I saying, I WANT HER TO CONFESS. Honesty is good, especially when it involves your actual best friend! Listen to me Parvati!! She’s like keeping this part of herself muted, and can only really talk about it with her sister it seems because her best friend is not an option because she hasn’t confessed anything yet!!! I can’t believe that Harry and Luna didn’t show up like thirty seconds later last chapter, I’m so curious as to how things would be different now if Parvati had managed to tell Lavender about her feelings??

 

This story is so good and so saddd. Claireee. :(((

 

Love,

Eva



Name: justawillowtree (Signed) · Date: 18 Jul 2019 08:06 PM · For: Should Have Said

AHHH. Poor Parvati! The universe really hates her, doesn’t it? I was so excited and proud of her because she was about to tell Lavender (probably because it was potentially the last time they were ever going to see each other) but then Harry and Luna came back at the wrong time. I have now developed a firm belief that Parvati is one of the unluckiest people in the universe due to the poor timing of everything, and so far nothing has happened to contradict this theory haha. But also! We’re already at the Battle of Hogwarts! I thought you framed everything incredibly well, especially the violence and fear surrounding this time; the descriptions of the bruises on Lavender’s face were frightening, and I could practically sense the relief when Harry returned with Luna.

 

It really makes you realize, there was a lot of pressure on these kids, which I’m not sure I would have been able to handle.

 

The fear that struck Parvati, though, when she saw all the dead bodies and then her beloved Lavender on the ground, must’ve been one of the worst feelings ever. I can’t even imagine the kind of pain of seeing someone you love so much so broken and bloody—Fenrir Greyback is a monster and I am glad that Trelawney decided to use her crystal ball for tactical advantages haha. I’ve always wondered exactly what kinds of symptoms Lavender would’ve developed from this encounter… Would it be similar to Bill’s?

 

I thought you did such an amazing job describing the panic and fear that overtook Parvati, and the uncontrollable tears that would not stop coming. I felt everything just weighing heavy in my chest, and I felt so bad for Parvati, and I wanted to cry along with her, and I think that’s a real accomplishment, as a writer. <3

 

Wonderful, wonderful job with this difficult chapter! <3

 

Love,

Eva



Name: justawillowtree (Signed) · Date: 18 Jul 2019 06:40 PM · For: My Sweetheart

Hahaha here we get Parvati’s opinion on Lavender’s excessive girlfriend-ing. I think all young couples are dumb in their own way—after all, most people in the world overestimate their suave-ness and deepness of feelings in early relationships haha—but Lavender’s was always particularly amusing because of how dramatically terrible her taste in relationship styles is. I mean. “Won-Won” is objectively a terrible nickname, and I think a gold necklace with “My Sweetheart” is probably not what Ron would want to get hahaha. But I still like her, and I think she’s sweet, and I think everyone’s attitude towards her in the sixth book was a little unfounded because it’s not her fault, necessarily, that the relationship is silly. She has a lot of time to grow.

 

And aww Parvati. She makes a lot of good points about why Lavender and Ron’s relationship is not the best, but also, they’re kids still and probably get to fool around a little bit before figuring out what they like. And not to mention that a lot of Parvati’s points come from a place of selfishness—which is also hard to fault her for because she’s also young, and jealous, and it’s already difficult for adults to manage jealousy to imagine a teenager trying to handle it all by herself. I think Parvati should tell Lavender—because later on, it would probably feel a lot worse to Lavender knowing her friend was trying to put seeds of doubt in Lavender’s mind, for the reason that Parvati liked her. Did that sentence even make sense? :P

 

Ugh but their motto of “Friends til the end” is unbelievably cute, still, even though I feel like there’s starting to have more of a distance between them due to Parvati closing off this really important part of herself. :(

 

UNREQUITED LOVE IS SO HARD.

 

Love,

Eva



Name: justawillowtree (Signed) · Date: 18 Jul 2019 06:28 PM · For: The Yule Ball

THERE ARE ALL THESE SUPER GAY MOMENTS BUT LAVENDER DOESN’T KNOW. I keep wanting to just shove these two together in a room and force them to talk it out so that any future pain can be spared, ahhh, and even if it messes up their friendship for a little bit, I have every faith that they can come back together as friends. Maybe more, if Lavender ends up liking Parvati, but all this is wishful thinking because it doesn’t happen this wayyy. I have braced myself for the inevitable heartbreak and mess-ups ahhh.

