Login
Reviews For to the end of time

Name: justawillowtree (Signed) · Date: 24 Jan 2018 09:39 PM · [Report This]
Story:to the end of time Chapter: Don't Apologize

Hi! omg so I'd love to go back and review each chapter separately but I'm a little short on time to read for the FROGS right now. I'll try my best to come back and do so once I have more time, because this story absolutely deserves it!

 

So I'd been meaning to read this story since the Winter Wonderland event, because a bunch of people were recommending it to me, but then I just never got around to it, so. *slaps self* Shame on me. But then I saw it was nominated for Best Family/Friendship, and I was like YES I SHALL READ IT NOW. So here I am haha.

 

This was wonderful. I don't even know where to begin. I guess I'll start by saying I absolutely love Lavender/Parvati together, and so I was expecting that by the end of the story, they would be together. I totally wasn't expecting the bittersweet ending, where the two girls will obviously still remain friends forever, but Lavender will never return her feelings. But it was really well done, the ending, and was handled beautifully, so I'm more than happy with the way this ended. <3

 

I really liked the short chapters, and how you presented Parvati throughout the years at Hogwarts! You really captured their relationship through their years together marvelously, and each time they repeated, "To the end of time," my shipper heart just sort of squealed a bit.

 

Parvati's struggle of keeping it hidden is just. so relatable, because not only is she keeping her crush hidden, but she's also keeping her sexuality hidden. I was exactly like Padma when Parvati was saying that she never told Lavender about such a vital piece of herself. I think it is really sad that Parvati was never able to be fully honest with Lavender about her feelings, and that she had to sit through Lavender's gushing about her boyfriends all those years. Poor, poor girl.

 

While we're on the topic of being honest, though, I feel like Parvati chose a time that was far too late. Lavender was so, so happy about her engagement, she was practically squealing, and then Parvati decided at that moment to share her feelings truthfully. I just wish that Parvati had been able to be braver in the past, so that she wouldn't have to dampen Lavender's happiness like this during such a wonderful moment in her life. (Kudos to you for writing such a wonderful character, though omg.)

 

BUT. Lavender's reaction wasn't right at all, either. And so I'm so, so happy that the girls remained friends in the end, and that Lavender came over and apologized for her insensitive reaction, ahhh.

 

By the way, I love Padma. I wish I could've seen more of her relationship with Parvati! Because after all, the two are twins, and soulmates in the familial sense, and sibling relationships are the best. <3

 

I loved this so much. <3

 

~Eva



Name: manno-malfoy (Signed) · Date: 16 Dec 2017 05:34 PM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:to the end of time Chapter: Don't Apologize

Can I start crying now? Did you really have to do this? 

 

Okay, since this is the last chapter and therefore the last review I'm leaving on this story, I'll try to be coherent and say actual useful things. And it's easier now that I know everything and I'm not basing everything off my emotions and my expectations. 

 

 First of all, if I thought it made sense that Parvati had such a difficult time telling Lavender about her feelings because she didn't/couldn't come out to her, then it makes even more sense now. That she had some feeling, some hunch that her best friend didn't reciprocate those very intense feelings she harboured for her must be a very compelling reason to keep your mouth shut. The smart thing to do would've been trying to get so hung up and to move on, but it's never that easy, is it? And I think that's what you managed to create brilliantly here. A complex but common situation that many of us has experienced. And in real life, it doesn't always end with rainbows and butterflies flawlessly. Sometimes they just don't love you back. but the important thing here is that they mean so much to other that they're both willing to work away from this mess towards rebuilding and strengthening their friendship. I did catch a little detail; I was so touched to see that Parvati was still wearing the friendship bracelet after all of this happy. I can't decide if that's unhealthy or just a representation of the strength of their bond. But this is what you did with this story: you blurred all the lines and left me a conflicted emotional mess. 

 

 I'd like to thank you for the enjoyable read. I've been working my way through it all day, so it has been my companion for a decent chunk of hours now. And it's so well-written that I got emotionally invested (perhaps a little more than necessary), but that only goes to show how relateable the characters you've created are. 



