Login
Reviews For The Fortunate Ones

Name: poppunkpadfoot (Signed) · Date: 27 Jun 2017 10:18 PM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:The Fortunate Ones Chapter: The First Time I Met Lily Evans

(transferred from hpff)

 

MEG! I cannot BELIEVE it has taken me so long to get here and read this story. I know I've told you how much I ADORE the concept, and I've been so excited to read the rest of this since you sent me that snippet. /hangs head in shame


Anyways, I'm here now, and I have SO MUCH to squee about!


First of all - I'm so honoured that you would dedicate this chapter to me. That really means a lot (I can't put hearts but imagine there's a gajillion of them right here).


Second of all - I recognize so many of Mary's feelings and emotions about Lily, and I just want to hug her and tell her it's all going to be okay! You wrote it all in such a real and vivid way. It honestly hurt my heart :( I really hope she'll be able to move past the feelings of "wrongness/badness" soon.


Third of all - omg I'm running out of coherent things to say. I just loved this. I think it's written so fantastically, I loved all the descriptions and I thought your word choice was really excellent. There were a couple of very minor grammar/spelling mistakes, but they were few and far between, and didn't detract from the story at all.


Just. Omg. Mary reading Hogwarts: A History all summer. Bonding with Lily because she did the same. How she wasn't intimidated by McGonagall at home, but was at school. All these little details made Mary such a real and wonderful character.


Also, I had a good giggle at "that rude boy with the long hair, his name was Sirius Black". My rude, long-haired baby :') I swear he grows out of it, Mary! Mostly!


Anyways, you did SUCH a fantastic job with this first chapter, and I absolutely cannot wait to keep reading!


Love and hugs!


-Kayla    



Name: Felpata_Lupin (Signed) · Date: 13 May 2017 03:16 PM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:The Fortunate Ones Chapter: The Final Time My Heart Was Broken By Lily Evans - Pt. 2

***Transferred from HPFF***

HPFT Team Werewolf Review!

Hi, Meg! How are you, my love?
I'm profiting of the event to keep in touch with stories... hope that's fine... :P Also, I'll try to review as I read, dunno what will happen. Bear with me if this comes out completely disconnected...

Okay, forget what I just said, I had to read it all in one go. And now I am just so... what have yoy done to my poor heart, Meg? I have tears in my eyes, I can't even...

The first bit, their final confrontation, was so harsh. But I suppose it couldn't be different. And I can't blame Mary for her anger and for feeling like Lily had only used her. So sad, but so believable and relatable at the same time. And I'm glad she realized how much she loved Reg at least, and that she decided to confide in him and that he was so supportive. I had no doubt he would be, of course.

I can't even begin to imagine what it must be like to discover from a newspaper that a person you've loved has died. Even worse, that dear friends have been killed betrayed by another dear friend. I could feel the panic, the confusion, the pain. You wrote it so perfectly, so beautifully, so heart-breakingly. And it's even worse to read it knowing the truth, but that's another matter...

And the funeral... did I do anything wrong to you, Meg? Why do you hate me that much? Why do you have to kill me with all the feelings? *cries* I feel so broken for everyone. Especially my poor Remus (I know that's not the main focus, but you know me...) How hard must it have been for him? Believing Sirius had betrayed them? He lost everything that night and I just want to hug him tight and never let go.

And Mary's words to Lily... I don't even know how to comment on that... So perfect, so heartbreaking. (Yes, I know I already said that a lot, but what else could I say?)

This was incredible, you are incredible, and I loved every single bit of this story, as painful as it was to read.

Love you!
Chiara



Name: Felpata_Lupin (Signed) · Date: 13 May 2017 03:15 PM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:The Fortunate Ones Chapter: The Final Time My Heart Was Broken By Lily Evans - Pt. 1

***Transferred from HPFF***

I didn't notice you had a new chapter of this... I had to stop by here!!!

Wow, this was just stunning!!! You broke my feelings here, hon... What have you done?

Poor Mary... I'm so terribly sorry for her... As much as I adore James and Lily together, I'm sort of hating them for what they're doing to her right now... Well, actually that's not true... Like Mary said, you just can't hate James Potter!

So Mary McDonald is Mary Cattermole! Kristin did that in one of her stories... I love it!!! Reg seems such a sweetheart! Mary needs someone like him by her side! I hope she'll learn to really love him with time, I'm sure she will. Wish she'd been honest with him, though. He would've understand... But maybe it's better that way... I suppose he might've been hurt if she told him she still loved her...

Anyway... I really like that you brought in Peter. I guess they would bond over their feeling of loneliness... I really liked it! Poor Remus and Peter, though. They were trying to be there for her and she was so nasty to them. But I guess sometimes you hurt the people who love you without wanting to, when you are hurt yourself.

