Login
Reviews For Fortuitous

Name: Rumpelstiltskin (Signed) · Date: 28 Jun 2018 08:03 PM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:Fortuitous Chapter: Chapter 6.

HEY!

 

OH NO! Severus, no no no no -- no. He turned her down?! How could he? D: OUCH MY SHIP FEELS MEG MAKE IT STOP. Ugh, that was such a tough conversation -- poor Hermione. That must be both humiliating and hear-breaking. She's such a stubborn pain in the ass, I swear. I mean, you can't help but love him; it's just that he can be so frustrating -- like right now. God, if Hogwarts had a House where all the stubborn people went, they would have elected him King of the House. 

 

Exactly! He did all these sweet things to get close to her and obviously was starting to like her and as soon as she brings her feelings to the table he was like -- NOPE I'M OUT! Like she was beautiful, yet painful to watch for a prolonged period of time. This is so perfectly sweet that it adds to the frustration. Like, he's watching her! Someone just needs to slap some sense into that man... *deep breath* Okay. I'm cool. 

 

I can see how it would be strange to have someone like McGonagall, your former Professor at that, to sit you down for a chat. I'd be feeling very much like I'd done something wrong and just as nervous as Hermione. It must be such a strange concept to try to get used to. It's really sweet that she noticed that Hermione's not quite as well as she had been and that she's worried about her.

 

But it's downright hilarious that she knows its something to do with Severus and she asks Hermione to be patient with him, ahaha! Way to add to her humiliation :P. AND SEVERUS IS THERE TO TALK TO HER TO, RIGHT AFTER HERMIONE! I LOVE THIS. Minerva should start her own matchmaking business called MINNIE'S LOVE EMPORIUM. 

 

Anyway, I'm still frustrated by these two but I love, love, love it! <3

 

-Rumpels



Name: Rumpelstiltskin (Signed) · Date: 28 Jun 2018 07:10 PM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:Fortuitous Chapter: Chapter 5.

Hey Meg! <3 

 

Ugh, it's super frustrating watching these two avoid each other. They're both so stubborn -- I just want to shake them sometimes. It's super adorable that she tries her best to ignore him but she can't help but notice him -- like he's a presence that is constantly drawing her attention whenever he's around. Sounds like lurve to me. :D (But knowing these two, they're going to out-stubborn each other until the end of time.)

 

Yeah, for someone as intelligent as Hermione, I can see how having someone meet their wit and carry a conversation would be something that she would look for (and is another reason I'm not huge into Ronmione -- not that I mind it... it's just... not as 'perfect' as other ships involving Hermione). 

 

Ooops! She was caught in his classroom. Well -- THIS was certainly a change in tide! Not that I mind -- heeey! ;) Oh, no! Oh, wait, of course it was a dream! Ahahaha! Meg, you're an awful tease -- I hope you know that. 

 

Also, Severus's rolling of the eyes and glancing away was so perfectly & stubbornly childish and so amazing. Like -- oh come on, Severus! She was merely acknowledging your presence. You know, maybe if she told him what she was dreaming about in the potion's classroom he wouldn't be rolling his eyes so much, hahaha! I'm sure he would look quite charming with a blush to match Hermione's after that. :P

 

Ugh, he fights it because he's as stubborn as a bull and is afraid that you'll reject him Hermione -- duh! You've just gotta go lay one on him and... well... maybe be a little more subtle than that. There's no need to frighten him away. And yeah, EXACTLY! He's still so hung up over having his heart broken so many years ago that he probably doesn't want to ever, ever, ever do that again, and I can't blame him for that. 

 

YOU GO GET HIM, HERMIONE! *fanfare*

 

OH MY GOSH! IS SHE GOING TO TELL HIM? WHAT'S GOING TO HAPPEN NEXT!? HOW COULD YOU LEAVE ME WITH A CLIFFHANGER? (Okay, okay, so there's another chapter :P I'm on it).