Name: manno-malfoy (Signed) · Date: 16 Dec 2017 04:05 PM · [Report This]
Story:to the end of time Chapter: A Moment of Confidence

I'm writing this before I start reading the chapter to let you know that I want to be hopeful because of what the chapter's title indicates. But I've done the same mistake before and you crushed me, so I'm not doing that again. 

 

Okay. All done. You've had me on this emotional rollercoaster all day, I'm starting to feel queasy with all the feelings. I got so excited when finally, FINALLY Parvati confessed about how she feels. It was dramatic, but it was so raw and honest, I was hollering in my seat. But then you broke my heart. Again. For like the 10th time today. And I still am asking why? 

 

 While things did end on a very grim note, I do want to mention that I thought it was adorable that Lavender wanted Parvati there in person to celebrate with her the news of her proposal. Or it's adorable from Lavender's oblivious side of things. 

 

 The problem is that, like I told you before, I've been where Parvati is, so every chapter is like salt on wounds I thought I'd gotten rid of. And this chapter is pretty much dejavu. This is why I'm so emotional and gushing about all of this. 

 

 At least you've left us a glimmer of hope. Let's see what Lavender's thinking is going to lead to. But I'm not getting my hopes up again.



Name: manno-malfoy (Signed) · Date: 16 Dec 2017 03:18 PM · [Report This]
Story:to the end of time Chapter: First Dates

Up until this chapter, I had a lot of trouble understanding why it was such a big secret, why Parvati was so scared to tell Lavender. I mean, yes, sure, she might risk losing her as a friend. BUT FOR FIVE YEARS? For goodness's sake. But this chapter, it finally hit me that her sexual identity was caught up in all of this. So much that she didn't even tell her best friend that she's a lesbian. I honestly don't know how Parvati does it and has been doing it for so long. I always feel like she needs to stop being a coward and just bloody say what she thinks and feels, but I suppose it's a bit more complicated than that. And more importantly, it takes a lot of strength of character and generousity of spirit to be so supportive of your friend pursuing other people when you're in love with her. And sure, Lavender has acquired her own set of scars during the war. But I can't imagine that carrying around so many secrets isn't big enough of a burden to be inflicting some sort of damage on Parvati.

 

Send her more hugs on my behalf, and send me hugs and tell me that everything will be okay, please. 



Name: manno-malfoy (Signed) · Date: 16 Dec 2017 03:01 PM · starstarstarstarhalf-star [Report This]
Story:to the end of time Chapter: Move In

Erm, hi, I have another question? WHY ARE YOU DOING THIS TO ME? I don't know if it's my deduction skills declining or if you did this one purpose. But I really, genuinely thought without a shadow of a doubt that they got together from that starting scene. And that that's why Parvati asked Lavender to move in. But then you bring in Padma and crush all the excitement that I had built up in y head. Seriously, give us a break! 

 

 Okay, no, you keep doing what you're doing because here I am, still hooked, still hoping that Parvati will finally tip over the edge and confess her heart's contents. And while I agree with Padma that this moving in thing is going to complicate Parvati's life so much, I'm still kind of excited because this might encourage her to say something. But honestly, if nearly dying didn't get these two to speak up, who knows if anything ever will. Except for you, of course, so you can keep toying with our feelings. Please send hugs to Parvati on my behalf.



Name: manno-malfoy (Signed) · Date: 16 Dec 2017 01:57 PM · [Report This]
Story:to the end of time Chapter: Should Have Said

WHAT IS WRONG WITH THESE TWO? You're on the verge of death. You're going to fight a war. How do you not admit your love to a person you've been yearning for for so long? And if you say it, does it not give you another reason to live and fight? Honestly, when you made them make that promise, my breath got caught in my chest and being my cynical self, I expected the worst. And I couldn't begin to imagine what would happen to Parvati with both, all the unconfessed feelings and the loss of her best friend. 

 

 So I was literally on the edge of my seat and biting my lip, my heart being torn apart as Parvati started to cry. I really thought that was it and that my suspicions where on point. But I was so glad to be wrong, for once. I let out one long sigh in the end. I hope this was enough of a scare to push Parvati (or Lavender even, just anyone for everything's sake!) to say something and put an end to this madness! 

 

 I wish I could put together more coherent reviews or tell you anything constructive. But I think it's all perfect, and it moves me so much I can't help but gush incessantly. 