I'm curious and a bit scared to know what will happen during this encounter. You already told us it's not going to end well... I'm preoccupied... Kind, a lot... Wish I could jump into your story and hug Mary tightly! The poor girl...

Great chapter! Really, brilliant! Loved it so much!

Thank you so much for swapping, love!!!
Chiara



Name: Felpata_Lupin (Signed) · Date: 13 May 2017 03:14 PM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:The Fortunate Ones Chapter: The First Time My Heart Was Broken By Lily Evans

***Transferred from HPFF***

Hey, Meg!
Happy belated birthday, honey! (and since we're on it, happy holidays, and congratulations on your engagement!!! I'm so thrilled for you!!!)

Oh, this chapter was so sad... Poor Mary... I just want to give her a giant hug!

By the way, you're doing a wonderful job with the LGBTQA theme. The reasoning behind Lily's decision, even if cruel in a way, is perfectly understandable. It's also sort of heartbreaking the fact that she's thinking about having children, because it makes me think of Harry, an everything that's going to happen... It's just so sad.

Aww... Remus... He's such a sweetheart, isn't he? I adore that boy. You know how much I adore that boy... He's so compassionate and understanding and clever. And so sweet!!! Who wouldn't want a friend like him? What he did for Mary was just so thoughtful and adorable!

Another great chapter, honey! This story is really a masterpiece! Your writing is just as awesome as you!!!

Love you to bits!
Chiara



Name: Felpata_Lupin (Signed) · Date: 13 May 2017 03:12 PM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:The Fortunate Ones Chapter: The First Time I Knew I Loved Lily Evans

***Transferred from HPFF***

Hello, Meg.
It is us, the ox and the donkey, come to keep you warm in this December frost.
And for Advent calendar day 6, we'd decided to check this adorable story you have here.

This was a quite dark chapter. Poor Mary, beaten up like that... Jealousy is really a horrible thing, don't you agree?

It was interesting to see the two girls' relationship. You described really well all the different aspects in it, the frienship, the phisical attraction, the deep caring for each other. The passion between them was pictured with such intensity. Great job on that.

We were also quite intrigued by this misterious chamber. We've never seen a place like that, so majestic. We always stay here in this crib in Bethleem. There's not much to see here... It was quite cool to be trasported in such a spectactular new place by your beautiful writing. You have some amazing description. Well done.

Now we really have to go, a lot of other people need our warmth around here. But thank you for sharing this lovely story with us.

The ox and the donkey.



Name: Felpata_Lupin (Signed) · Date: 13 May 2017 03:10 PM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:The Fortunate Ones Chapter: The First Time I Met Lily Evans

***Transferred from HPFF***

MEG!!!
Oh, wow! This was just so adorable!!! Well, everything you write is... :)

I really loved this first chapter! I loved your description, really wwonderfuly done! And, needless to say, I loved your characterization!

Mary's pov is just so sweet! I loved her thoughts, her wonder and excitement at the idea of Hogwarts and magic, her worries about remaining behind because of her lack of knowledge of the magical world... I suppose it is the typical reaction of an eleven-year-old Muggleborn witch, and it was so believable and beautifully done!

And then, there is Lily. And all those confusing emotions... How scaring must it be for a little girl like Mary to prove such feelings, especially for another girl? But it was all just so adorable! :)

And Snape... the poor child, you can't help but feel sorry for him at this stage. I loved how you wrote his Sorting and his slight disappointment at being declared a Slytherin. Even if he wanted to go there, he wanted to be with Lily more, and that's so sweet!

I also really enjoyed the little snippet you gave us of the Marauders. Ahahah! Those kids are really unsufferable! (But I love them just the same...)

There are probably a thousand other things that shall be mentioned about why this story is amazing... I just can't remember them at the moment... :P Point is, this story is already lovely, just like anything else you write! You are a superb writer and I adore you!

Thank you so much for the lovely reading (but stop adding new stories to my reading list, please? At least finish something first? I'm still waiting an update on "To prevent"... Just saying...)

All my love, hugs and kisses!
Chiara



Name: nott theodore (Signed) · Date: 02 May 2017 09:20 PM · [Report This]
Story:The Fortunate Ones Chapter: The First Time I Met Lily Evans

Hi Meg!  Here for our review swap (sorry that it's so late, but timezones and then working all day meant that I've only just been able to get here).  I'm so glad that you suggested this story, because I've actually had my eye on it for a while, but haven't had the chance to get here yet.

 

This is such an intriguing idea for a story!  Lily is such an interesting character - really, we know very little about her from canon because we only see a few glimpses of her in people's memories, and then the praise that we hear from the characters who liked and loved her.  There's so much potential there to explore her character, and I love the way that you've chosen to do this, looking at Lily through the eyes of three people who loved her.  It's a fascinating approach because each character will notice different aspects of her, and it already holds her up as a very loveable character.

