Login

Name: beyond the rain (Signed) · Date: 20 Jun 2018 12:12 PM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:Hermione's Totally Accidental Time-Traveling Mishap Chapter: When Hermione Becomes Totally Gorgeous

Hey Meg! Here for the review hot seat!!

 

So for some reason I haven't read this wonderful parody yet??!!! I have no idea why, my apologies! I love how witty and sarcastic the narration is in this fic. We all LOVE IT when hermione ends up being in the same year as the marauders - but how and why does it keep happening? You've made me question everything we as writers do, and how we just love making everything convenient and easier on us - to just be like....we have an excuse! Magic, duh! Maybe as writers we need to work on our TT backstories a little more? 

 

We may as well smash down that fourth wall and give you the surname of Watson whilst you are here."

The old man was bonkers, Hermione did not understand.
- I loved this line! I mean if anyone was to know about the outside world, it would be the puppetmaster himself, Albus Dumbledore!! I mean Hermione's also right in that he is bonkers, but I suppose that comes with being vastly knowledgable! 

 

Oh god!!! Dumbledore is killing me!!! "We shall see what happens after you've been here a few months and make meaningful relationships" again - that's so real! You had me laughing as I remembered my own snamione time travel. I was like but it wouldn't take Dumbledore this long to send Hermione home...but it'll take Severus months before he even considers Hermione a friend! Brilliant, Meg, just brilliant! 

 

Hermione, you do not sashay! No! Again a not so subtle reminder that in a new time Hermione seems to lose her head and turn into this super hot, perfect, mary sue. 

 

A lovely chapter Meg!!! So funny, but it really rang true as well! 

Bex



Name: Rumpelstiltskin (Signed) · Date: 24 Sep 2017 10:19 PM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:Hermione's Totally Accidental Time-Traveling Mishap Chapter: When Hermione Becomes Totally Gorgeous

I'm stalking you for MAGIC! 

 

There are so many elements that make this so funny. The cliche about being the only patient in the hospital room and Sirius' blindingly white teeth being only the tip of the iceberg.  The comment about James Potter serving as the comic relief was pretty epic.  I love the way you're going about blatantly pointing out cliches -- I'm rolling with laughter! And, of course, I love the way you skirted around pointing out that there was absolutely no repercussion for James' inappropriate comment.

 

Did I mention that the 20-year-younger Dumbledore looking identical to the 'future time' Dumbledore is hysterical? I see a lot of people overlooking this fact, where Dumbledore's features may have changed even slightly over the past 20 years! Furthermore, McGonagall's mouth having only one setting (pressed into a tight line) is amazing.

 

You made Peter fade into the background. Literally. Oh my gosh, Meg, that's too funny. I always hate when writers don't include Peter into the mix (I even read a fic once where Peter only ate cheese; or spoke about cheese -- it was the only thing that the author ever mentioned about him in passing). Peter was obviously actively involved with the Marauders -- he was their friend up until he became a traitor and people just seem to overlook that fact. That's why I found this part so fantastic.

 

And I also enjoyed the bit about Pomfrey having no problem whatsoever with the large crowd of people surrounding Hermione in the Hospital Wing ;).

 

OMG Dumbledore and the fourth wall is too much! I'm dying! This is hilarious! And then he goes on to make Hermione suddenly drop-dead-gorgeous! It's so perfect and way too much for me to handle! Sashaying out of the Hospital Wing is also epic.

 

So this was absolutely great, Meg! It was so funny, I can't even tell you!

 

-Rumpels

 



Name: Alexis Black (Signed) · Date: 09 Sep 2017 06:41 PM · [Report This]
Story:Hermione's Totally Accidental Time-Traveling Mishap Chapter: Hermione is Totally Accepted Into the Group
How I ever missed this gem of a tale is something I’ll never know! This is such a perfect parody. You’ve taken all the best clichés and played them to the absolute hilt!



Of course Hermione is the bestest - even Dumbledore pales in comparison. And that he would dare to peek into her mind, which she considered rude? Priceless! I always felt Dumbledore was never called on the carpet for such behavior!



Your knowledge of the characters is only matched by your willingness to bare their inherent flaws. Speaking of which, Dumbledore is never wrong. Lol. Riiiight!



And what is this about breaking the fourth wall? What is this - Deadpool? No wait, that’s just my own wishful thinking.