 

But the “Care to dance, m’lady?” had my hopes rocketing skyhigh, despite the fact that I know what happens, so I think it’s a testament to your writing how much you make me want these two to get together. Also, haha, Ron and Harry really did treat Parvati and Padma pretty terribly, but I’m glad that Parvati doesn’t seem to be too bitter about it. Speaking of which, why would Lavender be upset about Padma going with Ron, especially if she already agreed to go with Seamus?? I think that one of Lavender’s greater flaws is that she’s an incredible possessive and jealous person, even if she’s not actively going out with them, as we can see by the fact that apparently she and Parvati fought over this. It’s also only a single dance, it’s not a commitment to life or anything. :P

 

I wish that they could’ve danced a slow dance but the universe keeps thwarting Parvati! I’m sure Lavender meant all nice things when she told Parvati to go dance with the boy, but if I had been friends with Lavender, I probably would’ve smacked her for foisting the Beauxbatons boy upon me. I would much rather dance with familiar friends, platonic or not, than with random stranger boys! Parvati’s panic was understandable, though at some point I wish she’d thought to be honest about her feelings. :(

 

I’M ALREADY EMOTIONAL CLAIRE. <3

 

Love,

Eva



Name: justawillowtree (Signed) · Date: 18 Jul 2019 06:13 PM · For: Just a Phase

Aww, all the girls gathered in the Hufflepuff dormitories! I always forget about inter-House friendships, and so I was momentarily quite surprised when I saw both Ravenclaw and Gryffindor girls in the Hufflepuff dormitories, but then I figured out it was possible to have friends in other Houses, haha. I remember those days when I would sit around with my friends and we would just randomly mention people that we liked as though it were no big deal, and then get teased about it by each other, and when I didn’t even realize it was possible that I could like a girl. A lot has changed since then, haha. It’s really wonderful, I think, that Parvati figured out who she liked so young, instead of harboring this internal compulsory heterosexuality for years and years like a lot of people haha.

 

Though I’m sure she doesn’t think it’s too wonderful right now, because the other girls have only mentioned liking guys, and so she probably feels really out of place. It hurts right now, though, because I know for how long her crush on Lavender is going to last, and how hiding it from the beginning probably was not the best decision for the level of trust in their friendship.

 

AHH LAVENDER DON’T SAY IT LIKE THAT, “There has to be some guy,” NO. Parvati likes girls, thank you very much. And to the rest of the girls! Don’t limit someone’s crush to being a guy! Not good! Though I understand that they’re children and probably haven’t had many opportunities to learn about the fact that not every person in the world is straight. Stillll, this just sort of shined a light on the culture of a lot of young children, talking about their crushes and inadvertently closing out people who might not actually like the opposite gender.

 

Aww, Parvati, “Probably just a phase” is not a good way to think about liking Lavender. Poor baby. I want to hug her. :(

 

Love,

Eva



Name: justawillowtree (Signed) · Date: 18 Jul 2019 06:01 PM · For: Bracelets

THEIR FRIENDSHIP IS SO CUTE AHHH. I’M SO ENVIOUS. <3

 

I wonder how old they are now? I remember when I was a kid, friendships were so easy and lighthearted, and I’d make endless promises of “Best friends?” / “Best friends.” with my best friend, and we’d promise to stay together forever, and so this story reminds me of that sort of youth and innocence and everything. If I remember this story correctly, though, things don’t always go as promised, and so I’m going to treasure these beautiful moments of friendship before things get difficult! <3

 

Lavender is such a sweet friend!! The friendship bracelets sound absolutely beautiful, and I love the look of them—a silver chain with a charm and a colored stone in the middle—and it’s really cute that Lavender thought to give one to Parvati! And I also love the little detail of the bracelet changing size to fit the wrists of the wearer, and that it won’t fall off unless the wearer wants it to! That’s really, really cute, though I’d imagine it would leave a lot of room for distress when one person stops feeling the friendship as closely as the other one, and so their bracelet falls off, upsetting the other person a great deal. (I can’t remember if this actually happens, but fingers crossed it doesn’t!) And they put each other’s bracelets on omg!