 

I haven't seen a lot of Mary MacDonald in fanfiction, and the couple of different stories I've seen that do include her vary quite a lot, so I'm really intrigued about how you've chosen to portray her.  Her voice came through really clearly here, and I warmed to her from the start - I could definitely sympathise with her as she sat alone and felt kind of intimidated and shy by the whole life she was about to embark on.  

 

I also really liked the reflective, almost wistful nature of the narrative here; Mary seemed to be looking back to her first meeting with Lily in a nostalgic kind of way, but at the same time you struck a really good balance between the naivety and novelty of the young girl who's first arriving at Hogwarts, and the older voice that comes through, looking back on this moment.

 

The first meeting with Lily was adorable!  I thought you wrote the excitement of a first crush really well, and the way that Lily seemed to start eclipsing everything in Mary's vision - even though she's starting at Hogwarts and there's so much new and exciting for her to see and discover, there's only a limited amount of time that she can tear her attention away from Lily.  

 

I'm really looking forward to seeing the way that Mary's opinion of Lily develops, too.  Here, there's a solid foundation for their friendship, and they have a lot in common, but they've only just met and I'm sure they're going to get much closer and Mary's going to learn lots of new things to love about Lily.

 

This was a really lovely first chapter, and I love the concept behind this story, Meg - thank you for suggesting I read it, and thank you for the swap!

 

Sian :)



Name: maraudertimes (Signed) · Date: 15 Nov 2016 03:44 PM · [Report This]
Story:The Fortunate Ones Chapter: The First Time My Heart Was Broken By Lily Evans

*Transferred from HPFF*Hel-Lo! Get it? Haha, I amuse myself sometimes! I am back to review away! :P


I'm very glad that Mary has Remus. It's very sad to read about how she's dealing with everything, retreating in on herself. But at least she has Remus to kind of knock some sense into her and not to take no for an answer! It's also really cute how they acknowledge that while they were dating they both had feelings for a same-gender friend that they ended up being with at the same time also. It kinda makes the whole 'figuring out who you are' quite realistic! And I love how they're technically each others support system.

Also, I feel so bad for Mary. Hindsight is 20/20 and I've totally been in that exact situation. It's always horrible to look back on something and pinpoint exactly what went wrong, even if you didn't realize it in the moment. The fact that it's about someone she loves just makes it even more heartbreaking. :(

And the scene with Lily! I absolutely can't. I just cannot. That's totally and absolutely heartbreaking. I understand wanting closure, but it physically pained me to read that scene. And the fact that Lily has fallen for James (even though she denies it) makes it even more devastating. Honestly, I think the holding hands might make it harder for Mary to let go, but I understand she needed comfort.

This chapter is so heartbreaking, I can't believe it! It brings me back to times like these, and although I love this story, and I love your writing, darn I wish I hadn't read this because *emotions*. But I'm also glad I read it because it's an amazing chapter. I loved the little quip about not wishing the feeling even on Snape - it shows just how devastated Mary is and also places light on just how much of a wonderful person she truly is.

I really loved this chapter and I'm so excited for the next one! Hopefully it doesn't breka my heart like this one :P
Lo :)    



Name: maraudertimes (Signed) · Date: 15 Nov 2016 03:43 PM · [Report This]
Story:The Fortunate Ones Chapter: The First Time I Knew I Loved Lily Evans

*Transferred from HPFF*

I'm backkk! :)

This is a really cool thing to think of. I've never thought of a Mary/Lily scenario, but I really liked how you wrote it. It's almost as if they're friends, just exploring their sexuality with each other as they grow up. I know that to Mary that's not what it is, but to me, it seems like that's what it is for Lily. However, this does happen in a different time, so perhaps she did just want to keep things quiet because of the way people would treat her. Either way, this spells disaster for Mary's heart. :(

Oh goodness, the Slytherin boys are up to no good. It's absolutely awful what happened to her! No one should be so discriminated against! And Severus was also part of it because of what he saw? That's what I was talking about when I mentioned how people would treat them. But honestly, if he truly loved Lily he would want her to be happy! He wouldn't attack the girl that Lily is currently kissing goodnight!

Oh goodness. Here it is. The beginning of the end of Lily and Mary. 'James'. That one word and I already know what's about to happen. Mary is about to have her heart broken and Lily is about to realize her feelings for James.

This is such a good story and I'm so hooked. I'll come back and finishing reviewing soon (currently quite late where I am), but honestly, this is one of the best marauders fics I've seen that doesn't immediately start with Jily. And I love Jily. And even I love this Mary/Lily. So this is a big deal!

Again, great job Meg!
Lo :)    



Name: maraudertimes (Signed) · Date: 15 Nov 2016 03:43 PM · [Report This]
Story:The Fortunate Ones Chapter: This First Time I Kissed Lily Evans.

*Transferred from HPFF*

Hello! Here for the gift tag!