Name: manno-malfoy (Signed) · Date: 16 Dec 2017 01:48 PM · [Report This]
Story:to the end of time Chapter: The Yule Ball

Can you please, please, please stop breaking my heart? Every cute scene between those two and every flicker of hope you ignite ends up dissipating by the end of every chapter? WHY? I want to blame Lavender for being so oblivious, but then again, Parvati hasn't spoken up about her feelings. And most of the time, glances of longing, exasperated sighs, and subtle hints are not enough. 

 

 Still, I was glad that they had this cute moment here. And that Parvati got to dance with someone she really loves (even if the object of her affections didn't reciprocate that). But I suppose that doesn't quite make up for that sinking feeling you get when, sure, you might having fun with this boy, but you could be having so much more fun and something a lot more meaningful with someone else. I'm too familiar with that feeling, and this is why I can't help but biased and on Parvati's side. 

 

It's also nice that Seamus abandoned Lavender to go keep Dean company. Do I detect another budding romance between two friends?



Name: manno-malfoy (Signed) · Date: 16 Dec 2017 01:38 PM · [Report This]
Story:to the end of time Chapter: My Sweetheart

Hey, I'm here for the winter wonderland event.

 

 See, I really like this story, but I don't like how I keep feeling bad for Parvati. I mean, as if unrequited love wasn't difficult enough. But imagine having to help the one you love maintain their relationship with someone else and even help them pick appropriate gifts for them! It must be torture. While Parvati tries to be helpful and set her feelings aside, she still slips a bit, trying to make Lavender question how much she knew about Ron and to reason with her that it might just be transient infatuation. And in any case, I like that Parvati isn't perfect. She's a human being who is in love and in pain. It is not only understandable but maybe even justified. 

 

 But I'm glad it ended on a good note. With chocolate. Of course, chocolate helped solve all of this. But also they seem to have a solid, mature frienddship where they can be honest about what bothers them regarding each other and able to make compromises. But of course, honest up to a point when it comes to love, I suppose. Please tell me things turn around for Parvati! 



Name: nott theodore (Signed) · Date: 16 Dec 2017 01:15 PM · [Report This]
Story:to the end of time Chapter: Don't Apologize

So I'm really glad that you updated this, but also.  Also.  Please can you stop breaking my heart in every single chapter of this story okay thanks.

 

I loved seeing Padma being the protective sister at the start of this chapter.  The relationship that you've built up between the two sisters in this story is so lovely to read, and I really love Padma's character - she's someone I'd love to read more of now, actually.  But it feels very true to her character that she would try and stop Lavender from coming in and hurting Parvati all over again.  I'm so glad that Parvati has that close bond with Padma because without it I'm not sure how she'd have been able to handle all of this.

 

When I realised that Lavender had arrived and that she was coming to apologise, I was so happy - like the fact that she took the time to really explain and acknowledge what she'd done wrong, rather than just saying "I'm sorry" and letting Parvati say it was fine and move on with it.  I think that says a lot about her as a person, and I'm really pleased that she took the effort to do it.

 

But at the same time, she told Parvati that she didn't feel the same way.  You don't feel the same way YET Lavender, okay?  You will do, damn it, even if I have to reach through my laptop screen and shake you until you realise it.

 

Parvati seems to have accepted the fact that she's never going to have Lavender in her life as more than a friend, and that's so bittersweet - because she has someone who she loves more than anything else in her life, but at the same time she has to see her happy and in love with someone else.  

 

Please, please update soon and put me out of my misery here, okay?

 

Sian :)



Name: nott theodore (Signed) · Date: 16 Dec 2017 01:04 PM · [Report This]
Story:to the end of time Chapter: A Moment of Confidence

CLAIRE YOU NEED TO STOP THIS OKAY MY HEART MY POOR HEART.

 

I had this real sense of foreboding at the start of this chapter - in spite of the summary, I felt like you weren't going to be that kind to us (or to Parvati.  Honestly.  It's like you ENJOY torturing the poor girl or something) after the end of the last chapter.  

 

As soon as I heard Lavender ask Parvati to meet "us" for lunch because there's something that they wanted to tell her, I was sure that it wasn't going to be good.  And I was right - I really wish I hadn't been, but I was.  