 

“Friends till the end.” Awww, is this where the title comes from? It’s really cute, how close these two are. I love them. <3

 

You do a wonderful job depicting the friendship between these two!!!

 

Love,

Eva



Name: justawillowtree (Signed) · Date: 18 Jul 2019 05:37 PM · For: New Friends

Hi Claire! So I genuinely thought I reviewed all the chapters in this story, and then I was informed by Sam that I had not in fact done so, so I’m going to go ahead and remedy this horrible failure on my part omg. I love this story so much—I’ve already read the whole thing, so I unfortunately can’t leave first-impression reviews, but I’ll still try my best to give good responses to the chapters!

 

Okay, from the beginning, I can already relate to the anxiety that Parvati feels about leaving her sister. I don’t have a twin, so my connection with my sisters probably isn’t anywhere as close or special as with twins, but my younger sister and I are close enough in age that people often can’t tell who’s older. (That’s also probably partially due to the fact that I look young hahaha.) But what I loved about how you showed this relationship is that Parvati is so clearly nervous about being apart from her sister—but I have a feeling that if it was just Parvati who went to Hogwarts by herself, she would miss her sister but also find it a lot easier to make friends and not have to worry so much about being apart. Based on my own experience, every time I’ve gone to a summer camp with my sister, it was automatically a lot harder to make friends because we’d always stick together, so I think it’s a good thing that the Sorting Hat put the two sisters in different places!

 

Also, it seems that Padma is much more independent than Parvati, haha, which is interesting because Parvati is the one in Gryffindor. I’m so glad that she met Lavender, though! I have such a fondness for Lavender omg, and these two have a very iconic friendship, so I’m looking forward to reading about their relationship. <3

 

Love,

Eva



Name: justawillowtree (Signed) · Date: 24 Jan 2018 04:39 PM · For: Don't Apologize

Hi! omg so I'd love to go back and review each chapter separately but I'm a little short on time to read for the FROGS right now. I'll try my best to come back and do so once I have more time, because this story absolutely deserves it!

 

So I'd been meaning to read this story since the Winter Wonderland event, because a bunch of people were recommending it to me, but then I just never got around to it, so. *slaps self* Shame on me. But then I saw it was nominated for Best Family/Friendship, and I was like YES I SHALL READ IT NOW. So here I am haha.

 

This was wonderful. I don't even know where to begin. I guess I'll start by saying I absolutely love Lavender/Parvati together, and so I was expecting that by the end of the story, they would be together. I totally wasn't expecting the bittersweet ending, where the two girls will obviously still remain friends forever, but Lavender will never return her feelings. But it was really well done, the ending, and was handled beautifully, so I'm more than happy with the way this ended. <3

 

I really liked the short chapters, and how you presented Parvati throughout the years at Hogwarts! You really captured their relationship through their years together marvelously, and each time they repeated, "To the end of time," my shipper heart just sort of squealed a bit.

 

Parvati's struggle of keeping it hidden is just. so relatable, because not only is she keeping her crush hidden, but she's also keeping her sexuality hidden. I was exactly like Padma when Parvati was saying that she never told Lavender about such a vital piece of herself. I think it is really sad that Parvati was never able to be fully honest with Lavender about her feelings, and that she had to sit through Lavender's gushing about her boyfriends all those years. Poor, poor girl.

 

While we're on the topic of being honest, though, I feel like Parvati chose a time that was far too late. Lavender was so, so happy about her engagement, she was practically squealing, and then Parvati decided at that moment to share her feelings truthfully. I just wish that Parvati had been able to be braver in the past, so that she wouldn't have to dampen Lavender's happiness like this during such a wonderful moment in her life. (Kudos to you for writing such a wonderful character, though omg.)

 

BUT. Lavender's reaction wasn't right at all, either. And so I'm so, so happy that the girls remained friends in the end, and that Lavender came over and apologized for her insensitive reaction, ahhh.

 

By the way, I love Padma. I wish I could've seen more of her relationship with Parvati! Because after all, the two are twins, and soulmates in the familial sense, and sibling relationships are the best. <3

 

I loved this so much. <3

 

~Eva



Name: manno-malfoy (Signed) · Date: 16 Dec 2017 12:34 PM · For: Don't Apologize

Can I start crying now? Did you really have to do this? 