OMG!!! Okay, I loved how you introduced the concept of puberty and everyone changing, as it really help cement the fact that they are no longer children and have in fact grown up. Also, the little quip about Mary and Remus having a thing was a really smart way to introduce the fact that Remus has feelings for Sirius, so really good job weaving that into the story seamlessly.

I wish Mary could've told Remus as well. If only so that she has someone to talk to about her feelings and he has someone to relate to. But alas! I also would like to point out how strange but also how real it was that Mary seemed to just accept Remus's feelings and not her own. It resonated as a bit of internalized bi-phobia and, although that makes me sad, it's also a very real thing that many people deal with.

Oh goodness! Not the changing scene! Of course this would happen :P But I've done almost that exact same thing with friends, just not that last part. It really isn't an issue to girls who aren't necessarily super attracted to their friends, so I can understand why Lily wouldn't have a problem with it at first but Mary would.

Oh that kiss! I'm not sure if I'm happy for this or not because Mary did say she was fortunate to have been loved by Lily at some point, I just know that it won't be forever and I don't want Mary to get hurt. Oh Mary, Mary, Mary... :(

This is amazing and I'm definitely going to keep reading at some point (I have so much work these next few weeks but I'll be back soon!).
Lo :)    



Name: maraudertimes (Signed) · Date: 15 Nov 2016 03:42 PM · [Report This]
Story:The Fortunate Ones Chapter: The First Time I Met Lily Evans

*Transferred from HPFF*

Ah this is so cute OMG!!! I love little Mary MacDonald with a crush on Lily!

I love how you incorporated the whole 'two of us were fortunate and one of us was lucky thing,' because I think it really speaks to the fact that Lily was so loved and the one she chose would be the luckiest. It was a very cute yet at the same time, very heartbreaking sentence. I love the premise of the story too. I can tell that Mary can see that Severus likes Lily a lot, and she obviously realizes that she does too.

I find that Mary sounds somewhat defeated when talking about Lily, which is exactly what I would expect. If she truly loves/loved (whatever) Lily, yet Lily was happy, I think that the healthy thing to do would be to feel defeated, not cheated. I guess that's why I like the fortunate/lucky thing. Mary isn't bitter with Lily for not loving her back in that way, she's just happy that Lily loved her back in any way.

The story was really cute and I liked how you detailed everything from the train carriage on. The fact that Mary and Lily are so similar just solidifies the fact that they're going to be fast friends (at least I hope so), and I really like that you've taken something another prominent Muggleborn did (Hermione with the reading of Hogwarts: a History) and showed that it's not uncommon for other Muggleborns to do (hey, I would do the same thing :P)

The sorting was really well explained, and I loved the little quips about the Marauders and how Mary doesn't like them already. I bet she'll warm up to them won't she? ;)

This was a really great first chapter and I love how you played around with the characters. It's so cute to see a character fall in love and you've explained everything so perfectly I feel as if I'm falling in love with Lily too!

Thank you so much for this review swap, I really like this story, it's absolutely adorable!
Lo :)Ah this is so cute OMG!!! I love little Mary MacDonald with a crush on Lily!

I love how you incorporated the whole 'two of us were fortunate and one of us was lucky thing,' because I think it really speaks to the fact that Lily was so loved and the one she chose would be the luckiest. It was a very cute yet at the same time, very heartbreaking sentence. I love the premise of the story too. I can tell that Mary can see that Severus likes Lily a lot, and she obviously realizes that she does too.

I find that Mary sounds somewhat defeated when talking about Lily, which is exactly what I would expect. If she truly loves/loved (whatever) Lily, yet Lily was happy, I think that the healthy thing to do would be to feel defeated, not cheated. I guess that's why I like the fortunate/lucky thing. Mary isn't bitter with Lily for not loving her back in that way, she's just happy that Lily loved her back in any way.

The story was really cute and I liked how you detailed everything from the train carriage on. The fact that Mary and Lily are so similar just solidifies the fact that they're going to be fast friends (at least I hope so), and I really like that you've taken something another prominent Muggleborn did (Hermione with the reading of Hogwarts: a History) and showed that it's not uncommon for other Muggleborns to do (hey, I would do the same thing :P)

The sorting was really well explained, and I loved the little quips about the Marauders and how Mary doesn't like them already. I bet she'll warm up to them won't she? ;)

This was a really great first chapter and I love how you played around with the characters. It's so cute to see a character fall in love and you've explained everything so perfectly I feel as if I'm falling in love with Lily too!

Thank you so much for this review swap, I really like this story, it's absolutely adorable!
Lo :)



Name: Stella Blue (Signed) · Date: 03 Nov 2016 04:28 PM · [Report This]
Story:The Fortunate Ones Chapter: The Final Time My Heart Was Broken By Lily Evans - Pt. 2

*Transferred from HPFF*

SEE ALL THE SHARDS ON THE FLOOR? THOSE WERE MY HEART. until you broke it with this chapter.