 

-Rumpels



Name: trashyreader (Signed) · Date: 14 May 2018 01:32 AM · [Report This]
Story:Fortuitous Chapter: Chapter 8.

Finally!



Name: Rumpelstiltskin (Signed) · Date: 19 Dec 2017 01:48 PM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:Fortuitous Chapter: Chapter 5.
Morning, Meg!


Not such a good morning for Hermione, I see. Of course Hermione's feelings haven't gone away--he's Severus Snape! I can definitely see Hermione being attracted to him for his intelligence and his method of doing things, that makes sense. Are we heading to see Severus? Oh no, well classroom nostalgia is just as well. Oops, she's been caught--well, maybe he'll give her another sleep aid, at least. It's the least he can do after being such a jerkface the other month. Oh--or that. That's also acceptable. You know, I'm kind of digging this Hermione like her hair being pulled thing, it's quite fun! Oh my god, Meg, stop teasing me! That was (hot) very mean of you to trick me with a dream! Yeah, after a dream like that, I'd feel a little awkward, too! Aha, and Hagrid calls her out. That's great. A nice cold walk might be able to clear her head a little bit. Oh the Thestrals--and there are baby Thestrals, too! How positively adorable, and will hereby be referred to as lizard peaches. Hooray! She's going to talk to him. Hopefully it will work out better than their last conversation.



Eeee!


-Rumpels


Name: Rumpelstiltskin (Signed) · Date: 19 Dec 2017 06:39 AM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:Fortuitous Chapter: Chapter 4.

One more before I fall asleep!

 

Oh she loved that kiss because she's falling in love with Severus and neither of them will recognize it! How frustrating! I can totally relate to Hermione with that coffee. Coffee is essential for the functioning thing. Aw, poor Hermione is stressing herself out way too much. It's nice that Neville noticed and is concerned about her--he's a good friend. Oh my goodness--Neville is awesome! He totally called Hermione out for being in love with Severus! That's amazing. Go, Neville! All of Severus' questions tend to sound like not-questions. Holy smokes, he overheard everything? And he's calling it a ridiculous school girl crush? No! Absolutely not. Those are my feels, Meg! And my ship, you are SINKING my ship! This was not the correct chapter to read before bed. I know he's doing it because he thinks he's helping her, and that it will be better for her, but he obviously needs to be shown the Snamione light. Well, I hope Hermione figures out how to woo Severus, as he's clearly in need of some wooing!

 

Fabulous job!

 

-Rumpels



Name: Rumpelstiltskin (Signed) · Date: 19 Dec 2017 06:26 AM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:Fortuitous Chapter: Chapter 3.

So many Snamione weddings to plan, so little time.

 

Oh my goodness! Hermione's parents dying is so sad! Especially since magical authorities believe that they were possibly murdered by Voldemort sympathizers. Molly's amazing, and I can totally see how Christmas would be such a difficult time for Hermione now. I freaking love that Hermione knows the swish of Severus' robes and his footstep patterns without having to see him. They're going to be so in love that they won't even be able to handle it. Oh my goodness, I, too, thought that they were under attack, but no, it's mistletoe. Heck yes, it's mistletoe! That means kisses! Oh goodness, he's acting like a little smooch is going to kill him twice over! This is hilarious. And Severus is being such a jerkface (because he's clearly covering some underlying feelings of love that he can't reveal in case he's rejected). Go, Hermione, go! Oh, heck, hair-pulling. I'm listening. Oh, hehe, he was just trying to pull her away. Oh, come on! That has to happen many more times! That was hot!  Poor Hermione! 

 

-Rumpels



Name: Rumpelstiltskin (Signed) · Date: 19 Dec 2017 05:48 AM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:Fortuitous Chapter: Chapter 2.