 

Okay, since this is the last chapter and therefore the last review I'm leaving on this story, I'll try to be coherent and say actual useful things. And it's easier now that I know everything and I'm not basing everything off my emotions and my expectations. 

 

 First of all, if I thought it made sense that Parvati had such a difficult time telling Lavender about her feelings because she didn't/couldn't come out to her, then it makes even more sense now. That she had some feeling, some hunch that her best friend didn't reciprocate those very intense feelings she harboured for her must be a very compelling reason to keep your mouth shut. The smart thing to do would've been trying to get so hung up and to move on, but it's never that easy, is it? And I think that's what you managed to create brilliantly here. A complex but common situation that many of us has experienced. And in real life, it doesn't always end with rainbows and butterflies flawlessly. Sometimes they just don't love you back. but the important thing here is that they mean so much to other that they're both willing to work away from this mess towards rebuilding and strengthening their friendship. I did catch a little detail; I was so touched to see that Parvati was still wearing the friendship bracelet after all of this happy. I can't decide if that's unhealthy or just a representation of the strength of their bond. But this is what you did with this story: you blurred all the lines and left me a conflicted emotional mess. 

 

 I'd like to thank you for the enjoyable read. I've been working my way through it all day, so it has been my companion for a decent chunk of hours now. And it's so well-written that I got emotionally invested (perhaps a little more than necessary), but that only goes to show how relateable the characters you've created are. 



Name: manno-malfoy (Signed) · Date: 16 Dec 2017 11:05 AM · For: A Moment of Confidence

I'm writing this before I start reading the chapter to let you know that I want to be hopeful because of what the chapter's title indicates. But I've done the same mistake before and you crushed me, so I'm not doing that again. 

 

Okay. All done. You've had me on this emotional rollercoaster all day, I'm starting to feel queasy with all the feelings. I got so excited when finally, FINALLY Parvati confessed about how she feels. It was dramatic, but it was so raw and honest, I was hollering in my seat. But then you broke my heart. Again. For like the 10th time today. And I still am asking why? 

 

 While things did end on a very grim note, I do want to mention that I thought it was adorable that Lavender wanted Parvati there in person to celebrate with her the news of her proposal. Or it's adorable from Lavender's oblivious side of things. 

 

 The problem is that, like I told you before, I've been where Parvati is, so every chapter is like salt on wounds I thought I'd gotten rid of. And this chapter is pretty much dejavu. This is why I'm so emotional and gushing about all of this. 

 

 At least you've left us a glimmer of hope. Let's see what Lavender's thinking is going to lead to. But I'm not getting my hopes up again.



Name: manno-malfoy (Signed) · Date: 16 Dec 2017 10:18 AM · For: First Dates

Up until this chapter, I had a lot of trouble understanding why it was such a big secret, why Parvati was so scared to tell Lavender. I mean, yes, sure, she might risk losing her as a friend. BUT FOR FIVE YEARS? For goodness's sake. But this chapter, it finally hit me that her sexual identity was caught up in all of this. So much that she didn't even tell her best friend that she's a lesbian. I honestly don't know how Parvati does it and has been doing it for so long. I always feel like she needs to stop being a coward and just bloody say what she thinks and feels, but I suppose it's a bit more complicated than that. And more importantly, it takes a lot of strength of character and generousity of spirit to be so supportive of your friend pursuing other people when you're in love with her. And sure, Lavender has acquired her own set of scars during the war. But I can't imagine that carrying around so many secrets isn't big enough of a burden to be inflicting some sort of damage on Parvati.

 

Send her more hugs on my behalf, and send me hugs and tell me that everything will be okay, please. 



Name: manno-malfoy (Signed) · Date: 16 Dec 2017 10:01 AM · For: Move In

Erm, hi, I have another question? WHY ARE YOU DOING THIS TO ME? I don't know if it's my deduction skills declining or if you did this one purpose. But I really, genuinely thought without a shadow of a doubt that they got together from that starting scene. And that that's why Parvati asked Lavender to move in. But then you bring in Padma and crush all the excitement that I had built up in y head. Seriously, give us a break! 