 

I just felt so heartbroken for Parvati in this chapter - you wrote her emotions so well.  I could almost see her world shattering around her and her trying so hard to process the emotion and at the same time behave as if there was nothing wrong and everything was completely normal.  She tried so hard not to disappoint Lavender with her reaction to the news of the engagement, but she couldn't help her heart breaking.

 

The confession definitely wasn't how I expected it to happen - and I don't think it's how Parvati would have wanted it to be, either.  Listening to Lavender's defence for getting engaged so quickly makes me both sad for her - she shouldn't agree to marry someone because she feels like nobody else will ever ask her - and a little bit hopeful (?) for Parvati that the penny will drop for Lavender.

 

Lavender's reaction was not great - not as bad as it could have been, I suppose, but at the same time I wanted to just reach out and give Parvati the biggest hug here.  I'm glad that Padma was there for her - but I'm so worried about the next chapter...

 

Sian :)



Name: nott theodore (Signed) · Date: 16 Dec 2017 12:49 PM · [Report This]
Story:to the end of time Chapter: First Dates

"Actually, I left because she spent the whole date flirting with the aggressively heterosexual male waiter, but nice try," - can I just say that this is one of the best chapter summaries I've ever seen?

 

But... this chapter was just so painful and sad.  I wanted to reach out and both shake and hug Parvati at the same time.

 

Lavender is just completely oblivious at the start of this chapter - she's known Parvati for so long and she just doesn't even seem to consider it a possibility at this point, which is just making Parvati even more terrified to tell her anything, and it's a vicious circle that is making me very sad.  I swear, if these two don't live a life filled with happiness and rainbows at the end of this story, I'm going to be very upset.

 

Having said that, as upset as Parvati was when Lavender came home telling her all about the date that she'd been asked out on, her excitement was so endearing.  Especially when she hasn't been asked out or been in a relationship with anyone since before the battle - it's a real confidence boost to be asked out like that, and it was a good way to show that she's still affected by what happened to her.

 

I can't believe that Lavender doesn't know, though!  I mean, I have no idea how Parvati has managed to keep it from her all this time, especially when she seems to be out to their other friends as well as Padma, but I can understand why - she feels like if she tells Lavender that she likes girls, she'll have to explain how she knows, and that's a conversation she's not ready to have.

 

I don't think that Lavender would take it badly if Parvati did tell her, but at the same time Parvati's fear is so understandable and I feel so sorry for her.  In spite of her shock and frustration, though, I loved Padma for just agreeing to let it go because she could see that her sister just needed to wallow and drop the subject for a while, and I love the way you're portraying their relationship.

 

Sian :)



Name: nott theodore (Signed) · Date: 16 Dec 2017 12:36 PM · [Report This]
Story:to the end of time Chapter: Move In

I think I'm up the chapter that I jumped in on for CTF earlier this year, so I'm glad that I can write you a more comprehensive (and hopefully more coherent) review now <3

 

I'm kind of intrigued to know what Lavender was ranting about - I got the impression that Parvati has heard it several times before.  Maybe living with her parents?

 

Anyway, it was actually really nice to see Lavender doing so well at this point in time without her having closed herself off completely from Parvati and all of her other friends.  It's a refreshing change and it gives me a little more hope for how the relationship between these two might develop.  Then again, I suppose there's a lot more potential for things to go wrong, too.

 

Padma is definitely the voice of reason in this chapter, pointing out to Parvati that asking Lavender to move in with her might not be the best idea.  I mean, I totally believe Parvati when she says that dealing with Lavender's nightmares and everything is something she'll be happy to do, and it's true that they've lived together before, but the context and situations were very different then and it might not be so easy this time.

 

I loved seeing Padma pointing that out so honestly to Parvati, though - they're clearly really close as sisters, and I got the impression that Padma feels like she needs to point out that Parvati is being stupid, but she'll also stick by her and look out for her no matter what.  

 

Also, at this point it kind of feels like everyone except for Lavender might have realised that Parvati's in love with her, which is interesting to read but also very frustrating :P

 

Sian :)



Name: nott theodore (Signed) · Date: 16 Dec 2017 12:26 PM · [Report This]
Story:to the end of time Chapter: Should Have Said

Claire this is NOT OKAY.  I was so happy and hopeful at the start of this chapter, when Parvati was plucking up her Gryffindor courage to try and tell Lavender how she felt, but then you have to go and destroy all of that and it's not fair.  Can't you be nice to the poor girls??

