Login
Reviews For Lightning Love

Name: Rumpelstiltskin (Signed) · Date: 29 Jun 2018 01:51 AM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:Lightning Love Chapter: Old People Smell

A'hoy! O7 (I don't know I just wanted to say A'hoy!)

 

So I'm running around your AP, wondering what to review, and just really wanting to start reviewing Lightning Love even though I've already read the first four chapters, so I decided to start reviewing in the middle of the story. (I hope that's okay.) But don't think I didn't see that second chapter of Epitaph posted...I'll be coming back for that one O.O. 

 

That's how I used to finish my papers too -- spending way too long on making sure everything was lined up and ready to go and then overwhelming myself in the end with it. :P And who doesn't love a good giant tuber joke -- especially when you can share it with the friend you have feelings for? Aha! Understandably she's afraid of losing her friendship with him, which is a huge factor, but continuously pulling away obviously has done nothing to quell the feelings that she still has for him, so I agree -- it's time to take the plunge!

 

Oh my gosh -- Lysander thinks that she's calling him out on HIS FEELINGS! And then the conversation goes awry -- no, no, no! And, what's worse is that THAT IS THE EXACT MOMENT that Hugo and Joao decide to come in. My gosh, hopefully she'll find that courage again to ask him out and hopefully conversations won't run away and people don't trample on in to interrupt while she's trying to recover it. So, while they won't be going out...together, alone on a date or something...they will be going out with 'the gang' together, which is better than nothing. 

 

OH and those BULLIES ARE BACK. I'm telling you, I sincerely believe that the trap door to oblivion will do wonders. *sigh* But I suppose we can try it the "nice way" first. OH MY GOSH. Regardless of my stance on trap doors and such -- witnessing this Cards Against Humanity moment in fanfiction has made at least half of my lifetime. That's hilarious. And, oh my gosh, I can just see Molly Weasley cracking up at a disturbingly lewd joke and embarrassing the heck out of the grandkids. 

 

Oh my gosh. Finally where the title came from. I. Ahahahahahahahaha! *dead* Old people smell. *cough*

 

While not having to pay the exorbitant prices of alcohol at a bar, I would feel really bad, too, especially about the waitresses tips. I mean, they could always just tip her REALLY well and still save money. Ugh, Farrow. Can I just dislike Farrow? Yes. Yes I think I will. It's really nice that [some] of them want to include Hugo now in their post-case-closing celebrations [which apparently they do without him anyway], but it feels like there's some jealousy/envy going on [especially with Farrow] -- like he believes that Hugo would get promoted over him solely because of who is father is. And I can see that, it's got to be difficult to work in the same place as someone as famous as Ron -- especially when he's your father. :( Still. We should send [at least] Farrow into the oblivion. 

 

Ahh, Puja. I quite liked Puja when we were first introduced to her. My goodness, though, I'm so glad that there are actually real people like Puja who are able to take care of people with dementia. That must be a terrifying illness to experience and one that requires a lot of care and patience. Also, I'm really anticipating seeing what happens with the Puja x Lysander x Lily bit. BEST FORESHADOWING GUESS is that Puja and Lysander end up together and are a super!adorable couple -- and Lily is crushed. But then you find some other way to break our hearts so that Lily and Lys will end up together? :/ I'm onto you. Oh my gosh, that also must be so sad -- thinking your son is alive [because of the dementia] only he's not and you're waiting for him. ROSE STOP. WHY? *cries*

 

Thanks so much for the swap, and for making me cry. 

 

-Rumpels



Name: dreamgazer220 (Signed) · Date: 26 Jun 2018 06:00 AM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:Lightning Love Chapter: Finger Lakes

TAG!

So how about we don't mention how long it's been since I read the last chapter? I'm the slowest reader on the planet, but here I am! ♥

We get to meet a lot more and exciting people in this chapter. I loved that we start off with Hugo and his family situation; I can imagine how difficult it would be to tell his parents that he doesn't want to live with them anymore, but you did an amazing job writing Ron and Hermione's reactions. Ron had just enough humor and Hermione was serious enough, and it was great to see them interacting as parents and ultimately giving Hugo their blessing to move out.  And as they mentioned, the Burrow is at least easy enough to visit! 

And then! More people! And Lorcan and Lysander! The best part about this chapter is that while there are a lot of introductions, nothing feels rushed or like there's too many people; you spend enough time on all of them so no one really blurs into each other. I also really loved seeing Hugo come out of his shell a little bit when he got into the conversation with Lorcan about law.

Oooh, Lily totally has a crush on Jesse. He seems cute so far, and I know they're not the pairing I'm supposed to root for but I could be here for this! Like, I know they're not endgame or whatever, but Lily could use a relationship with a good man for a change. I'm super curious to learn more about him and see how their friendship/relationship progresses. And I loved the detail about Hugo noticing the look on Lysander's face -- foreshadowing, perhaps? :P 

And another new mysterious character! I think I'm even more eager to learn more about Puja and where she comes from. Super interesting to contrast her with the Weasley-Potters, and I love that her school taught them about Voldemort. Also, does she know/work with Victoire? I WANT TO KNOW. ALSO, I'm excited that there's a chance for Lily to be jealous of her with Lysander and so that it's not going to be totally one-sided in that regard.

ALSO, don't think I wouldn't forget to point out THAT YOU MENTIONED FRED AND ARTHUR IN THE SAME SENTENCE AND MY HEART CAN'T TAKE IT, OKAY? OKAY? UGH.

BUUUT I love the ghoul story! And I'm super curious to see what other war stories the kids may or may not be familiar with, and who enjoys them; it's clear that Lily is, so far, not much of a fan, as she probably has heard them so many times.

