Login
Reviews For Blush

Name: Felpata_Lupin (Signed) · Date: 15 Apr 2018 02:05 PM · starstarstarhalf-star [Report This]
Story:Blush Chapter: Chapter 4

Oh, I was really hoping they would talk for real, but clearly that would make the story finish too soon, I guess... :P Still, this is kind of frustrating... but they had a civil interaction and I suppose that's a start...

I really, really love the concept of the Wotters being this big team and so faithful to each other and having this sort of unwritten code. The way Louis always talks so fondly of his family and how she finds it cute... It really is cute, families are great, right?

I also think it's super adorable how Louis can't really think of anything that he doesn't like about Lettie. It's like every flaw he might find in her makes him like her even more. He really is crazy over her. :P

And I really don't like that she accepted this invitation to Hogsmeade, but that Hufflepuff guy seems really nice (well, he is a Hufflepuff, he is nice by default... sorry, house pride...) I wonder what will come out of it, though? I also wonder how Team Cupid is going to perform... I kind of feel it will go quite poorly...

Ahahah! Bet everyone would think she was a little bit crazy. I loved the conversation with Scorpius at the end.

It was fun reading this story so far, not your best writing but it's nice to read something lighter from time to time. :)

Lots of love, my dear!

Chiara



Name: Felpata_Lupin (Signed) · Date: 15 Apr 2018 01:31 PM · starstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:Blush Chapter: Chapter 3

Here again.

One thing I hadn't said before, it's nice to get the glimpses of previous years' events, it helps understanding the relationships better.

I think it was also nice to get some other POVs in this chapter. I found interesting to see Cash's thoughts and how she doesn't truly blame Louis, but she's trying to give Lettie the time to figure out things on her own. And protecting her, too, because that's what friends do.

Louis losing control of his powers when he's near her because he's in love with her... that makes so much sense, and it's sort of sweet, too. He should just tell her, instead of being a git, though. But I guess it's complex and confusing for him, too... poor, silly boy...

Ahahah! Make peace with my cousin or we lose at Quidditch! Way to go, James! :P I love how Gryffindor Quidditch Captains of all generations can only care about Quidditch... that's too funny, I love it! :P And I love how embarrassed he got when she lost her cools... that's one other thing I love, James not being able to deal with emotional girls... :P

Technically, this is the last review I owe you for the challenge, but I'm curious about that confrontation, so I'm going to read the last chapter as well...

See you in a moment.

Love,

Chiara



Name: Felpata_Lupin (Signed) · Date: 15 Apr 2018 12:29 PM · starstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:Blush Chapter: Chapter 2

Okay, so Louis likes her, which is not at all surprising. And of course the dynamics here are getting complex and I'm honestly not sure if I approve of Scorpius' behaviour here? Like, you don't go and kiss a drunk girl and then pull back because she "belongs" to your friend? Maybe I'm being a bit severe, they are teenagers after all, still...

I'm also a bit sad about Mia and Ryan, but I suppose it's all solvable in the end. And, well, it makes sense that Violet would forgive the boys who didn't know (because, really, what had they ever done wrong?) but not the other two. Even if I really think that sometimes talking about things instead of holding grudges and avoiding confrontations is much more functional... but then, again, people make poor decisions all the time. I loved the "kidnapping" scene at the beginning, though.

One thing I really appreciate about this is how it focuses more on friendship. I mean, there is teenaged love and drama, too, but the friendship dynamics are what really drive the story and I like that.

Moving on to the next chapter now.



Name: Felpata_Lupin (Signed) · Date: 15 Apr 2018 11:48 AM · starstarstarhalf-star [Report This]
Story:Blush Chapter: Chapter 1

Hey, I'm back again!

Oh, this is interesting... I do wonder why (and if) Louis had been using his Veela powers on Lettie... At first I was like Girl, you don't go shouting to boys you love them if you have no feelings for them, why would you? but then Dominique explained it and I was like Oh... I had totally forgotten about the Veela thing...

I'm enjoying your cast so far. Lettie seems like a nice girl and I like the trio you've built, with Mia being the sweet and supportive one and Cash the more brutal and I-will-punch-in-the-face-whoever-hurt-my-friends one. A bit cliched, maybe, but it's a structure that always works.

