Login

Name: starbuck (Signed) · Date: 17 Jun 2018 07:28 PM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:Recipe for Disaster Chapter: A Recipe for Disaster

i just had to read this after i read about fred in the afterlife!

 

and this made me laugh out loud. literally. my dad looked at me funny and i had to invent some lame excuse why i was suddenly laughing (luckily, i had a cat video open so i just used that :P )

 

merlin's clogged arteries! - i never read this one before but it's hilarious :D

 

i love how she first thought it was the twins - because who else would it be, really?!

 

and dumbles with teddy bear hairclips...i love it!

 

and ooooh, taffy! exploding cauldrons in the middle of the night - minnie, you are certainly justified!

 

i also think you managed to convey the house elves' dialogue really well (and minnie was absolutely believable - i think she's one of the hardest characters to write)

 

you are a great writer and you write humor so well. i don't know what else to say except fangirl so i'll just leave it at that :P

 

kris



Name: 800 words of heaven (Signed) · Date: 31 Mar 2018 01:42 AM · [Report This]
Story:Recipe for Disaster Chapter: A Recipe for Disaster

*Transferred from HPFF*

 

REVIEW TAG!

 

Oh, my goodness! I picked this one because it reminded me a little of that television show Madeline, where the poor teacher/nun would often have to get up in the middle of the night and sing that song in a very worried tone. This was so wonderful!

 

I really loved the way you showed McGonagall. It seemed like a very realistic reaction, being woken up in the middle of the night and assuming the Weasley twins were up to mischief, only to find the Headmaster and a sort-of deranged house-elf making a mess at three in the morning.

 

One thing that really caught my eye was the way you wrote the house elves' dialogue. I always have trouble getting a handle on their syntax, but I absolutely adored the way you did it! It was amazing!

 

I'll just say this one more time, in case you missed it, but this story really was amazing and funny! Well done!



Author's Response:

*Huge grin*

Wow, this tag game goes fast! Cool!

And I'm so glad you thought it was funny! It was a blast to write, and so different from the usual stuff I do. Not that I don't do humor, just different characters than I usually use. 

But I've decided I like writing McGonagall. She's been turning up a lot more in my stories lately. And I just couldn't resist that nod to the twins.

Writing house-elves is HARD. I'm glad you liked how I did it because it was really, really hard and I finally said, whatever, this will have to do.

Thanks so much for reading and reviewing! Great fun!



Name: manno-malfoy (Signed) · Date: 16 Dec 2017 06:03 AM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:Recipe for Disaster Chapter: A Recipe for Disaster

Hello there, I'm here for thw winter wonderland event.


I absolutely love that this event is making discover new authors. I wouldn't imagine that Minerva McGonagall is an easy character to write. But I think you made her justice. She is this strong, authoritative, seemingly composed woman, but I always like to imagine that she has a sassy side to her. And I like to think that it's not just a figment of my imagination because we have seen glimmers of it in Harry's perspective of her. I think you represented her perfectly I couldn't ask for more from someone writing about one of my first role models in life.


The legendary Minerva McGonagall aside, this was just spot on. I really do love that you tapped into Dumbledore's inquisitive side. And we know that he is diabolical, so it's very easy to accept that he'd get up to something like this. And encouraged on by no one but the enthusiastic Dobby. They really pop off the page as a natural duo.


Mcgonagall is just brilliant upon her discovery. The fact that she expects that it's Fred and George just go to show how much of a headache these two give her. Swearing on Merlin's clogged arteries appealed to the medical student in me and put the biggest smile on my face. It's a little sad that things like that amuse me, but hey. And her effort to keep her nerves gathered, because let's face it, who could ever contain Albus Dumbledore?


This was such an enjoyable read. I'm sat here beaming at the screen, so thank you for helping me start my day on such a good note.




Author's Response:

Ah, thank you!  I'm so glad you stopped by!

 

Writing McGonagall is tricky, but I do find myself loving it sometimes.  She's just such a different characters.  Strick, a bit prickly, but firmly on the good side and really cares about her students, plus I believe there's a soft heart buried in there.  And yes, just like you said, a sassy side as well. :)  So I'm glad you think I did her justice!

 

And now I'm blushing again with your compliments!  I'm so happy you enjoyed this, thought the plot worked, liked the team of Dumbles and Dobby, and that it made you smile.  It was a ton of fun to write, and I do hope people who read it get some of that enjoyment.

 

Hehehehe.  You're the first to comment on the clogged arteries.  So happy someone liked that little sentence!

 

Thanks again for stopping by!  This was such fun to get.