 

I love the description of the glint that had remained in Lavender's eye throughout the year, in spite of everything they'd suffered - I think that says so much more about her character than we see in the books.  

 

You managed to convey the sense of chaos when Harry returned to the Room of Requirement with Luna really well, and the way that the two of them were swept up in it.  As soon as I realised that they were there, I had a horrible sinking feeling, because I knew that this wasn't going to end well - that Parvati wasn't going to be able to tell Lavender before she got injured.

 

I suppose that I have to be very grateful that you've not broken my heart entirely, and that you've let Lavender live in this story.  That's one of my pet peeves in fanfiction, I have to admit, and I'm so glad that she's still here, even if she is injured.

 

Parvati's terror and heartbreak as soon as she caught sight of Lavender lying there in the Great Hall was tangible.  But I was so glad that Padma and Seamus were there looking out for her - I think it's only natural that the sisters are that close, but I think seeing Seamus there shows how close the DA have got this year, all looking out for each other.

 

Those words "It's going to be okay" fill me with dread.  Even if she's going to live, I'm sure that Lavender is going to go through a lot now, and Parvati will be there for her, I know, but I don't know whether Parvati will be able to tell Lavender how she really feels for a long time, now...

 

Sian :)



Name: nott theodore (Signed) · Date: 16 Dec 2017 12:16 PM · [Report This]
Story:to the end of time Chapter: The Yule Ball

Hehe, the Yule Ball!  There was less teasing Parvati about her going with Harry than I expected, but I suppose she might have "got over" her imaginary crush by this point, as far as everyone else is concerned.

 

We did get to learn about Lavender's crush on Ron here though, which was something else that was unexpected but really interesting.  I've never thought about it before - we only see Lavender from Harry's perspective, after all - but it makes total sense to me that Lavender would have a crush on Ron much earlier than we realise.  Maybe that's why she was so over-the-top with him in their relationship, because she was trying to make it live up to the ideal that she'd built up in her head?

 

You know, it would have done wonders for Ron's self-confidence through the years to know Lavender had that crush on him.  Then again, given how insufferable he is when he finds out, it's probably better that he didn't know any earlier :P

 

Can I just say how good of a friend Parvati is here?  Like, she really likes Lavender herself, and she wishes that her friend didn't have a crush on Ron, but she still feels bad for her when they talk about Ron moaning about Hermione going to the ball with Viktor Krum.  She's amazing, that is all.

 

(Also Seamus went off with Dean because he got ditched by his date for the ball - I'm sensing some Deamus in the future.  Ahem.)

 

And Lavender rescued Parvati!  I mean, she's still totally oblivious to how Parvati feels about her, but she's only fourteen/fifteen and since Parvati is too unsure to tell her the truth, I suppose I can't really blame her for that.  Given the fact that Lavender is trying to set her up with cute Beauxbatons boys, I suspect the confession won't be coming any time soon, but I still love seeing their friendship and the way that they look out for each other - even if Parvati didn't get to carry on dancing with Lavender.

 

Sian :)



Name: nott theodore (Signed) · Date: 16 Dec 2017 11:59 AM · [Report This]
Story:to the end of time Chapter: My Sweetheart

Okay, this was a great chapter.  I felt like this moment had to come up in the story at some point - the awful insanity of Lavender and Ron going out with each other - but this was even better than I hoped it would be.

 

I loved Parvati's reaction to the necklace - I mean, honestly, it's a terrible gift, and I think she does a good job of even trying to pretend that it's a good present.  I'm pretty sure my face on first sight of it would have been a dead giveaway.  I mean, Lavender still ends up giving Ron the necklace, but maybe Parvati doesn't mind that too much.

 

I think how honest she was with Lavender - even just saying that it seemed more like the sort of thing her friend would like to receive than Ron would illustrates how close they are and how well they know each other.  I love the friendship that the two of them have here, and the fact that your portrayal of Lavender is so much more than the one we see in the books and a lot of fanfiction.  They might be more "girly" and gossipy than Hermione, but even so they care for each other.

