Login
Reviews For Dormitory 2.6A

Name: Stella Blue (Signed) · Date: 09 Dec 2017 05:49 AM · Chapter: FIVE: Hold Your Breath

Their detention sounds like it wasn't too bad in the end. I like that Neville visited. And the fact that Dahlia can't control her swearing in front of him :P

 

Hmm. I kinda worry about Cass. I know there's an eating disorder tag on this story so I have my suspicions, especially becuase it seems she hasn't eaten anything all afternoon? And didn't Sophie just call her fat in the previous chapter? Aw, I hope Cass didn't take Sophie too seriously. Don't listen to Sophie.

 

Novus broom flying lesson was super cute. I think he likes her. The eyelash thing??? No one does that unless they really want to touch your face, so I think he likes her, whatever Nova is telling herself. :P But I get it. I really get Nova's self-doubt here. And I get that she won't let self doubt define her and kind of tries to pretend it's not there by appearing really put-together.

 

And the worst part is that Nova seems to have noticed all the pieces but hasn't really put them together - like she's noticed all the important things about Cass' eating disorder (I'm positive that's what it is now) and Reagan still having academic struggles and she's just in a different place after her afternoon with Al. One the one hand, it's nice to not have to think about the difficult things all the time. But on the other hand... sometimes you have to. I hope she addresses those concerns from the end of the chapter sometime soon.

 

great chapter!



Name: greisful (Signed) · Date: 01 Aug 2017 06:10 AM · Chapter: SEVEN: Secrets and Sin

I CANT REMEMBER IF IVE SAID THIS BEFORE BUT IM GOING TO FIGHT SOPHIE BECAUSE SHE IS TRASH. Moving on. I get what it's like to have a crush on someone to the point that you think you're in love with them but like how well does Nala know Xanthe really? Why would she fall into the trap of I know him in a way that other people don't. And it seems so silly because Cass is literally his cousin if anyone was going to know the real Xanthe it would be her, especially since it seems that Cass's family and his family are close. It just drives me crazy because Nala is literally setting herself up for heartbreak when she should know better, she's living in the kind of fantasy daydream you have when you're younger, you're supposed to get it over it in the real world.

And poor Cass who was just trying to look out for her friend and to give her a warning and instead gets this backlash. And on top of that she's dealing with an eating disorder. SHE DOESNT DESERVE THIS OKAY SHE IS TOO GOOD FOR THIS MY CHILD DESERVES TO BE HAPPY.

And also if Nova doesn't stop being clueless about Albus when he's literally shoving it in her face that he likes her, I'm going to smack some sense into her myself. Like just get together both of you, you're so into each other and smitten it's too much to handle. The tension is killing me. And honestly it was so sweet that Albus helped her hex stupid Sophie and her stupid boyfriend.

If your crush doesn't hex the people who hurt your friends without asking for details, are they really worth it?



Name: greisful (Signed) · Date: 01 Aug 2017 03:46 AM · Chapter: SIX: Disintegrate

I WANT TO SCREAM NOVA IS SO DUMB. Albus is literally making it so clear that he's into her like he's literally centimetres away from her face ready to kiss her and she's like nah he's not interested like girlie what more of a sign do you need like come on get it together.

It sucks seeing the friendships fall apart like this. Like I understand that Cass is trying to protect Nala but at the same time Nala is allowed to make her own decisions and mistakes. And I know that Cass is struggling because of what Sophie said to her but I feel like her friends would've been more helpful to her if she had actually bothered to say anything to them and what she need weed from them in terms of support.



Name: greisful (Signed) · Date: 01 Aug 2017 12:36 AM · Chapter: FIVE: Hold Your Breath

I'M GOING TO FIGHT SOPHIE FOR MAKING CASS INSECURE HOW DARE SHE! Honestly I absolutely hate it when girls only blame the female when it comes to cheating like your boyfriend was a willing participant why don't you focus on him too. It just-URGH DRIVES ME CRAZY. I'll stop there because we don't have all day to listen to my rant.

I'm so excited for Nova she's actually getting somewhere with Al, it might actually happen, this is so exciting. And the effect that she's having on him as well is so exciting because he's falling for her too (unless he's a jerk and is just leading her on). I love me some romantic comedies they just make everything better.