As always with your writing, I'm so impressed, not just by the general flow but how you seem to have this ability to point out details that would be just a passing thing, but might also be important later. Does that even make sense? What I mean is, things like hope in Jesse's eye, or Hugo catching Lysander's expression; it's already building a good foundation. WILL YOU TEACH ME YOUR WAYS?! 

Another amazing chapter!! I promise I'll try not to wait as long to read the next chapter, especially since you're doing this for JulNo! Good luck, by the way ♥ ♥



Name: starbuck (Signed) · Date: 14 Jun 2018 06:02 PM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:Lightning Love Chapter: Release

yay for more nita!!

 

she's very good at getting the right point across, both about lily being a tiny bit awful and about jesse being way more into her than she is into him (obviously, since she's in love with lysander!).

 

hugo needs to just hex farrow. possibly with an unforgivable curse. i'll forgive him for doing it. :D

 

lol at harry being a hero. again. :P and sabotaging james a little bit! not your greatest moment, harry! :P

 

oh hugo :( at first i thought he was playing the guitar (it was how my brother dealt with his issues of anxiety and slight depression) but argh. i really feel for him. i don't understand it but i feel for him. i just hope he'll be able to find a way to cope that doesn't involve hurting himself :(

 

kris

 

 

 

 



Name: starbuck (Signed) · Date: 14 Jun 2018 05:40 PM · starstarstarstarhalf-star [Report This]
Story:Lightning Love Chapter: Sweet Romance

it's so awesome that hugo and joao have become good friends!! and joao made a grat point about children of stars being more scrutinised, much like what lily said to puja when they first met. and farrow - blegh. that's all i'll say on that front.

 

omg 'sweet romance'. nope. nope. i just feel like lyander and puja might be too similar in terms of being shy and stuff like that. he needs someone to shake him up a little bit :P

 

and awww, molly being tongue-tied around steven is really cute. but i admit, i have trouble imagining her with anyone other than arthur, even though it would be normal for a widow to find someone else. :I 

 

but they are very cute. *sigh*

 

kris



Name: starbuck (Signed) · Date: 12 Jun 2018 08:22 PM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:Lightning Love Chapter: Sporting Chance

al&brandon casually barging in the shed where lily&jesse were was awesome! :P :D

 

i empathise with lysander&hugo for wanting to just distance themselves a little bit from a large group of people (even if they are family&friends). and aww, hugo is playing matchmaker!  he's totally right about lysander being maybe too considerate of lily's feelings but...he may fancy puja but he's in love with lily so. let him be hugo! :P

 

it's great how hugo is standing up for himself re: not dating anyone. he's absolutely right - if he doesn't want to date, he shouldn't have to 'try and see what happens'.

 

also, to answer your question - i'm still shipping lily and lysander but also like nita with anyone really? i want to see more of her - the tiny amount of time we saw her just made me really like her a lot. and hugo/awesome? is that a thing? it should be a thing :D

 

kris



Name: starbuck (Signed) · Date: 11 Jun 2018 08:46 PM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:Lightning Love Chapter: Old People Smell

aah, lily is going to admit her feelings to lysander! or...not? why is lysander being oblivious?!!! lily should just snog him and stop the misery they're both feeling.

 

yay for hugo and hanging out with his coworkers! but farrow really needs to stop harassing him. i guess hugo isn't really interested in dating anyone? that's cool but i hope he'll manage to come to terms with it and not feel pressured to date just because everyone else is.

 

the part with puja and mrs moss was really sad but i think she handled it well, at least in front of mrs moss. i also liked how she always introduced herself when she came into the room so her patients would be at least a little less confused. i hope she does find someone to love.....................just not lysander (i'm evil, i know!)

 

kris



Name: starbuck (Signed) · Date: 11 Jun 2018 07:29 PM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:Lightning Love Chapter: futbol

i'm not sure what i think about rose :o  what does she mean that it would be beneath lily to go after lysander now? because she didn't want him before? a girl can change her mind!

 

james is being so nice, i love how he's trying to help hugo feel better about himself and his job. tbh, right now i'm just rooting for hugo so much, he's such a relatable character, i think a lot of people feel really insecure, at least at some point in their life, that it's nice to read about a character who isn't perfect and who is trying to grow more confident and just...grow into himself? idk if that makes sense.

 

as much as lysander is being the bigger person i'm not. :P jesse is nice and all but...eh.



Name: starbuck (Signed) · Date: 11 Jun 2018 06:25 PM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:Lightning Love Chapter: Full House of Fragile Hearts

i adore nita!!! she's definitely my kind of girl. her comments are hilarious :D

 

and yay for lily finally admitting she does have the hots (er, feelings?) for lysander.

 

poor hugo - ron is so...oblivious? i mean, okay, he gets that hugo wants to be left alone, but way too late for that, ron!and his coworkers are really mean, it's like they're not even giving him a chance :( i think brandon gave him some good advice about going for drinks though i'm not sure if his coworkers would be up for it :I

 

i love molly (and lily) writing a recipe book!

 

joao seems like a great addition - he's a big flirt, isn't he? i like him already :P and it looks like hugo is making a friend which is awesome.

 

lysander and lily are just...argh. no words. stupid lovebirds! :P

 

kris



Name: starbuck (Signed) · Date: 10 Jun 2018 08:27 PM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:Lightning Love Chapter: Finger Lakes

i cracked up at the ron&hermione dynamic. i think you totally managed to pull them off how they'd behave when they're older.

 

but poor hugo, i definitely get what he's going through. a lot of my friends think my dad (who is also an architect) got me my job which is obviously not true but people can be stupid :I

 

i like how lily is trying to subtly (or not so subtly :p) find out what's up with hugo!