Guess who? (hint: it's Rumpels)

 

Yass, Queen! Hermione and Severus become somewhat friends--that is a huge step in the correct direction to weddings and such. I love that Severus is somehow making the detention students behave in Hermione's classes. That's amazing. Aw, I feel so badly for that poor little Hufflepuff; that war was awful, as are all wars, and it makes sense that an interaction like that would send Hermione into a fit of flashbacks in her nightmares. It's so sweet that Hermione feels safe enough to tell Severus about the nightmares and that he gives her something to help her sleep. He totally tried to read her mind. I mean, I get it, it would be awesome to know what someone is thinking all the time, but it's a pretty big invasion of someone's privacy. I'm certain that it helped him endlessly while acting as a spy. No problems at all, just falling in love (even if she doesn't realize it yet). Yes, Severus should smile more, maybe Hermione will be the reason he has to smile. Hooray for tension, too. Aw, close, but no cigar. That's okay, I'm patient. I can wait for kisses! 

 

-Rumpels



Name: Rumpelstiltskin (Signed) · Date: 19 Dec 2017 05:35 AM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:Fortuitous Chapter: Chapter 1.

Meg (again)!

 

Oh my goodness, you are such a tease! A flashback? You're killing me! The whole thing is going to be a flashback until we get to the end, isn't it? Oh, the suspense! I think Hermione would make an excellent Defense Against the Dark Arts professor, though I can totally see Severus harboring some resentment over not getting the job after all that time applying for it. Awesome, Neville's the Herbology teacher. Are Neville and Hermione going to be buddies? That'd be cool. They can do the bromance thing, or colleague thing or whatever. And enter, The Snape, in all of his billowing-robed, snarky-remarked glory! Yeah, I can imagine that the students would bombard Hermione with questions about Harry Potter. Poor Hermione. Heheh, of course, Severus has to add to Hermione's already growing frustrations. Severus has got jokes! Oh my goodness! He's a lurking joker. It makes sense that Severus developed his teaching strategy around how he was treated due to being so young when he started. They've had a moment! That was, clearly, a moment! I love moments.

 

-Rumpels



Name: Rumpelstiltskin (Signed) · Date: 19 Dec 2017 05:14 AM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:Fortuitous Chapter: Prologue

Meg!

 

Wow, what a mood-setter that opening paragraph was! Secret hooded females sneaking down cobbled paths in the middle of the night? Sounds epically suspicious, if you ask me. I'm going to go out on a wild limb here and guess that the 'she' is Hermione and the 'he' is Snape, but I could be wrong. We'll find out. Aha, frizzy brown hair. It has to be Hermionie! Well, watching somebody undress from the streets, are we? Haha, go, Hermione, go! Oh my goodness, this is Hermione going to Snape's house to tell him her feelings for him?! I'm so excited. My heart would be pounding in my ears, too, if I was in Hermione's shoes--she must have had to muster up every ounce of courage she had in her entire body. I'm so excited to see what happens next! Severus clearly is not overly thrilled by Hermione stopping by at this hour of the night, but heck, there WILL BE LOVE! 

 

-Rumpels



Name: PaulaTheProkaryote (Signed) · Date: 09 May 2017 07:58 PM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:Fortuitous Chapter: Chapter 9.

HELLO LOVELY! I'm so glad to be back and I see there's another chapter too! ;)

 

You know, I never really thought about how much dating drama Hermione really did face as a kid. Like in GoF with the whole fake love triangle of Krum/Harry being ran in the tabloids (and really, what respectable establishment would drag kids like that) and then the Ron/Lavender drama and all of Lavender's jealousy over their friendship. I can't imagine the mess post-war either. I definitely can understand the desire to keep it on the down low.

 

Also what a lovely date idea. Going out and petting those innocent creatures that tend to come across as scary, but they're really just big ole softies.

 

I like the dialogue about the weather. She's 10/10 Hermione characterization. Also there's only so many times someone can soothe insecurities before it becomes tiresome. And I do so hate having the same conversation over and over again.