I'm so excited to see their next encounter and to watch Albus grow an even bigger crush on her. I hope that Cass doesn't pay too much attention to what Sophie says and goes back to being confident and loving herself, it's so stupid to put so much stock by what an angry, petty girl said in the heat of the moment.

Honestly, if it wasn't for the occasional giggle, you probably wouldn't be able to tell that Nova liked Albus (if we didn't know her internal monologue). Like she still acts like herself and sticks to her morals and principles and doesn't let her crush alter her behaviour too much and you know what I can appreciate that. 



Name: greisful (Signed) · Date: 31 Jul 2017 05:59 AM · Chapter: FOUR: Fire and Ice

Honestly this is like the wildest group of friends I've ever read about. I think my favourite thing was the fact that Alice was implying that everyone should get in line and wait their turn before throwing hands instead of trying to put a stop to the fighting.

With each chapter that goes by I relate to Nova more and more like honestly it's the strangest thing seeing your exact thoughts and feelings written out in a story like thank you for making Nova so relatable.

I also really hope she gets with Albus I know the kind of crush she has, I've been there so I really hope she gets her shot.

Speaking of Albus, where can I get my own Albus Potter please and thanks.



Name: greisful (Signed) · Date: 30 Jul 2017 05:56 AM · Chapter: TWO: I Dare You

I relate to Nova so much it hurts I know exactly what it's like to be the friend in the group that no one ever really develops a crush on. And then everyone makes a big deal out of the fact that you get a crush on someone. I feel for her I really do and I just want to say that I personally don't really see girls like Nova pop up in fanfiction. You know, the kind that acknowledge that maybe they're not the prettiest and that people would be more likely to go for their friend instead of them AND WHO DON'T KNOW HOW TO FLIRT. And it's just so nice to see it in this fic and its so refreshing.

To be honest tho if my friends ever dated me to do what Nova's friends dared her to do it would not end well for my friends. I feel so bad for her and what she's goings to do but fingers crossed that it works out.

On a side note I also really relate to Dahlia like one minute I'll be like oh my gosh that guy is good and then for the next four days I'll be like ew don't touch me if a guy so much as even looks at me. Her personality and view on romance is also refreshing it's nice to see a character who is just not about that life (or perhaps in her case asexual or aromantic?)



Name: WindingArrow (Signed) · Date: 01 Jul 2017 03:44 AM · Chapter: EIGHT: Damsels of Dormitory 2.6A

Yup. Totally binged this today. Where is the rest, miss plums? HUH?!? Ahem. I love how you presented these serious and very sensitive issues. It came off as REALLY powerful and I can't wait to see what exactly these girls do to Xanthe as retribution. I am a little sad, though. Nala was so happy and excited and just once I hoped that the prince really would turn out to be a prince. Instead, he was just an ass.

 

Also can I just tell you how much I lol'd at the "jump on your broomstick" crack? And that Albus had known about Nova's crush for a while? And I would totally support an Albus Potter cover of this title?



Name: WindingArrow (Signed) · Date: 29 Jun 2017 09:24 PM · Chapter: TWO: I Dare You

Plums! Okay, this is sort of a two-for, because I was bored at work so I finished reading chapter 1 and I don't like to type reviews on my phone, so I simply... Went to the next chapter. And here we ARE!

 

*ahem*

 

Ineke has been pushing me to read this for a while. Not that I didn't want to, but I've been reading so much and doing very little actual writing in between newsletter writing and site events and so on so... There are a lot of stories on my TBR list. Both fic and books alike. The list is monsterous in size, actually...

 

But anyway! Ineke has never steered me wrong and she was absolutely right, this story is a-freaking-mazing. It sort of reminds me of something along the lines of ect., ect., (and life goes on) (which I shamelessly binge-read in a couple of days...) and that immediately pulled me in enough to see that this story is nothing like it at all, hahaha. You have six girls with completely different personalities and what I like most of all is that I can ALMOST pick out which is which based on their words rather than tag lines. Dahlia is certainly a force to be reckoned with and I'm curious to see if there will be a boy or girl to break through her 'I hate people' attitude. Cass is... Well, I've dealt with characters like her before, let's say.

 

Another thing that I like is that even though I feel like I've seen these characters before (I watch way too much anime, but shhh...), you present them in a unique way and in a unique group that I've never seen before and the fact that they actually work WELL together and remain friends is quite amazing to this girl.