 

 Okay, no, you keep doing what you're doing because here I am, still hooked, still hoping that Parvati will finally tip over the edge and confess her heart's contents. And while I agree with Padma that this moving in thing is going to complicate Parvati's life so much, I'm still kind of excited because this might encourage her to say something. But honestly, if nearly dying didn't get these two to speak up, who knows if anything ever will. Except for you, of course, so you can keep toying with our feelings. Please send hugs to Parvati on my behalf.



Name: manno-malfoy (Signed) · Date: 16 Dec 2017 08:57 AM · For: Should Have Said

WHAT IS WRONG WITH THESE TWO? You're on the verge of death. You're going to fight a war. How do you not admit your love to a person you've been yearning for for so long? And if you say it, does it not give you another reason to live and fight? Honestly, when you made them make that promise, my breath got caught in my chest and being my cynical self, I expected the worst. And I couldn't begin to imagine what would happen to Parvati with both, all the unconfessed feelings and the loss of her best friend. 

 

 So I was literally on the edge of my seat and biting my lip, my heart being torn apart as Parvati started to cry. I really thought that was it and that my suspicions where on point. But I was so glad to be wrong, for once. I let out one long sigh in the end. I hope this was enough of a scare to push Parvati (or Lavender even, just anyone for everything's sake!) to say something and put an end to this madness! 

 

 I wish I could put together more coherent reviews or tell you anything constructive. But I think it's all perfect, and it moves me so much I can't help but gush incessantly. 



Name: manno-malfoy (Signed) · Date: 16 Dec 2017 08:48 AM · For: The Yule Ball

Can you please, please, please stop breaking my heart? Every cute scene between those two and every flicker of hope you ignite ends up dissipating by the end of every chapter? WHY? I want to blame Lavender for being so oblivious, but then again, Parvati hasn't spoken up about her feelings. And most of the time, glances of longing, exasperated sighs, and subtle hints are not enough. 

 

 Still, I was glad that they had this cute moment here. And that Parvati got to dance with someone she really loves (even if the object of her affections didn't reciprocate that). But I suppose that doesn't quite make up for that sinking feeling you get when, sure, you might having fun with this boy, but you could be having so much more fun and something a lot more meaningful with someone else. I'm too familiar with that feeling, and this is why I can't help but biased and on Parvati's side. 

 

It's also nice that Seamus abandoned Lavender to go keep Dean company. Do I detect another budding romance between two friends?



Name: manno-malfoy (Signed) · Date: 16 Dec 2017 08:38 AM · For: My Sweetheart

Hey, I'm here for the winter wonderland event.

 

 See, I really like this story, but I don't like how I keep feeling bad for Parvati. I mean, as if unrequited love wasn't difficult enough. But imagine having to help the one you love maintain their relationship with someone else and even help them pick appropriate gifts for them! It must be torture. While Parvati tries to be helpful and set her feelings aside, she still slips a bit, trying to make Lavender question how much she knew about Ron and to reason with her that it might just be transient infatuation. And in any case, I like that Parvati isn't perfect. She's a human being who is in love and in pain. It is not only understandable but maybe even justified. 

 

 But I'm glad it ended on a good note. With chocolate. Of course, chocolate helped solve all of this. But also they seem to have a solid, mature frienddship where they can be honest about what bothers them regarding each other and able to make compromises. But of course, honest up to a point when it comes to love, I suppose. Please tell me things turn around for Parvati! 



Name: nott theodore (Signed) · Date: 16 Dec 2017 08:15 AM · For: Don't Apologize

So I'm really glad that you updated this, but also.  Also.  Please can you stop breaking my heart in every single chapter of this story okay thanks.

 

I loved seeing Padma being the protective sister at the start of this chapter.  The relationship that you've built up between the two sisters in this story is so lovely to read, and I really love Padma's character - she's someone I'd love to read more of now, actually.  But it feels very true to her character that she would try and stop Lavender from coming in and hurting Parvati all over again.  I'm so glad that Parvati has that close bond with Padma because without it I'm not sure how she'd have been able to handle all of this.

 

When I realised that Lavender had arrived and that she was coming to apologise, I was so happy - like the fact that she took the time to really explain and acknowledge what she'd done wrong, rather than just saying "I'm sorry" and letting Parvati say it was fine and move on with it.  I think that says a lot about her as a person, and I'm really pleased that she took the effort to do it.