 

I liked the fact that you ended the last chapter with Parvati kind of hoping that her liking Lavender wasn't going to be just a phase, and this chapter confirmed it wasn't without ever saying it in words.  

 

Sian :)



Name: nott theodore (Signed) · Date: 16 Dec 2017 11:51 AM · [Report This]
Story:to the end of time Chapter: Just a Phase

Ah, this was a wonderful chapter!  I loved the set-up and the idea of the girls having sleepovers together.  Can I just say how great it is that they're friends with people outside their own house, as well?  I thought that was really cute - and it makes a lot of sense, since Parvati's sister is in a different house.

 

This took me right back to being at the start of high school (like, UK high school) and having sleepovers with my friends, teasing and encouraging each other about who we liked.  It seems so young looking at it now, but it was so serious and heartfelt then, and you captured that sense really well.

 

And Parvati likes Lavender!  I felt so sorry for her in this chapter; it was really intense when all the other girls were staring at her and demanding to know who she liked.  I thought you managed to convey Parvati's confusion and embarrassment brilliantly in just a few sentences.  Not only would admitting that she likes Lavender be awkward because she's in the same room (and nobody wants to do that in front of a room full of other people), but it would be her coming out as well - and I'm not sure she's fully processed it herself here.

 

From the look that Padma gives Parvati, I wonder if she's worked something out, though, or if the girls have talked about it already.

 

Blurting out Harry to cover up who she really likes seems kind of like an unfortunate choice - I can easily imagine her being teased a lot about going to the Yule Ball with him when that comes around, and it being even more awkward then...

 

Sian :)



Name: nott theodore (Signed) · Date: 16 Dec 2017 11:35 AM · [Report This]
Story:to the end of time Chapter: Bracelets

So apparently I'm an awful person and have read this story but not reviewed it all.  Forgive me?

 

This was such a sweet, fluffy chapter.  It's filled me with lots of warm and fuzzy feelings for which I'm very grateful, because I'm currently reviewing on 4 hours sleep and I need some happiness before you go and torture me with this story.

 

I loved the simplicity of this, but the way that you showed so much warmth and happiness in this moment.  Lavender buying a friendship bracelet for Parvati is just a very sweet and heartfelt thing to do - and I think what makes it even lovelier to read is the knowledge that these two girls manage to stay friends through a lot, which is special and unusual for girls so young.

 

I thought you captured their ages very well again here - the excitement of giving a friend a present, but then the fact that Lavender didn't want to give the bracelet to Parvati in case the others got jealous, which rings so true for their age.

 

I loved the magical detail about the bracelets - it's always so fascinating when people come up with a magical version of something we're so familiar with, and I loved the inventiveness here - the fact that the bracelets size themselves to people's wrists, and that they only come off if the wearer wants them to.  I wonder if that'll be significant later on.

 

I liked the tie-in with "friends til the end" to the title, too.

 

Sian :)



Name: Crimson Quill (Signed) · Date: 09 Dec 2017 01:02 PM · [Report This]
Story:to the end of time Chapter: Don't Apologize

Hey Claire,

 

How long awaited was this chapter? You left it on such a cliffhanger and I was really clueless about what you were going to do with it next. I don't think I would have come up with this chapter ever though!

 

I love protective Padma, you've created a really nice bond between the sisters. I think you do a really great job at presenting that in a realistic way without Padma being in this story lots. The sisterly bond is very clear. 

 

This is so bittersweet because I'm really glad that Parvati and lavender chat about it because it would be such a shame to lose their friendship. As well as the romantic aspect you've created a really special bond/friendship between them which is just as important as that romantic chemistry that you've also been building for them which is part of what makes this story so special and likeable. You've done a lovely job of Parvati's mixed emotion in the chapter, its presented so well. They feel so raw and real.

 

I can't wait to see where you're going to take thiscstory from here? Is there going to be a fluffy ending? I don't know at this point but it's so engaging! 

 

- Abbi xo

 



Name: manno-malfoy (Signed) · Date: 08 Dec 2017 03:26 PM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:to the end of time Chapter: Just a Phase

This just keeps getting better and better. And I really I'm not just saying that. I grew up in a predominant all-girl community, and I just relate to all of this so strongly. Good, solid female friendship and highly unrealistic and deluded chats about boys and relationships as young teenages. All the nostalgia is killing me. 