Their confrontation in Lily's house was... well, it was painful, but at the same time it felt so necessary. Mary couldn't possibly have gone on with all that unsaid, and I don't think Lily realized how strongly Mary had been affected by their breakup. It was important for both of them, to be honest with each other, even if it meant reopening really old wounds. And at the time it was sort of like closure for Mary.

I do like that it helped her redefine her relationship with Reg, and how she realized that everything she craved from Lily and had never received were things Reg gave unconditionally - I think it helped Mary realize she sort of took him for granted, and that was also really important. He is a nice guy and I like that Mary finally appreciated him. I especially love that Mary was able to tell him about her history with Lily - she allows herself to be vulnerable and stop hiding, and Reg was supportive of her and makes her feel loved.

And that was the last time I'd ever seen Lily Evans. Well, the last time I'd seen her alive. -- UGH just when I'm annoyed at Lily you drop THIS line. *SOBBING*

shackled and dressed in Azkaban’s finest -- I know it shouldn't but this made me chuckle. Like, stripes are all the rage right now.

It was comforting to see that they hadn't managed to flatten his hair and it was just as ruffled and wind blown as always. -- this kills me. KILLS ME.

aaahh, her final conversation with Lily when it was too late... there are actual tears in my eyes right now. I have so many feels about this. I personally do think that Lily always did care about Mary, though probably not to the extent that Mary loved Lily, and not in the same way. And the fact that Mary only realizes it when it's too late, and their friendship has already fallen apart... that just makes it sadder. Just the thought that it turned out how it did when there could maybe have been a chance for them to reconcile, just breaks my heart. Yeah, it would have taken time and a lot of work, but. ugh. At the same time, they just didn't have a lot of time, and they spent most of it not talking to one another because it hurt too much (at least in Mary's case). Now I wonder what Lily's reason was. Because she wasn't thinking about Mary? Or because she knew Mary was hurt/not over her, and wanted to tread lightly and not bring up heartbreak for Mary again by being around her? Either way is sad. :(

this chapter broke my heart, even though I knew what was coming. But I loved it. I think that sentiment applies to the story as a whole, as well. I honestly loved this story so much, right from the very beginning. This was such a wonderful portrayal of these two girls, and through the lens of a ship I've never seen in any other story. It's so full of emotion and so real and so devastating. This is some of your most beautiful writing and you should be so proud. Congratulations on finishing the story!! ♥



Name: victoria_anne (Signed) · Date: 03 Nov 2016 06:59 AM · [Report This]
Story:The Fortunate Ones Chapter: The Final Time My Heart Was Broken By Lily Evans - Pt. 2

*takes deep breath* *takes another because not ready no sirree uh why is this over* *wah* AHHH I'M JUST GOING TO SPEW FEELS. Well hot damn I just love this story. I love Mary. I love how much she loves Lily. I usually don't really like reading first person stories but you've sucked me into Mary's POV so well I'm hanging onto every word. *splutters* I mean, I'm so heartbroken that Mary is heartbroken but also kind of glad like she is that she has that closure, ya know? I think one of the appeals of this story is that it's just so real and raw. I even had goosebumps when Mary read the paper. THIS: Sirius Black may not have physically ended Remus’ life, but he sure as hell killed him. MY HEART. AND THIS: It was a shame that when I finally gathered the courage to have it, she could no longer hear it. Man I had to hold back tears. What a rollercoaster. Congratulations on finishing! I hope you're extremely proud of what you've written here, because you should be. It's an incredible story, by an incredible person. Thank you for writing it ♥ ♥ ♥



Name: victoria_anne (Signed) · Date: 03 Nov 2016 06:58 AM · [Report This]
Story:The Fortunate Ones Chapter: The Final Time My Heart Was Broken By Lily Evans - Pt. 1

Hey Meg! Hm, Peter and Mary is interesting. I like that they've become friends, even if it was through mutual sadness. Pulling this out because it's hilarious: Lily and James were busy publicly inspecting each other’s bodies in the common room. Bahahaha OH WAIT. Does she become Mary Cattermole?! Meg that is BRILLIANT!! What an awesome twist to include! Argh but you can't leave it there! How does it end?! Love it love it love it! ♥ B



Name: victoria_anne (Signed) · Date: 03 Nov 2016 06:58 AM · [Report This]
Story:The Fortunate Ones Chapter: The First Time My Heart Was Broken By Lily Evans

WOLFSTAR 5EVAAA ♥ *ahem* Aw you've actually made me a bit angry at James, ha ha! I'm reading about poor Mary and thinking, "Just go away James GOSH!" Oh and man I love Remus. Isn't he just the sweetest thing, ever?! Okay Lily, you didn't just break Mary's heart - you broke mine as well!! :'( You write their emotions incredibly well, everything feels so raw and real and haunting. This story is amazing. You're amazing. Love B