 

aww, lysander seems so sweet. he's also hilarious with how he's trying to stop lorcan and hugo from arguing and/or boring the rest of them to death with law discussion. but omg, how can they just casually continue discussing carnivorous plants?!

 

and hugo is just a bit...awkward. or rude? a tiny bit. at least with puja.

 

i'm not happy about lysander and puja liking each other but neither is lily so that's something, at least :D

 

it was lovely reading, this, though i think my favourite part was definitely the lorcan/hugo discussion with lysander's interruptions :)

 

kris



Name: starbuck (Signed) · Date: 08 Jun 2018 11:41 PM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:Lightning Love Chapter: Lightning Love

hi rose!

 

i finally started reading this :D

 

haha, yeah, i can totally see george as putting the ad up!

 

but the line about ginny being rooted to her seat because she realised lily wanted to say something that wasn't for her ears was something that  her mum would've done - they're so similar :D i chuckled at that. though i wonder why lily is staying with her grandmother? is it just because of wanting a little independence from her parents?

 

awww, poor lysander :( and lily was engaged?! i can definitely appreciate him not wanting to push her, though. friendship is important.

 

ahhahh, luna's plant accidentally killing someone seems like something that could happen :D also lol at lily blushing when lysander was actually talking about the plant!

 

and hugo writing and 'being out there' - he sounds like he's going to be interesting to read about :)

 

i'm still scared to continue reading this (because apparently you break hearts. not nice! :P) but i'm a sucker for lily luna potter and friends-to-lovers. in general i just love the idea of molly taking in stray adults - it seems like something she'd do after her children move out, she's so motherly and caring. and the idea is very original!

 

i'm looking forward to reading more despite being scared :P

 

kris



Name: justawillowtree (Signed) · Date: 07 Mar 2018 02:20 AM · [Report This]
Story:Lightning Love Chapter: Sporting Chance

Rose! I'm so glad to see that this story updated!

 

This entire chapter was so sweet omg. I don't know what it is about the way you write, but you make me able to ship Lily and Lysander with different people, even though I ship them with each other too. Like, obviously Lily/Lysander is my ultimate ship in this story, but omggg Lily and Jesse are adorable, and the budding relationship of Puja and Lysander! I just have no idea how you're able to do that. <3

 

I loved reading all the scenes where you combined the giant Weasley family with your OCs. (That scene with Ron complaining of all the running in football made me laugh so much. I love him.) I'm just trying to imagine all the Weasleys huffing and puffing from all the different strenuous ways of exercising their body that football provides hahaha.

 

And I just wanted to say that the scene where Lily/Jesse and Albus/Brandon were fighting for the broomstick shed to make out with their significant others was pure gold. It was just funny, and cute, and aslkdgj I can't get over the couples in this story, they're just all freaking adorable. Lysander and Puja, too! That little chat that Lysander had with Hugo about Puja was just really sweet, as well.

 

However, I do notice all the little things you put in this chapter that might signify cracks forming in these two relationships, as sweet as they are currently. For instance, Lily's brief moment where she wondered at why she never really asked about Jesse's family. And then Hugo doubting whether Lysander actually was thinking about Puja when discussing the concert. We shall see how these relationships turn out, but everyone seems so kind and loving right now that I hope that the relationship doesn't end too messily.

 

And I love Hugo's coming-out scene at the end there, it was a good way to end the chapter. <3

 

I thought plenty of things happened this chapter! Further development of the relationships between the two major couples right now, and a little more insight into the thoughts of Lily and Lysander about the other. I also liked the little bits of bonding between friends and family members in here, so don't worry at all about that.

 

All in all, I thought this chapter was just wonderful. <3

 

~Eva



Name: Agent Scully (Anonymous) · Date: 20 Feb 2018 03:25 AM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:Lightning Love Chapter: Old People Smell

Final Report

 

Despite allegations to the contrary, this story has been acquitted of all charges.

 

This chapter in particular was really sweet. Especially Puja’s scene at the end. So sad. I love how her conversation with the patient inspired her to be more outgoing. And the reveal of her jealously of Lily’s personality was sad but also relatable. What an absolutely sweet character.

 

Lily and her giant tubers :P I was so proud of her for taking the risk of asking Lysander out. I thin that’s a vulnerable thing to do at the best of times, and for her it also means admitting she might have been wrong (or dishonest) for years. That makes it way worse. And so I was really happy for her, and then Lysander was SO SWEET but he totally didn’t get it. These two will be the death of me, i swear to god.

 

I liked the pub scene. In your note, you said you wondered abut introducing so many people at once. Honestly, i didn’t really pay attention to the exact identities of the characters other than Hugo. I was more thinking about the group dynamic as a whole, and Hugo’s place in it. But I didn’t feel frustrated by all the new names. I just assumed if they were important, you’d give the more screen time later on, and concentrated on Hugo. The part where they start quizzing him about work was painful, and also satisfying, because I got to watch Hugo stand his ground, even if it was in a low key sort of way. 

 

I love the idea that Arthur Weasley owned CAH hahaha

 

I feel so pleased that the had an opportunity to read this story. You truly have a gift for making characters come to life. Truly. I will be eagerly awaiting the next chapter.

 

best regards,

Dana K. Scully



Name: Agent Scully (Anonymous) · Date: 20 Feb 2018 02:59 AM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:Lightning Love Chapter: futbol

Hello Rose! Back again!

 

Notes

- I don’t know why there aren’t more scenes with Rose and Lily interacting in fits. This is already lovely

- Wow, not very nice to Hugo. He really does not need that right now

- Rose’s job sounds awesome

- I need to plan a vacation to spain

- oh gosh. with context this scorpius convo is a little tough to read

- omg lily, that is not something to keep a secret! Rose is his friend! She should know if he needs help!