Name: AbraxanUnicorn (Signed) · Date: 26 Jun 2017 08:08 PM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:Recipe for Disaster Chapter: A Recipe for Disaster

 

Awww! Being woken up by house elves is such a cute start to the story, even if it was at three o’clock in the morning. Obviously, it isn’t that nice for Professor McGonagall to experience such an early morning alarm call, and I expect the elves weren’t really appreciating having to get her up either, but they did sound as though they were at their wits’ end. I love the voices of the elves in this, with their unconventional use of grammar, so typical of their canon portrayal. I could potentially gush quite a bit about the cuteness of house elves, but I’ll spare you the overload!

I wondered who was destroying the kitchen. It did sound like something that Fred and George Weasley might be involved in, but then again, as destructive as they were, I imagined them to have some consideration for others and making a mess of Hogwarts’ kitchen doesn’t sound entirely typical. However, McGonagall seemed convinced as to who the perpetrators would be, as she marched forth, woman on a mission, and I feel quite sorry for the Weasley twins ending up on the receiving end of her wrath. I can’t imagine Molly Weasley taking parenting tips off McGonagall, though; the only person Fred and George actually seem to truly respect (and fear?) is their mother, after all.

Umm, I wasn’t expecting Dumbledore and Dobby to be the culprits! That was a complete turn-up for the books. How strange! I wondered what on earth they were doing at silly o’clock in the school kitchen. Are they both heavily drunk?

Hold on a moment – they’re making taffy? That’s an odd choice of muggle sweet for someone in the UK to be making (much less at three in the morning), from a recipe they found in a London library. It’s possible, I suppose. Oh, whoops! That cauldron explosion was unfortunately timed. Poor McGonagall.

OMG Hahahahaha!! Dumbledore offering McGonagall a piece of strawberry-flavoured taffy from his own hair? That’s bizarre … but absolutely hilarious. I cannot blame McGonagall one iota from owling in sick the next morning!

This was brilliantly funny! Thank you so much for the read!

Brax X



Author's Response:

Hi there!  Thanks so much for this wonderful review!  Know I'm awful late responding, but trying to catch up.

 

So, it might be a cute start to a story, but I doubt very much McGonagall was thinking it was cute, LOL.  And yes, the elves are very distressed.  hehehe.  But then again, when AREN'T elves very distressed?  It seems to be a rather usual state for them.  I'm so happy you feel I did justice to their voices and speech pattern though!  That makes me so happy!  And I love the gushing!

 

I think Fred and George would have thought twice about destroying the kitchens simply for the fact that food is very important to them - they don't want to get banned from their on the side source of treats.  hehehe.  And yes, so true.  The twins only seem a little worried about their mum's wrath, and then, not even much.  

 

Yep.  Unexpected culprits!  hehehe  I had fun with that.  And can totally see why you might think them drunk, but no.  they are just having fun.

 

And hmmm.  I didn't think about it not being a UK treat.  I was just thinking of something sweet and sticky and very, very messy.  Oops.  

 

Thanks so much for reading!  I know it was a bit crazy and out there, but I had fun writing it and hope you had fun reading it!

 

 



Name: Pixileanin (Signed) · Date: 26 Jun 2017 07:30 AM · [Report This]
Story:Recipe for Disaster Chapter: A Recipe for Disaster

I can so feel this story, from both a teacher's perspective and a mom's.  Three AM is a horrible time to deal with anything, especially if it involves thinking about stuff, and doing stuff... and you know, being awake.  LOL!

 

Oh no!  It's Dumbledore??  Hahaha!  I don't think I would have the words either, not at the given time.  I expect that poor, poor Minerva has blown a few vessels in that moment of discovery.  A warm shower or bath might be in order, but not THAT sort of shower.  The complete obliviousness of Dumbledore is written perfectly! 

 

Boy, you sure know how to pull a surprise. I don't know what the challenge was that you wrote this for, but you caught me completely and utterly off guard in this.  I would never have expected what you did here.  And it was HILARIOUS!!  Great job, perfect comedic timing.  And of course, as usual, the great warmth of people-ness is prevalent here, as in all of your fics.  Even though it's not the ideal situation, I still get a warm-fuzzy after read ing this.  You are a star at capturing slices of humanity.

 

And yeah, I'd have called in sick the next morning as well.  She had a perfectly logical reason.  I hope she at least got a taste of the taffy before cleaning herself off.  It might have been the tiny bit of a silver lining in the whole experience.  Strawberry taffy sounds absolutely delicious!

 

Loved this so much!