That Hermione gets transformed into a drop-dead gorgeous witch with perfect hair? And basically struts out of the Hospital Wing? Now that just couldn’t get any better!



Seriously, though, I just knew you’d have to bring in Severus. Couldn’t leave our dearest Slytherin alone, could you, Meg? Well, at least this proves that Hermione has good taste. To heck with Ron!



It didn’t matter what Peter was “ he was irrelevant? *snickers* Poor pitiful Peter! I love how the boys forgot how Hermione looked different after her stay in the Hospital Wing, and how Lily befriended after sharing the room with her for a few seconds. BFFs, right there!



I’m totally in love with this story and can’t wait until you come up with the next chapter. Might I make the suggestion of a dance perhaps? With Severus? Pretty please?



~Alexis


Name: Rumpelstiltskin (Signed) · Date: 07 Sep 2017 08:40 PM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:Hermione's Totally Accidental Time-Traveling Mishap Chapter: The Totally Accidental Potions Mishap

HOW HAVE I NOT KNOW ABOUT THE EXISTENCE OF THIS GLORIOUS THING?! (I'm here for September's Hot Seat, by the way.

I love this so much, I can't even begin to tell you the number of times I laughed.  I absolutely adored how you set up the beginning, with Hermione being the super-bestest at everything (even Dumbledore, with the exception of taming her hair).  I also loved the way you worded that last sentence of the first paragraph :p .

Yes, how could anyone ever love Severus Snape, greasy Bat of the Dungeons? *cough, nudge, wink*   The exaggeration in this is killing me -- 175 points from Gryffindor! All the points from Gryffindor!  I can imagine Snape walking around with a sneer on his face all the time, even while he's sleeping and eating breakfast :p.

And, of course, one thousand suns is presumably quite hot.

Lol, Hermione was the only person covered with the special time-traveling potion mishap :p.  As it turns out, Neville is a genius, he just doesn't know it ;).

Oh my god, Meg, the descriptions are just too good!  They're so perfect for a parody -- I especially like how you just added 'like mad' to the end of a sentence for emphasis.  

So, I thought you did a brilliant job with this!  I can't wait to read some more! And I have SSS to catch up on and the Transfer Student, of course.  Happily, it's your Hot Seat month, so I'll be on it!

-Rumpels



Name: MalfoysAngel (Signed) · Date: 17 Jul 2017 09:05 PM · [Report This]
Story:Hermione's Totally Accidental Time-Traveling Mishap Chapter: The Totally Accidental Potions Mishap

Hey Meg!

So now that I feel bad about not stopping by to read any of your fics until now, I'm glad I started with this one. I know you said this is a parody but I think this is a great setup for a fic, parody or otherwise and now I really must go back and read your other time-travel pieces. 

I'm horrible at leaving long reivews but really need to get more practice in for future reviewing events on the forums so forgive me for using you to practice on. haha. 

I really liked that you had Neville be the one whose potion causes Hermione to be sent back in time especially when you consider how inept he is at potions when it comes to Snape, this makes the plot believable and to be honest, if you wouldn't have stated it in the summary and beginning notes, I never would have known this was a parody fic. (To be honest I haven't read many time travel fics but SSS is on my to read list) 

Again I can't tell you enough how much I liked this chapter and I'm rushing ahead to read the next one.

 

Peace, Love, and Tacos

Tasha



Name: ShazaLupin (Signed) · Date: 20 Jun 2017 11:44 AM · [Report This]
Story:Hermione's Totally Accidental Time-Traveling Mishap Chapter: The Totally Accidental Potions Mishap

Hey there!

Aww, poor Hermione. Not only was she just trying to help Neville, she gets points taken from Gryffindor and gets sent back in time. Oh dear, and it's with the marauders? That can never end well.

This is a rather intriguing chapter, as you've taken what we all know so well, a traditional potions lesson (with great characterisation of them all as well) and just turned it on its head. Makes me wonder what's going to happen next, and how she's going to get back, especially since she's landed with the marauders. I love Hermione’s voice here though, I think you’ve got her characterisation spot her, between her knowing she has to help Neville and also name calling Snape, although I feel like that’s a setup/hint for what’s in store ;) (I also loved her thinking, oh he might send me back in time lol)

I wonder what’s going on back in Hermione’s normal time as well, how they’ve all reacted to a student vanishing in the middle of class right in front of their eyes. It must be chaos, I wonder how Dumbledore will explain that to Hermione’s parents.