- Yes, Rose, she’s jealous. And ridiculous. 

- But I do like Lily, don’t worry!

- Aw, bless James for this moment of (probably false) modesty 

- omg it’s so true - quidditch is basically the least physically demanding sport ever :P 

- I want to make heart doodles on the margins of this story

- Aw, i like Joao for asking about #32

- this conversation is perfect

- OH MY GOD THAT JOKE. I mean. I see what you did there.

- How do you managed to capture so many different characters so well??

- Yes for Luna keeping her last name

- uh oh, the two potentials alone together. wizard’s duel?

- Aw, they’re both adorable to be honest. You are playing dirty with my feels :P

 

Report

 

The friendship between Lysander and Jesse is honestly perfect. I hate knowing that at least one of them is bound to get hurt. And probably both of them. Sigh. 

 

That brings me to Lily. Since I keep complaining about her stupidity, I should probably say a bit more. I find her reasoning for not dating Lysander stupid - but I find the way you’ve written it really smart and realistic. It’s so true to life to be not-quite-sure what you want, or how you feel, or whether you’re thinking with your head or your heart. I love that you’re showing the reality of that, even if watching her go through it makes me shake my head.

 

The scene at the soccer game where the girl asks Hugo out was really nice. I’m so glad he got a little ego boost, even if he wasn’t interested, and it was definitely of interest to learn that Joao is bi. I guess Hugo is ace? I hope he’s not also aro because i’d love to see him find a loving partner. Then again, in a way seeing him come to full happiness without finding a partner would be even better. So, either way.

 

Loving this fic, Rose!

~ Dana K. Scully



Name: Agent Scully (Anonymous) · Date: 20 Feb 2018 02:17 AM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:Lightning Love Chapter: Full House of Fragile Hearts

p.p1 {margin: 0.0px 0.0px 0.0px 0.0px; font: 12.0px 'Helvetica Neue'; color: #454545; min-height: 14.0px} p.p2 {margin: 0.0px 0.0px 0.0px 0.0px; font: 12.0px 'Helvetica Neue'; color: #454545} li.li2 {margin: 0.0px 0.0px 0.0px 0.0px; font: 12.0px 'Helvetica Neue'; color: #454545} ul.ul1 {list-style-type: hyphen}

Hello, Rose!

 

I’m back again to continue my inspection

 

Notes

  • dirigible plumini is such a genius wizarding cocktail name. also it sounds delicious
  • holy cow, a witch living with a muggle sounds rough. and illegal. and i thought *I* had roommate problems in my twenties :P
  • “speaking of a good shag, how’s living with lysander?” Have I mentioned that Nita is amazing?
  • I maintain my position that, although I like her, Lily is an idiot.
  • I am 200% Nita
  • ARCHIE! More broken engagement info! Tell me!!! I know the truth is out there ;)
  • “tenacious dignity” is a fantastic phrase, and also maybe my life goal
  • Awwww, yes. Nita FTW <33
  • Oh yay, more adorable Hugo time! 
  • Fallow seems like a jerk
  • I have to say, I really really relate to this scenario with Ron as Hugo’s boss. *tsk* parents
  • Huge-O. Oh my god. That was a gut punch. (Pun not intended :P) I want to beat up these terrible excuses of humans
  • Oh, my. I love Hugo so much. WHAT ARE YOU DOING TO ME, ROSE? THIS IS DEFINITELY THE SUSPICIOUS ACTIVITY WE SUSPECTED YOU ARE BREAKING MY HEART.
  • I’m not crying at all because I don’t think Scully is, er, I mean, I am a person who would cry much…. yeah, so… totally not crying
  • Brandon! YAAS!
  • Ah, bless you Brandon thank goodness. 
  • I’m not finished with the chapter yet, but I quick pause to say that I really, really enjoy reading this fiction
  • aw, what a cute idea to make a weasley family recipe book!
  • And I repeat: Lily is an idiot. But she’s also kind of adorable
  • Aw, Puja continues to be adorable
  • Ooh, new boarder! A quid ditch player! That’s interesting. It makes sense though, because the weasley family knows how to deal with the press and maintain their privacy, so it’s actually kind of perfect
  • ugh what a flirt
  • fun to see some james/lily sibling dynamics
  • maybe i might ship hugo/joao? Undecided
  • Ouch, Hugo is not the most tactful haha
  • OOOoooh drama! Jesse and Lily! I see disaster coming

 

Report

 

As usual, this was a brilliant chapter. Actually, that’s not quite accurate. I think this chapter was even better than the first two! How in the world did you think of such interesting OCs to be the boarders? 

 

I’m definitely invested in the romance plot, but Hugo’s storyline really grips me. I hope so, so much that he will find greater self-worth over the course of the story.

 

I honestly love this and I’d favorite it yesterday if agents were allowed to to so.

 

You’re amazing

 

~ Dana K. Scully



Name: Agent Scully (Anonymous) · Date: 18 Feb 2018 07:17 PM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:Lightning Love Chapter: Finger Lakes

Hello, Rose! I’m back again to check for ~mysterious happenings~ in your story.

 

Notes

- It’s Hugo, and he is so sweet. Introducing him with his application to Molly was such a perfect way to go. I loved him before he even appeared.

- Ugh, yes, this young adult child/parent dynamic is so real

- also the way you’ve written Ron and Hermione’s relationship is spot on

- I am impressed by Hugo knowing about love languages

- Aww, Hugo is hopeless as a liar haha

- Rose is in Spain. I really want more info about all of your characters omg

- OH MY GOD I want to have tea at the Burrow. Strawberry tarts…. Maybe I’ll make Mulder pick something up

- The ghoul is a Weasley legend by now! haha

- Lysander’s cluelessness somehow manages to be adorable

- AWWWWW poor Hugo. *hugs*

- (Does Scully give hugs? I should have done more research about myself :P)

- That’s an icky way to use Lily at work. The wizarding world really needs more career options.