 

Also, I like being able to read about Hufflepuffs! I feel like there are too many Gryffindors out there, hahaha. So that was an added treat and I like the little implication that they just go to the kitchen and make things whenever. I mean, I think I would. (Why is the Tower so far away from the kitchen?!?! I need more Puff friends...)

 

The History of Magic class was completely adorable and, oooo, a DARE! Also, I love the history BEHIND the DARE! That is so cute! (But Alice shouldn't worry, her dad would be a fool not to be totally proud of her no matter what.)

 

So, I can't wait to read on, but I'm going to have to put it into my favorites. (And probably read at work while I'm trying to get through this other book...)

 

Later!

-Liz



Name: victoria_anne (Signed) · Date: 20 May 2017 07:37 AM · Chapter: TWO: I Dare You

Hey Plums! Took a little longer than I planned to get here, but better late than never, right? :P

Bless Albus sleeping in History of Magic, hahaha. And falling asleep on his broom! What an idiotic little cinammon bun.

How strange to imagine them having to pick a member of the Order to do a presentation on. I love it, but still a strange thought, especially since the majority of them are dead.

Dahlia actually scares me a little bit haha.

Once again I love how you make the dialogue and interactions between the girls come off so naturally and realistic. Ooh I will totally answer your end notes. Obviously I'm rooting for it, I sense an ice queen being melted in the future. But I definitely can't wait for more interactions between them, and getting to know Albus a bit more! <3



Name: FlamingQuilltips (Signed) · Date: 18 May 2017 11:52 AM · Chapter: SIX: Disintegrate

How can I NOT squee over Novus here???

 

Honestly I LOVE how you write him through Nova's eyes. And the way you tease us with those moments that are oh-so-close!

 

And you've expanded canon so much, with the Hufflepuff couch, and the rules for boys-entering-the-girls-dorm thingie! Now I can't imagine the Hufflepuff common room WITHOUT that ghastly yellow couch!

 

And Dahlia, oh my god! She had me in splits. I could just imagine Alia Bhatt's expressions when the scene was going on, and she was yelling at that second year, it was too precious!

 

I don't really think Cass is all that wrong about Xanthe, but if Nala isn't ready to see sense, I doubt there's much she can do except wait to catch her when she falls. Cass' reaction seemed just perfect you know. I can totally imagine something like this happening to my 16-year olf self!! Will Psycho Sophia make an appearance again?

 

Ooh I do seem to like the lovely balance you're forming between exploring Novus, and exploring the dynamics between the girls. Do you plan on doing a chapter from Albus' PoV. I'd kinda love to see that, but it probabl would be a better idea to keep teasing us with Nova's PoV for a while.

 

Loved this chapter, and Awww, thank you somuch for the dedication! I can't wait for the next chapter. Too soon to start badgering you about it?

 

Love

Ysh




Name: FlamingQuilltips (Signed) · Date: 18 May 2017 11:51 AM · Chapter: FIVE: Hold Your Breath

Yayyy another chapter :D

 

I'm afraid I'm going to have to drop in with a shorter review this time because I'm from my phone, which means I'm typing this after I read it. Trying to recall my favorite moments from the fic, but I'm pretty sure I'll end up leaving one or two...

 

I really liked it when Neville dropped in on his daughter serving detention. It was too cute. Honestly the conversation and dynamics between the girls still manages to amaze me. I don't usually take to OCs very quickly, but I somehow took to yours so well!

 

Oh, and also, what's up with Cass? Are we supposed to look out for more drama?

 

Ahh yes, more Albus *squeee* We do see signs of him liking her as well *does a little jig around the table*

 

There was a bit where I felt the flow got a little abrupt - that the flying lessors started off all of a sudden. But it all ended so wonderfully that I didn't give it a second thought.

 

Eagerly waiting for the next update!!

 

XOXO

~Ysh




Name: FlamingQuilltips (Signed) · Date: 18 May 2017 11:50 AM · Chapter: FOUR: Fire and Ice

Plums... I CAN'T BELIEVE YOU DID THAT!!! You made me cry a little with that A/N. I finished reading and typing up my review till the end, and your A/N was such a pleasent surprise - so unexpected and so sweet of you!! Thank you so much Plums *hug* It means so much to me!! 