 

Anyway, I think you’ve set up this story really well, and I’m excited to see what happens next!

- Shaza :) 



Name: Stella Blue (Signed) · Date: 17 May 2017 10:37 PM · [Report This]
Story:Hermione's Totally Accidental Time-Traveling Mishap Chapter: Hermione is Totally Accepted Into the Group

HERMIONE IS LITERALLY GLIDING


Everyone was so attractive in the past, she found herself thinking. -- Hahahaha! XD

 

I love the extremely repetitive description of just exactly how similar Harry's eyes are to Lily's.

 

AND JAMES' EYES ARE LITERALLY HEARTS

 

She becomes the fifth Marauder! I wouldn't have expected anything less of our gorgeous time-traveling heroine!

 

I can't believe this is your first time writing parody! You're totally good at it. ;) I am so glad that you branched out into parody because it gave me this highly amusing story to read and I'm loving every word of it. Honestly, I could quote all my fave lines back to you but it'd be the entire fic so I had to restrain myself. But this is such a fun story and your humor is amazing!



Name: Stella Blue (Signed) · Date: 17 May 2017 10:18 PM · [Report This]
Story:Hermione's Totally Accidental Time-Traveling Mishap Chapter: When Hermione Becomes Totally Gorgeous

OMG YES THERE'S MORE

 

EVERYTHING IS SO PERFECT

 

from the very beginning when all the professors are hovering over her as caricatures of themselves, to the last line when Hermione is suddenly gorgeous and literally SASHAYS out of the hospital wing because of her sudden transition to gorgeous model who must act out of character, this is parody perfection. This is everything silly about time travel fics presented in the way that best exhibits its silliness.

 

As Hermione slowly sat up, Peter faded into the background -- where he belonged -- yes this is amazing

 

Also considering that it may have been safer for her, and for the future, if they had placed her into hiding, rather than allow her to pose as a student, interact with people of the past, and potentially cause a time paradox that would never be explained. Yet she went along with it regardless, due to that blind trust in Dumbledore. -- HAHAAAA RIGHT? THIS IS PERFECT. I CAN'T

 

I'm sorry this is nothing but me raving about your talent at writing parody and simply  quoting you back at yourself, but what else is there to be said? I dare anyone to write a better time travel parody. They will fail because this is perfect.



Name: Felpata_Lupin (Signed) · Date: 07 May 2017 05:11 AM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:Hermione's Totally Accidental Time-Traveling Mishap Chapter: Hermione is Totally Accepted Into the Group

Although, this younger version of Severus Snape looked quite different than the man she had known. He was more brooding and handsome, and she was already sure that if she wasn't careful, she may end up fancying the dark boy before her. 


Everyone was so attractive in the past, she found herself thinking. 

 

Sorry, I keep quoting lines, I can't help it, they are so brilliant!

 

Ahahah! Of course! Snape would never be her friend because of her house, so she's going to befriend him because it is a challenge! Love it!

 

OMG, the bit about Lily's eyes! I love how you went on forever about that! And how Lily had this perfect, angelic beauty and grace! And the motherly attitude! So perfect!

 

Loved this chapter as well! I'm having so much fun with this story! You are awesome!

 

All my love,

Chiara



Name: Felpata_Lupin (Signed) · Date: 07 May 2017 04:55 AM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:Hermione's Totally Accidental Time-Traveling Mishap Chapter: When Hermione Becomes Totally Gorgeous

OMG, this!

 

After a few moments of taking in the news, Dumbledore sent McGonagall and Pomfrey away, so he could speak with Hermione privately, since Dumbledore preferred secrecy when it came to important issues that others could possibly help with, if they had been given the chance.

 

And of course his eyes were twinkling all the time! Ahahah!

 

And Peter disappearing in the background where he belonged? (You know, or at least I think you do, that I'm a bit obsessed with Peter... I love that you are joking about people's abitude to forget about him :P) And of course I loved Sirius bragging about being her saviour, and James making some inappropriate comment about it that everyone else just ignored. :P I so love Marauders' cliches!

 

Your caricature of Dumbledore is so brilliant, I love it so much! I love how you pointed out most of his suggestions not making any sense, yet everyone trusting him blindly. It's obviously hexasperated, but that's so Dumbledore! :P

 

And this:

 

“We shall see what happens after you've been here a few months and make meaningful relationships,” he told her with an ominous tone.