- Your distinction between British and American wizarding culture is really interesting

- Carnivorous Plants? I think I’ve met some of those

- You’re making Jesse too likable and it’s conflicting with my Lily/Lysander feels. (Lilsander?)

- I envy Molly’s kitchen skills

- The way Molly is enjoying this is SO CUTE

- I just had the thought, “but where’s Arthur?” and then I remembered and now I”m sad 

- Aw, Puja is a little naive about fame. But I like her.

- It makes me smile to think of Lily in her mum’s old room

- MEET CUTE ALERT! MEET CUTE ALERT!

- oOOooh, Lily is jealous!

 

Report

 

Ok, this was excellent. I really don’t want to leave a review at all because I want to keep reading - which is definitely a good sign!

 

I think this must be, like, a love pentagon? Lily likes Jesse, but ALSO Lysander (even if she’s too stupid to realize it). Lysander likes Lily, but also Puja. Puja likes Lysander. Jesse like Lily…… it’s a beautiful mess up in this fic, Rose!

 

Can we also have romance for Hugo? :D

 

Puja and Jesse are both very engaging OCs. It’s really fun to see some magical folks with non-brutish backgrounds, too. Puja seems so sweet and intelligent, and Jesse has a very chill, happy vibe. And even though you don’t spend a ton of time explaining who they are, I feel like I really know them already. I think I might have said this before, but your writing is truly more than the sum of it’s parts. *swoon* (the parts are also excellent, too!)

 

LILY IS JEALOUS! I’m sorry, but it serves her right. Her seasons for putting him off before were pretty stupid. :P I’m am both scared and eager to see how this plays out 

 

Another brilliant chapters, and no monsters to be found.

 

bravo!

Dana K. Scully



Author's Response:

I JUST CAN'T WTIH HOW PERFECT AND OVERWHELMINLY AWESOME THIS REVIEW IS!!!!!!!!!!! honestly, you're the best secret cupid I've ever had. <3 <3 <3 

Hugo is one of my favorite characters in this story so I'm always excited when people like him. :D :D :D I argued with myself about Ron and Hermione's take on Hugo wanting to move out. Partially because I'm very pro adult children living on their own but realize the economy changed quite a bit since I was able to live on my own. But, I'm glad what I landed on felt like the right reaction for them to have. I did kind of want them to have a slightly poor reaction but overall okay iwth the move. I'm a sucker for writing Ron/Hermione moments where they still carry some of the familiarity from the books but are a bit more mature about how they fight. YOU NEED TO READ TRUE ROMANCE FOR THE BACKSTORY STUFF ON ROSE AND OTHERS. :P I think I wrote this after Fantastic Beasts came out and that got me thinking about how they'd be a bit different with US versus British wizarding stuff. I only recently learned what a meet cute was and I cracked up at your meet cute alert. :D 

I think pentagon is the right shape for the love stuffs in this story. I DON'T KNOW HOW TO WRITE A STRAIGHTFORWARD ROMANCE. I always make it messy. :P aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaah. I had to scream a little @ "your writing is more than the sum of its parts" I don't know how to respond to that but I'll bake you some cookies <3

thank you os much for the wonderful lovely review!

-Rose



Name: Agent Scully (Anonymous) · Date: 15 Feb 2018 02:58 AM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:Lightning Love Chapter: Lightning Love

Hello,

 

Hate to crash your Valentine's Day plans, but I've heard you have a shady record with your characters, so I'm here to check things out. 

 

Notes

 

- I really like the phrase "stray adults." It's sort of loving and comically insulting at the same time. Basically, Molly is right 99% of the time, and young adults absolutely need structure and indepenence in a delicate balance. Bless her.

 

-  Garden gnomes, haha

 

- Seriously, this is so sweet. Molly is the best. <3

 

- Also, the dialogue here is excellent

 

- Aww, Ginny not wanting to share her mum. We always need our mums, it's so true.

 

- Laughing at Ginny's determination to hear Lily's private convo with Molly

 

- I notice your using omniscient narration, which is pretty tough to do well. Nice!

 

- I am such a sucker for friends to lovers. Given your shady reputation i'm not optimistic about the outcome here, but i'm already rooting for Lily and Lysander

 

- short lived what now? Lily was engaged? TELL ME MORE!

 

- I mean.... isn't a best friend who you also want to sleep with prety much the ideal partner? Lily is a silly child.

 

- I adore Lysander for naming his plant, what a cute thing to do. Also, it's a perfectly in character gift from Luna

 

- omg, the penmanship selection strategy. too good.

 

- I like how well Lysander knows Hugo, so that he can understand his motivations

 

Report

 

This first chapter earned my interest and I'm becoming invested in the characters already. Good dialogue, and clear movement through the events of the scene. You manage to tie in some backstory without a big chunk of summary. 

 

But most of all: CHARACTER. It feels lie you /know/ these people, really truly know them. I love that. They all come across so easily and clearly, and the different personalities and voices are distinct even from the first lines. Also, the relationships between characters are SPOT ON. I mean, they are WONDERFUL. There are all these lines of tension the pull in different ways between each of the characters. Every relationship has a clear and uniqe dynamic. You do this with such seemingly simple details, like Lily's momentary shock at seeing Ginny, and the way Ginny asked Molly about money.

 

Despite reports to the contrary, there does not appear to be anything suspicious about this fic.... yes. I'll need to investigate further before I can make any definite conclusions. You know what they say, trust no one.