 

ANOTHER CHAPTER! I saw this (as with the previous one) seconds after you posted on the chapter updates but able to get to it only now! Believe it or not, I found it so much easier to get through my day knowing that a little treat in the form of your chapter is waiting for me on the other side. So I'm too excited, I'm going to type this review as I go :D

 

Have I told you how much I love your dialogues? And Description? The opening scene was a perfect balance between the two, I was able to picture the scene unfold in front of my eyes. The teenage emotions are just speaking to me on so many levels, despite the fact that the teens are well behind me *sigh*! *I can't help myself hinting at a marauders fic*

 

I loved seeing Albus through Nova's eyes. What I particularly liked was that she was obviously smitten, and everything he did just made her melt, which you have shown us repeatedly but it never felt repetitive because your choice of adjectives and flow was so remarkable... in fact I got that tingly nice feeling every step of the way. And through Nova's eyes I think I'm starting to become smitten by Albus as well.

 

Oh, and I LOVE how you have shown exactly WHY Albus was a Slytherin. Little hints you dropped along the way like how his smile could get people to do what he wanted but not in a very creepy, freaky way you know. I think I'm falling for my first Slytherin, I really am. Until now, I've hated the idea of Albus being in Slytherin (I always felt his cousins would give him a hard time and felt bad for him) but now, I can't picture anything else.

 

The whole chapter just flowed like a dream. Dreamy Albus Potter. Dreamy mentions of James Potter. My heart kinda flip flopped everytime Nova's did. You're just that amazing at writing coming-of-age stories. 

 

That innuendo. Well done, Plums. Well done. 

 

The whole dissection scene - so gross. I'm sorry to hear that you actually went through that! Thank god dissection was banned by the time I came to high school, I'm pretty sure the guys in my class would have treated the dead animal carcus with the same disrespect these guys did!

 

Ahh the party scene... Loved the party scene. So fitting. A little part of me wished Albus and Nova would flirt a little during the party. Ahh but the Cassidy-Psycho Sophie incident just adds to the teenage drama, and I'm lapping up every word of this. 

 

So, coming to the questions in your A/N,

 

1. I don't see why you're iffy about this ending. I think it works perfectly fine with the story, and a good cliffhanger at that. 

 

2. Things I love - I've elaborated pretty much on this part - but just thought of another one how you keep giving us teasers of Albus instead of constantly bringing him into scenes. That way, every scene with Albus in it is like a treat... and Romance is the main theme, without actually being so in-your-face about it. 

 

3. Things I'd love more of - Ahh.. Albus, and can we see a little bit of James Potter? I'd love to know how you write him! Oh, also, a little bit of Jealous Albus - that's what I'd love to see :D

 

4. What I think will happen? - Ah so far this has been so unpredictable that I have nothing in mind. I just trust you completely with this story, and know that I'm going to love whatever happens.

 

4. Ship Names - I'm terrible at ship names :D Everything I think of sounds super weird: Novus, Nobus, Halbus (so I'll stop here)

 

Can't wait for the next update! (This has got to be the longest review I've ever left!)

 

Loads of Love,

Ysh



Name: FlamingQuilltips (Signed) · Date: 18 May 2017 11:49 AM · Chapter: THREE: Matters of the Heart

*Transfered from HPFF*

 

YAY Chapter 3! *fangirling* 

 

So I saw this like minutes after you had posted it but I've had a crazy two days (I badly wanted to be your first reviewer) but I'm going to combine this with the review-a-thon :D

 

I'm going to review as I read because I don't want to miss even one little bit of this awesome story!

 

Dahlia's grimace, and her expression that screamed insults - priceless!!! She was in pain from having to be nice ROTFLOL! We all have that one friend, don't we? 

 

I love the way the conversations flow. Dialogues are so natural, and each one adds to the fun of the scene. The dares are priceless, especially when Nala glares because she can't say a word!!

 

Aww, the way the scene shifted from the casual fun dialogues to that one paragraph that explained how Nova felt on seeing Albus gave me all the squirmy feels :D And her attempts at flirting was so funny! 

 

Her throaty voice made her sound like a dying man. - This line had my sister look up from her desk wondering why I was randomly laughing staring at my phone!

 

So mean of Nova's friends to up the stakes a little. Of course, what else are friends for than to do just that and leave you feeling all super nervous around your crush? And then hiding behind bookshelves and underneath the tables not-so-conspicously to spy on you? Classic! 