Name: victoria_anne (Signed) · Date: 03 Nov 2016 06:57 AM · [Report This]
Story:The Fortunate Ones Chapter: The First Time I Knew I Loved Lily Evans

I'm enjoying this so so much, Meg. I absolutely love the Mary you've created. She loves so fiercely and deeply and (even though I said this in the last review) I really do love the way she sees Lily. It's so gorgeous. And they have this little relationship! I love that! I love that they're able to experiment with each other, I think that's an important part of, well life, really. But again, my heart goes out to Mary to love this girl so much but know that they're not actually together. ARGH OH NO POOR MARY! I can't believe those boys would do that! But an attack on Mary was mentioned in the memory in book 5, if I recall correctly? (Awkies if not) I love that you included that little canon info though, and the situation around it, however horrible it is. What another amazing chapter Meg. This ship is incredibly new to me, but I'm loving it the more I read. ♥ ♥ ♥



Name: victoria_anne (Signed) · Date: 03 Nov 2016 06:56 AM · [Report This]
Story:The Fortunate Ones Chapter: This First Time I Kissed Lily Evans.

Hey Meg! I started reading this a while back, and I'm returning to it after a shamefully long time *hides* Ah, the joys of growing into your body and self. I sympathise with Mary. I like how you put Remus through a similar thing, and that Mary is able to understand what he's going through as well. I also like how you included her feelings of jealousy, I feel that's a realistic thing to go through with the friends of the person you have feelings for. Oooh Mary's got it bad!! But I adore seeing Lily through her eyes, it's beautiful. OH THAT KISS! Omggg so romantic my heart is going to burst!!! Ahh! Beautiful writing as always Meg! See you at the next chapter! ♥



Name: victoria_anne (Signed) · Date: 03 Nov 2016 06:55 AM · [Report This]
Story:The Fortunate Ones Chapter: The First Time I Met Lily Evans

Hey Meg!

(I'm transferring reviews over :))

First of all, the banner and the chapter images are simply gawjus! Ha ha aw look how early the toe-rag insult started! I love how you've written the world of magic shiny and new, through the eyes of an eleven year old. It's refreshing. I can't wait to see how the relationships play out between the characters, especially Mary and Lily!



Name: Stella Blue (Signed) · Date: 03 Nov 2016 01:28 AM · [Report This]
Story:The Fortunate Ones Chapter: The Final Time My Heart Was Broken By Lily Evans - Pt. 1

*Transferred from HPFF*

Can't believe no one's reviewed this yet. I saw you'd updated while I was travelling and I had unreliable wifi so didn't have a chance to read until just now and let me tell you OMG YOU ARE BREAKING. MY. HEART.

First, Mary is descending into depression and gah my heart aches for her because I can relate to her so well and it's not a fun place to be. AND THEN she becomes friends with Peter, and I already know this is going to break my heart later because this is Peter we're talking about, uggghhh. I absolutely dread what's going to happen later in their friendship. But for the moment, it makes a lot of sense. Mary feels forgotten as the love of her life just moves on and is happy, and Peter is without a doubt the forgotten Marauder, and they can bond over that. But really Meg WHY DO YOU DO THIS. I HOPE YOU HAVE SUPERGLUE FOR MY HEART (how am i less than 3 paragraphs in to this chapter and having this reaction already)

Omg also thank you for writing my headcanon in here in that Peter had a crush on James. !! I have always thought that he hung around because he had a crush on one of the other boys, but was in the closet.

ALSO MY HEADCANON ABOUT MARY MACDONALD AND CATTERMOLE BEING THE SAME PERSON!!! I once wrote a whole one-shot about her and Reg! AHH it's just so cool to see things in my head appear in someone else's story! WOAH. Great minds think alike? SORRY JUST REALLY EXCITED

Reg, in this story, seems like what Mary needs at the time, but I also get the feeling that he's kind of a rebound for her as basically the opposite of Lily. She seems bored with him sometimes as she compares him to the vivacity of Lily, and it makes me wonder if Mary and Reg were ever happy or if she just stayed with him out of habit.

Wedding invite - yeah, I can see how that would crush her soul. And I don't think Lily means to rub it in. As Mary points out after her initial upset about it, I think it's so that Mary doesn't just find out through the grapevine. And Peter and Remus visiting soon after, that was a really tough moment. By this point, given what she said about not telling Reg about her sexuality before and also how she lashed out at Remus and Peter in a really immature way, she seems like she's afraid to show her true self at all, not to anyone. She's so vulnerable here and it's evident in how she won't open up to her current partner about something so important to her, and how she's tense like a coiled rattlesnake that will jump out and bite if you try to get too close to it.

Oh, James. I love his innocence. I wonder if Lily ever told James about herself and Mary - I assume she didn't, given that she broke off with Mary because she was ashamed. So James just sees Mary as an old friend who he cares about, he's all smiles, and doesn't realize how much she's cracking under the surface. He very much embodies 'ignorance is bliss' in that scene.