 

 

Pix



Author's Response:

Pix!  Can I just say upfront that I love your reviews.  ALWAYS.  No one reviews like you do, and I adore them. :)

 

And yes, three AM is a time when thinking and doing and awaking should be outlawed!  By decree!  

 

I suppose Minnie will find the words later to give Dumbles, huh.  And hopefully she can get those vessels treated quickly, because you are probably right.  And yes, a warm bath, to remove the sticky and calm the grumpy.  

 

And now to the blushing.  THANK YOU so much for such words and praise and...just...  You are so good at crafting words and stories, it makes me blush to know you like mine.  And that I give you warm-fuzzies.

 

And thanks, because now I have the image of Professor McGonagall licking her robe off before cleaning up that won't go away. :P



Name: Vilja (Signed) · Date: 15 Jun 2017 08:27 PM · [Report This]
Story:Recipe for Disaster Chapter: A Recipe for Disaster

Hi :) I thought I’d leave you a review after reading this ;) It was a great story, thank you for posting it! And I especially appreciate that you posted a challenge story even after missing the deadline, I think that’s really admirable!


Mistress McGonagall!” oh these must be house-elves . and yes they are! :) She’s been woken up at three am, well being a teacher as a hard profession. I can so well sympathise with her, not that I’m a teacher, but I have a kid at home, and “a complete night of uninterrupted sleep” is indeed something one can only appreciate when it’s gone.


I like that you make the elves speak with little mistakes like “they is” and “we is”, I haven’t noticed it in other texts (but maybe I wasn’t paying attention), but I like it here.


When McGonagall was planning to tell of Fred and George, I was wondering why she thought of them precisely (of course they are mischievous, but still) and I was so happy to see that indeed it was not them who were disturbing the kitchen.


“Insanity of the scene” is a good description of what you have here :) I was even thinking that this might not happen for real, but be only McGonagall’s dream. But by the time I reached the part about the Muggle book, I was more like, yes, Dumbledore would actually act like this.



Author's Response:

Hehehehe.  Your praise makes me giggle, given it was like a YEAR after the challenge that I finally got this up.  And it's so short!  I really had no excuse - just lazy.

Being a teacher IS hard.  Somedays, when I get to go home after the day finishes, I thank all my lucky stars that I do NOT teach at a boarding school.  Having to be with the kids ALL DAY AND ALL NIGHT - I might go nuts.  Well, more nuts.

Oh, I'm so glad you enjoyed the elves speech.  THat's hard to write!  I always worry I won't get it correctly.  

I just figured that McGonagall automatically thought of the the twins because as their head of house, she's the one people would go to first when the boys get in trouble, and I also imagine they get in trouble a whole lot.

Thanks again!  So glad you enjoyed this!



Name: Alexis Black (Signed) · Date: 12 Jun 2017 08:33 PM · [Report This]
Story:Recipe for Disaster Chapter: A Recipe for Disaster

*transferred review*

Oh Merlin! The way you started with Minerva being convinced the trouble brewing kitchens had to involve Fred and George, all I could think of was when my son attempted to make pancakes and nearly blew up the place. But for it to be Dumbledore?

 

*dies laughing*

 

And of course leave it to the Headmaster to attempt to make something sweet. I do have to wonder, though, when it exploded whether McGonagall was hurt. Taffy typically is heated upwards of 275 degrees. Not that I think Minerva would have noticed at that point. I love how you pointed out she hadn’t had a decent night’s sleep in ages.

 

The dialogue well done, too. I could readily hear Richard Harris speaking Dumbledore’s words – a solid indication you nailed the way the Headmaster speaks.

 

The other thing that really stood out to me is the details you slipped in. The color of Dumbledore’s nightshirt and the teddy bear hairclips. How both he and Debby had donned aprons. You painted the perfect picture.

 

The only thing I would have liked to see is McGonagall mentally compare the difficulties of dealing with the Weasley twins in her House versus the struggles she had with the Marauders. Fred and George might be formidable, but there were four Marauders and one of them was a werewolf. I think it would have been natural for Minerva to compare these set of boys.

 

Overall this was a wonderfully and unexpectedly sweet tale!

 



Author's Response:

That sounds like a very interesting story. Pancakes and explosives don't usually go together.

And oh, don't die. I'm not very good at bring people back from the dead. Though I AM very happy it made you laugh so much.

Yeah, I know taffy gets REALLY hot. I just kinda ignored that fact in this story because it took away from the humor to go explaining how hot it was and how she took measures to protect herself. I just finally went - whatever. That's bad, huh. LOL.

Oooh, thank you! It's always such a compliment to know you get Dumbledore right!