 

And of course, once the torture is over, they all turn into Nova's sweet supporting teenage best friends. You just give me the feels in this chapter.

 

Also, how absolutely wonderfully delicious is Albus Potter the way you write him *dreams*

 

OOhhh, I loved every bit of this chapter! This was such a fun chapter! 

 

For HPFF Review-a-thon!

 

XOXO

Ysh



Name: FlamingQuilltips (Signed) · Date: 18 May 2017 11:48 AM · Chapter: TWO: I Dare You

*Transfered from HPFF*

 

Yay! Chapter 2 is up! 

 

So I'm typing the review as I read the chapter *eee*

 

I liked how you described Nova staring at Albus, without making it seem cheesy or sappy - her thoughts flowed so naturally from Albus, to sleeping to Dalhia. It was just like so many of my high school moments! Ah! What wouldn't I give to go back and have a teenage crush again! WHY DO WE HAVE TO GROW UP?

 

"boy who unfortunately knew she had fancied him back in first year - so that was a path she was not willing to embark on. Ever" - Epic! This line had me rolling with laughter! Oh the embarassment of the totally indiscreet first few crushes. Your narrative is just so REAL! Even later when she assumes that the three of them were trying to dump the workload on her, I can't describe it with any other word than REAL!

 

Albus Potter is a complete dear in this chapter. Not that scrawny middle child we see in the epilogue anymore I see :D His careless attitude and grumpiness during sleep *sigh* (If you weren't more careful I'd find myself switching from James to Albus).

 

Ahhh - girl bonding! That was so much fun! "He just interests me" -> That's the perfect way to describe a crush. Nobody really knows why exactly they fancy someone who makes their stomach do the flips. I totally feel Nova right about here. Seriously, now I want to talk to my high school crush, and it's been ten years! 

 

Love the story so far! Waiting for next chapter soon!

 

Loads of Love

Ysh




Name: FlamingQuilltips (Signed) · Date: 18 May 2017 11:47 AM · Chapter: ONE: Melting Ice Queens

*Transfered from HPFF*

 

Plums!

 

Of course I'm here to read your new fic :D

 

What can I say? I loved it. The flow, the language, the dialogues... it was all just so easy to read. You balanced the dynamics between them, and created individual identites for each character, bringing out everything in this one chapter so that at the end of it I was able to leave with the the feeling of each one being so... real... if you know what I mean!

 

I loved how you described Nova - the deadly looks and natural b**ch face - this line says it all, and then later when you call her the most soft-hearted in the group - brilliant portrayal! I could picture her in my head. Her crush on Albus almost seemed so natural, the way you slid into it gradually. 

 

I'm loving Dahlia too, Lol! She's so crude and so honest! Really, Love the characterizations here. 

 

That place where you describe how brutal honesty was key to their friendship, it applied so perfectly to me and my two besties, I found myself picturing the three of us in Alice, Nova and Dahlia. 

 

James Potter's messy manbun and sexy stubble - Ah your words, your WORDS! I'm swooning for James Potter too. 

 

Your A/N talks about taking this group through all the bu**s**t and i would LOVE to read more about it. Waiting for the next chapter!

 

Loads of Love

Ysh




Name: Stella Blue (Signed) · Date: 15 May 2017 05:33 AM · Chapter: FOUR: Fire and Ice

*Transferred review*

 

Being dragged out of bed while you're sleeping? Nooopppeee. I'd kick someone. And then go back to sleep.

Al totally knows what effect his smile/wink has on people and knows how to use that, haha!

THE BROOMSTICK INNUENDO I AM DYING AHAHAHAHA but like, isn't this always the way it happens - where you realize what you said about 2 seconds too late and you can't un-say it. Ahaha this was hilarious and I would feel bad for Nova except I'm too busy laughing.

Omg nothing to spoil the fun chatty mood in class like a bloody lamb's heart slammed onto the table. I never had to dissect anything quite that bad in any of my biology classes but this takes me back, haha. Oh, and I love that they're combining biology with magic because that's totally something that should happen. in order to do a better transfiguration you have to understand the object, etc. Great idea to include that! Except what an actual disaster it turned out to be. WHY WERE PEOPLE THROWING THE HEART

purely because I'm a sadist and would like to put you off your food." -- hahaha this professor cracks me up

Re: the end - uh oh. That escalated quickly... I'm not sure how Sophie didn't see that coming. You don't insult someone in front of her best friends because they will tear you up. So much drama but I did enjoy reading them all fighting haha

I don't remember if I mentioned this in any of my earlier reviews but I adore your writing style. It's so fun, you include the perfect amount of detail, it's at times very thoughtful, and at times very funny. It's just great all around.