 

Report Compiled by:
Dana K. Sculy



Author's Response:

Reneeeeeee! aka Scully

1. Your decision to review this as my favorite character from the X-Files was the besssssssst thing ever. Each review just made my day but none more so than the first (because I was just over the moon at the idea). 

2. Okay, I'd like to reply to your notes line by line but all I can come with is a bunch of heart emojis and squeeing. I kind of feel like Ginny would have a harder time than her siblings sharing Molly. All the other kids had to share her with everyone younger than them but Ginny had her mom's attention and love rather exclusively (probably more so being hte only daughter). Also as much as Ginny hated her mom's meddling, I had to write her as just as much of a meddler, lol. Optimism is never a bad idea when it comes to romance in my stories. Underneath all the shady dealings and character angst, I am a hopeless romantic. LILY'S SHORTLIVED ENGAGEMENT IS IN TRUE ROMANCE. It's epic and failed hard. haha, I should have known my secret cupid was a teacher at the penmanship comment :P <3 

3. You are simply the best and I'm still dying over how wonderful your review is after rereading it for the hundreth time. <3 <3 

-Rose



Name: dreamgazer220 (Signed) · Date: 30 Jan 2018 04:04 PM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:Lightning Love Chapter: Lightning Love

Rose! I finally managed to snag you in review tag, and I've been meaning to get to this story for ages.  

I love the idea of Molly opening up the Burrow as sort of a boarding/bed and breakfast.  It definitely seems like something she would do, especially after Arthur (ROSE :() and all of the kids are grown and have their own place.  I can definitely imagine Ginny being skeptical of this idea, and it warms my heart that Harry's checking out everyone interested in applying for Molly's safety ♥

I'm super excited to see where you take Lily and Lysander.  I love the fact that he's moving into the Burrow, and I'm sure it'll help their relationship/friendship grow even more.  I'm even more glad that Lily's being cautious after her engagement and that she's not going to just jump into Lys' arms any time soon.

I thought this first chapter was a great set-up; it gave us a good idea of the characters and who is going to be important in this story, and gave me a good feel of where everyone's relationships currently stand.  I'm definitely adding this to my reading list and can't wait to see where you take this (although admittedly, I am a little nervous... :P)

Great job, as always!! ♥ ♥ ♥



Author's Response:

JILL!!! 

I know it's months later but I have to tell you how happy your review made me. ^_^ hahahaha (sorry, I had to laugh at the ARTHUR! moment because I'm mean). Even though Ginny grew up with a lot of siblings, I always imagine that as the youngest she didn't have to learn to share in the same way others did and was used to years of her mom's undivided attention. 

You'll probably hate me for them moving slowly and Lily's cautious behavior after a few chapters. I mean. You might get shouty later. 

I'm really glad this worked as a set up chapter. I mean, I didn't want to just start the story without some preabmle. I do keep introducing new people over the next few chapters so I feel like the story takes forever to *start* but it does eventually feel liike it's going, lol. 

thank you so much for a wonderful review!

-Rose



Name: Felpata_Lupin (Signed) · Date: 27 Jan 2018 06:42 PM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:Lightning Love Chapter: Finger Lakes

Hi, Rose! I thought I'd check another chapter! :)

Mmmh... things are getting interesting with Jesse and Puja in the picture... I wonder how things will develop now...

And poor Hugo, not being taken seriously at work because everyone thinks he's there only because of his famous family... those kids did have quite a burden to carry, it must be hard when you have to live to such high expectation...

The fight over the legislation made me chuckle, and I loved when said "No" in chorus at Lysander's questions about carnivorous plants. :P I really enjoyed the dynamics among the kids in general and getting to know glimpses about their jobs and adult lives. I'm curious to see if there will be other addictions soon, apparently Molly is getting many requests...

This was another cute chapter, I enjoyed reading it a lot. :)

Bye for now,

Chiara



Author's Response:

Chiara!

Puja does add an element of unexpected change in the story and relationship dynamics. She's going to prevent things from being easy :P But, not in a mean way. I mean, she's lovely and sweet. 

I always feel bad at how I have the next gen kids go through their hardships but I do think the unrealistic expectations + people being rude and jealous would have an impact. haha, I loved writing the fun law argument and Lysander's attempt to butt in. I'm so glad you liked how they all interact. I really like writing large group dynamics like that. 

Thank you so much for a lovely review!! 



Name: MegGonagall (Signed) · Date: 25 Jan 2018 08:15 AM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:Lightning Love Chapter: futbol

Rose!! I’m back! I’m sorry I’ve taken forever to review. I’ve been slacking. :( 

 

 

I forgot how much I loved the dynamic between Lily and Rose. The way that they’re more like sisters than cousins. I love them together. Rose is so extra, it’s hilarious. With all the shalls, and pulling the blanket up to her chin, acting like she’s never been in cooler weather before haha. And Lily is just like, “you grew up here.” XD 

 

 

The WiFi comment absolutely cracked me up. Something she’d like to try hahaha. 

 

 

And in all that lightheartedness, you had to throw that bit in about Scorpius in Paris. Ugh. Just knowing what he’s going through at the moment broke my heart. And it was only like two sentences. 

 

 

Yeah, still want to slap Lily. Now that Lysander is interested in someone, she wants to make a move. I’ve had friends who have pulled crap like that. My eyes are rolling at her. 

 

 

Oh god I really hope that a football game happens at the Burrow. I feel like that will be way, way too funny. 

 

 

Hugo is way too pure for this world. Poor thing doesn’t know how to take a compliment, and gets so embarrassed so easily. He’s the type of person I just want to hug and protect. And I’m also assuming that he’s Ace? That’s what his comment about not having a type meant? 

 

 

Yeah Luna definitely strikes me as the type who would prefer to be called my her first name. I know if I ever had kids, I would never let their friends call me Mrs. lol. Sounds too damn old. 