 

I wish that the most common thing I've been feeling toward Parvati in this story wasn't compassion and empathy. I do suppose it's so hard in conversations like that when everyone assumes that by default that a. you have feelings for someone and b. that it's a boy. And I suppose it's even harder when it's you best friend. And it's the absolute worst when she apparently tells you about all the boys she frequently has crushes on. Poor Parvati must be so confused, but I think you wrote about it so well. And I like that you made her seem to cope with it so well. 

 

Yes, she realises it's a difficult situation. But you can tell how strong and true her feelings are for Lavender when she hopes that they aren't fleeting or a just phase. My heart just wanted to melt from all the feels.

 

And since I commented on its absence in the previous chapter, I must say that I was happy for some sort of reference for time in this chapter. 



Name: manno-malfoy (Signed) · Date: 08 Dec 2017 03:16 PM · starstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:to the end of time Chapter: Bracelets

Still here for the Winter Wonderand.

 

This was so incredibly sweet and relatable. I personally remember the years of exchanging charm bracelets with my best friends. So reading this chapter just filled me with all sorts of warm and fuzzy emotions. I wish I knew what year they're in at this moment just so I could put it into perspective and see how long it has been since they had first met. 

 

I also love the creative touch of magic you've added to this. As if the emotions aren't enough. No, it stays on with magic unless you want it to come off. I'm not going to lie, I'm pretty cynical. And reading that line did initially make me feel like that could've been very useful when I used to have friendship bracelets. Then I immediately thought that this sounds like the premise for future drama. But that might just be cynical old me. Although I hope not. Because drama could also be a lot of fun. And from my slightly biased knowledge of Lavender, she has a knack for drama. 

 

Once again, this has been such a lovely chapter. It's filling me with nostalgia. I am still here, still hooked, and looking forward to see these two grow and bloom together.



Name: manno-malfoy (Signed) · Date: 08 Dec 2017 03:03 PM · starstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:to the end of time Chapter: New Friends

Hey! I'm here for the winter wonderland!

I always really enjoy reading that sorting chapter from points of view other than Harry's, and this was no exception. I'm not sure if Padma is just not as worried as Parvati or if she's the stereotypical Claw like myself and just wants to follow the rules or if she's too taken by it all to bother really. But I kind of felt bad for Parvati, especially since she continues to worry and fidget after that. And even reassures Padma when it's her turn to put on the hat. That was such a sweet moment. 

 

 I've always had negative feelings regarding Lavender. Mostly because I've only ever read about her from Harry's very biased point of view. But I can't help but comment on how sweet she is in this chapter. Not only does she try to comfort Parvati, but she also notices that her sister got sorted into another house and that it's the cause of Parvati's distress. And that's just in their first minute together. I can't help but imagine how good of a friendship that should develop into. But I suppose that's what the following chapters are for, so I'll jump right onto that. But this has been such a solid, enjoyable start! Well done!



Name: poppunkpadfoot (Signed) · Date: 02 Dec 2017 11:49 PM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:to the end of time Chapter: A Moment of Confidence

(reviewing backwards, nbd!)

Urgh, I had a really bad feeling right from the first scene that I knew what was coming. I mean, Lavender has been in this relationship and urgently wants to meet Parvati while sounding all excited and happy? I had a hunch, and it turned out to be correct, but it all played out so much worse than I was expecting :'(

The way Parvati reacted to the news - of how she was just struggling to keep it all inside while she tried her best to act normal - was written really well. There was so much tension and you could just tell that she wasn't going to be able to walk away from the situation without some kind of blowout. I'm just glad it didn't happen in front of Wesley, that would've added a whole extra awkward element to the situation :P But oh my goodness. I found it so heartbreaking when Parvati thought about how she'd imagined so many times over the years how she would tell Lavender but had never imagined her not being okay with it. And also when she just blurted it out and immediately wanted to take it back. Because I know as a reader this was definitely not the way I was imagining Parvati's Big Reveal would go, but you make it so clear in the narrative that this wasn't how Parvati wanted it to go either, and I think that makes the whole thing really effective. Heartbreaking and soul-crushing, but effective.