I can see why this story is so popular! I'm really loving it so far!



Name: Stella Blue (Signed) · Date: 15 May 2017 05:30 AM · Chapter: THREE: Matters of the Heart

*Transferred from HPFF*

 

Hhahahahaha, yeah I feel like Dahlia is kind of terrifying for young naive students. :P Poor second year.

I love that they still use "Your face" as a comeback. It's like one step below "Your mum" jokes. It's so bad that it's funny.

Somehow in the previous chapter I missed the fact that Dahlia had to be nice to everyone for 24 hours and o. m. g. this is going to be literally amazing. She might explode from the effort. like how do you even go from sailor to customer service representative (that's the extreme ends of the swear scale that I just invented) that fast? it's impossible. I know because I have been both in my life. *rubs hands together with glee and watches the chaos ensue*

Haha, Cassidy literally takes no care of her appearance and still gets compliments from a fit bloke. I'd say things aren't going too badly for her with the dare at least XD She totally still could have flirted with him.

REAGAN HAS TO SING EVERYTHING AHAHAHA have you seen that Monty Python sketch about reporting a burglary? it's super funny and the beginning of this chapter kind of reminds me of that, well at least Reagan's dare.

I sympathize with Nova. Flirting is hard XD

But it went rather well! I mean, aside from the bit where she ran into him, but it gave them something to talk about at least :P Ah, so proud of Nova. It all worked out! Even though her friends were CREEPING UNDER A TABLE to spy on them. that was hilarious. XD

great chapter!



Name: Stella Blue (Signed) · Date: 15 May 2017 05:28 AM · Chapter: TWO: I Dare You

*Transferred from HPFF*

 

I'm back!

I like that Professor Binns actually calls Voldemort by his name (especially because probably not everyone did, even after the war - just look at Hagrid in the beginning of Philosophers Stone). It malkes sense too since Binns was already dead by the time Voldemort became important, so he probably just never really cared.

Also I forgot to mention this in the previous chapter's review but I kind of love that you've characterized James as looking like a lumberjack XD

Random aside: How did Binns ever take attendance for his class? He literally had no idea who anyone was. /tangent

Can I just say that you write the mindset of a sixteen year old girl SO perfectly. Everything Nova says about Albus is kind of ridiculous when she goes on and on about his raven hair and his gorgeous jade eyes and how she swoons when he smiles at her and she stares at him all the time when she thinks she's being subtle... BUT honestly it's not too far off from how I reacted around my own crush at that age and how I loved the colour of his eyes (so blue). XD Like, Nova's narration about Albus is kind of silly but also SO relatable! Basically, I was Nova at age 16. Except none of my friends found out about my crush.

Nova's friends are hilarious. And they're all such passionate people, about different things but it makes for such a funny group dynamic. They are the first person to sass any of the others in the group, but also the first person to stand up for their friends if someone else hurts them.

I love Nova's sister too. And I can't blame her for being upset at having to wait three additional days for brownies that made a detour through Nova's pocket. Seriously what is it with wizards putting baked goods in their pockets? Hagrid giving Harry a squashed birthday cake, and Nova giving Aria some probably very flat brownies. Muggles know better. I hope the brownies were at least delicious XD

I am really excited to see how Nova's attempt at flirting goes. Ehehehehe



Name: Stella Blue (Signed) · Date: 15 May 2017 05:26 AM · Chapter: ONE: Melting Ice Queens

*Transferred from HPFF*

 

Plums! I am here for this story, partially because of your wishlist and partially because this story has been recommended like everywhere. Honestly, I hear lots of good things about it. So here goes.