Poor McGonagall really has had to deal with all the mischief makers, hasn't she. No wonder she needs a long nap!

Thanks so much for the review! 



Name: Stella Blue (Signed) · Date: 15 May 2017 05:37 AM · [Report This]
Story:Recipe for Disaster Chapter: A Recipe for Disaster

*Transferred from HPFF*

 

Hahahaha! Oh this was great!! You write McGonagall so well and this was no exception. I was so sure in the beginning it was going to be the Weasley twins wreaking havoc in the kitchen (which would have been pretty fantastic, given how excellently you write the twins!) but then DUMBLEDORE. IN AN APRON. And Dobby too, with a matching one! So great. I actually had no trouble visualising that in my head because it didn't seem that unrealistic for those two, haha. They're both very weird characters and a midnight taffy-making experiment really seemed like something they might do.

Dumbledore nonchalantly tasting the taffy after it exploded... of course. McGonagall counting backward in Latin. The other house elves sensing that this is all a bad idea the whole time. The characters are PERFECT in here and this was a really enjoyable read!!



Author's Response:

Hehehe, so you read it, huh? After my mix-up from the PM. LOL.

Glad you liked it! I am trying to learn to write McGonagall (we'll see if that still holds after people read the next chapter of Ashes). She was fun to write here, though. It was a little too much fun to write her grumpy.

I knew people would assume I was writing the twins - why I put that line in there. And it WOULD have been fun to write them in such a situation, but I just knew it had to be Dumbledore and Dobby. 

Yes, Dumbledore in an apron - I think once Minerva calmed down she wished she'd had a camera. hehehehe. And sh, don't tell them they're weird - they'll get a complex and need therapy. 

Thanks so much for such a fun review for the swap! Yours is coming today, I promise.

You are awesome!



Name: Dojh167 (Signed) · Date: 07 May 2017 06:16 PM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:Recipe for Disaster Chapter: A Recipe for Disaster

Transferred from HPFF

 

Hufflepuff CtF Review

Haha, this reminds me of ProfessorMinnie’s story I read the other night where Dumbledore couldn’t sleep and Minerva helped him =P In my brain these stories are happening in the same universe.

I love Minerva, and I really appreciate it when people focus on simple little moments like this with her. There is so much interesting that can be done with her character, but because she is such an intense character, I most enjoy it when we see the simple quiet moments in her life like this.

Something seemed odd to me about the elf saying that they were coming to Minerva because “we can’t stand it any more.” It doesn’t seem like a house elf to disturb their master because something is inconveniencing the elf personally, but rather because the matter would disturb the master. I think that applies in this case. I know this is nitpicky, it’s just a little thing that stuck out at me.

You can tell Minerva is angry - she’s tying her dressing gown *savagely* XD

Ohh, the troublemakers here are Fred and George. That makes sense - at first I assumed it was the trio, because your banner reminded me of her “Why is it when something happens, it’s always you three?” line. But Fred and George make more sense for something lighthearted for this.

Wait no, it’s Dumbledore! Bahahahaha! That makes the elf’s line from earlier make more sense, well done!

o.m.g. This is so perfectly Dumbledore I can’t stand it.

I’m not sure if Dumbledore is enabling Dobby or the other way around. ;) Either way, both of them are perfectly adorable.

Haha, I give Minerva props for even trying to tell Albus off, but yup - it’s clear soon enough that would do no good.

Haha Dumbledore, what a hoot.

Good on you, Minerva. Take tomorrow off so hard. I hope she can actually relax and not spend the whole day washing strawberry taffy off herself.

This was such a fun delight of a story!

Sam.



Author's Response:

 I haven't read that story. Sounds like maybe I should!

I love McGonagall as well. She's one of my favorite characters and she gets used so little. I love having the chance to show a slightly different side of her. 

hehehe. I'm glad you liked the "savage" tying - I did that on purpose, and it apparently worked!

Fred and George - also loved that so many people take the bait of my red herring. I love the twins, and people know this, so I assumed most people would think I was writing about Fred and George anyway. I figured I might as well go with it and throw people off for a few seconds at least. 

And I'm glad you thought the elf's words from earlier make more sense now you know who it is.

Writing Dumbledore exercising his more lighthearted, fun side was so enjoyable. And throwing Dobby in there - I just couldn't resist!

Minerva certainly deserves her day off. she puts up with a lot.

Thanks so much for this fun review!



Name: cambangst (Signed) · Date: 03 May 2017 02:34 PM · [Report This]
Story:Recipe for Disaster Chapter: A Recipe for Disaster

Hi, farmgirl! Transferring some reviews from the old place to the new place...