GAH SHE'S ABOUT TO GO MEET WITH LILY. It's gonna hurt. So is whatever happens with Peter. So is this whole fic. But I love it sooo much, Meg, this is really an amazing story. I've been recommending it all over the place :P and having read a lot of your earlier work, To Prevent and SSS, this one is like, miles ahead in terms of writing maturity and powerful-ness. basically, I can see your progression as a writer and this is absolutely some of your best work.

you know i'll be back for the next chapter. with heaps of glue for my inevitable broken heart, or duct tape as everyone knows it can fix everything



Name: Stella Blue (Signed) · Date: 02 Nov 2016 11:36 PM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:The Fortunate Ones Chapter: The First Time My Heart Was Broken By Lily Evans

*Transferred from HPFF*

Dearest Meg, here is a small and slightly random anecdote I think you will appreciate as my music twin/woodstock time machine collaborator. I was listening to music just a little while ago and some CCR came on, you know which song obviously because it reminded me of this story and how I still needed to catch up on the most recent chapter. So I'm back to hear Mary sing "It ain't me, I ain't no fortunate one." (Well, except she was, she just wasn't the lucky one, I guess. But I digress.)

Gah, my heart hurts after reading this chapter. You are such a talented writer and I really admire the way you express character emotions - I can't believe there have only been four chapters of this story so far because I really feel Mary's struggles and heartbreak and I feel like I've known her for a long time. She's just so REAL. And her feelings are real, and the situations she's faced with are ones that are real and I could easily see happening.

For example the way the Mudblood incident with Severus affected Lily - you went into this in a way I haven't seen much before, and how she is so hurt and kind of changes a lot because of it, in good ways and bad ways. She thinks about what's important to her, and as a result becomes a bit more selfish. And here, she's pulling away from Mary - I think part of Lily knew that Snape hurt Mary earlier because of her sexuality, and Lily was thinking about that again and doesn't want to face that kind of opinion from people for her whole life.

Lily's reveal of why she's breaking off with Mary was so sad, and yet... it made sense. Considering the time period, when it was definitely considered 'abnormal' to not be straight, and Lily is already abnormal for her blood status, and she just doesn't want to deal with everything that comes along with being a non-straight person in the 1970s. This part is so heartbreaking because I can see that Lily is afraid to publicly admit to her sexuality, and ashamed of Mary and of not being 'normal', in a way, but she is also in love with her, I could see that too. It's so evident here that her conflicting feelings are really tearing Lily apart, and how could they not, because those are basically opposites. It really makes me admire Mary even more for being brave enough to not care what society thinks about her. That's tough for a teenager to do and so I have a lot of respect for Mary here.

Also omg Remus, I can't believe I almost forgot to mention him. I just love him SO MUCH in this chapter - what an ideal friend. Seriously, perfect friend - not only has he gone through similar struggles with not being straight, he knows how to be a good friend for someone who needs a friend - the way he doesn't make her talk, just offers a shoulder to cry on and an ear to listen. I think Mary's reaction was super realistic at first and I could really relate, how she's just so hurt that she doesn't want to get hurt any more by telling all her secrets, but in the end that is always such a liberating thing to do and I'm glad she at least has Remus.

This is my favourite chapter so far, even though it's the saddest. I mean, I kind of like the hints of Lily/James in here but at the same time I am sad to see them because it means the end of Mary/Lily, and the fact that I have such conflicting emotions about a ship I like means that you've done an incredible job writing it. I like having conflicting feelings about things I read/watch - it means you end up thinking about the characters and the story for a lot longer, and just feeling more involved in it (Because if it's hard for the reader, it's definitely hard for the characters). I doubt I'm even making sense anymore as this may have turned into the ramblings of a sleepy person. But I just wanted to say that this is quickly becoming one of my favourite stories on the archive and I love it so much.

my character count is dwindling into the 1000's now so I'm going to leave it there - just know that this was a wonderful chapter and I absolutely love this fic. so much.




Name: Stella Blue (Signed) · Date: 02 Nov 2016 11:34 PM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:The Fortunate Ones Chapter: The First Time I Knew I Loved Lily Evans

*Transferred from HPFF*

 

HI MEG! ♥ 

This story is so, so good. The ship is original and beautifully written, and I just love everything about this! For starters, the progression of Lily and Mary's 'relationship'. I think it's realistic that after so long they still wouldn't call it a relationship, because of the time period and the associated stigmas on same-sex relationships, but also because up until this point it's been sort of an experimentation phase, and even as Mary says, it's more about lust than love. It seems very realistically teenagery. Also great job writing the love scene - it was powerful and yet not too much. And then Lily's pillow talk about OWL's, of all things - hahahaha so great XD