And I like the group of boys, too. Also, Scorp in Gryffindor? I'm not complaining, I like the idea. Not so usual, but that's okay. :)

I'll move to the next chapter now, so I can see what's really going on.

Nice job so far.

Love,

Chiara



Name: MegGonagall (Signed) · Date: 07 Sep 2017 03:09 AM · starstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:Blush Chapter: Chapter 1

Hello dear! Here for our swap. :) 

 

Im really digging this so far. The summary caught my eye when I was scanning your AP. I loved this idea of Louis using his Veela powers on some girl without her even knowing. The premise sounded hilarious and I just had to read it. 

 

I'm glad I did decide to stop here. This opening chapter was really funny. There were a few different times that I literally did laugh out loud. Cash is my kind of girl, and she was the one that made me laugh the most. I love dry, sarcastic, bitter people! XD She sounds like she belongs more in Slytherin. ;) 

 

I can't even imagine how embarrassing it would have been to just blurt out that you love someone in front of everyone like poor Lettie did. The girl thought she was truly going mental, which is completely understandable. Anyone would in that situation. I'm glad Dom finally figured out what was going on and told her though. I would be so angry if I were in Lettie's position. Totally uncool for Louis to do that to her. 

 

I really felt bad for Dom when she was begging the girls not to say anything. When she said that she wanted people to like her for her. It had to be hard enough being a part of the whole Weasley clan, nevermind then if people knew about Veela powers, too. I get why she wouldn't want anyone to know. But I feel like eventually people will know. :( 

 

Interesting that Al and Scorp are Gryffindor. My poor Slytherin heart, seeing my babies in red and gold. :p And by the way, Lettie may ship their friendship, but I ship so much more when it comes to my precious little cinnamon buns. Will we be seeing much more of them? *crosses fingers* 

 

I can't wait to hear what this excuse is that Louis is going to use. To explain why he's Veela charming the pants off this girl. I mean, if he just liked her, he should have said something. No need to be sneaky. No matter what his reasoning is, I'm sure it's going to take a lot for Lettie to forgive him, if she does. And oh my goodness, Cash punched him?! Ok, she's a spit fire, I take back what I said about Slytherin. ;) 

 

I truly enjoyed this. So much so that I'm going right to the next chapter. I'm dying to see what happens next! 

 

Thanks for the swap, love! I'm glad I had the chance to read this!! 

 

Hugs and love, 

Meg 



Name: WindingArrow (Signed) · Date: 25 Aug 2017 06:20 PM · starstarstarstarhalf-star [Report This]
Story:Blush Chapter: Chapter 4

HELLO OMG BEST PENPAL EVER!!! It is I, Liz, here with your sign-up review for my challenge! Come to spread some love on my favorite WIP!

 

I've already told you I adore this story. The growing arc is adorable and so full of tension and I love the little scenes and flashbacks filtered in here and there. Lettie is a bit of a wild card. Usually, you can get to know a character fairly easily in first person within the first chapter, but there are so many sides to her that I feel like I haven't discovered them all yet. At first, she seemed meek and easily embarrassed, but she's got this fierce side and a rather creative talent and a HUGE heart. Like. I don't think I would have forgiven Louis so easily.

 

I LOVE that this is about LOUIS! I've told you I had my own Louis story in the works that strangely is a bit similar to this, but there really should be more fics with him. I do feel bad for him, though. How are you supposed to explain those sorts of powers? And when you don't have control but you want your friend back, how are you supposed to not lie through your teeth and say that you'll stop? And when you like said friend, how are you not supposed to exploit such power control slip ups just to see her fawn over you?

 

Although, he is a bit of a jerk, laughing it up with his friends and acting all high and mighty like his sh*t don't stink. That was pretty crummy of him.

 

Not gonna lie, I would have loved to see more develop between Lettie and Scorp romantically if only to give Louis something to light a fire under his arse. But let's see how Hogsmeade goes with the Hufflepuff? Should be pretty interesting...

 

-Liz

 

PS- I love that last bit with Lettie and Scorp. <3



Name: AbraxanUnicorn (Signed) · Date: 17 May 2017 01:39 AM · starstarstarstarhalf-star [Report This]
Story:Blush Chapter: Chapter 1

Hello, lovely! As I've not checked out this story yet, I thought I'd have a read and leave this little review as a "welcome home" present. I hope you had a fab trip!