The premise of this is nothing short of hilarious. Poor McGonagall! If she's not struggling to manage her unruly, mischievous students, she's struggling to manage her adventurous, sweet-toothed boss. I loved the panic that the elves brought to the start of the story and I loved the way that you very gradually built up Minerva's head of steam. For a short piece, the pacing of this was brilliant. You did such a good job of interspersing her thoughts, letting her anger grow and focus. Excellent work.

And the visual of Dumbledore and Dobby cooking taffy was off the hook. I can see it all so easily, the twinkle of barely restrained glee in Dumbledore's eyes and the earnest joy on Dobby's face as he helps with something that he doesn't understand in the slightest. One of the talented illustrators of the Potter fandom should seriously take this up.

Awesome, awesome job! This brightened my day!



Author's Response:

Writing this was really fun, even though my muse got derailed in the middle and it took me a year to get back to it. I love when I can write Dumbledore being quirky and a bit silly instead of all serious as he got toward the end. And Dobby is always a hoot. 

I've developed a real fondness for McGonagall and it was so much fun to push her to the limit of her patience here. LOL. She really is the only responsible adult around sometimes, isn't she. 

That would be amazing to see a picture of this! I'd draw it myself but it would look like a pile of sticks... But I am so very glad you liked the picture I tried to paint in the story.

Thanks for a review that brightened my day! As always, you are the best.

- Farmgirl



Name: nott theodore (Signed) · Date: 01 May 2017 01:33 PM · [Report This]
Story:Recipe for Disaster Chapter: A Recipe for Disaster

Jill! It's been far too long since I actually reviewed any of your work, but I know you've been uploading stories on the archives and - as always - being far too self-deprecating about your work, which means you definitely deserve some love in review form!

 

I know that I've commented on this before when I've read some of your other stories, but I love your characterisation of Professor McGonagall. To me she always seems like such an intimidating character to write, but I really like the way you portray her in your stories - even in this story, in which she's placed in a somewhat surreal situation. I really like the fact that you manage to show the stricter and more relaxed sides of her personality, and the fact that she's so dedicated to her work as well.

 

The opening of this story was fantastic - the way that she was woken up so urgently by the house elf made me worry about what was happening. My first thoughts were that someone was in trouble, or it was something to do with the Death Eaters, but no - it's just your average troublemakers meaning that poor Minerva gets woken up at three in the morning to sort out the problem.

 

Or at least, so I thought.

 

You also did a great job of depicting the house elf who came to wake Minerva up - I always think it's so hard to capture their speech because it's easy to oversimplify it, but you got the syntax just right and it felt like the speech JKR would write for one of her house elves.

 

And then, oh my goodness, Minerva arrives in the kitchens and expects to see Fred and George Weasley there, causing havoc (and really, who can blame her? She's had to deal with their shenanigans often enough in the time they've been at Hogwarts) but it's actually Albus and Dobby!

 

I laughed so much reading this, and you captured the whole humour of the situation brilliantly. It felt really surreal to see Dumbledore and Dobby there cooking up a storm (almost literally) in the Hogwarts kitchens, and I don't blame Minerva for being completely nonplussed. But the description that you included - like Dumbledore's periwinkle nightgown - really helped bring it to life.  It was hilarious that he was there so happy and oblivious to the mess that he was making, just excited to make some Muggle sweets in the middle of the night. The best part is that I can actually imagine Albus Dumbledore doing this and thinking nothing of it, and I just couldn't help laughing throughout that scene.

 

I really don't blame Minerva for deciding to take the day off work sick tomorrow, either :P

 

Sian :)



Author's Response:

It's been far too long that I've left this review sitting here without responding to it!  And I'm so so so so sorry!  And this just made me smile so much.  You are so kind to me!

 

Now I'm blushing, bright red.  I know I'm no expert on Professor McG, but I do find I love writing her.  She's so stern on the outside and warm and fuzzy on the inside.  So thank you!

 

LOL.  I didn't mean to give you THAT much anxiety at the beginning of the story over what was happening.  Remember, house elves always over-react to things.  hehehe.  And yes, "average" trouble makers...it happens in a bording school.  

 

It IS hard to write house-elve speech!  Ugh!  So hard!  So, thank you very much!

 

For once, I decided it wouldn't be my beloved twins causing the trouble.  It was just too much fun to make it be someone else.  And to make it be Albus and Dobby!

 

I'm so happy you liked it, and that it made you laugh, and you could actually see it happening!  Thank you so much for such a wonderful review, and for being such a good friend and tryint to cheer me up. :)

 



Submit a Review