 

Honestly I feel like the fact that the mark haunts him so much should be answer enough. I mean, if he was truly a vile person (even in the first war) there's no way that he'd have as much remorse as he does. Not that it's comparable, but we know that Hermione did some shady things herself (illegal potion brewing, keeping Rita hostage, blackmail, etc) so I think she could at least understand a bit. And she really does seem to.

 

And I completely love her reasoning behind being okay with the scars they are both stuck with.

 

SEVERUS SUNSHINE SNAPE (why does he not have a middle name), he's being completely unreasonable and honestly hurting her more than he is protecting her. Men. But is it really? Is it really over? I'm going to say no.

 

Loved it and I can't wait for the next one! <3



Name: PaulaTheProkaryote (Signed) · Date: 08 Jan 2017 05:36 AM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:Fortuitous Chapter: Chapter 8.

BOW CHICA WOWOW.

(ALSO, hi, how are you, happy holidays)

ALL THE TIME TOGETHER OBVIOUSLY WE ARE FALLING IN LOVE. Severus can suck it up, buttercup. It only bugs him because it's true.

I keep pausing to reply to your tweets. OKAY i'm focused.

I love all of his cute little things like pulling the chair out or the portrait hole help. Seriously, he's the cutest. I also love smug McGonagall. She would.

LATE NIGHT AND LOW LIGHT CANDLES OH BOY OH BOY.

I SUPPORT HIS DECISION.

WHOA THAT WAS STEAMY. And so, so, so sweet. Like he is seriously so considerate in between the good stuff.

I'm dying to know what caused him to change his mind? Just his shield faltering? Something she did? Something he thought? TELL ME MORE.

Every conversation between them, regardless of hOw tense it might be, seems to just flow so naturally between them. For two people with their character you'd think that alone would be a pretty good sign that they are meant to be!



Name: PaulaTheProkaryote (Signed) · Date: 08 Jan 2017 05:35 AM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:Fortuitous Chapter: Chapter 7.

MEERY CHRISTMAS MY FAVORITE (don't tell the others)!

Yes a summer away might clear her mind. Or it might leave her pining for him and restless and sad. I have a feeling I know which one.

GO EASY ON THE BABIES. Good Hermione. If you challenge them too much they won't be able to fight the non-existent dark lord like they need to because they'll be too busy studying.

I love her response to him though. Dang, Hermione. You have really good resasoning. She's the brightest witch of her age. You write her so well.

I love the little banter with the "know it all" line. Like I'm just happily sighing even if he's being a pain.

You write him with boyish charm despite him being older. Do you have a time turner story? I feel like you do and if so I'm digging it up. Have I mentioned I don't even READ HIS CHARACTER!

10/10 Apology. lol. I'm dying.

Whatevs I'll take what I can get with the friendship because I'm certain that you'll give me a happily ever after. oH MY GOD WHAT IF YOU DON'T. you will won't you? WE ARE FALLING IN LOVE.

AS ANticipated this was a very well written chapter. The characterization was flawless, the story line was smooth, and it just left me happy even though he's still resisting her charms. HE'S NOT TOO OLD AND BROKEN WE CAN MAKE IT WORK.



Name: PaulaTheProkaryote (Signed) · Date: 08 Jan 2017 05:35 AM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:Fortuitous Chapter: Chapter 6.

Hi lovely!

I'm here for HPFT's Werewolf vs. Vampire reviewing event for HPFT Team Werewolf Review (but mostly because I had to be back ASAP even if I’m a bit jammed up at the moment).

I can 100% see Hermione absolutely obsessing over the conversation, trying to break down every single word to make sense of it. I also like that she has this self doubt in the form of considering herself a fool because I think that's very in line with Hermione's character in the books. She's always been one to expect people to suddenly feel the way she wants (ie Winky after being kicked out of the family/enslavement).