 

 

I don’t know why, but I just can’t shake the feeling that Jesse isn’t what he seems to be. He seems too nice, and too nearly perfect. I don’t know if he’s truly sinister underneath, or if I’m just anticipating it because you’re wicked haha. 

 

 

I’m starting to feel like Lysander might be too good for Lily. Here he is thinking that at least Jesse seems like a decent dude for her, and wants her to be happy. Then you have Lily who wants to sabotage a potential relationship he may get into. This story is going to be wild. I can feel it. And I can’t wait to go for the ride. :) 

 

 

Amazing as always, my love. Your versions of all the next-gen kids are seriously like canon to me. They’re the only way I can see them. 

 

 

Love this story! I’ll get the next chapter tomorrow. It’s 3am now, and I’m getting sleepy. I don’t want to half-ass any reviews for you. :) 

 

 

Tons of love, 

 

Meg    



Author's Response:

MEG!

omg, I'm trying to ignore the date of your review and pretend like this is a prompt response. :D D: 

I do sometimes give Rose some of my own extraness. Did I tell you I wore earmuffs for an entire year? I didn't have cold ears or anything, I just liked them. But, yeah, Rose is very in love iwth warm weater :P 

hahaha, I'm glad you liked the wifi joke. I mean, I love making wizards using technology jokes. someone has to like them :D 

yesssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssss, I wanted the Scorpius comment to be a little stabby moment 

Lily isn't going to pull an Albus (but, omg, why are the Potter kids so bad and romance that they want to steal people once they're taken??). I need to contemplate that aspect of my life/writing.

Hugo is my hardest to write storyline of this story. :( :( He's just so good and life is so hard for him. You learn more about Hugo later :D :D 

omg, your comment about Lysander being too good for Lily (and my previous revelation about the potter kids stealing people) made me realize lys = brandon and lily = albus. -_- I have no original ideas, lololol oh well. 

thank you so much for the review!!!

love you,

Rose



Name: Felpata_Lupin (Signed) · Date: 23 Jan 2018 07:54 AM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:Lightning Love Chapter: Lightning Love

Okay, I want a room at the Burrow... :P

Hello, Rose! Review Tag! (And also checking this out for FROGS)

I've loved this first chapter, it's such a cool idea! I think it's awesome that Molly would want to give young people a safe place to stay as they move out of their childhood homes, it's so sweet and definitely something she would do, especially since the Burrow is so empty now... it's just a lovely idea, even if it's bound to get messy... :P

And of course I understand Ginny and her worries and also her slight jealousy, it's a very natural reaction, I guess. But it’s nice that she softened when she realized her mother is feeling lonely. It's all just so sweet. :)

Lily and Lisander's relationship is... interesting. They are obviously very close and I'm curious to see how things between them are going to develop, especially since they are going to spend a lot of time together... ;)

Aww, and it's sort of adorable that Hugo wrote for a place. Wondering how this all will work out. (Also, it's kind of hilarious to imagine Harry investigate anyone applying... but once again I can understand the concerns...)

Sorry, I'm cutting this a bit short... but I'm at work and I should start actually working, I'm afraid... :P

Anyway this was a great first chapter and I really enjoyed reading it! I'll try to be back, possibly soon! Thank you for the read for now!

Lots of love and snowball hug,

Chiara



Author's Response:

Chiara!

I feel awful for not responding sooner. I am so glad you stopped by to review and check out this story for FROGs. I definitely wished I could live at the Burrow. I'm so glad the idea fits with what Molly would want to do. I dunno, it made me sad to think of her there alone or mostly alone. Of course it's going to get messy. :D :D :D Otherwise I woudln't have fun writing this story :P

Lily and Lysander are a fun and interesting duo to write. Sometimes it feels like I'm trying to guide a horse to water but then the water freezes when the horse gets close, lol. Hugo will be a pretty big character in the story with his own story arc. :D 

Thank you so much for coming by with a lovely review!!



Name: justawillowtree (Signed) · Date: 22 Jan 2018 11:07 PM · [Report This]
Story:Lightning Love Chapter: Old People Smell

LILY AND LYSANDER WERE SO CLOSE. SO, SO CLOSE. BUT OF COURSE LYSANDER HAD TO GO AND SAY THAT, AND NOW LILY'S ALL CONFUSED AND EVERYTHING. Kudos to Lily for trying, though. Now I'm trying to figure out what she's going to end up doing, haha.

 

And Hugo's making friends! I'm so relieved. I really liked the scene, even with the number of characters that we weren't familiar with, because it conveyed a sense of enthusiasm and excitement and rowdiness with a lot of people. I think that Hugo deserves the best. I'm so glad things are improving for him, even if it's just by a little bit so far.

 

Puja, darling. <3

 

Lovely, lovely chapter. <3

 

~Eva



Author's Response:

I'M SORRY THAT I TEASED THAT AND NOTHING HAPPENED. It was a lot of fun to write because I imagined getting people shouty over it. 

I needed Hugo to have some positive interactions with his coworkers. This was definitely baby steps

thank you so much for all these reviews. you're just the best!



Name: justawillowtree (Signed) · Date: 22 Jan 2018 10:37 PM · [Report This]
Story:Lightning Love Chapter: futbol

I love how everyone and their mother is completely and totally aware of Lily's mixed-up feelings for Lysander, and still nothing is happening. I would be astounded that Lysander himself hasn't caught on yet, if he hadn't shown himself to be a bit of an absent-minded dork (but I love him anyway). Lily's conversation with Rose in the beginning was full of good humor and happy feelings, and I especially liked the part when Hugo came in and added his two cents' worth on Rose's mountain of shawls.