 

This is such a fun, cute starting chapter! I can fully sympathise with the protagonist, Violet, on the ground-openingly embarrassing front as I go there far too regularly myself. I confess; I had to look up who/what Kirley Duke was. I thought I was being old and horribly out of touch with reality, and perhaps it was some kind of shout-out to a clothing item (err, sorry, that's daisy dukes, isn't it? See what I mean about the embarrassment thing?). Anyway, I was most relieved to find out that he's a drummer with the Weird Sisters. Three sentences in to this story and I've already learned something new. Awesome!

The other thing that makes me so excited about this story, is that it's about Louis Weasley! I'm so pleased; compared to Potter and Potter, he doesn't get nearly so much air time.

However, imagine my horror when I came across the paragraph pertaining to how mean the Ravenclaws are, and how it was intoned that the balance has shifted from the slithery snakes to the evil eagles (tries not to be affronted, ahem). I'm going to look past that part. It's Violet's subjective opinion, after all *whistles* ;)

Heh! I love the line from Witch Weekly that reads "did you know that James Potter went to buy milk last Thursday". Lol. TBH, I feel so sorry for famous people having every aspect of their lives on show, including the rough "tracksuit bottoms and can of special brew" moments.

Ooh, Dominique and the Veela revelation! That was a nasty moment. I'm trying to figure out what's going on there; is Dom telling the truth, or is there some ulterior motive that will come to light later on? Is Dom acting in the true nature of a neo-Claw and there's an underlying sneaky reason for her to put Violet off her brother? Hmmmm. I wonder...I did giggle at the thought of Violet having a go at Louis whilst not looking him in the eye, though!

This was a really fun read! I'll be back soon for more :)

Brax X

 



Name: nott theodore (Signed) · Date: 13 May 2017 10:39 AM · [Report This]
Story:Blush Chapter: Chapter 2

Abbi!  I hope you don't mind me jumping in and reviewing chapter 2 before I've transferred my review over for chapter 1, but I wanted to get back to this story <3

 

I really enjoyed the flashback in the first section of this chapter.  I know we heard about the way that Louis used his powers on Lettie in the first chapter, and how many times she'd embarrassed herself over it, but it was great to actually get to see an example of what had happened and one of the many reasons that Lettie is mad with Louis for using his powers on her.  I'm on her side even more now :P  I mean, she actually got injured because he was using his powers on her to distract her from potion making.  Not cool, Louis.

 

(A side note, but when Louis used the nickname Drax that he'd just made up for her, I couldn't help thinking of Drax from Guardians of the Galaxy and it gave me a very different image in my head haha :P)

 

I don't blame Lettie for having been avoiding the boys as well as Louis, because to be fair, if they knew that Louis was using his powers on her and just let him do it and didn't bother doing anything to stop it, it's really mean and unfair of them.  But I like the fact that Lettie felt conflicted about ignoring them - that she was mad at them, but she missed spending time with them too.  It's only a little detail but it gives a good insight into the background of their friendship.

 

I'm glad that Scorpius and Tommy didn't know about it, either!  That makes me happier - at least Lettie has some male friends who aren't idiots!

 

I think I'd have liked a bit more about how Mia and Ryan broke up - but at the same time, sometimes friends know when it's not the right time to talk about it and I think that was the case here.  Even if the distraction isn't necessarily the greatest idea they've ever had :P 

 

I loved the comment about Lettie thinking her friends are probably her soulmates.  I feel like fics sometimes place so much stress on a romantic relationship that they forget how important friendships can be, and they're probably some of the most important relationships we'll ever have in our lives.

 

Ooh, the ending was interesting!  I have so many questions!  Scorpius obviously likes Lettie, but he feels like Louis has a prior claim (which I have slight issues with in a feminist sense, but we'll roll with it for now :P).  Does that mean that Louis actually really likes Lettie?  He's not just been using his powers so that she embarrasses herself, but maybe because he doesn't trust in himself to be enough for her normally?  Hmm, it's very intriguing and I'm going to have to read on soon and find out more!

 

Sian :)



Submit a Review