This is such a fun opening chapter, and I can really feel the personality of this group so strongly - it's clear they have years of inside jokes and their friendship is very secure (which makes Nova's comments at the end really interesting and honestly I think that was my favorite part of the chapter, as it adds a reflective twist to the otherwise more light hearted beginning and kind of makes me guess about the whole chapter which I just read, so I love that. I wonder how much of it Nova is kind of just making up in her mind, or whether cracks are starting to form in their friendship. At any rate, it makes me really eager to read more (which I will do tomorrow, but not tonight because it's late and I have to get up super early for work *sobs*)

Also I must admit haha, the way Dormitory 2.6a is so close it makes me wonder if 2.6b is just as close to each other, and talks about A the way A talks about B. Probably XD It's funny because yeah they're all hufflepuffs but the two different dorms really creates two different, isolated cultures.

Your writing style is a lot of fun, btw. I can see why this story is as popular as it is :)

Okay, so this opening chapter was sufficient to get me really excited about reading more, but I have to go to sleep. I'll be back tomorrow to fangirl about the next few chapters, I'm sure.



Name: nott theodore (Signed) · Date: 13 May 2017 05:04 PM · Chapter: ONE: Melting Ice Queens

Plums!

 

Have I told you already how much I love this story?  Yes?  Oh well, it's time for you to hear it again.  I LOVE THIS STORY.

 

(I read this all the way through in one sitting about two months ago now, and I thought it was finally about time to leave you a review on it.  Especially because you're (or this story, at least) a big part of the reason that I got back involved in the forums and archives again and started writing again too.  So thank you for that.)

 

Anyway, I honestly love this so much.  Maybe I should just write this review as an ode to your writing talents?  I'd try but I don't think I'm good enough to do that, so I'll just try and form some vaguely coherent comments instead.

 

Your writing is just brilliant.  I love your writing style - it's so, so easy to read and you capture what it feels like to be a teenage girl so well.  It's very easy for me to think back to being in school and college and relate the things that me and my friends went through then to what's happening here.  Even the way that these girls interact with each other, the sarcasm and the rudeness, reminds me so much of the group of friends I grew up with.

 

I love the diversity of the cast here, and the way that you manage to create each of the characters so strongly.  Even though this is only the first chapter, the six girls all stand out as individuals and I really liked the way that you introduced us to them all - there was enough information there, but you didn't overload us with just text about them.  Your writing is really clever and high quality and that was a part of it.

 

The interactions and dialogue between the girls are so realistic and believable, and it's so easy to get caught up in them and read them like real life.  

 

And Nova has a crush on Albus!  Only a little crush.  I think not, my friend, but I'll leave her to think that for now.  I loved the way that you introduced the crush to us at the same time as her friends noticed her blushing and started interrogating her about it.  That is exactly how my friends would have reacted when we were younger, and I couldn't help laughing.  Poor Nova.

 

But it was great that we got to see the way it's easier for Nova to admit her crush to Reagan on her own rather than all the girls at once.  And the way that you built up the crush and we got to see the little things that Nova was noticing about Albus - and without the whole chapter being consumed by him, as it so often is in stories like this one - was really brilliant.

 

I could go on and on for hours about this first chapter alone, but I have to try and be productive today so I'm just going to tell you again that I love this story and run away before you think I'm (too) crazy :P

 

Sian :)



Name: victoria_anne (Signed) · Date: 06 May 2017 08:18 AM · Chapter: ONE: Melting Ice Queens

PLUMSY MY DARLING.

It is way way way waaaaay WAY past time I read this story. I see it around so much, it's widly popular, and I would like to jump in alongside the other fangirls.

Y'aaass kick-ass Hufflepuffs. Now these girls are my kin.

I love the idea of Nova making her bed float to the next room so they could all be together haha.

Omg I got so caught up in the interactions between the girls and your descriptions of them that I got a little shock reading Albus Potter's name. I almost forgot this was fanfiction haha!

JAMES HAS A MANBUN OMG hahaha!

I am in stitches over them teasing Nova over her blush! I'd heard this story was funny, but omg, it's actually just the best.

I love the idea that Voldemort becomes a study topic. It makes sense, but I'd never thought about it before. I guess it would be like us going on Wikipedia before starting a new fanfiction.

Trust Filch to still be alive and lurking around the castle.

Reagan seems pretty normal. But I'm already cringing at the idea of the other girls finding out about Nova's little crush haha.

I have a mind to wash Dahlia's mouth out with soap.

Ah, Nova, if something wasn't there then we wouldn't have a story XD

This is so great, Plums. I'm so glad I'm finally here. Better late than never, right? I'll be back soon! <3



Submit a Review