Of course, things can't be perfect forever, and that's when we get to the part about Snape and Avery and Mulciber. This part broke my heart. I'm not sure if Avery and Mulciber were primarily motivated by homophobia or blood purity elitism (as in, I don't know how much they know about her and Lily) but either way it's just horrible to read. (You wrote it very well, though!) And agh, Snape. Snape. He knows, and he's literally doing this because he's angry and bitter and jealous (as were his motivations for most things he did as an adult... seems fitting) and just... This was really heartbreaking. He wants to hurt Mary because Lily likes her, and I think it so realistic that he wouldn't say a word because it's Lily's reputation on the line - if it were Mary and another girl, I'm sure he wouldn't have any qualms about outing them. But he wants to maintain his illusion of Lily being who he wants her to be. There's just so much in that scene and my heart breaks for Mary and I am just furious at Snape and his friends for being such bigots and bullies.

And then the last scene, when Mary realizes that she's in love, because she can't bring herself to hurt Lily by saying that Lily's oldest friend did that to her. I'm not surprised Lily knew, she's smart. Mary's internal struggle here is so beautiful in a really tragic way. I just feel so sad. And you can tell things are changing, as Lily uses James' and Sirius' first names, but it doesn't mean anything... yet. It's just this little section of change and there are tough realizations and I just... wah. The emotion in this piece is the strongest feature and is so beautifully written. I'm envious.

I absolutely love this story, have favourited it and I'm sure I will be back when I'm not spending 24/7 at work. Keep up the amazing work. ♥



Name: Stella Blue (Signed) · Date: 02 Nov 2016 05:24 PM · [Report This]
Story:The Fortunate Ones Chapter: This First Time I Kissed Lily Evans.

*transferred from HPFF*

 

 I love how you've explained Mary's feelings about James, and how she doesn't hold anything against him because he's not a threat to her. In a way, she probably can empathise with him because she also knows what it's like to have unrequited feelings for Lily. AND of course the extra dimension to the dynamic between Mary and Severus, because she knows Severus and Lily are close, and how she finds his possessiveness very creepy (bc it is, let's be real). I just love the way you're setting up all the interpersonal dynamics between your characters, it's fantastic.

the scene of the two of them out on the grounds studying while it's about to rain, I just LOVE THE TWO OF THEM and you might have converted me to this ship (even though I've never seen it before. this is the ship I never knew I needed)

The scene with both of them changing, I couldn't help but laugh at how Muggle they are, as I'm sure it's possible to dry clothes with a spell :p but no, neither of them think of it as despite living four years in the wizarding world, magic is still a new thing and it's not always the first thing that comes to mind. Reminds me a bit of Hermione trying to start a fire for Devil's Snare haha

but who cares about drying spells anyway, otherwise this amazing, steamy kiss scene wouldn't have happened. I thought you did really well with that scene, and Mary's feelings are so understandable here - she's falling for Lily, but is embarrassed about it because she feels like she's in the wrong, and even when Lily makes moves, Mary is still wondering whether it's all an experiment and Lily is just curious, or if there's something more. Mary is this combination of nervous and happy that really tugs at the heart. Aw. But going from the end of the chapter, I don't think Lily was at all unhappy about the way things turn out, so things are looking good for Mary :)

I'm really wondering where it will go from here and whether they'll keep it a secret and just how they deal with this new change in their friendship. This is a wonderful story!



Name: Stella Blue (Signed) · Date: 02 Nov 2016 05:21 PM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:The Fortunate Ones Chapter: The First Time I Met Lily Evans

*Transferred review from HPFF*

(well, sort of)

(I originally reviewed anonymously during the holidays as 'The Hanukkah Dreidel' so I've edited this review to make sense XD)

 

Aww, I really love that you mentioned how long Severus sat there with the Sorting Hat until being sorted into Slytherin. D: The hat was considering Gryffindor! I hadn't thought about it before that he would be a near Hatstall but now this is my headcanon, it just makes SO MUCH SENSE.

I wrote him a note asking if he liked me. He wrote back yes, then he and I spent two weeks sitting near one another in class, not saying a word. -- oh goodness I love this accurate description of a 9-year-old's crush. I'm pretty sure this was what my first crush was like when I was in 5th grade, only without the note. I simply sat next to him in class and sometimes awkwardly started conversations by asking to borrow paperclips or pencils ahaha

Anyway, I really love this first chapter so, so much. The relationship between Lily and Mary is really wonderful and has this childlike innocence to it - they're both Muggle-borns who are just discovering this new world of magic that they've only dreamed about or read about in books or heard stories from friends, and now it's all real. And Mary has a pretty strong crush for an eleven year old, but probably true to her age she doesn't really understand what it means. I just loved the way you wrote the two of them interacting and I cannot WAIT to read more of this fic and see where things go for the two of them.

 

(PS - I really wish I could rate this story 10000/10 but that option isn't allowed :(



Submit a Review