And I love this whole I'm old, I'm broken, I've seen too much thing with Severus because of course he must feel that way! I think if he survived after all the years of lying and espionage and the truth of his youth he'd be absolutely terrified to burden someone else with all of that. And then of course she would argue with him. Like what was he expecting?

Oh man. Now Hermione Jean Granger has a challenge in her head and she can’t give up.

Also your McGonagall characterization would qualify as three fire emojis. She’s the McGonagall that gives Harry a biscuit for talking back. My favorite. The snort of all things sealed the deal for me.

This was such a good chapter, but unfortunately it left me wanting much more. Not that there was anything wrong with the content (QUITE THE OPPOSITE) and double checking the length is perfectly fine (generous even), but I’m sitting here wishing I had four more chapters. I know that you’re busy with life and the likes of it...but...but...what if...and hear me out...you post another chapter by the time I blink my eye? No? Well it was worth a shot.

The plot is so addicting and your characterizations are through the roof brilliant. The dialogue flows so smoothly and naturally that it’s difficult for me to remember that I’m reading and not witnessing the story firsthand. It’s just such a good chapter (and entire story).



Name: PaulaTheProkaryote (Signed) · Date: 08 Jan 2017 05:34 AM · [Report This]
Story:Fortuitous Chapter: Chapter 5.

Hello lovely!

You know when you put it like paragraph two I don’t know why I didn’t ship them all along. OF COURSE THEY BELONG TOGETHER WHO ARE WE KIDDING.

You’re a cruel, cruel person. A DREAM? Seriously. You’re vicious.

Thank you Hagrid for making things significantly more awkward. He’s seriously the best and I love him so much and his dialogue in your story is on fire (fire emoji times three).

Lines like this one is what takes your writing to the next level: “Somewhat scaly, like a lizard, but also with a small amount of fuzz, sort of like a peach” because who would think to add that kind of detail and now I can feel the poor babies and it’s just such a good touch.

I love this Severus because who he is such a complex character to love. This hot and cold must be from his past, right? I mean like she said Lily really did a number on him and that was his one true love but was it really? One could argue that it was just a silly crush that took on wicked roots. And really Hermione and Lily are so much alike in so many ways. Okay, I’m done explaining to myself and trying to convince me/you/her/him that THIS LOVE IS GOING TO HAPPEN WHETHER THEY LIKE IT OR NOT. Well, you’re really in charge of that but this is also the last chapter you’ve given me so now I’m waiting on you to make the magic happen!

Minor (read: major serious super) pressure for the next chapter so I can leave more recipes!



Name: PaulaTheProkaryote (Signed) · Date: 08 Jan 2017 05:34 AM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:Fortuitous Chapter: Chapter 4.

Hello again lovely!

When I say you’ve perfectly captured the essence of Hermione Granger I mean amazing lines like this one: “She felt as if she were just as worried about the students performing well on their exams as they were, which was why she was so focused on making sure her entire lesson plan was perfect.” WHOA. That’s about as Hermione as it can get. You’ve seriously nailed all of your characterizations in this story.

The paragraph about how soothing coffee is for her is easily the most relatable thing I’ve ever read. That paragraph belongs in my biography.

Stress will certainly eat away at a person. I always like when the signs of stress appear in stories because it’s my current field of study.

I like that you compare Neville to Dumbledore because I always thought that he could have Dumbledore vibes. Like he could be the next great but everyone super underestimated him and then WHAM Dumbledore vibes.

SEVERUS ARNOLD SNAPE, WHAT WERE YOU TRYING TO ACCOMPLISH WITH THAT LITTLE STUNT? UGh. Yeah, okay he’s trying to protect her from his brokenness and all that but I swear if he wasn’t inside my computer and completely fictional I’d smack him upside the head.

Despite my heartbreak I still love it and it’s going to happen dang it I read the prologue it’s going to happen.