 

I would also like to request more Joao, because he's hilarious and wonderful. (That whole bit with the Cooper/jogging thing was so funny. I really like the idea that Quidditch players balk at the thought of excessive running, haha.) And I'm wondering, is Hugo ace, or aro? Because that would be brilliant representation if he is.

 

Because I like Jesse so much right now, I'm beginning to get suspicious that he has something up his sleeve. It's just not possible for any character to be this kind without something going on.

 

This story is so sweet and cute and I love it.

 

~Eva



Author's Response:

Her feelings for Lysander are the elephant in the room but the room is the wizarding world. I have no excuses other than... the plot demanded this long, awkward road for them. Lily/Rose and Rose/Hugo banter is my favorite to write. I have a lot of it in other stories. Well, less with Hugo because he wasn't a super well developed person until I started this. 

Joao gets a lot of play later on. o.o You've read my big about Hugo later on but I'm really glad you like how I'm representing him. I didn't want to be too clunky about labeling him because it always seems kind of weird to me when people do that in fic. It might just be my age but those aren't really conversations people have at sporting events or with everyone they know, lol. 

Jesse does have some daarkness in his past/family but I don't think it'll come up too much in this. He's kind of like Teddy in Westworld. :D



Name: justawillowtree (Signed) · Date: 22 Jan 2018 10:13 PM · [Report This]
Story:Lightning Love Chapter: Full House of Fragile Hearts

Oh, how beautiful is that last line, omg -- "A smile full of melancholy passed over Molly’s face as she realized hers was a full house of fragile hearts."

 

Hugo's troubles must be so difficult to deal with on a daily basis. He's so brave for continuing to go to work, and try his best, and just be an overall kind person to the people badmouthing him. (They are so mean. I don't know how anyone can be so mean to someone as nice as Hugo.) Which is why I really appreciated his interactions with Joao, who seems to be genuinely interested in what Hugo does. (My shipper heart is getting a sense of something there.)

 

I just want to shake Lily and to tell her to take a risk, that it's better to try and fail instead of living your life in a more constricted way. I just want her and Lysander to get together, as kind as Jesse seems to be.

 

(Also, Puja's little joke was really funny. Not to mention, she's super astute. I've known a pair of twins for three years and I still can't tell them apart, but she meets Lysander for like two minutes and then is able to do that? Wow.)

 

~Eva



Author's Response:

I'm especially proud of that line. :D It was one of those lucid moments of writing where I had to type it out when I was at the start of the chapter so I wouldn't forget it and end the chapter with something less foreboding. 

Hugo is the real hero of this story. I hate what I've done to him and the situation he's in. Joao is definitely going to be a light in Hugo's life. I can't comment about what nature their relationship takes because I'm going through a debate on that now, lol. 

I knowwwwwwww, Lily is the worst in this. I've thought about shaking her a few times too. 

I kine of wanted Puja to have a bit of that Luna insight where it's their expressions that give it away (like Luna recognizing Harry with the polyjuice potion)



Name: justawillowtree (Signed) · Date: 22 Jan 2018 09:53 PM · [Report This]
Story:Lightning Love Chapter: Finger Lakes

I feel like Molly Weasley is the type of person who would just smother you with love until you were strangled with all the affection being thrown at you. So I was just really happy seeing her take care of these young adults in her home. Molly's the best. She deserves to be happy, and to recover fully from the war.

 

Ooh, so we have some romance plot thickening! Lily and Jesse, and Lysander and Puja. Right now I'm obviously rooting for Lily/Lysander, but I'm also interested to see how the other two couples work out. After all, Jesse sounds like a wonderful guy, and Puja sounds so charming. I appreciate that Lysander isn't the type of guy that would put his jealousy above Lily's personal feelings.

 

You also wrote their Exploding Snap interactions really well. I was thoroughly amused the whole time, even when they were going on about wizarding law. Lysander's sudden comment about plants was just adorable. <3

 

~Eva



Author's Response:

I really love writing Molly as a nurturing person, but with a little less intensity than we saw in the HP books. Part of Molly's melancholy is due to her grief after Arthur died. I... killed him. That's really what drove her to have young adults live with her. 

I'm not sure what shape the romances are at this point. A polygon of some sort? Definitely not a triangle. Puja is just a doll to write. She does get flaws and make some mistakes later (partly to keep her from being a Mary Sue and partly because I like drama). Jesse is a pretty outstanding guy. ^_^

Aw! I'm so glad that scene went well. It's one of those that I'll write and just let jesus take the wheel, hoping it's not nonesense, lol. 



Name: justawillowtree (Signed) · Date: 22 Jan 2018 09:38 PM · [Report This]
Story:Lightning Love Chapter: Lightning Love

Hi Rose! I'm reading and reviewing the FROGS nominations, so my reviews are going to be a little shorter today. (So many stories to get through, haha.) <3

 

After reading your wonderful "Love in Three Acts," I was pleasantly surprised at the complete change in tone that this piece has. It's really great to see that you're able to write both moods! This was really sweet, cute, and charming. A little heartwarming too, with Grandma Molly's wish for people to love. (I thought that was such a Molly thing to say.)

 

I'm super excited about Lily/Lysander, and the antics they may or may not get up to! It's been such a long time since I've read a fic featuring these two, so I'm very happy to see one in the FROGS finalists.

 

~Eva



Author's Response:

Eva!

Your short reviews are just as uplifting and exciting to get as your longer ones <3

I think Love in Three Acts is less common of a tone and pace than this story is. I've done a lot of dramtic but comedic romances like this and tend not to have all of them end as darkly as Love in Three Acts. 

I don't think Lysander/Lily get a lot of time in fic as a featured ship. I'm so excited (from Jan to now, lol) that you decided to read this story! It felt so lonely 



Submit a Review