 

But at the same time, she told Parvati that she didn't feel the same way.  You don't feel the same way YET Lavender, okay?  You will do, damn it, even if I have to reach through my laptop screen and shake you until you realise it.

 

Parvati seems to have accepted the fact that she's never going to have Lavender in her life as more than a friend, and that's so bittersweet - because she has someone who she loves more than anything else in her life, but at the same time she has to see her happy and in love with someone else.  

 

Please, please update soon and put me out of my misery here, okay?

 

Sian :)



Name: nott theodore (Signed) · Date: 16 Dec 2017 08:04 AM · For: A Moment of Confidence

CLAIRE YOU NEED TO STOP THIS OKAY MY HEART MY POOR HEART.

 

I had this real sense of foreboding at the start of this chapter - in spite of the summary, I felt like you weren't going to be that kind to us (or to Parvati.  Honestly.  It's like you ENJOY torturing the poor girl or something) after the end of the last chapter.  

 

As soon as I heard Lavender ask Parvati to meet "us" for lunch because there's something that they wanted to tell her, I was sure that it wasn't going to be good.  And I was right - I really wish I hadn't been, but I was.  

 

I just felt so heartbroken for Parvati in this chapter - you wrote her emotions so well.  I could almost see her world shattering around her and her trying so hard to process the emotion and at the same time behave as if there was nothing wrong and everything was completely normal.  She tried so hard not to disappoint Lavender with her reaction to the news of the engagement, but she couldn't help her heart breaking.

 

The confession definitely wasn't how I expected it to happen - and I don't think it's how Parvati would have wanted it to be, either.  Listening to Lavender's defence for getting engaged so quickly makes me both sad for her - she shouldn't agree to marry someone because she feels like nobody else will ever ask her - and a little bit hopeful (?) for Parvati that the penny will drop for Lavender.

 

Lavender's reaction was not great - not as bad as it could have been, I suppose, but at the same time I wanted to just reach out and give Parvati the biggest hug here.  I'm glad that Padma was there for her - but I'm so worried about the next chapter...

 

Sian :)



Name: nott theodore (Signed) · Date: 16 Dec 2017 07:49 AM · For: First Dates

"Actually, I left because she spent the whole date flirting with the aggressively heterosexual male waiter, but nice try," - can I just say that this is one of the best chapter summaries I've ever seen?

 

But... this chapter was just so painful and sad.  I wanted to reach out and both shake and hug Parvati at the same time.

 

Lavender is just completely oblivious at the start of this chapter - she's known Parvati for so long and she just doesn't even seem to consider it a possibility at this point, which is just making Parvati even more terrified to tell her anything, and it's a vicious circle that is making me very sad.  I swear, if these two don't live a life filled with happiness and rainbows at the end of this story, I'm going to be very upset.

 

Having said that, as upset as Parvati was when Lavender came home telling her all about the date that she'd been asked out on, her excitement was so endearing.  Especially when she hasn't been asked out or been in a relationship with anyone since before the battle - it's a real confidence boost to be asked out like that, and it was a good way to show that she's still affected by what happened to her.

 

I can't believe that Lavender doesn't know, though!  I mean, I have no idea how Parvati has managed to keep it from her all this time, especially when she seems to be out to their other friends as well as Padma, but I can understand why - she feels like if she tells Lavender that she likes girls, she'll have to explain how she knows, and that's a conversation she's not ready to have.

 

I don't think that Lavender would take it badly if Parvati did tell her, but at the same time Parvati's fear is so understandable and I feel so sorry for her.  In spite of her shock and frustration, though, I loved Padma for just agreeing to let it go because she could see that her sister just needed to wallow and drop the subject for a while, and I love the way you're portraying their relationship.

 

Sian :)



Name: nott theodore (Signed) · Date: 16 Dec 2017 07:36 AM · For: Move In

I think I'm up the chapter that I jumped in on for CTF earlier this year, so I'm glad that I can write you a more comprehensive (and hopefully more coherent) review now <3

 

I'm kind of intrigued to know what Lavender was ranting about - I got the impression that Parvati has heard it several times before.  Maybe living with her parents?