Name: PaulaTheProkaryote (Signed) · Date: 08 Jan 2017 05:33 AM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:Fortuitous Chapter: Chapter 3.

Hello again lovely!

Poor Hermione and the loss of her family. I always got the vibe that she was very close to her parents despite the fact that she wasn’t around for most of the year from 11 onward.

That might be me projecting but that makes it hurt much more. And on top of that their deaths were senseless and all at once. No chance to say goodbye.

“Even the sound of Severus walking had started to become very familiar to her.” I swear this is also true for me and my husband. I know when it’s him coming up the stairs instead of his friends and I can hear him when he wakes up in the morning even if I’m in the living room. I think you just become acutely aware of things like that when you love someone.

The mistletoe! Oh my heart. You do this to me on purpose. I think the Professor doth protest too much.

THAT KISS. THAT KISS WAS SO AMAZING. And then dang it Severus what the what that was so mean and poor Hermione and I don’t care that he’s deep and complex (even though I love that he’s deep and complex) because my poor sweet Hermione baby!

This chapter definitely packed the most punch. I loved it so much!



Name: Aphoride (Signed) · Date: 21 Dec 2016 08:55 PM · starstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:Fortuitous Chapter: Chapter 1.

Hi again! :) 

I gotta say - you go through the time periods so well and so easily. I hate doing transitions of time - they're so difficult to get right! - but you do them so simply, and make them look effortless. It's a talent, my friend, really. Let me know when you start offering lessons on that ;) 

I love the last scene with Hermione and Severus - the way how, despite being sarcastic for so long and so antagonistic towards her (that whole snapping out of his old habits thing is clearly hard for him :P and it's so him!), he actually admits something of his own past to her. It's not a hugely comforting way of doing it - it's pretty obvious he's not used to doing that kind of thing, which fits so well with his character from canon, and suits him so well :P But yeah, I loved how he sort of blurts it at her, not really offering any way to deal with it, other than sort of bullying the students, but he just says that it's okay, that other people have also had this kind of thing happen to them. 

I really like how you tied in Neville becoming Herbology Professor with Hermione joining at the same time as Defence Professor! It makes so much sense that they'd join at the same time, and I love how Hermione's so nervous and so hesitant at first to take the job, despite McGonagall offering it straight to her and how everyone around her knows she'd make a great Professor. It's so typical :P Getting all flustered and Ron and Harry calming her down, making her see sense, talking her through things. 

Ahh I'm really looking forward to see how you develop Hermione and Severus' friendship and relationship - there's a little bit of a thaw in the ice so far, I think, hehe, but not that much :P But I like that it's not happening all that fast - Severus holds onto grudges and personal dislikes for a long time, it's so much of him, and I love that Hermione is calling him out on bits of his behaviour - like when she mentions about the students who were born after he left school, who never knew about 'Snivellus' and things. 

Of course, your writing was so lovely in this chapter - I love the little details you put in, they're so amazing and they bring the story to life so beautifully :) 

So looking forward to the next chapter! :) 

Aph xx



Name: Aphoride (Signed) · Date: 21 Dec 2016 08:41 PM · starstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:Fortuitous Chapter: Prologue

Hey there, Meg! :) 

So, I've been meaning to drop by your page properly for a while now and it's Christmas and with the wishlists and all, it felt like the right time to dive in, so here I am! :) 

You know, I'm not the biggest Snamione fan - I dunno, just one of those things - but the way you write them here, even though it's not the longest piece, is just so lovely and so bittersweet and heartbreakingly nervous almost makes me want to ship them. Like, you capture that anxious, terrified kind of bravery you always get when you want to tell someone you like them or you have to tell something important and you don't know how people will take it so perfectly: I can almost feel how nervous Hermione is, but how determined she is to make sure she says it, because she has to, you know? And how angry Severus is for his part, compared to her - their emotions are so clear and so strong, and they really jump so properly off the page. I love it! :) 

You've really captured both the characters in this little bit, too - the way that Hermione hesitates and then squares up to the fear of what she has to do and just goes to do it - it's pretty much the same way she faced almost everything in the books and I love that :) Also, the anger and bitterness from Severus - the way he quickly covers up emotions behind the anger and the disdain because it's easiest. You write him so well - it's super impressive! 