Really great work with this chapter, it's emotionally heavy but I think you handled it perfectly. Your descriptions are on-point, Parvati's emotions come across so clearly, and it left me on the edge of my seat for what would happen in chapter 10.

Great work!

-Kayla



Name: poppunkpadfoot (Signed) · Date: 02 Dec 2017 10:25 PM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:to the end of time Chapter: Don't Apologize

Hi Claire!

I know I already shared some of my thoughts about this on Twitter, but I wanted to stop by and leave you a proper review as well!

For some reason, the first time I read this I was under the impression that it was the last chapter, and I was SO MAD at you, lol! I'm really glad that it's not though.

I really loved Padma here as the overprotective sister, I thought it was nice and I would probably be acting the same way in her position! But it was good that she respected Parvati's wishes, even if she was worried that her sister might get hurt. I mean, she did argue, but she didn't physically restrain her or come barging out into the hallway, so.

Ugh, their whole conversation was so gutwrenching tbh. After all that buildup, to have everything come crashing down in the last chapter and then have this chapter end with Lavender not feeling the same and still getting married... it's not what I was expecting at all, honestly, but I think that it worked really well. It'll be interesting to see how you build it back up to them inevitably falling into each other's arms and getting together, since that is what definitely is going to happen ;) Right?! Right?!

Another great chapter, thanks Claire! <3 I am eagerly awaiting the next one!

-Kayla



Name: Stella Blue (Signed) · Date: 14 Nov 2017 07:36 PM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:to the end of time Chapter: Don't Apologize

CONGRATS ON UPDATING ♥

 

Okay so... on the one hand, yay that they're talking to each other again and they're BFFs again and that they've come to an understanding and it shows their friendship can overcome anything which is beautiful. And it's nice that Parvati has Lavender in her life again. But I'm really sad for Parvati. Seeing the person you're in love with fall in love with someone else is not easy, and she's kind of accepted this fate because what else can she do? But I so want her to get a happily ever after. I want for Lavender to change her mind, or for Parvati to meet someone else amazing and fall in love. And then Parvati and Lavender can both be bridesmaids in each others' weddings and other fluffy things like that :P For now, though, this chapter simultaneously healed my heart and broke it again.



Name: forever_dreaming (Signed) · Date: 20 Sep 2017 04:34 AM · [Report This]
Story:to the end of time Chapter: New Friends

Hi! Here for BvB! 

 

I was super excited to see this on your AP because I love Lavender/Parvati. I really identify especially with Parvati. I mean, it's hard not to; like her, I'm an Indian girl with a twin sister haha! When I realized this chapter was about Parvati and Padma's sorting, I think I should've braced myself for the emotional impact this would have me on personally, but I didn't, so I was surprised by how emotional I felt after reading this. 

 

I loved how you established the contrast between Parvati and Padma right away, right from the first line--Parvati is jittery and nervous, whereas Padma is curious and calm. They already show the characteristics of their two different houses, and I think that the way you showed that was really clever. I think in this situation, I'm definitely more like Parvati. I mean, I'm a Ravenclaw, there's no doubting that, but I would, like Parvati, feel a little anxious at the sight of the Sorting Hat, terrified at the prospect of losing my sister. 

 

I really liked how you made Parvati acknowledge that she and her sister are different people too. I got the feeling when she was walking to the Sorting Hat that she knew that she wouldn't be sorted into Ravenclaw--which was probably why she had such trouble clapping along with the rest of the school when Padma was sorted. I think that was an interesting touch and a very realistic one too! 

 

The only part I sort of disagreed with was Parvati's statement that they're more friends than sisters. I think that that's because I have a different understanding of what a sister is to me because I have a twin too, but I've always considered a sister as a step above a friend--like a soulmate in some aspects. I don't know however if Parvati would feel the same and this is honestly a little nitpicky and definitely influenced by my own experiences. 

 

After I finished reading this, I was a little emotional because you captured Parvati's emotions perfectly. I could really put myself in her place, and maybe that's because I identify with her so much, but I think that even if I didn't, your description of her emotions would still make me feel just as sad. So, overall, I really loved this! Well done :) 




Submit a Review