 

Anyway, it was actually really nice to see Lavender doing so well at this point in time without her having closed herself off completely from Parvati and all of her other friends.  It's a refreshing change and it gives me a little more hope for how the relationship between these two might develop.  Then again, I suppose there's a lot more potential for things to go wrong, too.

 

Padma is definitely the voice of reason in this chapter, pointing out to Parvati that asking Lavender to move in with her might not be the best idea.  I mean, I totally believe Parvati when she says that dealing with Lavender's nightmares and everything is something she'll be happy to do, and it's true that they've lived together before, but the context and situations were very different then and it might not be so easy this time.

 

I loved seeing Padma pointing that out so honestly to Parvati, though - they're clearly really close as sisters, and I got the impression that Padma feels like she needs to point out that Parvati is being stupid, but she'll also stick by her and look out for her no matter what.  

 

Also, at this point it kind of feels like everyone except for Lavender might have realised that Parvati's in love with her, which is interesting to read but also very frustrating :P

 

Sian :)



Name: nott theodore (Signed) · Date: 16 Dec 2017 07:26 AM · For: Should Have Said

Claire this is NOT OKAY.  I was so happy and hopeful at the start of this chapter, when Parvati was plucking up her Gryffindor courage to try and tell Lavender how she felt, but then you have to go and destroy all of that and it's not fair.  Can't you be nice to the poor girls??

 

I love the description of the glint that had remained in Lavender's eye throughout the year, in spite of everything they'd suffered - I think that says so much more about her character than we see in the books.  

 

You managed to convey the sense of chaos when Harry returned to the Room of Requirement with Luna really well, and the way that the two of them were swept up in it.  As soon as I realised that they were there, I had a horrible sinking feeling, because I knew that this wasn't going to end well - that Parvati wasn't going to be able to tell Lavender before she got injured.

 

I suppose that I have to be very grateful that you've not broken my heart entirely, and that you've let Lavender live in this story.  That's one of my pet peeves in fanfiction, I have to admit, and I'm so glad that she's still here, even if she is injured.

 

Parvati's terror and heartbreak as soon as she caught sight of Lavender lying there in the Great Hall was tangible.  But I was so glad that Padma and Seamus were there looking out for her - I think it's only natural that the sisters are that close, but I think seeing Seamus there shows how close the DA have got this year, all looking out for each other.

 

Those words "It's going to be okay" fill me with dread.  Even if she's going to live, I'm sure that Lavender is going to go through a lot now, and Parvati will be there for her, I know, but I don't know whether Parvati will be able to tell Lavender how she really feels for a long time, now...

 

Sian :)



Name: nott theodore (Signed) · Date: 16 Dec 2017 07:16 AM · For: The Yule Ball

Hehe, the Yule Ball!  There was less teasing Parvati about her going with Harry than I expected, but I suppose she might have "got over" her imaginary crush by this point, as far as everyone else is concerned.

 

We did get to learn about Lavender's crush on Ron here though, which was something else that was unexpected but really interesting.  I've never thought about it before - we only see Lavender from Harry's perspective, after all - but it makes total sense to me that Lavender would have a crush on Ron much earlier than we realise.  Maybe that's why she was so over-the-top with him in their relationship, because she was trying to make it live up to the ideal that she'd built up in her head?

 

You know, it would have done wonders for Ron's self-confidence through the years to know Lavender had that crush on him.  Then again, given how insufferable he is when he finds out, it's probably better that he didn't know any earlier :P

 

Can I just say how good of a friend Parvati is here?  Like, she really likes Lavender herself, and she wishes that her friend didn't have a crush on Ron, but she still feels bad for her when they talk about Ron moaning about Hermione going to the ball with Viktor Krum.  She's amazing, that is all.

 

(Also Seamus went off with Dean because he got ditched by his date for the ball - I'm sensing some Deamus in the future.  Ahem.)

 

And Lavender rescued Parvati!  I mean, she's still totally oblivious to how Parvati feels about her, but she's only fourteen/fifteen and since Parvati is too unsure to tell her the truth, I suppose I can't really blame her for that.  Given the fact that Lavender is trying to set her up with cute Beauxbatons boys, I suspect the confession won't be coming any time soon, but I still love seeing their friendship and the way that they look out for each other - even if Parvati didn't get to carry on dancing with Lavender.

 

Sian :)



Submit a Review