 

O, Merlin! This is so wonderful!

 

Tons of love,

Chiara



Name: Felpata_Lupin (Signed) · Date: 07 May 2017 04:36 AM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:Hermione's Totally Accidental Time-Traveling Mishap Chapter: The Totally Accidental Potions Mishap

Hey, Meg, love!

 

I couldn't resist to check out this, you know how much I love your time-travel stories and I was so curious to see how you would make a parody out of it! And, Merlin, wasn't this hilarious! :D

 

I especially loved how you underlined and mocked all those typical descriptions of your characters. These lines, for example:

 

Hermione Granger, who was the most brilliant and powerful witch the world had ever seen, and could do silent wandless magic in her sleep (better than Dumbledore himself, yet she couldn't figure out a way to tame her wildly crazy mane of bushy brown hair)

 

Professor Snape always sneered. He did not ever have any other expression except for sneering.

 

So brilliant!

 

I also loved the "foreshadowing" of Neville's possible potion disaster and of Snape couldn't possibly be loved by any woman... Just random thoughts, right? :P

 

And of course when the actual accident happens, she appears right in front of the Marauders. And the first things she does is mistaking James for Harry. I'm sure I've never seen that happen before... :P And Sirius, Remus and Peter's descriptions, too... just so perfect (for a parody, I mean :P)

 

Well, guess I'll need to see what happens next? ;) See you on the next chapter!

 

Snowball hug,

Chiara



Name: Stella Blue (Signed) · Date: 05 May 2017 07:20 PM · [Report This]
Story:Hermione's Totally Accidental Time-Traveling Mishap Chapter: The Totally Accidental Potions Mishap

OMG. YES. When are you doing your stand up comedy tour because I want a ticket. Siriusly though, this is hilarious. I love that you take a standard trope that you already write really well as is, and then make fun of it, and by extension, yourself. Honestly because you write these sorts of themes normally (and so well), it just makes this story so much funnier. So basically, when you write any time travel, whether serious, not serious, or Sirius (see what i did there), it's brilliant no matter what. You are the official queen of time travel stories, according to 100% of the 1 people surveyed for this title. I laughed so much while reading this, and then imagine the pleasant surprise when I saw that it's multi-chapter! Ah! Can't wait. <3 You rule.



Name: Rhaenyra (Signed) · Date: 05 May 2017 01:19 PM · [Report This]
Story:Hermione's Totally Accidental Time-Traveling Mishap Chapter: The Totally Accidental Potions Mishap

Oh my god yessss.  I happen to enjoy a good time travel fic as well, but this certainly has ticked off all the reasons why people don't like them.  The descriptions of the characters were brilliant and (sadly) ones people have used.  Sirius oozing sex appeal?  Check.  The only "logical" explanation being Harry's dead father?  Check.  Some obscure nickname that is apparently used by everybody for Snape?  Of course!

 

Eagerly looking forward to cringing my way through chapter 2!



Name: Crimson Quill (Signed) · Date: 04 May 2017 04:44 AM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:Hermione's Totally Accidental Time-Traveling Mishap Chapter: The Totally Accidental Potions Mishap

Hi Meg,

 

So I thought I would read this one to give it some love as it's new! I really love that you decided to make fun out of the some clique in your genre of stories. I really love your time turner stories but oh my god, this was just brilliant. I was laughing out a loud at some of this, it's all so true but you write this so well! I think I was dying with laugher at like three points during this. I can't even decide on my favourite line from this, I'm going to say that ‘she couldn't figure out a way to tame her wildly crazy mane of bushy brown hair' in reference to being as brilliant as Dumbledore is the funniest (maybe, I'm still deciding, so many good lines). I'm really hoping in the next chapter that as part of not being recognised she manages to tame it and become just so smokin' hot that all the marauders/snape/everyone in the world just fall in love with her. Ha ha.

So, next line which I just can't, like, I loved it was "Hermione ended up being the only person in the entire class who had the misfortune of being covered", I love it! It's so true and you've totally nailed this parody challenge. It's such a fun read, you're going to tweet me when the next chapter of this is out right? I seriously needs to know how this ends! Ha ha. Oh, just a quick mention of sex god Sirius! I can't wait to see some of his mad flirting skills. Thank you so much for making me smile so much with this! Fantastic job and really strong entry for the parody challenge! I'm off to transfer my CTF review for SSS to the archives for you. <3



Submit a Review