As always, your writing is so lovely - it flows so beautifully, your grammar is so enviably perfect, and your descriptions are so lovely and so evocative. This was such a great prologue (I hate writing them so much, haha, they're so hard to do!), you make it seem so easy to do, and I'm so glad I read it! :) 

Aph xx



Name: Rhaenyra (Signed) · Date: 18 Dec 2016 03:24 AM · [Report This]
Story:Fortuitous Chapter: Chapter 3.

This chapter hit just about all the bases.  What an emotional roller coaster.

 

Her parents were killed after she brought them back.  Probably by people who were still Voldemort sympathizers.  Why don't you just shove the knife in a little deeper Meg?  I said the last chapter had a couple lines that really tugged at my heartstrings but you have outdone yourself here.  This is just depressing.  Thinking about this and then getting half her body frozen makes it natural that she assumes somebody has snuck into Hogwarts, but the truth is better.

 

A kiss!  Romance!  But oh God, that's gotta be awkward for her at the end.  Eek.  Poor Hermione.



Name: Rhaenyra (Signed) · Date: 18 Dec 2016 03:15 AM · [Report This]
Story:Fortuitous Chapter: Chapter 2.

"Your mother was very brave."

"She passed the spot where Fred died..."

 

Why!?!?  Ugh, those lines got me.  I mean, obviously she would have had a big impact on people's memories of the war and something like that never really leaves you.  Living in the place where so many friends and family died would be tough, even for somebody who had been doing well with nightmares more recently.  Anyway, I found those two lines in particular especially effective at driving the point home.  You never know just how much has changed in stories like this and poor Fred, still killed in the final battle. :(

 

The last part was sweet.  He was right, nobody would believe her if she told them that not only did Severus Snape have a soft side, but that he was capable of making jokes.  Maybe Harry would believe it in the books since he had seen memories in the pensieve, but here?  She'd be on her own.

 

You are doing the gradual, slow-build thing very well again.  (*Snape voice* OB-viously.)  There are only snippets that are spaced fairly far apart, but they do enough to drive the changes home that it doesn't feel disjointed or unnatural.  For somebody who seems to feel a need to over-write and cut, it's very impressive.

 

- R



Name: Rhaenyra (Signed) · Date: 18 Dec 2016 03:05 AM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:Fortuitous Chapter: Chapter 1.

I'm not sure what's come over me lately.  Evidently, AUs and time-travel have caught my attention lately since I'm reading a lot of them on the archives this week.  And another Snamione... I don't think I really tried this before, but I figured "sure, why not!"

 

First of all, I'm glad the prologue didn't have me missing something.  Like an entire prequel.  It got my attention so I want to see how they go from the "10 months previously" to that.

 

I'm glad Hermione and Neville get to learn to teach together.  Even though they both have issues with classroom management being so young or mistaken for younger (which I can relate to, during my time in teacher's college I was pegged as a high school student a few times) they get to go through it together.

 

And hearing about the early days as Potions Master... that's tough.  I never really thought about the fact that his earliest students would have been in the lower years when he was finishing up Hogwarts.  Some may even have memories of the pantsing from OotP and the "Snivellus" thing probably was hard to shake.  You do an excellent job at humanizing him and making him into a complex character, rather than just the hated teacher.

 

- R



Name: PaulaTheProkaryote (Signed) · Date: 11 Dec 2016 02:37 AM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:Fortuitous Chapter: Chapter 2.

I love this idea of some kind of understanding between Hermione and Severus and him taking care of her problem (through whatever questionable method) of those rowdy jerkface students. Although I do understand why they were annoying it was still ridiculous because she’s just as important.

Hermione is so good at perceiving things and it really popped out with Clementine and her paying attention to something as small as a single word "was" but I also think she really grilled her chops when she dealt with such an emotional topic. Professors should be more than just instructors. They should be mentors and that's what she just became. And my heart and my eyes and oh that was just so so sweet.

I never even thought about how hard it would be for them to come back to Hogwarts. To see the spots where her friends and loved ones died. I think that might make even more sense why Ron and Harry wouldn’t want to go back to school.

WHOAHOHO We are going to his chambers! (my eyebrows are wiggling vigorously).

NO SHE CAN’T SLEEP AFTER ALL THIS! MY HEART! Oh, all of it. I could crawl inside this story and live in it. I can’t believe that you’ve written Snape (and Hermione) so well that I’m here, in love with this story, and shipping them hardcore. You’ve done this!



Name: PaulaTheProkaryote (Signed) · Date: 11 Dec 2016 02:36 AM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:Fortuitous Chapter: Chapter 1.

NOW IT MAKES SENSE HOW THE WHOLE THING CAME ABOUT OMG I'M SO EXCITED. I was wondering how this could have started and her being a professor absolutely fits. Honestly, I feel like I could buy her being a professor way more than magical law or whatever it was she ended up doing. Definitely over the boring politics of being Minister.

Honestly I'd be surprised if kids didn't take her seriously. I mean she's the brains (and possibly the most important part) of the golden trio (don't tell Harry). Like they better respect her or I'll hang them by their toes Filch style.

“Did you need something, Severus?” THIS. This is why I knew I should start with yours. Actually, I think you should just write a few more of these so that when the urge hits I only have yours to read. No pressure but also a little pressure.

I’m dying to see this progression from prologue relationship to this icy start. AND IN SUCH A SHORT SPAN TOO!

The professors sitting in the lounge venting frustrations and all that just is my favorite and it just again feels so realistic. I love love love Hagrid advising her too. That is just beautiful for me.

Not only did she catch him off guard but she caught me off guard. I’d like to think that years of pointless fighting with Ron probably benefited her in this situation. I also completely adore Severus’s snark. I said this before but I don’t think I’ve ever popped open a Snape fic I’ve enjoyed this much.



Name: PaulaTheProkaryote (Signed) · Date: 11 Dec 2016 02:36 AM · starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Story:Fortuitous Chapter: Prologue

Hello lovely!

I'm starting with you for a project I've been working on for the past few months. Every week or so I'm trying to post reviews (prewritten) for some of my favorite people in the world. I’m mostly starting with you because you’re the sweetest (shh, don’t tell the others).

You have a lot to stories to choose from and I don’t typically read Snape stories for a number of reasons. Mainly oh my goodness some of the characterizations I’ve read are the most ridiculous things I could imagine. I’ve also never read a Snamione (is that what they are called?) but I saw this and I knew that if there was ever one to be my first, it should be yours. (I was right ny the way).

The prologue, while short in words, is not short in substance. You paint this just absolutely amazing scene here and maintain it. This is a thing I can't seem to do. I'm okay with writing pretty imagery for the first few lines and then just drop it. You've kept it alive and it makes your writing next level. I swear I could smell the river and hear the pop of her apparating. I could almost see him in the window and I can definitely feel the beat of her heart in my own. You're one of those writers that should absolutely be doing this for a living.

We’ve only got a glimpse of characterization but your Hermione feels so organic. Especially with the bit about her almost losing her nerve but then doing it anyway because she'd been working up the courage all too long and needed it get it over with. Your Severus is also mighty seductive for someone like me who isn’t always keen on him.

I had decided if I absolutely wasn’t into Snamione I wouldn’t post this review and I’d just pretend I never read it and you’d never ever know, but I am posting it and going to the next chapter.



Submit a Review